| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: pippychick (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 7:35 · For: Diplomatic Relations
Oh, this was perfect! I love how wild and feral the wood elves seem to the twins, particularly Legolas. As for Elrohir, I feel like I could almost reach out and touch his desire. I really liked how he surrendered to the dance, as if falling under a spell. Beautifully written!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Pippychick! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, especially the wildness of the Wood-elves. This was one of my favourite fics to write, so I'm always happy when someone else enjoys it :)



Name: UnnamedElement (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 19:20 · For: Diplomatic Relations
This was lovely! I love your interpretation of wood-elves, a whiff of fey magic. And your writing is beautiful and strong and compelling. I am looking forward to reading more of your work!

Author's Response:

Oh thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. I always enjoy writing Wood-elves and their customs :)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2014 5:33 · For: Diplomatic Relations
Hi, this came up as a random story so I read it! Just had to tell you how much I loved it. The idea of the forest choosing a soulmate for the woodelves is beautiful.

I loved Elrohir and Elladans confusion about what was happening. Especially Elrohir!

Would love to see what happened when Legolas visited Imladris ......have you written that?
The vision of Legolas dancing that you wrote was such a lovely one!

Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed this, cheekybeak. I had loads of fun writing this. I have tried to write the visit to Imladris but so far I've failed to come up with the right story. I haven't forgotten it though!

thanks so much for your lovely review!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2013 13:04 · For: Diplomatic Relations

Love this fic, Naledi! Just the most glorious vision of Legolas. hmmm.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! It's great to know you reread some of my fics. I enjoyed envisioning this version of Legolas. I'm trying to think of a good sequel, so that I can give him another outing :-)



Name: gginsc (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2012 19:02 · For: Diplomatic Relations
A Good One! Nice.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 19:24 · For: Diplomatic Relations
Nice thought about the forest sending out the call for the soul-mate.
It's really kind of a cute story and I'm sure diplomatic relations have never been better between the realms :-)!
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! I do enjoy exploring the differences between the elven realms, so had great fun with this. Yes, I think diplomatic relations can only improve from now on ;-)

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm pleased you enjoyed it.



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2012 17:25 · For: Diplomatic Relations
DAMN Naledi--this was COMPLETELY OVER THE TOP WITH EXCELLENCE!!! IT WAS BLOODY BRILLIANT AND AMAZING!!! PERFECTION with story and OUT OF THE WORLD WRITING!!! My heart is still POUNDING ERRATICALLY!!!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Alaeryel! I hope your heart has calmed down now LOL! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for your lovely review :)



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2012 22:28 · For: Diplomatic Relations
Ah! Wonderful, and I do agree with Ziggy, you need a part two - Diplomatic Relations II, or perhaps something more imaginative.

I love the way you write the forest's choice because Elrohir's disorientation comes across pefectly, the ellipsis becoming obvious only towards the end f the scene.
Great descriptions of wood elves and their customs as always - so similar to the way I enisage them - I love the fact that you put Legolas in a skirt - to me that is simply perfect!
So, dear Naledi, don't keep us waiting for to long, you already have to petitions for a second part...

Author's Response:

Thanks, Alpha Ori! I hadn't thought of writing a part two, but thanks to you and Ziggy, I'm thinking it might be fun to introduce Legolas to Imladris and see what happens. I can't promise anything, but I'll see what I can do.

Ah, Legolas in a skirt...as I said to Ziggy, I was inspired quite a bit by your Legolas, and also by Iron-Age warriors. I'd never thought of putting Legolas in a skirt until I read the Protege, but now it just feels right! And I love writing about the customs of the Greenwood. Tolkien says so little about the Wood-elves that we get a free rein :)

Thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2012 20:05 · For: Diplomatic Relations

By the way, GREAT summary!!



Author's Response:

Hehehe! Thanks - it was fun to write!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2012 20:04 · For: Diplomatic Relations

oh- sooooo worth waiting for!

I love this idea of the Forest and song and only Elrohir hearing it- what a fabulous idea. And hmmm- so very very hot, my dear Naledi. I htink it definitely needs another chpater- perhaps the return to Imladris so Elrohir can introduce Legolas to their binding ceremonies, and beyond. 

 

That image of a half-naked Legolas dancing in the clearing, bonfire, woad, kilt.

 

I love htis idea of the danger of the forest:To Elrohir, danger meant the slash of a knife, or a swift arrow, shot from the trees. He hadn’t thought to guard his heart, had been unprepared for the enchantment that Thranduil’s son had woven around it. He would never recover. He didn’t want to.

 

Oh, and this bit;

Before he knew it, he was inside the circle of firelight, following a dance that he had never seen before, yet felt as though he had known all his life. Legolas’ eyes opened wide when he saw him, then his face was transformed with a smile that outblazed the fire. Then they were dancing, spinning around each other, never apart, yet never quite touching.

 

Elrohir’s vision was filled with gleaming skin, golden hair and blue-green eyes. The rhythm quickened and they moved in perfect synchrony, closer and closer. Now, with every move, Legolas’ hair brushed against Elrohir’s chest.

 

So completely caught up in it, so immersed he doesn't even know he's taken off his shirt...what can I say but I think I will have to read this several times to really appreciate it fully!!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy - reading your review has made my day! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The 'danger' bit took me ages to get right, so I got a warm glow when you picked that out.

I love the idea of half-naked Legolas in a kilt. I think it's inspired partly by Alpha Ori's Legolas and partly by British Iron Age warriors. Definitely more in touch with his primal urges than Elrohir. But Elrohir's a quick learner!

So...any chance of an update from you? No pressure, but you know how much I love your Legolas :)



Name: Sivan Shemesh (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2012 15:23 · For: Diplomatic Relations
It's always good to find magnificent fic to read with Legolas and you did it.

Thank you for writing it, as i enjoyed reading it.

*Hugs & Kisses*

Have a great day/night and keep smiling.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Sivan. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this.

Thanks for taking the time to comment :-)



You must login () to review.