| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 26
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Three

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 22:35 · For: Locked Away
Oh, no, events are moving and the plot thickens very much upon us. I so want these three to have some happiness, but now the War of the Ring is lashing at their gates, Theoden has fallen ill, Eowyn is beginning to feel more and more trapped...

Author's Response: Yes, it's all growing rather dark...but there are still some bright spots to come, don't worry :) I'm sorry it's taken so long to update - thank you so much for continuing to read and review.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2017 22:28 · For: Locked Away

You do a wonderful job of letting the reader imagine the creeping evil at the borders, and within, of Rohan.

Cold crept through his insides, as it often did when he thought of Filwyn. 

 

Just makes me think how easy of would be to lose her, how vulnerable they all are and how they do not know where each other is. And there is Grima now, just a mention, but it'senough to get your hackles rising.

Great chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy! That's exactly what I'm going for at this point in the story, evil creeping around the edges - they're a little older now, and there'll still be some joyful moments, but as we know, there is a nasty storm coming. And yes, Grima. I'm still not entirely sure how it will play out between him and Leo; we know Grima meets his end in the Shire, but there is a confrontation coming before his unmasking, that's for sure.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 18:29 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship

oops- I posted my review for this on the previous chapter- so was disappointed no new chapter:( but happy to re-read! Lovely wrting- I do trust you to bring them back together some day.



Author's Response: Ahh, sorry you were disappointed - I promise not to make you wait too long for an update! And don't worry, they'll see each other again.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2017 22:29 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting
Oh, that was a wonderful chapter, Narya - I have missed these three. I actually love the suspicion of how Grima survived, even if it is ghastly, and am so sad that Berthe is dead. But now they're pretty much on their own, and stil so young

I am glad you're writing agin :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Spiced! <3 I can't believe people are still interested after all this time. I feel like my writing is a little out of sync at the moment, but I've had dry spells before, and it always takes a while to feel like it's really "flowing" again. But yes, life is about to get tough for the three of them very fast...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 22:31 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship

Oh no! You've split them up and they will grow apart! This was such a sad chapter with dear Berthe's death previously but now the consequences and them being almost victims of other's good intentions- they are drifting apart. What will happen next????



Author's Response: Yes, I've split them up...like Berthe's death, this was always part of the plan. They'll grow up apart for a while, but don't worry, they won't forget each other. And we all know that war is brewing in the background, so the question is what strange paths will that set them on? Thank you, ziggy, for your kind reviews.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2017 23:12 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting

I was SOOOpleased to see this up, Narya:) Made me happy. I have missed these lovely characters. You write them so well that I was doing a little jig with Leo's success

 

It was enough. Leofwyne's legs felt light and hollow - it wasn't the warm glow he got from telling his stories to Haddan and Filwyn, or the satisfaction of crafting a play for the citizens of Edoras outside Meduseld. This was something thrilling, intoxicating - like his gallops across the plain on Weland's back, when he had been younger. He thought of the old horse with a pang, but he knew Aiken would take good care of him.

 

And you mix the happy glow of success with layering the characters with emotions and memories- you see, that is such good writing!!

 

And you have managed to make Grima even more chilling and creepy that he was in the original!!

But the men who were there that day say that lumps of flesh had been bitten out of the bodies they examined."

 

Oh Narya- I knew when you had Thorn put his head on her lap- but this was a really deeply moving scene. Leo's reaction is perfect and dear Thorn is so gorgeous. Love these characters so very much. Please keep writing it.



Author's Response: Ahh, thank you ziggy <3 I'm so pleased you're still interested in Leo & co., after all this time! "And you have managed to make Grima even more chilling and creepy that he was in the original!!" You know, I've had it in my head!canon for a number of years that Wormtongue is a cannibal - I wrote him as one in a very short piece I did about his time in the Shire. Since this story touches on his early days in Rohan, I thought I'd weave in a bit of backstory for him, and Eomer's suspicions just found their way in. He doesn't miss much, after all. " I knew when you had Thorn put his head on her lap- but this was a really deeply moving scene." Thank you, my dear, I'm really glad you think so. It was hard to write, I've been putting it off - but this was always the plan. Now the three of them are going to face some very tough challenges indeed. I will keep writing now, I just needed a way back into it. I have most of the next chapter ready - hopefully I can get that up this weekend. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it really made my day.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:15 · For: Echoes

THis is such an ominious note to leave them on- because we know they must meet an orc at some point. Thsi is such a wonderful story, so beatifully written and with canon characters just touching the edges - I throughly enjyed reading it again and dohope you will post more soon.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy. I'm so pleased people are still reading and enjoying this after so many years; I posted the first version back on lotrfanfiction.com almost nine years ago! I will set some time aside to rebuild the chapters I lost in the laptop disaster, and carry on from there - I owe it to people like you who've waited so patiently, and to the characters as well. Watch this space.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:10 · For: Nursing

Beautiful moment when they hold hands, and such accuracy in the medical detail. Wondeful wonderful writing!



Author's Response: Thank you <3 there was a lot of research involved so I'm glad the detail works!

Author's Response: Thank you <3 there was a lot of research involved so I'm glad the detail works!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:08 · For: Wineskins and Dead Things

It hurts to read this- such a brilliant depiction of domestic violence, so sharp to read.



Author's Response: It was tough to write as well :( I remember struggling with this. (Sorry if you're getting multiple responses, I don't know why but the site seems to be duplicating a lot of what I post).


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:07 · For: Drink With Me

This popped up on th random story generator and I remembe reading and enjoying ti so much- I do hope you haven't abandoned it in the wilds...like a little orphan deer! Isay this to blackmail you into writing more, Narya. Original, delightful characters, beautiful descriptions and completely absorbing.



Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.

Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.

Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2016 23:26 · For: Echoes

LOve this- such domesticity and just getting on with life... and then you drop that question in and it is chilling. Brilliant.



Author's Response: Aww, thanks, ziggy *hugs* I'm enjoying the last few domestic scenes, things get dark soon :(


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2016 18:44 · For: Echoes
Another scream. Filwyn shifted, feeling the earth floor beneath the soles of her boots. To say this wasn't a complicated birth, it still seemed terrible. She glanced at the woman birthing and her stomach somersaulted - for a brief moment, the woman had seemed to wear her own face.

Are these foreseeings, I wonder?

Great sense of dark things coming closer at the end!

Author's Response: I can't really say yes or no to that *grins* but the callbacks to Fil's own birth were obviously deliberate. And yes, dark things are coming - soon :-( thank you for reading and taking the time to comment.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2016 16:46 · For: For Love of a Mother
I'm so glad you're carrying on with this. I love how the characters are developing, even though they are still young. You have some wonderful characters in this story :)

Author's Response: And I'm so glad you're still following it, after all this time! To be honest I've never really stopped working on it; I have loads of notes and flowcharts and snippets, but the last two years have been so incredibly busy that I've struggled to find chunks of time to sit and write it down, then re-read and edit. I will finish, though, one day; I love the characters too much to leave their story unresolved.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2016 23:45 · For: For Love of a Mother

I am so happy to have you back and writing this wonderful fic-the characters are so alive and credible, they are not perfect and that simply adds to the overall effect. I love Leo. So gentle and kind. ANd the story has real pace and domesticity but at the same time, feels like it is part of the epic tale. Wonderful writing.



Author's Response: Thanks, ziggy. I actually wrote this (and a few other chapters) back in the autumn, but things got crazy and I never got round to proofing and editing. I'm so glad you enjoyed it - I was worried it would jar, since it's been so long.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2013 23:18 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall

Oh- what a wonderful chapter, Narya- I have mISSED this! Such detail and subtley. Just the touch from Grima, a little too close, that kiss as he leaves- dangerous games.

 

I have a feeling that Caedwulf will be a powerful ally and he is a great OC- hugley charismatic and just leaps off the page. Very real and 'present'.

 

I love your Eowyn- just how I imagine her to be too. I really htink this is the best Rohan story. Looking forward to more and please dont do any more exams for a bit!



Author's Response: Hi ziggy! Yes, I've been rather useless, haven't I? Sorry about that - I'm so glad you're still interested in it after all this time! Thank you for taking time out and reviewing <3 yes, Caedwulf is a good person to have onside - and I'm glad you like Eowyn. There are plenty of cute mini-Eowyn fics kicking around, but I haven't seen many writers explore the awkward becoming-a-woman phase with her. The focus is obviously on Had, Fil and Leo, but I wanted to show how she became the Eowyn of the trilogy. We'll see as time goes on whether I've managed it! :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2013 11:16 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall
I know it is hard to get back into stories sometimes, but of course I am following it. I love these characters, and the fact the main ones are original, and you're built them up so well that I feel they should be canon, is wonderful!

Author's Response: *Blushes* thank you! That's such a compliment, that you feel they should be canon. Tolkien wasn't so interested in this side of things, though, I don't think - for him it was all about the high deeds and great lords. Which is fine by me as it leaves me plenty of space to explore other aspects of the cultures he wrote of ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2013 11:03 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall
I am so pleased you're still writing this, Narya. I hope a friendship with Eowyn and Leofwyne may be forthcoming. They both have things in common, and it wouldn't hurt, with Grima already sniffing around her, for her to be in some-one else's company when she can!

Author's Response: I feel terrible that it's taken me so long to update...I just got out of the habit with this one, unfortunately, but I never gave up on the characters. This chapter was a difficult one to write and I can't say I'm particularly thrilled with it, but I *had* to get cracking with it again while it was still on my mind. Hopefully now the dam is broken there'll be more to post soon. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review it; I know it's been a while, and I appreciate it that you're still willing to comment on it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2012 21:32 · For: Tell Me

I had not realised you had posted more of this wonderful story- so it's treat for Friday evening and the delicacy and sweetness of it is as always, a real delight. You treat the characters with such deftness and subtlety. A truly lovely story.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy :) I'm glad you're still enjoying it! More to come (of course).


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 22, 2012 0:20 · For: Tell Me
This was a lovely chapter, and Udela did not seem very surprised at Filwyn having seen the boys kissing, but I have a feeling not much escapes her!
I a also really interested now n her travels, and what she learned, where she went, because her independence does seem unusual and fascinating.

Author's Response: No, not a lot gets past Udela. She's a funny one to write; she was meant to be just a bit-part, but you know how these things go! When I was writing the chapter where she treats Leofwyne's injuries she just turned round and airily announced that she'd done all this travelling and that she's really more of a surgeon than a midwife, and she has this Big Secret that she's never told anyone...and like a good little writer I nodded and went along with it. Heck, she probably deserves a story of her own at some point...anyway, thank you, as always, for taking the time to read and review!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2012 20:13 · For: I Spy

These two last chapters are so good, every bit as good as the previous. The story has really caught me, which is unusual because it is mainly OCs and the canon characters are not ones I would normally steer towards... but that is a testament to the quailty of your writing, your abilty to create three wonderfully written characters, with such sensitivity and such an eye for detail without my ever feeling overloaded -I'm not saying this as well as I want to. I noticed too, the subtle way you introduce the later concerns/ themes, with Grima steering Eowny away, her calling herself Dernhelm, Fili seeing the kiss. And you write that particular romance very beautifully, with such a light touch and so delicately. If this was a published work of fiction, I'd be buying it.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy! I admit that I was concerned when I started writing a story centred around OCs - I wasn't sure anyone would actually read it, so getting these lovely reviews means such a lot :) and as for the Eowyn/Dernhelm thing, it popped into my head on the train as I was writing. Crazy lady snickering over a pad of lined paper = not a good look on the morning commute! Glad you picked up on the Grima thing - I'll be having some fun with him further down the line...


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 19:06 · For: I Spy
I do feel like I'm moving the story along rather slowly, but I'm having such fun creating the characters and their quirks, and laying the foundations for what's to come

I don't think any-one should worry about character development. Writers seem so plot-driven these days, and to me it's wrong; why should I care what happens if the characters don't engage me? I am all for character-driven plots rather than plots that pull the characters along by their hair. And you develop characters very well; I love spending time with them.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you :) I love spending time with them too! I think this is really a character-driven piece rather than plot-focussed; it's basically going to follow the canon course of events before, during and after LOTR, so it's hardly suspenseful for anyone who knows the books or films. I wanted to explore it from a less "noble" perspective, if you like, and get up close and personal with one particular setting/culture.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2012 16:14 · For: I Spy
Wonderful, Narya. I love Leo's pride and his uncertainty - and his loyalty to want to remain living at home. It was inspired to have Eowyn call herself 'Dernhelm' - a brilliant nod to the book!

Poor Fili - it would be a shock to see two lads kissing, one a brother and the other like a brother (I was quite shocked when I saw two men kissing for the first time, and I was a lot older!) Lovely work in continually building all these great characters. I love seeing the less elevated people of Edoras coming into contact with the nobles; it gives the story a far different and interesting flavour seeing it through these eyes.

Author's Response: "It was inspired to have Eowyn call herself 'Dernhelm' - a brilliant nod to the book!" Thank you! It made me chuckle to myself when it occurred to me. Unfortunately I was on a train at the time and got some rather odd looks... I'm so glad you're still enjoying it. I do feel like I'm moving the story along rather slowly, but I'm having such fun creating the characters and their quirks, and laying the foundations for what's to come. Yes, Fil is going to have some fallout to deal with over her next couple of chapters; I think she'll find it tough to get her head around. Hugs!


Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2012 5:03 · For: A Proposal
Ah, Just wonderful Narya! And with guest appearance by Beomia even! Your writing has such a wonderful sense of atmosphere and authenticity to it, as a reader you are so drawn in that when the chapter finishes you feel somewhat disappointed that you realize you are back once again. I can't tell you how much I loved that things are getting better for Leofwyne a little at a time, poor little lamb.

Author's Response: Aww, Alaeryel said that too...maybe I've been a little too mean to the poor kid, but it's important for his character development :/ thank you so much for your kind words, and for continuing to read and review the story - it means such a lot!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2012 22:18 · For: A Proposal
OMG Narya--THIS WAS BEYOND PERFECT, EXEPTIONAL ETC...Finally a chapter that tho the mention of Leo's father caused rage to rise and tears to form ACTUALLY made me GRIN EAR TO EAR--it was POSITIVELY BEAUTIFUL AND POIGNANT!! Finally something is looking up for Leo and I will be ANXIOUSLY AWAITING to see how Berthe reacts to such news!!! MAGNIFICENT JOB MY FRIEND!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad it made you smile, I decided it was about time the poor kid got a break! They don't have it easy, these three, but of course there will be moments in their lives that make them happy too. Thank you for following, as always, and for leaving such lovely reviews!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2012 0:08 · For: A Proposal
This is a wonderful turn-up for the books - I know Leofwyne was worried about Berthe and helping her out. I hope this is a good move, not a difficult path, but whichever, I will follow (: (Oh, you put Beomia in - that's really a lovely nod!)

Author's Response: Bwahaha, I wondered if anyone would notice that! Aiken got a cameo too, in an earlier chapter. I'm not intending to cross the 'verses, I was just playing about! As for good move vs. difficult path - well. We shall see ;) thank you so much for R&Ring, as always; it's very much appreciated!


You must login () to review.