| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive


Reviews For Taking Comfort

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 10:58 · For: Taking Comfort
I have been thinking about your Boromir/Legolas drabbles ever since I read them. I actually have a Legolas and Boromir one shot complete in my head just waiting to be written. I just have to get over my fear of writing Boromir...I have never written him, he scares me to death! Until then I will have to stick with my guys who are playing pass the sealonging!

I can just see Aragorn's face when the penny dropped...." Oh so that's what Legolas meant.......Oh!!"

Author's Response:

I  have only ever written Boromir twice - in those drabbles and in 'Pure Morning' - which is a very different Boromir in a number of important ways!

I have a feeling that, if the penny did drop whilst they were in Lothlorien, it was probably a good thing that Legolas spent much of his time amongst the edhel because every time Aragorn saw him he might have blushed! 

The mention of your guys playing pass the sealonging reminds me of a set of drabbles I wrote with Azalais (who set me off on the Boromir and Legolas ones).  They became known as 'Azalais and Wombat play Peredhel Tennis' over at the drabble group where we originally posted them.

I must ask her if she minds me posting them here, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 4:53 · For: Taking Comfort
This came up as a random story, I liked the summary and couldn't resist reading it. I am glad I did because it is lovely, so tender.

I enjoyed Legolas' realisation that Aragorn, despite having been raised by the Noldor and speaking fluent Sindarin, was not the same as him. I wonder if Aragorn ever eventually understood what Legolas was offering him then?

I too see the elves as not being very touchy feely day to day, like you say using the least unnecessary contact, and yet still being very sensual, I have always imagined they don't need the constant touch because they can connect spiritually with their Fea... But at times like these, of extreme grief, it makes sense they use bodily contact as well. Loved this!

Author's Response:

I'm really glad that you liked it.  Pleased, too, that you agree with me that the elves are not very touchy feely usually and so this use of bodily contact for comfort makes sense.

It struck me that whilst Boromir saw Aragorn as the person most like himself in The Nine, and probably never really recognised the similarities between himself and Legolas, to Legolas the only person, apart from Gandalf, that he felt any sort of shared culture with would also be Aragorn.  So, in my 'verse, realising that this was not as strong a bond as he had assumed was an additional loss to add to Gandalf's death. 

I'm not sure Aragorn ever did understand - although it is possible that, during that time in Lothlorien, the same formal offer was made three or four times and he finally either questioned what it meant or someone, realising he didn't know what was being offered, explained it to him in words of one syllable.  In that case, though, I think he would have been too embarrassed to ever mention it to Legolas!

 



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: September 05, 2012 16:25 · For: Taking Comfort
Even after this century, and more, amongst men Galanthir still felt they were a book with pages glued together so that he could not read more than a sentence here and there.


I absolutely loved that. I am sure the races are a puzzle to each other. And the unique comfort elves may experience, and that given Legolas, beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.

Author's Response: **beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.** Thank you so much. And I am really happy that you like that bit about the books too - I rather liked that line when it came to me!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2012 9:02 · For: Taking Comfort

This is a really lovely story, Curious.  It is gentle and deeply sorrowful- I love the use you make of the braids to denote both allegiance and a stepping away from that part of your identity in loosing hiar from braids.  (I wonder if you would mind if that sneaked into my stories sometimes, with acknowledgement of course?)

 

I love the fact that actually it is just physical comfort, and that does not have to mean sex- but the healing power of sex is acknoledged in all your work and I love that the Elves recognise htis - and Aragorn is clueless!!

Lovely way to remember too- subtle and not wrought in grief just very very believable.



Author's Response:

Please do feel free to borrow the idea of undoing the braids to signify moving away from allegiance and warriorhood. I first used it myself back in Brotherhood, when it was Orophin and Rumil in mourning, and so it is something I see as showing a background shared culture, again, between the Galadhrim and the Elves of the Great Greenwood - but quite possibly not with the Noldor... who knows?

I'm glad that this level of physical comfort seems right to you, too - and that last line of your review is a lovely compliment, thank you.



Name: Marchwriter (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:20 · For: Taking Comfort
Beautiful and subtle. I liked that quite a lot, and the exposed differences between Men and Elves, even Men raised by Elves like Aragorn. You really show the "otherwordliness" of your characters here. It really gave me something to think about.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - what a lovely review. I do worry sometimes that my Elves are not quite otherworldly enough and so I am so pleased that this did come over to you.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:19 · For: Taking Comfort
I agree - this is the end of a long awaited event, one that leaves nothing but exhaustion in its wake. I think the temperature is just right.

Author's Response: Thank you - one of my friends said she'd just assumed they'd play chess...!!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 15:56 · For: Taking Comfort
Ah, and what did I expect!! I admit to have worked myself up with imaginings of frenzied Silvans having desperate sex D) However, this works just as well, and Galanthir's tenderness is both touching and effective. I can see why you wrote it as a separate story, and the result is a delightful standalone side-piece to a lovely story.

Author's Response: I really do think Legolas would be too soul-weary for frenzied sex at this time. But had it been a death in battle then there could well have been a lot of adrenalin running and comfort might well have been obtained in a much more desperate fashion...


You must login () to review.