| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 23
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Second Chance

Name: Linda Hoyland (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2012 6:16 · For: Epilogue

This was a most enjoyable and gripping story, which I enjoyed very much and could not stop reading once I started.

You wove the two worlds together perfectly and it all felt utterly belieable.



Author's Response: Oh, thank you :) sorry for the delayed response, normally I reply quicker but I've been in France without internet. So pleased you enjoyed the story!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 23:39 · For: Awakening
"When did you figure it out?"

Weirdly it was almost as soon as he appeared - there was something about the character that made me think 'Gandalf' - but I can't quite put my finger on what it was. Which is a sign of your good writing!

Author's Response: Wow, that is quick! I'm very impressed. Many thanks, Wombat!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 17:34 · For: Epilogue
I've spent a lovely, lazy, afternoon reading this - and really enjoyed it. You can't imagine how pleased I was that my early guess of Proust as Gandalf was right!

Author's Response: Hi Wombat! I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for taking the time to say so :) when I was originally posting a fair few people thought he was Bombadil, so well done for guessing! When did you figure it out?


Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: July 21, 2012 7:06 · For: Epilogue
Oh my, you have done it! You have finished the story. I meant to review this much earlier but like Spiced Wine I was so completely absorbed in the story that I forgot to so, my bad there. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, the second time around just as much as the first. Also you managed to bring such a wonderful story to such a perfect close, as finishing a story on the right note can be so difficult but you have managed to do it flawlessly. I will be going back and reading through this entire story again now that all the parts are up but fantastic work on re-posting this story, I am really glad you did as it has been a pleasure to read it once again.

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the reviewing, I'm guilty of that myself! I'm just glad you enjoyed it :) thanks so much, Anwyn!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2012 19:40 · For: Realisation
Sorry, nary, I got so engrossed that I read several chapters without reviewing.
Whatever you do in the future, don't stop writing. You have such a gift of pulling me in and making me accept as truth the weaving between modern earth and Middle-earth. It reminds me a great deal of Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising; her books are excellent because she does the same thing and you feel that normality is encroached on by an older, fantastical world. I'm really enjoying this. (Again).

Author's Response: Hey, no worries, I don't expect reviews for every chapter - especially considering you've already read this once!!! I'm glad you still like it :) I haven't read Susan Cooper but I'll have to give it a go, it sounds right up my street. And don't worry, I won't give up writing - I find it too addictive!! ;) Many thanks for your kind words.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 12:19 · For: The New Boy
It's a real pleasure to re-read this, Narya. I remember how sympathetically and truly you write Anna's coping with grief - it rings so true, and the really delicate bleeding of one world into another is masterly. Thank-you for re-posting this. :)

Author's Response: And thank you for leaving such lovely, thoughtful reviews :) I can't make up my mind where I stand on this story - whether I got a little too mawkish with it or what, but I know from experience that grief can't and shouldn't be trivialised. I'm glad you're enjoying the re-read *hugs*


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2012 15:58 · For: Blue Eyes
Very pleased you're posting this, Narya. I'm looking forward to reading it again; it was such an unusual idea, but it you really made it work, and I loved the characters. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! As you know I had a bit of an odd reaction to this story when I went back to it, but once I'd got over the shock of the re-read, working on it wasn't so bad. I haven't changed much, just re-ordered a few bits - I haven't done a Three with it, so to speak ;) hugs!


You must login () to review.