| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Faded Light: Book II by Elvenfixation Explicit
This is Book II of my LOTR series Faded Light. The story mostly takes place about a hundred years of so before the War...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8036
Word count: 24038534
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14350
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/18/17 01:04 pm
Happy Friday, everyone. Hope you have a lovely weekend. :)
ziggy
08/17/17 09:40 pm
They would just argue, Glorfindel!!
Glorfindel
08/16/17 06:40 pm
Good to be back Naledi :) All my characters would argue that they are as hot as Legolas lol
Naledi
08/15/17 10:31 pm
It's lovely to see you back, Glorfindel. Legolas may be mad, but compared to the rest of his family he's perfectly reasonable. And hot :)
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Naledi - I htink Legolas is mad; he hides it well though lol
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Thanks Ziggy and Naledi - I am really happy you are enjoying it. I am hoping to write more frequently - gone are the days when I had lots of time.
Naledi
08/15/17 09:09 am
Yes, it's great to see them back. They're all barking mad. Except gorgeous Legolas, of course.
ziggy
08/14/17 11:43 pm
Just loving the bonkers elves in Jeli in Valinor, Glorfindel!
Naledi
08/04/17 11:40 am
That's good to know, Spiced and Ziggy xxx I'm a bit wary of sharing my email publicly but anyone can PM me via my profile
ziggy
08/04/17 11:29 am
Yes- me too. My email is on my profile- I'm always happy to chat:)
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Apprentice

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 10:54 · For: The Apprentice

Ah- sorry! I have been remiss in reviewing Arcane Lands - I can only plead being very, very busy. I have promised myself a rest - not from work, I cant, but from writing as I spend all my spare time trying to get stuff finished so I can let go and read and enjoy myself a bit.



Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean on that one, but - are you writing the epilogue to Sons? Please don't leave THAT too long! LOL. No, I merely meant that I was unsure if you had read the final part as I recall you thought it was finished a few chapters before the end.


Name: Samira (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 9:38 · For: The Apprentice
Re the timeline, Samira, it is purposefully undefined.

Yes, I thought as much. I still found it somewhat disorientating at first and thought I'd tell you.

if only because the third book is already outlined

That sounds promising. I'm very much looking forward to it!

BTW, are you a musician?

Yes and no: Not professionally, but I do play the violin (solo, chamber music and full symphonic orchestra) and at a rather advanced level for an amateur.

Author's Response: You know, I will probably be able to define that time line much better after book III, so I will likely come back then and add something to that start. I am a very poor beginner violin player - only first position stuff for me, but I do love the instrument, above all others.


Name: Samira (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 0:06 · For: The Apprentice
A wonderful continuation of the series!

I especially liked the description of the music, of how he listens to some components, singles them out, and then goes back to the whole. Reminds me so much of myself learning to appreciate a new complex piece.

Also a very nice touch to incorporate not only The Company, but also Lindo in a piece where the song of nature is so important - and to give tiny details such as an appreciation there at the end of why exactly it is Dimaethor and not one of the others who is captain in Legolas' absence...

I have to confess, however, that the beginning almost threw me off at first. After such a lengthy absence to heal at Imladris, it should be clear that the others in the Company can handle themselves without Legolas. I would rather have expected second thoughts on whether it might constitute abandonment or neglect of his duties to leave again so soon and whether it is truly a necessary absence or something of that nature. Especially since it is probably also somewhat dangerous to leave towards the southwest alone even for him, isn't it?
Don't understand me wrong - I would have expected him to wonder how they are fairing while he is away, to be with them in mind at least, but I somehow didn't think that he would have that kind of doubt already before setting out, to the point where it seems as if he almost wouldn't leave if not to honor a promise.

But once past this initial doubt, you continued with the awesome descriptions with an attention to just the right amount of detail that you drew me in again. For instance, slowly revealing previously unsuspected facets of Aiwendil's character but from Legolas' perspective, i.e. with limited understanding at first, was masterfully done.

I very much makes me look forward to more!

Author's Response: Re the timeline, Samira, it is purposefully undefined. It does not fit straight after Arcane Land, if only because the third book is already outlined and Legolas does not leave for the Greenwood, but Lothlorien. It is a story within the universe but at an unspecified time, obviously before the quest, though. To my mind, Legolas' thoughts are always with his team, albeit he makes a conscious effort to push that to the back of his mind most of the time, yet on this trip, he is slightly more concerned - perhaps because he has not been out with them that many times since the events of Arcane Land, and because he is wandering around somewhere south on a mission that is not military - I imaginied him as being - disorientated, perhaps. Thank you for the wonderful praise, I am glad that Aiwendil's character drew you in. BTW, are you a musician?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 22:16 · For: The Apprentice

A masterful piece of writing. I have so enjoyed reading your work over the year or so since I started reading it. Your writing has matured and your vision developed into something really lovely so there is a real sense that Legolas will become the warrior needed to complete the quest. I know it was there before in the Protege, but I can see the plot developing clearly now and purposefully. This is up there with my favourties because I dont feel like i am reading, but am there- seeing and savouring each moment. Lovely.



Author's Response: My goodness, thank you so much. I admit you had me concerned, thinking you had given up on Arcane Land :D I am glad you did not and that you can see as clearly as I do, that my writing has, indeed, become more interesting since the original story. The fact that you are able to envisage those scenes makes me feel very proud, and that is the truth.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 9:29 · For: The Apprentice
Alpha this was BEAUTIFUL and TOUCHING!! I REALLY ENJOYED THIS little side story. You have a GIFT of WORDS that ALLOWS US TO ACTUALLY FEEL and EXPERIENCE the EMOTIONS!!--PERFECTLY POETIC!!

Author's Response: Thank you, my friend. I am glad that the emotions worked for you - enhanced as they are by a little - um.. weed.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 0:38 · For: The Apprentice
That fills in the gap perfectly. I like the idea that Yavanna realises she needs a warrior to stand her corner and so, if Aiwendel cannot be that warrior, then there must be someone else - perfect.

I love Legolas slowly having his perceptions of Radagast changed into an understanding of Aiwendel the Maia, too.

Bet he'll be looking at Gandalf a bit differently too, in future!

And I think finishing with Legolas back with The Company is both very right, and aesthetically pleasing as a piece of writing, as well.

Author's Response: I am glad you find the plot believeable. It is, actually something I have always wondered at - the other Maias, I mean. Mithrandir's role is clear, and so is Curinir's, but the blue wizards and Radagast - I could never understand their purposes, except that they were sent by the Valar, but they didn't seem to end up doing anything!! I am happy that the transition in Legolas' pre-conceived ideas of Aiwendil came across too. Indeed Aiwendil will be a relatively important character in future stories in the same universe. Thank you, as always - now, on to your comments on AL!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 0:07 · For: The Apprentice
I can mail you the links if you like.

Oh, please. I'd love for the larger versions to be there.
I uploaded from DA to photobucket, the photobucket to Pinterest as you can't link straight from DA. So if you have photobucket links please send them, and I'll put those up instead. :) Yes; there are some amazing pictures, most I collected over many years, so it is nice to be able to pin them up in one place :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 23:23 · For: The Apprentice

Wonderful! I'm so happy you wrote this. And what a revelation - that Legolas was chosen in Radagast's place. That explains very convincingly why Legolas needs to be able to harness magic as well as to fight. 

What a privelege for Legolas, to see Radagast as he truly is. Not to mention, getting the blow job of his life from him *g* I wonder what Glorfindel will say when he finds out. I hope it doesn't make him feel inadequate!

Thank you for posting this - I enjoyed it so much :)



Author's Response: It was always a question for me, as to why the Valar would choose an elf instead of a Maia to do things involving magic, and this seemed like an adequate way of explaining it. LOL - indeed, getting while you float must be amazing!!! Glorfindel? I don't think he will be feeling inadequate, rather anxious to meet the wizard himself and try out that floating trick!! Thank you, as always.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 22:44 · For: The Apprentice
Ooh, I pinned your Glorfindel and Legolas to my Tolkien characters: canon and original Pinterest board.

Of course I linked to Arkoniel as well as your story.

I find it a very sympathetic piece of writing, and interesting, that Legolas is in danger of becoming almost too involved with nature, and has to be trained - that makes a good deal of sense.

Author's Response: Oh my God, there is some wonderful art there - amazing. I wonder if you can link straight from my photobucket, because you have the watermarked versions there, when you click on them, you don't get a particularly good close up. I can mail you the links if you like. Indeed Legolas has no idea of what he is doing - he does what he can because there is an instinct - but he cannot control it, or indeed reason it - and that is where Aiwendil comes into it.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 22:15 · For: The Apprentice
I could so easily see that beautiful picture of Legolas reading this, too - and I loved the red-haired Maia. :)

Author's Response: Ah, the red-haired Ainur with shining turquoise eyes... I can't help envisaging the Maia as being red-haired - must be my Welsh blood!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 21:04 · For: The Apprentice
This is a very beautiful, fascinating and sensual side story, Alpha Ori. Truly lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am very glad you enjoyed it.


You must login () to review.