| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 24
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Voices in the Wind

Name: gginsc (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2012 23:39 · For: Voices in the Wind
Nice story. I like Haldirin!

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review - it is really appreciated. As for Haldirin - I have to admit to being rather fond of him, too, and I have enjoyed writing him as he grows up.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2012 0:38 · For: Voices in the Wind
You do like the ghost stories, don't you! It is a great story, and I love how Rumil did not quite say whether he saw them or not. I LOVE the Tindome stories!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think this may well be the least scary ghost story of all time... I am going to start posting the next long story either tonight or tomorrow, where this incident actually is mentioned at one stage.


Name: Lifes Pilgrim (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2012 20:55 · For: Voices in the Wind
Good start. Can't wait to see what happens to Haldirin, or what happened to Haldir.

Author's Response: Thank you - actually it's not a start, though. it is a short story as part of a long series - it is rather like one of those small beads between the larger beads in a necklace - there to fill the spaces between the longer works and leave tiny echoes for the longer fics to pick up. So over the next few tales, both long and short, Haldirin will continue to grow up and develop. Haldir, though - Haldir died many miles from Lothlorien - Haldirin is named in his memory - and Haldir's brothers hope to be reunited with him when they sail West... only time will tell whether he will be waiting for them on the dockside, or not!!


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2012 18:26 · For: Voices in the Wind

I love this! I love many details about it; for example, a little bit of humor when Haldirin thinks about "adult things". Then, I love the atmosphere of melancholy and sadness - yes, the elves carry the old days in their hearts, but still, a reader can feel sadness for the empty Lorien. And yet, you managed to find perfect balance - the atmosphere is not too sad. I like the final talk between Rumil and Orophin and little, but important details in it (leader voice, for example). Beautifully done, my friend.



Author's Response: I'm glad I got that balance, of melancholy with touches of humour, right. And I am always so pleased when someone notices the small details - thank you.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 22:19 · For: Voices in the Wind

As always, you manage to weave a lovely sense of nostalgia into something so seemingly ordinary in some ways- Haldirn is an interesting little fellow, isnt he? I love the garden and the fish- and in spite of it being abandoned, it is not a sad place but full of flowers and beauty still.



Author's Response: Thank you. I think the elves must have been almost overcome with nostalgia occasionally throughout the whole period - so much had changed, so much had gone. And yet I like to think of that colony in Ithilien being young, and vigorous, and full of joy, most of the time. I love writing Haldirin - as he grows he is so much fun.


You must login () to review.