| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 22
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2014 1:36 · For: Inky Water
These are wonderful illustrations. They did much to draw me in to read Alpha's story and it added to my imagination as I read the series.

Author's Response: That is probably the best compliment you could have made for me :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:21 · For: Living up to its reputation

There is something really masculine about this grouping- the tilt of the head, the expression, the folded arms, the leaning forward- beautifully observed.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:20 · For: The greatest warriors on Arda

I like the Hero poses! A real force to be reckoned with. You get that sense of the significance of this group too and movement. 



Author's Response: I did try to have a "glorious hero" feeling here. I'm glad it works for you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:18 · For: Inky Water

Now this is really the stuff of which dreams are made- the scene is really beautiful- of course Alpha just writes such gorgeous scenes they beg to be illurtrated but you have the perfect partnership here. Love this!



Author's Response: I agree, Alpha's scene are so rich visually, it is an easy source of inspiration for me!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:16 · For: A Fateful Meeting

What indeed! Lovely picture of Arwen - actually how I imagine her.



Author's Response: Thank you :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:15 · For: Empowered

Beautiful exxpression.



Author's Response: Thank you. I suppose I'll always be a romantic at heart ;)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2013 6:14 · For: Waiting in the Forest

THis is poarticualry evocative, Veveco. Their faces are brilliant- each one shows a different sort of expression/ expectation



Author's Response: Thank you. This is probably the piece that took me the most time. So many characters to try to get right - I was pulling my hair at some point.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2013 12:08 · For: Living up to its reputation
Oh for the joys of Dwarven brandy - I mean just look at the consequences - poor Fin looks absolutely defeated - teheee, and Legolas on foot 'cos he can't sit down - hahahaha

Author's Response: I wanted to end on a light note, and see what happens ? (Nearly) naked elves. Oh, well... Worse things could happen. You know, it's been nearly 2 years since I did that first drawing "Back in the days". Time flies! It was sort of a challenge to myself to see if I could finish the series and not give up half-way... You changed a bit the "division" of the different parts of the saga in between, but since I'm pretty you won't change it much now, I can officially say that I finished the first collection ^^ And I feel that I've become better so it was a good experience for me :) It doesn't mean I'll stop now. The next part is only a few chapters if I remember correctly, but Arcane Land - that alone would probably take me at least 5 years if I ever get started ^^ Hmm, we'll see.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2013 19:50 · For: The Demonstration
Lovely, as I already told you. I love the hair and the crown, and of course, the bare chest!! Great work.

Author's Response: Thank you!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2013 14:52 · For: The greatest warriors on Arda

Wow! I agree with Alpha. They're all amazing, but Elladan in particular is stunning. I just love the detail of his armour.



Author's Response: Thank you! Though I must admit that Elladan's armor is rather inspired by PJ's work to be honest.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2013 10:40 · For: The greatest warriors on Arda
Oh my goodness, this is marvellous. I love the different styles of clothing, the wonderfully stoney, proud looks on their faces - and just look at Elladan!! Wow.

Author's Response: Thank you. I have to say that I hesitated for a while for the 'design' of Elladan's face, whether to make him look much like Elrond or not... As always, your comments are much appreciated!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2013 1:01 · For: Inky Water
Oh just look at that. It's wonderful. And quite a different style. Love the creamy, muscled torso and the curtain of satin hair.
AND, you have drawn my attention to a typo, which I will be correcting first thing tomorrow!!!
wonderful work which I will, of course, be placing into the chapter with all haste!!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2013 15:12 · For: A Fateful Meeting
Ah yes, wonderful! This scene is so important to the entire story and I am so glad it has its own illustration - you are on a rol1!!! I love it. Ah, and that long long hair - wonderful!

Author's Response: Thanks. The bliss of holidays ;) I really like this scene. I tried hard to make Arwen beautiful, I'm rather satisfied with the result if I can say. As for the hair... I admit it's a bit of a challenge for me still, but I work on it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2013 12:24 · For: A Fateful Meeting

I love this moment and you've captured that awestruck communion between them so well. Beautiful!



Author's Response: Thanks, I tried to do justice to this important scene, so I'm glad if you think I did!


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2013 22:30 · For: Empowered
Oh God!! This is just gorgeous. I am useless at art Veveco, so you have no idea how much i envy you this picture.

They are utterly beautiful and I can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: Thank you. Me, I wish I could write better ;) There is more coming very soon, I just finished the next one.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2012 1:13 · For: Empowered
His expression is so beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you, once again!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2012 19:46 · For: Empowered
Oh, another new one - yes!! I love it - especially the expression on Legolas' face - perfect! Off to post it in the story!!

Author's Response: See, I also went for a bit of romance ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2012 17:51 · For: Waiting in the Forest
Wow, this is wonderful, Veveco!

Author's Response: Thank you !


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2012 17:16 · For: Waiting in the Forest
Oh! Wonderful. It took me a moment to realize that I have not seen this illustration before, thinking it belonged to chapter two of the story and not 17 as I finally realized. This is a wonderful scene to choose, and I love it.
Now I am off to paste it into the chapter.
Amazing work!

Author's Response: Yes, it's a fresh new one! I put it on DA as well today.(I'll upload the other illustrations later) I wanted to give the other characters a chance to shine ;)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 22:39 · For: Back in the days

Great to see art work here, Veveco. Colours, textures and experssion- all great!



Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I remember how 'shy' I was to post it at first, back over a year ago...


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 21:10 · For: Back in the days
Oh good Lord!! You did the illustrations for Protege??!!

They are absolutely amazing. Breath taking, Beautiful, and other adjectives that I am to sleepy to think about!!

I love how you captured Legolas, particularly because you have adhered to Alpha's description of him so well. I admit that I was rather skeptical about any artwork for this series because Alpha's description is as hard to believe as it is mind blowing but you managed that with a completeness that is simply gorgeous!!

I cannot wait to see more!! Did you do the other illustrations as well?

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I try to respect Alpha's description, but of course there is always space for interpretation and I know that my vision is not necessarily the same as others. But it is always a lot fun! And yes, I did the illustrations that are inside the chapters as well (so not those on top of Alpha's profile page, which are from Arkoniel, but all the others). I'm working on the next chapter right now.


Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 20:03 · For: Back in the days
The armor and the ornaments on the door are awesome. Very detailed smooth. I can even see clothing texture!
My compliments.

Author's Response: Thank you! I believe that working on these illustrations made me improve my work...


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2012 15:17 · For: Back in the days
I still remember when I first saw this, the first illustration anyone had done for one of my stories. I couldn't believe that I would be capable of inspiring an artist to do such a thing.

Wornderful armour on Glorfindel, and Legaelair's defensive stance behind him. This illustration will always be special for me.

Author's Response: It was special for me too - first time I ever posted a piece related to someone else's work. Your stories are so 'visual', it is such a pleasure for me to explore your universe! May you continue to inspire me ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2012 13:26 · For: Back in the days
Ooh, I am so pleased you have decided to post these, Veveco! Thank-you!
I love your detail, and the colouring.

Author's Response: Thank you! I will post the rest later on. Meanwhile I continue to work on the next piece... I hope you will enjoy it as well!


You must login () to review.