| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Half brother in blood, full brother in heart by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. Warning: this story contains...
~ A Throne of Shadows ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
Set after Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again, Vanimöré wishes to reunite Maglor and his son...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Day Will Come Again by Narya General Audiences
Fingon takes a moment to remember his cousin at midwinter.
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horror and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale from Harondor
In the Hells of Mandos... by astorey_91 Explicit
Pallando, a Maia of Namo, wants to show how dedicated he is to his Vala, but ends up in a very compromising situation.(part...
Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...

Site Info

Members: 498
Series: 95
Stories: 1795
Chapters: 9052
Word count: 27651763
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16919
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: Lloyd_1
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 27
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
01/24/20 12:09 pm
Oops. Friday.
Narya
01/24/20 12:08 pm
Happy Froday!
Spiced Wine
01/24/20 09:47 am
Happy Friday, everyone “_
ziggy
01/23/20 09:35 pm
Thank you for all your kind wishes:)
Alquien
01/21/20 05:51 am
Happy Birthday Ziggy! :)
Himring
01/20/20 11:11 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy!
Spiced Wine
01/20/20 09:42 pm
And Many Happy Returns to Ziggy :)
Spiced Wine
01/20/20 09:42 pm
Yes, he did, and if not for him we would lack so much
Karlmir Stonewain
01/20/20 04:28 pm
I read about Christopher Tolkien's death a couple of days ago. He lived to a ripe old age. Like King Théoden, of the cup of life he enjoyed a full measure.
Ysilme
01/20/20 03:40 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy! ♥ I hope you're having a wonderful day! *hugs*
Shout Archive


Reviews For ~ Dark Star ~

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2014 7:22 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Demons of Fear ~

It was both heat-wrenching and fascinating to see an Elgalad without the influence of Van weaving through every fiber of his life.  This Elgalad is so much….wilder.  I loved what Van said about Elgalad being too much for Elrohir, it’s so very true.  There’s so much passion inside of him, such a lack of shame, for he sees nothing to feel shame about, which contrasts so starkly with Elrohir who can feel no desire without suffocating in self-hate. 

Van is in so much pain, but of course he hides it, stuffs it down so only Sauron can see.  It must be torture for him to see Elgalad, and yet not see his Elgalad.  And he can say he thinks if for the best, but Van is selfish in love, starving, and to lose Elgalad like this isn’t enough to break him, but I think it will come very close the longer it takes Elgalad to remember him.

I love where you’re going with this story.  It’s got fascinating plot twists, as all your work has.  I’m looking forward to more :D



Author's Response: Yes, this is the true Elgalad - and just like Legolas, he would be flint-on-tinder for poor, tormented Elrohir.

Van can tell himself all he likes that this is for the best, even though he probably does not believe Elgalad will forget forever, since Elven brains remember everything, but he is devastated, and I don't doubt he sees Elgalad's love as crippling Elgalad himself in some way, since the 'true' Elgalad is so much more free. Thank-you, again, Encairion.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2014 6:58 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Out of the Shadows ~

“Always there was more bitterness for Celebrimbor; the past threw a shadow he could never outpace, and perhaps did not want to.”

Celebrimbor!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2014 8:32 · For: Chapter 9 ~ Memories of Night ~

“This vein of madness was the legacy of their mother's torment, but Vanimórë, victim of rape looked like the sanest man alive. Pride, it must be, and an absolute rejection of pity. Yes, pity would be as etching acid on his flesh. How could one understand him? Yet Elrohir should at least try and, predictably, he did not want to. Pride, again.”

I really liked Elladan’s insights into Van’s character, and then how it made no difference because he had his own pride, which I forget about sometimes next to Elrohir, but the pride is still there despite his more gentle soul.

For Elgalad, I would cut out thine heart and eat it if Sauron so commanded.”

Oh, I love how this conversation turned right to the heart of everything.  Van is such a compassionate person, but in the end it all comes down to one thing: keeping Elgalad safe.  Which makes complete sense.  Elladan may think Van is perfectly sane despite everything, but he’s not, not completely.  He’s crawling with self-hate, and while he loves Elgalad, it’s like he’s transformed Elgalad into something more in his mind.  Elgalad is his savior, the string upon which his sanity hangs.  Van loves Elgalad with more desperation, more necessity, more worship then anyone completely sane loves. 

This is the first time I’ve thought of their relationship like this, so if you think it’s way off, just tell me so, I certainly will not be offended :D (It might be just one of those late-night crazy thoughts lol!)

“I have known other twins.”

It took me a second to realize Van was talking about himself, and then it was like a punch in the gut!

“And loneliness so deep Elladan knew it ran back into this man's past like chains. For a moment, he glimpsed a youth, all disheveled black hair and long, shaking limbs sitting in a dank gut of stone. It was so similar to the vision Sauron had showed he and Elrohir that he knew it was no mere thought but had been drawn from memory. Vanimórë had endured it.”

I loved how Elladan kept getting glimpses of the past (Feanor, Fingolfin) throughout the chapter, and then it ended with Van, and Elladan finally begins grasping the enormity of what Van has lived through.  I’ll be interested to see if Elladan’s revelation has any weight at all with Elrohir in his dealings with Van.  Probably not, Elhroir is a thunderstorm of anger and his own pain, but I can hope lol.

Great chapter, really vivid with the imagery, and powerful dialogue!



Author's Response: Van is such a compassionate person, but in the end it all comes down to one thing: keeping Elgalad safe. Which makes complete sense. Elladan may think Van is perfectly sane despite everything, but he


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2014 3:28 · For: Chapter 8 ~ The Heart of Power ~

“Melkor, fallen from might and the beauty of stars...Sauron had seen something broken in him on his return from imprisonment. Had the Valar truly thought that cutting him off from everything and every-one but his own self for three Ages would bring their errant brother to heel?”

Wow, I haven’t really thought about it like this before.  But yeah, that’s an incredibly long time with no companionship, and no thoughts but the ones circling and circling inside your own head, and how could Morgoth not be anything but hate-filled after his imprisonment?  That’s not saying I pity him, because his actions against ht Elves after their awakening was inexcusable, but it just makes me shake my head at the Valar.  Ignorance, or something more sinister going on there?  One wonders….

“Destroy it?” Sauron murmured. “I think he will destroy it one day, lovely one. And I...I can make thee forget.”

You keep doing this to me!  Arrrg!  I love it, the way you keep making me swing back around on Sauron’s character!  I was so convinced last time I reviewed about him that I was done with him.  I wasn’t going to keep hoping he was something more, but then this, this, you give me this and how can I not think there is something more going on in his story?

He understands Van so completely, probably more than Van knows himself  Of course he’s a complete monster in the way he’s treated Van, and yet, all those hints of Sauron’s own suffering at Morgoth’s hands, and these little lines that make me think he really does care deep down for Van…  I have massive plot twists implanted in my head from this.  I wonder about deals made before time was measured, and Valar with ulterior motives, and Maia sacrificed for the ‘greater good’ or some other supposedly justifiable reason in the Valar’s opinion…I am probably way off the ball, and yet you keep doing this to me, and I love it!  These are the absolute best stories.  I couldn’t ask for better :D



Author's Response: I have massive plot twists implanted in my head from this. I wonder about deals made before time was measured, and Valar with ulterior motives, and Maia sacrificed for the


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: December 25, 2013 0:35 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Blood, Beauty, Love ~

“The water-grey eyes were glacial. Vanimórë had never seen them so cold.”

I like reading how Van is discovering Elgalad is not longer a child, but a hardened warrior.  It reminded myself that Van actually hasn’t seen Elgalad since he was a child sent to Mirkwood (I kept forgetting because of reading them so often together in the Dark Prince series), and then, remembering that, I get all excited, because it’s like I get to read them discovering each other all over again!

“And he watched thy pleasure in slaying them. And so he will give thee more until thou art little more than a beast he uses to kill. Like them.”

“And like you?” Elrohir pulled open the door, slammed it behind him.”

I am loving the interaction between Van and Elrohir!  Van is so cool, so unaffected by Elrohir’s disgust.  At least he is on the surface, but then, he grew up on scorn, so it’s nothing new to him.  Whenever Elrohir scorns Van I want him to get hit in the face with everything Van is, all his strength, his beauty in spite of the darkness.  But at the same time I don’t want Elrohir to see any of it because he doesn’t deserve to know everything Van is.  Not yet.  I know he’s in pain and afraid and I keep thinking I shouldn’t be so hard on him, but arrg!  I just want to slap him sometimes!  It’s this, this, that I loved so much about Ziggy’s story and which you have captured so perfectly: the way I both love and hate some of the characters and just couldn’t bear not knowing what happens to them because they are making me feel.

Awesome chapter!  You’ve done such a beautiful job with this cross-over; you should be proud :D



Author's Response: Best Christmas present I could have, Encairion - a review :) Thank-you.
You're right; Van has not seen Elgalad in a long time (almost a thousand years at this point). One day I must write of Elgalad in Mirkwood.

I am loving the interaction between Van and Elrohir! Van is so cool, so unaffected by Elrohir


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2013 22:47 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~

I always was. When one has nothing, one clings to anything.”

I love this line, yet of course it is so painful, but it is everything that is at Van’s soul I think.  That desperation to be loved, and the way he clings to Elgalad, and yet dos not, afraid (always afraid) of ruining what his hands touch.

“Thou d-didst save him.” His tone was not condemnatory, rather, curious. “I saw thee throw h-him away from that...darkness.”

That had been pure instinct, or so he hoped.”

I did find that interesting last chapter, how Van saved Sauron, of course Morgoth would have been the greater of two evils, and yet that instinct to save Sauron…I wonder if Sauron thinks of it?  And yet, not even a few hours later he was having Van raped.  What a way to repay the one who saved your soul Sauron! (I really need to stop hoping for more for him, he’ll only keep disappointing.  It’s kind of a mind-fuck lol!)

 “I fought creatures I knew I could outmatch.” Vanimórë swallowed a knot of self-derision.”

I’d never thought Van might consider himself a coward before, especially for refusing the Valar, something I think was one of his strongest, bravest moments, but it does reflected his twisted inner perspective, that he could actually think himself a coward for this, for anything.  It’s so heartbreaking, and makes me long so much for more of that final book of the series where we saw Elgalad’s true nature revealed, and the demons crawling in Van’s soul.  But I shall be patient :D For it’s best to read the story before the ending (no matter how wonderful that ending promises to be) :D



Author's Response: I love this line, yet of course it is so painful, but it is everything that is at Van


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: December 18, 2013 4:18 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~

"This was a narrow place, some gut of stone lit by one meager, reeking torch. Two shapes crouched there, forgotten captives, the tattered remnants of clothes rotted on their skin. Their limbs were thin and white, ropey tendon, lank hair seethed with lice, fell in a greasy mat to pools of smeared filth and urine. As one shifted, he saw its groin, ancient scar tissue.

The creature lunged, snatched up a rat that scuttled against the wall. Tearing sounds came as it gnawed. The other leaped at it, fighting for the meal, and they snarled, grappling. One pulled on a fistful of hair, jerking back the thing's head, and Elrohir saw...

...saw his own face, teeth long and bloody, skin melted over bone, his eyes, unmistakably his eyes, red-rimmed, the whites soured to yellow, drained of sanity, and yet there was an awareness in them. It knew what — whom — it had been."

 

Oh god!  I knew it was coming, but seeing Elrohir destroyed like this...it's too much to bear!  But I loved the imagery here.  I read this chapter a few days ago (and am just now reviewing, sorry, I know), but this image keeps haunting me.  I can understand, just like Van understands, why Elrohir gives in rather then facing that fate. 

And  yet, while I can understand it, it is still the selfish choice (which makes it in-character lol).  In Suaron's service Elrohir is going to be abetting Darkness, possibly killing , most definitely giving Suaron a powerful tool.  Driven into that creature of base desires and hunger, he would be nothing, and yet it would be only himself he is hurting (and possibly his brother).  But while Elrohir's choice is the selfish one, who could actually chose differently?  The horror of that vision was too unspeakable.

Sauron understands Elrohir so well, and that is going to be very dangerous for Elrohir.  Sauron has his finger on his pulse, on his darkest, deepest desires, and I fear for Elrohir.  He can fall so very far, and as we saw in Ziggy's work, he didn't actually do anything unforgivable at this point (at least I don't consider it so), so I hope he can get out of this mess whole!

 



Author's Response: I can understand, just like Van understands, why Elrohir gives in rather then facing that fate.

Yes, so could I. I was one of Van's nightmares when he was young. After he killed his sister, he was thrown into a place like this, and left, and his fear was that he would be left there, forgotten. It became so that he was grateful when his father came for him - a version of Stockholm Syndrome, I suppose. Sauron, of course, knew his fears, and has recreated them for Elrohir. There are some things that are too much to contemplate. It does not have to be physical torture to break some-one. His choice was selfish, yes, but who wouldn't have made it? At least there is some hope in being compos mentis and having a certain amount of freedom.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2013 22:21 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Out of the Shadows ~

My dear I doi hope they are going to meet and f*** themselves sensless in the earth-rites or something. I think I will die of happiness!!!


Well, if that's what you want...I think Elrohir is going to end up in the Battle of Five Armies first, but maybe at the Winter Solstice? 

 

If that's what I want??? Oh god yes. (Yes- that IS how it sounds!!)

Ah- Battle of the Five Armies and then the Winter Solstice... urghhh gone into meltdown at the mer thought.xxx



Author's Response: If that's what I want??? Oh god yes. (Yes- that IS how it sounds!!)

I hope you will be patient :) You know my meandering tendencies.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2013 20:49 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Demons of Fear ~

Oh. This chapter is glorious. Soooooo sexy, erotic, powerful. Absolutely gorgeous.

I love the way you have written Elgalad in this- he seems completely different- and his stutter has gone! He seems more like a wood-elf in this -more mature, independent - I suppose that's because normally he revolves around Van as Van centres him- its an intersting relatonship as well as beautiful and tragic and so deep. I love the way he tries ot free himself from the stuffed effect of Sauron's spell. And Elrohir is dead steamy and fabulously suppressed.sigh. And that glimpse of Legolas. My dear I doi hope they are going to meet and  f*** themselves sensless in the earth-rites or something. I think I will die of happiness!!!

 

That erotic encounter between elrohir and Elgalad is beautifully done- very sexy- and you evoke a sympathy for Elrohir - he is so noble and confused. As always, wonderful writing.



Author's Response: Thank-you again, Ziggy. Elgalad is completely different in this, he is more like the 'real' Elgalad who was in Weapons, but that's absolutely what he should be, as he had to give up a great part of who he truly is when he was born onto Middle-earth. I should think seeing how he is now, will make Van feel even worse about how dependent Elgalad seems to be on him. :

My dear I doi hope they are going to meet and f*** themselves sensless in the earth-rites or something. I think I will die of happiness!!!

Well, if that's what you want...I think Elrohir is going to end up in the Battle of Five Armies first, but maybe at the Winter Solstice?
Noble and confused - that is what I was aiming for. I am so pleased it has seemed to work!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2013 20:30 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Out of the Shadows ~

Your descriptions are so superb. Crystal clear images one after another of sumptuous richness- I am lost in this. It goes from Sauron's dreaming, Celebrimbor and he walking amongst lavender, to Celebrimbor's body and Vanimore's involvment in his death- merciful death, and Sauron complicity in it. You make Sauron so complex and intersting. Almost sympathetic- but certainly alien. I love that sense of difference you bring to him, and the Elves. 

And I know the punishment Van woul dhave got for his mercy. And he is being so harshly punished already in every single way. I know you are slowly working towards Weapons but it's very hard to read sometimes, knowing how much he is hurt. Testament to the extraordinary power of your writing that I care so much about Van.

 

And I love this detail

 

Sauron moved to a box of sandalwood and lifted the lid, picked up the heavy ring that nestled there. The gold grasped at the firelight, winked like a dragon's eye ...He tapped the ring against his teeth, laid it back in the box, closed the lid. 

 

Love that so human gesture! Makes him scarier.

 

The fire, eating at nothing, curled and stretched into a red-golden beast, spiralled into a circle. Dragon. Ring. Sauron reached out a hand, could almost feel the hot wrap of metal about his severed finger. 

 

love this



Author's Response: You are so kind with your praise, thank-you. I am trying to do your writing justice in my own, and am not even half-way there. Thank-you for the encouragement.

I know you are slowly working towards Weapons but it's very hard to read sometimes, knowing how much he is hurt.
Aww :( But I am so glad I can make some people care about him.

And I am so pleased you can follow this version of Sauron! Thank-you, Ziggy.


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2013 19:25 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Out of the Shadows ~
Oh, yikes! The embarrassing and entertaining truth is probably that back when I first read Chapter 10 of DP, I didn't really know anything about the Silmarillion, so this incident made very little impression at the time. Now that I know the F


Name: Fade (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2013 11:35 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Demons of Fear ~
Oh, my God, I am so excited for Van & co. meeting the 'mysterious' Dwarves(and Hobbit?)! I hope there will be more chance for saving Elgalad and Elrohir after they left Dol Guldur. Elgalad...I am so depressed for poor Van, but I believe Elgalad's love is so essential to him, that it will make him remember, only after a brief time spent together, and if not, he is still going to gravitate towards Vanim


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2013 5:37 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Storm-Song ~

“Jealous?” Elrohir goaded. “Will your especial place as his slave be threatened? Perhaps he will not need you. Glorfindel said you longed for freedom. This may be your chance. He also said he believed you were Sauron's greatest weapon, not the One Ring. I do not. You are a nothing, a slave, a coward who fears to leave his master. Now take us to him.

Vanim



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2013 2:59 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Out of the Shadows ~
Van killed Celembrimor to forestall a worse fate for him?! It makes perfect sense, and is perfectly heartbreaking.

Author's Response: Yes, he did, Ebbingnight. It was in Dark Prince. :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2013 8:56 · For: Chapter 9 ~ Memories of Night ~

Erestor had laughed, those wolf's eyes of his glowing like the embers of a fire that might dim with sorrow and the passing of Time, but would never burn out.



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2013 17:50 · For: Chapter 9 ~ Memories of Night ~
The temptation to confide in Elladan must be nearly irresistible here, for Van to need to protect himself with one lie, and another, and yet another as he does. There is no possibility that he'd cut out Elladan's heart and eat it at Sauron's command, nor cut off Elladan's hands even to save Elagalad, nor fail to help Elrohir if there were any possibility of escape for him at all, since no one knows better than Van that "serving Sauron" is not only "so terrible" but far more horrific than either Twin has yet seen. It is a good thing that Elladan can't know more about Van's history than he already does: the reason that Van understands so much about twin communication is best left unexplored, as well as why he believes that "losing" the only other person who has ever or will ever love him is all for the best. Elladan, knowing and loving Elrohir as he does, is probably all too close to understanding the level of despair and self-loathing that Van has endured for so long.... and must continue to do. No wonder he wants Elladan safely away as soon as possible.

As for Elgalad's "forgetting" of Van... well, that's a heart-breaker rather than a cliff-hanger, I think.

Author's Response: The temptation to confide in Elladan must be nearly irresistible here, for Van to need to protect himself with one lie, and another, and yet another as he does.

Yes, it must have been almost impossible not to unburden himself, Ebbingnight. But he would feel he had no right, and people who have been hurt can become very private; to trust some-one is to open yourself, make yourself vulnerable. And so, he lies, or at least skirts around the truth.

Elladan, knowing and loving Elrohir as he does, is probably all too close to understanding the level of despair and self-loathing that Van has endured for so long.... and must continue to do. No wonder he wants Elladan safely away as soon as possible.

I think Elladan would understand, insofar as he's able to. Elrohir, battling his own demons might understand even more, were he willing to. Perhaps telling his twin what happened to Elgalad was a way of preparing Vanim


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2013 18:11 · For: Chapter 9 ~ Memories of Night ~

Oh Sian- he has taken Elgalad's memory of Van? That is the cruellest thing of all. Too sad and too much - and yet he still holds Van to his will through Elgalad. What will happen now??!! 

This is a wonderful exploration of your theology- and it makes complete sense. The idea of the Void as a physical entity or as a physical ...place almost, or dimension makes perfect sense. And I loved that moment of Van's laughing at the idea of Earendil watching out for Morgoth- you are right of course, that's a fairy tale to reassure the children and surely the Wise do not beleive that. It raises all sorts of questions about how the Wise keep the Elves in ignorance as well- the stories told to keep them obedient. LIke the idea of elrond' prayer and Elrohir's refusal to join in, and listening to Tindomion and Erestor as they talk quietly in the night of Feanor and the old days. 

 

As always, so much to love in this chapter - but I re-read the previous and really, I see more and more everytime I read it. Fabulous rich writing. Wonderfully complex and I am completely addicted.



Author's Response: It raises all sorts of questions about how the Wise keep the Elves in ignorance as well- the stories told to keep them obedient. LIke the idea of elrond' prayer and Elrohir's refusal to join in, and listening to Tindomion and Erestor as they talk quietly in the night of Feanor and the old days.

I have to deal with the two missing Silmarils at some point, Ziggy, and while I buy the one being in the Earth, I do not believe Earendil is sailing a ship in the precise orbit of Venus d;-). I could also see Elrohir ending up not believing in the mercy or efficacy of prayer to the Valar, after what happened to his mother, and with his own guilt eating at him.

Thank-you so much for continuing to read, Ziggy.


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2013 17:45 · For: Chapter 8 ~ The Heart of Power ~
Of course Elgalad is hidden even from himself, so Sauron wouldn't ever be able to penetrate behind his eyes to what he truly is. I also don't think it would occur to him any-one would give up such power for love.

That's exactly what makes the mental images here so powerful, as we can imagine here what Sauron cannot.

Author's Response: I am so glad it came across as a powerful mental image. Of course the characters are running these things through my head as I write, but I don't know if it makes it from mind to page unless some-one tells me! Thank-you, Ebbingnight.


Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2013 5:11 · For: Chapter 8 ~ The Heart of Power ~
Sauron stared at Elgalad, who shone like living silver.

“And you. I wonder. . . ."


And I wonder whether Sauron has become so corrupted during his long time away from the Timeless Halls that he lacks any inkling of what (and whom) exactly this eternal love may represent. Of course, a father who so casually plays with his son's deepest, most hidden fears in order to threaten him precisely with what he fears most for his beloved can't be expected to recognize what may be beneath Elgalad's pellucid gaze (though Elrohir begins to, which gives us hope for his future at least. The more that Elrohir turns to the loathing (and self-loathing) that we've seen here and the further he wanders from love, the more lost he becomes: at this point, it's primarily his pure love for his twin that holds him back from taking yet another step into the Dark, and Sauron.)

As for Sauron, the more we see of him, the more he seems like some metaphysical nightmare, illustrating the antithesis of Kant's Categorical Imperative, with his constant calculation of who and what will be useful to him as means to his ends. Imagine him having free access to your mind as Van must endure, and we begin to see how strong Van must be in order to keep his sanity and at least some semblance of freedom.

Author's Response: And I wonder whether Sauron has become so corrupted during his long time away from the Timeless Halls that he lacks any inkling of what (and whom) exactly this eternal love may represent

I almost think that the Ainur who followed Melkor, and were around to see his defeat, might not want to remember their 'first' life in the Timeless Halls. And Mairon was one of the first to follow him. There must have been something at the beginning that drew so many, but as the Ages go on. Perhaps he really can't afford to recollect it - or rather - immerse himself in the memory of that time before time. Of course Elgalad is hidden even from himself, so Sauron wouldn't ever be able to penetrate behind his eyes to what he truly is. I also don't think it would occur to him any-one would give up such power for love.

I think you're completely right that at the moment it is only Elrohir's love for Elladan that is preventing his fall - we just have to hope that when he feels Elladan is free, that he won't put his sword to the same use as its twin.

with his constant calculation of who and what will be useful to him as means to his ends. Imagine him having free access to your mind as Van must endure, and we begin to see how strong Van must be in order to keep his sanity and at least some semblance of freedom.

Van is strong, but he would consider it a strength gained by practice, by using and reusing a muscle. And since he can't match Sauron in power, sees himself as a failure - or rather as Elrohir currently sees him.

Thank-you so much for reading and reviewing, Ebbingnight! :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2013 10:13 · For: Chapter 8 ~ The Heart of Power ~

oh I had to read it twice before even attempting a review.

As always, your writing is glorious. Your characters full of passion, power, latent tragedy, loss and dangerously erotic.

The spark between Vanimore and Elrohir is fanned to barely suppressed fury- that unjustified contempt Elrohir has for Vanimore



Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2013 22:00 · For: Chapter 8 ~ The Heart of Power ~
As always, another great chapter! :)

There was indeed a likeness to Elrohir in the arrogant structure of his face, though to the best of Sauron's knowledge, Vanim



Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2013 15:43 · For: Chapter 6 ~ The Biter-Bit ~
Oh, Van and Elgalad are just too sweet together... :'( :') (I'm both sad and happy for them at the same time, anyway I'm tearing up.)
It's also kind of cute how Van is surprised by Elgalad's maturation. *hugs them both*

Sauron with a tilt of his head to Vanim



Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: June 22, 2013 12:37 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Harrowing ~
... What was the force that helped them get out of the Void? Something to do with Elgalad?

You know that crack in my heart I mentioned last chapter? That has just widened. Sauron actually loved Melkor? OMG FUCK YOU MELKOR THAT IS NOT HOW YOU TREAT SOMEONE WHO LOVES YOU!!! Well, obviously you shouldn't do that to anyone ever anyway. Or have it done. *glares pointedly at Sauron*

Yes, this chapter was indeed very dark, and played havoc with my emotions, from feeling really sorry for Sauron and being pissed off at Melkor for his sake, back to my undescribeable ground-state feeling for him. Then all my feels for the poor souls in the Void, horror at the terrible things the twins are threatened with, and subsequently the complete debasement of Van. I cried really hard after that. *hugs him fiercely*
his face would haunt Elrohir forever. It held the look of one betrayed so many times that he no longer expected anything else, but still, like a child, hopes.
This. Just this.

Author's Response: What was the force that helped them get out of the Void? Something to do with Elgalad?

We shall see :)

You know that crack in my heart I mentioned last chapter? That has just widened. Sauron actually loved Melkor? OMG FUCK YOU MELKOR THAT IS NOT HOW YOU TREAT SOMEONE WHO LOVES YOU!!! Well, obviously you shouldn't do that to anyone ever anyway. Or have it done. *glares pointedly at Sauron*

I believe Melkor did love him at the very beginning, but as you said in your email, it was a short honeymoon!

Yes, this chapter was indeed very dark, and played havoc with my emotions, from feeling really sorry for Sauron and being pissed off at Melkor for his sake, back to my undescribeable ground-state feeling for him. Then all my feels for the poor souls in the Void, horror at the terrible things the twins are threatened with, and subsequently the complete debasement of Van. I cried really hard after that. *hugs him fiercely*

I'm sorry :( But on the other hand, I am relieved when I can write something that evokes emotion in readers! Otherwise, I've failed. Thank-ou so much for the review, even when the chapter upset you :( Hugs!



Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2013 23:37 · For: Chapter 1 ~
... dammit, it won't let me express my love for Van with heart symbols.


Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2013 23:32 · For: Chapter 1 ~
The rest of my review got eaten, I just noticed, so...

...
Equally obvious should be that my heart is already in pieces because of Van ( b29; :'( *hugs* ), my new heartbreak for Sauron is merely a crack in one of those. And I'm scared that said crack will widen at some point and simultaneously somehow want it to.

Maybe it would be better to warn for Sauron/Van as noncon incest in the story notes, as is made highly clear in the actual chapter. I think there is a world of difference between what, for example, F



You must login () to review.