| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Elven Sigh

Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: September 14, 2012 6:08 · For: The Elven Sigh
She sighed once more, as she was wont to do so often now - new life would never be hers to bring forth, for the seed had died, and with it, her own essence had flown, to where she knew not, cared not.

"so easily spilt, and so dearly mourned"



"Her final sigh was so soft, almost silent, contented even, for with it went her last breath, far away, in search of spring, and the promise of life."

Alpha your writing has the impact of a fist in a velvet glove. It takes me a few moments to recover and realize what has transpired. What skill.

Author's Response: I can only thank you once more for such wonderful words, because provoking strong emotions is as much as I could ever ask to achieve with my writing.


Name: Domestic Duchess (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2012 17:33 · For: The Elven Sigh
LOL! A sigh by anyother name would sound as sweet!

Author's Response: The bitter-sweetness of a sigh - for all the euphemisms I could have written in its place, there is something phonetically attractive about the word, onomatopoeic, almost. Thank you!!


Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2012 16:55 · For: The Elven Sigh
Very introspective and artistically rendered.

Author's Response: I am honored, thank you very much.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2012 14:54 · For: The Elven Sigh
It's beautifully written, I like the sharp contrast between all the promises of spring you conjure with your description and the deep sadness that can't any longer be touched by it.
And I don't think there are too many sighs in this story!
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank you, Tinara. I am glad you liked it!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2012 7:34 · For: The Elven Sigh
don't you think it is the context in which they appear rather than the use of one, isolated word?

I do. I don't read books as a publisher does. If a writer can make me fall into the story and feel, actually forget I am reading words, I don't care what those words are at all.

Author's Response: I whole-heartedly agree. I wonder then, at the convoluted mind of the common publisher!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 23:03 · For: The Elven Sigh
he vivid red of blood, so easily spilt, and so dearly mourned,

I love this too.

I would like to state I didn't say authors should not write sighs; it was one of four things publishers see as being over-used or amateur, I suppose. If I remember correctly, it was in the context of people writing facial expressions. Publishers want more variety than smiles, shrugs, nods, raised eyebrows. However, those are things people actually do.

Author's Response: I understood you perfectly. The point being that publishers wish for a more ample range of vocabulary, that authors should avoid specific, over-used words - and yet don't you think it is the context in which they appear rather than the use of one, isolated word?


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 22:36 · For: The Elven Sigh
Siiiigh!! :D
That's a lovely, and sad ending, in fact.

The use or non-use of 'sigh' is a definitely a First World problem.

Author's Response: I agree, so don't go editing your sighs, I love them all. Sigh=3, publishers=0


Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 21:34 · For: The Elven Sigh
Sometimes a sigh is necessary.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response: Absolutely! Thank you.


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 21:26 · For: The Elven Sigh
hahaha :) Sigh - 1 Spiced Wine - 0

Author's Response: Hhehe, actually, maybe that should be Sigh 1, publishers 0 Thanks!


You must login () to review.