| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance I by Encairion Explicit
A novella of the House of Finwë from the Darkening of Valinor through the end of the First Age. “Vengeance calls...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8015
Word count: 23948045
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14262
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
07/26/17 03:23 pm
Hi everyone! I'm back, and I had a great time! Now to unpack, nap and eat some more lol -- back eventually! ::hugs to all::
Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Valinor Trail

Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2015 21:37 · For: Chapter 28 Into The Valley... Or The Mountains...
Wonderful story, i have really come to love the returnverse. I hope there are plenty more stories coming, i am dying to get to know how everybody will adapt to the New lands. Thanks for posting these great tales!

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I am really pleased that you have enjoyed them.  There are more stories to come, I've had a bit of a detour, but hope to get back to them in the next couple of months.



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2014 13:48 · For: Chapter 28 Into The Valley... Or The Mountains...

It was a good trail, that one, both for the characters and for the reader!



Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2014 15:00 · For: Chapter 28 Into The Valley... Or The Mountains...
An amazing end to this tale. I enjoyed Gimli pushing Legolas to go out to see these new lands. Legolas keeps thinking of when Gimli will no longer be there. Instead he should be thinking about all the memories that he can create with his dwarf friend before this happens. Gimli is definitely not going to let Legolas get all moody and sitting in trees again. That road trip will be something as they will be traveling where elves have never seen a dwarf before. I wonder if Lord Aule will have a glittering cave for Gimli to discover?

And Spike! Interacting with Maedhros, that would be a story within itself.

Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm so glad that this works for you as a final chapter because I wrote a much longer one then decided it was rubbish and went back and started again.

I am planning on writing some more about Spike and Maedhros, and also on Gimli and the mountains, in the next few months, all being well!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2014 23:35 · For: Chapter 28 Into The Valley... Or The Mountains...

I'm so sad that this has ended - I really enjoyed this fic. But at least you've set up plenty of action for the future. I do hope you'll tell the story of the elves - and Gimli - finding their new homes. And I'm still holding onto the hope that Thranduil will join them one day.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  And yes - there are more tales to tell yet...  I have characters clamouring to star in them!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2014 23:17 · For: Chapter 27 Reunion

Oh how I agree with Tindóme that Aran Thranduil should get 'his royal butt' over there damn soon! But this was a lovely meeting and very tender. I've been waiting for it and you didn't make me hang for too long. Love your descriptions- I always feel that I am there!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad I timed it right and it is really good to know that the descriptions give you the sense of being there - that's a big compliment.

As for Aran Thranduil's royal butt - someone, currently more or less off-screen, is going to have thinky thoughts about that, I think - the basis for anther story, in effect.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2014 15:05 · For: Chapter 27 Reunion

At last! That was such a beautiful reunion between mother and son. I love how they had to stay close to reassure themselves it was actually true.  

I also liked how the continent has now been opened up. The unexplored woods will make a wonderful home for the wood elves. It would be even better if Thranduil decided to join them...



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I hope it dodn't take too long - but it was quite a trek!

There will be much exploring to be done as these unexplored lands of the interior will make wonderful homes for the wood elves. 

As for Thranduil... there are more tales to tell yet, I think.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2014 4:18 · For: Chapter 27 Reunion
Oh! I have tears in my eyes from such a wonderful reunion. Wife and husband, mother and son, brother and brother, all will have something to share in last leg home. You have made the meeting between Legolas and Ferveren so fulfilling, I have the smile to go with it.

There are going to be a lot of places where the elves can settle, but I am like Rumil, I like the village that is in the trees but next to the sea. That sounds like the perfect place to be with ability to still surf and swim and yet have flets and be away from all the stone houses.

Now if Thranduil would get his regal butt overseas (LOL!) and Lord Celeborn and the twins make the journey, it would be almost perfect.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. 

I think these particular elves will go and settle in the whole new continent, almost, that has been uncovered for them; but I think that there will soon be quite well developed roads btween the inner forests and these seaside viallages.  Seaside holidays may well becme a regular feature of life!

As for those left behind - there are still tales to tell...



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2014 20:54 · For: Chapter 26 Homeward Bound

Good old Gandalf. Sometimes we all need someone like him, who can make us see what - deep down - we knew all along. But I'm going to say what I think I've said several times already...I can't wait for Legolas's reunion with his mother. How much longer have I got to wait?!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  They are to be reunited in the next chapter. 

On an autorish note, that is actually why the eagle, as it will give a good reason for the journey to now be straightforward and require fewer words... 

As my husband poinnted out, JRRT brought in the eagles for much the same reason a couple of times!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 12:21 · For: Chapter 26 Homeward Bound

 He seemed to have trouble sitting down for more than five minutes whereas usually he could sit on a rock, or a branch, for so long, when the mood took him, that Gimli wondered at his bladder capacity.

lol!

love this chapter and getting to know Ferveren. She's wonderful and beautifully written.



Author's Response:

Sometimes it is fun to look at things from Gimli's point of view - it can be very down to earth!

And I am really pleased that you like Ferveren - Legolas' mother is such a mystery figure, and yet so many people have their own ideas about what she might be like, that I had to sit and really think about her for quite a while before i first introduced her into the story.  So it is good to know that she does come over as a person in her own right.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 11:55 · For: Chapter 25 There's Always a Morning After

LOve the quick glimpses of everyone in this chapter so we know where everyone is and what they are doing- it creates a lovely sense of expectancy.



Author's Response:

Thank you - it is fun to decide just what they will all be doing if we have a glimpse, so I'm really glad you like it.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 2:37 · For: Chapter 26 Homeward Bound
Yeah! Legolas is antsy and Gandalf tells him to take Rumil and go take a road trip. I am excited on the reunion that is coming up.

Seeing all the places that Haldir and Tindome are exploring and thinking about moving to is really beautiful. I can picture in my mind the vast forests and high mountains they are transversing and thinking about all the things that are there.

Hoping that you have blocked out the next chapter. Willing to provide strawberries and other goodies to encourage lots of writing.

Author's Response:

I am so pleased that those descriptions are giving you a sense of the places they are travelling through.  I am picturing parts of it being a bit like Canadian forests, with the occasional hint of Scotland, and slightly more mellow areas to the south... 

The next chapter is blocked out, I just need to find time to actually write it; but strawberries certainly help - even virtual ones!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2014 23:50 · For: Chapter 25 There's Always a Morning After

I love how Haldir is starting to embrace the silvan culture. I think this journey was just what he needed to help him come to terms with his new life and his relationship with his brothers.

i can't wait for Legolas to be reunited with his mother. I just hope that one day Thranduil will make the journey to Valinor too.



Author's Response:

Oh yes - the journey turned out to be almost as much about Haldir as about Spike.  He is going to return with a new understanding of himself, and a new purpose in life, as well as a much better relationship with his brother-wife!

I think it likely that Leolas will be reunited with his mother in the next chapter; but yu know what characters are like, they may get somewhat side-tracked even yet.

 



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 23:19 · For: Chapter 25 There's Always a Morning After
I like your title to this chapter. It sums up very well the content, everyone may not be with the one that they want to be with, but everyone is with someone as they recover from the Solstice celebrations.

I am growing to love your Haldir, he seems to be changing from the marchwarden personna into a more laid back and calmer elf. Waking up with feathers and flowers in his hair and rememberances of the hunt make him seem more like his brothers.

And going back to the Ithilrim home by the sea. Hopefully Legolas will be surprised in a good way. Though I would think it will bring up the wishes that Thranduil, the twins and Celeborn would sail for the west.

Author's Response:

Thank you - thinking of chapter titles can be fun!

Haldir is learning on this journey, too - and becoming a bit more laid back is definitely part of the process.  Of course it might have been the flowers in his hair that were making him look slightly embarrassed... :)

And I think you are right - reunion with his mother will be bittersweet, because it is still not completing the family.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2014 9:37 · For: Hunters

I love the detail of the cloths Ithilienne s sewing, and ht esense of waiting for others to arrive - it gives the sense of the story expanding beyond what is being told if you understand me- like when you see a play and they talk about what 's going on outside the window. And your festivals and the culture of the wood elves is just so rich and as always beautifully described.



Author's Response:


Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2014 15:50 · For: Hunters
What a glorious Midsummer's night! Loved how you updated all of the various groups. Spike sounds like he is progressing towards his re-embodiment though it sounds like he is a challenge to Namo.
And back home to see Legolas and Ithilienne are also stepping into their next phase where Legolas is not thinking she is too young any more. Lady Ferveren will be a great addition to the celebrations when she returns with Tindome.
But the best was the hunt with Haldir. He has changed so dramatically since this journey started. Wearing feathers and dancing around the fire does not sound like something he would have enjoyed in the past and I can see him becoming more attuned to the Silvan elves and joining them when they settle.

Author's Response:

Thank you.  I'm so glad that the chapter structure, showing the different groups moving through the day, worked for you.

It will be some time before Spike is re-embodied - after all Haldir was there for about 150 years...

Legolas and ithilienne have all the time in the world, as they say, but at least he no longer worries that she is too young, or that people might think she is his niece.  She is now doing what Rumil said Tindómë needed to do when she came of age, which is lead the life of a single elleth and explore all the possibilities!

I'm really pleased that you like Haldir finding that inner Silvan of his paternal heritage.  The journey has been a journey in many ways - at least I hope so, as that was the plan, if you see what I mean.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2014 9:11 · For: Hunters

Ha! That was a sneaky way for Ithilienne to win her bet! I'm sorry Tindomiel and Ferveren couldn't celebrate by the sea, but maybe it won't be long before they're home. And the celebration in the forest looks set to be wild!



Author's Response:

Oh yes - Ithilienne is still only young, but she is a quick learner, and is learning all the tricks - and if the tricks are fun, then so much the better!

The forest group will be heading for home, soon - this will have been something of a last fling for Haldir, for now.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 14:56 · For: Chapter 23 Now We Are Three

That description of the foerst welcome to Lagoas' mother made me cry! Lovely idea and so joyful. And the developing relationship between tHaldir and Tindome is fab. but oh, i LOVE Ferveren! whoohoo! 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the idea that this forest would recognise her for a Silvan Queen. She is, of course, really an OFC -so I'm also really pleased that you like her!

When I began this story I thought that, as the theme of Brotherhood was exactly that (with a touch of sisterhood thrown in), the theme of this was was 'brother-in-law-hood' - both Haldir and Spike are her brothers-in-law in different ways, after all.

You cannot imagine how very pleased I was when my beta said to me "This is really 'Brother-in-law-hood', isn't it?"



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 14:48 · For: Chapter 22. Pause For Thought

Ah! I had missed this update how??? Great writing wombat. Such gorgeous observations like why they dont write fiction! MAybe fanfiction???



Author's Response:

I did wonder when you hadn't commented - but pointing it out seemed rude, as you my just have not had time to comment - ot thought it was boring, or whetever!

I think the subject of fiction may well crop up again, sometime in the future...



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 0:51 · For: Chapter 23 Now We Are Three
Ah, a wonderful surprise to this story. Hope that Legolas is a lot happier when his naneth arrives even though Thranduil is not here yet. And Haldir thinking of becoming an explorer, an inspired choice since the Galadhrim did not seem to do much traveling when they were in middle-earth.
Love this story and have enjoyed the whole series you have written.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I am really pleased to know that you have enjoyed them all; it is always good to know someone is reading them!

I think it will help Legolas, having his mother there - and I'm glad you can see Haldir as the Intrepid Explorer, too.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2014 22:15 · For: Chapter 23 Now We Are Three

Yay! It is who I'd hoped. I'm so happy for Legolas. I can't wait for them to get back to him so that they can finally be reunited. It's sad that she won't be reunited with Thranduil though. I wonder if he'll ever come. 

I liked the notion that silvan  shave a secret name. I hope you'll explore silvan culture further in later chapters/fics. 

 



Author's Response:

**Yay! It is who I'd hoped.**

Well spotted! I have a long way to go before there is any chance of Thranduil arriving - but Legolas has done his best to persuade him.

I have read the idea of Thranduil's queen being Silvan in a lot of stories - and it makes very good sense to me. I have seen a couple of other stories where there are Silvan wives of Sinda ellyn, too. And from that came the idea of Rumil and Orophin's father being a Silvan married to a Sindar instead. But I feel that the Sindar culture is much more dominant in Lothlorien, and in any mixed culture children learn more from their mother's culture and language at first, than their father's. I know quite a lot about this from a historical standpoint.

So I realised that I wanted Haldir to also start thinking of his own Silvan heritage as he comes to terms with this whole new life

I think I have met the idea of the Silvan culture including a 'secret' name in someone else's fic once, but can't remember whose - and there are certainly human cultures with this idea - and I rather liked it as a sort of mirror to the Noldor with all their names!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2014 22:00 · For: Chapter 22. Pause For Thought

Can't believe I didn't review this before. I think I was probably trying to work out who their new companion is. No point guessing now because I can go straight to the next chapter, but I know who I hope it is! 

Love the terry pratchett reference, btw. Lords and ladies is a great book!



Author's Response: I hope it turns out to be who you wanted... I'm really pleased that you like the Pratchett reference - Spike actually mentions Lords & Ladies to Tind


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2013 16:33 · For: Chapter 21. Dust

ah- what a line to end on Viorrey! Great chaptr as always- made me smile and feel sad. I dont know Buffy as you know but you do give it something else that makes me connect with that whole Buffy thing- because you give it that tenderness that makes it all work. I only know your Spike but I am really hoping he will not have ot stay long with Namo! And I love the recognition that Tindome might actualy get on with her mother in law!!



Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy.

That last line is a shoutout for those who recognise Buffyverse stuff - but it seemed right for Haldir, here, to me; so it is good to know it works for other people, too.

I don't really expect Spike to leave the Halls of Waiting for a few years - but there will be glimpses of his time within, as well, in the future :)

I don't think she will become best friends with her mother-in-law, but that recognition of now like her Rumil is, might help...



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2013 9:48 · For: Chapter 21. Dust

Relief! - Spike was allowed in and the demon was shut out. ('You shall not pass', indeed!) I hope it won't be too long before he's let out of Mandos.

Apart from killing the odd vampire, I can't see that Haldir will have much use for the gift of death in Valinor. Let's hope he will discover a new gift.

 



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the shout-out to Gandalf! Yes - Haldir really will have to reconsider where his talents lie...


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2013 12:16 · For: Chapter 20, Decision Time

I'm glad Spike chose Valinor. I wonder how long Lord Namo will keep him in Mandos.

I hope that the door out of Mandos will be near Tindome's home. I hate to think of her and Rumil being apart longer than they have to, even if they do give each other interesting dreams in the meantime ;)



Author's Response: Thank you. His time there depends on how he copes - on when N


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2013 22:33 · For: Chapter 20, Decision Time

Wonderful! Perfeclty written, wombat- just perfect. That final scne- of course that is why Haldir is there. And it makes perfect sense, every detail. I don't really know Buffy as you know, but you do tweak my interest and I love Tindome and her unique take on ME. And I just have to mention, and thank you, for that scene of Haldir under the waterfall - he's not an elf I normally fancy... but I did then.

 



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not sure that Haldir is an elf who does much for me, either, usually - at least how he looks in the films... I see him as slightly finer boned than that! I'm glad he works for you, here. I'm really pleased that you can see it all fitting together properly too; it's a bit like a jigsaw, really - as you know yourself, of course.


You must login () to review.