| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Light of a Thousand Stars by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas returns home from patrol in the South to find his Father's stronghold drenched in sadness. Prequel to "Darkness in...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Mature
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Danger in Ithilien by Linda Hoyland Mature
An early morning ride has dire consequences for Faramir.

Site Info

Members: 466
Series: 78
Stories: 1554
Chapters: 7909
Word count: 23496884
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13909
Reviewers: 214
Newest Member: LaurengeBleue
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
04/22/17 01:23 am
Has anyone heard anything else from Spiced lately?
Ysilme
04/17/17 11:36 am
Big hugs to you, Spiced, I hope you're already a bit better! ***hugs***
Alquien
04/17/17 04:38 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. *hugs*
ziggy
04/16/17 01:40 am
So glad to see you back, Spiced:x
Spiced Wine
04/15/17 09:30 am
Thank you, my loves. I hope you all have a lovely Easter
Yseult
04/15/17 07:22 am
Oh, Spiced! Sending you lots of good thoughts and vibes for a speedy recovery. Hugs!
Gabriel
04/14/17 10:04 am
Hi there, Cheekybeak, great to see there's another Kiwi out there too.
Naledi
04/14/17 08:50 am
Glad you're okay, too, Gabriel!
cheekybeak
04/14/17 08:38 am
Oh! Gabriel, another kiwi. Hi!
Gabriel
04/14/17 04:00 am
Thanks for thinking of us all in nz, Naledi, we're good.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2013 19:51 · For: West Over Water

I've been put off reading any of your Returnverse fics before because I know nothing about Buffy. However, I'm doing some serious procrastination at the moment, so I thought I'd dive in!I'm glad I did - I love the culture you've built for your Wood-elves, and the tales you've woven around them.

This is my favourite so far - such a sad story. It brought tears to my eyes in places. Not just about the lost elfling, but also due to those brief references to Legolas, his sea-longing and the fear, that he hardly even admits to himself, that his mother might have remained houseless. Even the end wasn't completely happy, when it seems that Tharhiwon's parents might have also become houseless. But at least it brought Frodo joy, to become an ada.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you decided to dive in - as you'll have realised the only one with a lot of Buffyverse stuff in is Return of The Key. At the moment, The Winterwitch is reviewing that chapter by chapter, and she, too, knew nothing of the Buffyverse - there is a lot of 'chatting' about the Buffyverse bits between her and I as I clarify bits!

I'm really glad that you like this one - and my whole wood-elf culture - I'm afraid it is a bit of a weepy though. But, at least Tind



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 4:38 · For: West Over Water
What a wonderful ending. I am very glad that you usually like to tie up loose ends, and that takes a lot of skill. It would be so easy to 'forget' that you tied up something already somewhere, and either leave it alone when you shouldn't, or tie it up a second time, differently. I am duly impressed with this ability of yours. This is also a very neat chapter, with some very sad bits, (I got choked up when "Only Rumil knew for sure how many nights it took before she no longer cried as she looked at Haldirin, asleep, alone.") but also very happy pieces, like when they meet everyone in Valinor. I am highly amused that Tindome lost money on a wager associated with their arrival in Valinor, that seems like such a Galadhrim thing to do, though I guess it is such an elven thing to do. I love it! Great story, I do very, very much enjoy it. I look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: I don't suppose she had a lot of money on a statue of Liberty... :) I do like to tie up the loose ends - I don't like leaving things in limbo - unless, of course, the characters themselves are unlikely to know what happened to someone, or something. And, like you, it bothers me when I realise a character has had two different endings! It has been lovely going back through these stories with you - and I promise to post more.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 4:17 · For: Beyond Winter
What a brave little elfling! But I bet when he arrived at the house (again) he wished he could still just shimmer out like he used to. Very nice! I wonder if we ever find out who he actually is/was? I love the descriptions in this chapter, of the interactions between the different personas.

Author's Response: Thank you - and yes - 'mortals' are scary! Actually it is the whole number of people and noise and bustle, after silence for aeons, that is almost too much for him, I think.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 4:00 · For: We've Been Looking in the Wrong Direction
I love reading all the plotting and planning about bringing the elfling back. They really do seem to have come up with the best plan, but I wonder if the elfling won't be too terrified to 'come along' with them without Tindome? Great plotting chapter, I quickly go to read the rest.

Author's Response: He'll cope - he has met Rumil a few times now, and Legolas - and it is a very long time since his parents told him to wait for them - these elves are more 'real' to him now. But it will still all be scary.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 3:44 · For: Growing Up... Growing Older.
Alright, I won't panic, promise! ;)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 0:15 · For: How Do You Attract Lord Namo's Attention?
With all the prayers, you would hope one of them would hear.... Nice chapter, I think I have been so wrapped up into the story, I have completely forgotten to tell you that I really like this story! You are yet again weaving an amazing tale, one that has completely captured my attention.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Now to go back to the open Word document and weave a bit more...!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2012 0:03 · For: I know what happened to the Winter Elfling!
Talking about imprinting.... It seems Legolas is well on his way to being truly imprinted as Tindome's brother.... I love how their first reaction is 'How can we help?'

Author's Response: Yes - Legolas is now almost as close to his 'small sister' as he is to his older brother - they are together more, for a start! But now they are all fretting for they really cannot leave the Winter Elfling alone - and they don't know if he will simply stop being there if they take Haldirin away...


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2012 23:28 · For: A Night for a Flet... or not.
You have me very curious! I am starting to think I should only start reading a story of yours if you have finished uploading all the chapters. I don't know if I could stand the suspense! :D But then again, I don't know if I could really not read a chapter that I know is there, because your stories are just really, really good... Now, what has happened to the poor Winter Elfling? I love how you have named it the "Winter Elfling", rather then the 'Ghost Elfling' or something like that...

Author's Response: I am currently writing another scene to fit with a short story that comes next in the time-line - I might post part one soon, as part two now has shape and form. Actually, now I think of it, the next three or four are all short ones, so you needn't panic whilst I upload them!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2012 23:00 · For: The Winter Elfling
Oh, how wonderful to just be able to step into winter in the middle of the summer. I guess Tindome being the key has likely something to do with this? And of course Haldirin is some part key... But obviously the ghost, if that is what it is, is somewhat different, as he can clearly 'affect' the physical world.

Author's Response: I wrote this a couple of years ago - but these past few days feel as if we have stepped back into winter when it should be summer, where I live! And yes - this story is, in a way, a reminder that underpinning the series is Dawn Summers... The Key.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2012 22:11 · For: A Place that Grows Winter
A ghost story? :) Very interesting descriptions. Made up friends are not something that seems to go with elves for some reason, but like the Oilifant, even for mortals they do simply fade, just like Dawn's own did I presume. But this being a possibly ghost, might make it very different, and I am curious where this is going to go!

Author's Response: Dawn's imaginary friend is an 'imagined imaginary friend'... she did not really have a childhood at all, being 'embodied' by the monks as a 14 year old. But she is now secure enough in herself to not be bothered by that any more.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2012 21:48 · For: Growing Up... Growing Older.
Never assume a little one is oblivious to conversation! Especially one with elven ears... I would love to have the time, money and energy to create gardens like described. Now, I am going to see if I can find out what Haldirin is talking about....

Author's Response: I had a lovely time building the gardens in my own mind from that initial walled garden at Milntown. The walkways of trees for the ladies to exercise between was adapted from there, too.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2012 14:17 · For: Beyond Winter

Oh, I did not realsie you had posted so much of this (I dont know why I dont get news of updates here) This is just such a lovely and tender story- you made me cry in the chpater when Haldirin had the dream - it was so sad. And now this cunning plan has been carried out and the little elf is free!!



Author's Response: Thank you Ziggy. It was meant to be wistful and slightly sad - it gave me a lump in the throat writing it in places. There is one more chapter, and an epilogue which I will post with it in the next three or four days - so look out for it by the weekend!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2012 22:42 · For: A Night for a Flet... or not.

Yes- I think something bad happened too. Please update this soon- I hope more people are reading htis than seem to be reviewing because it really deservesa wider audience but Iknow you post elsewhere and have HUGE numbers of reviews so will leave my little token of appreciation for htis lovey, unusual story. You let me 'see' it and I love that.



Author's Response: It is lovely of you to review - you know how it is like lembas for the writer - but with fewer calories... and I am really happy that you can 'see' the story. I should get time to check and upload the next chapter over the few days, I promise.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2012 22:37 · For: The Winter Elfling

This is becoming more and more intriguing, and poignant- the moment he looks at them longingly, and is unkempt. There is something tragic goig on here I think. Its a beautiful story, curious.



Author's Response: Thank you - poignant was the feeling I wanted it to have, and yes, there is something rather tragic going on.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 11:24 · For: A Place that Grows Winter

This is beautful, Curious. Very tender adn poignant.



Author's Response: It develops into a slightly poignant and wistful story - I think because the brief was to keep it at a 13 or so but over 20,000 words!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 11:20 · For: Growing Up... Growing Older.

This is such a lovely tale of friendship, and so beautifully explained abou telves growing up.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy - in a slightly later story I look at how Haldirin himself has come to deal with his contacts with human children who,to him, age so quickly. But once they got over


You must login () to review.