| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8004
Word count: 23834109
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14254
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
07/06/17 06:00 pm
I hope you are all okay. I have finished by backlog of work, and I notice I have missed Encarion's update, so I will treat myself by reading it
Ysilme
06/27/17 10:44 am
So good to have you back, Spiced! *hugs*
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2014 3:51 · For: Argon

I agree with you that Maeglin’s was the best picture in this batch as far as the intensity of emotions goes, but I think this new one is the most beautiful.  There’s something about it that I find really pleasing to the eye.  I think it’s the colors, defiantly the night sky, that is magnificent, but the coloring too, I just find this pic soothing somehow.  And I love Argon’s hair.  I’ve never seen or imagined him with silver-black hair, but it’s gorgeous, especially because the stars are shinning in it.  He could be Lúthien he’s so pretty :grins:  Yet another thing that’s really well done in this pic is Argon’s skin tone.  It’s nicely shaded and gives a pleasing fullness to his cheek and really makes his face pop.

This is so well done!  I am excited to see what you do next :D



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2014 6:27 · For: Maeglin

I love you for having such strong and positive thoughts on Maeglin!   I can’t stand it when he’s treated like a creep.  There’s nothing creepy about loving someone and just not getting loved back.  Yes, I think Maeglin had a ton of hatred inside him, both against Gondolin like you pointed out and against Tuor.  I don’t think Maeglin was a ‘healthy adjusted’ individual, so that he had issues with hatred is not unexpected.  But nowhere in the Silm (unless I’ve ‘forgotten’ Read: expunged from my mind lol) does it say he stalked or harassed Idril, and I can’t stand it when he’s portrayed like the spawn of evil.  So thank you for mentioning all those very important issues to keep in mind when reading his character.

Another thing I completely agree with you on, is that it does not make senses that no one noticed he was gone.  To me, it would have been impossible.  So I have to conclude that they knew but just didn’t care enough to delve into what happened.  I think Maeglin was probably good at hiding his feels (he’d have to be in such an environment) but I very much doubt that if someone had shown him a little bit more concern and care in those days between his release from Angband and the fall of Gondolin (and spent less time building secret tunnels and more time finding out what the fuck happened with their cousin who was freaking tortured!) then Maeglin would have confessed all and the Fall of Gondolin would have gone a hell of a lot differently.

(Can you tell I feel really passionate about this?  Maelign is one of my all time favorite characters too :D )

“No, sorry. Maeglin’s end sounds a lot like something the survivors cobbled together, because nothing made sense. Or Maeglin was just a narrative tool to get Eärendil out of Gondolin.”

I’ve imagined lots of plots where it turns out Maeglin hadn’t really died, and it was all just a piece of propaganda to make the refugees feel safer and that he’d got what was coming to him, but in reality he lived and healed and eventually and ended up in Eriegon with Celebrimbor :D 

So now that I’ve fangirled over Maeglin lol let me tell you about how much I like the atmosphere of this picture!  It’s wonderfully gritty and dark and just an unpleasant place to be which is perfect because it reflects what I believe Maelgn’s head would have been like at that time and place.  And by the way, I like that that is red blood on his sword.  Not because I want him to be killing Elves, but I do think he did when he defended his House against Tuor’s who attacked them for abandoning their posts. 

Thank you again for this positive and real interpretation of Maeglin.  (Not that I think any one view is the ‘right way’ to view a character, only that it feels more real to me because it’s so much deeper then writing him off as a creeper).



Author's Response: I'm so glad that there are other people, who harbour thought's about Maeglin AU's. I have list I'm working on and so many theories. Among them that a reborn Maeglin confront's Idril what lies she has been spreading.

A part of me believes that Idril was so set against Maeglin, because he ruined her chances of becoming Turgon's heir. It's telling that Maeglin only "wanted" to be Turgon's heir, in fact they fought the battle without settling this issues, I remember correctly. There was certainly no lost love between Maeglin and Idril, even if there would have been hope for a friend at frist from Maeglin's side.

The picture itself is the best of all in this batch, because it represents Maeglin's mental balance in contrast to the others. He is literaly just a few steps away from falling down a cliff.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2014 0:49 · For: Idril

Your view of Idril strikes me as very true.  I think she probably was used to things being handed to her, as well as living in safety.  I’ve tried to see her differently, to see something I could admire in her, but I always come up short.  In the end, she fled, left the world in the middle of a war she should have been a major player in as one of the last of Finwë’s House, and that decision is one I can’t admire, for I don’t think she was really going to save the world, but to save her husband and her own happiness.  It’s one of the reasons I don’t like Luthian and Beren’s tale, it’s all about them.  They don’t care who they hurt or abandon as long as they can get lost in each others’ eyes.  I cannot look at a romantic love –be it Luthian and Beren’s, Tuor and Idril’s, or even Feanor and Fingolfin’s—and think it should come at the cost of everything else.

Now to the picture!  I like that look over her shoulder; it feels entirely different from Adhel’s.  I am imagining her taking her last look back at Beleriand as she and Tuor sail away, and there’s something in her mouth, the tilt of the shoulder, that doesn’t look regretful.  I like her hair by the way, its very well done :D

I haven’t read that fic where Idril is Gil-galad, but I read this absolution smashing one A King by Any Other Name by tehta where  someone else ends up to be Gil-galad.  It’s a one-shot and perfectly done.  I don’t want to tell you who Gil-galad is, as it would spoil it.  I found the end reveal to be the best part and it left me squealing :D  



Author's Response: Your assessment of the picture is very true. Regret wouldn't have fit into Idril's features. At least she is honest enough to admit that, E


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 11, 2014 15:50 · For: Ardhel

I didn’t know Ardhel was your fav female character.  I am glad you got a chance to draw her :D 

I like the way she’s looking back over her shoulder, it adds the perfect air for Nan Elmoth.  I wonder if she knew she was being watched, or was it just a feeling in the back of her mind?

Now I really want to read those scenarios of yours where they survive!  I know they would be brilliant :D



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2014 23:14 · For: Turgon

I really like this one, its very well done.  It's the little things that leave me in awe: the star designs on his armor, the quality of his hair, and best: that pinch of his eyebrows!  You pulled off the broody/anxious look perfectly, and I like the way he's rubbing his neck too.

I am right with you about your Turgon feels.  I used to hate him too/find him boring, but while he's never going to be a character I like, I've mellowed a bit towards him (he's still rather dull though *g*).  And yes, his decisions was very questionable, especially where the hell he was during the DB!



Author's Response: Turgon slowly got interesting, when I argued about why I hate him. I understand him better now, but I still see him responsible for Maeglin's fate.

Vinyamar interests me, because it's usually forgotten that he didn't immediately settled in Gondolin. It took decades until he decided to move. Ulmo's questionable reasoning aside, how to explain it? I guess it's not healthy to live near the sea, when you have been just banished. I guess it was some kind refugee camp, given how far Vinaymar is away from Lake Mithrim.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2014 1:47 · For: Fingon

I love that look back over his shoulder.  He really is sneaking off, and the doorway being shadows like that is kind of telling.  It’s like he’s stepping out from the web of Tirion to run away into the light of being with Maedhros off on some adventure (probably in the wilds or something entirely unorthodox *g*).

And I like the reasoning you gave for his naming of the Valiant.  The strange thing about that name is it came about before Beleriand, and as I don’t see him being named such for any of his deeds at the Kinslaying, he must have already worn it, so where did he get such a bold name in a land that was supposedly peaceful?

Another thing I just noticed:  the details on his robe!  Holy shit!  I’ve no idea how you managed those fine lines, but it’s one more thing I love about this piece.



Author's Response: For the robe I used an existing pattern that I asigned to the shading. It's flattering, but it's way too much to draw this kind of pattern by yourself. The picture also used to have diferent setting. I originally wanted Fingon to look back and stretch out his hand (naturally to Maedhros), but than I came up with The Valiant and the frictions in Valinor.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2014 20:27 · For: Fingolfin

Its good to see you back :hugs:

I like this Fingolfin better as well.  The snowiness of the background makes me think he's close to the Helcaraxe, which fits his grim expression and the nice touch of his fur cloak you added (beautiful job on that!).  I love the detail of the scar!  1. because it means he fought at Alqualonde.  2. because he's exactly as conflicted and heavy-souled about that decision as I believe he would be.  Add to that getting abandoned by Feanor, and this was a tough atmosphere to pull off, but I think you did a marvelous job :D



Author's Response: Yes, he is close to the Helcaraxe. Even if Lake Mithrim must have looked similar in winter. But I was going for the setting after Alqualonde. For elves, who put such weight on beauty, visible scars must have been seen as a wound that never healed. Not as a limitation of the flesh to repair the body.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2014 12:49 · For: Fingolfin
I love the texture of his hair, and the expression you have given him. And I do agree about scars, indeed I have addressed this subject too in AL.

Great portrait :)

Author's Response: Thanks. It's nice I'm not alone with my theory. I just wondered how fast scars fade, since elven are described as unmarred, yet are they able to receive wounds like anybody else.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 15:36 · For: All Members Lineart

Awesomeness... I love how they all have distinct features that somehow reflect their character a bit...



Author's Response: Oh. I think I completely forgot this one. There still so many people to be colored. And the distinct features are due to a lot of photo references.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2013 16:43 · For: Fingolfin - Old Version
That is a really poignant and atmospheric piece.

Author's Response: I had to google "poignant", but I agree. The word fits. Thanks.


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2012 1:25 · For: All Members Lineart
Oh, those are lovely!

Author's Response: Thanks :)


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2012 17:17 · For: All Members Lineart

Very good! My favorites are Idril and Earendil.



Author's Response: I'm so glad you picked the two character's I had most trouble with Makes all the editing and additional work worth the effort =)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2012 22:51 · For: All Members Lineart
The magnificaent House of Fingolfin. Lovely :D So glad you put in Gil-galad, as to me he is Fingon's son.

Author's Response: I also think Gil-galad as Fingon's son. It's my headcanon, since my book stats this way. The thought of him being Orodreth son ... and Findiluas brother. No, it doesn't fit. I reject this kind of reality. Even if it would explain why Sirion went down so badly. Without a connection to the Feanorians through Fingon, Gil-galad was probably raised very differently. Especially since Finfarfins children took pride in having not participated in the first Kinslaying. Ah, you evil person. See, what are you doing? Get out of my head.


You must login () to review.