| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8196
Word count: 24667870
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14877
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

SparkyTAS
12/11/17 03:33 pm
I'm greatly enjoying your advent calendar, thank you for this wonderful present. I hope you all have a beautiful holiday. Back to my frozen farm and very fuzzy horses now.
Narya
12/11/17 01:48 pm
Ok; I'll do Saturday again if that's alright? Goodness knows what will happen in that time...!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/11/17 01:08 am
Gabriel that works for me--I'll take Friday then!
Gabriel
12/11/17 12:53 am
Hi Nelya! I'll take Wednesday, if that's okay. Stay with the day I started with. :D Can't wait to see how this evolves.
arafinwean
12/10/17 08:12 pm
It's been an odd winter here, we've had barely any snow in a country that usually gets a lot. I can see grass, it's weird.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/10/17 06:21 pm
Gabriel--let me know if you want Wednesday--otherwise I can take Wednesday.
Narya
12/10/17 05:15 pm
Love it, Naledi :D I can do Wednesday, Friday or Saturday this week - and after that I'm flexible, I finish work for Christmas, yay!
Naledi
12/10/17 04:28 pm
Yup, me today - just posted. Look forward to seeing what you write tomorrow, Ziggy!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/10/17 03:08 pm
Our tree went up last night. No snow here yet but I'm not complaining! I can do Wednesday or Friday--unless Gabriel wants one of those
ziggy
12/10/17 02:23 pm
Naledi- is it you today? Me tomorrow.
Shout Archive



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2012 18:26 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a sad story. I feel so sorry for Maedor. He finally understands -- just a little bit too late. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank you! As I said, I was initially tempted to be soppy and have a happy ending. However, it just did not seem to fit. I am glad you enjoyed it.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 23:41 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful, and so sad. Poor Maedor - to gain an insight into his lover's actions, only to discover he is too late. Somehow this tale sums up the tragedy of the Greenwood in a single snapshot.



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, my friend. It was a sudden mood that took me at the hairdressers! Luckily I had my Ipad on me and this is the result. I agree with you - this really does exemplify the feeling of futility the woodelves would have felt at times, at least in this universe.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 12:10 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, what a sad little tale... To finally come to understand his lover and his worth only to be too late! It was beautiful however. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am genuinely glad that you enjoyed it. Perhaps it will inspire you later on to one of your own works of art!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 1
Thank you! I am all a-squee at having this dedicated to me.

Especially as it is a beautiful piece of writing; particularly as Maedor begins to realise that he has been looking at everything backwards. And the end is perfect in its inevitability - a happier ending would not have worked anywhere near as well.

Author's Response: a-squee? a-squee you say? Tehee, nice word! I am glad you enjoyed the tale and I do agree, a happy ending would not have worked at all!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, Alpha...too sad. Made me cry- how, on that cusp of understnading, could you let this happen. That moment he eased through the wall of his own blindness or obstinacy/ selfishness was wonderfully imagined- and into the world as Beldir saw it. Only to have it snatched away. 

Legolas is wonderfully written here- low key, wounded, in mourning himself but able to see Maedor's bereavement before he does.

(And I am so glad you are writing for two of our most generous writers- as you say!)



Author's Response: It was not my original idea to be so cruel - it simply slipped out, the need to be tragic suddenly taking over my initial idea of a happy, enlightened elf, soon to be reunited with his lover. I am glad you enjoyed the wall, and am also glad you enjoyed Legolas' somewhat atypical role, and if I did, indeed, make you cry, then I am honoured to have inspired such feeling in such a great author.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2012 23:13 · For: Chapter 1
I thought this was the awakening of some-one who was not a warrior, and could not understand the sacrifice of those who fought for the Greenwood.
It was a lovely piece of imagery, Alpha,

He had stepped through the stone wall of self, and into the light of understanding. No longer trapped inside his own subjective world, but in the world of everyone, where suddenly, everything made such simple sense.

But although it was that, it seems that he knew in his soul, and that this was two awakenings, to all and to the grief that comes with it.

I am very honoured you would dedicate this lovely, sorrowful fic, Alpha.

Author's Response: You are absolutely spot on. It is, indeed, two awakenings: one into understanding and, perhaps, maturity, and the other - to grief that inexorably seems to come with wisdom. I am so glad you enjoyed the imagery and that this story, in some way, merits your kind words.


You must login () to review.