| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Taking Comfort

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 10:58 · For: Taking Comfort
I have been thinking about your Boromir/Legolas drabbles ever since I read them. I actually have a Legolas and Boromir one shot complete in my head just waiting to be written. I just have to get over my fear of writing Boromir...I have never written him, he scares me to death! Until then I will have to stick with my guys who are playing pass the sealonging!

I can just see Aragorn's face when the penny dropped...." Oh so that's what Legolas meant.......Oh!!"

Author's Response:

I  have only ever written Boromir twice - in those drabbles and in 'Pure Morning' - which is a very different Boromir in a number of important ways!

I have a feeling that, if the penny did drop whilst they were in Lothlorien, it was probably a good thing that Legolas spent much of his time amongst the edhel because every time Aragorn saw him he might have blushed! 

The mention of your guys playing pass the sealonging reminds me of a set of drabbles I wrote with Azalais (who set me off on the Boromir and Legolas ones).  They became known as 'Azalais and Wombat play Peredhel Tennis' over at the drabble group where we originally posted them.

I must ask her if she minds me posting them here, too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2016 4:53 · For: Taking Comfort
This came up as a random story, I liked the summary and couldn't resist reading it. I am glad I did because it is lovely, so tender.

I enjoyed Legolas' realisation that Aragorn, despite having been raised by the Noldor and speaking fluent Sindarin, was not the same as him. I wonder if Aragorn ever eventually understood what Legolas was offering him then?

I too see the elves as not being very touchy feely day to day, like you say using the least unnecessary contact, and yet still being very sensual, I have always imagined they don't need the constant touch because they can connect spiritually with their Fea... But at times like these, of extreme grief, it makes sense they use bodily contact as well. Loved this!

Author's Response:

I'm really glad that you liked it.  Pleased, too, that you agree with me that the elves are not very touchy feely usually and so this use of bodily contact for comfort makes sense.

It struck me that whilst Boromir saw Aragorn as the person most like himself in The Nine, and probably never really recognised the similarities between himself and Legolas, to Legolas the only person, apart from Gandalf, that he felt any sort of shared culture with would also be Aragorn.  So, in my 'verse, realising that this was not as strong a bond as he had assumed was an additional loss to add to Gandalf's death. 

I'm not sure Aragorn ever did understand - although it is possible that, during that time in Lothlorien, the same formal offer was made three or four times and he finally either questioned what it meant or someone, realising he didn't know what was being offered, explained it to him in words of one syllable.  In that case, though, I think he would have been too embarrassed to ever mention it to Legolas!

 



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: September 05, 2012 16:25 · For: Taking Comfort
Even after this century, and more, amongst men Galanthir still felt they were a book with pages glued together so that he could not read more than a sentence here and there.


I absolutely loved that. I am sure the races are a puzzle to each other. And the unique comfort elves may experience, and that given Legolas, beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.

Author's Response: **beautiful concept and beautifully crafted story.** Thank you so much. And I am really happy that you like that bit about the books too - I rather liked that line when it came to me!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2012 9:02 · For: Taking Comfort

This is a really lovely story, Curious.  It is gentle and deeply sorrowful- I love the use you make of the braids to denote both allegiance and a stepping away from that part of your identity in loosing hiar from braids.  (I wonder if you would mind if that sneaked into my stories sometimes, with acknowledgement of course?)

 

I love the fact that actually it is just physical comfort, and that does not have to mean sex- but the healing power of sex is acknoledged in all your work and I love that the Elves recognise htis - and Aragorn is clueless!!

Lovely way to remember too- subtle and not wrought in grief just very very believable.



Author's Response:

Please do feel free to borrow the idea of undoing the braids to signify moving away from allegiance and warriorhood. I first used it myself back in Brotherhood, when it was Orophin and Rumil in mourning, and so it is something I see as showing a background shared culture, again, between the Galadhrim and the Elves of the Great Greenwood - but quite possibly not with the Noldor... who knows?

I'm glad that this level of physical comfort seems right to you, too - and that last line of your review is a lovely compliment, thank you.



Name: Marchwriter (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:20 · For: Taking Comfort
Beautiful and subtle. I liked that quite a lot, and the exposed differences between Men and Elves, even Men raised by Elves like Aragorn. You really show the "otherwordliness" of your characters here. It really gave me something to think about.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - what a lovely review. I do worry sometimes that my Elves are not quite otherworldly enough and so I am so pleased that this did come over to you.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 16:19 · For: Taking Comfort
I agree - this is the end of a long awaited event, one that leaves nothing but exhaustion in its wake. I think the temperature is just right.

Author's Response: Thank you - one of my friends said she'd just assumed they'd play chess...!!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2012 15:56 · For: Taking Comfort
Ah, and what did I expect!! I admit to have worked myself up with imaginings of frenzied Silvans having desperate sex D) However, this works just as well, and Galanthir's tenderness is both touching and effective. I can see why you wrote it as a separate story, and the result is a delightful standalone side-piece to a lovely story.

Author's Response: I really do think Legolas would be too soul-weary for frenzied sex at this time. But had it been a death in battle then there could well have been a lot of adrenalin running and comfort might well have been obtained in a much more desperate fashion...


You must login () to review.