| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Powerful Absence

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2017 7:51 · For: Chapter 3
This was such great ending to a story with so much anguish.

Meeting Elrohir again. Not what he'd imagined, but there it is.
The Elves never really lose each other, do they.

This was such a great story! Loved it! :D

Author's Response:

Thank you.  I am very fond of this story - it is like having a favourite child   It came to me as an idea that wouldn't go away until I has written it, and so much of it really wrung me out writing it that I am always very happy when someone finds it and enjoys it.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2017 7:03 · For: Chapter 2
Just when I thought it couldn't get anymore sorrowful, I read this chapter and make for the tissues. Sniff!

Elladan finally making the journey to Valinor only to find Elrohir is not there, can't see him, can't feel him. I really feel for Elladan.

Great story!

Author's Response:

I felt really cruel doing that - but somehow Elrohir standing waving on the dockside was too simple for this tale.

By the way - I noticed the comment to chapter three first and thought it was for the whole story.  When I realised it wasn't, I also realised that I don't seem to be able to go back and edit it - so apologies for slightly odd replies :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2017 6:13 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a tear jerker.

You really are quite adept at exploring and writing emotional aftermaths of death, especially to do with the loss of those closest to the characters.

I don't think I could be a twin. So closely intertwined are they; it's bad enough losing other relatives.

Great chapter!

Author's Response:

 Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment - this story is a bit like a child who is not quite like his brothers and is secretly my favourite, so I am even more thrilled when it gets noticed than I am with some of the others! 

The idea came to me almost fully formed and wouldn't let me go until I had written it - but it really wrung me out along the way.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2015 0:24 · For: Chapter 3

Perfect, lovely. You gave back everyhting- and that touch with Estel and Arwen meeting elrohir...dabs at red and puffy eyes...snifff....lovely.



Author's Response:

Passes Ziggy a handkie and a glass of something nice...

I could see how it finished, on that gentle upswing, almost as soon as i saw how it began - but it was hard to put poor Elladan through the wringer even so.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 17, 2015 0:01 · For: Chapter 2

This is so terribly tragic, got me sobbing miserably and snuffling in to my hanky. Thsii si why i NEVER read The End of the Fellowship stories...



Author's Response:

It's why I make sure people know it is not a Returnverse story.  There the Fellowship ends slowly and gently over time!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2015 23:54 · For: Chapter 1

Kissing away the spambot.

I haven't read this for a little while so actually the nasty spambot has done me a favour- beautiful, poigant story. Made me cry



Author's Response:

I am so glad that you are not the spambot!  I always feel guilty about making people cry - but this was one of those things that grabbed me and made me write it, even as it made me want to cry too.



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2014 23:12 · For: Chapter 3
Beautiful short story :) i loved reading this, i think you described the bond between the twins perfectly, and i really felt for Elladan after Elrohir died. Also for Namo to let Arwen, Estel and Elrohir time to say goodbye to each other was lovely i felt like tearing up :) thanks for sharing x

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  As I have said to someone else, this story grabbed me and insisted that I write it - and it is very dear to me!   So I am always very pleased when someone takes the time to let me know they enjoyed it and that it works for them.



Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: June 02, 2013 13:07 · For: Chapter 3

This one I read the night before last, and it was a very powerful and painful read. I haven't cried so much for a very long time which is usually a sign that a sad or tragic story really works well. By the valar, it was so painful! You did a terrific job with that scenario, showing this awful, bitter grief and loss so extremely well. Since reading the Return of the Key the Els have become more alive to me than ever before, and with this story it hit really home. I now feel for them like for some brothers I haven't seen for some time... and my heart so went out to Elladan. You also addressed several thought threads of mine concerning Elrond's family, about the bitterness of loss and what exactly that must mean for immortal beings as the elves, and what the loss of Elros must have meant for Elrond back then, and still mean.

"But then, he realised, with Elrohir back and beside him, it almost did not matter; he felt as though his fëa was fully whole again and he could face anything. Life, with all its possibilities, was in front of them and, now, they could live it to the full." 

<-- this, in particular, I found so speaking and painful: while I'm happy for Elladan that his life has become whole again and he has his other half back, this brings home even more intensely that for Elrond, that never happened. He had lost his twin, his other half, forever, and for such a long time, and now has also lost his daughter in the same way.



Author's Response: Thank you. As you can tell this is a little different to much of what I write and I am always so pleased when someone lets me know that it worked, even if I feel a bit guilty about making the reader cry! It was a painful story to write but it was one of those things that came to me and haunted me until I got it into words. And I am so glad that you could see why it was still too hard for Elrond to be as sympathetic and understanding as one might have expected.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2012 0:14 · For: Chapter 3
:') lovely ending - their reunion, a few hours before Elrohir had to face anyone else, was just right. Gorgeous work, well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, again. I'm so glad that the reunion worked for you - just how they get 'returned to the wild' by N


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2012 0:02 · For: Chapter 1
Hey Wombat :) I was just browsing and I found this. It's so sad (you had me sniffling) but it's beautifully written; you depict everything so clearly and in such clean, readable prose. It was interesting to see you bring out the added dimension of Arwen and Elladan's grief that their peredhil heritage entails - it's a taunting, terrible idea that if they choose mortality (not that Arwen has the choice at this point) they can never see Elrohir again. It added a lot of depth; I felt fully immersed in their world and choices and feelings. Really wonderfully done.

Author's Response: **Really wonderfully done.** Thank you so much. It was a very emotional story to write and so I am always so pleased when someone reviews it. Thank you especially for your description of it as **such clean, readable prose.**


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2012 0:39 · For: Chapter 1
I can see why it would not let you not write it. It is a powerful story, and would obviously not be left off paper/computer. Some stories are like that. But you definitely did it justice.

Author's Response: Thank you.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2012 21:21 · For: Chapter 3
This was a wonderful final chapter. It still brought tears to my eyes. You definitely have a gift with words. You have made me very curious about what part it was that was in your mind for Returnverse that became part of this too. I wanted to read it to the end before I even tried to figure that one out, but I am just not sure. The story is in some ways very much like your returnverse, except of course that it doesn't belong.
I love the bit about Arwen and Estel saying goodbey to Elrohir, it would make a lot of sense, as the Valar are supposed to be quite powerful, that they would make that possible. I wonder if that was one of the reasons that Elrohir 'took his time' to return... ;)

“How long? How long is his path from Imladris to Valinor going to take, Grandmother? Elladan asked. - You are missing an ending quote after 'Grandmother?".

Author's Response: **You definitely have a gift with words.** Thank you so much! And thank you for the missed quotes - I always appreciate it - I will go and correct.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2012 20:59 · For: Chapter 2
It is very sad to realize that there would be people who wouldn't even remember that Elladan had a twin.

This made me cry even harder. It is so sad, Arwen not being able to make the choice, and Elladan grieving for that, but then holding onto hope that Elrohir will be there to greet him as he goes to Valinor. That would be so hard to then discover that he is not there either. Of course Gimli has a much better understanding of grief, and would understand somewhat how difficult this is.

Author's Response: I'm sorry... I really should put a three tissue warning on this one. I did put poor Elladan through the wringer. It was quite painful to write - but it wouldn't let me NOT write it, if you see what I mean.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2012 19:48 · For: Chapter 1
You did it once again! You made me cry. It obviously deserved the Mefa award. I have got to google that, I occassionally hear about it, and don't know what it is... Poor Elladan, an Elrohir is quite cruel, requesting that promise, regardless of how right he was. Yeah for Eldarion's children showing Arwen the error of her thinking!

Author's Response: MEFA - Middle Earth FanFic Awards - they are pretty big in the Tolkien Fandom - they have their own site etc. This is, most definitely, not part of the Returnverse - but there is an idea here that was in my mind for the Returnverse and seems so right to me that, when this began to haunt me until I wrote it, it became part of this, too. I won't say which bit, though.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2012 20:28 · For: Chapter 3
This was a sweet, family ending to a lovely tale. I sincerely enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you. The middle chapter, especially was hard to write - but I really couldn't have left the Els like that. That last section was in my mind right from the beginning and I am really happy that it worked for you.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2012 20:01 · For: Chapter 3
What an ABSOLUTE BEAUTIFUL and TEARFUL ending! It was an EXCEPTIONAL, PERFECT and POIGNANT story Curiouswombat! It broke my heart but then it was like the ending of the story--the healing came!!!
EXCELLENTLY WRITTEN!!

Author's Response: Thank you - I am so glad you enjoyed it and the ending worked for you - it was really hard to write all the heart-wrenching stuff, those last few pages were so much easier!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2012 22:17 · For: Chapter 2
Agh - Damn it all! Arwen's dilema of not knowing how to die is, in my opinion, quite original, and very effective - it lends that heavy sense of pity to an already sorrowful tale.

Author's Response: The idea of Arwen not knowing how to die came to me a long time ago - she must surely have expected to be able to do just as her husband, and yet Tolkien uses that (literally for a catholic) damning phrase that she 'fell into despair'... Originally it was simply in my mind for the Returnverse time-line - but this came to me first, and it simply had to happen here, I felt. I'm so glad that you found it so effective.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2012 21:57 · For: Chapter 1
This was beautifully written. It describes the numbness of grief so well, and the mindless ire it sometimes provokes in others. This is quite different to the Returniverse, both in contents and form, and I like it very much.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You can see why I point out that it is not the Returnverse. It was really emotionally draining to write - but once the idea came to me of that simple thing - an everyday accident, nothing dramatic, I couldn't not write it, if you see what I mean.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2012 18:27 · For: Chapter 2
BEAUTIFUL, PERFECTION--such a TAUT, EMOTIONAL chapter that was BEAUTIFULLY and EXCEPTIONALLY WELL WRITTEN!!! Again the TEARS and HEARTACHE assailed my VERY BEING! I will be waiting for the last chapter to see if Elrohir ever RETURNS to his brother!!! Curiouswombat-YOU DID AN EXTRAORDINARY job with this story THANK YOU!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It was an emotionally draining chapter to write - and I am always so pleased when other people say that it works for them too - even though I am sorry for making people cry! I promise to post the last chapter in a couple of days time - as you can guess, this story is one that was written about 18 months ago and so all I have to do is check over it before posting.


Name: Laikwalasse (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2012 17:51 · For: Chapter 2
now you have done it! You made me cry. How sad and at the same time beautifully written. You have really a talent to portray the feelings of my favorite couple. I


Name: Laikwalasse (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2012 19:04 · For: Chapter 1
how very sad! It


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2012 23:35 · For: Chapter 1
I LOVED THE IMAGE!!!!!! I also LOVED the story and look forward to the other chapters!! SO RAW AND EMOTIONAL--I BAWLED worse than A BABY--WHAT AN EXCELLENT STORY and TOUCHING PLOT!!!

Author's Response: Thank you - I am always so thrilled to know that my words can bring someone to tears - at least for the right reason! I will post the next chapter at the beginning of next week - I fear you will still need your hankie for that one, too...


You must login () to review.