| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14502
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive


Reviews For Taking Comfort

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 10:58 · For: Taking Comfort
I have been thinking about your Boromir/Legolas drabbles ever since I read them. I actually have a Legolas and Boromir one shot complete in my head just waiting to be written. I just have to get over my fear of writing Boromir...I have never written him, he scares me to death! Until then I will have to stick with my guys who are playing pass the sealonging!

I can just see Aragorn's face when the penny dropped...." Oh so that's what Legolas meant.......Oh!!"

Author's Response:

I  have only ever written Boromir twice - in those drabbles and in 'Pure Morning' - which is a very different Boromir in a number of important ways!

I have a feeling that, if the penny did drop whilst they were in Lothlorien, it was probably a good thing that Legolas spent much of his time amongst the edhel because every time Aragorn saw him he might have blushed! 

The mention of your guys playing pass the sealonging reminds me of a set of drabbles I wrote with Azalais (who set me off on the Boromir and Legolas ones).  They became known as 'Azalais and Wombat play Peredhel Tennis' over at the drabble group where we originally posted them.

I must ask her if she minds me posting them here, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 4:53 · For: Taking Comfort
This came up as a random story, I liked the summary and couldn't resist reading it. I am glad I did because it is lovely, so tender.

I enjoyed Legolas' realisation that Aragorn, despite having been raised by the Noldor and speaking fluent Sindarin, was not the same as him. I wonder if Aragorn ever eventually understood what Legolas was offering him then?

I too see the elves as not being very touchy feely day to day, like you say using the least unnecessary contact, and yet still being very sensual, I have always imagined they don't need the constant touch because they can connect spiritually with their Fea... But at times like these, of extreme grief, it makes sense they use bodily contact as well. Loved this!

Author's Response:

I'm really glad that you liked it.  Pleased, too, that you agree with me that the elves are not very touchy feely usually and so this use of bodily contact for comfort makes sense.

It struck me that whilst Boromir saw Aragorn as the person most like himself in The Nine, and probably never really recognised the similarities between himself and Legolas, to Legolas the only person, apart from Gandalf, that he felt any sort of shared culture with would also be Aragorn.  So, in my 'verse, realising that this was not as strong a bond as he had assumed was an additional loss to add to Gandalf's death. 

I'm not sure Aragorn ever did understand - although it is possible that, during that time in Lothlorien, the same formal offer was made three or four times and he finally either questioned what it meant or someone, realising he didn't know what was being offered, explained it to him in words of one syllable.  In that case, though, I think he would have been too embarrassed to ever mention it to Legolas!

 



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: September 05, 2012 16:25 · For: Taking Comfort
Even after this century, and more, amongst men Galanthir still felt they were a book with pages glued together so that he could not read more than a sentence here and there.


I absolutely loved that. I am sure the races are a puzzle to each other. And the unique comfort elves may experience, and that given Legolas, beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.

Author's Response: **beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.** Thank you so much. And I am really happy that you like that bit about the books too - I rather liked that line when it came to me!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2012 9:02 · For: Taking Comfort

This is a really lovely story, Curious.  It is gentle and deeply sorrowful- I love the use you make of the braids to denote both allegiance and a stepping away from that part of your identity in loosing hiar from braids.  (I wonder if you would mind if that sneaked into my stories sometimes, with acknowledgement of course?)

 

I love the fact that actually it is just physical comfort, and that does not have to mean sex- but the healing power of sex is acknoledged in all your work and I love that the Elves recognise htis - and Aragorn is clueless!!

Lovely way to remember too- subtle and not wrought in grief just very very believable.



Author's Response:

Please do feel free to borrow the idea of undoing the braids to signify moving away from allegiance and warriorhood. I first used it myself back in Brotherhood, when it was Orophin and Rumil in mourning, and so it is something I see as showing a background shared culture, again, between the Galadhrim and the Elves of the Great Greenwood - but quite possibly not with the Noldor... who knows?

I'm glad that this level of physical comfort seems right to you, too - and that last line of your review is a lovely compliment, thank you.



Name: Marchwriter (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:20 · For: Taking Comfort
Beautiful and subtle. I liked that quite a lot, and the exposed differences between Men and Elves, even Men raised by Elves like Aragorn. You really show the "otherwordliness" of your characters here. It really gave me something to think about.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - what a lovely review. I do worry sometimes that my Elves are not quite otherworldly enough and so I am so pleased that this did come over to you.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:19 · For: Taking Comfort
I agree - this is the end of a long awaited event, one that leaves nothing but exhaustion in its wake. I think the temperature is just right.

Author's Response: Thank you - one of my friends said she'd just assumed they'd play chess...!!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 15:56 · For: Taking Comfort
Ah, and what did I expect!! I admit to have worked myself up with imaginings of frenzied Silvans having desperate sex D) However, this works just as well, and Galanthir's tenderness is both touching and effective. I can see why you wrote it as a separate story, and the result is a delightful standalone side-piece to a lovely story.

Author's Response: I really do think Legolas would be too soul-weary for frenzied sex at this time. But had it been a death in battle then there could well have been a lot of adrenalin running and comfort might well have been obtained in a much more desperate fashion...


You must login () to review.