| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8442
Word count: 25536419
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15676
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Comfortable

Name: starfishqueen (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2013 4:06 · For: Chapter 1 The Contract
Here's the why of political alliances: A King can't do what he wants, it's not about him, it's about his people. People think it would be great to be a King, but to be a king is a great burden. Kings and Queens can't say what the want, and often, only another royal understands because they were raised that way too. I think people around them knew that they were in a sense being used (sexually), but they wanted a little of the power. I think Kings sometimes used others in this way, just to forget for a while that their life is not their own. IMO, the character Eoswith is a likeable but very na


Name: starfishqueen (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2013 4:06 · For: Chapter 1 The Contract
Here's the why of political alliances: A King can't do what he wants, it's not about him, it's about his people. People think it would be great to be a King, but to be a king is a great burden. Kings and Queens can't say what the want, and often, only another royal understands because they were raised that way too. I think people around them knew that they were in a sense being used (sexually), but they wanted a little of the power. I think Kings sometimes used others in this way, just to forget for a while that their life is not their own. IMO, the character Eoswith is a likeable but very na


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2012 4:41 · For: Chapter 6 Behind Closed Doors
DAMN Gwae--TEARS UNDONE, HEART CLENCHED at both of their EMOTIONS!! This was so DAMNED POIGNANT and the TRUTH COMES OUT--for GOOD OR BAD!! I am THRILLED with Lothiriel standing up and remaining firm, I LOVED Eomer's TURMOIL and his ACCEPTANCE of the facts. I hope he finally moves on and both Gamling and Eoswith has a WONDERFUL life!!! This was ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL--BUT WHAT ELSE WOULD I EXPECT!!!

Author's Response: Please forgive me--I have been remiss!! I thought I responded when I originally read this but much had been going on. Thank you for reading and commenting; I always look forward to your comments. They say the truth hurts, and in this case it hurts many. I just could not have Lothiriel be all "oh it's alright" about it. She is not done yet and Eomer is not out of the woods so to speak. Hang tight for more of this AND for you edits :) ~G


Name: zeedrippyvessel (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2012 21:31 · For: Chapter 5 Discarded
I think the comment about PTSD might be on to something, however I'm still struck (and upset) by the ME ME ME ME ITS ALL ABOUT ME mentality Eomer is taking.

Oh and the If I can't have her, no one else can. Was this boy raised in a barn?

Lothiriel better kick his stinky ass.

Author's Response: (taking a quick break from Star trek--more on that later) Why, yes, yes he was! LOL...really, thanks for reading and I am glad to have evoked such...disgruntled feelings! You, my dear fueled the muse before I knew how your story ended. This was one of the first chapter I wrote after you started posting yours and I was upset...I did not know Gamling got the girl at the time...so, it's all your fault! Thank you :) (now back to the movie and OMG Karl so nails McCoy it's spooky!)


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2012 8:37 · For: Chapter 5 Discarded
"Was it so easy to throw him aside?" Not going to lie, that line made me literally laugh out loud. Poor, stubborn, traumatized fool. As angry and appalled as I was at Eomer, I genuinely pity him now. It's just a shame that others have to be hurt by his pain and grief. Hope Gamling isn't gone too long...

Author's Response: I was going for over the top distress and mania. He has now inadvertently hurt just about everyone close to him...however, Lothiriel is not finished with him yet (poor dear) and Gamling, well he's damn near fed up and Eoswith...well, time will tell on that front. More soon and thank you for reading!


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2012 8:24 · For: Chapter 4 Solace
See, this would be a major reason I read fan fiction - I'm a sucker for two lost, lonely souls who find each other. This chapter was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you. This was showing the care and comfort going both ways...Gamling needed a hug! I, too am a sucker for that and for the romance before the hawt sex! LOL


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2012 8:13 · For: Chapter 5 Discarded
OH BLOODY HELL--when you said the TEMPEST was going to BLOW--YOU REALLY MEANT IT WAS GONNA BLOW!!! The RAW EMOTIONS you portrayed in this chapter had me THOROUGHLY PISSED OFF at Eomer and wanting TO KICK his ASS TO KINGDOM COME!!! I LOVED the part with Lothiriel and how she ATTACKED HIM--DAMN EXCEPTIONAL and DOWNRIGHT BRILLIANT chapter!!! I still LOVE the idea of Eoswith and Gamling. I HOPE you will have a chapter where Eoswith has the chance to NAIL Eomer's nuggets to a wall!! SORRY FOR SUCH LANGUAGE!!! Also having computer issues and hit and miss getting it up and running in this heat here!!!

Author's Response: Hell hath no fury...as they say. Well, Eomer is suffering emotional distress that has now alienated him from just about everyone. the aftermath is soon to follow and trust me, Lothiriel is not done! Good thing Eomer is cute...


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2012 7:46 · For: Chapter 4 Solace
OMG Gwae--this...this was SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!! I CRIED, and CRIED--my HEART BROKE for Eoswith. I could see Gamling giving those serving girls hell but he contained himself, a gentleman whether he meant to be or not!!! I could feel Eoswith's turmoil when she thought Eomer was at her door. This was SWEET, POIGNANT and OMG more than PURE PERFECTION!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I was not sure how that part would go and I thought to have Gamling step in but changed my mind. I also wanted the comfort to go both ways so having him show up after the funeral, needing a hug was the way to go. Thanks! ~G


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2012 7:06 · For: Chapter 3 Comparisons
You know, it's funny you mentioned PTSD. Of course I've always thought that Eomer must be overwhelmed by all that happens in such a short period of time, but I honestly never thought of him in the context of PTSD. Makes complete sense - and certainly gives him a need and an excuse to be an ass.

And as sexy as I have found Eomer in every fan fic I've read (yes, even when being an ass), and as differently as you've written Gamling from him, I find Gamling equally sexy. Great job.

Author's Response: I just could not make Eomer a real jerk--there needed to be somthing that drove him to his madness. It's a little like Theoden under the spell. Unfortunately, what happens next will really push things to the limits and the bottled emotions will come spewing forth like lava from a volcano! I am glad you find dear Gamling sexy cause when this is all said and done...well, it will heat up abit--in more ways than one! Thanks you for the comments (I so look forward to them) and enjoy the upcoming tempest!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2012 7:49 · For: Chapter 3 Comparisons
Ai Gwae!!! Finally able to get computer up to let me do more than read here and there!!! THIS WAS BEAUTIFUL, my HEART MELTED and then it began to TWITTER PATE for the SWEET FEELINGS they both started to feel!! I am already in LOVE with this --of course between you, Zee and a few others I HAVE FALLEN IRREVOCABLY IN LOVE WITH Gamling!!! I will AS ALWAYS be watching for more my FRIEND!!!!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! One more "sweet" chapter before the tempest! Hang on for a wild ride! ~G


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2012 10:48 · For: Chapter 2 Ill Begotten News
OMG Gwae--here we go again!! Eomer is being a complete prig--COMMANDING Gamling TELL HER!!! POOR Gamling at being CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE!! Bravo Eoswith!! She has every right to be PISSED OFF and what a tantrum!! (I WOULD TOO) LOL I would like to see her open up some wupp ass on Eomer!! You WERE definitely rightt--this EOMER is alot different and will be INTERESTING TO SEE THIS PLAY OUT!!! I can hardly WAIT FOR MORE!!! I HOPE Gamling still comes out on top with Eoswith but half the fun is not knowing until it happens!!! GREAT AND WONDERFUL STORY AND EXCEPTIONAL AND BRILLIANT WRITING!!! KUDDOS MY FRIEND!!!

Author's Response: War wracks havic on a man---especially the young ones! I love Zee, her writing and her characters, but I wanted a woman who took it a little less lady like. Originally, I had her throw such a tantrum that Gamling actually got caught in the crossfire (between the wall and something sharp) but decided I did not want her feeling guilty for hurting the messenger so, I took a different path. She will come to realize something important about her relationship with Eomer but You will have to wait and see what befalls them, but trust me, Eomer gets his share of trouble. For now, he will continue to be a jerk.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2012 6:47 · For: Chapter 2 Ill Begotten News
Funny how men can face war and God knows what atrocities - but can be complete cowards when it comes to disappointing a woman.

Eoswith is pretty awesome - from a full-on destructive tantrum to trying to make Gamling feel better in the blink of an eye. I like this woman. She deserves better than (this) Eomer.

Author's Response: Eomer is so not right in the head at the moment...I thought we needed to see a distraught man who did not come out of the war unscathed. In the movies his sister is near death, his uncle dead, he's king (because he lost his cousin just weeks before) and he saddles up, rides to the gates like nothing happened...I think a little post traumatic stress is in order (unfortunately, it is not pretty). Several friend have/are writing stories like this and their characters are wonderful. People always think women are irrational, but I find (and this is true for me) that we often need to throw a tantrum, cry and let in out and then we are okay and ready to deal with the situation rationally. Yah, she deserves better and there will be some interesting discoveries on her part...and Eomer's...and Gamling's...but the boat is not safe in the harbor yet and of course, then there is Lothiriel... Thanks for the support :) Glad you like my leading lady!


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: June 28, 2012 7:05 · For: Chapter 1 The Contract
Yet another reason I loathe politics. I've never understood the mentality of those who broker political marriages. I mean, I understand the advantages of them, but...marrying someone you don't even know...yeesh.

Author's Response: I don't either, but it was a (and still is in some places) a common practice. The problem here was Theoden never had a chance to go over the role and duties of the heir. First he was under Grima's control then it was Helms Deep and the War. He never had the time and most likely never thought he'd die. They have met on several occasions briefly but, yah, they are strangers. Although Lothiriel knew she would be Queen of Rohan someday and is very familiar with Rohan and its culture---daddy made sure of that. It is about to get rocky so hold on tight---Eomer is not going to be shown in a very lovely light for awhile... Thanks! ~G


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2012 18:44 · For: Chapter 1 The Contract
Gwae--BEAUTIFUL, INTENSE and just GUT CLENCHING!! The remodel here was BRILLIANT!! I was like Gamling tho--Eomer atleast should have spoke up no matter what and I didn't much like the way Imrahil handled his part of the conversation--it made for a WONDERFUL READ!! I AM LOVING THIS --STILL!!!

Author's Response: In the original, Eomer actually said he wanted to marry Eoswith after the war. The way the story developed, that did not exactly fit--there is a discovery that what was though to be love really was not "true love". Gamling is a very reasonable man, Eomer just totally overwhelmed, and Imrahil has no idea that the poor man is so completely in the dark so it is business as usual. Thanks for reading and things will really heat up soon---sorry, Eomer is not going to be his normal gallant self...


You must login () to review.