| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
I Will Wait by lotrfan General Audiences
For the SWG April/May A Woman's Sceptre Challenge.Prompt:“Some say cavalry and other claim infantry or a fleet of long...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8075
Word count: 24234649
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14483
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:36 am
The only thing I can think to do is for esteliel or myself to use your password, log in and post your first chapter. I believe the last time this happened it's what I did.
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:34 am
What did esteliel say, Nelyafinwe?
Shout Archive


Reviews For Songs of Rohan

Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2015 12:48 · For: Chapter 1; Meduseld

This is terrific - what a capturing, intriguing, intense story! I've started it a few weeks ago and make my way through it slowly, as I want to savour the intensity you are bringing to it for me. I'm enoying it enormously, and I'm very taken with the way you describe Legolas and his uniqueness as an elf, his affinity to the song and the nature around him. I think this is the first time I'm reading such a special, beautiful and well-fitting description of the elvenness of a character, and of the difference between an elf and a human apart from the obvious physical differences.

In this first chapter, I also really love your Éomer and the way he perceives his surroundings and the happenings in your story, and, of course, Legolas.
Your Gríma is excellent, too, in a very chilling way, and I really love your horsey bits.

 



Author's Response:

Oh THANK YOU Ysilme! I love that someone os reading this very old tale. I really appreciate your comments about Legolas- he very different for me and his silvan nature makes him very attuned, as you say, to the Song and Nature. It just felt right to me as Tolkien has him listeing to stones and trees and the wind.

I'm a horse-mad woman so love writing the horses. Thank you for noticing:)



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2013 0:06 · For: Chapter 16 The Choice
I don't think I liked the twins in this - maybe I will like them more in Sons of Thunder.

I liked the wealth of details - Gimli chewing his beard especially. You really got inside the characters - I feel as if I know them now. Enough to invite them around for a cup of tea and a slice of cake, anyway :D

I read this on my breaks during several night shifts - I guarded my Kindle like a snappy rottweiler because I didn't want my co-workers playing with it and losing my place lol

Will be starting the next in the series very soon :D

Author's Response:

Um- you won't like Elrohir for ages! But then you will I hope- about chapter 30 lol! But you may understand why he is as he is.  It's really odd but I had no idea why I wrote them like this when I finished Songs. It was only because Anar said there was a sequel that I started writing it- weird.

 

That's such a compliment about knowing the characters- I miss them when I don't write! Gimli, Legoals and Pippin were so easy to write and I found their 'voices' very easy to hear.

 

Hope you do read and enjoy Sons- I feel I owe you because I've had such fun reading Jeli!!

 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2013 0:05 · For: Chapter 16 The Choice

Wow.  I did not expect this ending somehow, and yet I think it’s utterly perfect.  I love the bitter-sweetness, I think it fits the times and the world perfectly and I don’t know what’s wrong with me that I was thinking it could ever end any other way. 

Saurman: the way you wrote his encounter with Legolas blew my mind!  I loved all the magic, his voice, the power, and Legolas’ despair after, his shame.  It was really powerful.

Ok, so I want to slap Elrohir.  I’ve got to read the Sons of Thunder now so I get at their POV because right now I think both the twins are asses, and Elrohir is the worst of everything Noldo.  The way he dismissed Legolas as if he were nothing, just Urrrrg!  I am sure they have their own story though, and really, I think this is probably a thousand times truer of how they would have acted than anything I’ve ever read even if I am wrestling with it.  The twins were, without a doubt, dark.  I agree with this portrayal of them.  They hunted orcs in the wilds for years, and I think, made a bit of a sport out of it, which tells you something of their physic right there.  I agree that they probably would have been very aloof.  But that doesn’t stop me wanted to smash something over Elrohir’s head lol!

This story was such a treasure to read.  It sucked me in and pounded me with its desperation and darkens and also made me laugh with Legolas and Gimli’s magical friendship and cheekiness.  I was tearing up at the scene when Gimli and Legolas look deeply into each other’s faces and promise to be friends forever!  Beautiful. 



Author's Response:

One of the great things about Anar as a beta is that she pushes me in particuar ways - and she was most insistent that this was how it needed to end- She wrote the final sentence as I recall. Its wonderful working with another writer. You weren't alone in hoping for a more permenent relationship between them but then Legoals would have to be beareved and face the world without Eomer, and you have the complication of Lothiriel and I like to keep to canon overall.

 

Oh yeaaaahhhh! Leeerv your antipathy to Elrohir- he is an absolute B***** but you'll understand gradually if you read Sons- but it's very long. Yes, I agree they must have made hunting orcs a sport - I've done something with that is More Dangerous but probably not really enough. I am saving that for later really because Legoals is not like that and shocked by gratuitous violence but also violent himself. That sor tof interests me - the degree  and intesnity of violence against crulety and revenge - those two things are quite carefully balanced.

Thank you -your review was just lovely, what I need to get me writing. I am a hungry writer!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2013 19:23 · For: Chapter 11

Ah, so now it really begins to get complicated!  I am getting fearful for Eomer, he’s obviously falling for Legolas, yet Legolas is so Other (and wonderfully so!), but I wonder if he returns Eomer’s feelings or if he’s just hiding how he feels?

OH but I loved it this scene: “'Is it so hard to think?' the elf had said softly, holding his gaze. Eomer had stared, believing the elf must see his thoughts. The long green eyes were flecked with gold, deep green like the forest...alien, ancient and strange. But in the battle there had been a crazed lust for battle in the elf's eyes which had been reflected in the eyes of orcs.”

That Eomer could see some similarities between Legolas and the orcs was not only well done, it is something not delved into enough in fan fiction, I think.  I loved how you had the orcs drawn to Legolas in the battle with a special kind of hatred, and the way he fell into such bloodlust.  You have really done such a wonderful job making Legolas not only an elf (an so inhuman and different) but also a Woodelf.  I imagine if a Noldo were to stand side-by-side with Legolas their differences would be readily apparent, and I don’t just mean looks. 

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

AH- now you see, that is exactly waht interests me- the differences. Eomer sees Legolas is that way, and later Elrohir sees him in a different way and in More Dangerous, he is amongst Elves so is not Other -but still different enough to excite curiosity and interest. And as I am obsessed, he's adored by everyoner of course- I wrote to indulge myself if I'm honest.

Thank you for your kind words- I always treasure these sorts of comments especially from another writer whom I admire.

z

 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2013 22:55 · For: Chapter 10 Fangorn

Ok, so I devoured these last few chapters.  I couldn’t pull myself away, and that is the mark of a truly epic story. 

Gosh, where to start, I loved so much!  So I am on a Legolas high now, and you’ve made me fall for the cheeky elf.  He’s actually never been my favorite character, but I am absolutely in love with him after reading your work!

The way you wrote Grima’s death, Legolas’s response to it, the shadow it cast over him, the way he was able to find compassion for Grima ever after all he’d done to him, broke my heart and rang a bell in my chest sounding of perfection.

I was worried for Eowyn there for a moment since Legolas wasn’t ever going to be able to love her back like she needed, but Aragon’s totally all over that it looks like :wink:  I liked how she fought in the Battle of Helm’s Deep, there was NO way she was going to get left behind.

And now we have Legolas back to his normal self and some serious hot action finally going on between him and Eomer (enough avoiding already Eomer, you go get that Elf lol!).  Great stuff, and Legolas’ song was something I could totally see a wood-elf singing, those mischievous imps.

I am still loving this story, and you’ve made me fall in love with this pairing as well :hugs:



Author's Response:

Oh wow - that is such a nice review. This was my first fic so I htink it's a bit raw in many ways but if it made you like the pairing and you have fallen for Legolas, well, my work here is done!!

Yes, that song!! He does another at the start of Sosn that is just as cheeky, if not worse!

Thank you for reviewing.

z

x



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2013 2:52 · For: Chapter 3

This is so good!  I am still in love with the way you write Legolas, the tattoos on his body that are alive, his cheekiness, his strength, his cleverness.  It’s all just so perfect.  I’ve rarely read an elf so well written.  You’ve effortlessly balanced that inhumanness without making him a perfect being too saint like to relate to. 

And oh do I like the way you write Eowyn!  I had gotten tired of reading her in fan fiction because I found her either portrayed as an unrealistic warrior-princess or a malcontent, but you write her just right.  She’s ruthless in her hatred of Grima, but not annoying in the least, I can completely cheer her.  And her response to Legolas is so believable.  I mean, why was she attracted to Aragon?  Because he was the first man she thought could really understand and see her, but here Legolas came first so he got her loyalty.  It shall be interesting to read how she reacts to Aragorn now :D

Excellent work as always :D



Author's Response:

I love Eowyn -when I first read LoTR Arwen completely escaped my notice and so I really related to Eowyn and went off Aragorn completely because he didn't want her.  As you say, Legoals got there first and he really does understand - and is so beautiful. I am so in love with him!!! Maybe it does need another chapter- I have thought that. It doesn need one where she meets Faramir really. Thank you Encairion.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2013 16:38 · For: Chapter 2: In the cells

Wow!  The way you described Legolas' beauty was stunning!  You did an incredible job showing us his beauty, his inhumanness, and not just telling :D

I loved this: "Grima opened his eyes wide for a moment, as if he remembered something, long ago, when he was young and believed he could be the Man he wanted to be. And suddenly he stepped back as if struck...and he lifted his hands before him as if warding off a blow. 'Stop! Stop him!' Grima raised his fist to strike the Elf but his wrist was caught by an iron grip. For a minute, everything seemed frozen. Grima cringed before the tall Elf, his upraised hand caught in Legolas’ strong grip and the Elf stood tall and his long hair swept down his back. His strong beautiful face was full of compassion and Grima cringed from that as much as the pain of his grip."

Legolas looking deeply into Grima and showing him what he'd become, making him feel shame for that moment, and then looking upon him with compassion was so perfect.  I can very much see an elf carrying this power of looking into someone, and I think it fits beautifully with Legolas' character that he would be moved with compassion for Grima even after all the worm was planning and doing to him.

Simply gorgeous.  Well done :D

 



Author's Response:

Thank you Encairion- it is so nice to get reviews of something written a long time ago now, and it reminds you what you wrote. You know what I mean. Grima struck me as being a sad little man really- vulnerable and used by Saruman - and I am so in love with Legolas:)



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2013 17:57 · For: Chapter 1; Meduseld

Wow, just wow!  I've never read a story with a Legolas/Eomer paring that I liked, but this...this completely blew me away!  Well done.  I love how you've emphasized the inhumaness of Legolas.  I competently agree that not only would a human see an elf's beauty, they would also be sharply aware of their inhumaness.

Also, I like how you aren't afraid to make Legolas one tough elf.  I've read some Legolas/Aragon stories that pretty much shuffle Legolas to the role of a woman, which is so unfortunate.  Two men can have a relationship without one having to be the 'women' in it.  So thank you for that.

Really nice work with this, thank you for sharing it :D



Author's Response:

Thank you Encairon- espeically since I have been enjpying the gift of your work so if you've enjoyed mine, that's great. I hate woosy Legolas too- he's an Elf, they are stonger than Men, more grancful but built for eternity- they must be tough, and I Like the idea of difference but similar. I'm so pleased you enjoyed this and than you for letting me know. 

z

x



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2013 13:45 · For: Chapter 4 Grima
Ding! Dong! the witch is dead...wrong story I know but it applies well to Grima.


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2013 13:41 · For: Chapter 3
I was reading your story in the hospital waiting room and nearly missed them calling my name because i was so into it.

Poor Eomer being left in the cell lol

Author's Response:

Oh fin1 i am intensely flattered and sorry at the same time:) So glad you liked this. xx



Author's Response:

Oh fin - I am intensely flattered and sorry at the same time:) So glad you liked this. xx



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2013 13:38 · For: Chapter 2: In the cells
Hahaha! Legolas bit Grima's tongue - serve him right lol

Author's Response:

I am sorry I missed this- I have been so tardy in repsonding to reviews! Thank you- oh yes! Legolas is no shrinking violet!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2013 14:01 · For: Chapter 1; Meduseld
What a wonderful start - I loved the powerful descriptions of Legolas and Wormtongue. I was reading this on my Kinde and had to force myself to stop at the end of the chapter otherwise I might have read all night.

Author's Response:

Thank you Glorfindel! It gets better once Anarithilen got invovled as my beta - and of course later on, Elrohir is on it but this is not his story. I know you don't like the twins and this wont help at all!!!! Now - just off to read TBM and then follow up with JIV!



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 21, 2012 0:29 · For: Chapter 16 The Choice
Aaaah... it is a good ending, even though we know that it is really only a pause.

And I still want to knock the heads of the sons of Elrond, possibly all three, together and shout at them that they should not doubt Legolas' worth, nor dismiss him as of little importance, just because the Elrondionath and the D


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2012 0:15 · For: The Palantir
Oh this chapter made me cry again, too. I so want to take Legolas and cuddle him and tell him it'll be alright. And poor Pippin, who was only trying to help, he needs a cuddle too. Pass me the tissues, again...

Author's Response:

Here you go. Extra soft kleenex.

Love that you had a little blub over this! Thank you dear.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 19, 2012 13:20 · For: Chapter 16 The Choice
Oooh - Marvellous, Ziggy. All those wonderful and beautiful details of people and place and emotion that make your work so rich, and the sweep onward into Sons, like a stallion gathering itself into a canter and then a gallop.
I am so ready for Sons again!

Author's Response:

I love that image! I did get really excited when writing Elrohir! Posting ch 11 now I think

x

 

Oh- I have an epilogue in me after all. It is haunting me but I may publish it seperately...because I havent dealt with the Mirkwood problem yet- whether what Saruman shows L is real or not...



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 19, 2012 10:36 · For: Chapter 16 The Choice

Hehehe! I feel for Gimli. A cheery Legolas is the last person you'd want around when you're hung over.

I think it's a good thing I already know the outcome of SoT or I'd be really upset by the twins' dismissal of Legolas here. I wanted to cheer Merry when he defended him :)

Now back to the start of SoT. Can't wait :)



Author's Response:

Will post one tonight just for you!

Yes- they seem dismissive anyway but Elladan is warmer than they think- Eomer thinks he is heartened by Merry's response. And you know what all of that's about!!

x



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: July 16, 2012 14:00 · For: Chapter 3
Legolas touching Eowyn’s heart as a warrior equal was sincere. I believe that is why he did not kiss her. And if it makes any sense, the same warrior kinship he and Eomer share is why he did kiss him. Legolas is wise, though he denies it. The line, “the time of elves is over, the time of men will never begin” is sad and true. His dedication to the fellowship and Rohan touches my heart.
How old is Legolas? And he only learned to pick a lock 500 yrs ago?

Again as always enjoyed this.

Author's Response:

Ooh- so sorry, thought I had answered this one sweetie!  I have  no idea how old Legolas is - he is dreadful and just throws lines around without any regard for years or ages or anything.

And he doesn't kiss eowyn because he sees her vulnerablity and knows there is so much more for her to lose than Eomer- remember how Gimli warns him? But Eomer is a man of the world.

 

Oh, and when I was writing it, everyone wanted it to be Eomer but I wanted it to be Eowyn, which is why I wrote Rohan's Gold.

 

Hope that answers all your questions lisse. Lovely as always to hear from you- keep asking stuff!

love

ziggy

x



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2012 0:26 · For: Saruman
Oh Ziggy, this chapter made me cry... again.

Author's Response:

cyber tissues on their way! x



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 22:18 · For: Chapter 10 Fangorn
I love that moment of understanding, when Gimli recognises what Legolas feels, in his own terms.
For Legolas to feel such depth in the song, so very much a Wood Elf now must make what comes at Isengard even more difficult for him.

As for Legolas not really singing bawdy songs - I see it more or less as canon by now... I once wrote a drabble with something not unlike going on in it - as I know links get stripped out you'll need to put the http and the // back in front of this - at least I hope it will let this through! tolkien-weekly.livejournal.com/542392.html

Author's Response:

Just read it and thoroughly enjoyed that sense of complete mischief. Love what you did with gimli -it's funy snt it, he sort of lends himself to the straight man sometimes.

I have liked developing the sense that Gimli is stone to Legolas' air. Thank you for commneting on that.

x



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 20:04 · For: Chapter 9 Legolas and Eomer
Aaah.... at last. Time to catch up. I really like the rework of this chapter. I see


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 15:02 · For: The Sons of Elrond

He is not important.

Oh Elrohir - you'll be eating those words before long. It was painful to read how the twins dismissed Legolas so casually. It made me want to slap them. A good thing they both improve on further acquaintance :)

Yes, I can see how Aragorn tried so hard to avoid taking the Paths of the Dead. And to be fair, he didn't have any choice. But I agree with your comment regarding him and Eowyn. I much preferred Eowyn to Arwen in the books. Arwen just sat and waited for Aragorn to claim her. The most she did was sew that banner. Eowyn is far more interesting :)



Author's Response:

LOVE your comment about the banner! Sooo true! And in the film, PJ tried to give her a higher profile didnt he but even so it meant no Glorfindel and I found that even harder to forgive!

I'm glad Aragorn s a bit redeemed. He does pay for it during Sons too with guilty recirminations and a very hard tme from Gimli.

 

Yes- that throway casual dismissal is dreadful isnt it- but tis also Elrohir's denial. He's got one more little part in the last chapter but it belongs really to Eomer. I had not relasied just how small a part he plays actually in the last chapters so it was good to revisit. 

Thank you as always Naledi!

x



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: July 15, 2012 13:40 · For: Chapter 9 Legolas and Eomer
Utterly beautiful slash! I loved the extra scene. Knowing how Eomer is going to react in the future give more meaning to “It is what it is and no more, it is no less.” I so understand seeking life after being so close to death. I like to think Legolas was sitting there so still calling Eomer and was not surprised to see him.

A very lovely scene.

Thank You Ziggy


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 13:32 · For: The Sons of Elrond
Another incredible chapter. I could be in the middle of this, every-one, every image, every emotion is so incredibly vivid.
And because I know what is going to happen, I was almost unable to sit on the seat to read when the Grey Company came into the chapter: Elladan and Elrohir, Legolas' near-dazzled hero worship, Elrohir's closed-up coldness and his pitiless: He is not important to Aragorn, when Legolas will become so incredibly important to him.
I am such an incoherent fangirl at the moment, Ziggy!

Author's Response:

Oh I Love that last sentence! Thank you- it made me smile. Poor Elrohir- if only he knew! I've tried not to overdo the dramatic irony so I hope it doesnt overwhelm everything else- becuase really, this one was about Eomer and I didn't have the faintest idea that Elrohir was going to get so obsessed! But there are extra little details in this that I hope work. Last chapter almost finished but I'm faffing about anf just need to postit really.

x



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2012 8:36 · For: Chapter 12 Pippin

I sometimes think he was always going to kill Legolas off- he had him injured in the first draft in Moria and staggering over th ebridge of Khazad-dum.

Really? I never knew that and I thought I was thoroughly versed in all things Legolas. Was that from one of the HOME books? I'm so relieved Tolkien didn't kill him off. I would have been inconsolable. I was only ten when I first read LOTR and I was in love with Legolas from the moment of his first appearance :)



Author's Response:

I read that in an article once about the earliest drafts so I think its not been kept anywhere. I htink it was a discussion between Christopher T and a literary critic. Only the bit about being injured - I fell in love with Legolas when Aragorn did not respond to Eowyn, with whom any girl will identify I think as Arwen is only this shadowy figure somewhere in the back ground. In terms of writing I think this is a real flaw in the narrative and as Spiced always says, Tolkien's great skill was in creating this utterly beleivable world with epic tales rather than character. But I like the gaps he leaves because we have filled them and keep doing so!

Love

ziggy



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2012 19:17 · For: The Palantir

Legolas suddenly caught a tremor in the air. He leaned towards it slightly, listening. There was the sound of the wind in a banner fluttering. Steady heartbeat, horses as steady in their hearts as their riders, and amongst them, something else…a flutter of excitement in the pit of his stomach and he thought he heard an eagle cry high, far above pristine snow. It seemed his destiny approached.

*punches the air* Yes!



Author's Response:

lol!

Yes- that's how I felt writing this!

x



You must login () to review.