| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Little Maia by astorey_91 Explicit
A certain Maia of Mandos makes a bad decision. And a certain prisoner takes pleasure in tormenting him.
A Star by astorey_91 Explicit
Random Fëanor/Fingolfin short drabble. Fingolfin's thoughts as he crosses the Helcaraxe.
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin.   Warning: this story...
Legolas in Esgaroth by ziggy General Audiences
The story of Esgaroth in which Legolas disgraces himself, but enjoys himself immensely. Ch7:In which Legolas does something...
Quill and Steel. Chronicles of a rebellion by Lumeriel Explicit
During a battle against the Dark God, Fingolfin is seriously injured. Faced with the possibility of losing him, Fëanor discovers...

Site Info

Members: 503
Series: 95
Stories: 1808
Chapters: 9152
Word count: 28020930
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17026
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: jadedaemon
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/31/20 10:16 am
Yes, the health workers all across the world are absolute heroes!
Fadesintothewest
03/31/20 12:50 am
Definitely lots of real heroes. I am anticipating much more work going live here soon than teaching in person, gulp. Here here to all the health care workers and people supporting their efforts!
FirstAmazon
03/30/20 11:22 pm
I've also been online teaching, which means my voice is long gone lol but yes, there are lots of real heroes out there!
ziggy
03/30/20 10:34 pm
Hilarious stories (sorry- ran out of characters) but also some really stressed NHS workers - we are proud to be looking after their children so they can work. Heroic NHS!
ziggy
03/30/20 10:33 pm
Fadestothewest- yes, we've all been doing online teaching for the past week- good management from our leadership has settled nerves though- but parents homeschooling- hilarious!
Naledi
03/30/20 09:53 pm
*waves to everyone* I’m working from home and also busy. I’m keeping well as are my family, although I miss them. Hope you’re all well.
Spiced Wine
03/30/20 12:43 pm
Well, I’m working from home but really, really busy! So I’v got even less writing time now
Fadesintothewest
03/30/20 08:16 am
Ziggy it is scary and FirstAmazon, definitely terrifying. Ill be updating a story here, but am also hoping to catch upon reading. Online teaching soon, though. Yikes!
FirstAmazon
03/30/20 04:22 am
Terrifying, really! Wishing everyone's ok in this crazy new reality
FirstAmazon
03/30/20 04:04 am
Terrifying, really! Wishing everyone's ok in this crazy new reality
Shout Archive


Reviews For Out of the Blue

Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2012 14:41 · For: Epilogue: Into the Black

And another good one! I love how you work with her prejudices!



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2012 19:05 · For: Epilogue: Into the Black
I suspected that Jane would meet up with the elves in the end. This was a lovely story and made me smile :D

Author's Response: In that case, I didn't write in vain. Thank you!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2012 19:28 · For: Epilogue: Into the Black
An ABSOLUTELY PERFECT ENDING and WONDERFUL LITTLE STORY!! If only things like this could happen in real life--MINE!! LOL Jael--I really love these little stories of yours. IT WARMS ME FROM THE INSIDE OUT!!! BEAUTIFULLY DONE AS USUAL!!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2012 10:59 · For: Epilogue: Into the Black
Hehe :) a lovely ending, though not without sadness - that story about the young mother made me tear up, as my own mother suffered with post-natal depression. Luckily we had an army of aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents on hand to help out, but some people aren't so lucky.

But there were so many people needing help and so few resources in this day of eroding tax bases and budget cuts.

How true :(

Walking into The Harp felt like coming home, although she had no explanation for why that should be.

Although I guess some people get their happy ending, or the beginnings of it in any case :)

Author's Response: And I wrote this story back in 2007, when things were looking a lot rosier than they do now. Fortunately, Jane is about to make a connection with someone with a big heart and a bent for philanthropy. T hank you again for reading and commenting!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2012 4:57 · For: More to the Picture
Jael--AGAIN another WONDERFUL, BEAUTIFUL AND EXCEPTIONAL CHAPTER!! I LOVE finding stories I have already read--it is like FALLING IN LOVE ALL OVER AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!! Such a BEAUTIFUL STORY TELLER AND WRITER we have in you!!


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 23:30 · For: More to the Picture
I am really enjoying your story - looking forward to more :D


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 21:02 · For: More to the Picture
The first time around I didn't quite catch exactly who Orrie was - I was thinking 'But Orophin was in the gatehouse... maybe he left to drive up to the house.'

This time it was obvious from the minute you mentioned him - my brain was obviously in gear tonight!

Good job they didn't arrive half an hour earlier; at this point 'and this is Galen's great-grandparents' might have been just a step too far for poor Jane!

Author's Response: I thought long and hard about 'Orrie' showing up, because it opens such a can of worms. But I went ahead and did it, and that led to Wayward Sons, which comes earlier chronologically but was written after. You're right about poor Jane. but I think she'll prove to be psychologically resilient. That you again!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 18:16 · For: Off the Path
"She had just had the strangest vision of Hal tying a blindfold around her head and leading her through a forest of giant golden-blossomed trees."
--Hmmm, interesting. (And, I might add, a fantasy worthy of consideration? ;)

Jane has definitely entered another world, she just doesn't know it yet. :)

Author's Response: Oh indeed she has! Thank you for taking the time to reead and comment!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 18:04 · For: Prologue: Out of the Blue
Oh my. Well, the drive will be pretty anyway.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 17:54 · For: More to the Picture
Hey again Jael...I feel kind of silly leaving so many reviews, it probably looks a bit stalker-ish...but just letting you know that I love this so far! I think I did read it a while ago, but I'd forgotten a lot of the details, like Galen singing 'Bob the Builder'...priceless :D

Author's Response: Silly and stalkerish? Never! It's more like Christmas and my birthday rolled into one. Please feel free to keep them coming. As for Bob the Builder, this story was written before my grandson was born, and I had to do some research into what video kids were currently torturing their parents with. My mind was still back in the days of Barny the Dinosaur. I still got it wrong. My grandson's current favorite is 101 Dalmations, and the Cruelle DeVille song makes me reach for alcohol just like poor Galion. LOL


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 23:01 · For: Off the Path
You left it on a cliffie!

Jane is making me laugh - she has bitten off more than she can chew and probably knows it. I can feel her thinking, 'What am I doing here and how can I leave quickly' lol

Author's Response: LOL -- just wait until the next chapter!


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 22:53 · For: Prologue: Out of the Blue
I can see Jane being totally won over by the elves - she is in a very difficult position though.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 17:31 · For: Off the Path
I do love Galen - he has that proper, entirely logical, mind that children have.

Author's Response: Like father, like son. I liked writing Legolas's response to her suggestion about the rubber-tipped arrows: "You can't get any decent range with those . . ."


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 7:58 · For: Off the Path
BEAUTIFUL AND FANTASTIC--I REMEMBERED why I LOVED these stories the first time I read them. Even though I know what will be coming--I AM ANXIOUS FOR MORE!! Jeal--I really love the Not Fade Away series--they are PRICELESS and WONDERFULLY done!!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 13:01 · For: Prologue: Out of the Blue
**Poor kid probably wasn't even circumcised!**

A definite plus to being an elf, I think!

Author's Response: And a home birth. When my grandson was born two years ago, we learned they're still pushing it. They got asked at least four times in the hospital, "Are you SURE you don't want to .. .?"


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 9:12 · For: Prologue: Out of the Blue
Jael--ok I have read this else where also and now rereading--I LOVED THIS ONE JUST AS MUCH AS THE ORIGINAL!! Again this was A BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN, EXCEPTIONAL STORY!! I LOVE the stories IMMENSELY!! GREAT JOB MY DEAR!!!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it -- thank you!


You must login () to review.