| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Elven Sigh

Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: September 14, 2012 6:08 · For: The Elven Sigh
She sighed once more, as she was wont to do so often now - new life would never be hers to bring forth, for the seed had died, and with it, her own essence had flown, to where she knew not, cared not.

"so easily spilt, and so dearly mourned"



"Her final sigh was so soft, almost silent, contented even, for with it went her last breath, far away, in search of spring, and the promise of life."

Alpha your writing has the impact of a fist in a velvet glove. It takes me a few moments to recover and realize what has transpired. What skill.

Author's Response: I can only thank you once more for such wonderful words, because provoking strong emotions is as much as I could ever ask to achieve with my writing.


Name: Domestic Duchess (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2012 17:33 · For: The Elven Sigh
LOL! A sigh by anyother name would sound as sweet!

Author's Response: The bitter-sweetness of a sigh - for all the euphemisms I could have written in its place, there is something phonetically attractive about the word, onomatopoeic, almost. Thank you!!


Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2012 16:55 · For: The Elven Sigh
Very introspective and artistically rendered.

Author's Response: I am honored, thank you very much.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2012 14:54 · For: The Elven Sigh
It's beautifully written, I like the sharp contrast between all the promises of spring you conjure with your description and the deep sadness that can't any longer be touched by it.
And I don't think there are too many sighs in this story!
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank you, Tinara. I am glad you liked it!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2012 7:34 · For: The Elven Sigh
don't you think it is the context in which they appear rather than the use of one, isolated word?

I do. I don't read books as a publisher does. If a writer can make me fall into the story and feel, actually forget I am reading words, I don't care what those words are at all.

Author's Response: I whole-heartedly agree. I wonder then, at the convoluted mind of the common publisher!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 23:03 · For: The Elven Sigh
he vivid red of blood, so easily spilt, and so dearly mourned,

I love this too.

I would like to state I didn't say authors should not write sighs; it was one of four things publishers see as being over-used or amateur, I suppose. If I remember correctly, it was in the context of people writing facial expressions. Publishers want more variety than smiles, shrugs, nods, raised eyebrows. However, those are things people actually do.

Author's Response: I understood you perfectly. The point being that publishers wish for a more ample range of vocabulary, that authors should avoid specific, over-used words - and yet don't you think it is the context in which they appear rather than the use of one, isolated word?


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 22:36 · For: The Elven Sigh
Siiiigh!! :D
That's a lovely, and sad ending, in fact.

The use or non-use of 'sigh' is a definitely a First World problem.

Author's Response: I agree, so don't go editing your sighs, I love them all. Sigh=3, publishers=0


Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 21:34 · For: The Elven Sigh
Sometimes a sigh is necessary.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response: Absolutely! Thank you.


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2012 21:26 · For: The Elven Sigh
hahaha :) Sigh - 1 Spiced Wine - 0

Author's Response: Hhehe, actually, maybe that should be Sigh 1, publishers 0 Thanks!


You must login () to review.