| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Quill and Steel. Chronicles of a rebellion by Lumeriel Explicit
During a battle against the Dark God, Fingolfin is seriously injured. Faced with the possibility of losing him, Fëanor discovers...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin.   Warning: this story...
~ A Throne of Shadows ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
Set after Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again, Vanimöré wishes to reunite Maglor and his son...
Legolas in Esgaroth by ziggy General Audiences
The story of Esgaroth in which Legolas disgraces himself, but enjoys himself immensely. Ch7:In which Legolas does something...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Trials of Revision by mangacrack Explicit
Tuor falls in love with the Prince instead of the Princess and Idril betrays Gondolin.
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horror and humor tales from the Inn. New : a Beorning tale

Site Info

Members: 503
Series: 95
Stories: 1806
Chapters: 9136
Word count: 27930479
Authors: 143
Reviews: 17016
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: jadedaemon
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 34
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/21/20 10:23 am
All good thoughts to you all. Stay safe
Spiced Wine
03/21/20 10:22 am
My partner’s parents are in lock down because they’re vulnerable. Kev took his mum’s Mother’s Day gifts and left them outside the door yesterday
FirstAmazon
03/20/20 09:22 pm
Stay safe, everyone!
FirstAmazon
03/20/20 07:43 pm
Stay safe, everyone!
Fadesintothewest
03/20/20 04:39 am
Stay safe everyone. I am in a hot zone and am so upset so many people aren't taking this seriously. SIgh. Stay healthy most importantly!
FirstAmazon
03/20/20 03:32 am
Stay safe, everyone!
Naledi
03/19/20 03:45 pm
Yes, it's suddenly started feeling very serious this week. I really feel for everyone affected by the cancellation of their exams.
ziggy
03/19/20 02:20 am
Schools in the UK closed from Friday and exams cancelled. Suddenly it feels very scary.
Alquien
03/18/20 09:25 pm
I'm doing ok. ::looks at wip's and pokes::
Spiced Wine
03/17/20 05:02 pm
I’m so sorry :(
Shout Archive


Reviews For ~ Dark Star ~

Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2013 16:39 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~
Oh my gosh. My heart did not just break a little for Sauron there. It did not. It did. Shit. (I think I was just as oblivious to the clearly implicating statements as Van was, srsly. "I was His, as thou wert His"? "What makes thee so different from any of us in that regard?"? Duh.)
Of course, it excuses/justifies less than nothing, but nobody deserves to have their attraction (or whatever) returned like that. Also, I tend to have massive feels for Dark Lords of the "he didn't deserve what happened to him, and later, nobody deserved what he did to them" variety.
Equally obvious should be that my heart is already in pieces because of Van (

Author's Response: I tend to have massive feels for Dark Lords of the "he didn't deserve what happened to him, and later, nobody deserved what he did to them" variety.

Oh, I know what you mean, it's so complicated and tragic. Actually, since I have started writing more of Sauron (though mostly in the Crucible stories, I am growing to understand more the relationship he has with Van, and that in itself is very convoluted - I also don't think any-one but Sauron could have done what they did, following such a plan without faltering, or in any way lowering his guard so that Van might see what he was doing.

Equally obvious should be that my heart is already in pieces because of Van (br />
Oh dear. :( But thank-you very much for reviewing!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2013 23:31 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Blood, Beauty, Love ~

Oh god- I am almost fainting with anticipation and salivating at those lovely morsels you just dropped in- seriously seriously good, Spiced. All that lovely yearning and pent up passion and lust and violence and ...swoon...There's going to be Bainalph and Vanimore, and Elgalad who has already known him in the Summer rituals, and oh god I can hardly wait- Legolas and Elrohir...

Your images are always luscious but the way you describe the wood and the contrast with the bitterness and sterility of the south is really superb. The wood is fecund and rich, smell of loam and rotting leaves and spring - that lovely deep scent, and Dol Guldur is narcotic and maddened. 

 

I have this lovely series of almost cinematic images that unravles as I read this. One after another of gorgeous scenes, such delicious elves,... sorry, almost incoherent with anticpation. 



Author's Response: There's going to be Bainalph and Vanimore, and Elgalad who has already known him in the Summer rituals, and oh god I can hardly wait- Legolas and Elrohir...

Yes, they all have to collide at some point, soon.

The wood is fecund and rich, smell of loam and rotting leaves and spring - that lovely deep scent, and Dol Guldur is narcotic and maddened.

Yes, I see it as very different, and probably different too, to how Tolkien described the Woodland Realm, as the Elves here have more power over their land to keep it clean.

Thank-you so very much!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2013 22:55 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~

Oh- and another one to read as well!!!I am truly spoiled.

No one writes Morgoth as you do, nor Feanorians as you do. No one writes them with quite such love and understadning of thier transcendance of the earthly- and those lovely hints at who, what Elgalad is are tantalising and give hope for the poor glorious soul that is Vanimore.

I LOVE how you write Elrohir. The sense that he will do himself and others harm, his violent glee at the thought of killing the orcs that raped Vanimore. I still never quite get over the shock of ow easily Sauron uses Vanimore- you write Sauron in such depth, the surgeon's scalpel as opposed to the mace that is Melkor- a really insightful image.

ANd those lovely, sexy, enticing glimpses of Thranduil, and nowe Erestor (cheers!!!). 



Author's Response: Thank-you, Ziggy. I am so glad you are still reading.

I LOVE how you write Elrohir. The sense that he will do himself and others harm, his violent glee at the thought of killing the orcs that raped Vanimore. I still never quite get over the shock of ow easily Sauron uses Vanimore- you write Sauron in such depth, the surgeon's scalpel as opposed to the mace that is Melkor- a really insightful image.

This is what Van sees in Elrohir, and understands I think.



Name: Oshun (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2013 21:26 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Blood, Beauty, Love ~
Great chapter. The beginning is gripping and intense. I really, however, like the part about Thranduil and Bainalph. I loved the idea of the tattoos.

The ink had peculiar properties: It dried instantly, and water would not wash it away. The tattoos would only fade when battle was over. It also provided a form of camouflage, dimming the gleam of an Elf's flesh, which enemies could so easily see at night. Old magic.

Also the erotic parts there are stunning.

He drew away — and Thranduil's arms locked about him, pulled him back into a kiss that dissolved his bones, turned him soft and supple as a fern, and hotter than a smith's forge. He bent back under the onslaught, melted as a candle melts into malleable wax. The King's passion rose like the Forest River in winter, fed by rains of lust. Bainalph would have gone down then, on the secret flowers and loam, had Thranduil not held him upright and, with a breathless curse, dragged his mouth away.

And then the tease at the end:

Bainalph drew his fingers across Thranduil's swollen groin, then turned away.

A case of less is more!

Author's Response: Thank-you, Oshun. I do enjoy Thranduil and Bainalph, even though their relationship in this story is much less tense than the others. The idea of the tattoos came up in another story, but I suppose I will use the idea all the time now :)


Name: Erethren (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2013 23:02 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~
great chapter, and as for the length; I personal like long chapters, it means more story. I love this view on Elgalad, realy highlighting the maturity he's has gained without losing the innocence that everyone associates with him Only enriches his beauty. And seeing it through Van's eyes was fantastic! thank you. This was truely a joy to read. :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank-you so much, Erethren. I am glad you didn't mind the chapter was long-ish. I have heard that readers prefer chapters of around 3,000 words, but I think my readers have good attention spans. (:
I am glad Elgalad comes across as having gained maturity, which of course he would, without losing whatever makes him Elgalad. Also, I am really pleased you liked seeing it through Van's eyes, as two-thirds of the way through, I thought I should change the POV XD.
Thank-you so much for taking time to read and comment!


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2013 2:58 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~
I don't think it's ever been made clearer than in this chapter exactly how much of a hostage Van is, even as it's entirely clear that he is also Sauron's best weapon. Happily, what is also clear is that Sauron apparently still has no idea exactly what Elgalad will "do what he can" as the only light so far in Van's eternity of darkness.

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for commenting, Ebbingnight. Van's servitude, the fact that he is himself a hostage, is something I feel I only covered a little in Dark Prince. That story has now become a kind of basis for writing everything else (: as I can use it to open up certain areas.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2013 21:05 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~

Author's Response: You will make me cry with relief that it is passable, Ziggy. I get lost among the characters, but I am always aware I am writing this for you, and that is intimidating (rightly).

Oh- MORE than  passable- in fact, I think its better than I write. That scene with the Void is  superb - I cant write the feanorians, I just keep comparing with your work and finding myself lacking. 

 

This chapter was 'harrowing' to write, and it's difficult, because I want to thread beauty into cruelty, and passion into grief, not just pour out violence and despair. I am really striving for that in everything I write.

Your encouragement means so much to me. Thank-you so much for taking the time. 

How could I not, after such a huge compliment. And the Harrowing is such a wonderful title, because it is as harrowing to read as it must have been to write - as I said before I thinl, the brutalisty is uncompromsing and I so admire that in you.  I find myself pullnig back sometimes and wish I had your courage.

 

 

I am longing to see you write Maedhros, or whomever you wish. That will be sublime.

I have started but it keeps veering into Erestor's pov with all his longing and loss. I'd love to read your version of Maedhros. I will get to it one day...I'll work on it.

 



Author's Response: Oh- MORE than passable- in fact, I think its better than I write. That scene with the Void is superb - I cant write the feanorians, I just keep comparing with your work and finding myself lacking.

Sorry, but that's cobblers, to put it bluntly (: I don't think any-one sees their writing as those who read it, to be honest, and I am quite sure you don't. I always seek for writers that have richness and depth, as well as polish, and if there is one gift I have got, it is unerringly knowing what is exceptional writing. I am unable to pick writing apart to explain what makes certain writing 'glow', but I know when it does. Those are the authors I read and re-read, whether published or fanfic, because what I look for is actually really rare.

You can write the F


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2013 20:54 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~
BEAUTIFUL--POETIC--SOUL SEARING PERFECTION Spiced Wine!! Your words flow like a clear, crystal stream in summer, like a soft wind gently wisping over a serene meadow of wild flowers and like a soft caress of haunting song that tickles my ears sending exquisite tremors down my spine warming me--you are BRILLIANT--you bring TEARS TO MY EYES HERE!!!

Author's Response: Ypi are very kind, Alaeryel, and much more generous than I deserve. Thank-you for taking the time to comment. (:


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2013 19:40 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~

“I do,” Elgalad refuted. “I have seen h-him. His power has soaked through th-this place. Even the Houseless do not c-come here.” He traced the air with slim fingers. “I felt them, but he held my m-mind. I think they tried to warn me, b-but even the others, those who hunger for a b-body, even they avoid the center of power. Th-there is naught here but him, and h-he is so strong.” A shiver racked him like a whip. “His power spreads out l-like heat from a fire, into th-the forest. The woods themselves w-warped, trying to twist away from it, so it was said, and I b-believe it now. And nevertheless, my people will follow me h-here.” 

That is such a perfect description of Mirkwood and why, how it has twisted and distorted.
And then I read and read and just gloried in the fabulous images you create - I absilutely SEE everything. I love that Erestor is in this with his amber eyes and that they are gathered on Elrond's balcony. I love that Tndomion is there and feel the Feanorians in the Void, their power, their physicality, their realness- not just some idea. Glorious scenes, gorgeous images, rich and deep and powerful. I have to go and luxuriate in it again.  Food for the senses and the soul indeed!



Author's Response: I have often thought about the sense of 'evil' that certain places exude in Tolkien's work. and imagined it as (of course) the kind of atmosphere people sometimes feel in places where great death or grief has occurred, but more the sheer power those like Morgoth and Sauron impressed into the aether, and the place itself, Morgoth's eventual nihilism, and Sauron's ambition. Both of them are Ainur, so Middle-earth is not their home. They came from 'outside' (as Tom Bombadil says). I can't help thinking that such auras would have some affect when it was unveiled. (When Sauron was Annatar in Ost-in-Edhil, he managed to fool almost every-one, and although certainly Gil-galad, Galadriel and Elrond didn't trust him, they didn't know who he was) so I believe there he was hiding most of his power. Here, and in Mordor, he sees no need and it is like taking the shade from a lamp. After a certain time, like trees that grow near the sea and are subject to prevailing winds, things around it start to 'warp' - the sea winds are natural, but they still cause the trees to lean inland, and it's similar effect, but greater with Sauron (or Morgoth's) powers in situ for any length of time. It's not that he's 'unnatural' just, as Elgalad feels, too strong. The Elves have the same effect in a different way, I feel. Imladris is a haven, the spiders wouldn't go near the places where the wood-Elves had feasted in the Hobbit, in Lothl


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2013 19:13 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~

Oh, I missed so much beauty in this when I read it before... or there is such sumptuousness that I soake din it, gorged myself and so did not appreciate every single beautiful image and word:

The hall was hollowed out, the roof gone. A faint miasma of dust tumbled in the air, but there was not even wreckage. The stone at the edges of destruction looked fused, melted. Grey clouds trailed like smokey banners across the uneasy sky. The air ached with the aftermath of power. He brought his eyes down, surveyed the unconscious figures, felt their life-force.



Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 7:41 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~
You were not kidding, this chapter is very dark. I actually read it last night but needed to walk away from it and process what I have read truthfully, you are one of the few writers that I can say that about! As beautifully written as all of it was I must admit I got a touch lost in the center part, It could just be I was having a dumb moment but I think I get it now I *think* Though I am still lost that Sauron told Van that they were all just sleeping and Elrohir was dead there for a moment, or just sleep that? It's probably just me but I still unclear about that. The last act, so to speak, of this chapter was intense with Elladan offering to become Saurons slave if he would spare his brother, and what is going on with Elgalad, will he be alright? The last line "You desire Punishment" gave me chills. Fantastic addition to this already amazing story, I am eagerly awaiting more of it.

Author's Response: Hiya, Anwyn.
Though I am still lost that Sauron told Van that they were all just sleeping and Elrohir was dead there for a moment, or just sleep that?

This will be properly explained, but the POV's in this chapter didn't properly allow for it. I suppose what it was was like an NDE, almost, though more quantum d;-) They all want to think about what happened, but this was not the time for thinking it over. They will.

"You desire Punishment" gave me chills.

Ziggy said on AO3 that it was the notion of doing penance, and I think most people who are basically decent, do feel they have to pay if they do something that is *not* decent.
Elgalad is not here, since Sauron I expect, did not want his horror getting in the way of what he 3wanted to show the twins, but he's not harmed, at the moment. He is in Van's chambers.
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, Anwyn!


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2012 4:28 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~
I don't think "enjoy" is the right word here: even though this is AU to the main DP 'verse, it's close enough so that this very graphic depiction of something that Van is obviously routinely expected to endure makes me realize that I never thought much about exactly why Van is called "The Slave" throughout Mordor--- and what that actually entails. Yes, of course he can kill his rapists, afterwards, but that can't make him feel better, though obviously Sauron intends that it should (just like having a bath, hmm?)

Now I realize why Coldagnir thought it more than likely that he'd be killed for what he'd done to Van as well-- and how extraordinary Van is to internalize that weight of pain and suffering for so many millennia and focus on making things better for others as best he can. (Even if it's only offering them a quick, clean death, if that's all he can do.)

So I am more grieved for Van than anything else: and now Elgalad is hostage as well for his good behavior. I can only hope that Elgalad is not forced to witness what the Twins have seen: it's horrific enough even with relatively detached spectators, let alone your best beloved.

And am I the only one who thinks that Elrohir's offer is a little too quick to convince Sauron that it's made in earnest?

Beautifully written, but now I'm terribly worried as to what's in store here: although the Twins may well escape, what about Van?

Author's Response: Thank-you for reviewing, Ebbingnight.

exactly why Van is called "The Slave" throughout Mordor--- and what that actually entails. Yes, of course he can kill his rapists, afterwards, but that can't make him feel better, though obviously Sauron intends that it should (just like having a bath, hmm?)

Yes, he is known everywhere, and in other lands as 'the Slave', but his unique position does mean Sauron will allow him to kill those who use him, and they know he can, thus he is feared. It won't make him feel better, of course, but it's part of his position, shows (oddly) that he should not be despised by others.

Now I realize why Coldagnir thought it more than likely that he'd be killed for what he'd done to Van as well-- and how extraordinary Van is to internalize that weight of pain and suffering for so many millennia and focus on making things better for others as best he can. (Even if it's only offering them a quick, clean death, if that's all he can do.)

Yes, he does internalize it, although he would say there is nothing else he can do but doe, and the threat over his head, a lie though it is, that he would be 'dragged' into the Void by Melkor or Sauron, means he has no choice, so *has* to bear it. I think Coldagnir's fear was more that he felt he should be killed, punished at least, because Van back then was very young, and the act was shameful. Although there would be power in Van by dint of his blood, it was only evident in his will-power, not actual 'power' especially in comparison to Melkor, Sauron, and the other 'spirits of destruction' such as the Balrogs.

Elgalad was not here because I think Sauron knew that Elgalad's horror would detract from what he was showing the twins. Vanim


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2012 12:04 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~

Still thinking about these images- you show everything - the violence and brutality are uncompromising in their vividness. And that lifts this so far above ordinary storytelling. 



Author's Response: I was worried about it being *too* brutal, but then again, we are talking of Carn D


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2012 14:21 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~

Oh god.

This is magnificent. 

I love that it is your wonderful Feanorians who stop Melkor- always fighting him even in the void- so magnificent, so immense and powerful and beyond anything Tolkien surely imagined for them, he may have conceived of it but he certainly never wote them as you do- I love that they are stars. Beautiful. Thei power and passion still burns more brightly than even the Valar- I did wonder first if it was Elgalad but even better that it was Feanor.

 

And then you give us the absolute 'truth' of Sauron- you are right- one expects intelligence to also have empathy. Melkor is brutish compared with Sauron. Those threats, the images, the terrible terrible violation of Vanimore so Elrohir finally truly understands how Vanimore is a slave, and then, oh I love Elrohir I have tears in my eyes even writing now- his lovely immense soul would rather spare Elladan this... How can he believe himself so evil when he would do this? I love the way you have taken that idea of his guilt and just elevated it  to something so sublime and so full of love that he would rather suffer as Vanimore than let Elladan suffer. And the fact that Sauron SHOWS him how he is controlled means he knows too how HE will be controlled possilby. Sian- this chapter has to be the best you ever written- certainly the best I have ever read with these characters- your portrayl of Elrohir in htis is just sublime (I know I keep saying stuff like this but really, really, it is superb)

 

And those glimpses of Legolas- as he skims past the Wood and then the startled green eyes...I just love this. 



Author's Response: Oh my God, I have been working on this for a couple of weeks and mentally punching myself in the face because I couldn't make it any better. If you are satisfied with it, I am SO relieved.

In my own 'verse of course F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 10, 2012 13:47 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~

I love the comparison with Celebrian here- that Elrohir cant beleive Van is not broken, and the ref to his father!



Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2012 8:12 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~
I actually read this chapter a few days ago and have been meaning to review it but haven't yet come up with something nearly clever enough to describe how completely amazing it is, but here it goes anyways! I have always greatly admired your work, but I feel with this story you have truly outdone yourself once again. There is just this massive scope to this story, you bring together all these 'larger than life' characters and infuse them with suck breathtaking grandeur and magic the drama is also huge and I LOVE it and seriously look forward to updates on it. In this chapter in particular how you write Sauron, I think it's just masterful.

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for reviewing, Anwyn. (:
I do actually know where this story is going to a degree, and it's supposed to feel a bit 'larger-than-life' (:
Sauron, well I have read some wonderful characterizations of Saurin, from Elfscribe, Pand


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2012 21:21 · For: Chapter 1 ~

I happened to start reading this yesterday and I love it!  Am really impressed with your powerful prose and vivid descriptions.  I'm reminded of fantasy paintings I've seen of beautiful, muscle-sculpted, half-naked warriors with grim expressions, their hair lashed by the wind amidst a back drop of raging elements, sheer rocks, and sharp battlements.   Very intriguing beginning.  You should be writing fantasy professionally.  I'll try to read more as I get a chance.

Some of my favorite lines:

A scream flayed the night, rapacious, starving. Only the damned could scream thus, and the Nazgûl were utterly damned.

Spring came in power that year, her green skirts sweeping the snow north to the borders of the world.

it was said that the orcs of the Misty Mountains fled in terror from these twins with their eyes of ice and frozen fire,

Elrohir stared at the crouching gloom of Mirkwood. His blood hissed in his ears hot, swift, and Aícanaro hummed eager violence against his flesh. The touch of a hand, that calming moon-blue breath across the pulse of his rage, a rage that quenched itself only and briefly in blood, brought his head around to meet his brother's eyes.

This was another world, a silent one. Moisture clung from the pine needles, the cobwebs that swagged from tree to tree. Fungi, sweating unhealthy pallor, erupted from the forest floor, from wet bark. One cluster, over-ripe, pustulent, burst, scattering a dust of spores.

Before him the ground rose, mossy boulders and outcroppings of rock shaking themselves free of the forest. Above him the natural bedrock rose into the hard lines and angles of masonry. Against a clear dawn sky, walls and towers showed black, sharp. Angry elegance brooded deep in the sculpted stone.



Author's Response: Am really impressed with your powerful prose and vivid descriptions. I'm reminded of fantasy paintings I've seen of beautiful, muscle-sculpted, half-naked warriors with grim expressions, their hair lashed by the wind amidst a back drop of raging elements, sheer rocks, and sharp battlements.

Wow, Elfscribe, thank-you so much for reading and taking the time to comment. Hugs! (:
I always see the stories in my mind as incredibly vivid, and so if it translate from imagination to words, I am very pleased. And you are one to talk of vivid imagery. I try to learn from the best.

I might try and write fantasy if I didn't like Middle-earth so much. I have loads of pre-fanfic fantasy in longhand. But I am up to my eyeballs in fanfic series (: You are very kind.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2012 13:06 · For: Chapter 1 ~

As I said, re-reading this after your update and just wallowing in the luxurious language  like this:

 

The warrior's face was a jewel framed by a cloud of nightblack hair. His eyes were moonstone-grey and the fire behind them imperishable, tortured, drew its intensity from one long gone into the Dark. Sauron felt his son's startled recognition; the Fëanorean beauty was unmistakable, as it had been in Celebrimbor, in Maglor, but in this man was as dangerous and dark as the black fell-fires of Barad-dûr. Anguirel glowered balefully, the ancient Elven runes sang a warning filled with the red run of blood and reflected flame. 

 

and this:

 

Haldir lifted his head, stared white rage toward Mirkwood, then spun at the drum of the ground under galloping hooves. The riders with mirrored, beautiful control, wheeled closer to take their measure of what had passed. Haldir knew them; it was said that the orcs of the Misty Mountains fled in terror from these twins with their eyes of ice and frozen fire, the Sons of Thunder. 

 

As I said on the SHOUT box- you make me want to write more of Elrohir- I had thought I was writing a legolas/Elrond fic but you've made me see the light!!! It has to see a pre-cursor to Sons and I hope to be able to reference this too if that's alright. But it will be light touch as I dont want spoilers to this... well I do but am trying to exercise patience, the LEAST of my virtues:)



Author's Response: Oh wow, of course you can reference this story in your prequel - would be beyond thrilled. That is the greatest approbation any author could receive :D - considering I often have no idea what I am going to write, don't worry about spoilers :D But if you want I will email you with some ideas I have, and you can see if you want to include those, or not.

More Elrohir is always good. You caused me to become fascinated with him, so tormented, so vibrant and vivid. I am beyond thrilled you are writing a prequel to Sons! /


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2012 5:41 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~
I must get back to lovely Finrod soon (:

Well, I'd certainly like to think you will. But I wasn't hinting--- I'm not nearly as subtle as Sauron!

Author's Response: Oh, no I have to! The chapter of Magnificat I'm working on now has some Finrod. All I have to do is think about the tragedies (plural) of the Silmarillion, and I want to rush back to Magnificat and hug the returned Noldor!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2012 0:15 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~

Magnificent. You write POWER like no one else. The sense of threat from Sauron, his absolute cunning, is just perfectly balanced against the sheer brutality of Melkor- the sense of chaos against the almost fascist construction of Sauron, his longing and need -his nature- to control and build vast edifices I feel. Melkors' opposite nature ot destroy, for the sake of it, the opposite of Saurn- the relishing of the thing that the Void is that is not Void...



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2012 0:04 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~
Sauron's duel with Finrod Felagund had been an experiment which failed. He wanted to control the Noldo, though he had not known he held the erstwhile King of Nargothrond, not then, only that the Elf was mighty. Finrod had fallen only because he did not believe the song he sang in defence. It fell about his feet like rotted brocade that looks beautiful, but will tear at a touch.

I am trying so hard not to believe anything that the "master of lies" shows or says or thinks, but this has the ring of truth to me, and explains something that I've wondered about. Sauron would not know why Finrod didn't believe in the song of power that he sang, but I think that we do.

Author's Response: Thank-you for commenting, Ebbingnight.

this has the ring of truth to me, and explains something that I've wondered about. Sauron would not know why Finrod didn't believe in the song of power that he sang, but I think that we do.

I've wondered why Sauron didn't know who Finrod and the others were, but as he didn't, (until later) he wouldn't have known why Finrod's song failed, but probably did feel or sense that Finrod was reaching for a support he didn't actually believe in (in my AU obviously, not in canon). He knew Finrod was strong, and so his failure was, I think, quite a shock to him. Perhaps it intrigued him and he would have wanted to know more, but then the wolf :(
I must get back to lovely Finrod soon (:
Thank-you again, I appreciate the review so much!


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2012 2:23 · For: Chapter 1 ~

I have not yet read Ziggy’s ‘Son’s of Thunder,’ but after reading this, it’s defiantly on my To Read List! This was simply stunning. The imagery so sharp I could taste/see/smell it (and I am talking more than your usual brilliance here *g*).

My heart cracked open when I read this: ”And, buried so far down in his soul that he did not hear it, but Sauron did, Vanim



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 18:43 · For: Chapter 3 ~ Dark Spring ~
Bainalph watched her face, white against the white hair as the dusk seeped in, and thought of the beloved dead who could never come back, forever and forever. The Golodhrim believed in rebirth if a soul passed to the West, but the reborn could never return to Middle-earth. Only a heart of ice and stone could impose such a law. Silvan legends spoke of Tauron, the Wild Hunter, and the Sindar knew of the Belain through those who had fought in the war of Wrath. The tales were not comforting. The folk of the Wood were of the Earth, children of the Mother and the One. They could never be parted from their land. Bainalph knew that if he died, he too would bind himself to the forest as the Houseless did. Forever and forever.

Oh, and I'm fascinated by Gwathel, the shade-speaker: she is one of your strongest female characters yet, I think, and she may help in exploring the extraordinary, liminal dimensions that the Ithiledhil can add to the 'verse here.

Author's Response: Thank-you, Ebbingnight. The idea of the Shade-speakers just came to me when thinking of the Ithiledhil. All I know at the moment, is that the speakers are few in number, and probably all women. They're extremely respected, like priestesses in older times, and Gwathel may be the most skilled, but due to the danger inherent in what they do now, they rarely use their gifts.
I am thinking she asked to come with Bainalph because she felt something, felt she might be needed, and has known Elgalad, but there's a lot of secrecy surrounding the Shade-speakers and the Folk of the Black Moon that I'm having to chip away at. :) I am glad you like her :) I should think we will see more of her as the story progresses.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 18:39 · For: Chapter 3 ~ Dark Spring ~
OK--I AM NOW HOOKED!! I WANT to know what happens--DESPERATION has set in!! Damn too much here and just GOTTA KNOW!! I will be watching for the updates--you have done a WONDERFUL JOB WITH THIS STORY Spice!!

Author's Response: Thank-you very much, sweetie. Unfortunately I have three WIP's and try to rotate through them, lol. But I will be back. :)


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 18:23 · For: Chapter 2 ~ Fragmented ~
SO TENSE HERE--I don't know what to make of Vanimore--is he suppose to be good hiding in evil or vice versa? A puzzle to be deciphered!!! I am REALLY ENJOYING THIS STORY Spice--GREAT JOB!!!

Author's Response: Hiya Alaeryel . Vanim


You must login () to review.