| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance. Warning: this...
Discovery by Ellynn General Audiences
Hobbit fic. During a trip to the mountains, an ordinary modern day teenager will discover that he is not so ordinary after...
A Red Day by Narya General Audiences
A scouting party returns to Aldburg, wounded and bearing unsettling news. Written for Raiyana for Hurt Comfort Exchange...
A Quiet Moment by astorey_91 Teen
Pallando and my OC Aratacáno share a quiet moment togetherTakes place in my dark!Namo AU
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
He doesn't know by Ellynn General Audiences
A dwarf-maiden is in love with Gimli... but he has absolutely no idea.
Lunatic Idea by Ellynn General Audiences
In 1952, one astrophysicist brings forth a revolutionary idea about the universe. It sounds lunatic – by the words...

Site Info

Members: 512
Series: 97
Stories: 1827
Chapters: 9214
Word count: 28194503
Authors: 145
Reviews: 17082
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: sea longing
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/02/20 04:04 pm
Welcome sea longing and Shieldmaiden
Spiced Wine
05/29/20 02:03 pm
Hello, ElfofArda :) Welcome
Narya
05/29/20 12:53 pm
Welcome, elfofArda :)
Spiced Wine
05/29/20 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone, hope you are all safe and well
Spiced Wine
05/28/20 04:54 pm
Welcome Hoggy Greenleaf :)
Spiced Wine
05/24/20 07:31 pm
Yes, it looks lovely, tomorrow, for not going anywhere :D
ziggy
05/24/20 05:43 pm
Happy Bank Holiday to the UK. Unexpectedly good weather! Hope everyone is OK in the lockdown.
Narya
05/22/20 09:53 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Spiced Wine
05/22/20 09:54 am
Happy Friday everyone :)
Narya
05/21/20 08:47 am
*Sorry, that's 23.59 CET!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Dark Companion

Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: July 24, 2013 18:44 · For: Through the past, and that quite darkly...

Oh, to be there and to see the look on Elladan's face when the Matron commanded him to have sex with her! *lol*

Interesting chapter with many events. :) Was it difficult to find all the elf/drow history and background?



Author's Response: Thank you! It wasn't at all difficult to find the history of the Elves and Drow; I've been writing in that world for years, with one series now running to some 666,000 words, and I know the whole tragic history pretty much by heart by now. The only difficult part was condensing it down to a length that would fit into this story.


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2013 18:56 · For: The Calm before the Storm

The good thing about having been very busy is that I know have three new chapters to read! I'm glad to see this story is still going strong :)



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, it's definitely still going strong, although I've been alternating it with other non-Tolkien stories. This time, however, I've continued on and I'm 2,000 words into the next chapter already.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 10:35 · For: The Calm before the Storm

I'm so pleased you have updated this and there is more of Cierre and her adventures. I have to compliment you on the detail of running Dunharrow and the solution to what Merry is going to do- it's a neat device to bring them together more frequently for whatever plan you have up your sleeve. 

And I do like Cierre- she is just a sex-mad killer with a a fab sense of humour that is completely unconscious. I love her straight forward lust.

And the complextities of Cierre's world to Elladan is fascinating- and there is the beginning of the reason why and perhaps it is more about Elladan going there than Cierre being in ME. For a novice D&D this is a great way to get your head around the enchanted armour etc. I have wondered, recently, why Feanor did not have more magic in his weapons and creations- if the Silmarils were as descibed, you would think the knoweldge of smithing would be more  advanced but you rightly point out that in Tolkien, he does not really use much magic- although the Rings, the palantir and the mirror of Gladriel are all magical items. But of a past age I suppose.

 

Looking forward to a quicker update!



Author's Response: Thank you! I had to shelve this one and return to my non-LotR stories, my readers on other sites were threatening to lynch me if I didn't update those, but I've done enough to keep them quiet for a while (I hope) and I've made a start on the next chapter of this one right away.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 21:02 · For: Down the Valley of the Shadow

ah- just realised- no Eowyn and no Merry! so I'm guessing the Witchking will be slain by Cierre. ANd poor Elladan going off to kill someone he's never heard of and has no idea why he's fighting but I suppose its a fair exchange for Cierre.

As always the fight scenes are extraordinary and this complex weaving of two worlds is intriguing. I look forward to an update= soon! You'll get used to how demanding a reader I am- Curious will tell you!!



Author's Response: Thank you! No, Cierre will not kill the Witch King - she won't be in the right place at the right time.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 18:57 · For: You can run but you can't hide

Poor Cierre! She needs it bad! I admit to being disappointed that not ONE of them fancy her! She is obsessed and I love that she thinks Aragorn is Halbarad's lover, and htat Legoals must have a gay lover somewhere and that she imagines both the sons of Elrond.

Love some of this dialogue and the hobbits are a welcome addition now.

Now the plot thickens and I am looknig forward to see ing how you move this on.



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 9:47 · For: And then the screaming started...

Aragorn saw Gimli drop out of sight and he cried out in dismay. He looked over the parapet and saw that each successive man was dislodging the one below as he fell. Gimli was riding the wave of falling men down, falling only a few feet at a time, and he was managing to stay more or less upright with his back against the ladder. He landed on top of a heap of fallen men and, from there, fell to the ground. Aragorn caught his breath, sure that Gimli would have been badly injured, but in fact he seemed no more than winded. That was perilous enough, however, for there were men standing near the foot of the ladder who had been clear of the cascade of fallers.

 

wonderful bit of ingenuity! Your battle scenes are immense, very carefully strucutred although it doesnt feel like that when you read it.  You obviously have a lot of knowledge and tactical awareness, gameplayer perhaps? Not that it matters- but it gives the scene authenticity.



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I was a table-top wargamer (and role-play gamer) for many years until I moved to the Isle of Man and lost my wargaming opponents, although I kept doing RPGs with Curiouswombat for a long time after that. These days I game on the PC.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 9:33 · For: It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye

I love Cierre- her constant lustful picking over various men, wondering if aragorn is gay! because he doesnt look at her in any sexual way, and her not giving a damn about the poor and only doing it because Eowyn will feel better- the merncenary in her is beautifully defined here. 

And her thumbs twitch because she'e randy and Grima still has an eye:)



Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you like Cierre.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 9:20 · For: Out of the blue, and into the black

I'm thoroughly enjoying this, especially Cierre's lusty and colourful internal dialogue! I'm so with her!



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2012 15:56 · For: Down the Valley of the Shadow

Oh yes, I was about three paragraphs before the end when I had started to realize. Merry and Eowyn were not going to Minas Tirith. Who would kill the Witch King? Would anyone...?

And then came the last line. Oops. Doesn't sound good. The future, I mean, not the line. ;)

I am very worried about all the characters, they are in danger, but I like how you make the plot and situation very complicated.



Author's Response: Thank you! You are right to be worried. The Battle of the Pelennor Fields is going to be... brutal. I'm going to have to write that chapter while the Wombat is at work because she doesn't like to see me crying.


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2012 18:02 · For: You can run but you can't hide

Good to see a new chapter (I just got back from a trip so it's new for me). I like how the suspense is increasing :)



Author's Response: Thank you very much! I have just returned from WriterConUK, hence the delay in replying.


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 12:30 · For: You can run but you can't hide

Poor Cierre - surrounded by all those handsome guys and just not being able to find a partner! *lol* I hope you'll be merciful towards her in some of the chapters to come. *giggles*

As I read about rangers casting healing spells, I thought - this can't end well;  this is a benefit, but there'll be a "back-side" to it. After all, you mentioned something like that on your journal. And then I saw the last part of the chapter. One event triggers another, doesn't it?

You're doing a great job. ;)



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Cierre will get laid before the end of the story - but by whom will remain a secret for now.


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: May 02, 2012 18:30 · For: And then the screaming started...

Wow, you really do go more into the fight than most fanfic writers do! It’s nice to read about battle tactics for a change :)



Author's Response: Thank you! I went into a lot of detail because I wanted to show the positive changes Cierre's presence in Middle Earth have made (although as much because her speeding up of Aragorn's pursuit meant that the Rohirrim arrived at Helm's Deep four hours earlier than in canon as because of her plan to attack the Dunlendings first) before I started with the drastic negative impact she will have later. Also I wanted this to be in complete contrast to the abominable stupidity of Peter Jackson's version of the Battle of Helm's Deep. I don't think he's ever even heard of tactics.


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2012 22:17 · For: And then the screaming started...

This was an exciting, thrilling description of the battle of Helm's Deep - well done!

Yes, it is logical that Dunledings plan revenge...

P.s. I loved the detail about going to pee. ;) I mean, people in books&movies never go to toilet, which isn't very convincing, is it, so I loved that you had remember this little, but important detail.



Author's Response: Thank you! I try to think of every wee detail (that's a pun you, as a non-native English speaker, might not get; 'wee' means 'little' in the dialect of Scotland and North-East England, as well as being another word for pee).


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2012 11:54 · For: It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye

I had never heard of Neverwinter Nights before, but as you provide all the necessary information, the story is still very enjoyable to read. I really like Cierre despite all her strangeness, and I am curious as to where this story is going!



Author's Response: Thank you! And Cierre says "Bel'la dos." I'm not going to reveal where it's going except that there will be blood. And character deaths, including some characters who don't die in canon.


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2012 17:01 · For: Out of the blue, and into the black

This is very good and plausible; yes, there would surely be complications about 10th walker (as you said in the beginning), especially the unusual one like Cierre.

I hope you will update soon.

P.s. Sorry for asking, but how is "C" in Cierre pronounced, then? I am not sure if I got everything correct. *blush* Like "ch" in church, or...?



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, like the 'ch' in 'church'.


You must login () to review.