| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8442
Word count: 25536419
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15676
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2017 22:05 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
Mmmm, fabulous. I've finished this now and really want to start another, but I'm heading up to the Lakes for a couple of days tomorrow (weather permitting!) and apparently the cottage has no internet. So I'll have to wait.

This is a wonderful story, ziggy, with so many gorgeous moments. I love Gandalf giving a tea party for the Fellowship and Bilbo – particularly the part with Gimli playing the fiddle, and Gandalf being all smug that he's got the right people for the job.

Interesting to see the Ring begin to play on Boromir, foreshadowing what happens in Fellowship.

I love how you reveal how well Legolas knows his father - little things like the map clips. I also think it's really funny that Legolas wouldn't write to him while naked!

Mmm, Tindomion – and laughing at Legolas's playing! I couldn't help snickering. Absolutely love him in this, loaning Legolas a coin, grinning as it is flipped back to him. You don't get to see him like that very often :( and oh, my heart broke a little that he can't hear Gil-Galad mentioned! And his deep and obvious love for Elrohir too. Wonderful.

Thank you so much, ziggy :)

Author's Response:

Thank you Narya- it has been so nice getting all your lovely reviews and your thoughts as you read. I am very fond of this story too-it gave me the chance to write about the Fellowship in a fairly safe and comfortable environment where they could have some fun. I wanted to explore that a bit.

Oh- I'd forgotten the letter- yes. I enjoyed writing that whole section- loads of fun. And Tindomion- I wrote him into it for Spiced Wine. I intend to revisit that notion of Legolas and Tindomon playing the fiddle- watch this space:)

Thank you for reading this again, Narya. Have a lovely time in the Lakes- I can't think of anything nicer right now:)

xx



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2017 19:23 · For: Chapter 26 The Fellowship of the Ring
Oh, and I would love to write Elladan, Elrohir and Aragorn some time, if you don't mind me playing with them :) I have a few on the go at the moment, though - Three, a Maglor fic, and Slashy Valentine. I will mull it over :)

Author's Response:

Oh you go ahead! I don't have the monopoly on them and would love to read something about them in Moria- especially written in the way I see them:) yum.

I love Three- glad you haven't given up on that:) Ooh- a Maglor fic:D



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2017 19:22 · For: Chapter 25 Lothlorien
Your story is giving me a perfect relaxing evening :) there are so many bits that make me smile or give me the feels, and it's such a gripping tale, and so well written.

I enjoyed seeing Aragorn and Arwen unable to keep their hands off each other, and her fierce defensiveness when Aragorn suggests she might not like living a rougher life.

The bits in the Wood gave me heartache - the grief and worry over Legolas, and a little bit of irritation on his behalf too, seeing Thranduil and to an extent Thalos so protective over him, when we as readers know how capable a warrior he is.

The imagery is so rich and gorgeous. One that particularly struck me was Galadriel breaking up her reflection and it being like wounds across her face (you wrote it much better, sorry). Speaking of which - Galadriel and her mirror – just jaw dropping – the power, the temptation, the memories of her wondrous cousins...*shivers*

But in between all this you get those beautiful nuggets of humour - “Close your mouth, Aglareb, you look like a goblin.” Also a terror of Tooks and a baggage of Brandybucks. LOL!

Love this 'verse so much.

Author's Response:

I'd forgotten about the Terror of Tooks etc!!

I am so glad you are having a nice Winter read! It is just so nice to get all these lovely reviews:) Thank you.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2017 16:34 · For: Chapter 19
Ziggy, I'm sorry for asking this - possibly you explain it elsewhere and I haven't remembered - who did Elladan's dagger belong to? And do you write anywhere of his, Elrohir and Aragorn's journey in Moria?

I really love the chapter with just Elladan and Elrohir. I'm glad we got to spend that time with them, exploring the complex dynamic they have - brotherly love, but also darkness, resentment and the horror they can't speak of. Seeing them in battle is strangely beautiful, even with all the gore, and I love that you see the bond between them here, when Elrohir won't leave Elladan.

Aragorn can be so stupid...it's amazing how different his perception of Legolas is from the reality. Thinking Legolas doesn't understand the gravity of his news, and that he's at ease with Glorfindel, Elrond and co...foolish mortal!

Author's Response:

reElladan's dagger- don't worry. I find it hard to keep up with my own headcanon let alone anyone else's! I first wrote about that dagger in Sons- Elladan played with it- it was a way to distinguish him from Elrohir for readers but thne got a bit of a backstory- it has an M rune- was given to Elrond by Maedhros. At some point I think I have described Celebrian being unhappy about Elladan having it (I have Elrohir being her favourite for the plot of Sons 1) and Erestor telling him to wear it proudly. It comes up in Glass I think again- but I'd have to look to see what happens. I think I was toying with the idea that it is this one that Erestor slides through the Mirror but I think I used the morgul blade instead.

 

No, haven't really written that journey through Moria- maybe a reference in something else but not significant. Feel free to write it if you fancy it!

 

Yes- I love writing stupid Aragorn- I think Aragorn fans must hate my stuff! He is always putting his foot in it:)

 

Thank you for all these lovely reviews- again. Making me so happy:) I am just about ready with the next chapter of Sons II and then well on the way to the next two- it;sone long chapter really but it woul dbe just too long so splitting it inot three.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2017 12:23 · For: Chapter 15 Lost
It's wonderful to see the beginnings of those relationships we see at a more developed point in Sons - the beginning of Legolas and Gimli's friendship, Gimli's lack of trust in Elrohir, Elrohir's tenderness and conflict towards Legolas. Really gorgeous, ziggy.

I'm in awe of the medical detail in the last couple of chapters too. I love the mixture of science (the flame in the cup creating the vacuum, for example) and magic (Elladan soothing Legolas with those gorgeous images) involved in Elvish healing. Writing injuries and medical care is something I really struggle with, so I have huge admiration for people who get it so right.

I also really like (well, like is the wrong word, but I worked late last night and haven't had my coffee yet!) the way you develop the Nazgul. You build so much on what's in the books, as you do with all aspects of your work, and it's fascinating and horrifying to get a deeper sense of their powers. The perfect spooky reading for a chilly day ;)

Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment about the medical details- I really research those things so I get as close to actual medicine as I can. Cupping a well estblished practice to draw poison even now I think but I wanted to add a bit of elven science with the blue flame and healing- they must have a more organic approach to medicien I think

 

Ah- that you find the Nazgul spooky is music to my ears!! I think the way PJ showed them in the first film was really scary and I always think they developed in LOTR the further they got from the Shire so they are really terrifying by the time we get to MT and I loved the winged beasts in the film!! Soooooo much. I really want one of those.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2017 22:13 · For: Chapter 9 The Hall of Fire
There's so much to love in this story, ziggy - Erestor and Glorfindel's kindness to Legolas when he's so uncertain at the council, the nod to the obvious plot hole with Legolas wondering why the Eagles can't take the One to Orodruin, and the first glimpses of Elrohir - powerful and passionate, and all that gorgeous fire imagery, but so dark and tormented.

I like your Mithrandir; you get the sense of more than the kindly old man. He knows he's making difficult decisions and that some will pay a price for them. It reminds me of those lovely moments in Sons where see the Maia underneath.

Boromir is great too; it makes so much sense that he and Legolas would bond, as of course their experiences of constantly fighting the enemy and losing loved ones are very similar.

I adore Elrond and his thermal pools. I think it's Cheeky who always writes him as being obsessed with plumbing, maybe this is where it started!? And Glorfindel going to fetch the wine to comfort him. So lovely. And then Erestor - “‘You rascals,’ he leered breaking the moment. ‘What have you been up to without me?’ I love them, the depth of the friendship of so many ages shines through perfectly.

Author's Response:

Haha! I love the fact that the Eagles are ALWAYS Tolkien's deus machina but he just misses that chance completely in LOTR! They should at least talk about it:)

There's one bit that I really enjoyed writing with Elrohir- when Legolas first sees him and almost FAINTS with lust!!

 

Thank you so much for all these lovely reviews, Narya. My favourite thing:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2017 21:11 · For: Chapter 7 Many Meetings
I'm really enjoying this - again :) such a treat. I love that Legolas made such an inauspicious start, and bless him, of course he starts comparing himself to his brothers. I can't wait to read your Thalos fic! (By the way, you didn't mind us adopting your OCs for our advent calendar, did you!?)

Your Erestor is just gorgeous too. I had forgotten about his amber eyes *dreams*

Author's Response:

Oh yes- he really does himself proud to start with. Originally I was going to make this an Elrond/Legolas fic and not have it as anything to do with Sons but Anar persuaded me differently thank goodness!

(BTW re OCs in advent- it was such a delight to read Thalos and Anglach when I didn't know what was coming!I love that.)

 

Yes-Erestor is rather fabulous. I'm back with him again now in Where the Shadows Lie - which is great fun./ Just written a VERY naughty Erestor with Haldir.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2017 18:32 · For: Chapter 5 The High Pass
Hey ziggy! I thought I'd re-read this one; after our advent calendar I was in the mood for some more of sweet, innocent-ish Legolas and Wood-Elf family affection.

I love the way you write their culture - the summer celebrations, and the details like the tattoos and the mercy shot. It all adds such depth.

The descriptions are so gorgeous too; my heart was in my mouth reading about Legolas crossing the mountains. And now we're off to Rivendell - yay!

Author's Response:

You konw how nice it is when someone reviews an old fic- so this has just made my day. I admit it's one of my favourites too- I like Legolas' gradual transition in this although the reasons for it are sad as it is because of my dear Anglach's death. But you still get the light heart. Thank you- and yes, the advent calendar put me in the mood for more Mirkwood too:) So I probably will start a new Thalos fic soon:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2017 8:18 · For: Chapter 1 A Storm Breaks
Just finished reading the story, loved that whole situation with Elrond, Vilya and the ONE, so damn awesome and I also wanted to mention the beautiful sensual and mischievious relationship going on with Aragorn and Arwen. It was such a breath of fresh air to see these two barely be able to keep their hands off each other. And Legolas, Legolas, Legolas, what a sweetheart, so young and so easily swayed.

Author's Response:

How very lovely to get this review, Gabriel- thank you for seeing the Aragorn/Arwen thing going on as very few peope mention that and I really enjoyed writing a rather frustrated Arwen with a romantic Aragorn. He's going to have a bit of shock when she arrives in MT and expects him to stop worshipping her and become a proper husband- but I htink she is wise and clever and will sort everything out to her satisfaction.

 

Yes- Legolas. Love him so much in this!! Thank you as well for noticing the Rings- I think Tolkien created something wonderful and never got round to really explorin them because he ditched the One rather quickly:) I've got plans for Vilya;D



Author's Response:

How very lovely to get this review, Gabriel- thank you for seeing the Aragorn/Arwen thing going on as very few peope mention that and I really enjoyed writing a rather frustrated Arwen with a romantic Aragorn. He's going to have a bit of shock when she arrives in MT and expects him to stop worshipping her and become a proper husband- but I htink she is wise and clever and will sort everything out to her satisfaction.

 

Yes- Legolas. Love him so much in this!! Thank you as well for noticing the Rings- I think Tolkien created something wonderful and never got round to really explorin them because he ditched the One rather quickly:) I've got plans for Vilya;D



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2017 6:37 · For: Chapter 1 A Storm Breaks
I've just read the scenes with Galadriel and her mirror and have got to say, the images while reading were fantastic, in fact the whole picture you created of Lothlorien was just beautiful. I do love Elrohir and Elladan too, such wonderful characters.

Author's Response:

Thank you Gabriel! I rarely get comments on Galadriel so this is extra nice. I think she is far more interesting than she appears in LOTR- she came over the ice with Fingolfin, went to Doriath and learned under Melian, then founded a kingdom of her own and which she is clearly in charge of!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2017 10:51 · For: Chapter 1 A Storm Breaks
I absolutely love your Erestor, Glorfindel too and some of the things Erestor said had me in fits of laughter. Awesome story Ziggy!

Author's Response:

I love getting reviews for old fics- this has made my day, Gabriel! I am so happy to get a nice comment about Erestor- he just wrote himself to be honest! Hope you enjoy the rest of this:)



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2017 5:17 · For: Chapter 11 Gimli's boots
"So glad you are re-reading it Starfox- I had to go back as well because I couldn't remember. It was this:



Suddenly Elrohir turned to Gimli. ‘At the least he must have left his post to do this!’ he cried. ‘Tell me, for how long did you let him out of your sight?’



Gimli frowned and walked slowly over to them, knowing that when dealing with Elves it was best to walk slowly, appear unthreatening whilst keeping your hand on your axe and your finger on your throwing knife. Just in case. ‘Why are you asking?’ he said carefully.



‘This!’ Elrohir reached down and snatched up the green fletched arrow from where Legolas had placed it and thrust it towards Gimli. ‘This was in the heart of the Orc I left as a warning.’ He turned back to Legolas. ‘He left his post to shoot it!’



‘I did not leave my post.’ Legolas said from where he sat.



‘You must have! No one could shoot that distance in the dark.’ Elrohir poured out his scorn and anger. ‘You must have left your post and taken it upon yourself to silence the Orc because it was disturbing you. Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc.’



He found Legolas' arrow in the orc. He's so angry about that- been allowed ot roll on his journey of hate for so long he stopped seeing it."

No, I didn't mean this. I mean how does he know that Legolas couldn't deliver the milui-criss to Naurion? He didn't tell that to the council or to anybody. He only told them that the guards were slain or taken. So how does Elrohir know this?

Author's Response:

Ah- I see. I think he would have heard this in the gossip afterwards. Legolas will have had conversations outside the council- including to Gandalf, but also pillow talk with Berensul  Gossip is rife in Imladris and it only takes a moment for something to slip out. Maybe I need ot slip something in to earlier chapters to make that clear- Berensul is simply not discrete or trustworthy- he is a spy for Erestor. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2017 17:44 · For: Chapter 11 Gimli's boots
Just rereading the story and I wonder about one thing:

"Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc."

How would Elrohir know that? Legolas didn't tell them about it. So, lucky guess on Elrohir's part or did I miss a conversation?

And yes, Elrohir behaves like an orc, at the moment there's nothing that makes him likeable. He is full of fury, contempt and hatred.

Author's Response:

So glad you are re-reading it Starfox- I had to go back as well because I couldn't remember. It was this:

 

Suddenly Elrohir turned to Gimli. ‘At the least he must have left his post to do this!’ he cried. ‘Tell me, for how long did you let him out of your sight?’

 

Gimli frowned and walked slowly over to them, knowing that when dealing with Elves it was best to walk slowly, appear unthreatening whilst keeping your hand on your axe and your finger on your throwing knife. Just in case. ‘Why are you asking?’ he said carefully.

 

‘This!’ Elrohir reached down and snatched up the green fletched arrow from where Legolas had placed it and thrust it towards Gimli. ‘This was in the heart of the Orc I left as a warning.’ He turned back to Legolas. ‘He left his post to shoot it!’

 

‘I did not leave my post.’ Legolas said from where he sat.

 

‘You must have! No one could shoot that distance in the dark.’ Elrohir poured out his scorn and anger. ‘You must have left your post and taken it upon yourself to silence the Orc because it was disturbing you. Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc.’

 

He found Legolas' arrow in the orc. He's  so angry about that- been allowed ot roll on his journey of hate for so long he stopped seeing it.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2016 5:59 · For: Chapter 2 The Quality of Mercy
Laersul!
Damn it, it's Laersul. I had to come all the way back here to check on his hair colour....and here he is with hair the colour of gold coins.

How could you!

Author's Response:

Mwahahaha

 

No- seriously problematic  - again, when I wrote this (In Deeper than Breathing- YEASR ago!) I didn't love LAersul and din't know him. Like Anglach. Although I am NOT giving away the actual plot here;)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 8:24 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
Have just had to come back and read the last few chapters again. I am guilty of doing that a lot I know but when I first read this I had no idea who Tindomi


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2014 23:24 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I am excited to read that future resolution between Elrohir and Elrond, but I can see how it would take more time to come about.  Is Elrond going to be as accepting of Elrohir when he discovers the truth?  I may have his muddled in my head, but wasn't Elladen a bit horrified by his brother at first?  I could see Elrond as being a bit more accepting, not because he understands Elrohir better, but he does have greater experience with really messed up people :D

I am finally posting again!  I should have something for you within the hour!  Thank you for even being interest still, I know its been months, but it's exciting to hear people still want to read :hugs:



Author's Response:

You have hit the nail on the head with your comment about elrond -is he going to accept the truth about Elrohir... or perhaps more pertiniently, what does Elrohir THINK he will do/say/think? 

 

Elladan was horrified at first when he found out about Elrohir's attraction to Legolas but that was also largely due to the fact that he discovered Elrohir had abused Legolas whilst he slept- it was when they awere aboard the SeaSong and Elrohir was healing Legolas, he pressed himself up against him - Elldan walked in and realisied what had happened. But the Laws and Customs do specify, as you know, that elves are het and that sex is within marriage and for making babies- that their desire lessens as they grow older...I can't be doing with that!!! I really agree with your last bit about Elrond being more accepting because he has more to do with messed up people- I htink Elrohir completely misunderstands Elrond- willifully I suspect. And I think too that he will find Elrond is far more accepting than he expected...it is more aobut Elrohir's perception of what is right and wrong and of course, his mother's- who is Galadriel's daughter...all very complex but lots of fun working out!!

 

Oh- I have already read BOTH chapters!! LOVE your work.x



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2014 6:12 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I loved the letters Legolas sent home, especially the parts where he was asking his brothers not to tell their father lol!  The family dynamic you created in their family was extraordinary and felt real enough to breath.

Legolas’ not understanding why Aragron was uncomfortable and insisting he put on more clothing was hilarious.  Dear, sweet Legolas!

I was so pleased with this last parting between Legolas and Elrohir.  It would have been terrible if Elrohir had ended it in anger and violence (I kept fearing the tied would turn sour, but he held himself together :D ).  What I found especially heart breaking was when Elrohir lifted his hand for Elrond and he saw how much that crumb of affection affect his father.  I do hope, in the sequel, that their relationship can be mended before Elrond sails.

This was a lovely ending to an epic story.  I apologize for not reading and reviewing before, but know I enjoyed it thoroughly despite my delay.



Author's Response:

No apology necessary Encairion- I'm just alwaya pleased when anyone reads anything and especially if they review/comment. I loved writing Thranduil's sons and will return to them at some point. I wanted it to come acorss very clearly that dynamic between siblings and parents that protects the parents from what the children are really doing- you know how some paretns say their children tell theme everything? Not true, parents shouldn't know everything. Equally the dynamic between Elrohir and Elrond is one of blame and guilt because by blaming others we dont have to face our own guilt. Elrohir is so confused, poor lamb! Glad you picked up on that one moment where he relents. I'll be coming back to that as well later as you wish- although I'm not sure it can be resolved as quickly as Elrond's sailing, it might take longer. 

 

Anar pushed me to write a slight conciliation between Legolas and Elrohir - she wanted resolution in some way and I htink it works better for the other fics. 

 

Thank you for reading and reviewing Encairion- and I do hope you will posting soon too?!



Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2014 15:17 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
I had somehow missed the last chapter of this story! But what a lovely prequel for SOT. There is always such tension, such passion in your writing...

Author's Response:

So glad that it worked for you,Veveco espcially since you've given us that lovely pic of Elladan recenty.



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2014 20:05 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
Well, here's the thing. Readers are basically along for the ride, and although they are entitled to be white-knuckled and wide-eyed, they shouldn't distract the writer with screams of "Look out! Look out!" So I have to admit that I've been reading this all along, not wanting to review each chapter because, as a massive fan of SOT, all I've been thinking boiled down to, "Okay, okay, that scene might work, but don't screw it up now!!!"

It's HARD to write a prequel to something that readers already love, like SOT, because it involves changing what they have in THEIR heads, not just in the writer's mind (which may or may not be quite different from the writer's own vision.)

Anyway, so here we are at the end of this, and I have to say that MDLW has changed my view of SOT, but in a way that deepens my appreciation of that story, especially the backstory between Legolas (who I love more than ever, not least because of those last letters, lol) and Elrohir (who I am beginning to understand a little better, rather than just viewing him as the disturbed and disturbing gunslinger type that I did before.)

Even the things that I might have been dismayed about earlier, such as the introduction of some of the non-canonical characters, work really well because they are essential to whom Legolas and Elrohir are (and will become). For instance, I was delighted that Tind


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2014 22:37 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I had left this to digest when I had the luxury of a whole evening to myself.

I love Legolas' letters home - there is still that air of innocence about them that is just right in this story.

The encounters with Elrohir, both Arwen's and Legolas' , were both so well written - the contrast between the two enhanced both of them.

And that last scene with Erestor made me grin - you know how I firmly believe in gambolling gambling elves!



Author's Response:

ooh- so sorry my dear wombat! I didn't get an alert that this had been posted I dont think so how lovely to see it now!!!

I enjoyed writing those letters- it was a bit of light relief and I wanted to remind everyone who Legolas had left behind and how they would feel. I am glad you enjoyed the gambling/gambolling!!

Thank you as always for your kind comments.

zx



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 23:43 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
The end then, a great story, with moments of genious. I especially enjoyed the interraction with Glorfindel, Tindomion and Elrohir as they ride away, and was glad to see that Legolas earned his place of respect with them.

I do still find it hard to reconcile this Legolas with the one in SOT, although it is nothing a good dose of imagination will not cure.

Thank you for writing this, and then sharing it, you have brought hours of enjoyment to many people, and that is one of the hardest, and meritous things a human being can do.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear. I liked writing Glorfindel and Tindomion- they just seem to express themselves quite easily- do yu know what i mean? And yes, I know Legolas is different in htis. Partly because the ring is undermining his confidence but also he feels a bit overwhlemed by Imldaris- he gets himself back once he is out in the wilds again. He feels much younger in this than in Sons I htink - it felt liek that writing it. But I htink it is because he is amongst elves rather than Men as he is in SOns- and also he has changed so much by travelling with the fellowship. Wait until the sequel of Sons, Alpha- I htink you will enjoy that in particualr. Lots of chickens coming home to roost!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 19:41 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

A great end to a great fic, Ziggy. I loved Legolas's letters - how little he tells Thranduil and what he reveals to the others (with the caution not to tell his father, of course!) 

And I'd guessed that his night with Tindomion might cause friction with Elrohir when he found out, but I hadn't expected Elrohir to discern it quite so soon. But that would contribute to the antipathy that Elrohir feels towards Legolas at the start of Sons of Thunder.

I'm sad to see this fic end, but at least you've promised more to look forward to :)

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed the letters, NAeldi. I just found them very sweet- and he is young in htis fic- because he is amongst the mighty elves of Imladris and feels so overwhlemed, poor love. Oh yeah- Elrohir certainly does know! And oh boy, what is going to happen when they all turn up in Minas Tirith for Aragorn's wedding - I htink I will need ot add to Confessions now- and make sure Legolas is thinknig about more than just Eomer when he thinks about telling Elrohir everything...but you know, Elrohir will never think he is good enough for Legolas....

Yes- starting Narmo this evening but it will be a while before there is anyhting to publish I htink. xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 0:37 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
I loved it. I loved how you threw in some Laesrul and Thalos; Legolas' letters to his family ("don't tell Adar", "Let Agalos out of the dungeon"); Elrohir (just about any and all Elrohir) and of course Legolas' cultural observations. Btw didn't Legolas sleep with Erestor already?
When is the next fic coming? I can't help being greedy...

Author's Response:

I am glad you liekd the touch of Laersul and Thalos - I really do like writing them and thinknig about them. I have ot go back and do a bit more of them soon. Pleased too that the humour worked- I'm always a bit nervous about that.

Erestor slept with Legolas in Narmo, which I tok out of this fic- it was an outtake and I will go back to Narmo, and it wont run exactly paralell with this I dont think because I'm not sure I can write without any Legolas in it! We'll see, 

Lovely to have greedy readers! Thank you for the encouragemtn and reviews- it really does make such a difference- keeps me going.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2014 23:52 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
There is so much to love about this chapter, Ziggy. There is a gathering sense of momentumn, but also that sense of ending of leavetaking. Here, however, we see far more of what is going on because of the different viewpoints.

Legolas' letters are so sweet, lol! He is so sweet. It's absolutely correct that he is the best person to go on this quest because he does not seek power, and desires what he can have.

Now we need to know what happened to Erestor, as it seems something terrible did!

Elrohir fills me with pity. He has such fierce needs and desires, but to him they seem wrong, which is understandable when it is all mixed in with his guilt about his mother.
I love the way that you write that Tind


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2014 22:56 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya

I apologize for how late this review is.  I’ve been out of town the last few days and didn’t have a chance to read.

This chapter is wonderful, and I am still squealing over the fact you posted it for my b-day.  Thank you so much :::hugs:::: you are amazing!!!

I really liked Elrond’s reflections in this chapter, and just how poisonous the Ring really was in Imladris.  It’s not something I thought about before reading your story, but of course, it makes complete sense that the Ring would be working desperately to try and influence the minds of the whole valley.  And Elrond’s insistence that the Ring could not stay there is completely understandable in this new light.  Who can really call him an ass for that when he was just doing his best to protect this people?  He was not so arrogant as to think he could hold off the Ring’s power indefinitely.

Another thing I liked about this chapter was Elrond’s doubting of all the other ring holders, especially Galadriel.  I think this doubt among the wise, their weaknesses, their lack of omnipotence and assurance in the end game is intense and realistic.  There must have been a hundred doubts, and I love how you’ve really teased them out.

Legolas and Tindómion together was so sweet.  Tindómion was just want Legolas needed before setting out on the quest.  He needed the confidence Tindómion had in him.

Thank you again so much for this.  I loved it!  Having you post was the best present imaginable, my dear :hugs:



Author's Response:

I love you for writing this now, Encairion- I am having a horrible day and this just made it get so much better. Thank you.

I am really glad that the Elrond scene worked- I did agonise about it and hten just went for it. Had ot cut loads out and saving them for Narmofinion. Yes- Tindomion is becoming one of my favourite characters thanks to Spiced's lovely depiction. 

So pleased you liked the very smally b-gift- sorry it wasn't written especially but I did put all the extra slash in especially for you and I htought you'd perfer that!!

x



You must login () to review.