| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Light of a Thousand Stars by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas returns home from patrol in the South to find his Father's stronghold drenched in sadness. Prequel to "Darkness in...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Mature
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Danger in Ithilien by Linda Hoyland Mature
An early morning ride has dire consequences for Faramir.

Site Info

Members: 466
Series: 78
Stories: 1554
Chapters: 7909
Word count: 23496884
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13905
Reviewers: 213
Newest Member: LaurengeBleue
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
04/22/17 01:23 am
Has anyone heard anything else from Spiced lately?
Ysilme
04/17/17 11:36 am
Big hugs to you, Spiced, I hope you're already a bit better! ***hugs***
Alquien
04/17/17 04:38 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. *hugs*
ziggy
04/16/17 01:40 am
So glad to see you back, Spiced:x
Spiced Wine
04/15/17 09:30 am
Thank you, my loves. I hope you all have a lovely Easter
Yseult
04/15/17 07:22 am
Oh, Spiced! Sending you lots of good thoughts and vibes for a speedy recovery. Hugs!
Gabriel
04/14/17 10:04 am
Hi there, Cheekybeak, great to see there's another Kiwi out there too.
Naledi
04/14/17 08:50 am
Glad you're okay, too, Gabriel!
cheekybeak
04/14/17 08:38 am
Oh! Gabriel, another kiwi. Hi!
Gabriel
04/14/17 04:00 am
Thanks for thinking of us all in nz, Naledi, we're good.
Shout Archive



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2017 1:42 · For: Chapter 21 The Remains of the Fellowship
Sorry for nagging, but I really think you should extend this or the next chapter a bit.

If Elladan was supposed to go with Legolas, it's even more confusing. So how did Legolas meet up with Elrohir and decide to go with him instead of Elladan? Did Elrohir wait for him at the stables? How did he convince him to go with him? One would think that he would prefer Elladan's company for his last hours who was at least sympathetic instead of outright hostile like his brother.

But then, since he was going to his death anyway, maybe he didn't care.


Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 23:01 · For: Chapter 21 The Remains of the Fellowship
There's always the possibility for a missing scene ;-)

>

But before the confrontation between Legolas and Elrohir Elladan told Elrohir that Gandalf wishes to speak with them. So he was about to tell them of his plans concerning Legolas. They were obviously together when Gandalf revealed that Legolas was to confront the Nazgul and that one of them was to deliver the Milui-Criss. So it seems that they agreed that Elrohir would go with Legolas and I wonder why Elladan agreed to that after he witnessed how badly Elrohir treated Legolas.

Author's Response:

Ah- but it was Elladan who was supposed to go! There's something later on that tells you that but I can't remember where- maybe I'll add a line into that chapter to make it clear!!



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 20:40 · For: Chapter 21 The Remains of the Fellowship
I would have loved to read about the conversation between Gandalf and the twins when he explains them his plan. Elrohir's reaction would have been interesting and I also wonder why Elladan let him volunteer, despite the ugly scene between Elrohir and Legolas that he witnessed.

Author's Response:

Glad you are reading this, Starfox. That conversation would indeed be interesting- now I think about it I wonder why I didn't write that.  I suppose I was interested in the Fellowship in particular. 

 

Elladan didn't know either- the end of hte chpater says:

One of the sons of Elrond stood there, staring with the same look of horror and loss on his face, elven-fair. His eyes travelled then to Gimli.

 

'They are gone then,' he said. 'They are gone and not even farewell.' And Elladan covered his eyes with his strong, swordsman's hand much the way Aragorn had.

 

I am quite sure Elladan would not have let Elrohir go had he known and both Legolas and Elrohir leave too early for anyone to stop them. 

 



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2016 1:18 · For: Chapter 46 Submission
I don't know why I haven't read this before but ziggy it really is fantastic! Couldn't stop reading once I started so I have had a tired couple of days XD your descriptions of the elves were really fab and I loved the companionship between Legolas and gimli , it didn't feel forced it felt just right. I nearly cried when the nazgul had nearly severed legolas' spirit from his body, I felt so sorry for elrohir. Will there be a sequel? I hope both Elladan and elrohir go west, I don't think I could bear it elrohir chose the gift of men for the twins and for Legolas as well! I really enjoyed reading and I'm kicking myself that I've only just found it but I'm glad I have another favourite story to re read :)

Author's Response:

I thought this was a SPAM review first so it's just lovely to get this, Caunedhiel- thank you so much for reviewing.

OK- glad you liked the descriptions- I work hard on those and yet Gimli is always so easy to write- I find him the easiest of any character actually.

 

Sequel already being posted- although there are several prequels you might want to read first as they set the scene for the sequel to this story. It will make more sense but I always try to tell the back stories anyway so no matter f you don't want oto wade trhough a ton of other stuff.

 

Thank you for the lovely compliments- you've made my day!



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2015 10:07 · For: Chapter 46 Submission
this is the most wonderful story. you have filled out the characters of the fellowship much more than Tolkien ever did, yet they remain consistent with the glimpses we get when reading the original story. I am going to find it difficult to think of those characters as anything else than the way you have portrayed them! And the way you have blended the narrative in with the LOTR timeline! Very clever! Again, this story seems to fill in some awful big gaps in the original.

Author's Response:

Oh my- I am so  sorry that I have not replied to your review sooner, jules! I have just been so immersed in work these last few weeks but even so, inexcusable!

Thank you for these lovely comments that ar so encouraging and appreciative. I really love Tolkien's original characters and so it is good to hear that you feel they are consistent but more revealed. And I try to keep within the timeline because as you say, there is a lot of space to write within:)

Thank you again.



Name: jennieross (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 19:35 · For: Chapter 1
Hi, this isn't a review so much as a big "Thank You" for several nights of exciting reading. I enjoyed Songs of Rohan first, found Legolas so thrilling that the slight introduction to Elrohir made me go to More Dangerous. I had started Black Arrow but the Elrohir introduction was too much for me. Finished More Dangerous and couldn't wait to read Sons of Thunder. Wonderful series. I so admired the different story lines being entertwined to complete a whole for the reader (me). Beautifully done, and with great artistry. I loved Gimli, if I had been unhoused I would have come back for him too. The scene where Legolas finds Gimli enjoying his ale after a bet with Aragorn was much more fun and enjoyable than the drinking scene that was left out of the movies. Also, I at last understood Gandalf who has always been too much of a mystery for me.
My very best wishes.
Jennie

Author's Response:

Dear Jennie- you have given me a lot of pleasure with your lovely comments and encouragement. I am so gald you are enjoying what I've scribbled and I do appreciate you taking the time to tell me. I don't remeber all thsoe scenes- but I love the fact that you were missing elrohir n Black Arrow!!! I recommend you read Spiced Wine's spin off Dark Star as well - beautifully written and again, just spins another story from this idea.

 

I love Gimli -he is always very easy to write. Thankyou for recognising his quality.:)

 

And Gandalf- yes. He is far more than he appears. He has a plan that is yet to be revelaed, quite apart from the Ring:/

xxx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2015 10:14 · For: Chapter 46 Submission
Well you know I don't think your Legolas and Elrohir could EVER be boring.....even just bumping along in a new relationship......I don't think boring is something they do!

Author's Response:

Well, maybe not. I'm just writing a nicely charged scene where the two stories are merging.Defintely NOT boring:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2015 22:43 · For: Chapter 46 Submission
I have to be honest, when I started re-reading this I did not believe you could pull it off. I did not think you could make such a major change to Elrohir and his motivations and have me believe all his behaviour actually stemmed from an external source and not his own nature, not without major major editing.

However you have, apart from a few small instances which had me thinking "that cant be right" it truly was as if you had planned this all along.....are you SURE you didnt??

I know previously you were astonished that even when he took the web from Legolas I still didn't like him, I think that was because although...yes he wanted to save Legolas....it seemed essentially still a selfish act. He wanted to die, he wanted to chose the way of Men so he could escape his guilt, he didn't think of Elladan and Legolas who he left behind. It was a dramatic act of suicide and did he really save Legolas? For what did he save him? To spend his eternal life which he has no way of escaping in soul destroying grief. Yeah thanks for that Elrohir. He could not even claim not to know that was what would happen. Legolas had told him as much.

This time round he is victim, a victim of what has been a long long struggle against evil planted within him. He has been changed from a selfish, self absorbed creature to someone who has strived continually to best the evil he doesn't even know is there and the worst of his selfishness now seems to be his mind being manipulated. I no longer believe that is Elrohir as he truly is. I did before.

Now I want to see him healed. He Defiantely is not yet. I want to see him rid of that false memory, to know he is free of that guilt and I want Elladan and Legolas to know it too. He deserves more than those two he loves believing him capable of that. I want to get to know Elrohir as he was meant to be. I started to be won over by Elrohir in MDLW as I began to understand his homophobia and self hatred and see him as a victim of abuse. But now I think also because in that he was Elrohir as he should be, I want to see more of that but I cant until he is free of the spell.

How will you do that? Who will free him? Gandalf hasn't worked it out, Legolas has no reason to suspect it. Elladan is the only one if he can access those memories of when he was injured with the morgul blade. It has felt all along the key to destroying the spell is love, the love of Elladan and Legolas.

At the moment Elrohir with the spell on board feels like a timebomb waiting, waiting for the right circumstances that will make it explode in everyones face and Legolas is most likely to be the one hurt in That. I know you said Legolas should be safe because he knows what Elrohir was capable of, he knows his deepest darkest imaginings.........but he doesn't know WHY! That I think makes him vunerable. It is not just his lover he is dealing with but something much stronger and darker. He won't be able to protect himself against that without knowing its existance.

The conversation they have here about rape gives me cause for concern. I feel from what Legolas has to say here that the attack upon him on the Seaspray is something he will not be able to accept. (In fact he has forgiven so much. He has spent the whole story forgiving things he maybe should not have that it may feel completely wrong if he caves and forgives that too.) I don't know, I just get the vibe it is something he would never never be able to understand. Maybe the only way he could come to terms with it is knowing of the spell, knowing it actually wasn't Elrohir who did that. Thats just the feeling I get.

As for Elladan, so he has seen who is one the last ship and I get the feeling he is not one of them......although he doesn't mention that Elrohir was on it either but Legolas has already said he wont leave without Elrohir so I have to assume he is on the ship. So the question is.....does Elladan stay behind for Imrahil and choose The way of Men? Or is it Erestor he stays with and he chooses The Elves? For Erestor will not leave Middle Earth until he has found Maglor, he has told us that. I will pin my hopes on that outcome. That is what I want!
Poor Imrahil,I liked him the first time I read this but now he annoys me, I just want him to GO AWAY! and leave Elladan alone!!!

Sorry This is a novel length review. Just have to say thanks! The story is SO much better for me. It has had a whole other layer placed into it. I am on Elrohir's side now. Please, please, please let me see him as he really should be! I was going to say I thought you really should now encourage people to read 'Through a Glass Darkly' first as it changes this story so much....but now I wonder maybe it is better the order I originally read them then you get that whole "OMG I completely misread Elrohir this whole time" moment! I definately would recommend everyone reading them now go back and read this again. It has been so rewarding to do that.

P.s. I had somehow managed to completely forget all about Gandalf's thing for Marion!!!! How could I do that?!

Author's Response:

I don't know why but this has only just popped int my inbox- and so I haven't replied to all thes elovely reviews you sent. THANK YOU!!

 

I actually think your determined dislike for Elrohir is what made me write him differently, and made me do the ANgmar thing!!! YOu are my inspiration:)

I do agree with you that Legolas will find it REALLY hard to forgive the assault upon him- it's so anti-silvan cutlure. But I do have something else up my sleeve first...you have to remember Haldir as well:) He seduced and corrupted Elrohir when he was innocent so he has never simply fallen in love and had that discovery of sex in that innocent way that you do when you are with someone of your own age. Haldir is very complicated and of course, you have to wonder what might happen when Legolas passes through and as the Porf says, much of his time was spent with the Galadhrim, ands ometimes he took Gilmi with him-but not always. What on earth was he up to during those times do you think?? Knowing what Legoals is like?? But just to go back to your point about Legolas forgiving things- even under a spell would not really excuse Elrohir for what he did- even if he didn't actually do any physical harm and Legolas didn't know, it]s the spiritual corruption that allowed him to do that. 

 

Elladan- ah. I have his story working itself out slowly with Through a Glass and then in Imrahil, but I do think that he might be the focus of the sequel of Sons- Legolas and Elrohir are sort of working things out but it doesn't make for very intersting reading to just see a new relationship bumping along- but Elladan and Imrahil, with Erestor in the background who is about to be releeased from his promise to MAedhros to take care of Elrond, and free therefore to pursue his unbiddne oath - that will be intersting. He won't leave without MAglor...and I haven't thought about how that is to be resolved. I'm interested in the Mirror though and have to write about that after the war- Galadriel and Elrond have some work to do there.

 

Yes- Gandalf and Mairon- need to do more of htat too.

 

I don't really have time to go to work!!

 

Thank you again my dear.

xx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2015 11:37 · For: Chapter 37 The Last Deep Breath
I love this, they are riding to certain death and yet they are all gossiping about Legolas and Elrohir like a bunch of old women. So funny!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2015 3:39 · For: Chapter 31 Confession
This chapter is the first time things felt a little wrong, when Gandalf is thinking, pondering on Elrohir and his motivations he does not think of Angmar and the encounter that he disturbed in the past ,( obviously because you had not written it), but he should have. As he thought of Elrohir treating with the Nasgul and spoke to him he should have mentioned that because he knows Elrohir was trying to bargain for Elladan then and he would know it was connected.

However later in the scene when he searches deep into Elrohir's mind and almost discovers the false memory but is pushed back.....that felt right, as if he was on the cusp of identifying the spell and its damage but that spell is well protected.
Still possibly he should have thought on that near discovery more deeply.

And then we have the worst fallout from Angmar's spell. The destruction of Elrohir's relationship with Elladan. I wonder if Angmar wanted that or if it is a lucky coincidence.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 23:10 · For: Chapter 28 The Houses of Healing
I had forgotten what a terrible time you give Aragorn in this story! The poor guy cant do anything right!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 22:05 · For: Chapter 27 Fireflies
Oh the fireflies of Legolas's fea remind me of Maedhros scattered across the void!

Interesting that Elladan seems stronger than Elrohir, he can discard the ring and the major difference, he is able to distinguish which feelings are his own and which have been imposed upon him. I guess because the spell was not cast upon him directly. Or perhaps because the heart of him is less damaged than Elrohir who has damage layered upon damage so to speak.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 21:56 · For: Chapter 26 Kham
Wow, powerful! More so than before.

First, it was so heartbreaking to see Elladan believe Elrohir's false memory and to see the damage that wrecked upon them. "It is not true Elladan!"

And then.....I guess it was the power of Angmar's ring....but it felt as though, that knowledge was corrupting him also, as though Angmar's spell was spreading outwards and engulfing the other brother. Terrifying and so so powerful.

And at the end when Elladan cannot believe Elrohir had made a deal with the Nazgul for Legolas, he is so horrified at that thought, BUT I know, the deal was actually made months ago......for HIS life!

This chapter I feel is the one so far that has been the most changed, and you don't have to alter a word. It was painful to read Elladan's growing awareness of what Elrohir was capable of before but now........so many other layers have been added to it, the tension is incredible, ( will Elladan be taken by the spell as well?) and it breaks my heart to see his pain at what is a memory that never happened at all!

Incredible!!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 21:08 · For: Chapter 24 Nine for Mortal Men
This still works, Elrohir's mangled attempt at bargaining with the Nazgul. He is such a fool, I Wonder if his managing to get Elladan away from them in "Through a Glass Darkly" had anything to do with him believing he could succeed here. But he was being played then......and Gandalf saved his skin.....
The Nazgul however underestimate the power of his love for his friends and brothers........and Legolas. It feels here and has felt all along that is the thing that weakens Angmars spell, that draws out the real Elrohir from the tortured mess Angmar has made of him.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 13:00 · For: Chapter 22 Obsession
Interesting that here Elrohir considers that he has been haunted by the memory of his mother in the cave more since meeting Legolas therefore it is all Legolas's fault but he doesnt connect that at all with his encounter with Angmar........which was around the same time. I imagine The spell would be behind that.

The hardest thing to read in this chapter is Legolas having to go to his death listening to Elrohir's poison. Horrid.

P.s. Don't worry I get lots of sleep, I had a day off today, my husband at work and my little boy at school, and the house was tidy.....so I took a couple of hours to read. I'm a fast reader!

P.p.s. I KNEW Imrahil meant heartache for Erestor. Please, please, tell me he gets to be with Elladan in the end!

Author's Response:

Sorry- it's not written yet so I have NOOOOOO idea... but when you get to the last few chapters of this, just remember... ther's something in there.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 2:27 · For: Chapter 20 The Gift of Men
Oh Elrohir, you always have to do something to stuff things up.
This jealousy about Eomer is, I think all Elrohir, the real Elrohir and messed up with his homophobia, self hatred and whatever was done to him by Haldir.

The uncontrollable rage and need to hurt Elladan as well as Legolas, that feels more like Angmar. Elrohir may have shouted nasty insults and withdrawn from Legolas in a jealous rage but it is Angmar that drives him to such extreme violence.
This makes much more sense. When I first read this I got SO frustrated with Elrohir because I wanted to like him, I really did. I knew he would end up with Legolas and I didn't want the story to end with Legolas who I adore being stuck with someone I couldn't even like.
But every time Elrohir did something that began to win me over he would destroy it. Now I can see it is not him trying to destroy it, it is the evil planted within him twisting him and controlling him. It just fits much better in my mind!

Now he thinks he is without Elladan.........truly at his weakest. If Angmar's spell can ever overtake him the loss of Elladan's unconditional love is the thing that will do it.

Author's Response:

This jealousy about Eomer is, I think all Elrohir, the real Elrohir and messed up with his homophobia, self hatred and whatever was done to him by Haldir. 

 

The uncontrollable rage and need to hurt Elladan as well as Legolas, that feels more like Angmar. Elrohir may have shouted nasty insults and withdrawn from Legolas in a jealous rage but it is Angmar that drives him to such extreme violence. 

Nicely put- I think you are spot on here. He is very damaged, isn't he.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 0:48 · For: Chapter 15 Olorin
I didn't like Gandalf last time I read this and I like him even less now.

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't change how you wrote him at all. Too often we forget, Gandalf is not some friendly old man, or just a powerful but helpful wizard, he is a Maia. A demigod hand-servant of the Valar.

As such his eagerness to manipulate people, take what he needs and throw them on the scrap heap as he does Legolas is quite believable, and important. He has power and will use that to achieve his ends. Good are no different than evil in that.

I always disliked his callous treatment of Legolas and casual use of him as cannon fodder. But now......that extends to Elrohir as well.

Gandalf MUST know, or at least have an inkling something has been done to Elrohir by Angmar. He interrupted it, he insisted Elrohir must tell his father, ( and of course he knew very well he would not.) did Gandalf go and tell Elrond anyway? Did he say your son has been dabbling with the nazgul you need to heal him? I think not!

So knowing Elrohir has most probably been tampered with, corrupted, he choses HIM to go with Legolas to the nazgul. Why? It most certainly dooms Legolas, if he wasn't doomed enough already.........but is it a test of Elrohir? Does he want to see if he can resist what was done to him, to find out how badly corrupted by evil he has been? Does he want to force the issue and make Elrohir declare himself on the side of evil?

He is now not only playing games with Legolas's life but Elrohirs as well. He should be helping him......and he chooses not to, instead he sends him to the ones who harmed him.

Shame on you Gandalf!

Author's Response:

Yes- he acts completely for the quest and without regard to Legolas in this- but he does the same with Frodo and Sam, knowing they are going to be going to Mordor. He is very hard in that way although he FEELS it- and he does rescue Legolas so maybe not completely bad. I might go back to this chapter and just add a bit more detail to how Gandalf feels.

 

I htink Angmar hid the spell very deeply but maybe it just needs a line here and there about discord.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2015 0:32 · For: Chapter 14 R
So Elrohir meets the Nazgul again and whatever has been placed within him lying dormant, ( or not so dormant,) rewakens.

This still worked, in fact it was very powerful because I know something Elrohir does not and I am just waiting for the moment he will give in and it will overtake him.

This time he conquered it, and instead of feeling "finally he has actually managed to do something right," like I did last time, this time I admire his courage and strength of will battling so hard against these images and desires that are not his own. He is a victim of evil but he will not succumb to it!

The fact that despite the close call with the Nazgul and the fact the nazgul has called to the spell Angmar placed in him he ends this chapter actually being the most like the "real" Elrohir we have seen so far, ( or how I imagine the real Elrohir would be) feels like a major triumph for him.

Author's Response:

I have to go back and read it again myself now. (Are you getting any sleep? It's lovely getting all these new comments but I worry you are not getting enough sleep if you are reading all this in one go?)

 

I think this is the most rewarding comment- if it has changed your reading but is still working, I'm relelived I don't have to rewrite the whole thing again!!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 23:35 · For: Chapter 10
Ah, Legolas and Elladan, so beautiful and sadly not to be. You cruelly teased me with this scene first time around!

I wonder though.....Legolas is so gifted with the song, can he not feel something has been distorted within Elrohir? Would Angmars spell be able to be heard as a discordance, a wrong note within the song?

Author's Response:

I know- teased myself. That's a good point- I'll look at that again and have a think.

Thank you for all these fab comments and helpful pointers.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 23:27 · For: Chapter 9
What does Erestor feel when he finds out about Imrahil?

He will be devastated.

I have to admit I am not looking forward to that because I think it will be heartbreaking.
I don't think Erestor has seen his love for Elladan as ever being anything but unreciprocated which is sad in itself, and I don't think he can really imagine a situation where they would be "together" but still even if he is resigned to that there is still that little bit of hope....that "what if?" And Imrahil would crush that hope out of him.....sob.....

Even worse though is that Imrahil is mortal so Erestor would have to face losing Elladan to mortality. I don't think he has contemplated that happening, Elladan is so elvish you would put money on the fact he would be the twin who wouldn't choose Men.

Of course what Erestor doesn't know...yet anyway is that Elladan loves him too. But even Elladan doesn't know that!

Author's Response:

Cheekybeak- you are exactly right!! It will be devastating but he will bear it in quiet dignity and love becasue Erestor's love for Elladan is very pure actually- and deep. He will grieve but want Elladan's happiness- but you are right that it will be terrible for any of htem to think that Elladan might choose the way of men and all this time it's been Elrohir who was struggling with that. 

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 9:32 · For: Chapter 9
I am with Gimli on this. Aragorn behaved badly. I get why.....but still......

The first time I read this I desperately wanted Elladan to get with Legolas, even though I knew it wasn't going to happen. Now that I know magnificent, if slightly unstable, Erestor is waiting for him in the wings I am not so keen on the idea of Legolas after all.

Author's Response:

Yes- me too. I thought it would be Elladan but as you say, magnificant and flawed. Elrohir is rather more Legolas' taste. And Erestor is so sweet with Elladan- so humble and patient. What do you think will happen when he finds out about Imrahil?



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 5:52 · For: Chapter 7
I am sure I have told you for me this is the worst thing Elrohir did in the entire story, this sexual assault on the unknowing Legolas.it is worse even than the betrayal to the nazgul because at least that was a bizarre attempt at doing the right thing and this was a terrible personal invasion.
I was very interested to see if it read any differently knowing what Angmar has done to Elrohir.
The answer is it did. You describe Elrohir almost as a split personality here, watching himself care for Legolas in a detached way while a part of him wants to cause pain, and then at the end being completely surprised at what he had done, wondering how that had happened. It is certainly as if he is being torn apart. As if whatever Angmar has done is taking control at times and when it does he is a completely different person.

I still hope eventually in the sequel you address this incident which lies unspoken and unacknowledged between them.

I just wanted to cry out to Elrohir.. " you didn't do it! You didn't do what it is you think you did!!"

Author's Response:

Yes. Agreed. Awaful and so wrong. No excuse. I replied to this bit in my previous reply- I didn't like him when I wrote this either.

Yes- it will be acknowledged, eventaully- but it gives some leverage, some darker complexity to Elrohir even when he has seen the truth about how he feels about Legolas. It's what Legolas feels that i don't know.

 

I am so glad to have your analysis and feedback - good to know it still works. Thank you.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 2:11 · For: Chapter 5
Just have to say, Legolas's reaction to Aragorn telling him he failed in his trust and his anger about those words at the council of Elrond is so much more powerful now I know exactly who Legolas lost there in that defence of Gollum. Poor. Poor Legolas, My heart aches for his loss of Anglach , Aragorn has no clue what he has said!

I am unhappy with Aragorn in this chapter!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2015 0:02 · For: Chapter 4
This story, and Elrohir especially have been transformed for me! You have no idea how much I hated in Elrohir during this scene when I first read it .he was such an arse. But now he feels more like someone with honour.... I never really thought Elrohir behaves with any honour, especially here but now, it felt like a real struggle within him and he is losing it but he is trying SO hard. Angmar of course will succeed because Elrohir doesn't even know what was done to him.
And Aragorn and Elladan are so confused, they know something is wrong but not what and they can't understand, though Elladan traces the change back to their mother not to the run in with Angmar.

And I love how Elladan, who Elrohir tried to save and so who was unwittingly the catalyst for this evil twisting of his brother is the only one who can cancel it out with his presence .

I am feeling so so very sad for Elrohir. A complete transformation of my feelings.

Author's Response:

Yes!!! Successs!! It did really influence me when you told me how much you disliked him and could not trust him with our beautiful elf. So it made me think how I was portraying him - too harsh and unsympathetic perhaps? But on theother hand, I really like his uncompromising nature - he punishes himself so badly for his wrongs- at the end he is willingly taking the Black Web from legolas, knowing he will die and still you didn't like him!!!

 

But there is no excuse for this scene- ever. I did not like him at all myself when I wrote this- had really mixed feelings about him actually. I thought Legolas would endup with Elladan but oh, he insisted Elrohir was so much more exciting!! Slutty elf.

 

Of course Elladan is half way to wraith-hood when Angmar does htis so he wouldn't know I suppose - but perhaps he felt something had changed. Might get that in somewhere sometime. Thanks to you my dear I have all these ideas:)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2015 7:35 · For: Chapter 2
Now this felt really different, in a great way!

Elrohir thinks his strange dreams are because of his human side...and maybe it is still partly that but now it feels like he is slowly being possessed in a way. The manipulation of the memory Angmar placed there is creeping out of his mind to assail him. It completely changes how I feel about him and also feels really really threatening and an omen of BAD things to come. Like he is losing some kind of battle within with the evil that has been done to him and eventually it will consume him, the dreams are just the start.
And he is oblivious to it

It all works incredibly well with the new knowledge of the damage Angmar has done to him.

And only Elladan's sweet goodness can calm him.

Oh it all fits so well!

Author's Response:

Ooh- I hadn't thought of that! I mean he is losing the battle but I wasn't aware of that when I started writing this.. I have to go back and re-read it, saee all the faults in it but I am busy writing the next chapter of Glass and hten have a new Hobbit based fic on from Black Arrow ,to put right the wrongs done to Thranduil by PJ!!



You must login () to review.