| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Elwing's Balrog by Keiliss General Audiences
When 12 year old Elwing, the fey, half-elven grandchild of Beren and Lúthien, realises that she might age and die...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8126
Word count: 24409018
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14660
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Alquien
10/15/17 08:09 pm
Happy Birthday, cheeky! Best wishes! I hope you enjoy your special day! :)
Spiced Wine
10/15/17 01:28 pm
Has probably learned all about the Silmarillion and Appendices of LOTR from paying these games :D
Spiced Wine
10/15/17 01:27 pm
Fanfic is fanfic is fanfic,, Narya :) I'd really like to read it actually. Kev is absorbed; what with me filling in the background, he
Shout Archive


Reviews For Art Collection

Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2015 21:27 · For: There and Back Again
These were really Nice, very well made Pictures. I have gone through the Whole art Collection, you do have some great ideas here. And a great taste in Music too, the bands you have mentioned are among the ones i listen to too :) Great work!


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2015 21:24 · For: With the Sea between us
This is gorgeous, really Nice Choice of colors, much atmosphere in the Picture :)


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2015 21:20 · For: The Misty Mountains
Getting goosebumps is normal yes, i Guess not getting goosebumps is abnormal!! Really Nice Picture, kind of mysterious With a lot of atmosphere.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: February 28, 2014 2:32 · For: There and Back Again

(I apologize for not reviewing sooner; I’ve been under the weather these last few days.)

Maglor, yes I could totally see him giving Finrod a look like this if Finrod had been sent to fetch him ‘home.’  I will always consider the way you write/imagine Maglor to be inspirational.

That is a stunning piece of Finrod!  I especially like the eyes of the man behind him, they’re like stars.  Wow.  Who is that by the way?  Beren?  Finrod looks very casual in his dress and yet intense in his expression as he’s reaching out (his hand is very well done as well).

“At some point (here be Beren!) Finrod had the urge to prove he was worth of being called a Noldor.”

I think this is an amazing point.  He was as much a Noldo as he was a Teler and a Vanya, and that mixed heritage much have affected him.  He’d chosen the Noldor when he went into exile, but I see a lot of Teleri in him with his wandering spirit and the Vanyar in his love of deep debating, and he would have been aware of these things.  And I agree with you completely that he was never a great general or war leader (nor even the best king the Noldor saw).  And yeah, that probably would have affected his self-worth, especially in the family he came from.



Author's Response: The man behind Finrod was supposed to be Barahir, since the fic I originally made this for dealt with him. Right now the man stands for nearly every descandent, who wore the Ring of Barahir. Finrod's casual look the the reason, why I finally got through to him. I couldn't imagine he would wear even light armor, when he was living inside a city. Of course he has influence, he is the King, but I see him as someone who had been more a celebrity than an political figure in Valinor. The distance between him and Finwe (spoken in line of succession) is simply too great. His mixed heritage makes him a good person to deal with ethnical groups. But I cannot imagine him to wade through orcblood and trudge through over corpses like it's a life calling. Usually it's not condemnable, but - as a friend of mine put it - with Maedhros around nearly everyone else probably suffers from an inferior complex. Something Maglor I can't see capable of feeling, with his family and the fact he overcame the lure of the Silmaril.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 17:47 · For: The Torches of Losgar

Wow, the coloring, the smoky tendrils, all perfect!  I love the way Fëanor is looking back over his shoulder, as if we’re the one he’s leaving behind, and he’s got a little smirk on his lips and I can completely see this as Fingolfin’s last glace of him on the ships sailing away. 

And then the quote at the bottom is just so Fëanor, so perfect for this moment in time!  Great work :D



Author's Response: Thanks. I agree with you, the Feanor in this picture is one of my best. Often I think he should feel something like regret for leaving Fingolfin behind, but in the same it fits more for him to say: "Earn it. Come and get me." Losgar was a consequence of the fact that Feanor killed at Aqualonde. In his eyes, Fingolfin must find a way on his own, if he wants Feanor to respect him.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2014 17:20 · For: The Torches of Losgar
Wow, I like this very much, Mangacrack! It's very vivid!

Author's Response: Thanks, it's different from what I usually do, so thanks.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 12:52 · For: Where are you now?
Oh, wow - just rip my heart out! Fingolfin! ;__;

Author's Response: Comfort yourself with the thought that a franatic Feanor is waiting at the threshold.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2013 0:38 · For: Where are you now?

Oh, dear Fingolfin... he looks so lost... *deep sigh*

Beautiful drawing! 



Author's Response: Yes, it is a long way back to the safety of Mandos Halls.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2013 20:33 · For: Agents of SWORD

Okay, picturing the fëanorians as some kind of secret agents made me laugh too hard. And it actually gave me an idea for a story... (if you don't mind?) 

Lovely drawing as always! :D



Author's Response: Go ahead! I love to spread ideas around. And wasn't there a story once, where the Silmaril were nuclear weapons? Feanor would love all the futuristic stuff. But I'm a little afraid what happens, when he gets his hands on electricity.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 21:45 · For: With the Sea between us

Awww, so melancholically beautiful...



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 20:44 · For: With the Sea between us
Lovely! I like the way the robe catches in the breeze.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 20:41 · For: With the Sea between us
Oh, there's a lot of sadness in this!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2013 12:25 · For: On the Taniquetil
Looks dark... It's probably not a balanced relationship indeed xD Lovely drawing as always!


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2013 21:40 · For: Unsung Hero

I didn't even know there was art on this site until I clicked your collection from the most recent menu. I really like your work in general, but this unsung hero is definitely my favourite. It's incredible how strong his expression is, while you used only so few lines! Keep up the good work!



Author's Response: Thank you. And: you can include pictures inside your text with with some basic html. Simply put: It's a sweet feature because I often struggle with writing in english.


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2013 12:27 · For: Mastered by Doom

This is not how I imagine Turin, but it doesn't matter. It's an excellent picture!



Author's Response: I was inspired by his "elven like beauty". I'm aware that he is suppost to be more manish, but thank you.


Name: Ellynn (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2013 12:25 · For: grand, wild and bigger than you

This is great!



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2013 0:29 · For: The Heir of Isildur
well, it was worth it, they look great, so expressive.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2013 0:20 · For: Mastered by Doom
I love those intense eyes.

Author's Response: You have no idea how happy this makes me. I actually recreated them twice, because they look odd.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2013 21:57 · For: Mastered by Doom
Your version of Turin is impossibly attractive. Seriously, I'm drooling. (And he has nice hair. I always pictured him on overall as more messy-looking, with Saeros criticizing his hair and everything... but your version has me convinced!)

Author's Response: T


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2013 19:32 · For: Vanyar
Love this, it has such realistic perspective... Really beautiful!

Author's Response: I admit that I used a photoreference, but thanks.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 22:00 · For: Burn the Kingdom down
Caranthir!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 21:57 · For: Meme
Pokemon!Glaurung is way too adorable xD

Author's Response: I'm fond of dragons and there's a shortage of love for them in the Tolkien Words. Hopefully Smaug will change that.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 21:07 · For: Noldor
Awesome art!
I'm not sure if this is canon, but I've read in some fics that the Avari have darker skin than the other elves.

Author's Response: Thank you. Personally I think that there should be small differences, when they are classified as seperate ethnical groups.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2013 22:08 · For: Its just a piece of cloth
this is a beautiful, atmospheric piece! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I aim for such compliments, they tell me I succeded.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2013 12:45 · For: Its just a piece of cloth
That's a really good, powerful piece, Mangacrack

Author's Response: Thanks. It's the third or fourth attempt of drawing remnants of the First Age.


You must login () to review.