| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...
Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1623
Chapters: 8329
Word count: 25170237
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15382
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 31


03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
Shout Archive

Reviews For Three

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2018 12:56 · For: Autumn Twilight

SUperb chapter, Narya. Brilliantly structured- that last two scenes has me completely on the edge of my seat. Don't wait too long please to update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ziggy! Working on it this weekend and through next week; I know that was a mean cliffie :-)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2018 6:52 · For: Autumn Twilight
Oh! Narya! Lovely chapter!

They are so beautifully connected!

I hope nothing terrible has happened to Haddan. But if they were planning to ambush Uruks, then there is a nasty surprise awaiting them. :(

I love how you had Leofwyne feel an icy squeeze to his heart with the bond he and Haddan have. You've woven such a romantic air about these two, its so beautiful.

But Filwyn's prayer to the stars, begging her brother's both be safe, was such a tearjerker.

I have to say, Narya, you've created such wonderful characters in these three and a very emotional storyline.

Can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it :-) it was going to be longer but I thought I'd be mean and leave it on the cliffhanger. Yes, those Uruks could prove to be a nasty surprise for Haddan and his comrades. I'm pleased that linking in Fil and Leo worked for you, too; I was worried that might feel cheesy, but they have such a close bond even after being apart for a while, and I wanted to show that. Thank you for taking the time to comment, Gabriel!

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2018 21:46 · For: Autumn Twilight
It really felt as if I was there, with Haddan, and I love the feeling I get sometimes knowing that whatever else is going on in the ‘main’ LOTR story, beyond that others are creating their own tales.

These 3 are so connected, Filwyn and Leofwyne feeling the danger that Haddan is in!

Author's Response: I'm glad it worked for you :) and yes, they are very linked, even after being apart for a few years. Thank you so much for reading and commenting.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 12:09 · For: Locked Away
So its been three years since Haddan joined Eomer's Company. I would imagine a lot would have changed since Leo saw him last.

Part of me hopes he's grown into a magnificent specimen of a man and leaves Leo gawping and speechless, heart thumping in his chest. :)

Orcs seen close to the city. That is a bit of a worry and will have the Army on edge. This I'm sure is connected to Grima in some way, as is the King's sudden heart problems and how convenient it was that Grima sent Theodred in pursuit of the Orcs. :/ This is getting mighty suspicious.

Just a quick question. Wasn't there another story you suggested I read after this one?

Wonderful story so far, Narya! :)

Author's Response: Oh, I actually love that idea - Haddan turning up and Leofwyne being overcome by this absolute hottie. I wonder if he'd even recognise him? And yes, Orcs :( I wanted to show the war creeping closer to home for all of them. Thank you so much for all your kind comments, Gabriel, they make my day :) as for which story next, Second Chance is my other longer one, and that's complete. It's partly set in Edoras and takes place in the same universe as this one, but the overlaps are very minor - some OC characters, a couple of passing references to events, and that's it. It's set post-Ring War, but it isn't a continuation of this; we don't see Haddan, Leo and Fil. So in short, read it if you would like to and have time (I'm always delighted when someone reads an older work!) but there's no pressure - it won't change your reading experience of Three, I don't think. *Hugs* have a great weekend.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 11:27 · For: Dawn
OMG! Narya!

Get the tissues out!

You write them so beautifully! I think I've mentioned that before somewhere.

Its so sad. I hope they do see each other again like Leo said.

Author's Response: Oh, they will, eventually ;) but what will happen between now and then...? (Warning - not entirely sure even I know the answer to that. Sorry!!!)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2018 11:14 · For: The Breaking of a Fellowship
Oh! Narya! Just as I thought. Now its all falling apart for them.

I can't believe he just up and took her. Filwyn's Uncle. Mind you I guess with no mother he probably thought he was doing the best thing possible for her.

Poor Haddan, he's lost so much in his young life. I guess that's why he and Leofwyne have such an affinity.

I love when you put these two together in an intimate setting. They're so adorable. Their love is so young, beautiful and unexplored.

Such a heartwrenching chapter. "Sniff!"

Author's Response: He did think it was best - and also I think he would have seen her as his "property" at this point, as her only male adult blood relative. We'll see her again in the next chapter I post, a little older and wiser. And I'm so glad you like them :) at first I struggled writing the youthful romance, but after a while it came naturally and they just wrote themselves. Thank you, Gabriel!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 11:41 · For: A Song, a History and a Parting
Eowyn's getting rather chummy with Leo. Mind you if he can protect her against Grima all the better.

And Eomer coming into the picture. Love Eomer. I think its because he adores his sister and is extremely protective of her.

Dear Berthe! She went so quickly. A matter of hours, so sad.
Even more heartbreaking was Leofwyne finding her. :(

What do they do now? This is not looking good, Narya!

Author's Response: Yes, they do seem to have formed a bond, don't they? Glad you liked Eomer, I enjoyed writing him :) but Berthe, I know. This has been coming for a while, her health hasn't been good since the very beginning. It was still a sad part for me to write. And now? Well, you've got a few more chapters to go, and then into the unknown parts that I haven't written yet, so things could still change - I have a plan but who knows how that will play out?? Thank you so much for all these lovely reviews, Gabriel, it's really kind of you.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 6:45 · For: Echoes
Wow! Filwyn getting her first taste of life as a Midwife. And at such a young age too.

Filwyn seeing her own face in Eadwacer's. Maybe a premonition of sorts. Very intriguing, considering she has no intention of getting married or having any children. :)

Author's Response: Well, things don't always go to plan :) but a few chapters back, one of the reasons Fil's uncle was so affected by meeting her was that she looks like Rheda, although I'm not sure I explicitly said that, come to think of it. So...flash forward or flash back? We'll see!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2018 7:00 · For: For Love of a Mother
I wish Leofwyne wouldn't tease Haddan. I love these two, but I think poor Haddan has enough on his plate, what with his mother's sickness, his envy of Leo and Fil's futures, coupled with his newfound feelings for his foster brother without Leo adding to it.

Its rather sad that children back in those times more often than not were forced to grow up at such young ages. Giving up what they love in order to keep an ailing parent or sibling with medicine.

Yay! Haddan is finally doing something towards his future. But at the same time I notice all their lives are going in very different directions. So I hope that Haddan and Leo can still pursue what tentative relationship they have, at present, and turn into something solid and strong that will last the tests of time and distance and anything else that may arise. *Crossing fingers* :)

I'm just getting that worrying feeling again, Narya! Like this is a prelude to tough times for the boys. What with Haddan becoming a Soldier, which will undoubtedly take him away more often than not, galavanting around Rohan and possibly further afield. Oh! This is torture! :/

I just want to see these two together! :)

Author's Response: I know; they're not always as kind to each other as they could be. They're just kids really, but as you say, they have to grow up fast. And prelude is right - this is very much the calm before the storm. Sorry...!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2018 5:54 · For: The Harper of the Golden Hall
I feel quite sorry for Eowyn the only female amongst all those men in the Golden Hall, with Grima's slimy hand of lust gracing her young shoulder every where she goes. *Shivers*

And I know she says she's quite lonely and desperate for the company of people her own age, but do I detect the beginning of feelings for Leo here? Or am I just reading too much into it.

That makes me feel more for her if she does. :(

Author's Response: Hi! :) Sorry for the slow response (again) - I have been away without internet. You're not reading too much into it; she is attracted to Leo. I hadn't exactly planned that but when I started writing them it made sense, since he's the only boy her own age around. Thank you for these comments, you're such a lovely, attentive reader :)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 11:11 · For: Tell Me
I maybe wrong, Narya, but I get the distinct feeling Udela cares for Berthe a little more than just a friend would.

I'm so glad Filwyn wasn't at all repulsed by what the boys were doing or by the explanation Udela gave on the matter. So accepting is Filwyn. Such a sweetheart.

Well, that's Leo and Fil's futures sorted, I guess. Just Haddan to go now. Will he choose the life of a Warrior or something else? :)

Author's Response: Ahhh, you picked that up!! I'm so happy! I think you're the first reader that has spotted it - or at least the first one to say so in a review. We don't get a lot of detail about Udela's feelings in this story as it's from the children's POV and they don't notice, or not at this point. There's definitely a side story or two about Udela though. She turned out to be a much more interest and important character than I expected. As for Fil, I think children are pretty accepting of anything unless someone tells them they shouldn't be. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, Gabriel. You're an absolute dream of a reader.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 10:45 · For: I Spy
Yay! For the boys. Finally taking the next step.

But not for Filwyn, who probably won't understand what's going on. :/

Author's Response: Sorry, butterfingers with that last response!! I was trying to say that I'm glad you're happy about Leo staying. I couldn't have split them up so soon! Yes, the boys are getting bolder and more comfortable with each other now :-)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 10:39 · For: King and Kin
Oh Dear! Leofwyne's first visit to the Golden Hall and Eowyn has him believing she is a young lad named Dernhelm. How embarrassing for him.

Oh MY Gosh! Do they even realize what they're doing, sending Grima off with Eowyn? A stranger no less and a creepy one at that. *Shivers*

What a relief Leo gets to live with his foster family, {and Haddan} *Big Smile* in particular, instead of removing to Meduseld.

Author's Response: Lol, yes, not his brightest moment! And at the moment the royal family haven't cottoned on to Wormtongue's true nature. And I'm glad you're happy that Leo is sta Yong with

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2018 6:24 · For: A Proposal
After all that Leo has endured he finally gets the break he was looking for.

Offered an Apprenticeship to a Harper. The royal Harper and by Prince Theodred no less. Wonderful news.

And now Mistress Berthe can relax some. Not having to work so hard as she has, running herself ragged and causing problems to her health.

Things are looking up for Leofwyne and his adopted family. But I'm almost hesitant to read on, Narya. A bit afraid that something or someone may come between Haddan and Leo, that will threaten their blossoming love. :/

I guess I'm just going to have to bite the bullet so to speak, be strong and read on. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, this is one of their happier moments :) whatever makes you think I would threaten this little family, though? *snickers* I hope I haven't put you off reading more! :) thank you, as always, Gabriel.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 24, 2018 5:51 · For: Firelight
Oh my gosh! Narya!

This was a positively beautiful chapter.

I was wondering when Haddan and Leofwyne were finally going to talk to each other. I was not disappointed, the tenderness and honesty between them bringing tears to my eyes. And how heartbreaking and frightening Leofwyne's injuries and circumstances had been to them, to everyone.

The body language between them spoke volumes illustrating how they feel about each other as they shifted around on the blankets.

But it was the hesitant and chaste kiss that I loved the most. How sweet and awkward it was.

They are gorgeous! :)

Author's Response: Hi Gabriel! I'm sorry, I keep missing review notifications...anyway, I'm really pleased you liked this. This is maybe my favourite chapter in the story (so far), as when I was writing it I wasn't 100% sure how the scene would play out. As you say, it was a difficult, frightening time for them, and their relationship was changing and they weren't sure how to respond. Thank you so much for continuing to read, and for being kind enough to leave a comment on each chapter, I really appreciate it.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2018 4:52 · For: A Tale of Three
So now its Leofwyne's turn to feel lost, but for very different reasons.

It was quite sobering to see him spend his time apart from Haddan and Filwyn. While they frolicked within the city with other children he was riding his horse with Thorn in tow on the plains as he tries to assimilate the changes to his life.

And Filwyn has an Uncle! This is intriguing. I don't know whether I'm reading too much into this, Narya, but he seems a little creepy. What was all that about, dragging his eyes down over her little body with hunger and a sadness to them?

I could understand if it was merely an observation of the care she was receiving, but he seemed a little too strange for my liking. I hope he's not planning to split the family apart. Haddan Leofwyne and Berthe are her family now, to split them would be horrendous.

Oh my gosh! I just had a horrible idea. What if he is not her Uncle at all and is just pretending to be for reasons unknown. I think I've got to stop overthinking the story. lol.

I think Leofwyne has found his newfound talent. And a storyteller no less. :)

Looking forward to seeing where this all leads.

Author's Response: Yes, Leo hasn't quite figured out where his life is going at this point. He just needs some time to himself - he'll work it out in the end :) ooh, you know, I hadn't thought of the uncle as creepy, just sad, so it's intriguing that you picked that up. I love it when people find stuff in stories that I hadn't thought of. In fairness you're seeing him from Haddan's perspective, and as far as Haddan is concerned he's a threat to their family, so he is going to see him through a very biased lens. And yes, Leo has uncovered a new talent :) thank you for all these lovely comments, Gabriel, it's so kind of you.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2018 4:11 · For: What Doesn't Kill
Its a little sad Leo may not be able to pursue the life of a soldier. Especially when he had his heart set on it. It was very closely intertwined with Haddan's hopes and dreams of the future and that probably made it all the more heartbreaking.

But then as Udela pointed out, sometimes things happen for a reason, though at the time we can't see what that reason could be.

I like the end; "You're speaking to me again, then?" his friend said.

Haddan opened his mouth to protest, then saw the spark of mischief behind the tears and redness in Leo's eyes. He smiled back, but his insides twisted guiltily. "Forgive me?"

Leofwyne quirked an eyebrow and shrugged. "What's to forgive?" :)

Author's Response: Ahh, yes, they had planned on being soldiers together for a long time, so it's sad for them to lose that. But you're right, there are sometimes reasons for things happening. I'm glad you liked the ending :)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2018 4:09 · For: Family
Oh dear! Poor Haddan feels quite left out, doesn't he! He's trying to make sense of himself and of it all.

And Leo feels something too. I just hope they both don't start dancing round each other or putting up walls against each other.

And to add insult to injury Haddan is now berating himself for not seeing the signs. Or is it really about; if he had, all this could have been avoided and everything would have remained the same between them, less complications as there are now. I can understand that.

Wow! I think this is so beautiful a story and you write it wonderfully Narya! :)

Author's Response: Oh, it's definitely mutual, just neither of them are sure what to do about it at this point. And yes, I think you're right on the second point - part of Haddan is thinking that, if this had been avoided, things would have stayed the way they were. But of course he's wrong, because they're growing up, which would change things anyway; I think it's typical teenage doubt and fear about the future, amplified by the current situation. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it makes me so happy when people find and enjoy one of my stories :)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2018 3:49 · For: Nursing
Hi Narya! No need to worry. We've all had that problem one time or another. :/

Heard you hadn't been well and just wanted to leave you some reviews as a pick me up for when you felt better. :)

Leofwyne and Filwyn have such a lovely relationship. She's the sister he's always yearned for. But I really feel for Haddan here. Even I thought that Filwyn was taking up a little too much of Leo's time and attention. I know she's very young and this has all been a bit frightening for her at best not to mention they are extremely close and Filwyn thinks the world of him. But poor Haddan hasn't been able to get a look in. Mind you even if he had I doubt he would know what to do or say. He seems a little lost emotionally, now he has realized some things since Leo was beaten and left for dead.

This is both sweet and nerve wracking. And I am loving this story! :)

Author's Response: That's so kind of you, Gabriel :) I'm doing a lot better now, I had a nasty virus and was in bed for a few days, but it's finally subsided except for a cough (I have a lot of sympathy for Berthe at the moment!). You're right about Filwyn; she is young, and doesn't always see what the boys need, especially Haddan - she's a bit more sensitive to Leo. And lost is exactly how I would describe Haddan here; a lot of things are starting to make sense for him and he isn't sure where to go. I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story as I have a real soft spot for it; I'm actually working on the next chapter at the moment, it should be ready for next weekend.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 8:30 · For: If One Should Fall
Hi Narya!

I hope Leofwyne is going to be alright. Not just for his sake but for Haddan's sake. I don't know what he'd do if he lost his friend.

And what's happened to Mistress Aedre? Surely she hasn't bounced back from her miscarriage that quickly. I hope Sarlic hasn't harmed her.

Author's Response: It's alright, I'm not going to take Leo away from him - not yet, anyway ;) and as for Aedre, I haven't yet written the part where you find out what happened to her, but you will find out eventually. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Gabriel!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 6:12 · For: Wineskins and Dead Things
So Leofwyne really would love a sister. Just by the way he responded to finding out the latest baby was a girl. That's the type of brother a little sister would ever want. So heartbreaking, Narya.

I thought there was something hinting to Haddan and Leofwyne being slightly more than friends. Tiny flutterings of love, perhaps. Aww! That's so beautiful!

His father does not approve of this 'weakness' within his son, and is using this as an excuse to vent his anger and anguish over the loss of yet another child. Oh! Leofwyne! You poor, poor child.

I hope someone is able to come to the rescue before the situation becomes dire. :/

Author's Response: Yes, I think Leofwyne would have made a wonderful brother. And yes, you're right, there is *something* there, but they're both young and haven't figured it all out yet. As for coming to the rescue, you'll have to keep reading...

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:48 · For: Fear in the Dark
Haddan you should listen to your sister!

I get the feeling she has the gift of foresight.

I'm really worried for Leofwyne. :(

Author's Response: Not foresight exactly, but they do have a very deep bond, all three of them - a bit like when someone knows their sibling has been hurt, even thought they might be on the other side of the world. It will come into play again further on in the story.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:43 · For: Drink With Me
I had to laugh! Berthe sounds like she's quite a force to reckon with.

*Haddan would regret that slip of the tongue for a long time, Leofwyne thought ruefully as he made his way home. He had long ago concluded that he'd rather battle a troop of Orcs with his feet mired in a bog and his hands tied behind his back than incur Berthe's wrath himself; he fervently believed that she'd be able to make a dragon feel guilty about hoarding treasure, if she were so inclined.*

Poor Leofwyne, his father seems like one of those men who is dangerously quiet. You never know when they're angry for it doesn't show on their face. Possibly a slight glint in their eye is all the sign you get before all hell breaks loose. So very sad and frightening. :/

Author's Response: I had a hard time writing Leo's father, actually - I was going for that frightening stillness, so I'm really glad that's what came across in the story. And yes, Berthe is quite something. Thank you, Gabriel :)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2018 5:27 · For: Birthday Present
Haddan and Filwyn are so sweet, treating Leofwyne as their brother. :)

And it was great to see his adopted family celebrating his birthday, something I'm gathering he doesn't get at home. A bit sad. :(

Author's Response: Hi! I'm sorry I'm so late responding, the notifications ended up in my junk mail. It is sad, yes, but at least he has somewhere he can go and people that love him :)

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 9:09 · For: Childhood
I love how they are inseparable.

And the things they get up to-Leofwyne winning a bottle of ink from an upper city boy and made patterns and pictures by drawing lines between the spots on their stomachs, where they had children's pox.

Typical of children. Having fun and thinking about the consequences later. lol.

This sounds both intriguing and ominous. *The tale of the three begun, and the world turned on its axis and grew dark.* Oooh! Narya. I want to know more. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like them :) it's funny actually, going back to these chapters - I'm working on a later section now, where they're a bit older. And we're pre-Ring War, so the world is growing darker, I'm afraid, and it will impact their lives eventually. Thank you so much for reading and leaving these lovely comments, Gabriel.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like them :) it's funny actually, going back to these chapters - I'm working on a later section now, where they're a bit older. And we're pre-Ring War, so the world is growing darker, I'm afraid, and it will impact their lives eventually. Thank you so much for reading and leaving these lovely comments, Gabriel.

You must login () to review.