| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7944
Word count: 23572667
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14015
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Dead Reckoning

Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2013 20:45 · For: Chapter 1
This made me laugh... that cook is really something... He's so... dryly humorous, and just sarcastic enough! xD I can imagine it must be a sad job, being a cook for people who can't eat anything...

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Quantum. I love your screen name btw. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was fun to imagine what the curse must have been like for the cranky cook. I appreciate your comments.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2012 15:12 · For: Chapter 1

So much to love! But I think the notion of the Stone of erch being brought from Numenor was the funniest- and Helmhelm. He was hilarious. And beneath this wonderfully grumpy cook is a very warm heart- for a start he cooks, and laughs gently at Helhelm going off to clean his bow- again! But he lets the horses go because he thinks they might be stuck forever to the wagon. 



Author's Response: Thanks so much Ziggy. The thought of the Numenorians dragging that stone onto a ship really amused me, as did Helmhelm with his double helm and killing himself with his own bow, and I thought others would have fun with it too. I glad you enjoyed this and I really appreciate your comments.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 22:40 · For: Chapter 1
This is wickedly ironic, and hilarious to my mind. Old habits die hard indeed, I mean knowing you are dead but still having the urge to cook, ouch... and then dying with a bunch of basil in your pockets - I mean how ignoble... hehehe - I loved it!!

Author's Response: Thanks Alpha Ori. It's kind of a double punishment to be dead and still have to do the cooking, isn't it? I'm glad you enjoyed this.


Name: Scarlet10 (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 19:54 · For: Chapter 1
OMG, there were quite a few sentences I really appreciated:
- "He took the whole king in beggar’s guise bit to a whole new level this one."
- "I shook my ladle at a couple of those who seemed undecided and off they went too."
- "The Elves think they’re the only ones here you see."

I love this cynical, practical, hard-die (*wink*) cook.
I don't think I would have the drive to keep cooking for so long, for a bunch of unappreciative "customers".

I really enjoyed the tale. It made me think of canon points that I never considered, and to look at the whole scene with a different eye.

Oh, and the laugh. LOL.
Thank you :-)

Author's Response: Thanks so much Scarlet. When I thought of this story the first image that came to mind was the cook scaring the people off the ship with his ladle. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it. :-)


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 19:37 · For: Chapter 1
OMG this is too precious and completely off the wall! It is sooo different and unexpected! I loved the cook and his obvious observation on everything--especially the rock. This was too good and I love the way your mind thinks!

Author's Response: Thanks Alareyel, I'm glad you enjoyed the humor here. It's always fun to write something off the wall like this.


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 15:30 · For: Chapter 1
This was lovely, hilarious and utterly cynical!

"a Man that looked like he could use a hot bath and a shave. That had to be him, Isildur’s heir. He took the whole king in beggar’s guise bit to a whole new level this one."

I cracked up reading this. There are so many times while watching LOTR that I thought this. I totally agree with the cook:)

Brilliant work!

Author's Response: Thanks Elvewen. I can never resist taking a dig at Aragorn, or just about anyone else. :-) I'm glad you like this.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 11:20 · For: Chapter 1
A great story! I never really thought about the actual people behind the name "Army of the Dead". But surely all the camp-followers would be included in the curse.
I really liked the musings about the stone of Erech, the possible last-minute evacuation of it gave me a good laugh.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thanks Tinara, I'm glad you like this. I thought it would be fun to do the Paths of the Dead story from a different perspective. And out of all the things they could have chosen to save from Numenor someone chose that stone? That's funny in itself. I appreciate your comments.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 6:42 · For: Chapter 1
Love it! As a snarky cynic myself, this is a (dead) man after my own heart.

Author's Response: Thanks Branwyn, I have to admit to sharing a few traits with this cook myself. I appreciate your comments.


You must login () to review.