| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Gift of Friendship by lotrfan General Audiences
While enjoying a reunion at Isengard with Merry and Pippin, Legolas realizes it is his begetting day. Conversation between...
Of Elemmakil and his Coming to Gondolin by Narya General Audiences
Love and loyalty demand hard choices... A gift for Kenaz for Fandom Stocking 2018.
All Through the Night by Narya General Audiences
"Time together had grown precious and rare, and there were nights when Maedhros would not sleep..." A gift for Uirgiliana...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Storm Warning ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
~ It was something he had wondered about, almost idly, for a long time.Unwilling to further intrude on the lives of Claire...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1712
Chapters: 8710
Word count: 26534792
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16429
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
01/22/19 01:01 am
Thank you SparkyTAS and Gabriel- this is lovely- you get birthday wishes for days!
SparkyTAS
01/21/19 07:46 am
Happy birthday Ziggy! Wishing you all the best.
Gabriel
01/20/19 10:27 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy! I hope you've had a terrific day. :)
ziggy
01/20/19 09:14 pm
Thank you Nelya:)
NelyafinweFeanorion
01/20/19 08:38 pm
happy birthday, Ziggy!!
ziggy
01/20/19 05:03 pm
Thank you everyone:) That just made me ever so happy seeing all those kind wishes. Actually, just reading Narya and Spiced Wines' updates perfectly happy now:)xx
Naledi
01/20/19 04:29 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy. Hope you’re having a great day xxx
Narya
01/20/19 01:57 pm
Happy birthday, Ziggy!!
Spiced Wine
01/20/19 01:27 pm
Is it your Birthday, Ziggy? Happy Brithday :)
Ysilme
01/20/19 12:53 pm
Ziggy, a very Happy Birthday to you! May your next year be a good one bringing you joy, happiness, and create good memories.
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Apprentice

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 10:54 · For: The Apprentice

Ah- sorry! I have been remiss in reviewing Arcane Lands - I can only plead being very, very busy. I have promised myself a rest - not from work, I cant, but from writing as I spend all my spare time trying to get stuff finished so I can let go and read and enjoy myself a bit.



Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean on that one, but - are you writing the epilogue to Sons? Please don't leave THAT too long! LOL. No, I merely meant that I was unsure if you had read the final part as I recall you thought it was finished a few chapters before the end.


Name: Samira (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 9:38 · For: The Apprentice
Re the timeline, Samira, it is purposefully undefined.

Yes, I thought as much. I still found it somewhat disorientating at first and thought I'd tell you.

if only because the third book is already outlined

That sounds promising. I'm very much looking forward to it!

BTW, are you a musician?

Yes and no: Not professionally, but I do play the violin (solo, chamber music and full symphonic orchestra) and at a rather advanced level for an amateur.

Author's Response: You know, I will probably be able to define that time line much better after book III, so I will likely come back then and add something to that start. I am a very poor beginner violin player - only first position stuff for me, but I do love the instrument, above all others.


Name: Samira (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 0:06 · For: The Apprentice
A wonderful continuation of the series!

I especially liked the description of the music, of how he listens to some components, singles them out, and then goes back to the whole. Reminds me so much of myself learning to appreciate a new complex piece.

Also a very nice touch to incorporate not only The Company, but also Lindo in a piece where the song of nature is so important - and to give tiny details such as an appreciation there at the end of why exactly it is Dimaethor and not one of the others who is captain in Legolas' absence...

I have to confess, however, that the beginning almost threw me off at first. After such a lengthy absence to heal at Imladris, it should be clear that the others in the Company can handle themselves without Legolas. I would rather have expected second thoughts on whether it might constitute abandonment or neglect of his duties to leave again so soon and whether it is truly a necessary absence or something of that nature. Especially since it is probably also somewhat dangerous to leave towards the southwest alone even for him, isn't it?
Don't understand me wrong - I would have expected him to wonder how they are fairing while he is away, to be with them in mind at least, but I somehow didn't think that he would have that kind of doubt already before setting out, to the point where it seems as if he almost wouldn't leave if not to honor a promise.

But once past this initial doubt, you continued with the awesome descriptions with an attention to just the right amount of detail that you drew me in again. For instance, slowly revealing previously unsuspected facets of Aiwendil's character but from Legolas' perspective, i.e. with limited understanding at first, was masterfully done.

I very much makes me look forward to more!

Author's Response: Re the timeline, Samira, it is purposefully undefined. It does not fit straight after Arcane Land, if only because the third book is already outlined and Legolas does not leave for the Greenwood, but Lothlorien. It is a story within the universe but at an unspecified time, obviously before the quest, though. To my mind, Legolas' thoughts are always with his team, albeit he makes a conscious effort to push that to the back of his mind most of the time, yet on this trip, he is slightly more concerned - perhaps because he has not been out with them that many times since the events of Arcane Land, and because he is wandering around somewhere south on a mission that is not military - I imaginied him as being - disorientated, perhaps. Thank you for the wonderful praise, I am glad that Aiwendil's character drew you in. BTW, are you a musician?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 22:16 · For: The Apprentice

A masterful piece of writing. I have so enjoyed reading your work over the year or so since I started reading it. Your writing has matured and your vision developed into something really lovely so there is a real sense that Legolas will become the warrior needed to complete the quest. I know it was there before in the Protege, but I can see the plot developing clearly now and purposefully. This is up there with my favourties because I dont feel like i am reading, but am there- seeing and savouring each moment. Lovely.



Author's Response: My goodness, thank you so much. I admit you had me concerned, thinking you had given up on Arcane Land :D I am glad you did not and that you can see as clearly as I do, that my writing has, indeed, become more interesting since the original story. The fact that you are able to envisage those scenes makes me feel very proud, and that is the truth.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 9:29 · For: The Apprentice
Alpha this was BEAUTIFUL and TOUCHING!! I REALLY ENJOYED THIS little side story. You have a GIFT of WORDS that ALLOWS US TO ACTUALLY FEEL and EXPERIENCE the EMOTIONS!!--PERFECTLY POETIC!!

Author's Response: Thank you, my friend. I am glad that the emotions worked for you - enhanced as they are by a little - um.. weed.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 0:38 · For: The Apprentice
That fills in the gap perfectly. I like the idea that Yavanna realises she needs a warrior to stand her corner and so, if Aiwendel cannot be that warrior, then there must be someone else - perfect.

I love Legolas slowly having his perceptions of Radagast changed into an understanding of Aiwendel the Maia, too.

Bet he'll be looking at Gandalf a bit differently too, in future!

And I think finishing with Legolas back with The Company is both very right, and aesthetically pleasing as a piece of writing, as well.

Author's Response: I am glad you find the plot believeable. It is, actually something I have always wondered at - the other Maias, I mean. Mithrandir's role is clear, and so is Curinir's, but the blue wizards and Radagast - I could never understand their purposes, except that they were sent by the Valar, but they didn't seem to end up doing anything!! I am happy that the transition in Legolas' pre-conceived ideas of Aiwendil came across too. Indeed Aiwendil will be a relatively important character in future stories in the same universe. Thank you, as always - now, on to your comments on AL!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 0:07 · For: The Apprentice
I can mail you the links if you like.

Oh, please. I'd love for the larger versions to be there.
I uploaded from DA to photobucket, the photobucket to Pinterest as you can't link straight from DA. So if you have photobucket links please send them, and I'll put those up instead. :) Yes; there are some amazing pictures, most I collected over many years, so it is nice to be able to pin them up in one place :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 23:23 · For: The Apprentice

Wonderful! I'm so happy you wrote this. And what a revelation - that Legolas was chosen in Radagast's place. That explains very convincingly why Legolas needs to be able to harness magic as well as to fight. 

What a privelege for Legolas, to see Radagast as he truly is. Not to mention, getting the blow job of his life from him *g* I wonder what Glorfindel will say when he finds out. I hope it doesn't make him feel inadequate!

Thank you for posting this - I enjoyed it so much :)



Author's Response: It was always a question for me, as to why the Valar would choose an elf instead of a Maia to do things involving magic, and this seemed like an adequate way of explaining it. LOL - indeed, getting while you float must be amazing!!! Glorfindel? I don't think he will be feeling inadequate, rather anxious to meet the wizard himself and try out that floating trick!! Thank you, as always.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 22:44 · For: The Apprentice
Ooh, I pinned your Glorfindel and Legolas to my Tolkien characters: canon and original Pinterest board.

Of course I linked to Arkoniel as well as your story.

I find it a very sympathetic piece of writing, and interesting, that Legolas is in danger of becoming almost too involved with nature, and has to be trained - that makes a good deal of sense.

Author's Response: Oh my God, there is some wonderful art there - amazing. I wonder if you can link straight from my photobucket, because you have the watermarked versions there, when you click on them, you don't get a particularly good close up. I can mail you the links if you like. Indeed Legolas has no idea of what he is doing - he does what he can because there is an instinct - but he cannot control it, or indeed reason it - and that is where Aiwendil comes into it.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 22:15 · For: The Apprentice
I could so easily see that beautiful picture of Legolas reading this, too - and I loved the red-haired Maia. :)

Author's Response: Ah, the red-haired Ainur with shining turquoise eyes... I can't help envisaging the Maia as being red-haired - must be my Welsh blood!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 21:04 · For: The Apprentice
This is a very beautiful, fascinating and sensual side story, Alpha Ori. Truly lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am very glad you enjoyed it.


You must login () to review.