| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 52
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Lost Scrolls

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 3:03 · For: Ţerindë
Oh I like Miriel's idea that Feanor will come back and tell the Valar where to go! Remake the world as he wants it and sideline them. They hold him a prisoner to do their bidding....what fools for Feanor would never be that!

Poor Maglor. It always makes me so sad to think of him wandering Arda, on his own , forever and ever and ever. He truly is the most tragic of them all.
Loved this!

Author's Response: Thank you! :-) that prompt generator over at SWG is a dangerous thing, I tell you...and yes, I have a soft spot for Maglor as well. I have the outline and a few chapters of a very, very long fic about his life through the Ages; I've been working on it for six years, on and off, but it's so huge and pinning it down is difficult! Thank you for taking the time to review - I'm glad you liked it.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2015 23:29 · For: Ţerindë
Oh, Narya, this is wonderful - it made me cry! Great work!

Author's Response: *Squee!!* Really!? Thank you so much :-D I am so pleased you think it works.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 4:15 · For: Beware, Thief
Baby Smaug!!

I started off feeling sorry for him, poor baby dragon with no mother...... That didn't last long though!
I guess dragons wouldn't really have that much in the way if emotional feelings for their family so him casually killing his sister is something I should have expected. Maybe they are like lions. The females have attachments to their cubs but the males , once they are grown, well family doesn't mean anything to them it is all about superiority.
This is the first time I have ever put any thought into what made dragons tick!

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments, Cheeky :-) in the first draft I did have Smaug feeling guilty about his sister, but it seemed very un-Smaug-like!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2015 8:00 · For: Cúthalion
Another favourite of mine, Beleg. He really deserved much more screen time from Tolkien, in my opinion anyway!! I am fascinated how you can write so little and yet it is so gripping and descriptive...how do you do that?!

Author's Response: I completely agree - there are a lot of characters I feel were underwritten in canon. Then again, that's why we have fanfic! As for the brevity thing, at the moment it's a case of needs must. I've been out of fandom for a while and haven't worked up the energy to go back to longer fics - yet. Thank you once again for your lovely comments :-)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2015 7:55 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth
Ah! So sad. These two are my favourites. Could you get any more tragic than them? This was wonderful, so few words and it conveyed so much emotion!

Author's Response: I know :-( they're heartbreaking! Thank you so much for your lovely comment.


Name: Pink Siamese (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2015 23:26 · For: Cúthalion

I read all of these in one go, and they're lovely. :-)



Author's Response: Oh, thank you :-) just a few odds and ends, but it helps to write them when I'm struggling with longer stuff.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2015 22:22 · For: Cúthalion
I think we all get those 'dried out' spells at times, Narya, especially if our life is full of other things. But I also believe people who are writers can't ever stop writing, even though maybe years might go by where they do very little.

Of course I felt something. It brought tears to my eyes because it made me imagine a time when they were happy. :( I will go and sit in a corner for a while!

Author's Response: I think you're right; this is just the first time I've been through it, so it felt/feels like the end of the world. I hope you don't spend too long in the corner, not when you've left Magnificat on such a stunning cliffhanger!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2015 20:27 · For: Cúthalion
Are you and Encairion in cahoots to break my heart tonight?

Beleg and T


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2014 23:34 · For: Nine Black Cats and One White
Oh, this was surprising!

I am the cat who walks by herself - and I am in need of a new adventure

I really enjoyed this! But I am very sorry about your cat :(

Author's Response: I am sorry too - but she wasn't born to be an inside cat, and sometimes life just isn't fair. Thank you for reading and commenting *hugs*


Name: ravensonthewing (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2013 5:06 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth
Oh dear! This is gorgeous, I love it. I do so wish there was more, but there are times when a little of a good thing is enough to spur the imagination. I'll be thinking of this for a while.

Author's Response: Hi, ravensonthewing! Thank you for your review. Yes, I remember you write Maedhros/Fingon; I hope you post your story at some point, I'd like to read it. Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I do plan to write more Maedhros/Fingon at some point in the future, but I have other projects on the go at the moment :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 21:44 · For: Nine Black Cats and One White
@ziggy, I forgot one of my feline muses - Ginger from CS Lewis's The Last Battle, who lost the power of speech because of his evil deeds ;)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 20:31 · For: Nine Black Cats and One White

THis is a lovely and fitting tribute I suspect for your own Minerva? Lovely name. It has that lingering sense of nostalgia, a lovely sense of haunting. I am the cat that walks by herself - and I am in need of a new adventure- lovely line.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy - yes, my cat was run over recently. I'd be heartbroken anyway but it was particularly sad as she was so young. And yes, we called her Minerva; she was a brown tabby, so she was named for Professor McGonagall! "I am the cat that walks by herself" is a line from Kipling; his Cat is one of the literary felines I drew on in writing this. Others were the Cheshire Cat, Seuss's Cat in the Hat, Tao from The Incredible Journey, Mrs. Norris, and TS Eliot's Jellicle Cats, but the Kipling line is the most obvious nod. Thank you, as always, for your kind words.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 20:27 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth

I love this, Narya- it is filled with all the tragedy of Maedhros and Fingon's story.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy! :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2012 21:27 · For: The Taste of Meat

This is chilling. More so because its a hobbit and the sob. Really, really creepy actually. Darker than you get with hobbits as a rule and I think that's quite shocked me actually. And the cannibalsim of course. Blimey Naya, what were you on when you wrote this... look how its affected me. Brilliant, dark, scary writing. 

 

The succinctness of it, the repetiton, the incredible narrative voice. Yes- I'll be thinking about this for a while.

Horribly brilliant.



Author's Response: "what were you on when you wrote this" - oddly enough I was all cosied up in my living room with a glass of mulled wine! I think this is another one of those things, like Maedhros/Fingon, that is *there* in the text but that Tolkien didn't want to say outright - maybe he didn't even see it. I'm convinced, though, that with the state Wormtongue had got into by this point, he would have taken a nibble at Lotho and that Saruman's jibe wasn't far off the mark. Many thanks, as always, for your lovely reviews.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2012 21:21 · For: Elf Friend

Wow- this has all the atmosphere of an old tale, wonderfully evocative, it has that sense of nostalgia in its true sense; the yearning for what's past and cannot come again. The two 'worlds' of the Elves and the Vikings is what does it for me- enough in the past for legends and myths but far enough from ME that it seems almost impossilbe... almost, but a lingering hope is stil lthere, which the father still has. This has left me wth that sensation in the pit of my belly, a teasing excitment that knows it cannot be but that sliver of hope...that I might stumble one day upon something that says what my heart hopes but my head knows cannot be real. Stunningly good, Narya. I hope lots of people read this.



Author's Response: "This has left me wth that sensation in the pit of my belly, a teasing excitment that knows it cannot be but that sliver of hope...that I might stumble one day upon something that says what my heart hopes but my head knows cannot be real." - I'm so glad you felt this, because it's exactly what I wanted to evoke! I can't help wishing that ME *did* exist, somehow, or at least that there was something like it that got lost as various myths were handed down. For me, Tolkien did succeed in his goal to create a mythology for England, despite the fact that he later called it an absurd project; the amount of imaginations it captured, the place in people's minds it tapped into and the vast number of reinterpretations it has triggered (despite the fact that none of them can be professionally published) prove that he did what he wanted to. Thank you so much for reading and leaving comments, ziggy.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2012 21:15 · For: At First Sight?

This is such a lovely moment and you have really done it justice- the fragility of eowyn and Faramir, that tiny spark that ignites for him, perhaps less for her but grows. Lovely.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy - yes, they're definitely both fragile at this point, and you're right that the "spark" ignites less for her at the beginning (at least the way I see things), but it does blossom in the end. I did intend to write more about the pair of them, but this piece stems from my early days when I tended to stick to canon characters - then I started writing OCs and never really looked back ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2012 21:14 · For: Elf Friend
“Look after your mother.” A whiskery kiss – a farewell. “


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2012 21:13 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth

I love this. Especially with my new found fascination for Maedhros and Fingon- I have been missing out BIG time! And I agree with you that Maedhros could not have left Fingon. Love the last line - because of course he is and it is the beginnig of the end for him. Poor Maedhros.



Author's Response: Yes, he does indeed go mad after this. I love Maedhros and Fingon; before I discovered fanfic I was convinced there was something there that Tolkien wasn't telling us! Thank you, ziggy.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 17:17 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth

I meant to say- the title for this is perfect- the same desire and tempestuous relationship between these two as Heathcliffe and Cathy. And how unquiet their slumber.



Author's Response: That is exactly how I see them - can you imagine, all the betrayal and feuding between them, and the incestuous dynamic, and the tragic times...and, like Cathy and Heathcliff, I can't imagine their deaths being all that quiet...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 17:13 · For: At First Sight?

Lovely- delicate and romantic.



Author's Response: You're too kind! I do admit to a soft spot for Faramir...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 17:12 · For: Mushrooms

Sweet. Love Elladan in this.



Author's Response: Thanks ;) these twins aren't as dark and twisty as yours...then again, I didn't give them much screen time!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 17:02 · For: Older and Fouler

I love this- the sense of ancient menace and the descriptions of modern life (beasts without legs etd.)



Author's Response: This is probably my personal favourite of my short pieces - partly because I'm so convinced those caves I spent hours in were the Mines of Moria, once!! Thank you, again.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 17:00 · For: Sam's Last Gift

Perfect drabble. 'creak of old bones' 'a musty volume bound in faded scarlet' -some superb images.



Author's Response: Thank you :) I don't usually write hobbits, but this scene was giving me a brain worm!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2012 16:59 · For: The Sleepers in that Quiet Earth

I think you are right- I've only just got interested in Fingon etc. Great ideas. Very vividly described.



Author's Response: Thank you! I do like playing about with the short form stuff; it really does make you pare down to the essentials, which is a useful exercise in discipline if nothing else - though the very best short shorts pack a wicked emotional punch. I don't think I've got the art of it yet, but I keep trying ;)


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2012 20:51 · For: Older and Fouler
Ooh - I can really see this - although the caves that come to my mind are those of Postojna that I once visited.

Author's Response: The caves of Postojna are mind-boggling, aren't they? Just stunning. Though I hope the Watcher isn't really lurking in any of these places... *hides behind hands* thanks for R&Ring!


You must login () to review.