| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
06/25/18 07:39 pm
I hope all goes well with your mum, Spiced. Sending you good thoughts xxx
Spiced Wine
06/25/18 03:50 pm
Thank you very much! I am up the hospital with her every day this week for pre-chemo tests and pick insertion. It’ll be a long week
Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Shout Archive


Reviews For Dead Reckoning

Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2013 20:45 · For: Chapter 1
This made me laugh... that cook is really something... He's so... dryly humorous, and just sarcastic enough! xD I can imagine it must be a sad job, being a cook for people who can't eat anything...

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Quantum. I love your screen name btw. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was fun to imagine what the curse must have been like for the cranky cook. I appreciate your comments.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2012 15:12 · For: Chapter 1

So much to love! But I think the notion of the Stone of erch being brought from Numenor was the funniest- and Helmhelm. He was hilarious. And beneath this wonderfully grumpy cook is a very warm heart- for a start he cooks, and laughs gently at Helhelm going off to clean his bow- again! But he lets the horses go because he thinks they might be stuck forever to the wagon. 



Author's Response: Thanks so much Ziggy. The thought of the Numenorians dragging that stone onto a ship really amused me, as did Helmhelm with his double helm and killing himself with his own bow, and I thought others would have fun with it too. I glad you enjoyed this and I really appreciate your comments.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 22:40 · For: Chapter 1
This is wickedly ironic, and hilarious to my mind. Old habits die hard indeed, I mean knowing you are dead but still having the urge to cook, ouch... and then dying with a bunch of basil in your pockets - I mean how ignoble... hehehe - I loved it!!

Author's Response: Thanks Alpha Ori. It's kind of a double punishment to be dead and still have to do the cooking, isn't it? I'm glad you enjoyed this.


Name: Scarlet10 (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 19:54 · For: Chapter 1
OMG, there were quite a few sentences I really appreciated:
- "He took the whole king in beggar’s guise bit to a whole new level this one."
- "I shook my ladle at a couple of those who seemed undecided and off they went too."
- "The Elves think they’re the only ones here you see."

I love this cynical, practical, hard-die (*wink*) cook.
I don't think I would have the drive to keep cooking for so long, for a bunch of unappreciative "customers".

I really enjoyed the tale. It made me think of canon points that I never considered, and to look at the whole scene with a different eye.

Oh, and the laugh. LOL.
Thank you :-)

Author's Response: Thanks so much Scarlet. When I thought of this story the first image that came to mind was the cook scaring the people off the ship with his ladle. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it. :-)


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 19:37 · For: Chapter 1
OMG this is too precious and completely off the wall! It is sooo different and unexpected! I loved the cook and his obvious observation on everything--especially the rock. This was too good and I love the way your mind thinks!

Author's Response: Thanks Alareyel, I'm glad you enjoyed the humor here. It's always fun to write something off the wall like this.


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 15:30 · For: Chapter 1
This was lovely, hilarious and utterly cynical!

"a Man that looked like he could use a hot bath and a shave. That had to be him, Isildur’s heir. He took the whole king in beggar’s guise bit to a whole new level this one."

I cracked up reading this. There are so many times while watching LOTR that I thought this. I totally agree with the cook:)

Brilliant work!

Author's Response: Thanks Elvewen. I can never resist taking a dig at Aragorn, or just about anyone else. :-) I'm glad you like this.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 11:20 · For: Chapter 1
A great story! I never really thought about the actual people behind the name "Army of the Dead". But surely all the camp-followers would be included in the curse.
I really liked the musings about the stone of Erech, the possible last-minute evacuation of it gave me a good laugh.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thanks Tinara, I'm glad you like this. I thought it would be fun to do the Paths of the Dead story from a different perspective. And out of all the things they could have chosen to save from Numenor someone chose that stone? That's funny in itself. I appreciate your comments.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2012 6:42 · For: Chapter 1
Love it! As a snarky cynic myself, this is a (dead) man after my own heart.

Author's Response: Thanks Branwyn, I have to admit to sharing a few traits with this cook myself. I appreciate your comments.


You must login () to review.