| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8008
Word count: 23853665
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14258
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Shout Archive



Name: Ten thousand leaves (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2015 15:51 · For: Chapter 28

OMG, this was such a great, such a fulfilling, bittersweet, poignant ending to a great story! Lindir and Erestor have my heart, it's my hands down favourite couple in your universe. They have come SUCH a way, their life is such a journey and you held onto them, staying true to the characters and the universe you've created and made them such wholesome, such profound persons. It was a true Journey with a capital J. Seeing this particular story end is like parting with a beloved friend, and I'm so glad we will catch glimpses of them in the stories to follow. I think i may need to re-read their story in its entirety now.

I'm also so, so very excited about your new fic!!! I've just read the two chapters and I'm loving it, coming of age plotlines always shine when done by you, they are all so different, so tangibly real and full of emotion, I'm so happy there's yet another lovely character you're going to gift with a coming of age story. I'm absolutely thrilled about it! Thank you for writing, it's always a slice of pure happiness to pop by faerie and find your name in recent updates. Cheers and lots of love!



Author's Response:

Oh gosh, thank you so much for this lovely review :blushes:  You are too kind!

I have loved writing Erestor and Lindir, it has been a very long journey, that is the truth!  To think, Erestor was the first Elf whose story I wrote, all those years ago when I first took the plunge into fanfiction, it’s so strange to think about!  He is dear to me, and Lindir too, it was so good to final see them achieve some happiness in their lives after all they’d struggled through.  We will see glimpses of them in the stories to come, maybe more, we will see :D

I am excited for the new story, so it’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed what’s there so far!  I hadn’t realized how many coming of age stories I write until you mentioned it, but yeah, I do often start with a character’s youth.  I guess I just find childhoods and teen years to be so formative, they cannot be brushed over…and I don’t know, I like writing teen characters?....now I’ve got myself wondering what the hell?  Teenagers?!!! :snorts:

It is always a pure pleasure and blessing to receive your reviews.  Thank you :hugs:



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2015 16:42 · For: Chapter 28

I'll let you kno that I had absolutly ZERO motivation to write. Nothing. On the single day I'm not wrapped up with work. So i came here for a distraction. And voila, you work wonders again.

Or namely, Elrohir. I could go on about him for hours but I will safe that for another time. Because knowing that "Price of Memory" is know complete I'm still left to wonder how will Erestor and Lindir far in the future. The fic ended at a point where they're happy but I see them clash pretty often in the future.

Otherwise ... you keep teasing me with Maglor and Glorfindel. The way this is going I'll have to write my own fic to satify a mighty need.



Author's Response:

“I'll let you kno that I had absolutly ZERO motivation to write. Nothing. On the single day I'm not wrapped up with work. So i came here for a distraction. And voila, you work wonders again.”

Yes!  I am so happy it could give you a little nudge :)  Reading is often the best thing to get the gears working, but I know what you mean about how terrible it is to have a day off work and then not feel any spark towards writing.  I have a terrible habit of beating myself up over wasting prime time!

“I'm still left to wonder how will Erestor and Lindir far in the future. The fic ended at a point where they're happy but I see them clash pretty often in the future.”

Oh yes, you are so right!  Lindir is still Lindir, will all his issues (and he’s back off to the heart of the Noldor again with Maglor living there now too!  That is not going to be easy), and Erestor is still Erestor with all his self-doubts and regrets (though he’s gotten better at not hating himself over the years, but he’s far from loving himself).  They have a lot to work through, both of them not quite convinced the other is still going to love them a century down the road one of the major ones!

“Otherwise ... you keep teasing me with Maglor and Glorfindel. The way this is going I'll have to write my own fic to satify a mighty need.”

I have been a terrible tease with these two, sorry!  Yes, please on a fic from you about these two!  Yum!  It would be fascinating to see what you did with them :D

Thank you so much for the review!  (I am still over here waiting in breathless anticipation for your upcoming story :vibrates with excitement:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2015 9:45 · For: Chapter 28
Perfect!

Finally, finally they get there!!
I was worried that it would all fall apart, that Erestor would believe Lindir's resistance and he nearly did but he pushed through it in the end!

This was beautiful and has been so long in coming. They do have a long road ahead of them. Lindir is so terribly damaged and I can see this will not be easy.

Erestor is so honorable and I love that but oh I WANTED him to stay and here Elrohir's answer as to his choice. I was so annoyed when he walked away!!

Poor Elladan. I am feeling so very, very sorry for him now. So much held back by his brother. Elrohir clings to him like a drowning man. I understand their reluctance to sail, their thoughts Valinor is a stagnant place but I wonder that they aren't drawn there to see their Mother. They know she is there.
Oh they need to get involved in the fight against the Valar. Why have Maglor and Glorfindel not harnessed Elladan's desire for freeing the Noldor from their chains? Bringing them back to greatness?

Author's Response:

I was worried that it would all fall apart, that Erestor would believe Lindir's resistance and he nearly did but he pushed through it in the end!”

This is exactly what I was hoping for!  I had written their final bonding scene a whole different way, but it was coming out all wrong, so I took another shot at it, really aiming for drawing things out and not having everything about the bond resolved just because Erestor had confessed his love, I felt like I needed to draw out the suspense, (after all, it’s only taken them 28 chapters to get here, no suspense at all :snorts:)  I am glad you enjoyed it :D

“They do have a long road ahead of them. Lindir is so terribly damaged and I can see this will not be easy.”

Yes, exactly this.  Just because they have the bond and known of each other’s love, does not mean its smooth sailing!

“Erestor is so honorable and I love that but oh I WANTED him to stay and here Elrohir's answer as to his choice. I was so annoyed when he walked away!!”

I know, but then all the suspense for Lost Children of the Sun would be over lol

“I understand their reluctance to sail, their thoughts Valinor is a stagnant place but I wonder that they aren't drawn there to see their Mother. They know she is there.
Oh they need to get involved in the fight against the Valar. Why have Maglor and Glorfindel not harnessed Elladan's desire for freeing the Noldor from their chains? Bringing them back to greatness?”

Ahhh!  I have a very good explanation for all this but I really really don’t want to spoil it!  I have to control myself, I have to lol!  Much will be reveled as we plunge deeper into Lost Children :D

Thank you so much for the review!  I am just ecstatic that you enjoyed it so much :hugs:



Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2015 8:20 · For: Chapter 27
Sorry Borg is a Star Trek reference - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borg_%28Star_Trek%29 :)

ahh the dead Valar could come back and help the Elves to overthrow the oppressive Valar, I love that!

"Eol is another tricky one. I think he defiantly has the strength of will and power to come back. I almost do want to bring him back because I think it would help Maeglin heal if he got some closure with Eol or on the other hand was able to heal ad re-build his relationship with Eol."

I agree with you that Eol has the might and mind power to come back from the Land, but assuming he didn't get to introspect while he's with the Land, it will not be a happy reunion with Aredhel and/or Maeglin. It could lead to another disaster as now everyone in Aredhel's family knew how badly he had treated her, and I can see Celegorm/Curufin/Fingon/Fingolfin team up to beat Eol senseless. Plus I really don't want to see Aredhel going back to her ex jailer. Her and Eol's relationship, the little they had, was over the minute he decided to kill Maeglin.

" think she’d want it. It will be interesting to see how she and Feanor get on, because I think Feanor has repressed a lot of resentment against her"

Totally I can see how Feanor would have some resentments against her for abandonment, but I think as an adult he would understand she's suffering from depression, and was forced to make a life changing decision with no reneging on the decision -essentially deciding to kill herself, when she's still sick, is not a decision that she should be forced to make when she's not at her full mental faculty. The whole Statute of Finwe and Miriel is really messed up, and shame on the Valar for forcing her to make this life changing decision on the spot. So I think with that understanding it would not be hard for him to reach out to her and trying to build a relationship with her.

I think he does blame her a bit for not being strong enough to fight her sickness and heal to come back for him...what kid in his situation would not? But as a worldly adult I think Feanor would blame Finwe and the Valar more for ganging up on a sick person. And Indis for profiting from a bad situation.

Thanks for continuing these stories, and looking forward to the next update :)

Author's Response:

“It could lead to another disaster as now everyone in Aredhel's family knew how badly he had treated her, and I can see Celegorm/Curufin/Fingon/Fingolfin team up to beat Eol senseless. Plus I really don't want to see Aredhel going back to her ex jailer. Her and Eol's relationship, the little they had, was over the minute he decided to kill Maeglin.”

Ah yes, I bet Aredhel’s family would keep him away!  I agree with you 100% about him not getting back with Aredhel, they were all wrong for each other.  She hated living in Nan Elmoth, and was seriously depressed for most of her years there.  I am playing with the idea that when she is re-born her bi-polar disorder that plagued her through all those years and led to some of her worst decisions (as well as added to her depression) will heal.  I’d like to see what she is like as a character without it.  I am hoping she comes out of death with a lot of positive character growth :)

“Totally I can see how Feanor would have some resentments against her for abandonment, but I think as an adult he would understand she's suffering from depression, and was forced to make a life changing decision with no reneging on the decision -essentially deciding to kill herself, when she's still sick, is not a decision that she should be forced to make when she's not at her full mental faculty. The whole Statute of Finwe and Miriel is really messed up, and shame on the Valar for forcing her to make this life changing decision on the spot. So I think with that understanding it would not be hard for him to reach out to her and trying to build a relationship with her.”

I am thinking you have the right of it.  While he was a kid, he probably couldn’t help some secret resentment growing, but when he grew into an adult he was able to look back at the situation and see even more clearly then as a child that she needed help and healing not pressuring as Finwe and the Valar did. 

Thanks for the great discussion :D



Name: Ten thousand leaves (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2015 9:05 · For: Chapter 27

Oh yay, another chapter, you're spoiling us! But nah, keep doing it!

I loved the opening scene between Erestor and Maglor. They both have gone through such a LONG journey, separately and together in bits of it and at the moment it feels like they have both come full circle about... something, like even though they both have lost so much, paid such a high price for duty and honour, they both gained something precious as well. Their sons, for instance.

Erion already feels like a great character, very compelling, and you do such a believable version of an adolescent, both independent and needy and afraid to show that need. 

As for Tamar, no her ending didn't seem abrupt, because even though you started with her as the focal character for the first few chapters, you have gradually and very smoothly shifted the focus back to Erestor and Lindir, do her story guttered out very graciously. Though I didn't expect her to die so soon in the narrative, yes ))) still, it seemed quite natural to the story. I am sad to see her go, but glad she'd found at least a measure of peace, if not happiness. 

I really loved the look at Ithilien in fourth age, and yes, an incompetent Legs is awwwww-inspiring )))

And I'm really, really sitting here at the edge of my seat literally, watching things unfurl between Lindir and Erestor. It seems like they have finally reached the breaking point and are teetering on the edge where they simply can't stay long. It does feel like that dam's about to break, oh, how I'm looking forward to it. The tension between them could be cut with a knife, like, one paragraph more and one of them would snap already )))

It was a grea chapter, and I didn't even mention how much I enjoy the glimpses of the twins.

Thank you again for writing! 



Author's Response:

“I loved the opening scene between Erestor and Maglor. They both have gone through such a LONG journey, separately and together in bits of it and at the moment it feels like they have both come full circle about... something, like even though they both have lost so much, paid such a high price for duty and honour, they both gained something precious as well. Their sons, for instance.”

I love hearing this!  Yes, they both have suffered so much, and grown, and finally, finally made something good out of their lives again.  They have such bloody-histories, such pain in their pasts, it’s good to see that they have learned how to live again.

“Erion already feels like a great character, very compelling, and you do such a believable version of an adolescent, both independent and needy and afraid to show that need. “

I am thrilled you liked him!  I can’t wait to explore his character more, and take things deeper with him :)

“As for Tamar, no her ending didn't seem abrupt, because even though you started with her as the focal character for the first few chapters, you have gradually and very smoothly shifted the focus back to Erestor and Lindir, do her story guttered out very graciously. Though I didn't expect her to die so soon in the narrative, yes ))) still, it seemed quite natural to the story. I am sad to see her go, but glad she'd found at least a measure of peace, if not happiness. “

It is good to hear her ending didn’t feel too jarring, but the natural ending of her gradual slip from the story’s focus.  She was, in a lot of ways, a quiet, shadowy character after her escape from enslavement.  She had been beaten down and terrorized to the point where she had hunched herself into her protective shell, and a part of her never fully uncurled again.  But she did find peace and safety in Imladris, and that is something, at least.

“It seems like they have finally reached the breaking point and are teetering on the edge where they simply can't stay long. It does feel like that dam's about to break, oh, how I'm looking forward to it. The tension between them could be cut with a knife, like, one paragraph more and one of them would snap already )))”

I love hearing this!  Tension can be one of the hardest things to write, but the funest to read, so it’s great to hear you experienced that while reading the story!  These two are defiantly approaching the breaking point now.  Not too much longer :D

Thank you for your continued support and encouragement!  It is this which keeps bringing me back to writing :hugs:



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 23:41 · For: Chapter 27

Ah Erestor- just get on and do it! And Lindir- unbend a little for goodness sake!

I like hte way you have Tamar just slipping out of the story as if she were hardly there- it's very fitting for the way she ends up, unable toforget and unable to move past her terrible treatment. Erion is of course a true delight and I feel your rendering of the sons of Elrond is very credible- that unforgiving fury, even from Elladan at Erestor's clumsy attempt at solace.

 

Lovely writing, Encairion.



Author's Response:

“Ah Erestor- just get on and do it! And Lindir- unbend a little for goodness sake!”

Hahaha these two are impossible!  I think they could dance around each other for a 1000 years.

“I like hte way you have Tamar just slipping out of the story as if she were hardly there- it's very fitting for the way she ends up, unable toforget and unable to move past her terrible treatment.”

I am glad to hear it worked for you!  And I like the way you word her ending, just slipping out of the story.  Yes, she has had a kind of shadowy presence, living a kind of half-life, so it does seem fitting that she doesn’t go out with a bang.

“I feel your rendering of the sons of Elrond is very credible- that unforgiving fury, even from Elladan at Erestor's clumsy attempt at solace.”

Thank you!  From someone who writes the twins with such excellence as yourself, this means a lot :)

Thank you ever so much for the review, my dear :hugs:



Name: Riraito (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 23:04 · For: Chapter 27
I'm so glad you updated again! I missed this story so much! I've been wanting to read it again, but my phone does not agree with Faerie. Why don't these fic reading apps accept Faerie as well!? Would make my life so much easier, not every story is on FF or AO3.

Erestor and Lindir are still being impossible. I've given up all hope.

Tamar's death did shock me a little. We're not actually there when it happens. She's been through so much and now she's gone. Now I know why human/elf relationships are so angsty. I'd forgotten.

Lol at Legolas being a crappy ruler. I know everyone respects him, but he's not made for that stuff xD

Author's Response:

“I'm so glad you updated again! I missed this story so much! I've been wanting to read it again, but my phone does not agree with Faerie. Why don't these fic reading apps accept Faerie as well!? Would make my life so much easier, not every story is on FF or AO3.”

I am sorry I can’t be of help.  I need to bring myself into the modern age one of these days and get an phone with internet capabilities (I am SO cheap lol).

“Erestor and Lindir are still being impossible. I've given up all hope.”

It’s been, what, 27 chapters and they still haven’t gotten it on!? 

“Now I know why human/elf relationships are so angsty. I'd forgotten.”

I could have made it worse, Erestor could have loved her and FADED!  Even I am not that evil :snorts:

“Lol at Legolas being a crappy ruler. I know everyone respects him, but he's not made for that stuff xD”

Hehehe I kept thinking about how he never stepped up once during the Quest in a role of leadership, or made any real decisions at all but to follow the person he trusted (which was brave and loyal, but not the role of a leader.  Half the reason Aragorn and Boromir didn’t get on so well I think is because they were both leaders, in fact, Boromir was MORE of a leader then Aragorn at that point in the story).

Thank you so much for the review!  I am thrilled you’ve enjoyed the chapters so much, and came back even after I didn’t update for so long :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 22:02 · For: Chapter 27
You and Ziggy so critical of your own writing - please, don't be. I go through books like you wouldn't believe (I just looked at the table downstairs and there's ten books on it - I prop myself there to eat - and read) I plough through them and on to the next. It's never-ending. But your stories transcend them, and your word power is stupendous. It takes a lot to please me, to get me to come back, to have 'favourites' - it is like a production line of books for me and most I forget. But I never forget your stories and how they make me feel.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Spiced!  The knowledge that the stories not only make you feel like that, but keep bring you back again, is the hugest complement out there!

I wish I could slay all the self-doubt; sometimes I am better at it than other times.  It seems to be the curse of many writers.  We are our own worst enemy.  I keep remembering s conversation we had about our passions in life.  Life really isn’t the same without writing, as much as it torments me at times.  I will keep coming back :)

Thank you again for your kind words :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 19:08 · For: Chapter 27
Maglor will b going to rescue his family very soon! There is no way he will be kept away longer. I think the only reason he’s stayed so long was first for Glorfindel whose part in the Third Age was not yet complete, and then I think he and Elrond had a little conversation about Elladan and Elrohir. Elrond was so weary of the world, he could no longer stay, but I think it tore him up to leave the twins with their choice unmade. Maglor is keeping an eye out for them for him :D

I loved writing both Maglor and Glorfindel in the Third Age, so different from how damaged they both are in when they have such been reunited.


I cannot wait, seriously! I cry just thinking of it. But yes - so so very different, Glorfindel and Maglor, but my god, they have earned this.

Author's Response:

I know!  There needs some god-dammed happiness already!  (and it’s me who tortured Glorfindel in his second life too lol!)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 9:17 · For: Chapter 27
I was reading you responses to reviews....it is almost as good as an update getting a glimpse into what you are thinking. The concept of the Land and the elves being able to reenbody themselves is fascinating.
Of course my first thought was, please not Irim


Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 7:42 · For: Chapter 27
“Did you read the chapter when Fingolfin was in the Halls of Mandos and he gets glimpses of the Valar’s pasts? Well he finds out about what the Land really is there. But the Land can’t really swallow Elven souls, in truth the Elven souls are just bodiless and outside of Mandos’ grasp (thanks to the Land’s strength), the Land gets strength from lots of Elven souls running around because that is the way it was always supposed to be. To me, Mandos is unnatural for Elven souls to go to after death.”

Yes! I was very intrigued by the concept of Land, and how elven blood and sacrifices nurtured the Land’s power. It’s a neverending circle. I wonder how these Silvan elves would feel when they found out Orome created the first ritual for invoking the Land’s power. And that debacle with Celegorm, did Orome still have feelings for Celegorm, or he’s just a sub for his ex lover?

“ They should have always been bodiless for a time, not exactly like ghosts (though their awareness of the living world depends a lot on how powerful their souls are). Time doesn’t pass in the same way for them, and their thoughts don’t follow normal patterns, it’s like they have been expanded to be part of the world as a whole.
Now here’s the part I am still turning over in my head: if this is their natural state of death and their souls are immortal, why couldn’t they –over time—begin to become more aware of themselves again and their souls re-built their bodies like Mandos does? Again, it will depend on a soul’s power if they can re-build their bodies during the time frame this series will reach, a lot might not be re-formed until like the 5th or 6th Age, or never.”

I love this idea! Or these elves went to the Land could be a collective body of conscience, just like the Borg. The sappy part of me feels sad if Lindir never get to see his parents again, if these elves went to the Land don’t get a chance to rebuild their bodies. But then there will be some troublesome characters like Eol and Irime coming back, hmm do elves get to reflect and introspect when they are part of the Land? I always think Mandos is a creepy place for elves to go after death…glad you think so too! :)

Oh…what about Miriel? Will she get to play a part in your story? I wish she had a bigger role in Silmarillion after her re-embodiment. sighs…like following her son to ME or do something influential. She was the Queen of Noldor, she can do much more than weaving tapestries depicting the fate of House of Finwe at Vaire’s place. Wouldn’t she hate the Valar more as she’s weaving?

I can’t stop imagining Feanor and his sons having a ball in Mandos! Now they are together minus Maglor, they will be happily basking in their father’s fire :)

Big thanks for telling me about what’s coming :D. Now so looking forward to next weekend!

Author's Response:

“I wonder how these Silvan elves would feel when they found out Orome created the first ritual for invoking the Land’s power. And that debacle with Celegorm, did Orome still have feelings for Celegorm, or he’s just a sub for his ex lover?”

Orome is all kinds of messed up, that’s for sure!  I think Orome cared for Celegorm as his own person, but what he wanted in him was the part of Celegorm that reminded him of his dead lover (it’s all pretty twisted up in Orome’s head lol).

I have some ideas for the Silvan finding out the truth of the Land, but it’s pretty tied up in plot-points, so I’d hate to spoil it for you! Though it’s still a long way off in the writing process :(

“Or these elves went to the Land could be a collective body of conscience, just like the Borg.”

I am not sure what the Borg are?  I could see all kinds of potential in the dead Elves who went to the land having their own conscience, and thus own motivations!  It’s a defiantly interesting idea.  I like the idea of them being able to defy Mandos and create their own bodies too though, so we’ll see :)  Also, the dead Valar are the Land’s Power too, and they defiantly have their own motivations :wink:  Ok, no more, I cannot spoil things :runs away:

“But then there will be some troublesome characters like Eol and Irime coming back, hmm do elves get to reflect and introspect when they are part of the Land? I always think Mandos is a creepy place for elves to go after death…glad you think so too! :)”

Mandos is hella creepy!  The Elves don’t get their bodies back until the Valar SAY they get them back, and that’s all kinds of messed up!  Irime is NOT coming back, don’t worry!  I don’t think I could take writing her again, and it would be awful for Glorfindel.  I think, that while Elves are in their bodiless existence they do have to come to terms with things and understand themselves on a complete level, one which would be hard for someone like Irime to accept, but how much of that perfect understanding of themselves (and their place in the universe) remained with them in re-embodiment…hum, that is the question!

Eol is another tricky one.  I think he defiantly has the strength of will and power to come back.  I almost do want to bring him back because I think it would help Maeglin heal if he got some closure with Eol or on the other hand was able to heal ad re-build his relationship with Eol.  I don’t, in this AU, have Eol being an abusive husband or father, but what he did to Maeglin was terrible (not to mention killing his wife), so there is a lot to work through, but I think his character in this story is one that CAN work through it, and would want to.

“She was the Queen of Noldor, she can do much more than weaving tapestries depicting the fate of House of Finwe at Vaire’s place. Wouldn’t she hate the Valar more as she’s weaving?”

Yes, I can’t see her enjoying that or being at peace with it.  I think the only reason she’d do work for the Valar is if she saw it as the only way to stay connected to the living and get to know SOMETHING about her son’s life.  She probably does get re-embodied too though, I think she’d want it.  It will be interesting to see how she and Feanor get on, because I think Feanor has repressed a lot of resentment against her (as well as his father at this point in R + U) and shouldered the full weight of that onto Indis.  But Indis didn’t get married to herself.  I think Feanor has tried desperately not to blame his mother at all for what happened, because he knows, logically, that none of it was her fault, but that doesn’t change the fact that he was in a lot of pain when she died and maybe a small part of him couldn’t help blaming her.  But I shall think on this, maybe he doesn’t blame her at all, only Indis and Finwe….hum.

Thank you so much for this review, it’s tons of fun discussing the story with you :hugs: 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2015 7:28 · For: Chapter 1

Encairion- you are so nice! There's me thinking I am giving YOU a cyber hug and comfort for your self critical response to my review and you just come straight back with such nice things. Mutual admiration:)



Author's Response:

Thank you, dear Ziggy :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 21:58 · For: Chapter 27
Oh, Maglor - it is lovely to see him so 'together' but his father and his brothers are still in the Halls of Mandos - please go and release them, Maglor! *weeps*

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Spiced!  I had thought the snippet of Maglor was so short in this chapter I wasn’t going to bother you with asking if you wanted to come over and read it.  But I’ll let you know next time Maglor or Glorfindel show up :) 

Maglor will b going to rescue his family very soon!  There is no way he will be kept away longer.  I think the only reason he’s stayed so long was first for Glorfindel whose part in the Third Age was not yet complete, and then I think he and Elrond had a little conversation about Elladan and Elrohir.  Elrond was so weary of the world, he could no longer stay, but I think it tore him up to leave the twins with their choice unmade.  Maglor is keeping an eye out for them for him :D

I loved writing both Maglor and Glorfindel in the Third Age, so different from how damaged they both are in when they have such been reunited.

Thanks again for the review :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 11:44 · For: Chapter 1

I struggle with thinking my writing is over-the-top and melodramatic and my metaphors cringe-worth in their dramatics.  

Me too! Sometimes I read back what I've written and all the pathetic fallacy and hyperbole, and just curl up inside and want to delete everything! I look back and see some of the howling errors, I do a little cringe again. So you're not alone:)



Author's Response:

I do the exact same things as you sometimes, I’ll read back and think everything I’ve written is just ridiculous and over the top and want to delete it all!  And every criticism goes to my heart and lodges there (I’ve been blessed that I haven’t been attacked a lot, but it has happened at times and those comments never go away, do they?).

But enough about me, let me tell you a thing about your own writing: I enjoy it.  And I know a lot of other people in this fandom enjoy it.  And at the end of the day there are going to be people who hate our work or roll their eyes at us, but you know what?  We love to write, it is our passion, so even if it hurts not to be liked by everyone, it will just have to be enough to know that there are some readers out there who look for our updates, and that we have found joy in what we are doing.

Sorry if this sounds sappy!  Tell you what, I am terrible at this encouraging self-talk stuff, but it can’t be helped, and the bottom line is: I want to give you hugs and hot chocolate but this is the next best thing :D

::hugs::



Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 8:53 · For: Chapter 27
oh my Eru, Lindir and Erestor, please stop torturing us readers and yourselves and just kiss each other silly already.

They have absolutely made no progress while Erion was growing up, so frustrating! However it's great to see Lindir in a different light as a respected leader in Ithilien, so different from the bitter and self doubting Elf in his memories.

ahem, so does Elrond go back to Valinor as Maglor's messenger to Earendil? I would love to see Elrond meeting up his biological father again, and be the messenger boy to give love letter from his foster father to his father. Urgh he might be weird out by that lol. It's great to hear that you also rooting for this pair.

I do love Maglor got to meet his grandkids, and hopefully he can guide the twins, and slap some sense to their heads.

So some questions from other series - I take it that Legolas of Gondolin went to the Land instead of Mandos, so that means a reborn Maeglin won't be able to see his protege again? that's sad. And what about Irime? Is she still hanging around Maglor in spirit form? What a tenacious woman! she just can't let it go. I hope in spirit form she doesn't cause troubles for Maglor!

And can't wait for Glorfindel to meet his grandfather Feanor properly. This guy's got a really bad crush on Feanor in his younger days so can't wait to see the dynamics between them again.

I love this update, and wish there's also updates to other series, but I am just being greedy :)

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review!  Oh these two are frustration itself, that’s for sure!

“However, it's great to see Lindir in a different light as a respected leader in Ithilien, so different from the bitter and self doubting Elf in his memories.”

It was good to write him like this, less self-hating and having a purpose to work for.  That is not to say he’s healed by any means, but he’s better in a lot of ways then he’s ever been.  I wish I could get him to the point where he loves himself even before Erestor tells him he loves him, but I don’t think that will be possible for him.  I think he is going to need to hear he’s worth loving from someone else before he is ready to start being kind to himself.

“ahem, so does Elrond go back to Valinor as Maglor's messenger to Earendil? I would love to see Elrond meeting up his biological father again, and be the messenger boy to give love letter from his foster father to his father. Urgh he might be weird out by that lol. It's great to hear that you also rooting for this pair.”

I hadn’t thought of Elrond being Maglor’s messenger boy, but yes, yes, I bet Maglor did slip him a letter to take back :grins:  What a surprise that would be for Elrond to find out about lol

“I do love Maglor got to meet his grandkids, and hopefully he can guide the twins, and slap some sense to their heads.”

Oh yes!  The twins just need to stop running away and sit down long enough to let someone talk some sense into them!  Maglor would be great at it.

“So some questions from other series - I take it that Legolas of Gondolin went to the Land instead of Mandos, so that means a reborn Maeglin won't be able to see his protege again? that's sad. And what about Irime? Is she still hanging around Maglor in spirit form? What a tenacious woman! she just can't let it go. I hope in spirit form she doesn't cause troubles for Maglor!”

Yes, Legolas of Gondolin did go back to the Land, and Irime is still hanging around, though I think she only retained her sense of self to be following Maglor around for a short time after she died.  OK, so I have a lot of thoughts about what happens to souls that go back into the Land, and I don’t want to spoil to much, but I shall try to explain a little.  Did you read the chapter when Fingolfin was in the Halls of Mandos and he gets glimpses of the Valar’s pasts?  Well he finds out about what the Land really is there.  But the Land can’t really swallow Elven souls, in truth the Elven souls are just bodiless and outside of Mandos’ grasp (thanks to the Land’s strength), the Land gets strength from lots of Elven souls running around because that is the way it was always supposed to be.  To me, Mandos is unnatural for Elven souls to go to after death.  They should have always been bodiless for a time, not exactly like ghosts (though their awareness of the living world depends a lot on how powerful their souls are).  Time doesn’t pass in the same way for them, and their thoughts don’t follow normal patterns, it’s like they have been expanded to be part of the world as a whole.

Now here’s the part I am still turning over in my head: if this is their natural state of death and their souls are immortal, why couldn’t they –over time—begin to become more aware of themselves again and their souls re-built their bodies like Mandos does?  Again, it will depend on a soul’s power if they can re-build their bodies during the time frame this series will reach, a lot might not be re-formed until like the 5th or 6th Age, or never.

Anyway, this is just something I’ve been playing with, we’ll see how it spans out :D

“And can't wait for Glorfindel to meet his grandfather Feanor properly. This guy's got a really bad crush on Feanor in his younger days so can't wait to see the dynamics between them again.”

He did have such a crush!  And on Fingon too!  Poor teenage agnsty Glorfindel :)  That meeting should be all kinds of interesting *g*

“I love this update, and wish there's also updates to other series, but I am just being greedy :)”

Well it’s wonderful to hear how excited you are for the other stories :)  I am working on both Vengeance 2 and R+U, and hope to have an update for one of them for next weekend!  Thanks again for the lovely review :hugs:



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 4:49 · For: Chapter 27
Yes to teenaged angst and longing! But flashbacks of that will work well...vey well indeed!

Author's Response:

“Yes to teenaged angst and longing!”

My god, it is terrible how much I love the idea of this :snorts:  And you better believe I will angst the shit out of this hahaha



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 4:35 · For: Chapter 27
Ha! Snap!! I thought about Elladan first...and then I remembered what we had talked about and how you had Elladan all going solo and I thought...she wouldn't do that!! So I went with Legolas instead.

So yes! The Elladan thing definately came through. Oh Erestor would,be VERY unhappy with that!!!!! VERY, VERY unhappy.........or maybe just relieved it wasn't Elrohir!

The time span was a jolt but not an unreasonable one....and only because I love reading you writing children! Plus to tell the truth I am not sad to see the back of Tamar so from that point of view I was glad of it.

Author's Response:

“Ha! Snap!! I thought about Elladan first...and then I remembered what we had talked about and how you had Elladan all going solo and I thought...she wouldn't do that!! So I went with Legolas instead.”

Hahah, well I can never make up my mind!  I just have to throw up my hands and let the characters have their way :grins:  But I was thinking either Elladan or no one, because I could see Erion remaining single and happy as well (I have this need in me to show some characters being perfectly content in singleness, I was thinking Legolas for this before we got me thinking of him with a certain someone :)).

“Oh Erestor would,be VERY unhappy with that!!!!! VERY, VERY unhappy.........or maybe just relieved it wasn't Elrohir!”

Erestor would probably kiss Elladan because he wasn’t Elrohir lol!  But you are right, he would be seriously worried.  But wouldn’t Erion be so good for Elladan?  And then I would wish I had taken my time with Erion’s growing up so I could slip in some angst and longing (he defiantly had a crush when he was a teenager) and the way he chooses to go out ridding with the twins, rebelling in favor of his crush hahaha  I shall just have to tell it all in flashbacks (I am seriously to fond of these) if it does go this way between them :D

“The time span was a jolt but not an unreasonable one....and only because I love reading you writing children! Plus to tell the truth I am not sad to see the back of Tamar so from that point of view I was glad of it.”

Ok, that’s a relief to hear!  Tamar’s story did really feel done to me, but now you have me wishing to write more of Erion as a teenager!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2015 4:10 · For: Chapter 27
Omg, Lindir and Erestor!!!! You are driving me insane with these two. They are more frustrating that Fingolfin and Feanor and that's saying something! Come on guys...open your eyes and see what is in front of you!!!

It hose two apart I found this chapter quite fascinating to read after what we have been discussing about Elladan, Elrohir, Gildor and even Legolas. It was interesting seeing how these characters would fit into those ideas we were talking about. One thing is for sure, Elrohir is a mess....a total mess, Elladan slightly better, I think he has more insight, it almost feels as if his brother is dragging him down.

Legolas....well he is all fun And sunlight at the moment and I loved his obvious delight/love of Gimli that came across. I wondered if Erion might have a bit of a crush thing happening for Legolas. I have to say I am kind of sad Erion has grown up SO fast. I am very intrigued what your plans for him might be.
Great chapter. Got me thinking......as always!

Author's Response:

“They are more frustrating that Fingolfin and Feanor and that's saying something!”

That is saying something lol  But then, they have been blind to each other for thousands of years, these two could write a book on the follies of not communicating!

“One thing is for sure, Elrohir is a mess....a total mess, Elladan slightly better, I think he has more insight, it almost feels as if his brother is dragging him down.”

 Yes, Elrohir really is!  And I agree with you about Elladan.  I think he could have moved into the healing stages years back if Elrohir didn’t keep dragging him back, keeping everything fresh inside him.  He would also choose the life of a Firstborn now, but he won’t do anything without Elrohir.

“I wondered if Erion might have a bit of a crush thing happening for Legolas. I have to say I am kind of sad Erion has grown up SO fast.”

You know, I actually wonder if he might have a thing for Elladan.  What do you think?  Do you think though that I shouldn’t have skipped so much time?  I did worry about this time jump.  Does it feel like I just got impatient?  I can be a very lazy writer at times (one of the reasons I don’t do much descriptions of environment) and I have to tell myself to slow down and do more showing and less telling. 

Thank you for the review!  It’s always a pleasure to hear what you think of the chapter :D



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 18:38 · For: Chapter 26

I find it so sad to remember how Tamar was at the start of her story and what she has become- not free, not really. Safe, but her fear is paralysis. As Lindir's is. In that you are brilliant- writing htose paralells. 

And Maglor- ah well. Intense and a bit scary and aloof, remote and did I say, intense! Looking forward to how it moves on.

 

BTW- loved the idea of Legola sbeing a bit incompetent!!



Author's Response:

“I find it so sad to remember how Tamar was at the start of her story and what she has become- not free, not really. Safe, but her fear is paralysis.”

This is very insightful!  Yes, she is still very much a captive to her own mind.  I think she will heal with time, but it will take time, what she suffered….well people just don’t get over that in a week or even a year.  Sometimes people have to deal with it their entire lives because while time heals, I don’t believe it heals all.  Some hurts really just do go too deep.  But that said, I think she, and Lindir, and Erestor, and everyone have the potential to live a fulfilling and happy life in spite of the demons.

“And Maglor- ah well. Intense and a bit scary and aloof, remote and did I say, intense! Looking forward to how it moves on.”

I hadn’t really seen him from this perspective when I was writing this, but I see it now!  Can you image what he must have seemed like to those Elves of the Third Age?  Not only because of who he was, but the sheer amount of Power he wielded, and the aura about him, the Tree Light in his eyes, and coupled with his remoteness (and I see this too now because yes, yes, he would have been close to some select few, but he wasn’t the type of person at this stage in his life to put others at ease with the Tree Light in his eyes and the Power humming under his skin like Glorfindel was able to do).  Gods, I love this image of him!  It rings so very true for who he is at this time.

“BTW- loved the idea of Legola sbeing a bit incompetent!!”

Lol, poor Legolas!  He just isn’t cut out for leadership, not naturally anyway.  I think he gets better with practice, but it’s not something he would have jumped at if he’d know what it would be like, I think, though I think he loves living in Ithilien and building a new home full of life and hope for the future, but ruling it himself?  He would have hated that.  He wants to have the freedom to stop and smell the roses :D

Thank you so much for these reviews!  They have meant a lot to me, and have got me thinking on some things :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 14:55 · For: Chapter 25

This is such a perceptive exploration of bullying and unkindness it pricked my eyes. This is just how it would be- imperfect and secret, like children are. But Tamar- a real problem developing here as she inlfuences Erion. Hope erestor is invovled and will smooth away thsoe creases.



Author's Response:

“This is such a perceptive exploration of bullying and unkindness it pricked my eyes. This is just how it would be- imperfect and secret, like children are.”

I am glad it came across so well (and not as me being unable to write a single character with a happy childhood :snorts:).  You are so right about children, though, especially that they do their cruelty in secret.  Oh how true that is! 

“But Tamar- a real problem developing here as she inlfuences Erion. Hope erestor is invovled and will smooth away thsoe creases.”

 Don’t worry, while Erion cannot grow up without his mother’s fears having some negative impact on him, Erestor is aware of her struggles and I think will be keeping an even carefully eye out from now on.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 14:52 · For: Chapter 24

This gorgeous chapter- how I have missed your writing, Encairion- the descriptions are lush and not over hyperbolic, I can see things very clearly and the relationships tread a delicate and true path. Lovely writing.



Author's Response:

“he descriptions are lush and not over hyperbolic”

How do you always know how to pick out my fears and sooth them?  You must be a mind-reader in disguise :D  But seriously, I struggle with thinking my writing is over-the-top and melodramatic and my metaphors cringe-worth in their dramatics.  It’s a serious fear of mine.  So to hear you say this means all the more because of my own doubts, and I cannot tell you how thankful I am for this :hugs:



Name: Ten thousand leaves (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 9:27 · For: Chapter 26

OMERU, words can't tell how GLAD I am to see this story updated. It was absolutely lovely to see glimpses of affectionate Maglor and Glorfindel,  and I'm very intruigued to read about how they will get to that place of easy comfort and love from where you left them in TPoV2.  And though I was abdolutely delited to see them,  I was all for my favourite couple of Lindir and Erestor, I missed these two and their difficult dynamics something fierce.

I loved to pieces that scene where Lindir can't deal with children. For some reason it is so novel and touching and precious to know that Erion finds him "no fun" and Lindir, though he finds it tedious to play kiddy games with him, still feels so protective about the little lad. 

And all the angst between Erestor and Lindir! I want to push their heads together and growl 'KISS ALREADY' ))))) 

I'm really curious about how the story of Tamar is going to play out. It's obvious that she's in a dark place and doesn't get any better. She's been a great addition to the story, and you've developed her very well as a character.

I'm also loving each time you explore magic and Power in your universe, and the scene where Maglor sings is a very powerful one. I wonder if Lindir is under his sway of sorts right now and how it's going to affect him. He will probably hate himself even more, but maybe do something rash, frayed around the edges that he is, like telling Erestor he loves him and kissing him stupid )))) jk ))

It was a lovely, lovely, infinitely lovely update and god, how glad I am to see you writing again. I'm going to re-read  tRatU with the latest addition now )) Thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

I am glad you enjoyed the chapters so much!  I cannot express how much the response to this story has meant to me, and this showering of love when I came back has just made me so so happy :::hugs:::

“And though I was abdolutely delited to see them,  I was all for my favourite couple of Lindir and Erestor, I missed these two and their difficult dynamics something fierce.”

These two are very dear to me as well, and to tell you the truth, I think some of the scenes in this story have been some of my best writing, at least it felt that way to me.  There is an almost…quietness about their relationship, a steady companionship that is quite a bit different from some of the other relationships I’ve written, and it’s been a journey and pleasure to explore.

“I loved to pieces that scene where Lindir can't deal with children. For some reason it is so novel and touching and precious to know that Erion finds him "no fun" and Lindir, though he finds it tedious to play kiddy games with him, still feels so protective about the little lad.”

I thought briefly about Lindir being able to play with Erion and finding he enjoyed it, but it didn’t feel true to his character.  He truly had the most barren of childhoods and has no experience with children’s games and not the temperament to enjoy their silliness.  But he is a protector.  He can fight for things, he is always fighting for things, it’s just so hard for him to enjoy them too.

“I'm really curious about how the story of Tamar is going to play out. It's obvious that she's in a dark place and doesn't get any better. She's been a great addition to the story, and you've developed her very well as a character.”

I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed her story, she has a tragic one that has been both a sorrow and pleasure to write.  I was actually not thinking of writing much more of her.  From this point on she never leaves Imladris.  She lives her life within its walls and dies there.  She heals in time (a very long time) from what happened to her, but her life there is as happy as I think she can be now, more of a contentment and feeling of safety then happiness.  After I post the next chapter would you do me the favor of telling me if her ending feels to abrupt?  We have been following her for so long, but her story felt pretty much over in my head, and I had no more scenes itching to get written.  But I’d appreciate it if you let me know your impression :)

“I wonder if Lindir is under his sway of sorts right now and how it's going to affect him. He will probably hate himself even more, but maybe do something rash, frayed around the edges that he is, like telling Erestor he loves him and kissing him stupid )))) jk ))”

We wish lol!  Well, I hadn’t actually considered the possibility that Lindir would hate himself for falling a little bit under Maglor’s thrall (as he doesn’t do anything silly like let Maglor know it by declaring his undying love to him :snorts: I bet Maglor got that a lot back in the day!), but I am going to think on this and see if any ideas pop up!

“It was a lovely, lovely, infinitely lovely update and god, how glad I am to see you writing again. I'm going to re-read  tRatU with the latest addition now )) Thank you for writing!”

You are so welcome, but it is you I should thank for all the support you give me!  If I did have you, and the other dear readers who took the time to review, I don’t think I would keep coming back.  There is nothing so terrible for a writer as posting into a black hole, and nothing so wonderful as hearing that the labor they have torn their hair out over and cried over and sworn over has been received with love.

A million hugs and thanks unto world’s ending lol!



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2015 12:49 · For: Chapter 26

Oh I love the development of Maglor and Glorfindel returning to Imladris. It's nice. I know I should focus on Erestor, Lindir and Tamar but yet the only thought I have is "Elladan and Elrohir are meeting their grandfather."

Well, I should focus on other things. Why Tamar is so fearful of the outside world for instance. But I'll reread the story anyway. My last review is around chapter 12 (?) so I properly missed (?!?!?) a few updates or don't properly remember.

So I can only go in the last three chapters who want me to have Maglor and Lindir in a conversation at least. But Maglor is so happy right now and Lindir is still ... scared, I guess. though it pains me he still thinks Erestor as Noldor in this chapter. I thought he was beyond this?



Author's Response:

“I know I should focus on Erestor, Lindir and Tamar but yet the only thought I have is "Elladan and Elrohir are meeting their grandfather."

Well seeing as how I couldn’t leave Maglor or Glorfindel out myself, it’s all for the good, those two just steal the spotlight, don’t they :)  Yes, Elladan and Elrohir get to meet Maglor, and I think it will be a dammed good thing for those two if they just stop running long enough to listen to what he has to say.  Talk about someone who knows a thing of two about guilt and revenge and seeing someone you love be tortured!

“Well, I should focus on other things. Why Tamar is so fearful of the outside world for instance. But I'll reread the story anyway. My last review is around chapter 12 (?) so I properly missed (?!?!?) a few updates or don't properly remember.”

Hahaha, don’t worry, you know I get behind in reading myself, I appreciate that you came over for a read and review :hugs:

“and Lindir is still ... scared, I guess. though it pains me he still thinks Erestor as Noldor in this chapter. I thought he was beyond this?”

I may have written that part badly.  I don’t think Lindir does see Erestor as a Noldo still, rather, he was thinking about the fact that he didn’t…I shall go back and reread what I wrote, it was probably badly worded, sorry!  He does still have issues with Maglor though because Maglor isn’t just a Noldo, he’s one of the Feanorions.  Erestor is as well, but Lindir doesn’t see him as a symbol of oppression like he does Maglor.  But I think, with some time, Lindir will be able to live beside Maglor.  It was half the shock of it all that sent him into a panic attack.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2015 12:37 · For: Chapter 26
It was so, so wonderful to see Glorfindel acting like whom he really is, without masks or shame, and to see Maglor and he so intimate and loving. *Tears*

What an incredible difference in both of them! I really long to read how Glorfindel came to this, as it seems like another person altogether.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, Spiced :)  Ah, these two, how I love to write them!  And especially to write them in a moment of such joy as this, such love.  I cannot wait for Glorfindel to get to this place either.  It will be a writing challenge, that’s for sure!  I’ve already been struggling over it; character transformations are so hard to write, but they make me grow as a writer, so it’s all for the good :D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2015 12:26 · For: Chapter 26
Oh! What a gift this chapter was!
Maglor and Glorfindel.....happy, and Glorfindel this transformed confident being, so good to see.

And Gildor and Lindir!! Don't think I have forgotten about their link, ( and yet they don't know....it seems, oh I WISH Lindir knew that.)

Lindir's reaction to Maglor was interesting. I remember having a conversation with you once about wether Maglor, ( and Maedhros) bore any responsibility for the treatment of the silvans in their realm. Well it seems Lindir obviously thinks they do. I agree with him, I have to say. Distracted as they may have been by war and leadership it happened on their watch. They must bear some responsibility.

I so wasn't expecting to see an happy, somewhat healed Maglor here. What a lovely surprise!

Author's Response:

“And Gildor and Lindir!! Don't think I have forgotten about their link, ( and yet they don't know....it seems, oh I WISH Lindir knew that.)”

Ha!  I thought most people would have forgotten they were cousins, but not you :)  I am afraid I have a terrible memory and forget things about not only other’s stories (the Eagle worshiping cult!) but my own as well!  It’s a miracle at this point that the series makes any sense lol

I kind of think Gildor kept his heritage hushed-out for the most part after Nargothrond, but we will see what happens when I write the Second Age.  I do want Gil-galad to know.  Gil-galad needs more family, and I think they could be great friends.

“Lindir's reaction to Maglor was interesting. I remember having a conversation with you once about wether Maglor, ( and Maedhros) bore any responsibility for the treatment of the silvans in their realm. Well it seems Lindir obviously thinks they do. I agree with him, I have to say. Distracted as they may have been by war and leadership it happened on their watch. They must bear some responsibility.”

I’ve thought about that conversation a lot myself, and yes, as much as I wish the Feanorions could be absolved of fault, they can’t be.  I do think things looked different from their POV at the time, but I think they came to regret not doing more.  In fact, I was thinking about this in regards to Maglor and Glorfindel’s story, and I think Maglor probably regrets not doing more to ensure the Silvan’s were all treated well in the Feanorions lands then he regrets the Kinslayings.  Of course, he wishes they had never killed anyone, but at the same time, I think he can justify those to himself more than he can the Silvan abuse because no Oath stopped him, it was his not caring or not having the time or energy to pursue the matter which is bad ruling.  Which them makes me wish I had never written that the Silvan were abused in the Feanorion’s lands because I think they were exceptional leaders, but then I think: crimes are committed under even the most outstanding of leaders, and it would be unrealistic to think they didn’t make mistakes especially with the pressure they were under.  But were they really the kind of leaders who would ignore abuse in their lands?  And I think that they did have cases brought before them to judge on and that they judged fairly, but too many cases of abuse, like Lindir’s, were allowed to be ignored when they should have pursued even the rumor of it.  Agh!  As you can see, it’s all a mess in my head and something I am still working through.

As always, you have got me thinking, and I love you for it :grins:



You must login () to review.