| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I Will Share Your Road by lotrfan General Audiences
The road from Tirion is harsh and difficult but Nolofinwë finds his arrival in Beleriand far different than he expected...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Hot for Teacher by amyfortuna Explicit
Rúmil has a surprise for his favourite student (and lover); the student exceeds expectations.
In the Eye of the Beholder by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod takes a trip north to visit his cousins, taking a notable piece of jewelry with him and imparting some interesting...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1664
Chapters: 8506
Word count: 25836072
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15820
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/18 01:42 pm
Happy Friday, everyone
Spiced Wine
07/19/18 11:32 am
Oh, no! Only one more day, Narya!
Narya
07/19/18 09:34 am
I got up all excited this morning because I thought it was Friday...nope! Brain fail.
Narya
07/19/18 09:33 am
Belated happy birthday, Glorfindel :)
Glorfindel
07/18/18 09:27 pm
Thank you for the birthday wishes :) I had a lovely birthday!
Ysilme
07/16/18 11:46 pm
Same here, Siân. Sending lots of love and positive vibes! *hugs*
Narya
07/15/18 12:06 am
Glad your Mum is home, Spiced. I hope you've been able to unwind a bit today.
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 10:56 pm
My Mum’s been in hospital since Sunday, just came home, and I have been rushing in and out of hospital all week so I think I am going to relax, if poss!
Narya
07/13/18 06:32 pm
Fri-YAY! What's everyone up to this weekend?
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 11:04 am
And happy Friday all
Shout Archive


Reviews For Three

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2018 11:01 · For: Whispers and Changes
I hope Filwyn and Mae can escape their dreary lives in Rohan and go and explore the world, empower themselves.

Somehow I think if Filwyn was to stay in Rohan and was forced to marry, Eadric would have to drag her kicking and screaming down the isle. :)

Author's Response: I hope so too (genuinely not sure at this point!) - but yes, Eadric would certainly have a fight on his hands if he tried to force it :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2018 22:02 · For: Whispers and Changes
I only have the fuzziest ideas myself, and sometimes a huge blank, so yes, I just listen, and then the characters shout. :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes - shout, kick, scream, whinge, and tweak my ear at the most inappropriate moments! And then sometimes shut up for months at a time, but that's usually my fault; if I ignore them for too long they start to sulk...


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2018 22:10 · For: Whispers and Changes
Oh, Filwyn, and Mae — I hope you can realise your dreams and discover something else than the round of marry, bed, breed that is the lot of most women in Rohan. Thou the shadows are gathering now in earnest and I fear things will worse before they can realise their dreams.

Author's Response: Mmm, we are definitely heading in the direction of dark and nasty :( and I'm not 100% sure how this story ends any more, or how it will turn out for any of them (sorry if that gives you no confidence whatsoever). I did have a plan, but it went out of the window about ten or twelve chapters back, and every time I think I've figured it out, one of the characters turns round and decides they're doing their own thing and screw what I thought was happening. I'm just listening at this point!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 13:31 · For: Seeking Solace

Listen, Raedwald, I want you to know that we're all by your side.” He thought of the phrase Hengist had used about Éothain, and the trials to come. “When we were crawling through the mud last night you said that wasn't what we signed up for. You were joking, I think, but in a way you're right; it wasn't. Just know this. Whatever road it is you need to walk, we will walk it with you, because that is what it means to be a soldier of the Mark. That is what we sign up for – to fight side by side as brothers, against Orcs, against our own fear, against whatever enemy is coming for us.”

 

I was cheering and crying at the same time when I read this, Narya! Lovely writing and I love these characters so much!

Ah- so it's not to be with Garrett then? Shame. I am a little bit on love with him myself!



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ziggy, that means a lot that you care about the characters so much! Haha, a lot of people seem to have got attached to Garrett very quickly (including me) - although if he gets too close to Haddan, I think Gabriel might start a Garrett Assassination Society, to go with Naledi's Imrahil Assassination Society for your fics!

I wouldn't say it's not to be... ;) just not quite at this moment in time!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 11:22 · For: Seeking Solace
I remember the beating; and I thought that was the way they dealt with it (same-sex relationships) but wasn’t sure. Thank you

Author's Response: No problem! I'm flattered that you're interested enough in the world and story to ask :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2018 1:02 · For: Seeking Solace
I'm sorry Narya! I had to come back and mention this.

But this has been bugging me since Garrett made an appearance, in this and the last chapter.

I didn't want to say any thing because I love Haddan and Leofwyne so much. Hence why I kept mentioning 'friend' when I spoke about Garrett.

But I did get the distinct impression Garrett likes Haddan and not just as a 'friend' but is eyeing him up as someone he might like to start a relationship with. Hence, I guess, the very guarded question about Leofwyne.

Okay! Phew! Got it off my chest. Thanks Narya! :)

Author's Response: Aww, Gabriel, I hope it isn't worrying you too much! The way I see it is that yes, Garrett *is* attracted to Haddan, but at this point it is just attraction. I wouldn't say he's exactly intending to pursue a relationship. There are plenty of things giving him pause at the moment - not least the fact that Haddan has just been through something horrible and needs a friend, as you said before, rather than any emotional complications. And now he knows about Leo. I mean, in future, who knows, but that's how things sit at the moment - and really, I don't think anyone could ever replace Leo for Haddan, or vice versa, whatever they may get up to when they're separated. I hope that helps; I don't intend to use Garrett as an obstacle to their relationship (although fair warning, these boys have a mind of their own and don't always do as I ask them...)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2018 21:42 · For: Seeking Solace
Things like that must have happened, Narya, so I feel you’re just being authentic.

There’s something enormously attractive about Garret, and it didn’t feel as if he was being invasive, but as if there was something *there* and he was just putting out feelers; I can’t remember now if same sex relations are hidden in Rohan or not spoken of, but it just seemed like he was wondering if any interest would be reciprocated.

Author's Response: "There’s something enormously attractive about Garret, and it didn’t feel as if he was being invasive, but as if there was something *there* and he was just putting out feelers" - I'm glad you think so. It definitely wasn't supposed to be invasive, so I'm happy it worked and that you like him. At this point he is just being a friend, but yes, there is a bit more under the surface - although he wasn't sure about the age gap, hence the slightly teasing question about how old Haddan is. The way I write same sex relations in Rohan is that M/M is considered acceptable when the men are away from their wives and/or need relief and distraction after battle, but it's not seen as a valid lifestyle choice; a romantic relationship would be frowned upon at best. "Marriage is between a man and a woman" and all that - there's a chapter somewhere with Udela talking to Fil about it. Leo's father beats him in part because he thinks Leo and Haddan feel more than friendship for each other. As for F/F, rather like our own Victorians, it doesn't even factor into social considerations because women were generally not free to choose who they love or marry - they might have had some input, preferences might have been considered, but at the end of the day it's the father/male guardian's decision. I plan to go into that a little more as Filwyn grows up.

None of that has any basis in canon at all btw, that's just how it is in my head!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2018 16:32 · For: Seeking Solace
Poor, poor Raedwald :( And Garret is already proving a wise and decent person. And perceptive if he caught that Leofwyne is more than a brother — I can’t help wondering if he is asking that from more than just friendship...?

Author's Response: I know, I am being brutal there :( but the brutal side isn't something we see a lot of in canon (at least not Third Age) so I wanted to explore it, if only tangentially. As for Garrett...I was hoping someone might pick up on that ;) thank you so much for reading and commenting.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2018 7:00 · For: Seeking Solace
It was so nice to read a bit more about Haddan, before you send us back to Edoras and Leofwyne. I wondered what had become of him and how he was doing.

Haddan's become quite the young man, hasn't he?

He's grown up so much in three years. But then being a Soldier requires men not boys no matter how old you are. And training, being sundered from home and battling bands of Orcs will do that to you.

Really like Garrett. It's just so fitting how Garrett turned up just when Haddan needed the help. He really needs a friend right now, someone he can trust and rely on. And who understands him; Soldier to Soldier. And even though Garrett has shared a little of his background he's still quite an intriguing character.

And so where to for Haddan now? I mean there doesn't appear to be much of his Company left what with his Commanding Officer's role hanging in the balance and his comrades out for the count. It will be interesting to see where this takes him, Narya!

I especially loved how Garrett picked up on Haddan and Leofwyne being more than just brother's and friends. He can really read people well. And Haddan needs the offered acceptance. Garrett asked in such a way like it was normal to love whomever you liked. Like Garrett even more for that. :)

Aww! Gees! I love these boys! I can't wait for them to see each other again.

This is such a wonderful story! It's just so nice to read about Rohan as well as the Elves. The contrast in cultures etc.:D

I have to admit, Narya, that I wasn't all that interested in the world of Men, when I first joined 'Faerie'. But you and a couple of other fantastic writers have completely changed my view. Thank you!

Author's Response: He has definitely grown up - and needed to! I was reflecting the other day that in some ways, in the early chapters, he's the most immature of the three of them, but war does change people. I think he has become more even-tempered and reflective, although I'm sure those strong feelings will flare back up in the right circumstances.

I'm so pleased you like Garrett. He did literally just turn up as I was writing; I wasn't expecting or planning him at all. Maybe part of my brain knew that Haddan would need a friend and wrote one in! He does understand him, Haddan, and I'm glad you think he's intriguing, because there is more of his background to come. He does read people well and as you say he is accepting, but he has a couple of secrets of his own ;) as for where Haddan goes next, he's trained now, and they won't let that go to waste. He will train/ride/fight with another company for a while, until enough of his own comrades are better - that is, unless my evil author brain comes up with something else in the meantime!

I love Rohan. It's funny, I was the opposite to you; when I started in fandom I was all about the horse lords, and came to appreciate the Elves more over time, when I read writers like Spiced and Ziggy - although I had a soft spot for Maglor right from the beginning. He is one of those characters that I'm randomly protective of, and will try to justify his actions any which way!

Digressing now...thank you so much, Gabriel, as always. I'm so happy you're enjoying this. I've been writing it for ten years on and off now (I told you I was a slow writer!) so I'm very attached to it, and the characters.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2018 7:43 · For: The Eyes Have It
Oh Narya!

You are torturing me! LOL!

I want to find out more about this Garrett! He sounds interesting, intriguing, helping Haddan like he did. I like him already. :)

I knew Haddan's Company would come off worse for wear against the Uruks. But I'm so pleased the men did not let the Uruks go without a fight. {Grinning wolfishly}

I'm equally relieved Haddan wasn't seriously injured. He has to look heart-stoppingly gorgeous for when he sees Leofwyne again. {Wiggling eyebrows suggestively} :D

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, I don't mean to torture you ;) I'm pleased you like Garrett, he has (I think) a rather interesting little backstory. And yes, these are fierce warriors, they aren't going down without a real fight.

"He has to look heart-stoppingly gorgeous for when he sees Leofwyne again. {Wiggling eyebrows suggestively} " - LOL...don't worry, I have that moment drafted. I just hope you enjoy it, when we get there! Thank you so much, Gabriel.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2018 19:25 · For: The Eyes Have It
I have an old poetry book of my nan’s with some WWI poems in it, and this did remind of them, yes.

Ahah. One of those :) Sometime they do just show up, Yes ;)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm pleased it did! Obviously the technology is different, but the emotions aren't. And yes, characters do just pop up occasionally, don't they!? It's the ones that appear that way that almost always end up being my favourites...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2018 17:11 · For: The Eyes Have It

Brilliant and wonderful chapter, Narya!!! That battle scene is amazing- very close, intense, frightening. Absolutely convincing. And the contrast with home just heghtened the contrast. 

Like this Garrett- he seems promising:)



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy, I'm really pleased it worked; it took a while before I was happy with it! And I'm glad Garrett appeals to you. He wasn't in any of my notes, he just sort of appeared on the page and announced his backstory - so more of him to come in future chapters.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2018 16:25 · For: The Eyes Have It
Oh, that was brutal, Narya :( War always is but you bring it very close and personal, which is really skilled.

Garret is intriguing, I hope we shall read more of him.

Author's Response: Thank you, Spiced. I think war always is personal. When I write battles I always think of the WW1 literature I studied at school and uni; I don't have the language skills for poetry, but the ones I was most affected by always seemed to focus on something small and personal - a single individual dying, a friend injured. I'm glad you like Garrett - I like him too, although I didn't plan him in the slightest, he just sort of turned up!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2018 12:56 · For: Autumn Twilight

SUperb chapter, Narya. Brilliantly structured- that last two scenes has me completely on the edge of my seat. Don't wait too long please to update.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ziggy! Working on it this weekend and through next week; I know that was a mean cliffie :-)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2018 6:52 · For: Autumn Twilight
Oh! Narya! Lovely chapter!

They are so beautifully connected!

I hope nothing terrible has happened to Haddan. But if they were planning to ambush Uruks, then there is a nasty surprise awaiting them. :(

I love how you had Leofwyne feel an icy squeeze to his heart with the bond he and Haddan have. You've woven such a romantic air about these two, its so beautiful.

But Filwyn's prayer to the stars, begging her brother's both be safe, was such a tearjerker.

I have to say, Narya, you've created such wonderful characters in these three and a very emotional storyline.


Can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it :-) it was going to be longer but I thought I'd be mean and leave it on the cliffhanger. Yes, those Uruks could prove to be a nasty surprise for Haddan and his comrades. I'm pleased that linking in Fil and Leo worked for you, too; I was worried that might feel cheesy, but they have such a close bond even after being apart for a while, and I wanted to show that. Thank you for taking the time to comment, Gabriel!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2018 21:46 · For: Autumn Twilight
It really felt as if I was there, with Haddan, and I love the feeling I get sometimes knowing that whatever else is going on in the ‘main’ LOTR story, beyond that others are creating their own tales.

These 3 are so connected, Filwyn and Leofwyne feeling the danger that Haddan is in!

Author's Response: I'm glad it worked for you :) and yes, they are very linked, even after being apart for a few years. Thank you so much for reading and commenting.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 12:09 · For: Locked Away
So its been three years since Haddan joined Eomer's Company. I would imagine a lot would have changed since Leo saw him last.

Part of me hopes he's grown into a magnificent specimen of a man and leaves Leo gawping and speechless, heart thumping in his chest. :)

Orcs seen close to the city. That is a bit of a worry and will have the Army on edge. This I'm sure is connected to Grima in some way, as is the King's sudden heart problems and how convenient it was that Grima sent Theodred in pursuit of the Orcs. :/ This is getting mighty suspicious.


Just a quick question. Wasn't there another story you suggested I read after this one?

Wonderful story so far, Narya! :)

Author's Response: Oh, I actually love that idea - Haddan turning up and Leofwyne being overcome by this absolute hottie. I wonder if he'd even recognise him? And yes, Orcs :( I wanted to show the war creeping closer to home for all of them. Thank you so much for all your kind comments, Gabriel, they make my day :) as for which story next, Second Chance is my other longer one, and that's complete. It's partly set in Edoras and takes place in the same universe as this one, but the overlaps are very minor - some OC characters, a couple of passing references to events, and that's it. It's set post-Ring War, but it isn't a continuation of this; we don't see Haddan, Leo and Fil. So in short, read it if you would like to and have time (I'm always delighted when someone reads an older work!) but there's no pressure - it won't change your reading experience of Three, I don't think. *Hugs* have a great weekend.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 11:27 · For: Dawn
OMG! Narya!

Get the tissues out!

You write them so beautifully! I think I've mentioned that before somewhere.

Its so sad. I hope they do see each other again like Leo said.

Author's Response: Oh, they will, eventually ;) but what will happen between now and then...? (Warning - not entirely sure even I know the answer to that. Sorry!!!)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 11:14 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship
Oh! Narya! Just as I thought. Now its all falling apart for them.

I can't believe he just up and took her. Filwyn's Uncle. Mind you I guess with no mother he probably thought he was doing the best thing possible for her.

Poor Haddan, he's lost so much in his young life. I guess that's why he and Leofwyne have such an affinity.

I love when you put these two together in an intimate setting. They're so adorable. Their love is so young, beautiful and unexplored.

Such a heartwrenching chapter. "Sniff!"

Author's Response: He did think it was best - and also I think he would have seen her as his "property" at this point, as her only male adult blood relative. We'll see her again in the next chapter I post, a little older and wiser. And I'm so glad you like them :) at first I struggled writing the youthful romance, but after a while it came naturally and they just wrote themselves. Thank you, Gabriel!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 11:41 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting
Eowyn's getting rather chummy with Leo. Mind you if he can protect her against Grima all the better.


And Eomer coming into the picture. Love Eomer. I think its because he adores his sister and is extremely protective of her.

Dear Berthe! She went so quickly. A matter of hours, so sad.
Even more heartbreaking was Leofwyne finding her. :(

What do they do now? This is not looking good, Narya!

Author's Response: Yes, they do seem to have formed a bond, don't they? Glad you liked Eomer, I enjoyed writing him :) but Berthe, I know. This has been coming for a while, her health hasn't been good since the very beginning. It was still a sad part for me to write. And now? Well, you've got a few more chapters to go, and then into the unknown parts that I haven't written yet, so things could still change - I have a plan but who knows how that will play out?? Thank you so much for all these lovely reviews, Gabriel, it's really kind of you.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 6:45 · For: Echoes
Wow! Filwyn getting her first taste of life as a Midwife. And at such a young age too.

Filwyn seeing her own face in Eadwacer's. Maybe a premonition of sorts. Very intriguing, considering she has no intention of getting married or having any children. :)

Author's Response: Well, things don't always go to plan :) but a few chapters back, one of the reasons Fil's uncle was so affected by meeting her was that she looks like Rheda, although I'm not sure I explicitly said that, come to think of it. So...flash forward or flash back? We'll see!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2018 7:00 · For: For Love of a Mother
I wish Leofwyne wouldn't tease Haddan. I love these two, but I think poor Haddan has enough on his plate, what with his mother's sickness, his envy of Leo and Fil's futures, coupled with his newfound feelings for his foster brother without Leo adding to it.

Its rather sad that children back in those times more often than not were forced to grow up at such young ages. Giving up what they love in order to keep an ailing parent or sibling with medicine.

Yay! Haddan is finally doing something towards his future. But at the same time I notice all their lives are going in very different directions. So I hope that Haddan and Leo can still pursue what tentative relationship they have, at present, and turn into something solid and strong that will last the tests of time and distance and anything else that may arise. *Crossing fingers* :)

I'm just getting that worrying feeling again, Narya! Like this is a prelude to tough times for the boys. What with Haddan becoming a Soldier, which will undoubtedly take him away more often than not, galavanting around Rohan and possibly further afield. Oh! This is torture! :/

I just want to see these two together! :)

Author's Response: I know; they're not always as kind to each other as they could be. They're just kids really, but as you say, they have to grow up fast. And prelude is right - this is very much the calm before the storm. Sorry...!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2018 5:54 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall
I feel quite sorry for Eowyn the only female amongst all those men in the Golden Hall, with Grima's slimy hand of lust gracing her young shoulder every where she goes. *Shivers*

And I know she says she's quite lonely and desperate for the company of people her own age, but do I detect the beginning of feelings for Leo here? Or am I just reading too much into it.

That makes me feel more for her if she does. :(

Author's Response: Hi! :) Sorry for the slow response (again) - I have been away without internet. You're not reading too much into it; she is attracted to Leo. I hadn't exactly planned that but when I started writing them it made sense, since he's the only boy her own age around. Thank you for these comments, you're such a lovely, attentive reader :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 11:11 · For: Tell Me
I maybe wrong, Narya, but I get the distinct feeling Udela cares for Berthe a little more than just a friend would.

I'm so glad Filwyn wasn't at all repulsed by what the boys were doing or by the explanation Udela gave on the matter. So accepting is Filwyn. Such a sweetheart.

Well, that's Leo and Fil's futures sorted, I guess. Just Haddan to go now. Will he choose the life of a Warrior or something else? :)

Author's Response: Ahhh, you picked that up!! I'm so happy! I think you're the first reader that has spotted it - or at least the first one to say so in a review. We don't get a lot of detail about Udela's feelings in this story as it's from the children's POV and they don't notice, or not at this point. There's definitely a side story or two about Udela though. She turned out to be a much more interest and important character than I expected. As for Fil, I think children are pretty accepting of anything unless someone tells them they shouldn't be. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, Gabriel. You're an absolute dream of a reader.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 10:45 · For: I Spy
Yay! For the boys. Finally taking the next step.


But not for Filwyn, who probably won't understand what's going on. :/

Author's Response: Sorry, butterfingers with that last response!! I was trying to say that I'm glad you're happy about Leo staying. I couldn't have split them up so soon! Yes, the boys are getting bolder and more comfortable with each other now :-)


You must login () to review.