| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold by Karlmir Stonewain Teen
How couples in the Reunited Kingdom and beyond dealt with the bitter cold of midwinter at bedtime. The story takes place...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
A Light in the Heart by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Immediately post rescue from Thangorodrim--Fingon brings an unconscious Maedhros to the Nolofinwean camp.
On the Kings Throne by arafinwean Explicit
Fanor doesn't like it when Finarfin flirts with others.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1604
Chapters: 8253
Word count: 24883272
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15151
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
01/16/18 11:03 am
Keep cosy, Karlmir
Karlmir Stonewain
01/15/18 11:53 pm
Snow is in tomorrow's forecast here. The storm will last through Wednesday afternoon. About 8" of snow is expected. I planned ahead and did my grocery shopping this morning.
Spiced Wine
01/15/18 10:14 pm
Not sure well get it down here - I hope not! You said it, spring cannot come soon enough for me! Im sorry youre not well, Narya
Narya
01/15/18 09:47 pm
Has anyone got snow yet? We're having a hailstorm here, and I'm still coughing. Roll on Spring...
Spiced Wine
01/13/18 04:29 pm
This is why I hate winter, Karlmir. I don't suffer arthritis yet, but I get cold to my bones. We're expecting snow next week :/
Karlmir Stonewain
01/13/18 02:13 pm
I've just posted my latest story. Lots of cold weather here; rain, sleet and snow. My arthritis is killing me. How are you people doing?
Naledi
01/12/18 12:58 pm
Happy Friday!
Spiced Wine
01/12/18 11:12 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
ziggy
01/10/18 10:44 pm
Alpha Ori! Happy New Year! So nice to have you back:)
Narya
01/10/18 07:18 pm
How are things, Alpha? :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Three

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 8:30 · For: If One Should Fall
Hi Narya!

I hope Leofwyne is going to be alright. Not just for his sake but for Haddan's sake. I don't know what he'd do if he lost his friend.

And what's happened to Mistress Aedre? Surely she hasn't bounced back from her miscarriage that quickly. I hope Sarlic hasn't harmed her.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 6:12 · For: Wineskins and Dead Things
So Leofwyne really would love a sister. Just by the way he responded to finding out the latest baby was a girl. That's the type of brother a little sister would ever want. So heartbreaking, Narya.

I thought there was something hinting to Haddan and Leofwyne being slightly more than friends. Tiny flutterings of love, perhaps. Aww! That's so beautiful!

His father does not approve of this 'weakness' within his son, and is using this as an excuse to vent his anger and anguish over the loss of yet another child. Oh! Leofwyne! You poor, poor child.

I hope someone is able to come to the rescue before the situation becomes dire. :/


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:48 · For: Fear in the Dark
Haddan you should listen to your sister!

I get the feeling she has the gift of foresight.

I'm really worried for Leofwyne. :(


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:43 · For: Drink With Me
I had to laugh! Berthe sounds like she's quite a force to reckon with.

*Haddan would regret that slip of the tongue for a long time, Leofwyne thought ruefully as he made his way home. He had long ago concluded that he'd rather battle a troop of Orcs with his feet mired in a bog and his hands tied behind his back than incur Berthe's wrath himself; he fervently believed that she'd be able to make a dragon feel guilty about hoarding treasure, if she were so inclined.*

Poor Leofwyne, his father seems like one of those men who is dangerously quiet. You never know when they're angry for it doesn't show on their face. Possibly a slight glint in their eye is all the sign you get before all hell breaks loose. So very sad and frightening. :/


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:27 · For: Birthday Present
Haddan and Filwyn are so sweet, treating Leofwyne as their brother. :)

And it was great to see his adopted family celebrating his birthday, something I'm gathering he doesn't get at home. A bit sad. :(


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 9:09 · For: Childhood
I love how they are inseparable.

And the things they get up to-Leofwyne winning a bottle of ink from an upper city boy and made patterns and pictures by drawing lines between the spots on their stomachs, where they had children's pox.

Typical of children. Having fun and thinking about the consequences later. lol.

This sounds both intriguing and ominous. *The tale of the three begun, and the world turned on its axis and grew dark.* Oooh! Narya. I want to know more. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like them :) it's funny actually, going back to these chapters - I'm working on a later section now, where they're a bit older. And we're pre-Ring War, so the world is growing darker, I'm afraid, and it will impact their lives eventually. Thank you so much for reading and leaving these lovely comments, Gabriel.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like them :) it's funny actually, going back to these chapters - I'm working on a later section now, where they're a bit older. And we're pre-Ring War, so the world is growing darker, I'm afraid, and it will impact their lives eventually. Thank you so much for reading and leaving these lovely comments, Gabriel.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 5:49 · For: Be Careful
Oh! Narya.

Young Leofwyne has had a lot of hardship in his life so far, hasn't he.

*His stomach chilled at the thought of the rag-wrapped, dead things the midwife carried away from his house year after year, while his mother cried and his father drank ale and wore an iron face.* :(

He seems quite taken too with Filwyn. Like his secret wish is to have a baby brother or sister.

And now he may be being beaten. Oh! dear. Poor thing!

Author's Response: You'll see more of Leo as we move through - he's the third of our trio ;) and yes, he's had a rough time and will continue to have one, although there are bright spots in his life too.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 12:09 · For: Smile
Awww! This was so sweet! Filwyn's new big brother becoming rather smitten with his knew baby sister.

I wonder if after Haddan's initial dislike of her, that she'll end up being the light in his life. Becoming super protective of her.

This is good Narya! :)

Author's Response: Haha, light of his life is right...although she'll cause him a fair share of problems too! I'm so glad you like this, Gabriel. Thank you very much for taking the time to read and comment.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:51 · For: An Introduction
This is both heartwrenching and heartwarming, Narya!

Its lovely to see the baby was given to someone who will cherish her as she deserves.

Yet sad also for how it came about. But such is the way of life. As long as the baby has someone to love and care for it, I think that's all that matters.

You've piqued my interest, Narya!

I'm quite intrigued as to what will happen. :D

Author's Response: Yes, the little girl isn't going to be short of love and affection. It is sad how it came about (and later that will become important) but it must have been a reality of life in Edoras. We only really see the more "noble" aspects in LOTR.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:34 · For: Edoras, 3001, Third Age
OH! My Gosh! Poor Rheda!

What is to become of her baby girl?

I've always thought how harsh and unforgiving and so very heartbreaking childbirth was back in medieval times. How so many women must have died in the throws of or from complications after. Especially considering its supposed to be a time of celebration.


Can't wait to see what happens! :)

Author's Response: Hi Gabriel! Ooh, you found this one. I have a real soft spot for this, and the characters, although it has a bit of a funny history. It started life as a series of prompts on LOTRFF, so it was originally written as a bunch of little glimpses into the lives of some ordinary citizens of Edoras. I started re-writing it to make it more of a coherent story, but work got in the way :( I'm glad you like it though, and it will be finished eventually!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 22:35 · For: Locked Away
Oh, no, events are moving and the plot thickens very much upon us. I so want these three to have some happiness, but now the War of the Ring is lashing at their gates, Theoden has fallen ill, Eowyn is beginning to feel more and more trapped...

Author's Response: Yes, it's all growing rather dark...but there are still some bright spots to come, don't worry :) I'm sorry it's taken so long to update - thank you so much for continuing to read and review.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2017 22:28 · For: Locked Away

You do a wonderful job of letting the reader imagine the creeping evil at the borders, and within, of Rohan.

Cold crept through his insides, as it often did when he thought of Filwyn. 

 

Just makes me think how easy of would be to lose her, how vulnerable they all are and how they do not know where each other is. And there is Grima now, just a mention, but it'senough to get your hackles rising.

Great chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy! That's exactly what I'm going for at this point in the story, evil creeping around the edges - they're a little older now, and there'll still be some joyful moments, but as we know, there is a nasty storm coming. And yes, Grima. I'm still not entirely sure how it will play out between him and Leo; we know Grima meets his end in the Shire, but there is a confrontation coming before his unmasking, that's for sure.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 18:29 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship

oops- I posted my review for this on the previous chapter- so was disappointed no new chapter:( but happy to re-read! Lovely wrting- I do trust you to bring them back together some day.



Author's Response: Ahh, sorry you were disappointed - I promise not to make you wait too long for an update! And don't worry, they'll see each other again.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2017 22:29 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting
Oh, that was a wonderful chapter, Narya - I have missed these three. I actually love the suspicion of how Grima survived, even if it is ghastly, and am so sad that Berthe is dead. But now they're pretty much on their own, and stil so young

I am glad you're writing agin :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Spiced! <3 I can't believe people are still interested after all this time. I feel like my writing is a little out of sync at the moment, but I've had dry spells before, and it always takes a while to feel like it's really "flowing" again. But yes, life is about to get tough for the three of them very fast...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 22:31 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship

Oh no! You've split them up and they will grow apart! This was such a sad chapter with dear Berthe's death previously but now the consequences and them being almost victims of other's good intentions- they are drifting apart. What will happen next????



Author's Response: Yes, I've split them up...like Berthe's death, this was always part of the plan. They'll grow up apart for a while, but don't worry, they won't forget each other. And we all know that war is brewing in the background, so the question is what strange paths will that set them on? Thank you, ziggy, for your kind reviews.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2017 23:12 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting

I was SOOOpleased to see this up, Narya:) Made me happy. I have missed these lovely characters. You write them so well that I was doing a little jig with Leo's success

 

It was enough. Leofwyne's legs felt light and hollow - it wasn't the warm glow he got from telling his stories to Haddan and Filwyn, or the satisfaction of crafting a play for the citizens of Edoras outside Meduseld. This was something thrilling, intoxicating - like his gallops across the plain on Weland's back, when he had been younger. He thought of the old horse with a pang, but he knew Aiken would take good care of him.

 

And you mix the happy glow of success with layering the characters with emotions and memories- you see, that is such good writing!!

 

And you have managed to make Grima even more chilling and creepy that he was in the original!!

But the men who were there that day say that lumps of flesh had been bitten out of the bodies they examined."

 

Oh Narya- I knew when you had Thorn put his head on her lap- but this was a really deeply moving scene. Leo's reaction is perfect and dear Thorn is so gorgeous. Love these characters so very much. Please keep writing it.



Author's Response: Ahh, thank you ziggy <3 I'm so pleased you're still interested in Leo & co., after all this time! "And you have managed to make Grima even more chilling and creepy that he was in the original!!" You know, I've had it in my head!canon for a number of years that Wormtongue is a cannibal - I wrote him as one in a very short piece I did about his time in the Shire. Since this story touches on his early days in Rohan, I thought I'd weave in a bit of backstory for him, and Eomer's suspicions just found their way in. He doesn't miss much, after all. " I knew when you had Thorn put his head on her lap- but this was a really deeply moving scene." Thank you, my dear, I'm really glad you think so. It was hard to write, I've been putting it off - but this was always the plan. Now the three of them are going to face some very tough challenges indeed. I will keep writing now, I just needed a way back into it. I have most of the next chapter ready - hopefully I can get that up this weekend. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it really made my day.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:15 · For: Echoes

THis is such an ominious note to leave them on- because we know they must meet an orc at some point. Thsi is such a wonderful story, so beatifully written and with canon characters just touching the edges - I throughly enjyed reading it again and dohope you will post more soon.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy. I'm so pleased people are still reading and enjoying this after so many years; I posted the first version back on lotrfanfiction.com almost nine years ago! I will set some time aside to rebuild the chapters I lost in the laptop disaster, and carry on from there - I owe it to people like you who've waited so patiently, and to the characters as well. Watch this space.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:10 · For: Nursing

Beautiful moment when they hold hands, and such accuracy in the medical detail. Wondeful wonderful writing!



Author's Response: Thank you <3 there was a lot of research involved so I'm glad the detail works!

Author's Response: Thank you <3 there was a lot of research involved so I'm glad the detail works!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:08 · For: Wineskins and Dead Things

It hurts to read this- such a brilliant depiction of domestic violence, so sharp to read.



Author's Response: It was tough to write as well :( I remember struggling with this. (Sorry if you're getting multiple responses, I don't know why but the site seems to be duplicating a lot of what I post).


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 10:07 · For: Drink With Me

This popped up on th random story generator and I remembe reading and enjoying ti so much- I do hope you haven't abandoned it in the wilds...like a little orphan deer! Isay this to blackmail you into writing more, Narya. Original, delightful characters, beautiful descriptions and completely absorbing.



Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.

Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.

Author's Response: Ziggy! I'm so sorry, I've been away for ages and only just came back to check the site. Thank you so much for re-reading :) I do plan to continue, I had a bit of a disaster with this one though. I had about three more chapters almost ready, and then my computer broke, so I lost them. I was disheartened and didn't write any more for a while. I plan to post something soon so watch this space ;) *hugs* I hope life is treating you well.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2016 23:26 · For: Echoes

LOve this- such domesticity and just getting on with life... and then you drop that question in and it is chilling. Brilliant.



Author's Response: Aww, thanks, ziggy *hugs* I'm enjoying the last few domestic scenes, things get dark soon :(


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2016 18:44 · For: Echoes
Another scream. Filwyn shifted, feeling the earth floor beneath the soles of her boots. To say this wasn't a complicated birth, it still seemed terrible. She glanced at the woman birthing and her stomach somersaulted - for a brief moment, the woman had seemed to wear her own face.

Are these foreseeings, I wonder?

Great sense of dark things coming closer at the end!

Author's Response: I can't really say yes or no to that *grins* but the callbacks to Fil's own birth were obviously deliberate. And yes, dark things are coming - soon :-( thank you for reading and taking the time to comment.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2016 16:46 · For: For Love of a Mother
I'm so glad you're carrying on with this. I love how the characters are developing, even though they are still young. You have some wonderful characters in this story :)

Author's Response: And I'm so glad you're still following it, after all this time! To be honest I've never really stopped working on it; I have loads of notes and flowcharts and snippets, but the last two years have been so incredibly busy that I've struggled to find chunks of time to sit and write it down, then re-read and edit. I will finish, though, one day; I love the characters too much to leave their story unresolved.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2016 23:45 · For: For Love of a Mother

I am so happy to have you back and writing this wonderful fic-the characters are so alive and credible, they are not perfect and that simply adds to the overall effect. I love Leo. So gentle and kind. ANd the story has real pace and domesticity but at the same time, feels like it is part of the epic tale. Wonderful writing.



Author's Response: Thanks, ziggy. I actually wrote this (and a few other chapters) back in the autumn, but things got crazy and I never got round to proofing and editing. I'm so glad you enjoyed it - I was worried it would jar, since it's been so long.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2013 23:18 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall

Oh- what a wonderful chapter, Narya- I have mISSED this! Such detail and subtley. Just the touch from Grima, a little too close, that kiss as he leaves- dangerous games.

 

I have a feeling that Caedwulf will be a powerful ally and he is a great OC- hugley charismatic and just leaps off the page. Very real and 'present'.

 

I love your Eowyn- just how I imagine her to be too. I really htink this is the best Rohan story. Looking forward to more and please dont do any more exams for a bit!



Author's Response: Hi ziggy! Yes, I've been rather useless, haven't I? Sorry about that - I'm so glad you're still interested in it after all this time! Thank you for taking time out and reviewing <3 yes, Caedwulf is a good person to have onside - and I'm glad you like Eowyn. There are plenty of cute mini-Eowyn fics kicking around, but I haven't seen many writers explore the awkward becoming-a-woman phase with her. The focus is obviously on Had, Fil and Leo, but I wanted to show how she became the Eowyn of the trilogy. We'll see as time goes on whether I've managed it! :)


You must login () to review.