| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13819
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2017 5:17 · For: Chapter 11 Gimli's boots
"So glad you are re-reading it Starfox- I had to go back as well because I couldn't remember. It was this:



Suddenly Elrohir turned to Gimli. ‘At the least he must have left his post to do this!’ he cried. ‘Tell me, for how long did you let him out of your sight?’



Gimli frowned and walked slowly over to them, knowing that when dealing with Elves it was best to walk slowly, appear unthreatening whilst keeping your hand on your axe and your finger on your throwing knife. Just in case. ‘Why are you asking?’ he said carefully.



‘This!’ Elrohir reached down and snatched up the green fletched arrow from where Legolas had placed it and thrust it towards Gimli. ‘This was in the heart of the Orc I left as a warning.’ He turned back to Legolas. ‘He left his post to shoot it!’



‘I did not leave my post.’ Legolas said from where he sat.



‘You must have! No one could shoot that distance in the dark.’ Elrohir poured out his scorn and anger. ‘You must have left your post and taken it upon yourself to silence the Orc because it was disturbing you. Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc.’



He found Legolas' arrow in the orc. He's so angry about that- been allowed ot roll on his journey of hate for so long he stopped seeing it."

No, I didn't mean this. I mean how does he know that Legolas couldn't deliver the milui-criss to Naurion? He didn't tell that to the council or to anybody. He only told them that the guards were slain or taken. So how does Elrohir know this?

Author's Response:

Ah- I see. I think he would have heard this in the gossip afterwards. Legolas will have had conversations outside the council- including to Gandalf, but also pillow talk with Berensul  Gossip is rife in Imladris and it only takes a moment for something to slip out. Maybe I need ot slip something in to earlier chapters to make that clear- Berensul is simply not discrete or trustworthy- he is a spy for Erestor. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2017 17:44 · For: Chapter 11 Gimli's boots
Just rereading the story and I wonder about one thing:

"Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc."

How would Elrohir know that? Legolas didn't tell them about it. So, lucky guess on Elrohir's part or did I miss a conversation?

And yes, Elrohir behaves like an orc, at the moment there's nothing that makes him likeable. He is full of fury, contempt and hatred.

Author's Response:

So glad you are re-reading it Starfox- I had to go back as well because I couldn't remember. It was this:

 

Suddenly Elrohir turned to Gimli. ‘At the least he must have left his post to do this!’ he cried. ‘Tell me, for how long did you let him out of your sight?’

 

Gimli frowned and walked slowly over to them, knowing that when dealing with Elves it was best to walk slowly, appear unthreatening whilst keeping your hand on your axe and your finger on your throwing knife. Just in case. ‘Why are you asking?’ he said carefully.

 

‘This!’ Elrohir reached down and snatched up the green fletched arrow from where Legolas had placed it and thrust it towards Gimli. ‘This was in the heart of the Orc I left as a warning.’ He turned back to Legolas. ‘He left his post to shoot it!’

 

‘I did not leave my post.’ Legolas said from where he sat.

 

‘You must have! No one could shoot that distance in the dark.’ Elrohir poured out his scorn and anger. ‘You must have left your post and taken it upon yourself to silence the Orc because it was disturbing you. Typical of Thranduil’s folk. You could not kill your own but you can sneak off watch to put an arrow through an Orc.’

 

He found Legolas' arrow in the orc. He's  so angry about that- been allowed ot roll on his journey of hate for so long he stopped seeing it.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2016 5:59 · For: Chapter 2 The Quality of Mercy
Laersul!
Damn it, it's Laersul. I had to come all the way back here to check on his hair colour....and here he is with hair the colour of gold coins.

How could you!

Author's Response:

Mwahahaha

 

No- seriously problematic  - again, when I wrote this (In Deeper than Breathing- YEASR ago!) I didn't love LAersul and din't know him. Like Anglach. Although I am NOT giving away the actual plot here;)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 8:24 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
Have just had to come back and read the last few chapters again. I am guilty of doing that a lot I know but when I first read this I had no idea who Tindomi


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2014 23:24 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I am excited to read that future resolution between Elrohir and Elrond, but I can see how it would take more time to come about.  Is Elrond going to be as accepting of Elrohir when he discovers the truth?  I may have his muddled in my head, but wasn't Elladen a bit horrified by his brother at first?  I could see Elrond as being a bit more accepting, not because he understands Elrohir better, but he does have greater experience with really messed up people :D

I am finally posting again!  I should have something for you within the hour!  Thank you for even being interest still, I know its been months, but it's exciting to hear people still want to read :hugs:



Author's Response:

You have hit the nail on the head with your comment about elrond -is he going to accept the truth about Elrohir... or perhaps more pertiniently, what does Elrohir THINK he will do/say/think? 

 

Elladan was horrified at first when he found out about Elrohir's attraction to Legolas but that was also largely due to the fact that he discovered Elrohir had abused Legolas whilst he slept- it was when they awere aboard the SeaSong and Elrohir was healing Legolas, he pressed himself up against him - Elldan walked in and realisied what had happened. But the Laws and Customs do specify, as you know, that elves are het and that sex is within marriage and for making babies- that their desire lessens as they grow older...I can't be doing with that!!! I really agree with your last bit about Elrond being more accepting because he has more to do with messed up people- I htink Elrohir completely misunderstands Elrond- willifully I suspect. And I think too that he will find Elrond is far more accepting than he expected...it is more aobut Elrohir's perception of what is right and wrong and of course, his mother's- who is Galadriel's daughter...all very complex but lots of fun working out!!

 

Oh- I have already read BOTH chapters!! LOVE your work.x



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2014 6:12 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I loved the letters Legolas sent home, especially the parts where he was asking his brothers not to tell their father lol!  The family dynamic you created in their family was extraordinary and felt real enough to breath.

Legolas’ not understanding why Aragron was uncomfortable and insisting he put on more clothing was hilarious.  Dear, sweet Legolas!

I was so pleased with this last parting between Legolas and Elrohir.  It would have been terrible if Elrohir had ended it in anger and violence (I kept fearing the tied would turn sour, but he held himself together :D ).  What I found especially heart breaking was when Elrohir lifted his hand for Elrond and he saw how much that crumb of affection affect his father.  I do hope, in the sequel, that their relationship can be mended before Elrond sails.

This was a lovely ending to an epic story.  I apologize for not reading and reviewing before, but know I enjoyed it thoroughly despite my delay.



Author's Response:

No apology necessary Encairion- I'm just alwaya pleased when anyone reads anything and especially if they review/comment. I loved writing Thranduil's sons and will return to them at some point. I wanted it to come acorss very clearly that dynamic between siblings and parents that protects the parents from what the children are really doing- you know how some paretns say their children tell theme everything? Not true, parents shouldn't know everything. Equally the dynamic between Elrohir and Elrond is one of blame and guilt because by blaming others we dont have to face our own guilt. Elrohir is so confused, poor lamb! Glad you picked up on that one moment where he relents. I'll be coming back to that as well later as you wish- although I'm not sure it can be resolved as quickly as Elrond's sailing, it might take longer. 

 

Anar pushed me to write a slight conciliation between Legolas and Elrohir - she wanted resolution in some way and I htink it works better for the other fics. 

 

Thank you for reading and reviewing Encairion- and I do hope you will posting soon too?!



Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2014 15:17 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
I had somehow missed the last chapter of this story! But what a lovely prequel for SOT. There is always such tension, such passion in your writing...

Author's Response:

So glad that it worked for you,Veveco espcially since you've given us that lovely pic of Elladan recenty.



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2014 20:05 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
Well, here's the thing. Readers are basically along for the ride, and although they are entitled to be white-knuckled and wide-eyed, they shouldn't distract the writer with screams of "Look out! Look out!" So I have to admit that I've been reading this all along, not wanting to review each chapter because, as a massive fan of SOT, all I've been thinking boiled down to, "Okay, okay, that scene might work, but don't screw it up now!!!"

It's HARD to write a prequel to something that readers already love, like SOT, because it involves changing what they have in THEIR heads, not just in the writer's mind (which may or may not be quite different from the writer's own vision.)

Anyway, so here we are at the end of this, and I have to say that MDLW has changed my view of SOT, but in a way that deepens my appreciation of that story, especially the backstory between Legolas (who I love more than ever, not least because of those last letters, lol) and Elrohir (who I am beginning to understand a little better, rather than just viewing him as the disturbed and disturbing gunslinger type that I did before.)

Even the things that I might have been dismayed about earlier, such as the introduction of some of the non-canonical characters, work really well because they are essential to whom Legolas and Elrohir are (and will become). For instance, I was delighted that Tind


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2014 22:37 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

I had left this to digest when I had the luxury of a whole evening to myself.

I love Legolas' letters home - there is still that air of innocence about them that is just right in this story.

The encounters with Elrohir, both Arwen's and Legolas' , were both so well written - the contrast between the two enhanced both of them.

And that last scene with Erestor made me grin - you know how I firmly believe in gambolling gambling elves!



Author's Response:

ooh- so sorry my dear wombat! I didn't get an alert that this had been posted I dont think so how lovely to see it now!!!

I enjoyed writing those letters- it was a bit of light relief and I wanted to remind everyone who Legolas had left behind and how they would feel. I am glad you enjoyed the gambling/gambolling!!

Thank you as always for your kind comments.

zx



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 23:43 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
The end then, a great story, with moments of genious. I especially enjoyed the interraction with Glorfindel, Tindomion and Elrohir as they ride away, and was glad to see that Legolas earned his place of respect with them.

I do still find it hard to reconcile this Legolas with the one in SOT, although it is nothing a good dose of imagination will not cure.

Thank you for writing this, and then sharing it, you have brought hours of enjoyment to many people, and that is one of the hardest, and meritous things a human being can do.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear. I liked writing Glorfindel and Tindomion- they just seem to express themselves quite easily- do yu know what i mean? And yes, I know Legolas is different in htis. Partly because the ring is undermining his confidence but also he feels a bit overwhlemed by Imldaris- he gets himself back once he is out in the wilds again. He feels much younger in this than in Sons I htink - it felt liek that writing it. But I htink it is because he is amongst elves rather than Men as he is in SOns- and also he has changed so much by travelling with the fellowship. Wait until the sequel of Sons, Alpha- I htink you will enjoy that in particualr. Lots of chickens coming home to roost!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 19:41 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings

A great end to a great fic, Ziggy. I loved Legolas's letters - how little he tells Thranduil and what he reveals to the others (with the caution not to tell his father, of course!) 

And I'd guessed that his night with Tindomion might cause friction with Elrohir when he found out, but I hadn't expected Elrohir to discern it quite so soon. But that would contribute to the antipathy that Elrohir feels towards Legolas at the start of Sons of Thunder.

I'm sad to see this fic end, but at least you've promised more to look forward to :)

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed the letters, NAeldi. I just found them very sweet- and he is young in htis fic- because he is amongst the mighty elves of Imladris and feels so overwhlemed, poor love. Oh yeah- Elrohir certainly does know! And oh boy, what is going to happen when they all turn up in Minas Tirith for Aragorn's wedding - I htink I will need ot add to Confessions now- and make sure Legolas is thinknig about more than just Eomer when he thinks about telling Elrohir everything...but you know, Elrohir will never think he is good enough for Legolas....

Yes- starting Narmo this evening but it will be a while before there is anyhting to publish I htink. xx



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2014 0:37 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
I loved it. I loved how you threw in some Laesrul and Thalos; Legolas' letters to his family ("don't tell Adar", "Let Agalos out of the dungeon"); Elrohir (just about any and all Elrohir) and of course Legolas' cultural observations. Btw didn't Legolas sleep with Erestor already?
When is the next fic coming? I can't help being greedy...

Author's Response:

I am glad you liekd the touch of Laersul and Thalos - I really do like writing them and thinknig about them. I have ot go back and do a bit more of them soon. Pleased too that the humour worked- I'm always a bit nervous about that.

Erestor slept with Legolas in Narmo, which I tok out of this fic- it was an outtake and I will go back to Narmo, and it wont run exactly paralell with this I dont think because I'm not sure I can write without any Legolas in it! We'll see, 

Lovely to have greedy readers! Thank you for the encouragemtn and reviews- it really does make such a difference- keeps me going.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2014 23:52 · For: Chapter 32 Many Partings
There is so much to love about this chapter, Ziggy. There is a gathering sense of momentumn, but also that sense of ending of leavetaking. Here, however, we see far more of what is going on because of the different viewpoints.

Legolas' letters are so sweet, lol! He is so sweet. It's absolutely correct that he is the best person to go on this quest because he does not seek power, and desires what he can have.

Now we need to know what happened to Erestor, as it seems something terrible did!

Elrohir fills me with pity. He has such fierce needs and desires, but to him they seem wrong, which is understandable when it is all mixed in with his guilt about his mother.
I love the way that you write that Tind


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2014 22:56 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya

I apologize for how late this review is.  I’ve been out of town the last few days and didn’t have a chance to read.

This chapter is wonderful, and I am still squealing over the fact you posted it for my b-day.  Thank you so much :::hugs:::: you are amazing!!!

I really liked Elrond’s reflections in this chapter, and just how poisonous the Ring really was in Imladris.  It’s not something I thought about before reading your story, but of course, it makes complete sense that the Ring would be working desperately to try and influence the minds of the whole valley.  And Elrond’s insistence that the Ring could not stay there is completely understandable in this new light.  Who can really call him an ass for that when he was just doing his best to protect this people?  He was not so arrogant as to think he could hold off the Ring’s power indefinitely.

Another thing I liked about this chapter was Elrond’s doubting of all the other ring holders, especially Galadriel.  I think this doubt among the wise, their weaknesses, their lack of omnipotence and assurance in the end game is intense and realistic.  There must have been a hundred doubts, and I love how you’ve really teased them out.

Legolas and Tindómion together was so sweet.  Tindómion was just want Legolas needed before setting out on the quest.  He needed the confidence Tindómion had in him.

Thank you again so much for this.  I loved it!  Having you post was the best present imaginable, my dear :hugs:



Author's Response:

I love you for writing this now, Encairion- I am having a horrible day and this just made it get so much better. Thank you.

I am really glad that the Elrond scene worked- I did agonise about it and hten just went for it. Had ot cut loads out and saving them for Narmofinion. Yes- Tindomion is becoming one of my favourite characters thanks to Spiced's lovely depiction. 

So pleased you liked the very smally b-gift- sorry it wasn't written especially but I did put all the extra slash in especially for you and I htought you'd perfer that!!

x



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2014 1:01 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya
What a wonderful chapter. The violent attack of the One ring on Elrond and how it took Vilya and Gandalf to break its hold is a precursor of what the nine walkers will fight mentally as they try to take the ring to be destroyed. The psychological trauma is much more than the physical stimulus in the books.
And oh, the hotness between Legolas and Tindomion! I have come to love Tindomion's character. I am happy that you have him tell Legolas that he is a worthy warrior. Their night before they both leave will provide a lot of good memories in the coming days. It is too bad that Elrohir will probably not see it for what this night has truly brought both warriors. Legolas doesn't deserve to be punished by Elrohir's anger.

Author's Response:

I love it when reades enjoy the hotness! Tindomion is such a great character and I like linking my fics to others, so Spiced has written a spin off to Sons of Thunder and that meshing just makes it all so much more enjoyable. I am glad you like it too.

I have always thought the Ring was rather subdued in Rivendell in the book- surely it must have exerted an influence and I have as you know, had to just runnig a constantly undermining thumb over Legolas' sense of worth, and I thought that surely it must have lusted after Vilya, and Narya? Hence this bit with Elrond- and I am finding myself more and more intrigued by the rings- and speculating on Feanorian technology. It couldnt have just been silmarils and rings- there must have been something more. So I am quite enjoying exploring this- but I'll do more of that in Narmofinion after the next chapter of this finishes this bit of th tale. 

Thank you for reviewing- it really makes my day!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2014 23:13 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya

Wonderful, Ziggy! It was a joy to see Legolas and Tindomion get together, but there was something poignant about it too -  a sense of farewell. As other reviewers have said, though, I hope this doesn't cause problems between Legolas and Elrohir later on. 

Can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

And as you have so clearly guesssed- it will! Lots of problems. Can't wait to write it!!

Glad it hit the right spot for you!



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2014 17:02 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya
That was so hot I'm having a hard time breathing. Just sitting fanning myself...and all the wonderful compliments Legolas got - oh my! He deserves them. I'm dreading and anticipating Elrohir getting wind of this affair.

Author's Response:

OOh- good. I am really pleased it got you hot and bothered! 

Yes-inevitably he will find out about it- either from Tindómion himself when they go off to Amon Sul or in the sequel he will just be able to tell, don't you think?



Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2014 9:01 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya
This chapter was perfect. Really. I loved it all.
Firstly Elrond. Oh yes, this is just as I imagine him myself. The sadness and conflicting feelings within him especially towards Aragorn. Elrond wishing him dead was shocking certainly but completely understandable to me and I think those feelings did not all originate from The Ring.
I love the way you write Galadriel too, kind of edgy and not all pureness and righteousness. She comes across as not completely trustworthy, not completely "good". and this makes sense to me.
I was pleased to see Elrond and Elrohir had a moment of connection and understanding here, if only because they were united in their mistrust of Galadriel. You have written them as having a tumultuous and conflicted relationship and so it felt as if it was good for both of them to share this.

And then to finish, Legolas and Tindomion. SO glad they got together, I was very disappointed when Elrohir interrupted them. What a perfect last night for Legolas in Imladris! It was beautiful and sensual, I knew they would go well together.
Good to hear someone such as Tindomion remind Legolas of his true worth.
I fear though this may cause some problems down the line. Elrohir obviously has a very special relationship with Tindomion, what will happen if he ever discovers this?? And would Legolas be able to resist Tindomion if they were to meet in the sequel to SOT? .....Oh Dear.

P.S. Really curious to know what happened in the incident at Esgaroth!

Author's Response:

Thank you Mithrellas. I agree with you entirely about Elrond- he would not be natural not to hope that something happens ot change things with Arwen; for any parent to lose a child, no matter their age, is unnatural and must be the very worst thing that can happen to you. How much more difficult that it is her choice!

Sequel- Tindómion? Oh yeah! Can't wait to write that!

 

Oh, Esgaroth...I'll probably drop a bit more in once I know what he did but he's being coy- I suspect it was getting caught in a clinch with perhaps more than one woman! If I write it, I'll dedicate it to you! You'll need to prod me because I have so many ideas and so little time.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2014 0:32 · For: Chapter 31 Vilya
Wow! That was magnificent. I love the way you write the sentience of the rings, their differences, and perhaps that they have powers Elrond does not know. It would be good to think that, and absolutely agree Celebrimbor would not want them to go to Aman. I will never get over my young, severe disappointment that in Lord of the Rings the Elves dwindled, sailed, left the world to Men. I found it anti-climactic and dull, and will never agree with it nor write it.

And then this battle:

A mighty wind rushed around the room, sweeping objects from tables. The glass jug smashed to the floor beside him and his half empty glass hurtled into a mirror and cracked loudly over the surface. Elrond struggled upright and lifted his arms, pouring out his own incipient Power to help Vilya wrestle the malignant Ash Nazg, but it writhed and poured around her, spinning its dark coils tighter and tighter about Vilya so she became one sharp blue spike of Power spiraling, shooting upwards. Elrond gathered himself, his hands filled with light and then he pulled back and shot Power like lightning into the spiral. The wind coiled upwards, tugging at him, his hair streamed in its wake, his feet felt they were no longer anchored to the earth and a terrible voice filled the air…

That's magnificent. You make the Rings more interesting than they are in the books, just as you make the people far more interesting.

…He was somewhere else, running this time along the sand beside a silver sea, the sand hard beneath his feet. He was running, and there was someone ahead… someone without whom he could not live, and he knew he might lose them until the Ending of the World… He ran harder, looking ahead, the wind streaming through his long hair and his eyes wide and searching, his mouth open to breathe for his lungs pumped hard…And then he saw a tall warrior, standing thigh deep in the water which lapped at him gently, and he stared unseeing into the distance, at something that Legolas could not see. The warrior’s black hair was unbound, loose and it fell straight down his back, so long that it floated on the mercurial water. He turned slightly at the sound of Legolas’ voice and their eyes met like lightning; Legolas was pierced by the hurt, proud gaze that wanted so badly to do right and believed that he could not. Legolas reached out with a terrified cry but it was too far and too late and the warrior walked forwards, deeper into the water and his long hair floated and the warrior closed his eyes and the water closed over him…

Oh! This took me straight back to Sons of Thunder and how traumatised I was!

Tind


Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: April 12, 2014 16:07 · For: Chapter 30
The card game was so well done. I could feel the embarrassment of the young elf who lost and was impressed at how Legolas gracefully helped him through that moment.

Tindomion's grief is so palpable. I can imagine Legolas wanting to comfort him, yes in his own naughty yet fully heart felt and compassionate way. I smiled at so much of this. I really miss the fandom and your writing in particular. I'm so glad I popped on line and found this post was up. You describe Legolas wishing he could make himself stop talking yet continuing to babble, that is so him! I just have to tell you again for the millionth time how much I love your Legolas, and all your Elves. You just capture them perfectly. Your Erestor is so wicked. He's my favorite characterization of Erestor too.

Ziggy all of your ancient Elves carry an underlying grief and sorrow which would be unavoidable to beings of such intelligence and long life. They have a melancholy that belies the accumulated loss and tragedy of many human life times. Yet they have hope, they go on and they enjoy life's lighter moments when presented with them. I don't see this in Legolas. He's so young in spirit and at this point so carefree. I know I'm stating the obvious but your characters all touch me. You're wonderfully gifted but that's obvious too.

Author's Response:

Hey lisse! I have missed you- but probably because it has taken me so long to post anything- so busy at work that I have no time to relax. But I have two weeks now to get this story finished.

You write such lovely comments, lisse. It is Spiced I have to thank for Tindómion because she has written him so well in her work, I found him easy to write. And yes, dear Legolas- he really is such a sweetheart, he hates seeing anyone else unhappy and is very kind, and ok, he is bit naughty too- he can't resist it! But I like him a bit flawed as we've talked about before. I htink it makes characters more sympathetic and I want to read about them - I don't find perfection interesting because they aren't characters- just two dimensional.

Yes I love Erestor too, but he's going to be going through a rather hard time right now, but I'll pick that up again in Narmofinion.

You have picked up on the important reason for Legolas being chosen to go on the quest - his lightness and the fact that he doesn't really want anything. So the Ring hasn't got much to offer him... though of course it wil ltry. It tempts all of them of course. I may get to write that next bit but there's no way of working Elrohir in so I don't feel terribly motivated... but I like writing to fellowship...such a dilemma!

THank you as always for your lovely review, lisse. Glad to have entrtained you for a bit.

x



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2014 1:10 · For: Chapter 30

I enjoyed getting this closer look into Tindómion’s mind here! I think what I found the most stirring was the ending of this chapter and the way, despite this connection Legolas seemed to be having with Tindómion, despite the desire and the glimpses of respect and honor Tindómion gave Legolas throughout the night, in the end they were strangers.  Tindómion dismissed Legolas with ease, and picked Elrohir without a moment’s hesitation, and without sparing Legolas more than a moment’s thought really.  I could feel Legolas’ awkward embarrassment so sharply, and felt for him (as I am sure anyone who’d experienced a similar moment of intrusion upon a private moment can –which gives credit to your amazing writing skills).  And yet, even though it was painful to read, Tindómion’s dismissal of Legolas was the crowning jewel of this chapter.  It had to go that way, because Tindómion was still Tindómion even if we saw deeper into his character.  I commend you for writing that ending, even if we readers might have wished for a different one, even if it was a hard thing to put Legolas in that situation, to leave him feeling inadequate in Rivendell yet again (poor dear).  But it was that very awkwardness in the ending that made it so authentic.

Another thing I really liked about this chapter was the interaction between the common soldiers.  You write OCs so beautifully, and you have such a talent for banter, and just plain brilliant dialogue!  I never get the sense that one of your OCs is just a 2-dimmentional fill in, I always feel like even the most lightly touched upon OCs have their own stories, and that lends a thrilling depth to your stories :D



Author's Response:

This is a really lovely comment to get, Encairion- thank you. Made my day.

I admit I wanted it to go better for Legolas but as you say, it had to end this way and he is acting true to character in that he just can't help himself. Originally I was going to use the scene from Narmofinion where Erestor comes across Legolas in the Hall of Fire because I want to link those two stories together and Narmo is Erestor's  - but I thought Erestor would really not leave Elladan's side and I was having to do some quite elaborate back storytelling. Also I wanted to use Tindómion for Sian's birhtday and he just told me this is what happens...as character do (you know what I mean).But Elrohir wasn't having any of that and interupted!! Actually my wonderful beta said she thought it is too much for Elrohir but I also need some seeds for the sequel to Sons; after the ending, it really isn't going to be exactly smooth and I've set up Haldir AND Tindómion whereas before I only had Berensul who is a minor character, and Legolas' worship of Glorfindel and that isn't enough really.

Spiced's work shows Tindómion is intensely loyal to the twins and I really thought that if Elrohir needed him, he would put everything else to one side and Legolas is just a flirtation to him- nowhere near as important as his friends- I think most of us have experienced that at some point with a first date if you like- they aren't really important yet.

And it's of course the Ring that is having this negative effect on everyone- making Legolas feel inadequate. He hasn't quite sussed that bit out that the reason he was himself in the Wild is partly because that is where he is most comfortable but also because they are away from the Ring. I hope it is made really clear in the next chapter how much of a struggle it has been for Elrond having Ash NAzg in Imladris- because of course it would want hIM to wear it!

Thank you for that lovely comment about the card game. I'm got a warm fuzzy from that:D

x



Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2014 22:03 · For: Chapter 30
Thanks for letting me know I am on the right track with Elrohir. Felt kind of wrong to psychoanalyse someone else's character in case that wasn't him at all but I got to the stage I HAD to try and understand him better!! It was the chapter in Lothlorien and the confrontation with Haldir that really got me thinking. I am glad to hear I didn't do him a complete disservice.
Joyous is the perfect word to describe Legolas's sexual freeness, I love it. Am kind of sad that part of him is going to have to disappear if he is to stay with Elrohir. I cant see Elrohir ever being able to cope with Legolas being truly himself that way!

Author's Response:

Well... I'm not entirely sure that Legolas CAN rein himself in completely but he is very loyal and I suspect the sex with Elrohir is utterly amazing! It may be that they both have to make compromises - but there will still be lots of flirting and stuff..if Isay too much I'll start telling you my ideas!

I never mind whether people get the same from anyhting I write as I do- it's all down to interpretation and there are some readers who tell me that Elrohir would NEVER act like this or that Legolas is like that and I havent been true to how I've written him in Sons- but what I am trying to hsow here is the effect of the Ring- it saps Legolas' confidence so when it leaves him alone (because it's got bigger fish to fry) he is overconfdent and his usual promiscuous and cocky self! And Haldir is a Bad Elf in my verse here so when Legola sgets to Lothlorien, he will be ...well, we'll have to see!!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2014 14:30 · For: Chapter 30

Oooh, you tease! Poor Legolas - I think Tindomion could have shown him a thing or two, if only they hadn't been interrupted. As much as I enjoy seeing Legolas and Elrohir together, that wasn't exactly the best moment for Elrohir to arrive LOL. Now Elrohir can be in no doubt about Legolas's promiscuity.

I did love this chapter. I hope you'll have time to write more soon. (Slave-driver or what, eh? And yes, I know I owe you about 2,000 fics by now ...)

 



Author's Response:

I new you'd love this chapter! That's why this one was for you too my dear:D Yeah- Elrohir has NO doubt now.

Yes you DO owe me at least 2000 fics but I'm nearly done with this one- I htink I'm on the last chapter now.

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2014 12:51 · For: Chapter 30
your OCs are as much part of my thinking as Tolkien's. He is a joy to write and I hope you are OK with me putting him into Narmo because now I've started thinking about him, I can see myself just falling for him like I have Van!

I am thrilled you're going to write him in Narmofinion! Although I don't believe you couldn't write Van :)

Lol, I am glad I jogged your mind about Glorfindel and Thranduil :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2014 11:25 · For: Chapter 30
He leaned in a little closer and heard the great breath of the Sea, a flare of wildfire roaring somewhere, an abyss of furious, tumultuous grief and a war-drum pounding like the heartbeat of the greatest warriors riding over the plains to meet headlong some dreadful enemy of the First Age. But oh, that grief! The grief drowned him…He blinked and pulled back a little, knowing he could be submerged. This was not Tind


You must login () to review.