| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2012 18:26 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a sad story. I feel so sorry for Maedor. He finally understands -- just a little bit too late. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank you! As I said, I was initially tempted to be soppy and have a happy ending. However, it just did not seem to fit. I am glad you enjoyed it.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 23:41 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful, and so sad. Poor Maedor - to gain an insight into his lover's actions, only to discover he is too late. Somehow this tale sums up the tragedy of the Greenwood in a single snapshot.



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, my friend. It was a sudden mood that took me at the hairdressers! Luckily I had my Ipad on me and this is the result. I agree with you - this really does exemplify the feeling of futility the woodelves would have felt at times, at least in this universe.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 12:10 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, what a sad little tale... To finally come to understand his lover and his worth only to be too late! It was beautiful however. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am genuinely glad that you enjoyed it. Perhaps it will inspire you later on to one of your own works of art!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you! I am all a-squee at having this dedicated to me.

Especially as it is a beautiful piece of writing; particularly as Maedor begins to realise that he has been looking at everything backwards. And the end is perfect in its inevitability - a happier ending would not have worked anywhere near as well.

Author's Response: a-squee? a-squee you say? Tehee, nice word! I am glad you enjoyed the tale and I do agree, a happy ending would not have worked at all!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, Alpha...too sad. Made me cry- how, on that cusp of understnading, could you let this happen. That moment he eased through the wall of his own blindness or obstinacy/ selfishness was wonderfully imagined- and into the world as Beldir saw it. Only to have it snatched away. 

Legolas is wonderfully written here- low key, wounded, in mourning himself but able to see Maedor's bereavement before he does.

(And I am so glad you are writing for two of our most generous writers- as you say!)



Author's Response: It was not my original idea to be so cruel - it simply slipped out, the need to be tragic suddenly taking over my initial idea of a happy, enlightened elf, soon to be reunited with his lover. I am glad you enjoyed the wall, and am also glad you enjoyed Legolas' somewhat atypical role, and if I did, indeed, make you cry, then I am honoured to have inspired such feeling in such a great author.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:13 · For: Chapter 1
I thought this was the awakening of some-one who was not a warrior, and could not understand the sacrifice of those who fought for the Greenwood.
It was a lovely piece of imagery, Alpha,

He had stepped through the stone wall of self, and into the light of understanding. No longer trapped inside his own subjective world, but in the world of everyone, where suddenly, everything made such simple sense.

But although it was that, it seems that he knew in his soul, and that this was two awakenings, to all and to the grief that comes with it.

I am very honoured you would dedicate this lovely, sorrowful fic, Alpha.

Author's Response: You are absolutely spot on. It is, indeed, two awakenings: one into understanding and, perhaps, maturity, and the other - to grief that inexorably seems to come with wisdom. I am so glad you enjoyed the imagery and that this story, in some way, merits your kind words.


You must login () to review.