| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1562
Chapters: 7951
Word count: 23609676
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14037
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Weirdly wonderful.

Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2016 11:33 · For: Prompt: Mess (Feanor. Fingolfin.)

I am surprised that I didn't review this (perhaps I did on AO3?) because it's a very nice ficlet and I enjoy it everytime I reread this. I don't have much to say; it's cute, and it's frustrating because I wish there was more!



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2016 11:27 · For: Fic Requests: Feanor and Galadriel for Iaafl.

Ah ah I always love some good Fëanor&Galadriel hate, those two are terrible. And the image of Fëanor walking around for hundreds of miles with Galadriel's braid as a belt lol, family councils must have been great.

And the moment after the battle when everyone is like: "err, what are we doing"... because, well, she DID try to kill Celegorm's dad, and Celegorm's brother hit her on the head, apparently Finrod fought for the Noldor, damn what a mess.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2016 4:26 · For: Mélamar

This is really beautiful :)  I've always loved your writing of Cuiviénen.  I love most that image of Miriel telling bady Feanor about Cuiviénen.  



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Cuivienen is my beloved topic to write about. Right after Miriel. Baby Feanor was a bonus. :) I actually wrote this over a year ago and a reblog reminded me it was around. To me Elves and their origins, the fact that the Valar were NOT meant to bring the elves to Aman, the whole going from being hunted by melkor to these glorified pet angels for the Valar (sorta), and the tidbits left behind in Tolkien's drafts. It fires my brain up!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2016 9:34 · For: Prompt: Contradiction (Glorfindel, Legolas)

Ooh, I like this! I like it when a writer challenges our preconceived ideas of a character. I'll admit I always write Legolas as blond with blue eyes, but long before the films, this is how I visualised him. But I do enjoy other authors who dare to visualise him differently!



Author's Response:

Thank you! :D I loved writing this, it filled the prompt so nicely! A red headed Legolas creates such interesting possibilities too. I should come back to him and let him have a bit more fun than one fic fill! 



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2016 17:51 · For: Prompt: Sisterhood (Finwe, Indis, Feanor, Original Character)

I wonder how Mirandel will be punished for her crime. Knowing the Valar, they must have been soooooo shocked: "But but why, elves are supposed to be cute and nice, HOW DID THIS HAPPEN? That must the MARRING! THE MARRIIIIIIIIING!"

Because we all know that the Marring of Arda is responsible for everything bad, don't we ?



Author's Response:

There;s a follow up further along amongst the drabbles :D basically she hot foots it into exile and crosses the Helcaraxe by herself.



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2016 17:42 · For: Prompt: Replacement (Finwe, Miriel, Indis, Finarfin, Irime, Findis.)

The slap into Indis' face I get because Indis was, well, a grown women who chose to marry Finwë despite the dire consequences for Miriel, but the fate of Indis daughter's is heartless at best.

Dark fic indeed !



Author's Response:

This was meant to be a super dark fic :D I was reading a lot of crusades era dynasty mongering fiction at the time and wanted to write something like the cold blooded machinations I'd seen going on in those! :D thanks for the review!



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2016 4:29 · For: This means war.

This Nerdanel just became canon for me.

Her and Lintamendë's interpretation about what the hell she was doing before the rebellion.

Now, I wonder, how many feuds did she manage to create before the Noldor left for ME ? I want to know more about Nerdanel's secret part in all of this !



Author's Response:

One thing I love is a Nerdanel that is both not taking Feanor's shit and also not taking anyone elses shit. I'd love to believe this Nerdanel was a subversive character before the Noldor left ME and stirred a lot of conflict up.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2015 16:20 · For: Prompt: Mess (Feanor. Fingolfin.)

Weird - but wonderful!



Author's Response:

Ah I missed your review under a pile of spam reviews. Thank you! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2014 0:09 · For: Before the World was Born - Ungoliant.

Oh this was interesting and unique!  I really liked that the different sisters represented different evils -greed and rape.  Very nice :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I wrote it so quickly but I'm still really pleased with this :D



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2014 0:01 · For: Fic Requests: Maglor and Thranduil for Napoldeinlove

I love how Thranduil fell in love with her eyes, like Mithril, and his determination to make her his, and then Maglor's casual response.  Priceless :D



Author's Response:

Maglor is a bit lackadasical. I think after so long wandering she has run out of fucks to give about the world so she sort of...goes with the flow. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:58 · For: Fic Requests: Feanor, Fingolfin (and bonus Finwe) for Eldochflamma

Little Fingolfin, so cute!  He's just born to worm his way into Feanor's heart, despite Feanor's determination not to like him :D



Author's Response:

Feanor cannot deny him. Poor Feanor. He just wants to hate his half siblings in peace. Aha



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:55 · For: Fic Requests: Feanor and Galadriel for Iaafl.

Feanor totally would hang her braid, such a Feanor move!  But geez, she tired to kill him, so yeah, he deserved a little petty revenge :D



Author's Response:

Feanor is the king of gestures that kick you in the face and in the balls at the same time. Pure pettyness with a vicious cruel edge of revenge :) 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:53 · For: Fic Requests: Celebrian, Elrond (and bonus Gildor) for Eldochflamma

I love these two being mischievous together!  Celebrian's deviousness is to die for!



Author's Response:

I love Celebrian and I love Gildor so its a good mixture X3 I especially love Celebrian and Elrond being in love dorks and Gildor's poor feanorion senses being offended but doing things anyway because well, its right and how can he deny Celebrian happiness ...even if its with Elgwingion.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:51 · For: Fic Requests: genderbent!Maglor for Greymantleish

“She is perfect,” his brother whispers, “Makalaurë Fëanáriel shall be the first Queen of Numenor and they shall remember her with love.”

 

Ah!  I wonder what Maglor has to say about this?  Elrond is so right, she would need to be free.  I cannot see Numinor working out for her, unless there is a lot more going on with her and Elros' relationship!



Author's Response:

Maglor has no say in this. I was sort of imagining that Elros has an obsession with her that would horrify her if she knew the extent of it. This is all Elros speaking. No Numenor would not work for her either. *shakes head.*



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:49 · For: 3 Sentence Fic Requests: Caranthir/Haleth for Sometimesiwishiweremongolian

"..with the air of a person used to balancing a child and other duties which is totally at odds with the grumpy, irritable isolationist"

lol!  I love this image of Caranthir!

 

"and how she has them calling her ‘General’ and worshipping the dust her boots leave behind after a gruelling six months beneath her hand"

Ha!  She is so compellty badass in this :D



Author's Response:

I love this Caranthir as well. I like to give him more depth and I quite love him being good with children, or at least capapble with children. He was the middle child of a large brood after all. 

 

Haleth will be badarse no matter where she appears :D



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 23:43 · For: 3 Sentence Fic Requests: Melian/Galadriel for Zaataronpita

I can totally see Galadriel getting off on this lol!  I liked this: the G.I.R.D.L.E



Author's Response:

Galadriel is quite naughty ;D and thank you. I haven't figured out what the acronymn stands for and I'm avoiding it like the coward  Iam XD 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 6:45 · For: 3 Sentence Fic Requests: Tyelko babysitting for Croclock

One thing I love about your stories is how deliciously intricate and detailed they are.  The pendant Celegorm's wearing, you have such a thorough description of it that I can see it clearly in my mind-s eye and it adds so much depth to your stories :D



Author's Response:

I love writing complicated jewellry I admit. its a secret pleasure :) I am so glad that the description works well enough for it to be picturable.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 6:41 · For: 3 Sentence Fic Requests: Celegorm/Finrod for Hereff

Ah, I love how glorious you right these two :D  Rotating the kingship would keep the peace.  If Feanor allowed it lol, but then, without Melkor whispering in his ear, he might have :D  But I imagine that even expanding cities would only work so long for a people like the Noldor, there is only so long they'd allow themselves to be answerable to anyone but themselves :D

Lovely little piece!



Author's Response:

I absolutely love to write Finrod and Celegorm, you can blame Spiced Wine for that aha XD Celegorm is smarter then he lets people know and his temper hides a good deal of that and Finrod is his own brand of political snake in the grass and together they are a pair of show-one-face-to-the-world and keep-keep-your-cards-close almost-lovers with stupid amounts of sexual tension and stupid amounts of pretty jewellery involved on both their parts XD 

=

I think this is a magical wonderful world where Melkor hasn't been released or he hasn't been released yet? Also I also think that even with this the Noldor wouldn't have been able to stay for long but perhaps the return to the East would have been under more ...peaceful circumstances under the duty of trade and alliance negotiations and finally finding out what happened to Elu? XD



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 6:36 · For: Prompt: Tears (OC. Melkor. Elu. Luthien. Beren. Dior. Elwing. Manwe.)

Holy shit!  If I had a spirit sobbing and creeping me out like this I'd give the sons of Feanor back what was theirs pronto lol!  This was great, disturbing, but great :D



Author's Response:

Well the threat of the Feanorions on their doorstep wasn't enough so I didn't think a spook would bother them either. Even though that spook has cursed them all to their painful deaths :D I am so glad it was disturbing because disturbing was what I was going for.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2014 6:30 · For: Prompt: Shroud (F

OMG, this is so clever of you, and I am feeling so sad for Feanor and blaming the Valar.  While I was reading this I kept wanting to skip down to the end and see if the Silmarils gave Miriel the power to mend her body :D Well, though Feanor doesn't know it, he may well have saved his father by doing this.

Beautiful and creative as your work evr is :D



Author's Response:

Oh gosh look at all these reviews *fans her cheeks and tries to reply to them all!* Well I'm sorry that she doesn't revive but who knows what might so happen in this fic verse now :) We'll never know :P



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2013 17:05 · For: Prompt: Sisterhood (Finwe, Indis, Feanor, Original Character)

Oh dear... It obviously runs in the family indeed... xD

I wonder if Fëanor will be as angry with his aunt as she thinks he will be...



Author's Response:

We shall never know, but I think Miranel is in for a surprise



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2013 12:51 · For: Prompt: Tears (OC. Melkor. Elu. Luthien. Beren. Dior. Elwing. Manwe.)
Oh - now this is eerie, Urloth. Well done. I find horror really hard, but you've nailed it.

Author's Response:

Oh GOOD! :D I'm really not sure about horror but I'm glad it had an effect!



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2013 12:06 · For: Prompt: Tears (OC. Melkor. Elu. Luthien. Beren. Dior. Elwing. Manwe.)

Oh dear... I was totally freaked out by this. Like, seriously. The three eyes are the silmarils, no? Horror in Middle Earth... brrr...



Author's Response:

Oh good :D I have no clue when writing horror. And yes those eyes are the three silmarils. Feel a moment of pity of Earendil. I couldn't figure out a fitting scene for him, but he's stuck up there forever with it.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2013 4:05 · For: Rock the Cradle Lightly

Oh Maeglin!  Gosh, even when he gets the girl it doesn’t turn out well!  I like the idea of Maeglin raising Earendel as his kid, I’ve actually had a few AU’s running in my head where Maeglin is literally Earendel’s father :winks:  Not that Idril deserves him, especially in this story.  In my mind Maeglin has every right to get revenge, he didn’t do anything wrong.  But at the same time, maybe I’m being a bit harsh on Idril, it’s not like she <i>chose</i> to marry him.  Yes, she was unfaithful, but at the same time why should she be trapped in a love-less marriage she never chose?  I get the feeling she really did try to love Maeglin but just couldn’t….yet on the other hand the way she described him as though repulsed by him had me wanting to slap her.  What’s he done to deserve such a reaction?  It sounds to me like he never tried to touch her expect for one night which she described as awkward but not disgusting, so is her problem the incestuousness of the relationship?

I love that your story’s get me this riled up at the characters :D  That’s the mark of excellent writing my dear, and this is defiantly excellent stuff :hugs:



Author's Response:

Yes poor Maeglin. :D I would love to hear about your AUs :D Idril is complicated in this set of stories. She is forced into a marriage she doesn't want, with someone who is practically a child to her, not to mention she had grown up in a culture where marrying your first cousins in an anethema. So there is that, she's predisposed not to want to have anything to do with her husband, she has sort of set herself against it. However yes you did get the vibe, she did make an effort but nope. Too many mental trips for her. She is unfaithful, but it is the same love at first sight thing with Tuor and they just ...they realise they have a limited time together so they are rather greedy about making the most of it and Earendil is the result. So Idril sleeps with Maeglin a second time to try and pass him off as his but of course that doesn't work. I am glad it riled you up so much XD



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2013 2:24 · For: 3 Sentence Fic Requests: Maeglin/Idril for Anon

Oh oh oh! I came over to see what new juicy tales you've been writing and I get Maeglin!  Love it, love the way you write him, and Eol of course, dear Eol who isn't afraid of telling Turgon what's what:

"which made him realise that the Lord of Nan Elmoth was not playing at games when he said that Gondolin could come out of its isolation and join the real world or the real world would come calling to drag Gondolin back into living existence."

Ha!  That is exactly how I see those Gondolindrim!  They love playing with their pies-in-the-sky while the rest of the world goes down in flames.



Author's Response:

Thank you :D the next two ficlets in the WW collection are sequels to this one as well if you'd like more.

And yes I understand why Gondolin was a good idea, but at the same time I don't believe it was a healthy idea, especially not with it's "here forever until death" mantra. Nargothrond was a healthier system of hidden city I think. 



You must login () to review.