| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14504
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: Tirnel (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2015 16:41 · For: Chapter 1 - Hobbitland
ch.1. :D :D :D Oh my... this is so cool. Unbeleavably great start to a story. I'm truly a fan already.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it. :-)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2015 23:06 · For: Chapter 106 - Horse and Rider
Mmmm. Have I mentioned lately that I love your Sauron?

So...the versions of Middle-earth...are they arranged like concentric circles or is it more random than that? I feel like there was a passage where Feanor explained a little about the doors between worlds but I can't remember where.

I'm so excited to see where this goes :-D

Author's Response:

Not lately. ;-P

Truthfully? No idea. I think it's more random than that; it has always FELT more random than that, if that makes any sense. I remember him explaining that he made the doors to drift between worlds and "catch" when they get close enough to each other and make a sort of harbor of energy. I think, though, if you want to imagine them as concentric circles, it would work just as well.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2015 23:16 · For: Chapter 104 - In and Out Of Time
Best birthday present ever! :-D absolutely gorgeous, as always. I need to treat myself to a reread ;-) I'm so glad to see more of this story and I really hope you continue.

Author's Response:

Happy Birthday! :-)

I am all into the world of this story again---I mean a week spent making new Middle-earth maps AND constructing new languages---so expect regular updates for awhile, at least until I get a job somewhere. I've suddenly got a lot of free time and I've got all kinds of new ideas.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2015 17:54 · For: Chapter 103 - The Sea Of Grass
This is really beautifully written all of it and as always! And you already know that I like where you are going with this :) I am glad you've started it.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, as always. :-)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2013 11:24 · For: Chapter 102 - Evendust
that which swims the backside of the deeps the forgotten moon the swimming of the remainders of Janet took deep, slow breaths. Rubbed her eyes. Closed them. things that never were The music came to her as something distant, muted, a heartbeat buried deep within its own sleeping flesh, thrumming, pulling the blood far away from the skin, cooling it. It was like breath as she stood, a thought brushing the hairs of her body, soft and gentle against her skin, barely there, a whisper.

I love this, and Lugmok


Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2013 3:29 · For: Chapter 102 - Evendust
You promised Elves tripping balls in this chapter and you have delivered. I am completely in love with how you write Thranduil, the sexy elegance of him it is just perfect and so spot on. When he is licking the wine from his fingers? Damn, so hot. Thank you so much for another chapter, it is always such a treat.

Author's Response:

You are most welcome. It's a treat to write him. The balls-tripping has only just begun! MWAHAHAHAH! ;-)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 16:55 · For: Chapter 101 - Festival
(Double post, sorry - first review didn't work properly. Here goes take two...)

I was so thrilled to see this pop up! And I'm doubly thrilled to see most of my favourite characters; I think I might have a sneaky crush on your Faramir, and your Sauron is utterly magnetic.

It reads like you never left it; your language is as beautiful as ever, and the flow of the piece is unbroken - I re-read it all recently, and this feels like such a natural progression. It seems like things are about to kick up another notch, with Janet meeting Sauron in the dream (at least I think that's what happened...?) and then this:

"M


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 11:52 · For: Chapter 101 - Festival
Bloody hell, you - you step back as if through one of the doors, having been away for so long, and just slay me with this. It's all beautiful dark poetry.

There's no way I can choose what I love in this beside quoting the whole thing, so I will pick these out of the hat:
The slow, steady power of it, the ceaseless breath of the wind, the endless caress of the water, the touch that takes and does it so slowly, with such care, that the skin remains sweetly oblivious to its own destruction.

I saw a door built of ancient stone and left to stand on a barren island. The sea around it whipped at the wind.

And you.
The richness of a man's voice, cold and polished as the frost glittering between the stones. You would know of the secrets within the silk, the little truths embraced tightly by such pretty pretty lies.

Breath fell on my face, heated to tenderness by a swift current of blood. A narrow mouth touched my neck, rested on the pulse. It trembled there like a blade. "Wouldn't you?"

"I would know of the spaces between the doors," I said, startled by the words.

The man, he hissed, he of ice, skin of stone, he has whispered these things. The wind fell quiet. He has left them in your ears while you sleep.

You have spent lifetimes upon lifetimes, stacked the spans of both Men and Elves, striving to learn the mysteries of the doors. You have glimpsed the other worlds. You have trod the sands of the In-Between, paddled the human streams of that place called Xe-Nahadu, where Kublai Khan, F


Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2013 4:05 · For: Chapter 101 - Festival
When this came up as the most recent story I honestly did a double take, I was completely delighted to see it there. This chapter, as always, was beautifully written. Though this was my favorite 'Because King Thranduil, you know. He likes to party' I was sitting here going to myself "Yeah he does" How many more days till we get him on the big screen again? Great update, it was the perfect way to finish my evening of turkey hangover before heading to bed.

Author's Response:

TOO MANY DAYS. That is the answer. :-P

It seems that, all of a sudden, I am no longer stalled with this story. I have no idea how it happened. I am learning to accept that writing, like all art, is something of a mystery. God knows you can't force it. Anyway, I am glad that you enjoyed it.

And hell yeah, King Thranduil likes to party. The next chapter, if not the next few chapters, are going to show all of us just how much he likes to party...and what happens when a bunch of Mirkwood Elves look like when they're tripping balls and writhing around to modern music. It may very well be as scary as it sounds.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2013 13:00 · For: Chapter 100 - Four Days Ago
I will sit down while my hair grows. I will spend more time sitting. I will pass the time with a pen and paper while yearning to pass it with a computer and keyboard and while I am imagining it I will think about how I could show Howard how to use them: see, it makes the writing so much easier, it's amazing, at last your fingers will be able to keep up with all of your thoughts.

This is putting me in mind of Prufrock - "I will wear the bottom of my trousers rolled" and all that.

I just popped across to see if by any chance there was more to this and I had missed an update, but sadly not. It's still as beautiful and wonderful as ever, though. I haven't done a full re-read, just dipped in and out of the parts I like best - Janet travelling with the Fellowship, her time with F


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2012 7:11 · For: Chapter 1 - Hobbitland

OK- cross wires then. I had not even glimpsed that she is gay/queer however you want to describe it. That has not even crossed my mind- but i have obviously not read it in depth but it did FEEL that you were really furious with my interpretation - I dont think I have ever been accused of being homophobic before!  We can quibble over the use of the word chattels - that IS how I feel she uses the men in the sort- I dont have a particular problem with it but I dont like anyone being dismissed so easily-and especially when I have empathised and liked a character and it reads like that to me. 

re she hasn't had much interaction with Lugmoki - I don't know how many chapters they have been in the same 'place' but I cannot recall any interactions-and I simply find it strange that two women in the same company would not relate more to each other - that would be the natural interaction to me and I find it strange- actually that made me dislike her to be honest because the way it came across to me was actually anti-women and I wondered if she actually disliked other women as all her relationships seem to be with men. If you go back and read it, you might see how I reached that conclusion-However, I also know that fanfic is not perfect- if you are posting as you go along there are all sorts of things you dont, as writer, anticpate readers seeing and it comes as a huge surprise when you realise people have interpreted things in a way that you would never have thought. But I would be surprised if no one else has ever thought this. They may not have written it. But I would argue that many women these days have accepted/been beguiled by the post-feminist arguments that gender is irrelevent and that it may well have passed many people by. If you are a follower of Fiorenza I am guessing that will make you rail!! Personally I don't agree with her in her entirety- I think it is far more complex than that single interpretation of human relationships but there is no  question too that there are many spheres where it provides a useful framework for analysis.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2012 23:01 · For: Chapter 1 - Hobbitland

I thought I should respond to your response at least out of courtesy as I really think you have misinterpreted / I have not expressed myself clearly.  I was rather taken aback by your response to be honest. I can't see where you got those ideas from from my comment but I admit I was tired and had not considered for any great length what I was writing but simply reactied on an emotional level to what I read. I loved the sympathetic way you portrayed Feanor and reacted to that. However, if you have somehow seen that as an attack on your sexuality (?) I am baffled, bemused but very sorry. It was not intended. I have answered your response below. I would not normally.

 

Author's Response:

I have been thinking about this review for over a week.

 

I am confused by your continued use of the word "loyal" in its various forms. In what way has Janet been disloyal? Did you miss the part where Feanor gave his "permission" (which is a loaded term in and of itself)? Did you miss the part where Janet left Jack directly due to his overwhelming chauvinism?

*Pink- I think you will see I did not use the word disloyal but not loyal- to me there is a difference. Disloyal implies something active- I don't think she deliberately goes out of her way to do this but I do think, from my reading of this, that there is some great lack in her that she does not feel those deep emotional ties -she runs away and that is, I thought, shown through the structure of this by the opening of the doors. I obviously attributed too much meaning to a simpler device thinking this a metaphor. But hey- that’s literature. Just think how angry Tolkien would be if he knew!!

I am merely reacting emotionally to characters and not analysing them in the depth that you might have thought. I did not miss Feanor's permission but I read it as given sadly, regretfully, and that sense of emotion from HIM met no emotional response in her- in my reading of it. Yes- Jack was awful like that- would drive me mad. But he was sad and that touched me because you had written him well.

 

It's obvious to me that you have no idea how feminism actually works. In a patriarchy, it is impossible for a woman to make men her "chattels." Do you even know what chattels are? Do you know anything about kyriarchy, or male privilege? Or identity-policing? I am a bisexual woman who is in love with a man. I've had three girlfriends in my life and three times as many boyfriends. Does that mean that, in your view, my three-to-one ratio erases my queerness? If it does, well...sorry, but I've got nothing nice to say to you. At all.

My response:

*??!!! I am a little taken aback by your outburst. I still can't see anything in my comment to cause this level of offence- But certainly I did not intend to offend you and clearly I have- so again, apologies. But I cannot see what your sexuality has to do with my review. But to answer your question -

I don’t agree that only women can be chattels- that is a very limited definition and interpretation. Children, men, women, sons, daughters- people can be chattels- of course- if the individual with the power in the relationship - in this case, Janet- well and truly and it may not start with her but it always ends with Janet as the beloved , the desired/ wanted/ powerful one in the relationship -and it is sexual power and then emotional. What I was picking up on and reacting to, is her lack of any sense of emotional attachment to anyone really. She comes across to me as someone who gives very little of herself. You also make great use of her apparent sexual attractiveness - and she engages primarily I think, on a sexual level which some schools of feminism would condemn outright. 

Do you not agree that she does not engage with any female characters?  She seems to me to only relate to male characters and in an almost entirely sexual way. Apart from her brother ( but I cant remember exactly how that relationship was but he was certainly controlling and possessive and she is feisty and great in those scenes but also loving and tender with him. But always so angry underneath too) She makes no attempt to engage with Lugmoki and there are very few other female characters of any substance of who are particularly developed but to be honest, I have only read it once so am happy to be told differently- but that is my impression as a reader.

 

I might suggest that whatever you're reacting to here has nothing to do with whether or not Janet's behavior codes as properly feminist, or queer (or feminine, if you feel like dragging gender performance into it). My intention has always been to write her as a human being, with flaws, who is struggling to accept the things that have happened to her. It seems to me that women in fiction are not allowed to be imperfect in their struggles. Would you judge a male character so harshly?

 

* How strange that you think I am reacting to something to do with codes?...I just don't like the way she just abandons them, Feanor especially but I would say that is because you have written him very sympathetically and I have liked your description and interpretation of him. Where does queer come into this? I have completely missed this? Is that where you are going? 

I think you need to allow me my interpretation of her- she comes across as angry and defiant and vulnerable- that doesn't mean I don't also think she is rather glorious for all that. I did say that actually if you go back and read it. 

And in answer to your question, yes. I would say worse of a man actually and I rather liked that she is all those things- I thought, clearly wrongly, that you were bravely showing her with flaws. I felt THAT was feminism. One is more of a feminist by writing honestly about people, men and women, than by presenting a 1D character who is perfect /a victim and  I actually thought that (writing her as flawed) is what you were doing. That is STILL how I am interpreting Janet - as a real character with different facets to her.

(Just for your information, I was amused by your assertion that I do not know what feminism is as I am actually a graduate of Politics and my thesis was on the radical feminist thinkers of the 20th century, and I also have a Masters in Women's writing of the 20th Century. So yes, I do know what is is but I acknowledge, and glory in the diversity of what that means. There is no one interpretation, no one school of thought. It makes no difference to me whatsoever what your own biography is and I still can't see how you took offence at my review- if you publish you have to accept that readers will interpret differently. However you are just as entitled to be furious with me and if it makes you feel better I wont review anymore. Shame though.



Author's Response:

You are welcome to interpret her any way you want, and I am free to ask for clarification of those interpretations. I'm not angry, I'm just curious. Though I do take issue with your use of the word "chattel," because it's an incorrect usage---chattels are slaves and livestock, and Feanor is neither of those things. If you mean that you feel like she thinks of him as chattel, or that you feel she is about as attached to him as she might be to a slave or a horse, there's a better way to say it. I can't help it; it's the editor in me.

Also, and quite obviously I thought, male privilege is probably the one thing all schools of feminist thought agree on. In a patriarchal society there is an inherent power differential skewed in favor of the man. Giving some dude a boner does not automatically invert the dynamic, let alone empower a woman to the point where she is capable of making the boner her slave. Please.

The sexuality thing may just be crossed wires. Janet is queer, but the point is not belabored in the story. If you meant "relationships" in the context of all of her interactions with people and not "relationships" in the context of who she's sleeping with, then that was a misinterpretation on my part and I apologize for dragging it into the conversation. She is surrounded by men, and relates primarily with men, but this is a Tolkien fic---there aren't a lot of women to go around, and if I had wanted to address/redress Tolkien's male-centricness, I would've written an entirely different story. If Janet and Lugmoki aren't interacting enough for you, it's because they haven't yet spent enough time together. It's a lot of work juggling all these threads and keeping them consistent.

You're the only one who has ever interpreted her in such a negative light (to my face, anyway). That's what makes me curious.

And I honestly don't get this whole "disloyal" thing. If Feanor gives his permission, how does that make her disloyal? Does she have to be monogamous for her love to be real? Does he have to be jealous for his love to be real?



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2012 9:53 · For: Chapter 100 - Four Days Ago

She is not a very nice person actually, is she? But I like that you are still uncompromising and hard on her- how screwed up she is, and how disloyal. But at the same time, there is this angry vulnerabilty. Her anger that she will not be a chattle but she makes men her chattels ; she has to have one along but does not have relationshios with other women. Lugmoki does not even get a glance from her and that is strange.  And how angry she is, and frightened. Feanor's very gentle and adult questionnig just provoked that storm of guilty denial- it is not about feminism, she is fooling herself, but it is about something else. Her reactions too are very childlike- her solutions all sexual so as you say, she doesn't have to think. It is still gorgeously written and the visual feast laid out very powerfully real. 

What is strange and dislocating is to read the very modern interchange beteen Lovecraft and Janet, and then it's Feanor and Gandalf!



Author's Response:

I have been thinking about this review for over a week.

I am confused by your continued use of the word "loyal" in its various forms. In what way has Janet been disloyal? Did you miss the part where Feanor gave his "permission" (which is a loaded term in and of itself)? Did you miss the part where Janet left Jack directly due to his overwhelming chauvinism?

It's obvious to me that you have no idea how feminism actually works. In a patriarchy, it is impossible for a woman to make men her "chattels." Do you even know what chattels are? Do you know anything about kyriarchy, or male privilege? Or identity-policing? I am a bisexual woman who is in love with a man. I've had three girlfriends in my life and three times as many boyfriends. Does that mean that, in your view, my three-to-one ratio erases my queerness? If it does, well...sorry, but I've got nothing nice to say to you. At all.

I might suggest that whatever you're reacting to here has nothing to do with whether or not Janet's behavior codes as properly feminist, or queer (or feminine, if you feel like dragging gender performance into it). My intention has always been to write her as a human being, with flaws, who is struggling to accept the things that have happened to her. It seems to me that women in fiction are not allowed to be imperfect in their struggles. Would you judge a male character so harshly?



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 19:46 · For: Chapter 85 - The Spiders Of Mirkwood

A fascinating chapter - I love this idea of the spiders as sirens, half woman - and that makes sense is so much more sophisticated than Tolkien ever was. ANd how does Gandalf know? And now you are bringing the naratives together again as you did before. This is really on eof the most intrguinig novels I have ever read.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 17:34 · For: Chapter 82 - Silks

This is a beautiful vision of Mirkwood - close enough to be Mirkwood but unfamilair enough to be exotically different. I love Legolas in this, and the sweetness of the Hobbits. But I see this so clearly.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 17:17 · For: Chapter 79 - A First Glimpse Of Mirkwood

No. Neither am I. I dont quite trust this Legolas...I know everyhting is different, topsy truvy even and that might be why they dont use hte raod... but then that could also mean the Elves are not quite so good... and if Sauron has the ring, why is Frodo not safe unless Sauron wants revenge... but Sauron is a maker (oh, I just got that re Feanor - duh,) I cant stop  reading this.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 17:09 · For: Chapter 76 - The High Pass

I like these interludes with Legolas and Sam and Frodo. So this is yet anothr alternate universe where Elrond's council has already finished... and is this the saem universe where Legolas comes for Frodo and Sam to help and heal them...



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 16:38 · For: Chapter 74 - Do I Dare Disturb The Universe?

Yes- you are absolutely right to use Prufrock here. But how extraordinary to have that last line come from Feanor's mouth- and how strange that it seems right



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 15:20 · For: Chapter 60 - Revelation

Ah! Yes. Lovely and of course. He woul dmake it all.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 15:09 · For: Chapter 58 - Invited

I like the way you are uncompromising with your characters- Janet is not a nice saccharin heroine, not even a heroine I guess. And I think that's what makes it feel real. And I am beginnig to think I woud do just the same, especially as that nice man might be in the dome...yum yum. He's probably not quite as nice as he seems....



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 15:05 · For: Chapter 57 - Coin

oh. wow. Do I keep saying that. Sorry. I am not leaving very coherent reveiws but I just wan toy uto know my reactions I read this and I am reacting onan entriely female and emotional leve (the two being distinct). Female because I am now smitten and emoitonl because I just am



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 14:40 · For: Chapter 48 - In The Inbetween

I love the way you are doing this- it feels...like nothing else but something else too. That doesnt say it- but it feels like I've been here before. That is the skill of your writing



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. Such feedback means the world to me.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 14:36 · For: Chapter 47 - The Doorway (II)

Ah- now the work is coming together beautifully. So Sauron uses thema nd of course CSLEwis wrote about them constantly- how perfectly you have strucutred this. I can only leave short reviews because I cant stop  reading.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 14:34 · For: Chapter 46 - The Fragrance Of Long Woodland Years

How do you do this with words???



Author's Response:

Truth? I have no idea. It just comes out this way.

And thank you for the compliments. :-)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2012 14:30 · For: Chapter 45 - More Tea?

Magnificent and strange as he was, full of portents, trailing awe and incandescent disruption in his wake, 

Oh. Lovely. Wish I'd written that.



You must login () to review.