| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8583
Word count: 26161514
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16103
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Narya
10/19/18 10:01 pm
What's everyone up to this weekend?
Shout Archive


Reviews For So Much for Glory

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2012 21:37 · For: Chapter 1

As always, a masterly piece of writing- the closeness of the action makes it so there is no real sense of the assailant until he sees his 'macrbre grimace'' of death.  You get the action very focused in this and that succinctness is perfect. As always.



Author's Response:

Thanks Ziggy.  Glad it worked for you.  I always try to make a drabble be a mini-story with hints at something larger. 



Name: Russandol (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2012 9:15 · For: Chapter 1

You've done it perfectly: every word counts to paint the scene, and the fight is vivid and desperate. Poor Legolas, all his dreams of glory replaced by the memory of an unwelcome touch... and that ugly death grimace.

Great drabble!



Author's Response:

Thank you Russa!  And already we're seriously behind schedule.  Good thing I didn't tell everyone I was going to try Nanowrimo.  Epic fail if so.  Hugs!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2012 19:57 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, this shows the brutal swiftness of Legolas' first battle, not what he was expecting, but Legolas reacted without thinking. And then found that there was nothing noble in death. Very good, Elfscribe. Amazes me how you work so much into a drabble - I have said it before, I know.

Author's Response:

Thanks Spice.  Drabbles are good exercises.  I'm really impressed with your literary output.  Wish I was a lot more prolific.



Name: L8Bleumr (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2012 14:07 · For: Chapter 1
I have such admiration for people who can write a drabble. I've tried. I can't. I'm just too long winded. You know, we all think of Legolas as being the expert archer. I like the idea that his first kill was hand to hand combat. It makes it more personal, I think, rather than hitting a target at a distance. I like this. Good job.

Author's Response:

Thanks L8.  It's been good to start writing again, even if just a drabble.



You must login () to review.