| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance I by Encairion Explicit
A novella of the House of Finwë from the Darkening of Valinor through the end of the First Age. “Vengeance calls...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8015
Word count: 23948045
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14262
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
07/26/17 03:23 pm
Hi everyone! I'm back, and I had a great time! Now to unpack, nap and eat some more lol -- back eventually! ::hugs to all::
Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Dust

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 23:17 · For: Chapter Eight; Sail Away. Sail Away...

*sniffle* That was so sad and beautiful. This story conveys so well the heartbreak of leaving home and loved ones far behind, with no chance to return.

I had a quiet smile at the point where Tindome is angry with the Valar for striking Legolas with the sea-longing. I've often been annoyed with Tolkien that most of the rest of the fellowship got fame and wealth, whereas poor Legolas even lost the comfort of his beloved trees. I have to comfort myself by imagining happier times for him in Valinor :)



Author's Response:

That was so sad and beautiful.

Thank you so much - I am glad that you enjoyed it - even if it gave you the sniffles! I wanted that air of sadness, for they are like the emigrants of the nineteenth century who left my island, and all the bigger UK ones, to sail to America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and so on, with little hope of ever seeing their loved ones again. But with added complications as well. As long as it didn't quite get melancholy enough to be completely depressing

**I've often been annoyed with Tolkien that most of the rest of the fellowship got fame and wealth, whereas poor Legolas even lost the comfort of his beloved trees. **

Me too. A mean trick. Tind



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 22:46 · For: Chapter 7; Don’t Tell Me That We’ll Never Meet Again

I'm so glad you followed up on Legolas's fear concerning his mother's fea, and that Haldirin was able to reassure him. Now I'm hoping that Thranduil will eventually sail. Maybe he could take ship with the twins!



Author's Response:

It was quite a brave thing to do - to more or less push Haldirin into the places where the queen's f



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 22:21 · For: Chapter 6; Going Home.

This place of mortals who stole a little of their fëa each time they died.

That line perfectly sums up the tragedy of the Elves and explains why they usually chose to isolate themselves in their various realms. I love the simplicity of your writing. It's a great skill to be able to convey so much in just a few words.



Author's Response:

**I love the simplicity of your writing. It's a great skill to be able to convey so much in just a few words.**

Thank you so much - what a lovely compliment. Sometimes I am in awe of those who can write beautiful, long, descriptive passages - but it simply not how I write.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 21:54 · For: Chapter 5; Leaving One By One

Go Tindome! I love how she turned the Els' argument on its head. I desperately hope that they will sail. The thought of them staying and watching generation after generation of Aragorn's descendants grow old and die is too sad to contemplate.



Author's Response:

I think it is just too sad to contemplate, too - and our girl is doing her best to convince them!

It seemed to me that when I read all the reasons given for them to stay, or for their grandfather to stay, they didn't really hold water. I haven't written that far yet, but I kind of think my version of them might eventually decide she has a point.

Also - bother! I forgot you have to put the HTML code in to get paragraphs in replies when I answered your last comment - hence the big slab of text. :(



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 21:34 · For: Chapter 4; Pride of the Summer

Excellent! I was getting worried that Legolas was going to end up with one of the Noldor, but Ithilienne is a much better option. Of course, there is the complication of his being Tindome's 'brother' but I'm sure they'll work it out. Eventually *g*

I love your solstice celebrations, by the way. The Noldor aren't going to know what's hit them when the Wood-elves arrive in Valinor.



Author's Response: There will be complications, of course.. although it may well be behind Legolas' feeling, that he spoke of in The Winter Tale, that ** Ever since I saw her, unconscious on the despoiled ground of Mordor, there is something in her that


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2012 15:42 · For: Chapter Eight; Sail Away. Sail Away...
And off to new adventures, which I'll get back to reading soon. Lovely but sad tale. Ah, but such is life.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a good challenge to keep the balance so that it didn't become depressingly sad - just gently melancholic and I am really pleased to know that it worked well for you.


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2012 15:39 · For: Chapter 7; Don’t Tell Me That We’ll Never Meet Again
I enjoyed the conversation between Thranduil and Legolas. I hope he's convinced his father to make the journey West as well one day.

Author's Response: I am inclining towards Thranduil making the trip eventually... I'm glad you like their relationship and this conversation.


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2012 18:59 · For: Chapter 3 - She Once Meant the World to Me
So much loss and change. It would be hard to lose a loved one and go on and on forever without them. It's good that Tindome has her family.

Author's Response: This whole story is centred on that sense of inevitable loss - of being a rock in a stream that does not change as time flows past, and the mortals are like twigs and leaves that are caught in the river and cannot stay with you for more than a moment or two. She is lucky to have a family around her - a family she has drawn together herself, really. Now she is trying her best to keep that family all together and heading West...


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2012 18:48 · For: Chapter 2 - Strangers of Time and Place
I always thought it was so sad that Arwen goes off to fade in Lothlorien. It makes sense for her to go to a place where they had such happy memories though. Lovely. *sniffle*

Author's Response: Thank you - I am really pleased that this works for you. I've always thought there must have been some reason why she didn't just lie down and die with him... if she knew how.


Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2012 21:01 · For: Prologue; Dust will Turn the Seed Home
So back to reading out of order...or maybe the correct order for now. Thanks for pointing me here. I'm looking forward to seeing how things develop between Legolas and Ithilienne. And I see he has to convince a suspicious Gimli to sail with him. Figures, though. I have to say too, I like your Legolas, and his strength and confidence, though I see that will be tested too at times.

Author's Response: **I like your Legolas, and his strength and confidence, though I see that will be tested too at times.** Thank you. Actually, it occurs to me that it might be a good idea to post the Returnverse timeline here that I have at the other, big, archive where they are all posted. They are actually all here in chronological story order, but it might still be useful.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2012 22:38 · For: Chapter 7; Don’t Tell Me That We’ll Never Meet Again

Hurray- a possilbe Happy Ending in sight! Not only for Ithilenne but Thraduil too.



Author's Response: There are certainly possibilities - although it might take a long time for Thranduil - and Legolas and Ithilienne have time in plenty too!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2012 22:18 · For: Chapter 6; Going Home.

This is an exceptionaly beautiful and poignant chapter, Curious wombat. Full of that nostaliga and yearning that hits you sometimes - a really lovely piece of writing. This whole valedictory story is really striking for that. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much - what a lovely comment. I could 'see' this chapter right back when I 'planted' those items there when I wrote the Winter Tale three or so years ago - and I'm so glad that this works.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2012 22:06 · For: Chapter 5; Leaving One By One

Go Tindome! The Els HAVE to go but I love the thought you put into this and the reasoning -such logic!!



Author's Response: Once I really thought about all the reasons you see for them choosing to stay, or for their grandfather to, none of them are all that very convincing!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2012 21:45 · For: Chapter 4; Pride of the Summer

Wednesday??!! How can I wait that long! You are such a tease.



Author's Response: :P


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2012 14:04 · For: Chapter 4; Pride of the Summer

LIked it so much I had to read it again.



Author's Response: Thank you! I will post the next chapter on Wednesday - it is a bit different in tone again - someone is/are going to get a very big talking-to.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2012 11:44 · For: Chapter 4; Pride of the Summer
That was unexpected - so Tindome is going to be mother-in-law, instead of little sister? He wont be able to call her 'nethig' any more :(
Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: If this turns out to be anything more than a 'teenage' crush they are going to have to consider these things - this has already occurred to at least one of those involved.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2012 10:30 · For: Chapter 4; Pride of the Summer

Oh- this is a warm fuzzy if EVER!!!!!

So beautifully balanced and utterly gorgeous and charming. Please post the next one very soon. I just love this. Love the interaction between all of them- Ithilienne's ascerbic- that was not a proper kiss, Legolas' balancing act, Tindome' attempts to find out and Legoals' deadpanning. 

Lovely.



Author's Response: Thank you Ziggy. I told you this chapter was a bit happier! I'm glad you can see what a balancing act poor Legolas feels he's having to cope with - as if it's not enough to be driven West by the gulls, but he's now walking in that direction on a tightrope. The last few paragraphs made my beta laugh out loud, so I knew they were right!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2012 3:20 · For: Chapter 3 - She Once Meant the World to Me
Um, closure then. Lovely, as always.

Author's Response: Thank you. 'Dust' is taking it's toll back in California too and, yes, adding to that sense of closure, of everything inexorable driving them away from the life they have known. This is the 'other side of the mirror' for a scene near the very end of 'Return of The Key'. The 'other side of the mirror' moment for the very last couple of lines is sitting on my hard-drive where it has been waiting for me since 2010...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2012 0:45 · For: Chapter 3 - She Once Meant the World to Me

Oh Curoius- you are determined to make me cry again. This is too sad and I trust you to give me a happy ending eventually.  But you write it so perfectly I cant stop reading it....



Author's Response: Thank you so much. The next chapter is a bit happier... honestly!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2012 1:04 · For: Chapter 2 - Strangers of Time and Place

You made me cry- so sad. And that conversation with Arwen felt completely natural. And now they will sail and leave the Els and Arwen - oh dear. Can't see anything -made me cry when Arwen asked her to hold her mother tightly. 



Author's Response: Sorry - I always feel both flattered and very mean when I make someone cry...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2012 0:55 · For: Chapter 1; The Precious Years are Gone

Actaully, this is the best version of Aragrn's passing I have read- it is almost factual, emphasisisng her withdrawal and Rumil explanation that their time in Ithilen has passed had me nodding and saying, yes, of course that was how it was. 



Author's Response:

**this is the best version of Aragorn's passing I have read**

Thank you so much. I'm almost blushing now!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2012 0:45 · For: Prologue; Dust will Turn the Seed Home

ummm- why haven'tI reviewed this? Have I lfet a review elsewher- I was so sure I had. Sorry.

So much nostalgia and sorrow in this:

Yet not even the knowledge that the dwarf could not reach him here in the high canopy, but had to wait his return to the ground as a bird waiting for crumbs, could tempt Legolas’ down for long. In fact it made his heart ache more.

 

And we know that this is in preparation for Aragorn's death- I never read Endof the Fellowship as a rule but for you, I have to break it- I know I will be rewarded by something special.

 



Author's Response: I'm home from my Big Tolkien Adventure! I'm afraid there will be a slightly mournful thread of nostalgia and sorrow almost all the way through - but not unmitigated by any means.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2012 11:53 · For: Chapter 2 - Strangers of Time and Place
This was a very emotional chapter. I loved this: "...his silver blond hair and pale skin glowed against the sombre colours; he was beautiful, this husband of hers." I also liked the scene in the gardens with Tindom


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2012 22:09 · For: Chapter 1; The Precious Years are Gone
Oh, you just had to, didn't you. OK, I am now half-drunk and unable to wait for the next chapter - what to do!!

Author's Response: What to do? Drink the rest of the bottle... I will post the next chapter in a couple of days, honestly!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2012 19:28 · For: Prologue; Dust will Turn the Seed Home
I liked the start to this new story. Hopefully it won't be too heart-wrenching, and if it is, well, what the hell - I will break out a bottle of wine and have a good bawl.

Author's Response: I fear it is not going to be a lot of laughs - get out the wine and the tissues and I will post the first proper chapter in a minute or two...


You must login () to review.