| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...
Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1623
Chapters: 8329
Word count: 25170237
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15382
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 30


03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
Shout Archive

Reviews For Second Chance

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2018 10:59 · For: Blue Eyes
Oh! So sad! This just reminds me of all the times I've lost someone. Not something I like to think about. Not something anyone would want to revisit. But I can certainly understand and empathise with Anna. Poor thing.

And now it seems she's losing the ability to remember what her sister looked like. That must be horrible! Especially considering all you would want to do is hold a picture a memory of them in your mind.

I loved how you included Theodred's horse Brego from the 'Two Towers' in this. I enjoyed all the parts of the movie that took you to Edoras and into Brego's little story.

And I like young Wulf already. Can't wait to read more about his story. :)

Author's Response: Glad you like him :) and the movie-verse touches. There are a few movie-verse references in this; I'm in a minority but The Two Towers is my favourite of the film trilogy. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Gabriel; I hope you continue to enjoy this.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2018 10:39 · For: Leaving
Hi Narya!

Feels like ages since I finished reading 'Three' which I might add I can't wait for the next installment of, even though its only been around two weeks. And I apologise if its taken me that long to finally be able to sit still long enough to read this. :)

Oh my gosh! Poor Izzy! And poor Anna!

I think that has to be the worst thing to have happen. One moment Izzy's there smiling laughing then something unforseen happens and the next thing she's gone.

Its one of those enigma's no-one can wrap their mind around or comprehend in any way. How someone can be living and breathing beside you one minute then dead the next, never to return. :(

I love the end where Izzy as a spirit, touches Anna's face and suddenly remembers everything then gives herself to the 'loving embrace of the power she can't begin to comprehend.' Then the world around her becomes a mass of light. So lovely and so moving!

Super emotional! Narya! :)

Author's Response: Ahh, I'm so glad you're reading this! It's a very old one of mine, I actually wrote it almost ten years ago now...but I have a soft spot for it. I feel like this is the story that made me who I am as a writer, if that makes any sense at all. And yes, you're right, it's not something that anyone can ever understand, and Izzy and Anna are very young here. Don't apologise, you're under no obligation to read or comment on anything! :) It's supposed to be fun, not a chore. I do appreciate your lovely, thoughtful reviews, though, Gabriel - you're such a careful and sensitive reader, you always manage to pick up on the things that, as a writer, I want people to pick up on!

Name: Linda Hoyland (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2012 6:16 · For: Epilogue

This was a most enjoyable and gripping story, which I enjoyed very much and could not stop reading once I started.

You wove the two worlds together perfectly and it all felt utterly belieable.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you :) sorry for the delayed response, normally I reply quicker but I've been in France without internet. So pleased you enjoyed the story!

Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 23:39 · For: Awakening
"When did you figure it out?"

Weirdly it was almost as soon as he appeared - there was something about the character that made me think 'Gandalf' - but I can't quite put my finger on what it was. Which is a sign of your good writing!

Author's Response: Wow, that is quick! I'm very impressed. Many thanks, Wombat!

Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 17:34 · For: Epilogue
I've spent a lovely, lazy, afternoon reading this - and really enjoyed it. You can't imagine how pleased I was that my early guess of Proust as Gandalf was right!

Author's Response: Hi Wombat! I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for taking the time to say so :) when I was originally posting a fair few people thought he was Bombadil, so well done for guessing! When did you figure it out?

Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: July 21, 2012 7:06 · For: Epilogue
Oh my, you have done it! You have finished the story. I meant to review this much earlier but like Spiced Wine I was so completely absorbed in the story that I forgot to so, my bad there. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, the second time around just as much as the first. Also you managed to bring such a wonderful story to such a perfect close, as finishing a story on the right note can be so difficult but you have managed to do it flawlessly. I will be going back and reading through this entire story again now that all the parts are up but fantastic work on re-posting this story, I am really glad you did as it has been a pleasure to read it once again.

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the reviewing, I'm guilty of that myself! I'm just glad you enjoyed it :) thanks so much, Anwyn!

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2012 19:40 · For: Realisation
Sorry, nary, I got so engrossed that I read several chapters without reviewing.
Whatever you do in the future, don't stop writing. You have such a gift of pulling me in and making me accept as truth the weaving between modern earth and Middle-earth. It reminds me a great deal of Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising; her books are excellent because she does the same thing and you feel that normality is encroached on by an older, fantastical world. I'm really enjoying this. (Again).

Author's Response: Hey, no worries, I don't expect reviews for every chapter - especially considering you've already read this once!!! I'm glad you still like it :) I haven't read Susan Cooper but I'll have to give it a go, it sounds right up my street. And don't worry, I won't give up writing - I find it too addictive!! ;) Many thanks for your kind words.

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 12:19 · For: The New Boy
It's a real pleasure to re-read this, Narya. I remember how sympathetically and truly you write Anna's coping with grief - it rings so true, and the really delicate bleeding of one world into another is masterly. Thank-you for re-posting this. :)

Author's Response: And thank you for leaving such lovely, thoughtful reviews :) I can't make up my mind where I stand on this story - whether I got a little too mawkish with it or what, but I know from experience that grief can't and shouldn't be trivialised. I'm glad you're enjoying the re-read *hugs*

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2012 15:58 · For: Blue Eyes
Very pleased you're posting this, Narya. I'm looking forward to reading it again; it was such an unusual idea, but it you really made it work, and I loved the characters. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! As you know I had a bit of an odd reaction to this story when I went back to it, but once I'd got over the shock of the re-read, working on it wasn't so bad. I haven't changed much, just re-ordered a few bits - I haven't done a Three with it, so to speak ;) hugs!

You must login () to review.