| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2012 18:26 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a sad story. I feel so sorry for Maedor. He finally understands -- just a little bit too late. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank you! As I said, I was initially tempted to be soppy and have a happy ending. However, it just did not seem to fit. I am glad you enjoyed it.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 23:41 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful, and so sad. Poor Maedor - to gain an insight into his lover's actions, only to discover he is too late. Somehow this tale sums up the tragedy of the Greenwood in a single snapshot.



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, my friend. It was a sudden mood that took me at the hairdressers! Luckily I had my Ipad on me and this is the result. I agree with you - this really does exemplify the feeling of futility the woodelves would have felt at times, at least in this universe.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 12:10 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, what a sad little tale... To finally come to understand his lover and his worth only to be too late! It was beautiful however. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am genuinely glad that you enjoyed it. Perhaps it will inspire you later on to one of your own works of art!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you! I am all a-squee at having this dedicated to me.

Especially as it is a beautiful piece of writing; particularly as Maedor begins to realise that he has been looking at everything backwards. And the end is perfect in its inevitability - a happier ending would not have worked anywhere near as well.

Author's Response: a-squee? a-squee you say? Tehee, nice word! I am glad you enjoyed the tale and I do agree, a happy ending would not have worked at all!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, Alpha...too sad. Made me cry- how, on that cusp of understnading, could you let this happen. That moment he eased through the wall of his own blindness or obstinacy/ selfishness was wonderfully imagined- and into the world as Beldir saw it. Only to have it snatched away. 

Legolas is wonderfully written here- low key, wounded, in mourning himself but able to see Maedor's bereavement before he does.

(And I am so glad you are writing for two of our most generous writers- as you say!)



Author's Response: It was not my original idea to be so cruel - it simply slipped out, the need to be tragic suddenly taking over my initial idea of a happy, enlightened elf, soon to be reunited with his lover. I am glad you enjoyed the wall, and am also glad you enjoyed Legolas' somewhat atypical role, and if I did, indeed, make you cry, then I am honoured to have inspired such feeling in such a great author.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:13 · For: Chapter 1
I thought this was the awakening of some-one who was not a warrior, and could not understand the sacrifice of those who fought for the Greenwood.
It was a lovely piece of imagery, Alpha,

He had stepped through the stone wall of self, and into the light of understanding. No longer trapped inside his own subjective world, but in the world of everyone, where suddenly, everything made such simple sense.

But although it was that, it seems that he knew in his soul, and that this was two awakenings, to all and to the grief that comes with it.

I am very honoured you would dedicate this lovely, sorrowful fic, Alpha.

Author's Response: You are absolutely spot on. It is, indeed, two awakenings: one into understanding and, perhaps, maturity, and the other - to grief that inexorably seems to come with wisdom. I am so glad you enjoyed the imagery and that this story, in some way, merits your kind words.


You must login () to review.