| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Shout Archive



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2012 18:26 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a sad story. I feel so sorry for Maedor. He finally understands -- just a little bit too late. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank you! As I said, I was initially tempted to be soppy and have a happy ending. However, it just did not seem to fit. I am glad you enjoyed it.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 23:41 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful, and so sad. Poor Maedor - to gain an insight into his lover's actions, only to discover he is too late. Somehow this tale sums up the tragedy of the Greenwood in a single snapshot.



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, my friend. It was a sudden mood that took me at the hairdressers! Luckily I had my Ipad on me and this is the result. I agree with you - this really does exemplify the feeling of futility the woodelves would have felt at times, at least in this universe.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 12:10 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, what a sad little tale... To finally come to understand his lover and his worth only to be too late! It was beautiful however. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am genuinely glad that you enjoyed it. Perhaps it will inspire you later on to one of your own works of art!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you! I am all a-squee at having this dedicated to me.

Especially as it is a beautiful piece of writing; particularly as Maedor begins to realise that he has been looking at everything backwards. And the end is perfect in its inevitability - a happier ending would not have worked anywhere near as well.

Author's Response: a-squee? a-squee you say? Tehee, nice word! I am glad you enjoyed the tale and I do agree, a happy ending would not have worked at all!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, Alpha...too sad. Made me cry- how, on that cusp of understnading, could you let this happen. That moment he eased through the wall of his own blindness or obstinacy/ selfishness was wonderfully imagined- and into the world as Beldir saw it. Only to have it snatched away. 

Legolas is wonderfully written here- low key, wounded, in mourning himself but able to see Maedor's bereavement before he does.

(And I am so glad you are writing for two of our most generous writers- as you say!)



Author's Response: It was not my original idea to be so cruel - it simply slipped out, the need to be tragic suddenly taking over my initial idea of a happy, enlightened elf, soon to be reunited with his lover. I am glad you enjoyed the wall, and am also glad you enjoyed Legolas' somewhat atypical role, and if I did, indeed, make you cry, then I am honoured to have inspired such feeling in such a great author.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:13 · For: Chapter 1
I thought this was the awakening of some-one who was not a warrior, and could not understand the sacrifice of those who fought for the Greenwood.
It was a lovely piece of imagery, Alpha,

He had stepped through the stone wall of self, and into the light of understanding. No longer trapped inside his own subjective world, but in the world of everyone, where suddenly, everything made such simple sense.

But although it was that, it seems that he knew in his soul, and that this was two awakenings, to all and to the grief that comes with it.

I am very honoured you would dedicate this lovely, sorrowful fic, Alpha.

Author's Response: You are absolutely spot on. It is, indeed, two awakenings: one into understanding and, perhaps, maturity, and the other - to grief that inexorably seems to come with wisdom. I am so glad you enjoyed the imagery and that this story, in some way, merits your kind words.


You must login () to review.