| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive


Reviews For Immigrants

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2013 13:46 · For: Chapter 12

*happy sigh* It took them long enough, but Legolas and Ithilienne are on the right track now.

Lovely story, Wombat. I think the Wood-elves need this time of transition. I hope you'll continue to show them finding their own woods to settle down in. It's interesting that some communities of Wood-elves have already contacted Legolas. I wonder how that will pan out. Somehow I picture Legolas wanting to start a settlement from scratch, as he did in Ithilien, so I'm looking forward to seeing how he manages the situation.

I see from the summary of your current fic that Haldir returns. Off now to see how that turns out. I'm also hoping for more reunions for Legolas and Elrond and Celebrian :-)



Author's Response:

It was a relationship with all sorts of odd undercurrents - and the idea of 'teenaged' Ithilienne trying to attract Legolas, who is trying to not be attracted and guilty that he might be, just to add to his problems with the sea-longing, and the death of his friend, not to mention the problems with leaving people behind, was a bit mean of me!

But there is sometimes a point when young women suddenly are no longer childlike but seem to become 'knowing' about relationships almost without the object of their affection realising. So there is suddenly a point where she is now not chasing, but leading and he, almost unknowingly, following. Then, eventually, there is a point where they are suddenly equals - and they start to move along together at last.

I thought this interlude living by the sea would be good for them all - but Legolas is born to see the wood-elves as independent, not living under the rule of anyone else - and he will want them to have their own land just as much as many of them will want it...

There will, eventually, be more reunions - although not always as and when they are expected. and I think there will be quite a few more stories to reach those points, too!



Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2013 22:25 · For: Chapter 12
Aw, Legolas has given into his feelings finally. They'll be happy together, I'm sure. Lovely tale!

Author's Response: Thank you - it is nice to know that you read and enjoyed it. Of course, as they are elves, they will take time and progress slowly with their relationship!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 13:05 · For: Chapter 12

At last.... sigh. I actually really like how very practical and prosaic it eventually is- they just do. It just seems right although the more romantic would have been at the beach. It just felt very right. 

Lovely writing, perfectly pitched and judged. 

 

Please start posting the NEXT  as a amatter of urgency

love

Impatient reader



Author's Response:

You know, I 'wrote' all those romantic scenarios in my mind - including the ship! But in the end none of them felt right and I think in part it was because every time Legolas planned something romantic it reminded him of stories he had heard of Ithilienne's parents' 'first night' - which was, of course, planned to the last detail by Rumil, 'the closet romantic'. So he was still trying to come up with his most romantic gesture possible - when it suddenly didn't seem necessary any more!

The next piece is a short one that I should get to in a week or so - but then there is probably going to be a long, long one - I've got a prologue and two chapters written, but not fully beta'd yet - although my beta is happy with where it's going and what he's read through. I just like to have a good idea that it's working, and something in hand before I start posting.



Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2012 6:21 · For: Chapter 5
Well, I suppose it's a good thing everyone seems very matter of fact about "the pleasures of the body" and "easing" otherwise I imagine Ithilienne would be hurt if she found out about Legolas' activities, especially if they have an understanding. I do see though that he thinks he's doing the noble thing, so I can't be upset with him.

Author's Response: The attitude of the elves to their bodies is really pretty straightforward; Eru gave them their 'hroar' to contain the 'rea'l elf, the f


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2012 5:46 · For: Chapter 3
I know I'm missing a lot here by not going back and reading all the previous stories. Ithilienne seems very smitten with Legolas. Well, who can blame her. :)

Author's Response: The relationship is complex... Ithilienne's mother being Legolas' 'sister of the heart, if not the sister of my Adar's loins'! You would get a good taste of the relationships by reading 'Dust' if you wanted to keep on top of some of the characters, and how they relate; it is the story immediately preceding this one.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 22:34 · For: Chapter 11

I am a bit stunned at how very very lovely and tender this is. You made me wait like you made Leoglas wait. And it is all the more sweet, and all the more tender for it. 

I love the way the other elves surrounded them, and Gimli's leaving so he could go on uninhibited. And the lovey mystery of Naltatamë, and I htink I should know who she is- realted in some way prehaps to Galadriel? Or what was that reference to Tindome? And I think there is some happiness for Gimli there too.

 

Lovely. Delicate. Beautiful. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! The question is did he get his girl... or did she get him? Just at the moment I think he has given up worrying about it. Naltatam


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2012 23:44 · For: Chapter 10

Oh- so you are just going to keep on teasing and teasing!!!! Argh. Even so, this was so well written, I was 'there' - could see the dancing, feel the dark, smell the fire and the salty wood. As alwyas, I love the way you develop the silvan culture and the fireworks were a particualr bonus. Love the sense of Olorin beneath Gandalf's skin.



Author's Response: **I was 'there' - could see the dancing, feel the dark, smell the fire and the salty wood.** Thank you so much! It is lovely to know that the 'feeling' works. I'm glad, too, that you liked that glimpse of Olorin under the cloak of Gandalf.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2012 21:33 · For: Chapter 9

Oh WHAT!!!! HOw can you do this to me!!! You lead me on and on, like Ithilienne , because she is far too  aware of what she is doing and I really think you have to put me and Legolas out of our misery!!!

 

Beautiful writing- wonderfully tender story, touching and thoughtful.



Author's Response: **Beautiful writing- wonderfully tender story, touching and thoughtful.** Thank you so much Ziggy. As for Ithilienne - oh yes - she is well aware of what she is doing...


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2012 15:17 · For: Chapter 2
Legolas seems very disillusioned here, but that's understandable, when you've planned for so long to travel somewhere and it's not at all what you expect. Hopefully everything will sort out.

Author's Response: I think he really didn't know what to expect - but he is discovering, like Coldplay said, that nobody said it was easy... I'm not that mean - he'll find his feet eventually.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2012 9:09 · For: Chapter 8

At much the same time as Sam was considering gifting her with his fruit cake recipe Tindómë was contemplating murder. She did wonder whether dispatching her husband-mother off on another lap around Mandos’ Halls could be considered the Elven equivalent of justifiable homicide, but she thought probably not – the penal code didn’t seem to be that complex. Had she known about the impending fruit cake recipe she might have considered making it with added poisoning – except that, generally, such simple spices as deadly-nightshade and hemlock just didn’t cut it when given to Elves…

 

Rumil’s naneth did not approve of tomorrow’s Solstice celebrations. In fact she DID NOT APPROVE in capital letters. There had never been any such frivolity, just because it was the longest night, when the Galadhrim had lived in Lothlorien; the whole thing sounded totally uncivilised, the sort of thing Men, or Dwarves, might get up to, and she was shocked and appalled to think that her sons would even think of participating!

 

Tindómë had been caught somewhere between shocked and appalled herself – or possibly more shocked and amused – at the possibility of Dwarves not only dancing to the beat of the drums, but bedecking themselves in ribbons, swapping them for kisses, and indulging in the desires of the body under the trees. Or amongst the rocks, which was more likely for the Elves this year, and also slightly more Dwarvish than the trees would be. She must share the mental image of cavorting Dwarves with Legolas, he would be amused whilst sympathising with her over Rumil’s mother’s… existence… uh – attitude.

 

Oh this made me chuckle! I can feel that this chapter has been maturing like a fine wine - it is a sublime piece of writing from beginning to end and laced with nostalgia and longing and a really really STUPID Legolas- which in itself makes me laugh.

 

That first section with the Hobbits planning their food contribtuions is just lovely and Legolas thinking lustful thoughts but denying himself bec of Ithilienne's innocence (ha ha - he has not chance rally when she puts her mind to it) is such a humorous and delightful section.  

 

ooh- who are the strangers??? Is it a disruptive and disapproving element or a rival for Ithilienne's kisses? Although he has steeled himself for that...you are a tease! Please don't keep me waiting toooooo long! 



Author's Response: I must admit I really liked those bits when I wrote them, too. Legolas isn't really being stupid - just looking at things from a different perspective - he has, after all, got a whole lot of other things to think about as well... including the new arrivals :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2012 23:26 · For: Chapter 7

Tindómë had a sudden mental image of a naked Elrond beating himself with a horse-whip and, even though she was pretty certain this wasn’t what Celebrían meant, got the urge to wash her brain with bleach.

Aha!

Oh- how loevely that image is of four bodies and a blanket of elves! And legolas not being sure of he wants Hladirin to be there or not!! Silly boy- why doesnt he just get on with it! BUt I love that eh doesnt too- not only because he is so honourable buy it keeps up the delightful tease.



Author's Response: Poor Legolas - he has a plan - he is going to 'give her time to grow-up', he is going to spend his time concentrating on the hobbits, and Gimli, he will take care of any tendency to be 'antsy' with others... Except that his plan might not exactly mesh with her plan! I'm glad the image of Elrond amuses you - and you like that interlude on the beach with the heap of elves.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 23:54 · For: Chapter 6

Oh, I pity Legolas. He is trying to be so damn noble but I'm not sure he is going to cope- I hope he doesn't. It will be much more fun and will give him that push he needs. Please don't make me wait (whine) you know I have already been sadly deprived by Speaker.

love

z



Author's Response: Legolas is finding himself being outnumbered - and quite possibly outclassed too! Next chapter someone else will be joining team Ithilienne as well...


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2012 15:08 · For: Chapter 1
What an adjustment it must be for Elves just coming into Valinor; nearly everything would be so different, wouldn't it. I see I have some reading of previous stories to catch up on, but you've written this so that even just starting off with it I can get a sense of what's gone before. Lovely beginning!

Author's Response: Thank you - I decided it might not be as easy as many people seem to think. The stories are all on here in the right order - but if you think of Tind


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2012 0:07 · For: Chapter 5

You have such a perfect style for this- the very factual and practical way legolas eases himself and with no guilt or pressure because he feels he would sully Ithilienne by thinking of her- what self control too.

 

Lovely description of th epools and again, its succinct, brief, practical and almost functional- which is perfect.



Author's Response: its succinct, brief, practical and almost functional- which is perfect. Yes - the whole idea was that this was a practical solution to a physical need - Speaker-to-Customers commented, when he read it, that it was the least erotic sex scene I had ever written - and that was exactly what it was meant to be! I picture the Telerin bathing pools looking like something by Sir Lawrence Alma Tadema - if you aren't familiar with his work just try google images for Alma Tadema...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2012 0:01 · For: Chapter 4

Brillant chapter! So funny- and as always, tender and affectionate and touching. Love hte idea that they are all out to seduce Gimli!!! Hope someone does.



Author's Response: They will certainly be trying ... You can just imagine how amused Legolas would feel when he finds out, after all the years of needing his 'Shield' when he visited Minas Tirith, to be the number two target rather than the number one!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2012 23:55 · For: Chapter 2

ooh- wondered when I saw the number of reviews why- I must have missed htis one out.

 

I loved th eBig Brother conversation over being homesick- just so practical and sensible. I love the whole idea of that- its called Elven home but of COURSE it isnt. Not yet. I love the way you are making me rethink it all.



Author's Response: Thank you Ziggy. Yes - it might be Elvenhome - but it is not 'home' - not yet...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2012 22:39 · For: Chapter 3

What a lovely chapter. The image of Tindome's hair is particualry vivid and I love the way she rabbits on at Ithilienne and they end up giggling. It would be no bad thing for her to try her wings with a few other Elves before she settles down- and I would liek to see Legolas' reaction (oh, the hurt, the longing, the realisation) but I think you are too kind to do that. 

And the Hobbit dinner had mymouth watering and trying out recipes in my head! I love that the Fellowship are somewhat reunited in this- and though Legolas has lost some he has regained others. 

 

Lookig foward to the next post dear

x



Author's Response:

I try not to let the hobbits cook anything I haven't tried myself - so I can vouch for all of Sam's food!

And Ithilienne has her own plans...



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2012 21:00 · For: Chapter 1

I love their anxiety that the Solstice is celebrated! Can't wait for that chapter to be posted. And Ithilienne is just gorgeous - her determination is light enough but steady, for Legolas and I love her teasing strategy!

I like too the relationships you have maintained in this, between Gandalf and Tindome in particular but Celebrian too. 

Lovely story and I am so glad we have followed them here.



Author's Response: Yes! I am glad that you picked those aspects - they are all going to be threaded all through this. I plan to post a chapter on Mondays and Thursdays, as far as off-line life permits, as it is already written.


You must login () to review.