| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Upon the Hearth by Narya General Audiences
Narvi is intrigued and a little unnerved by Celebrimbor's companion. Celebrimbor is soppy about his scaly, fire-breathing...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Rohan: An Anthology by Himring Teen
Anthology for short pieces set in or associated with Rohan. Most of these either feature Eowyn or draw on the material on...
~ Summerland ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
New experiences broaden the mind —trauma and the impossible crack it wide open. A quiet summer holiday, the hint...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1688
Chapters: 8616
Word count: 26249432
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16191
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
11/17/18 12:37 am
Happy Friday :D
Spiced Wine
11/16/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:56 pm
chapter posted is actually new instead of repeat this time.
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:55 pm
snow for us here too! And sorry somehow chapter 39 on "I'll be yours" repeated itself instead of posting chapter 40. I think I've got it fixed now. Sorry for any confusion. Chapter p
Karlmir Stonewain
11/15/18 10:47 am
Snow is in tonight's forecast. Bah! It's too early for snow. Time for a sequel to "Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold."
Naledi
11/14/18 10:49 pm
Oops - meant to say, please DM me with your email address!
Naledi
11/14/18 10:48 pm
Can those of you who want to be involved DM me and I'll send out a group email. Cheeky and Ziggy - I know I did have your emails, but I doubt I've still got them.
Naledi
11/14/18 10:46 pm
Yay for everyone joining in with the advent calendar (*waves to Cheeky*). It's probably time we got this show on the road.
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:42 pm
And it will still feel like a last-minute rush!
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:41 pm
I do not believe we’re already thinking of Christmas. Yet here I am ordering pressies, buying cards, making sure I have addresses...
Shout Archive


Reviews For Second Chance

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 7:41 · For: Time Flies
Narya! Wonderful chapter!

You have written Anna's struggles with her sister's death so true to form, here.

How different things are to her, how changed she is and how that change makes her feel as well as how changed everything may appear around her, even though in all reality the world out there has not changed. Still chugging along as it always has. The confusion with this. I mean how can a person be alive and well one moment and gone the next. It's so difficult a concept to wrap your mind around. Do you know what I mean? I feel such an affinity with her.

Sorry about this Narya! I hope I'm making sense here. Sometimes I find it difficult to transform my thoughts into words. Its a little annoying sometimes. :/ I get a little tongue tied and may end up repeating myself.

Of course Christmas making an appearance seemed to only make matters worse. Making her realise how time had escaped her notice. As you wrote; the days blurred into the colors of the seasons, beautifully written, I might add. Everything that used to be of importance was no longer. In fact it's a bit sad really, but so true.

I had to chuckle when she was sitting with her friend Louisa and her friend looks out over the concrete playground to a group of Year eight boys who were pinging the bra straps of their female classmates.

{Shakes head} Boys never change, do they! LOL. Loved that you included that. :)

Narya! This was a wonderfully thought out and thought provoking, sad and realistic chapter. It reminded me of the times I had been in Anna's situation. You wrote it perfectly.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Gabriel. A few years before I wrote this, I lost one of my best friends in a riding accident, and a lot of those feelings came out in the writing. It was tough to write about, but a helpful process to go through, in the end. I think we've all been there at some point; everybody has lost someone close, and then has to figure out how to keep the world turning.

Don't be sorry at all. You don't repeat yourself :) I always know what you mean, and I love that you care enough to write such lovely comments.

Ah yeah, Christmas does make things harder, especially the first one after a loss. And boys do not change, no; thirteen year olds are the same the world over!

I'm sorry if the chapter hit a bit too close to home, but I guess that means I did my job right. Thank you again for your lovely comments, Gabriel.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 6:25 · For: Awakening
Who is this? Narya!

You have my curiosity piqued.

And who is Derry?

This has got to be a new character. They sound like they're on life support, poor things.

Looking forward to finding out. :)

Author's Response: "This has got to be a new character." - well, yes...and at the same time not exactly ;) as for who Derry is, you'll find out in Chapter 7 (I think). You're right about their situation though. Not good.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2018 12:09 · For: A Difficult Evening
Hi Narya! Hope everything is well with you.

When I first began reading this chapter I thought, 'Wow! Great sister Wulf has. :/ What's with her?'

Then after finding out she lost her love at Helm's Deep, I felt terribly sorry for her, and can understand why she is the way she is.

And I felt even more so when her mother couldn't understand why she was continuing to pine over him, when, in her eyes she should have moved on with life by now and contemplating other marriage proposals.

It was a surprise to have her father siding with his daughter. You'd think her mother would have more understanding and empathy.

Awww! Its really sweet to see Wulf completely in love with the little foal 'Annis'.

And I love how you've included more on Brego's story from the 'Two Towers' movie. Every few months I watch all three movies and still marvel at how beautiful a story it is. Can never get enough of it. :)

More on the way! :D

Author's Response: Sorry Gabriel, somehow I missed this one! Yes, everything's good thanks - busy at work, but that's nothing new! :) hope all is well with you too. Yeah, Beomia just kind of wrote herself into this story. I think Aldhelm is quite understanding because he was badly injured in battle, and knows it could easily have been him. The reasons behind Eadwyn's attitudes will become clear later. And yes, Wulf adores his little horse - who wouldn't love a little foal with big blue eyes!? :) I love Brego's story too; I think TTT is my favourite film from the original trilogy. Thank you so much for the lovely comment and taking all that time to share your thoughts with me!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2018 10:59 · For: Blue Eyes
Oh! So sad! This just reminds me of all the times I've lost someone. Not something I like to think about. Not something anyone would want to revisit. But I can certainly understand and empathise with Anna. Poor thing.

And now it seems she's losing the ability to remember what her sister looked like. That must be horrible! Especially considering all you would want to do is hold a picture a memory of them in your mind.

I loved how you included Theodred's horse Brego from the 'Two Towers' in this. I enjoyed all the parts of the movie that took you to Edoras and into Brego's little story.

And I like young Wulf already. Can't wait to read more about his story. :)

Author's Response: Glad you like him :) and the movie-verse touches. There are a few movie-verse references in this; I'm in a minority but The Two Towers is my favourite of the film trilogy. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Gabriel; I hope you continue to enjoy this.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2018 10:39 · For: Leaving
Hi Narya!

Feels like ages since I finished reading 'Three' which I might add I can't wait for the next installment of, even though its only been around two weeks. And I apologise if its taken me that long to finally be able to sit still long enough to read this. :)

Oh my gosh! Poor Izzy! And poor Anna!

I think that has to be the worst thing to have happen. One moment Izzy's there smiling laughing then something unforseen happens and the next thing she's gone.

Its one of those enigma's no-one can wrap their mind around or comprehend in any way. How someone can be living and breathing beside you one minute then dead the next, never to return. :(

I love the end where Izzy as a spirit, touches Anna's face and suddenly remembers everything then gives herself to the 'loving embrace of the power she can't begin to comprehend.' Then the world around her becomes a mass of light. So lovely and so moving!

Super emotional! Narya! :)

Author's Response: Ahh, I'm so glad you're reading this! It's a very old one of mine, I actually wrote it almost ten years ago now...but I have a soft spot for it. I feel like this is the story that made me who I am as a writer, if that makes any sense at all. And yes, you're right, it's not something that anyone can ever understand, and Izzy and Anna are very young here. Don't apologise, you're under no obligation to read or comment on anything! :) It's supposed to be fun, not a chore. I do appreciate your lovely, thoughtful reviews, though, Gabriel - you're such a careful and sensitive reader, you always manage to pick up on the things that, as a writer, I want people to pick up on!


Name: Linda Hoyland (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2012 6:16 · For: Epilogue

This was a most enjoyable and gripping story, which I enjoyed very much and could not stop reading once I started.

You wove the two worlds together perfectly and it all felt utterly belieable.



Author's Response: Oh, thank you :) sorry for the delayed response, normally I reply quicker but I've been in France without internet. So pleased you enjoyed the story!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 23:39 · For: Awakening
"When did you figure it out?"

Weirdly it was almost as soon as he appeared - there was something about the character that made me think 'Gandalf' - but I can't quite put my finger on what it was. Which is a sign of your good writing!

Author's Response: Wow, that is quick! I'm very impressed. Many thanks, Wombat!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2012 17:34 · For: Epilogue
I've spent a lovely, lazy, afternoon reading this - and really enjoyed it. You can't imagine how pleased I was that my early guess of Proust as Gandalf was right!

Author's Response: Hi Wombat! I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for taking the time to say so :) when I was originally posting a fair few people thought he was Bombadil, so well done for guessing! When did you figure it out?


Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: July 21, 2012 7:06 · For: Epilogue
Oh my, you have done it! You have finished the story. I meant to review this much earlier but like Spiced Wine I was so completely absorbed in the story that I forgot to so, my bad there. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, the second time around just as much as the first. Also you managed to bring such a wonderful story to such a perfect close, as finishing a story on the right note can be so difficult but you have managed to do it flawlessly. I will be going back and reading through this entire story again now that all the parts are up but fantastic work on re-posting this story, I am really glad you did as it has been a pleasure to read it once again.

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the reviewing, I'm guilty of that myself! I'm just glad you enjoyed it :) thanks so much, Anwyn!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2012 19:40 · For: Realisation
Sorry, nary, I got so engrossed that I read several chapters without reviewing.
Whatever you do in the future, don't stop writing. You have such a gift of pulling me in and making me accept as truth the weaving between modern earth and Middle-earth. It reminds me a great deal of Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising; her books are excellent because she does the same thing and you feel that normality is encroached on by an older, fantastical world. I'm really enjoying this. (Again).

Author's Response: Hey, no worries, I don't expect reviews for every chapter - especially considering you've already read this once!!! I'm glad you still like it :) I haven't read Susan Cooper but I'll have to give it a go, it sounds right up my street. And don't worry, I won't give up writing - I find it too addictive!! ;) Many thanks for your kind words.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 12:19 · For: The New Boy
It's a real pleasure to re-read this, Narya. I remember how sympathetically and truly you write Anna's coping with grief - it rings so true, and the really delicate bleeding of one world into another is masterly. Thank-you for re-posting this. :)

Author's Response: And thank you for leaving such lovely, thoughtful reviews :) I can't make up my mind where I stand on this story - whether I got a little too mawkish with it or what, but I know from experience that grief can't and shouldn't be trivialised. I'm glad you're enjoying the re-read *hugs*


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2012 15:58 · For: Blue Eyes
Very pleased you're posting this, Narya. I'm looking forward to reading it again; it was such an unusual idea, but it you really made it work, and I loved the characters. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! As you know I had a bit of an odd reaction to this story when I went back to it, but once I'd got over the shock of the re-read, working on it wasn't so bad. I haven't changed much, just re-ordered a few bits - I haven't done a Three with it, so to speak ;) hugs!


You must login () to review.