| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8008
Word count: 23853665
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14258
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 21:35 · For: Chapter 1
I loved this. It was amazing.
Raised heaps of political questions for me which I won't bore you with! Like heaps!!!

The Valar are just as I see them, controlling, merciless. The surviving elves seem so lost, sad, how can the Valar not see this?

Finrod here seems very different to the Finrod you wrote in Middle Earth but then Maglor does too so I presume you have maybe changed the way you see them since you wrote this?

I would love to see what happened next!

Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much :blushes:  I am so thrilled you liked the story so much!

I couldn’t actually remember what I’d written, so I had to go back and do some re-reading lol, but I see exactly what you’re saying about Finrod and Maglor.  Yes, my interpretation has really changed, hasn’t it?  Maglor is a bit of an ass in this, and with his share of arrogance (though I still think he has arrogance in him when it comes to his mad singing skills lol). 

Oh those Valar, I’m right there with you.  I will never be able to write a positive portrayal of some of them like Manwë and Yavanna, I just don’t like them and never will!

I actually never planned to write a sequel of this one.  I’d written it for a fic exchange, but that said, it was my first exploration of what was coming in The Price series ie how the Elves would be re-born.  You’ve read Come cone again and save us which has a more developed idea, by the time I get to writing the Elves’ rebellion against the Valar in the Forth Age and everyone getting re-born and stuff, hopefully it will be able to come together :D



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2013 0:39 · For: Chapter 1
A beautiful story, i do believe that the valar are pitiless and your representation of them is brilliant. I also liked the way you portrayed finrod and the other finwions, they seemed so very sad and lost. Thanks for posting, i enjoyed the read :)

Author's Response:

“A beautiful story, i do believe that the valar are pitiless and your representation of them is brilliant. I also liked the way you portrayed finrod and the other finwions, they seemed so very sad and lost. Thanks for posting, i enjoyed the read :)”

Oh I am so glad you liked this one!  Urrg the Valar!  I could just go on and on about all their bad decision making, but I won’t :D  When I really dislike a character though, I know that means I need to step inside their head for a minute and see if I can see things differently.  I tried that with The Herald’s Choice, and while I came away liking some of the Maia, I couldn’t bring myself to like the Valar :D  They were pitiless, as you say.  Maybe it was because they weren’t Children of Eru no matter how much they dressed up like them, and they lacked empathy and understanding of human emotions.  Either way, what they did to the Noldor –cursing them—was terrible!  And that’s not even getting into their dealings with Humans!

I wrote this for a challenge, but I also used it as a bit of practice for the last installment of The Price series which will take place in Valinor, because yeah, there’s no way I am keeping all the cool people locked up in Mandos’ Hall (under lock and key as I think the Exiles pretty much were).  I don’t think everything was candy and roses in Valinor after the War of Wrath.  It wasn’t before the Rebellion, and I don’t think Valinor was any more idyllic the second time around.

Thank you so much for your review, and please forgive me for the rants (I must be in a ranting mood lol!).



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2013 16:48 · For: Chapter 1
I truly loved reading this... It was beautifully written, and Finrid's love for Maglor is so touching... I could really feel the emotion in the story, very nice!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review :D  I'd never pictured the two of them together before writing this for a challenge, so its wonderful to hear you liked it and think it works :D



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2013 19:03 · For: Chapter 1

This made me cry- soooo lovely, so sweet and the end is perfect.



Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy!  This one really stretched me as I did it for a challenge and I’d never seen these two together in my head before.  But it’s wonderful to hear you liked it!  I loved getting to write elves getting one over on the Valar, and of course, giving those Feanorian’s a second life :wink:



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2012 23:14 · For: Chapter 1
I read this whilst away from home where I couldn't log in to comment - and had to come back to say how much I enjoyed it. It was good to see them standing up to the Valar - and getting what was only right and proper.


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2012 21:34 · For: Chapter 1
beautiful, I love the passion and fierce love you portrayed in this piece! and I like how you painted the Valar, as i often feel that way about them myself :) I hope there is more?

Thanks for sharing, caunedhiel xx


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2012 9:25 · For: Chapter 1
Finrod had wept when he’d seen his uncle who had once been as unbending as a mountain top, as arrogant as a falcon, as dependable as the sun, as wise as the moon, on his knees before the unmoved Valar. Fingolfin had begged. He’d asked for his children's lives, even at the price of his own. ‘Take me,’ he had said, ‘Take me instead.’ The Valar had not heeded his plea, and when Fingolfin had walked from the Ring of Doom there had been a deadness Finrod had never seen in his uncle’s eyes before. Fingolfin was not foolish enough to ask for F


You must login () to review.