| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1592
Chapters: 8170
Word count: 24586259
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 21:35 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this. It was amazing.
Raised heaps of political questions for me which I won't bore you with! Like heaps!!!

The Valar are just as I see them, controlling, merciless. The surviving elves seem so lost, sad, how can the Valar not see this?

Finrod here seems very different to the Finrod you wrote in Middle Earth but then Maglor does too so I presume you have maybe changed the way you see them since you wrote this?

I would love to see what happened next!

Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much :blushes:  I am so thrilled you liked the story so much!

I couldn’t actually remember what I’d written, so I had to go back and do some re-reading lol, but I see exactly what you’re saying about Finrod and Maglor.  Yes, my interpretation has really changed, hasn’t it?  Maglor is a bit of an ass in this, and with his share of arrogance (though I still think he has arrogance in him when it comes to his mad singing skills lol). 

Oh those Valar, I’m right there with you.  I will never be able to write a positive portrayal of some of them like Manwë and Yavanna, I just don’t like them and never will!

I actually never planned to write a sequel of this one.  I’d written it for a fic exchange, but that said, it was my first exploration of what was coming in The Price series ie how the Elves would be re-born.  You’ve read Come cone again and save us which has a more developed idea, by the time I get to writing the Elves’ rebellion against the Valar in the Forth Age and everyone getting re-born and stuff, hopefully it will be able to come together :D



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2013 0:39 · For: Chapter 1
A beautiful story, i do believe that the valar are pitiless and your representation of them is brilliant. I also liked the way you portrayed finrod and the other finwions, they seemed so very sad and lost. Thanks for posting, i enjoyed the read :)

Author's Response:

“A beautiful story, i do believe that the valar are pitiless and your representation of them is brilliant. I also liked the way you portrayed finrod and the other finwions, they seemed so very sad and lost. Thanks for posting, i enjoyed the read :)”

Oh I am so glad you liked this one!  Urrg the Valar!  I could just go on and on about all their bad decision making, but I won’t :D  When I really dislike a character though, I know that means I need to step inside their head for a minute and see if I can see things differently.  I tried that with The Herald’s Choice, and while I came away liking some of the Maia, I couldn’t bring myself to like the Valar :D  They were pitiless, as you say.  Maybe it was because they weren’t Children of Eru no matter how much they dressed up like them, and they lacked empathy and understanding of human emotions.  Either way, what they did to the Noldor –cursing them—was terrible!  And that’s not even getting into their dealings with Humans!

I wrote this for a challenge, but I also used it as a bit of practice for the last installment of The Price series which will take place in Valinor, because yeah, there’s no way I am keeping all the cool people locked up in Mandos’ Hall (under lock and key as I think the Exiles pretty much were).  I don’t think everything was candy and roses in Valinor after the War of Wrath.  It wasn’t before the Rebellion, and I don’t think Valinor was any more idyllic the second time around.

Thank you so much for your review, and please forgive me for the rants (I must be in a ranting mood lol!).



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2013 16:48 · For: Chapter 1
I truly loved reading this... It was beautifully written, and Finrid's love for Maglor is so touching... I could really feel the emotion in the story, very nice!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review :D  I'd never pictured the two of them together before writing this for a challenge, so its wonderful to hear you liked it and think it works :D



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2013 19:03 · For: Chapter 1

This made me cry- soooo lovely, so sweet and the end is perfect.



Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy!  This one really stretched me as I did it for a challenge and I’d never seen these two together in my head before.  But it’s wonderful to hear you liked it!  I loved getting to write elves getting one over on the Valar, and of course, giving those Feanorian’s a second life :wink:



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2012 23:14 · For: Chapter 1
I read this whilst away from home where I couldn't log in to comment - and had to come back to say how much I enjoyed it. It was good to see them standing up to the Valar - and getting what was only right and proper.


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2012 21:34 · For: Chapter 1
beautiful, I love the passion and fierce love you portrayed in this piece! and I like how you painted the Valar, as i often feel that way about them myself :) I hope there is more?

Thanks for sharing, caunedhiel xx


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2012 9:25 · For: Chapter 1
Finrod had wept when he’d seen his uncle who had once been as unbending as a mountain top, as arrogant as a falcon, as dependable as the sun, as wise as the moon, on his knees before the unmoved Valar. Fingolfin had begged. He’d asked for his children's lives, even at the price of his own. ‘Take me,’ he had said, ‘Take me instead.’ The Valar had not heeded his plea, and when Fingolfin had walked from the Ring of Doom there had been a deadness Finrod had never seen in his uncle’s eyes before. Fingolfin was not foolish enough to ask for F


You must login () to review.