| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14502
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 22:27 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Taste of Blood-red Wine ~
Wonderful and chilling story; just dropping in to say kudos again. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Alquien! {{{Hugs}}}


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2014 19:53 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Taste of Blood-red Wine ~
I absolutely loved the perspective of S


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2014 19:22 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~
What an awesome difference with the Sauron we all dread! Of course there was a handsome side of Sauron, Annatar, who even fooled the elves. But that seems very often forgotten. But I love how you managed to remind us at the end of this chapter that this is indeed the same creature as the father of Vanimore, as the one who killed so many elves. And S


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2012 21:04 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Taste of Blood-red Wine ~

My dear friend.  Thank you for your enthusiastic reccing of my story to others and for writing such a heartfelt cross-over with your series.  I think you single-handedly have done much to direct people in my direction.  I'm not the best at promotion.  And having been in fanfic a long time now, I realize that there is no greater flattery than having someone become so immersed in your characters and story that they want to write more of it.  And after all, we must tip our hats to the master, JRR Tolkien who created such a complex and fascinating world for us to play in. 

As I said in my note to you, there is much to admire in your story here. I think you really understood what I tried to convey with Sûla's character.  I liked your description of him wishing “for some-one to confide in, some-one he could trust not to go to the highest bidder with his words. There was no-one.”  That will certainly be true as things progress for him. Like another reviewer, I liked Annatar’s “lacquered shield,” and his “white blade smile”, Sûla’s “office of easement” the Queen “armored in diamonds and dignity.”   I really liked “His expression acted like a hand over Sûla's mouth.”  The ending was great and did make me want to read on.  “Your blood,” Sauron repeated, as if he had not spoken. He slipped a hand into Vanimórë's hair, clenched it. “In the end you will do it, my son, out of pity, and love. For both of them.”  Your depiction of Annatar and Vanimórë's relationship is powerful and rich with history. I really must read more of your stories.
 Many hugs.



Author's Response: Thank-you so much, Elfscribe for your kindness.
All your characters are wonderfully drawn, of course, but your OC's, S


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2012 20:40 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~

re I wonder if Sauron experimented...

That is a chilling thought. But you know, he must have. The Rings are so full of power eh must have tried several dufferent prototypes, dont you think? And had several goes at the Nazgul before he hit on a formula that worked the way he wanted... imagine Barad-dur full of fialed experiments... it becomes something of a Dr Mengele....THat's really quite horrible. But he got it from Morgoth didnt he... making the Orcs...that hideous experimentation on living beings...

 

It takes me back to your point in DS- that one expects intelligence to have compassion, because it can imagine and empathise... but your Sauron/ Annatar is chilling because he does all that and still tortures and is beyond anything that can be remotely considered human (I know he isnt) but it also makes me wonder what made HIM like that... Surely ERu did not make him like that? I imagine him with all the lively intellectual curioslty of a child almost, that holds a magnifying glass over ants to see what happens. Andthen growing... in fact, perhaps that is what is is like, men, elves etc are merely ants to him.



Author's Response: The Rings are so full of power eh must have tried several dufferent prototypes, dont you think? And had several goes at the Nazgul before he hit on a formula that worked the way he wanted... imagine Barad-dur full of fialed experiments...

I got the idea of Malantur (In Magnificat) 'experimenting' because he had been around Sauron long enough to probably think he could do similar things.

what made HIM like that... Surely ERu did not make him like that? I imagine him with all the lively intellectual curioslty of a child almost, that holds a magnifying glass over ants to see what happens

Gandalf said, 'Nothing is evil in the beginning, even Sauron was not...'

I certainly don't see Mairion or even Melkor as evil, but perhaps more ambitious, wanting to 'experiment'. I think Sauron followed the one he found most interesting, and then couldn't escape. Tolkien does say that (I think) at the time of Ost-in-Edhil, Sauron might not have been evil, but he was always ambitious and intelligent. In later stories I'll deal more with Sauron and Melkor, since I think Melkor was *allowed* to mar the Great Music - what is day if you don't know night?
You always make me think philosophically, Ziggy (:


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2012 7:47 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Taste of Blood-red Wine ~

This is very, very dark without seeming. No Mordor or terrible dingeoun- although this cell contains Vanimore, it is not as improtnat as the darkness that creeps insidioulsy into Sula's veins. Absolutely chilling this secret of Annatar's - and why would he do this? What does he intend Sula to become? I have a horrible feeling about this. The comparison with Malantur is brilliant- Sual's innocence and love is his downfall? Of course it is. 



Author's Response: You know with the Mouth of Sauron, I always wondered if Sauron 'experimented' on other people, the Mouth just being the one that made it into the books. I cannot wait to see what Elfscribe has in store for her lovely S


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2012 7:19 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~

Annatar is as chilling here as he is in all your work. And Al-Pharazon a greater fool than Tolkien ever imagined -the way you weave the past with the present is, as always, superb, and the chilling sense of dread puts me there. Sula is a great OC- need ot read elfscribe's stories some time now you have inspired me to read it. 



Author's Response: Sula is a great OC- need ot read elfscribe's stories some time now you have inspired me to read it.

I am so glad you will read it, Ziggy. Her lovely OC's should be canon. In my head, I am certain that they are.


Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: November 18, 2012 15:52 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~
I have not reviewed or read much lately. I’m feeling zombie-like and very inarticulate. But this was a pleasure. I’ve been missing Sula and grateful for a chance to see him again in your writing. It takes a true artist to make a walk down a corridor so vivid magical and dark. I enjoyed this, and join you in congratulating Elf Scribe on her 10 year anniversary. You’ve both given us so many gorgeous gifts. Thank-you both.

Author's Response: So sorry you are feeling under the weather, Lisse. :( Thank-you for taking time to comment on this. It is rare that I read a story, love it, and also genuinely want to go one step further and write in the 'verse. Tolkien is the only author, and within the fandom Esteliel's and Ziggy's are the only two 'verses (before this). Elegy is such an inspiring story.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 11:11 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Taste of Blood-red Wine ~
This is wonderful! Everything is so vividly rendered, and you perfectly capture the opulence and indulgence of Numenor before its fall. The imagery is absolutely gorgeous - I could pull out loads but here were a few that really stuck with me:

rebuffed by a lacquered shield.

Perfect for Sauron! "Lacquered" drives home his thin form being a thin cover for what he is underneath.

His mind swung, despite itself, toward curling flax hair, a smile of unconscious charm, and flower-blue eyes that held the innocence S


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 4:40 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~

I have to confess that I have not read much of Elfscribe's work, Numenor does not usually catch my fancy, but I do love how you write it.  It has just a hint of something that reminded me of Roman in it, not too much, and wholly Middle-earth.  Its perfect, and sucked me in immediately.  I said I was only going to dip in, just get a taster since I didn't have much time, but I found it completing engaging, and am interested in knowing more about Sula, and seeing where this dangerous, destructive relationship with Sauron leads.  You never disappoint, my dear, I am always guaranteed a thrilling read!



Author's Response: Encairion, I am the same about N


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2012 23:26 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~
Oh wow.....I think I am just a tiny bit jealous of Elfscibe!!!

Once again, Sian, you have outdone yourself. Every story you write, every character you bring to life, every situation you put them in, simply goes to prove that your writing is matched by precious few writers, let alone bettered by them. And this story simply proved it one more time.

I loved the descriptions, not only of the characters but also of the settings. They were gorgeous. As for the characters, Sula was lovely. I loved his resilience and well, simplicity. “but the truth was that he — all slaves — had to fool themselves. They had nothing but their dreams.” You showed the fear a slave such as him would have for his master very well. I love that you allowed him to hope and I feel a little sadder every time I read him.

Tigon and Sula’s story, I knew something horrible would happen and it did. You do that for everyone Sian, really. Can’t we have just one happy ending?

Ar-Pharazon was frankly, disgusting. I never liked reading about this part of Numenor’s history to begin with and you reminded me why once again. His dependence on the elixir, I don’t know if it really was that bad or if you just portrayed it that way but really, it was nauseating to read him. The scene in the court, he came across as utterly loathsome and the flirting with Annatar…. I particularly enjoyed the reaction of the Elendili and of course, Sula to all this. I wish you had gone deeper in Tar-Miriel, Sian. I think she is the only redeeming character of that time. The last I read of her was in Dark Prince and more than anything, I wish she had gone with Van…Your description of her there was beautiful.

Annatar….was bloody brilliant. I love the level of contempt he manages to convey in the simplest gesture. And the sheer power he possesses…You know, your descriptions of him always remind me of Van, although Van would never be so deliberately cruel. “Annatar had bowed like a father humouring a child's temper tantrum.” – I loved this You stayed true to his character anyway….painful, humiliating brutality. The writing was brilliant and of course, I hate him, I really do.

The description of Sula out of bed, Sian, it really is heart breaking. He is so beautiful and he is treated as little more than an animal. It is painful to read. Especially towards the end. That is what pulls the story together but I wish you had not written it. I wanted to cry, more than anything…………….and now I sound way too sentimental.

Finally, I would have liked it if you overlapped this story with Dark Prince actually but I have not really read anything written by Elfscribe so maybe it is better this way. Once again, congratulations on yet another fantastic piece. I read it 3 times already and it gets better with every read!!

Author's Response: Oh, Elvewen, if you have not read Elegy, and you feel well enough, I thoroughly recommend it. I was re-reading it last week (twice) and went downstairs for some lunch. I cannot eat without reading, and always have two or three books on the table. But I was annoyed because I couldn't pick Elegy up as a book. I don' read much about N


Name: Oshun (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2012 23:06 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Shadows of Summer ~
Oh, this is marvelous. It fits seamlessly into Elfscribe's verse. Flows beautifully. I meant to only glance at it, because there was something else I should have been doing, but I was riveted I could not stop until I had finished it. Great work.

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, Oshun. I spent last week reading Elegy, not because I had any plans to write, but just because I wanted to, and so I am very relieved that this is not glaringly different, at least. I thought writing it 99% from S


You must login () to review.