| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Upon the Hearth by Narya General Audiences
Narvi is intrigued and a little unnerved by Celebrimbor's companion. Celebrimbor is soppy about his scaly, fire-breathing...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Rohan: An Anthology by Himring Teen
Anthology for short pieces set in or associated with Rohan. Most of these either feature Eowyn or draw on the material on...
~ Summerland ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
New experiences broaden the mind —trauma and the impossible crack it wide open. A quiet summer holiday, the hint...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1688
Chapters: 8616
Word count: 26249432
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16188
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
11/17/18 12:37 am
Happy Friday :D
Spiced Wine
11/16/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:56 pm
chapter posted is actually new instead of repeat this time.
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:55 pm
snow for us here too! And sorry somehow chapter 39 on "I'll be yours" repeated itself instead of posting chapter 40. I think I've got it fixed now. Sorry for any confusion. Chapter p
Karlmir Stonewain
11/15/18 10:47 am
Snow is in tonight's forecast. Bah! It's too early for snow. Time for a sequel to "Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold."
Naledi
11/14/18 10:49 pm
Oops - meant to say, please DM me with your email address!
Naledi
11/14/18 10:48 pm
Can those of you who want to be involved DM me and I'll send out a group email. Cheeky and Ziggy - I know I did have your emails, but I doubt I've still got them.
Naledi
11/14/18 10:46 pm
Yay for everyone joining in with the advent calendar (*waves to Cheeky*). It's probably time we got this show on the road.
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:42 pm
And it will still feel like a last-minute rush!
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:41 pm
I do not believe we’re already thinking of Christmas. Yet here I am ordering pressies, buying cards, making sure I have addresses...
Shout Archive


Reviews For New Possibilities

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2014 23:08 · For: Chapter 5
Oh what a beautiful, sad and yet uplifting story! I loved it.
The ending with the gift from Gimli and then Legolas and Elrohir at his grave was PERFECT!!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cheekybeak! This was one of my first fics and I always get a thrill when people tell me they enjoyed it. 



Name: ghostflower (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2014 20:24 · For: Chapter 5
Awww, this was just perfect.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Ghostflower! I'm glad you enjoyed it :-)



Name: mary_poppin (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 20:30 · For: Chapter 1
this is one my prefered fic. I really love your Legolas and Elrohir, are so cute. Thank you very much for you fics.

Author's Response:

Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm so glad you enjoyed this. 



Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: December 08, 2012 17:02 · For: Chapter 2
I sense heartache coming quickly with Legolas going to Elrohir out of a sense of obligation. I hope I'm wrong. Lovely so far!

Author's Response:

Yup - I think you're right! Legolas is trying to force himself into feeling something when he's just not ready.

Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: gginsc (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2012 18:49 · For: Chapter 5
That was so beautiful! Sob! Sob! Love it!!!!

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you! I'm so pleased you liked it. Thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2012 21:20 · For: Chapter 5
This was gorgeous Naledi. The story took me for a merry ride, right from the first chapter, it rose higher and higher to culminate spectacularly in this one, leaving me ginning like an idiot at some parts.

First off, the imagery was simply amaging. Gimli's tomb and your other descriptions were wonderful. I have never been a great fan of Gimli but in thia story, you had me wishing several times that he wsa alive particularly when he saw the rings for the first time. I was beautiful.

I absolutely adored your Elrohir. Steadfast, faithful and hopelessly brave inspite of everything that was thrown at him. He is utterly perfect for Legolas. Elladan was really good too. I can easily imagine him being the nagging healer!

But what I loved best, was your ending. It was fitting that Legolas wanted to speak to Gilmi at the end of it all and Elrohir's awkwardness was well, simply adorable and the sibcerity of his gratitude was wonderful to read.

In conclusion, another wonderful story. Thank you so much for sharing it:)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Elvewen, I'm blushing after reading your lovely review :)

I like Gimli, but avoid writing him, because I find it too easy to slip into charicature. But although Gimli doesn't actually appear in the story, it felt right to give him the last word. I liked the idea that Gimli had seen all along who Legolas belonged with.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. Your encouragement means a lot :)



Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 11:54 · For: Chapter 5
Ah, what a cute story! Elrohir finally gets his beloved - as he deserved after waiting for so long I dare say. And I like how the conclusion with Gimli wraps up the story. Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Veveco! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Gimli was always one for getting the last word. He wasn't going to let something like death stop that from happening here :)

Thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:29 · For: Chapter 5

OK- made me cry. 

 

Absolutely gorgoeus and lovely and perfect. Still made me cry- that final touch with Gimli's gift just took us right back to the start but in perfect cycle. I love this story, Naledi. You just have that perfect blend of angst and fulfilment. Thank you hun xxxxx



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy - don't know whether to be sorry or pleased that I made you cry! Thanks for spurring me on to post this. As I've already said, there are big chunks that I'm not happy with, so I probably wouldn't have posted it without your encouragement. And I'm determined to get to grips with that Mirkwood fic now. Just hope I can sustain the angst this time :)

Thanks again for all the wonderful reviews - I know you understand what a difference it makes to an author :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:10 · For: Chapter 5
Awwwwww - so it comes full circle, a lovely turn to the end of a lovely tale - a true faerie tale - slash though it be.

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, Alpha. I have a thing for tales that come full circle. I like the sense of both ending and new beginnings that it brings.

Thanks for following this tale - reviewers like you help me keep writing :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 15:03 · For: Chapter 4
Oh, what a great end to this chapter...

The last thing he thought rather hazily before the darkness closed around him once more, was that he must be lying outside. For he was sure he could feel raindrops splashing on his face.

Can't wait for more.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Alpha Ori! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The final chapter will be posted either today or Friday, so you won't have long to wait :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2012 23:03 · For: Chapter 4

Ahhhrgh. How COULD you!!!!! I am in torment- well not reall because you gave away your love of happy endings but even so!

 

I love the way you write this- oh, the angst, the tenderness, the geneorus and lovely souls that keep giving things up for the other- but waht does Elrohir feel now? After five years, has he been faithful (he will have been I'm sure bec you would have said otherwise) and what will he do when he finds L injured?// You have made this very very real- that blurring in and out of consciousness, the awareness of pain but not really knowing its you- very real and credible.

There are some lovely littel bits of humour too- the blackberries, Legoals blushing and Elladna realsing it. The whole story is beautifully written- I do hope you update tomorrow but there is a LOT more to come!!! 



Author's Response:

Eek! I hate to disappoint you, but there isn't a lot more to come at all - the next chapter is the last, although it is a bumper-length one. So my question to you is, do you want an update today? Or would you like to prolong the torment and save it up for a Friday treat? It's up to you!

A lot of your questions are answered off-camera, so to speak. I think this is where I find this story unsatisfactory, to be honest. I rushed it, because I wanted to get to the happy ending, but I didn't give time for Legolas's realisation, or to show what Elrohir had endured over the five years. But yes, Elrohir has stayed faithful to Legolas. He's only capable of giving his heart once. He's loved Legolas for years (and who can blame him?!) and he's prepared to wait it out, however long it takes.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter. The bits you picked out are the bits I particularly liked writing, which I was pleased about. And I've enjoyed your reviews so much. They've spurred me on to dusting down that Mirkwood tale and seeing what I can do with that.

Remember - let me know if you want the final chapter today or Friday. Your wish is my command!

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2012 0:24 · For: Chapter 3

Oh, Elrohir- what a hero!!! So tender that he will sacrifice what he wants so he can support Legolas. I think this will be what Legolas needs but at whose expense- I've got a feeling about the way you are gonig to be taking us, Naledi!!

 

This is such a great chapter- it is so deeply satisfying. The gorgeous nervesnous of Legolas as he suddenly thinks, oop. What have I done?! as a result of HIS altruism, and then hte desire that hits them both- and that inevitable grief- it had ot happen really. But you take us on a real roller-coaster of emotion here- and superbyl doen as well. Have  told you I love you!!!!



Author's Response:

Love you too, Ziggy! Especially after your wonderful reviews :)

You've hit on the key to Legolas' decision to give it a go with Elrohir - altruism. And of course, it's also the key to why Elrohir has to let him go...for now.

That outburst of grief took me by surprise when I wrote it, but it was clear that it was the only thing that could happen at that point. But now that's passed, Legolas will start to mend. The next chapter is set five years on, so we'll be past the main angst by then. Well, almost... ;)

I'll try and update again this evening!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 2

Just re-reading this chapter before going on to the NEW onexxxxx

Love that ending- all the hesitation and tha tlittle niggly warning, and the passion. sigh- just what's needed.



Author's Response:

Ah yes, passion! You can't put Legolas and Elrohir together without it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2012 22:50 · For: Chapter 2

ooh- what can I do to persuade you to post today? I've just sent my next chapter to Anar for betaing so it's just waiting for her now. Promise. And it's a little bit sexy....go on.

 

I love the tenderness between them and even if L doesn't realise it yet, I am ever so sure he IS in love.

 



Author's Response:

I just posted! You must have written this as I was updating!

I'm glad to hear your next chapter is with Anar. Can't wait!

Hmmm...exclamation mark overload!!!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2012 22:30 · For: Chapter 2

Oh. You just added that little warning, didn't you, in the loveliest of moments with them both in that ray of sunlight and new love...so you are setting it all up for somethingelse to happen and i was sitting here with the soppies tof grins on my face  until I read that. Wiped it straight off... of course that doesn't mean it doesnt have a happy ending and I am trusting you with this.

THis story has EVERYTHING!!! Love it love it love it. 

 

Does that mean an update everyday please???It's my bedtime treat. (not like it sounds :o

xx



Author's Response:

I was going to apologise for that little warning at the end. Then I remembered how cruel you've been to Legolas and Elrohir in SoT. Trust me, this story has about as much angst as Peppa Pig,  compared to your tales! And just to reassure you, I hate unhappy endings.

I'm pleased you're enjoying it. If I update daily, would that persuade you to update MDLW asap? I'm so looking forward to seeing what happens when Legolas meets the inhabitants of Imladris :)

Thank you for your enthusiastic reviews. I wouldn't have updated so soon without them :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2012 20:32 · For: Chapter 2
waaaa - this was lovely imagery:

a ray of light broke through the leaves, enveloping him in golden radiance. Elrohir bit back a gasp. Never had he seen Legolas look so ethereally beautiful as he did now. The dying rays of sunlight picked out every strand of his pale gold hair, surrounding the Wood Elf in a glorious nimbus. He appeared as a creature of light to the enraptured eyes of the Elf-knight.

That last paragraph has me thinking there is more to this than meets the eye though, so keep it coming!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Alpha Ori! I'm pleased you like that image of Legolas. It was so clear in my mind when I wrote it.

You're right to pick up on that last paragraph. You'll see what it's pointing to in the next chapter. Not only does it contain some Legolas/Elrohir action, but I also get to indulge in my treehouse fetish :D

Thanks for reading and reviewing. I was hesitant to post this because coming back to it after about four years, I'm cringing at some of the flaws in it. So I'm glad to know that people are reading and enjoying :)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2012 23:48 · For: Chapter 1

I love that image of Gimli's final resting place.

whose eyes had suddenly been opened to a dizzying vista of new possibilities.

and yes - wouldn't we all, if Elrohir suddenly kissed us... :)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Curious! Yes, I'm so jealous of Legolas, that he gets to kiss Elrohir. Then again, Elrohir kissing Legolas makes me jealous, too!

Thanks for taking the time to comment :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2012 23:11 · For: Chapter 1

Yes- its a lovely image and you make it very visual. 

 

!!! Will he regret his actions???!! NOOOoooooooooo

 

I'm sure he wont. I will love you forever if you can post tomorrow- my addicitons need to be fed

 

xx



Author's Response:

LOL! Have you overdosed on Lemsips?

I'll do my best to post tomorrow. Just don't keep me waiting too long for the next chapter of MDLW, AKA 'Legolas vs the repressed Noldor' ;)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2012 22:29 · For: Chapter 1

Oh. I LOVE this, Naledi. Where have you been hiding htis? It's gorgeous- a really sad opening- I actually had tears in my eyes reading Gimli's tomb- it was 'Great Heart' that did it- a lovely touch. And the description of the 'jewelled nest' - perfect. What a tribute.

 

Ah, but Elrohir. You have all the passion and burning power- sigh. I am so smitten. That look where all the intensity is brought together in that jewelled cavern- And the kiss. Perfect. Pleas epost more tomorrow. I cant wait- I have no self control and cannot cope with deferredgratification in any shape or form. Hopeless!

xx



Author's Response:

Oh thank you, Ziggy! I'm glad you enjoyed it. When I was posting all my old fics, I forgot all about this one because I'd saved it in a different folder.

Yes, Elrohir is all smouldering passion. But will he come to regret his rash action? More will be revealed in the next chapter. I had such a strong image of the cave when I wrote this, so I'm glad the description worked for you. I think I must have been inspired by Mary Stewart's 'Crystal Cave'. That, and the inside of a quartz 'thunderstone'.

I can't promise anything, but I'll do my best to post chapter 2 tomorrow :)

 



You must login () to review.