| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Out of the Woods by lotrfan General Audiences
Summary: Oropher receives word regarding the mustering of the armies of the Last Alliance and Thranduil confronts his doubts...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1679
Chapters: 8567
Word count: 26093548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16064
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/24/18 10:14 am
I would just choose whichever you want then, Gabriel. It’s what I tend to do when there is no clear answer
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:31 am
I have tried to look for it on other sites, but they have given two time frames which is a little confusing. One in the S.A. the other in the T.A.
Gabriel
09/24/18 06:24 am
I have a little question to ask. totally off the subject. Does anyone know when Bree was built? Was it up and running when Gil galad was king of the Noldor and Celebrimbor was in Eregion?
Gabriel
09/24/18 02:45 am
Okay. If its not too much trouble. Thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
09/23/18 11:53 am
It’s not a problem, I shall just go in and edit the announcement
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:31 am
Besides, I don't want you having to go out of your way just to add me to the list. But thank you for offering. :)
Gabriel
09/23/18 07:27 am
I don't want to be a bother, Spiced. I think I'll just wait till my other fic has done its dash in the recents list and post the SinS after it. Its no problem.
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Last Wood Elf

Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2015 17:00 · For: Chapter 34 Helm's Deep
I love what you have done with the storyline. I have to say that I had a lot of troubled getting past the part where Legolas was accused of rape. RL got in the way of reading fanfic around the same, which meant I took a break for a couple of months. When I finally got back, having convinced myself that you would not leave him hanging (literally), I got so wrapped up, that I did not stop to review. Sorry about that. But like I said, I like the spin you gave to the original story, very different, and yet following the same line. Just one thing. In chapter 33, you said about 50 elves would go with Legolas, he lost none, and now, after the battle, you say he had 30 elves with him.

Author's Response: Nice to see you're back, and glad you took the time to review. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story. As far as your question about numbers, I'm not sure. I wrote this story such a long time ago, I really don't remember a lot of the smaller details such as how many elves came or went. If I reported the numbers incorrectly, it was a simple mistake. Even an author has trouble keeping up with minor details. And I don't have a beta to catch those kind of things. I've tried, but it is difficult to find someone willing to dedicate their spare time to checking another's work. Unfortunately, I don't have the time to go back and research this story. My own RL has become rather hectic, and recently I've begun writing for another fandom, which has taken up all my writing time (which isn't much). I haven't completely abandoned LotR fanfic. I just needed a break from it.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2014 2:49 · For: Chapter 21 The Blacksmith
Oh no, Legolas is in sooo much trouble now! This was a very interesting chapter, as it went from harmless fun to violence so fast. I am not sure how they are going to prove anything, his word against hers, and Grima/Theoden highly unlikely to believe a word Legolas says... What a mess!

Author's Response: The blacksmith ... I remember having fun writing her, believe it or not. I've always enjoyed writing a bad guy. Grima was fun too. Legolas has gotten into a mess for sure.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2014 16:30 · For: Chapter 20 Keeping House
Wow, we must be getting pretty close to the point in time that the Fellowship is formed. I am so curious as to whether you changed that, or how you are going to bring that about! I have been thoroughly enjoying the story, spending most of my free time with it actually. The friends are committing treason, but actually seeing the truth of the situation. Theodred would have been a great king, based on his actions so far... Thanks for writing.

Author's Response: From what I remember, and it's been a while since I've written this story, Legolas meets the Fellowship ( or my version of it, minus Legolas of course), and I think they are together for a short while before Legolas goes off on his own again. Legolas' part in all of this is pretty AU, but he weaves in and out of everyone else's stories.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2014 1:12 · For: Chapter 15 Part of the Plan
I finally have gotten time to start reading again, and catch up with all my favorites. I do not remember where I left off, so long ago, so I am re-reading a bit. This is such a nice quiet chapter. It does a great job of illustrating Grimas attitude towards Eowyn. Also, the close relationship of Legolas and Eowyn. I am looking forward to reading this story! Thanks!

Author's Response: Well, it's nice to see you back. Enjoy catching up and thanks for the review.


Name: gginsc (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2014 16:46 · For: Chapter 43 A New Kind Of Longing
What a shame!The poor elf will never be happy now.

Author's Response: Oh, I don't know about that. The story's not over yet.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2013 11:50 · For: Chapter 39 Taking Up The Crown

Da da da! The evil villian, Rota! well - so she is the mysterious figure. Looking forward to more.



Author's Response: Another loose end that needs tying up, especially Rota, lol.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2013 11:44 · For: Chapter 38 We Meet Again

Love that you've got Folvar and Hafden etc back in this!



Author's Response: Yep, just bringing back some old characters to round out the story as it gets closer to winding things up.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 21:42 · For: Chapter 34 Helm's Deep

Oh this is a WONDERFUL chapter!! So much going on and so well told.  LOads of great action and a great battle scene- I like close-ups in battles- that is far more real than the epic panning across hige distances and this was very very well done. And the blossoming relationship -although I like a little more yearning personally, is beautifully moved on and almost seems settled by the end of the chapter but seems right that it is. 

And out as alawya painfully noble Elf is being painfull honourabe and noble- love it love it!



Author's Response: You make me laugh, ziggy. If there is one thing I've learned about you through your writing, it's that you like a lot of yearning (aka Elrohir/Legolas). Now, there's nothing I dread more than writing a battle scene, and I think it's because I look at the overall picture. It's overwhelming to think of, and easier to write a battle as seen within a small bubble of the main character that's involved in the fight. He's not fighting a whole field of enemies, only the one's that are coming at him. I figured that out after rewriting several times. That's why I'm so glad to see you liked it.


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2013 23:17 · For: Chapter 33 A Reunion of Sorts
Interesting, so is Calariel interested in Legolas? Celeborn has a lot of explaining to do. Whatever Thranduil did doesn't explain his or Galadriel's decisions.

So Haldir will not be going, but now I don't want to know if any of the Lothlorien elves die. no!!!

Love this story and I always look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Nice to meet you. Thanks for the review and glad you're enjoying my story. So... yea, there's a little somethin'-somethin' happening between Legi and Cal. Celeborn will eventually explain his reasoning, but not quite yet. And as for the elves, don't worry.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2013 23:25 · For: Chapter 33 A Reunion of Sorts

Great idea! Love that its Rumil and Orophin going and not Haldir. But they are all going to be killed  if you follow movie verse and that WILL cause problems later I can see.



Author's Response: Thanks! Well, I'm following movie verse... kind of. Yes, I've got elves going to Helm's Deep, but on a much smaller scale. But I'm not following PJ's lead, since Haldir's not going he won't die. I never liked that very much. And if it didn't make this story flow better, I wouldn't have any elves going, and stick to book verse. But it's working for me right now, to build a relationship between Legolas and some of the Lothlorien elves. I think it will all work out in the end.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2013 14:04 · For: Chapter 32 Lothlorien

Aaah- GREAT little bombshell! I really like the way you describe Lothlorien- I have a very visual image of it - and I love the idea of his kinship with Celeborn so I hope we are going to get some scenes with a little bit of bonding- or conflict- don't minf which. Loving it all!



Author's Response: Thanks! I kind of felt like this was one of those filler chapters, but not all of them can be full of excitement. As for Celeborn and Legolas... more conflict with those two.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 20:32 · For: Chapter 31 The Stubbornness of Dwarves

Love the end where he leaves the book- what a nice touch.



Author's Response: Thanks ;-)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2013 22:39 · For: Chapter 30 Preparing A City

Oh I LOVE that scene between Eowyn and Legolas when she says she trusts him and she has to look after Theoden- perfect. It just rest really hit me in my heart. And that image of him leaning forwards heavily is so very human.

 

And only at the end do I see where this is going and why you are setting up for him to go to Lothlorien- great idea!! Smashing story.



Author's Response: Thanks so much for pointing that out. One thing I've tried to do is keep a certain human edge to Legolas. He's been greatly influenced by their culture, and I want it to always be a part of his personality. And I love writing these little private moments for Legolas and Eowyn. He's able to show his vulnerability with her in a way that he can't with anyone else.


Name: Meleth (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2013 13:35 · For: Chapter 30 Preparing A City

Lovely chapter!

Not quite as heart-wrenching as the last, but I like the "calm before the storm"-feeling you describe here so well and how you end each chapter in a way that makes me yearn for your next update.


And I adore you for the line:
“Sounds like the two of you were mixed at birth,” Gimli chortled.

Glorious!!! Thank you soo much for that.



Author's Response: Thanks for your confidence boosting review, Meleth. I'm glad your enjoying it, and Gimli's one-liners, lol.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2013 9:20 · For: Chapter 29 Rohan's Redemption

Great chapter L8.



Author's Response: Thanks ;-)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 29, 2013 15:33 · For: Chapter 28 Written In Sand

Just delicious! as they say in Rivendell! Love the way you are bringing this together and the Hobbit movie-fic woven in. I'm really sad about Theodred though and hope you are going to give Legolas some grieving time later when he has a moment!Great stuff as always.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy. It was tough getting rid of Theo, but that's how it happened, and I think it will make Legolas and Eomer stronger, as well as bond them in friendship even more. It will help drive Legolas towards his goals also.


Name: Meleth (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 19:53 · For: Chapter 27 A Horn Shall Sound

Ah! The moment I have been waiting for finally arrived!

Very nice interaction between Gimli and Legolas here. I wonder how their friendship will evolve now that Legolad joined the fellowship relatively late.
Can´t help but wonder how the original storyline will be changed by the story´s events. And of course, when and how the mysterious elleth will reappear...

Great chapter! Keep the updates coming, please!



Author's Response: The storyline will kind of take a life of its own after a couple more chapters. I try to mix in a little book verse with the AU, jumping in and out where it seems necessary. Legolas and Gimli's relationship will still develop, though with my own twist to it. I still feel it is an important part of the story. Thanks for keeping up and reviewing.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 10:01 · For: Chapter 27 A Horn Shall Sound

I really like the way you have shown Aragorn and Gimil in this- strangers, impressions, suspicion and a reluctance to leave Eomer.So sad about Theodred. There is a super freshness about the descriptions, very visual. Storyline is great!



Author's Response: It's getting kind of fun writing Legolas playing for the other team (team Rohan that is). I think it's his loyalty in how he was originally written that makes it easy to put him in this AU role.


Name: Domestic Duchess (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 25 The Entwood
Again, lovely smooth writing with great rhythm and no hesitations. Great scenes that cause Legolas to act and make decisions.
Beechbone was unexpected and light hearted addition to the supporting cast. He and Legolas play well off of each other. It was funny when he said, yeah, if it was termites I'd know what to do.
Uh oh! Did we just meet the romantic heroine? If so, dramatic way to introduce her. We know a lot about her already just from Legolas's impressions and her actions. It says a lot about Legolas too. Even though he notices she's from Lothlorien, he doesn't hesitate to help her. He could be vindictive and refuse because of what he believes are past injustices, but he's too honorable for that.

Author's Response: Thanks Duchess. I'm glad you liked this chapter. I don't know when I'll be able to post again. Had a bit of a family emergency and I'm in FL taking care of my elderly parents. Been here for 2 wks and here for another 2. Laptop is at home and there's no time for writing. It may be a while, but eventually I'll get back to it. I might have to reread the entire story since I feel like I've forgotten the whole thing.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2013 23:36 · For: Chapter 26 Without Words

Oh this is a great chapter, L8! Great plot and twists- I like Calariel because she' no swooning maid or Mary-Sue, but a proper character. And she's sneakily pretended not tobe able to speak so avoided saying anything about Legolas' very thin disguise. And I am trying to 'place' this in the narrativ of LOTR and guess this could be the moment when the meet the Three? Two? Hunters- but this is so original and intersting, I'm just intrigued to follow it wherever you take us. 



Author's Response: Glad you like Calariel. I can't stand a weak female character. I like them to be womanly yet independent. She is a Galadhrim soldier, but she has a soft side too. You would be correct about the timeline. This is leading up to the hunters meeting Eomer and his men, but with a twist of course.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 23:01 · For: Chapter 25 The Entwood

SUper chapter L8. I really liked your description of Fangorn and going into it- the sunlight and dust motes, I could see that very clearly. And the Ents and forest are very 'real'



Author's Response: Thanks ziggy. It was kind of fun writing Fangorn Forest and the Ent. I don't think I've written anything for that part of Middle-earth before.


Name: Domestic Duchess (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2013 3:49 · For: Chapter 24 On Open Plains
This was really exciting and beautifully written. I find it interesting that Legolas is still struggling with who he is or where he fits in in the world. He's got a lot of scars both physically and emotionally.
My favorite part was the part with the farmer. I was hoping it was actually going to be Bema in disguise or something. The way Legs describes Eowyn in her armor, she seems so cute.

Author's Response: Legolas has always struggled, even though he's been accepted by the people he's lived with. Still, they are not his people, and a part of him has always felt out of place. I think Rohan has been more 'home' than anywhere else, but it's still not the same. He'll learn more about himself and where he came from as the story advances.


Name: Domestic Duchess (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 23:09 · For: Chapter 23 From Darkness Into Flight
Wow! Another really well written chapter! Flowing, descriptive, well paced. Parts were very suspenseful! Gamling totally reminded me of Barristan Selmy from Game of Thrones.
The dialogue was nice and smooth too. Very realistic. I know I always bring dialogue up, but I really don't like stilted dialogue. I'm really excited about where this story is going.
Sorry, I didn't get around to reviewing until now. I'm going to read the next chapter sometime tonight if I don't fall asleep! lol

Author's Response: Hey, I'll take your reviews anywhere, anytime, Duchess. I always look forward to them. Gosh, I'd love to see the Game of Thrones, but I guess I'll have to settle for the books, if I can get around to reading them ... well, buying them first too. I feel the same way about dialog. If it's slow with a lot of repeating, I completely lose interest. I always hear them speaking like a movie in my head when I write it. I enjoy writing dialog, for the most part. Well, I've still got some new ideas for this story as far as where it's going, and I think it will get a little less stressful to write once I get to certain parts. As long as I stop and think it out first, I'm ok.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 12:09 · For: Chapter 24 On Open Plains

A great chapter- very tense and exciting L8. Love the way Eowyn has helped in this- it is beleivable and convincing, within her capabiltiy and shows her courage and strength. And how true that they would have tried to drive him away from Theodred and Eomer- and now I assume it's off to Imladris! I can't wait to see Legolas amongst the Elves and discovered as the last elf of Mirkwood! Hope I'm right here- or I suppose he could reach one of the others and be despatched to go and ge t help, although none of them seem any the wiser about other realms- I suppose really they would be more likely to look to Denethor for help? See how you've affected me- those plot bunnies-bang bang!



Author's Response: Gotta love those plot bunnies, lol. I'm trying to stick as close to book verse as I can, although there are some parts in the movies that would fit better, and I may borrow those just to make the story move smoothly. I just love Eowyn, and she's always right where I need her in this. She works great, especially with Legolas' escape, and I love writing their close friendship. Well, I'll let you in on one small secret ... Lothl


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2013 2:33 · For: Chapter 23 From Darkness Into Flight
DAMN DAMN DAMN L8--this was INTENSE and had my heart FLUTTERING with EXCITEMENT!! I nearly DIED when I realized it was Gamling there to help him and tho I can understand Legolas's wanting of his book I think he may have taken too much time--ALTHO he has learned more of Grima's plan but what good that will do him under the circumstances right now I am unsure of BUT I am also sure YOU know exactly what is to come!!! I cannot wait for more of this now that I am finally caught up!!! AMAZING JOB AS ALWAYS girl!!!

Author's Response: Glad you to caught up. His book is very important to him. It's all he has of Mirkwood and he'd never leave it behind. It might seem like chaos right now, but I've got things planned out.


You must login () to review.