| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8382
Word count: 25385085
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15507
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Narya
04/15/18 03:05 pm
Got it, Nelya - thanks for playing! :) I messaged you about DW as it turned into too long a post for the shout box.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/14/18 11:33 pm
what fun, Narya!I just sent you a prompt by PM. I'm not on dreamwidth. Someone please fill me in on Dreamwidth as I'm not familiar with it. Is it something I should look into?
Narya
04/14/18 10:31 pm
Hi Cheeky! I did get it, although it sneaked off into my junk mail for some reason. Great prompt, thank you!! :D
cheekybeak
04/14/18 10:24 pm
Hi Narya! I sent you a pm. For some reason they usually don’t work for me so let me know if you don’t get it!
Narya
04/14/18 11:34 am
Obviously ignore the spaces between the dots...but I know the shoutbox doesn't allow links, so that's the best I can do! Feel free to message me here in response, if you don't have DW
Narya
04/14/18 11:33 am
It's here: narya-flame . dreamwidth . org
Narya
04/14/18 11:32 am
Guys, I'm joining in with the Legendarium Ladies April gift offering - if you'd like me to write you a ficlet about a female character of your choice, see my public Dreamwidth post.
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Sense of Place

Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 21:53 · For: Chapter 1
What a wonderful essay Narya! In all honesty, I never knew anything about the origin of place names. The part about the basis of Meduseld and the lament of the Rohirrim were fascinating.

"his ambition to create his “mythology for England" - I never knew this but honestly, I think he succeded. That is exactly what Tolkien's mythology is for me. Its almost as if, it really existed, particularly with the embellishments that fanfic has added to it. An immense, breathtaking, painful part of our history, in much the same way Greek mythology was written. I know as much about ME as I do about the Industrial Revolution, colonisation, the World wars, the Great Depression and other notables in world history. Its as if, we really live there, for a while, everyday, wheh we read, write or comment on fanfic or watch or read Tolkien's work or simply go somewhere and realise that some part of Arda would have looked like that.

Also, I would like to thank you for more reference material. You have no idea how many times I've gone and reread the Character bios in SWG, especially that of the Feanorians. And of course, Darth Fingon's Linguistic Foolery. It was a riot of laughs but I leart more reading those essays than I did swimming through Tolkien's foot notes and appendices. Thank you for sharing:)

Author's Response: Hi Elvewen! Thank you for such a kind, thoughtful review :) I'm really glad you enjoyed the essay, and that it's provided you with some more reference material. I can highly recommend Tom Shippey's books on Middle-earth; a lot of literary theory in there, but I think he had a very powerful understanding of what Tolkien was trying to achieve. And yes, I'm the same - in fact I probably know more about Arda than most periods in "real" history! My sister (history student) would not be pleased with me. Tolkien, for me at least, definitely achieved his goal; his stories of ME really do form a coherent mythology, and a peculiarly English one at that.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 21:57 · For: Chapter 1

It is like a long drink when you are thirsty to read this intellectual and academic work. Fascinating reading. It will be saved in my favourites for future references - congratualtions on posting something worthy of a place in any library, Narya.



Author's Response: Oh, thank you, ziggy! The funny thing is, writing it didn't even feel like work ;) I'm glad people seem to have read and enjoyed it, I did feel a bit odd posting it here, but now I'm pleased that I did!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 15:58 · For: Chapter 1
but because a lot of it feels random and disparate. It seems wrong to use the word "logical" to describe a world of dragons and wizards, but Tolkien's world feels exactly that way, as though it couldn't have taken any other form. Strange, and fascinating.

Yes, it's exactly like this; no other fantasy novel has ever given me that feeling (although I certainly have others I thoroughly enjoy) but none feel as real and logical as Tolkien's, as if they were indeed history.

Author's Response: Later in life he referred to his ambition as "absurd" which I find sad - so many of us have found his work to be exactly what he intended it to be, a "secondary world," a "mythology for England." Then again, I suppose no writer ever feels that they've achieved exactly what they meant to when they started out!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 13:02 · For: Chapter 1
Narya, what a terrific essay, one one of great interest to me, since I do have a love of place names, and finding out where they originate.

The result was a greater “sense of the variety and verisimilitude of Middle-earth”

I completely agree with this, it is one of the aspects that grounds Lord of the Rings and makes me, for one, feel that it (or parts of it) are my ancestral world, rather than a different fantasy world. I also felt this very strongly with Rohan Tolkien's use of Old English place-names links the Rohirrim to another, older version of Englishness. that they were Saxon in origin, therefore familiar and known to me, far more than for instance Gondor, or before that N


You must login () to review.