| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
I Will Wait by lotrfan General Audiences
For the SWG April/May A Woman's Sceptre Challenge.Prompt:“Some say cavalry and other claim infantry or a fleet of long...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8075
Word count: 24234649
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14483
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:36 am
The only thing I can think to do is for esteliel or myself to use your password, log in and post your first chapter. I believe the last time this happened it's what I did.
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:34 am
What did esteliel say, Nelyafinwe?
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2017 9:36 · For: Chapter 31 Confession
Wow! There is so much in this chapter!
And so much anguish.

I found I did not like Gandalf much in this chapter. Aside from sending Legolas on a mere suicide mission, {And that was bad enough}, he now regards Elrohir with unfriendly and suspicious eyes. Okay, Elrohir has done some pretty strange and suspect things lately one of which involved the Nazgul. So I can see in a sense why Gandalf would treat him as such. On the other hand I would think Gandalf would have some compassion and keep more of an open mind, possibly even council Elrohir, but probing deep into Elrohir's mind without permission? Tut!tut! Gandalf. Anyone who has shameful thoughts of any kind, the last thing you would want is someone else finding out about them. I must say, Elrohir has a pretty awesome safeguard against unauthorized proding of his most secret thoughts. It even shocked him the raw power that lifted a Maia off his perch or was it the shock of finding Gandalf in his mind? Maybe a bit of both.

I have always imagined that, all the descendants of Melian would have some kind of power inherited, even if it was never explored further in any of the books, oh, with one exception, {Elwing changing into a bird}. I think that was the only one. It would be a great and interesting subject to examine.

'Get out!' Elladan cries, 'Get out before I kill you myself!'

Elrohir took a step towards him, hands outstretched, 'Then do it! I cannot live with myself, Elladan! I cannot live with it any longer. Please. Give me some penance that I may atone. I will take the way of Men so I never come to Valinor. You can go in peace, and Mother will never have to see me. I will die and go the way of Men, I swear this, Elladan. My Fea is no longer Elvish, it is mortal. I will die and you can be in peace!'

This just tore me up! Reaching for the tissues. Poor, poor Elrohir, I don't want him to die. And Elladan's disgust and horror and anger towards him unwarranted, {although he does not know it}. He needs his brother right now, not more animosity.
Just to clarify Ziggy; aren't the memories that Elrohir has of finding Celebrian in the caves, implanted? Making him believe he had thoughts of raping his own mother? Sorry to ask, so much has happened since then and it's been so long since I read the first couple of fics.

I can see Elrohir feels so isolated and lonely and more so now that Elladan knows what he believes to be the truth.
He's almost bordering on taking his own life, feels there's nothing worth living for anymore. So sad!

Phew! So much to talk about in this chapter, I hope it all makes sense. :D

Author's Response:

I love this review, Gabriel:)

re Just to clarify- yes, the memories of Celebrian have been distorted by Angmar so Elrohir becomes convinced he raped his own mother - or at the least he had been about to until he realised it was her. Keep reading:) It is confronted at the end and it will be picked up again in Where the Shadows Lie (it won't quite read like this in Sons of Thunder because I wrote that before I wrote More Dangerous or Through a Glass. Sometimes the continuity doesn't quite work:(

 

I am always releived when readers sympathise with Elrohir- he has been dreadful to Legolas but he is so tormented and confused. The false memory of his mother means that sex and the idea of it sickens him but he is a very sexual being and has high eroticism. It messes him up. Also Haldir corrupted him (in Elrohir's mind) by seducing him when he was untouched and initiating him into a more exotic sexuality (BDSM etc) so he feels cheated of love and innocence. He's a mess.

 

And yes, Gandalf doesn't come out of any of this covered in glory!!And yet I love Gandalf as a character- he's like a general, making decisions for the good of all.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2017 7:50 · For: Chapter 30 Old Friends
Oh my god! Not Gimli too! lol.

I had to laugh at Gimli's attempts to re-write several parts to the Fellowship, in which he killed or defeated key enemies, including the Oliphaunt at Pelennor Fields. He and Pippin, very sly. lol.

It should be widely known by now that no-one can pull the wool over Legolas' eyes, especially amongst his friends. And when it comes to deciding whether to stay in Minas Tirith and regain his health or go to war against the enemy, to fight beside and watch the backs of his brother's in arms, even while incapacitated he would rather die a hundred deaths before abandoning his brother's. I love how completely and stubbornly honorable Legolas is. :)

I also want to apologize Ziggy, for I think I may have unintentionally missed out one or possibly two or more of you smaller stories that fill in the gaps and give back story to the larger series. It was after I read the end of this chapter, you mentioned *Deeper than Breathing* as a prequel?. I will have to do something about that. :)

Author's Response:

Haha! Told you! (I hadn't read this review when I replied to your last one) I so enjoyed writing those bits- giggled as I did.

I love how completely and stubbornly honorable Legolas is.

That is EXACTLY how I hoped he would come across- he really is- you can see his face, can't you- NO WAY is anyone going ANYWHERE with out me!!

Goodness- you don't have to apologise, Gabriel!! There's a lot to read and I wrote them all out of sync- the order though is this:

Black Arrow (based on The Hobbit- a very different, light hearted Legolas, pre-Angalch's death)

More Dangerous

Through a Glass

Deeper than Breathing

Sons of Thunder

Where the shadows lie

 

It's lovely of you to read and review every chpater- certainly don't feel you have to read everyt hnig ever wirtten but it;s lovely that you do. I do that if I find a writer I really enjoy- it's a bit like reading a series of books of course- you want to have the whole story in your head so you can immerse yourself when you read. Not that this is anything as crafted as a novel although I do my best- professional writers spend all their time and not just cram in a bit at the end of a day's work! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2017 7:26 · For: Chapter 29 Fellowship
I loved this first part of the chapter with the Twins.

I wish there was more of Elladan and Elrohir just talking to each other spending time with each other without anyone or anything else's interference. There's just something special about their relationship and how they interact. Beautiful! But that's okay, Ziggy. I don't expect you to come back to this story and write extra bits. It would just be nice, that's all.

I've got to say Elrohir has become particularly tender towards Legolas. Not that Legolas doesn't deserve it. It's just so unusual to see, with all that has gone on lately.

I think my absolute favorite part was Pippin taking advantage of Legolas' loss of memory. Re-mastering the story of the Fellowship as if he was the hero of the hour and he was the wise Hobbit that everyone listened to for council. lol. Love it!

What I am especially looking forward to is Gandalf's little talk with Elrohir. Can't wait to be a fly on the wall for that.

Author's Response:

That's always the troubel in wrioting- you could just write every scene that happens but it would be really slow!! I have written a gift fic for someone that is Elladan and Eomer- chance encounters- you might like that:) Elrohir had always been besotted with Legolas- he just is so confused and messed up (the reasons for this are explained in Through a Glass) but remember that he saved Legolas from the Nazgul in the city and they were getting close when Eomer blundered in- and turned his anger back onto Legolas because he felt rejected. So he has not stopped loving Legolas, but it's such a confused, dark and jealous love! I know it seems a dramatic contrast given the way he has treated Legolas in the way up th emountain but you have to remember that it is only yesterday that Eomer blundered in and Legolas left elrohir and went after Eomer- so he thinks Legolas was just toying with him, leading him on when it is Eomer he loves.

 

I loved writing Pippin telling all thise fibs! That will come back to bite him of course- you'll love the next bit with Gimli and Pippin!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2017 9:01 · For: Chapter 28 The Houses of Healing
'Legolas opened his mouth, eyes wild and staring and for a moment nothing happened. But then a terrible scream burst from him and it did not stop.'

When I read this, I thought, 'What the...?" Then you find out what Legolas is seeing and experiencing and you completely understand. The horror of being consumed by fire. Being torn apart over and over.. So horrible. *Shivers*

Then at the end of the chapter Elrohir realizes Legolas only knows his name and naught else. OH MY GOD! What has happened, for him not to remember his life, recognizing people and places, only his name.

This is really sad. Sniff! :(

Great chapter Ziggy!

Author's Response:

I felt it was important that he didn't just wake up sleepily and smile but the horror of wakening and remembering be really visceral and real. SO actually, it is almost a cruelty that he is awake and his soul left his body, so it had to be huge and significant enough for this t happen. And of couse, only knowing Elrohir will be such a punishment and torment to Elrohir- after his betrayal. Thank you for all these very lovely reviews (again- but they do make me so happy!!) I love hearing how it is making you feel and the impact on you. It keeps me writing:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2017 13:45 · For: Chapter 27 Fireflies
Oh, thank god, Elladan did not give into the temptation of the Nazgul ring! Whew! For a moment there it looked like he would and was being swept up by its power, but no. One point to Elladan. No points to the Nazgul.

Elladan was quite different in this chapter, and a bit brash with Elrohir. I know he's angry with his brother, but didn't Elladan say he would forgive him anything? And now he's going back on his word. Tut tut Elladan! Does he not stop to think that maybe Elrohir has tortured himself over his inaction with the rape of his mother.

I loved the part with the fireflies. Gimli gathering them to him then passing them to Legolas' body. Nature breathing life back into our beautiful Woodelf. :)

Author's Response:

Ah, I thought you had already read the fireflies bit- it is one of my favourite bits. I wish I could paint it - Gimli is really lovely in this bit. His tenderness for Legolas and protectiveness is what keeps Legolas' ghost there- just protecting Gimli as he protects Legolas. 

 

I am really interested in your rather wonderful reaction to Elladan! Poor Elrohir got such a bashing from reviewers (I know he has done some pretty dreadful things) and Ellladan is always the good guy- but I like that you understnad it is more complex. Elladan does know he is going back on his word- he said something without really thinking if it were true- and you get that such a lot in epic stories. It annoys me when characters say these things because they don't really know. This is a real test for Elladan over the next few chapters. And Elrohir is going to torture himself a little bit more yet!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2017 10:25 · For: Chapter 26 Kham
Wow! I honestly thought Elladan was going to kill his brother several times in this chapter, or at least maim him severely. That was too close for comfort and a bit of a worry, although I can understand where he's coming from.

Elladan's struggle against the Nazgul ring. Even though he had no idea what he had found or what it was doing to him. It's subtle manipulations to hurt, to make his brother pay for what he did, or rather did not do for their mother.

I really liked Elrohir's surprise attack on the Nazgul at the end. Nothing and no one touches or hurts HIS Legolas even as a ghost, and rightfully so.

This chapter, such a surprise! :D

Author's Response:

That made me smile- I forget what was in each chapter so it's a really nice thing to read your reactions. That ring that Elladan eventually throws away, yes. That is one of the Nine Rings for Mortal Men doomed to die. He probably should not have left it lying around there....but at least he did escape it. The next few chapters are Elladan's as much as anyone's- he is so angry and I think it's the fact that he is the peace and calm of the two that makes it so shocking perhaps.

Yes- Elrohir has sunk to rock bottom and is now going to start coming out of it. Rehabilitation needed now after his many, many crimes. Yes- HIS Legolas!

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2017 7:02 · For: Chapter 25 Vigil
I really liked the 'Vigil' part, where Gimli and Elladan sit together watching the mountain. And then Elladan suddenly jumps up and disappears, only to reappear with a horse-extends an arm to Gimli to ride out with him. Loved that part in particular.

Gimli is so angry with Gandalf right now and he is not the only one. I understand this whole situation may have been a necessity, but, still not liking his apparent dispassionate, 'Let's throw the woodelf under the bus' attitude.

Another part to your story, where Legolas' ghost keeps touching Elrohir's face with compassion. Oh! Just beautiful! Even in death Legolas' is just so, so, honorable, beautiful and hot.

Great chapter Ziggy, but another sad one. :(

Author's Response:

I have to admit, this is one of my favourite moments, when the ghost touches Elrohir, the firefiles alit on Gimli etc. Elladan galloping off with Gimli. It just wrote itself to be honest but I wish I could draw or paint the fireflies/Legolas' fea fluttering around Gimli. I can use words, not colours.

So pleased you enjoyed this one, Gabriel- I've been waiting for you to read it and wanting you to enjoy it so much! Thank you for all these lovely reviews:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2017 14:22 · For: Chapter 24 Nine for Mortal Men
This whole situation is just getting worse!

In order to save Legolas, Elrohir must become one of the nine! How on earth is he supposed to get out of this one?

He's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.

On the flip side, I always like it when you refer to the history of Endor, such as mentioning Maeglin and Idril in this story and Maedhros in an earlier story. It helps to connect all the line of Finwe through time and space, so they don't appear to be so sundered by all that has passed. And it reminds you of the present Character's lineage and where they got their strengths and possibly weaknesses from. Am I making sense, Ziggy? I hope so.

I hope Elrohir can save Legolas without becoming a Nazgul. Fingers crossed.

Such a nail biting couple of chapters. :{

Author's Response:

I love the fact that you appreciate mentions of Elrohir's lineage, Gabriel. You're making perfect sense! I have a deep fondness for Feanorians especially Maedhros. He is in one of the earlier stories (Through a Glass) although I wrote it after this one.

 

Glad you are still enjoying it! It's a bit of a roller coaster and the next ones are pretty intense as well.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2017 9:14 · For: Chapter 23
Poor Legolas, he seems so withdrawn and miserable and yet still after everything Elrohir did, he loves him. So, so, beautiful and heartbreaking. Sniff!

Oh, Elrohir, what have you done. And where are you? Legolas needs you, big time!

OH, LEGOLAS! He can't die. This is all a dream or something, surely.

Ziggy, this is so horrible. I just wanted to cry. :(

Author's Response:

Yes- this is the saddest chapter for Legolas (oh, there is another one though coming up) but he is so lovely in this I htink- prepared to sacrifice himself so that frodo is spared for a little longer. ANd yes- he loves Elrohir even now. I'm afraid you're going to find the next few chapters really hard...sorry:(



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2017 14:12 · For: Chapter 22 Obsession
This is so agonizing, Ziggy!

These two just should not say anything more to each other. It would save so much angst or misunderstanding or hostility between them and just get on with what they came to do.

I fear for Elrohir's safety here. Not just physically but mentally as he summons the Nazgul. Especially when he seems to be giving into the images he sees and the lust, for power, for violence. Just letting it swallow him up, consume him.

There is so much danger to be had in offering himself up to them.

I hope he knows what he's doing and doesn't get them both killed or worse. {Biting nails in anticipation} :(

Author's Response:

I'm afraid he really has no idea what he is really doing, or what the consequence will be, or why he is doing it really...or how he KNOWS to do it. I think these few chapters are where he absolutely hits rock bottom. You're so right when you say he lets it just swallow him up and consume him.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2017 13:47 · For: Chapter 21 The Remains of the Fellowship
Another sad chapter, Ziggy.

I also like Gimli and Pippin in this. Their facial expressions and mannerisms, absolutley classic!

But I think the parts of this chapter that stood out to me, was; Legolas promising to have Gimli ride out with him to meet the Nazgul, only to get him rotten drunk, so he could slip away bright and early the next morning, much to Gimli's shock and horror.

The part that really brought a tear to the eye was Elladan's realization his brother and Legolas had left him too, without a word. Sniff! That was a bit of a shock too, to me that Elrohir had not mentioned anything to his brother, his twin, the one person he shares everything with {Maybe not everything} but most things, to be given no parting words. Its almost as if Elrohir has become a complete stranger.

Such an emotional roller coaster! Great story!

Author's Response:

Yes- I liked this chapter too- there was a bit of redemption in my view for Aragorn for having said at the council of Elrond that Thrnaduil's folk had 'failed their trust'- he is so angry with Gandalf in this. But as you say, Legolas and Elrohir both slipping away to spare their loved ones a farewell or to prevent them from going on a journey that is intended to end in th death of at least one, is shocking and quietly heroic. But I love your point that it is as if Elrohir has become a complete stranger, so remote and distnat so his terrible secrets are not revelaed. He is hiding.

 

Thank you Gabriel!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2017 10:56 · For: Chapter 20 The Gift of Men
Oh! Ziggy! I just wanted to cry for Elrohir in this chapter!

What he did to Legolas because he was hurting. Wow! The unrestrained violence. A real shocker! I mean we've seen his violence before, but this, OH MY GOD! And poor Legolas, so totally humiliated and defeated.

And now he thinks he has lost his brother, thinks himself vile and wants to die. I had to reach for the tissues. Sniff.

On the edge of my seat, chapter, this was. Awesome!

Author's Response:

Oh- you feel sorry for Elrohir- that is so good. Usually I get people wanting to kill Elrohir at this point and losing all sympathy for him- I had to work quite hard to get that back with some readers!! So pleased you enjoyed this and engaged with it so much:) It's really nice re-reading it along with you.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2017 13:39 · For: Chapter 19 The Request
This chapter I found a little sad.

Legolas' visit to Eowyn, such a beautiful scene. His tender attempts to lift her spirit and give her strength.

Legolas! What an Elf! Is going to face the Nazgul without a second thought for his own safety. Just to give Frodo and Sam that little bit of an edge. I hope he can escape of his own accord.

Tensions building. :D

Author's Response:

Yes- it is sad. Gandalf does some terrible things in the line of duty- he sends Frodo and Sam off to almost certain death, and so it is no great surprise that he takes this chance- as generals do in times of war.

 

 I'm pleased you liked the Eowyn scene- Legolas and Eowyn have a special bond after their adventure in Rohan so he is keen to know she is well. (I mustn't forget that in the current story!!)

 

Yes- you are coming to the really tense chapters- lots of violence and stuff I'm afraid and Elrohir doesn't acquit himself very well in the next couple of chapters- we'll see what you think as you read it. 

I really appreciate all these lovely reviews:) Thank you.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2017 6:25 · For: Chapter 18 Cake and Ale and Smoke
It was so good to read about Merry and Pippin again. You write all these characters so well, Ziggy.

Oh, and I love the song Legolas made up. So typical of Legolas. lol

:D

Author's Response:

Glad you are still reading this, Gabriel! A marathon task. I love writing Pippin in particular- he comes very easily. Thank you for the review:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2017 4:19 · For: Chapter 17 Gandalf's Plan
I really don't think Elrohir is going to want Legolas after that disastrous episode in the last chapter. Oh, he may still lust after him, he can't help that, but, it will take alot of work on Legolas' part to bring him round again. In fact I might even wager there's going to be another fight or maybe a lot cold shouldering from Elrohir.

Every time Legolas hangs around with Gimli, he seems to become a slob.
That scene in Aragorn's tent, where Gimli and Legolas tuck into the food laid out there, completely ignoring Aragorn and anything he may want to say. lol.

Can't wait to find out what happens with Elrohir. :D

Author's Response:

I really don't think Elrohir is going to want Legolas after that disastrous episode in the last chapter. Oh, he may still lust after him, he can't help that, but, it will take alot of work on Legolas' part to bring him round again. In fact I might even wager there's going to be another fight or maybe a lot cold shouldering from Elrohir.

Oh- you're so right. LUST indeed and even worse now. ANother fight- yes, something like that:D

Every time Legolas hangs around with Gimli, he seems to become a slob.

I think he does it on purpose.I admit I am writing in antidote to the fics that have Legolas nibbling on a twig, so I make him eat ravenously- but he can also be a gent.

That scene in Aragorn's tent, where Gimli and Legolas tuck into the food laid out there, completely ignoring Aragorn and anything he may want to say. lol.

I'd forgotten that bit- glad it made you laugh:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2017 7:54 · For: Chapter 16 Awakening
This was such a great chapter, Ziggy!

With Elrohir showing a tender and more caring side to his nature-feeling great empathy for Legolas and his plight after the Nazgul incident. Even lets down his guard and we know that's unusual for Elrohir {to show vulnerability}.
Now, I love Legolas as much as the next person, but I found myself siding with Elrohir in this chapter.
Just for the simple reason that Legolas reels Elrohir in, shows his interest and then does the unthinkable by shoving him away, like he is nothing, when Eomer interrupts them.

Oh my god! That was the most awful, heart wrenching thing Legolas could have done. Now I know this may have been a knee jerk reaction to seeing Eomer standing watching them, but Elrohir seemed to be an after thought thereafter. It's no wonder Elrohir was so enraged. Really felt for him. Sniff!

Can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response:

Yes- Legolas is crass and clumsy in this chapter. He has no idea of just how vulnerable Elrohir is and I completely agree with you. And the price is very very high. Keep reading Gabriel! It 's just starting to heat up:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2017 6:02 · For: Chapter 15 Olorin
Oh, Ziggy! It was so good to have Gandalf/Olorin back, after so long even if he didn't use the extensive power he had before. Anything from Olorin is better than nothing at all.
So it seems that Gandalf had to go quite deep into Legolas' mind to glean the imformation he wanted, which just goes to show the extent the Nazgul go to also get what they want. {Poor Legolas} but he's strong, he'll make it through. {He's steel, as you say}.
Oh, and that poor Ranger, no words to describe his nightmarish circumstances. {Shivers}
But Elrohir! What a surprising and protective boon he has become for Legolas. And Gandalf's not quite sure how to take THIS son of Elrond.
What on Ennor is Gandalf planning for Legolas? It sounds extremely ominous and treacherous. But we all know Legolas would do it without question, because that's just who he is.
I loved this chapter!
Once again I felt like I was watching the 'Return of the King' except with a few extra scenes.
A great read Ziggy! :D

Author's Response:

Oh you are coming to the Good Bit (I think) Gabriel! Yes- I'm afraid Gandalf is going to abuse Legolas' sense of honour rather badly -and Aragorn is going to be unhappy and Gimli VERY unhappy, and Elrohir...well, Elrohir has a really important couple of scenese coming up - but oh, ...had to delete a whole paragraph so got rid of all the spoilers! I think you might have your impresions of certain characters bounced around a bit in the next few chapters:/ Love hearing what you think because when I wrote it, I had NO IDEA what was coming!!!! It's been quite nice just skimming the chapters to remind myself which bit you are reading next!

Thank you for sticking with this rather long and rambling epic, Gabriel. I'm glad it;s keeping you reading at least:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2017 14:20 · For: Chapter 14 R
Yay! I'm so glad Legolas has realised Elrohir and Elladan were not playing him for a fool. That it was all a misunderstanding on his part. And he apologised for his mistreatment of them, which just goes to show how honorable Legolas is.
For once the sea longing has worked in Legolas' favor barring the Nazgul from gleaning anything of value and importance from his mind. But had left him open to physical harm.
Thank god for Elrohir!
One of my favorite parts was Elrohir realising he's in love. Maybe there's romance just round the corner for him, I hope so. He needs Legolas.
Great chapter! :)

Author's Response:

One of the really nice things about you reading and reivewing, Gabriel, is that I have to go back and re-read what I had wrtten and I admit I have enjoyed writing and even reading this. 

Yes- Elrohir has realised he loves Legolas. But Legolas still thinks he doesn't want him- and there is stil lSOOOOoooo much that can go wrong. You're coming up to the what I think of as BIG chapters in terms of the narrative and chracter developmnt- exciting stuff! (I hope so anywy)

xx



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2017 6:35 · For: Chapter 13 Many Meetings
I felt so sorry for Elladan and Elrohir. They just seemed a bit out of place once it was all over. I guess being two of only three Elves fighting alongside thousands of Men must have been a bit sobering. And that whole misunderstanding with Legolas would have made matters worse, even with Aragorn close by.

I really felt for Elladan in particular this chapter, for he has only just realised his feelings for Legolas, only to have them thrown back in his face, poor thing.

Gimli, can't help but love him. I especially love what Legolas threatened to do if Gimli or Aragorn wager on him again. Something to the effect of chucking him in a barrel of ale, riding all the way to Erebor and back, with him bouncing behind and then pissing on his Pipeweed and not telling him. Classic! Legolas getting his own back.
:)

Author's Response:

Yes- you're right if course. It must have felt very lonely actually- and normally they would have each other but this misunderstnading has pushed them apart and Elladans realisation is quite complex because he has never wanted a man before. Actually at this point when I was writing it, it could very easily have gone with Elladan but Elrohir is a force of nature! What would have happened to him had Elladan truly fallen in love with Legolas and his back??

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2017 13:26 · For: Chapter 12 Battle of the Pelennor Fields
Wow! Legolas is such a badass when he's angry even more so, and still giving the twins a very VERY cold shoulder.
My favourite part was Elladan in the midst of battle; such a smooth operator.
For an Elf who is quite temperate in demeanour he fights like an efficient killing machine.
I also like Elrohir, always his brother's shield. Always looking out for him, I guess that's the bond they share as twins, as if they are one soul. :D

Author's Response:

Yes- Legolas is really quite a different character when crossed- he feels really aggrieved in this chpater, liek they wwere toying with him and laughing at him. His silvan pride has been stirred and wounded here so he really wants to show them his metal.

That bond between the twins is, as you say, very important and powerful- it is both their refuge and their downfall- Elrohir's at least. You'll remember he sacrificed himself to Angmar for Elladan and so that is how the twisted memory of what happened with his mother took hold. That remains t haunt him.

Thank you for the reviews:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2017 12:31 · For: Chapter 11 The Hunger
I really love how you switched the sons of Elrond's characters, so Elladan acted like Elrohir and vice versa. Unfortunately this did not go down too well with Legolas once he realised he was wrong in his assertions as to who was who, for he believed they were playing him for a fool. Poor Legolas so much misunderstanding going on.
It was not the twin's fault at all.
Great reading! :)

Author's Response:

Ah- you're at THAT point now, Gabriel. I really like Elladan and I have to admit, I was playing with the idea of Legolas and Elldan as a pir but I'm afraid Elrohir just wasn't having any of that! So glad you are enjoying this still.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2017 12:47 · For: Chapter 10
Oh, my gosh, Ziggy, Little Legolas is so adorable, you write him so perfectly.

What's this! Elladan and Legolas having a moment. A rather beautiful moment, I might add. I'd be very interested to see whether anything more develops between these two.

Is there anyone not lusting after Legolas! :)

Author's Response:

I can't help writing everyone lusting after Legolas- but that's simply my own elf-worship!! I admit I could have gone either way with Elladan/Eorihr at this point but the characters had very definite views- again, no spoilers!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 18, 2017 13:14 · For: Chapter 9
Yes I think Aragorn should hang his head for making Legolas think he had failed him.His selfish pursuits almost cost Legolas his life.

I wish Elrohir would tell someone. I know he feels ashamed of his memories and thoughts even if a part of it is implanted, but he just cannot go on like this, it will make him mad in the end.
Elladan is such a sweetheart. Such a source of strength and peace for his brother, Legolas and anyone else who needs it.
I love your Gimli, you write him so true to how he should be in character, such a gruff exterior but absolutely adores Legolas.
:D

Author's Response:

Don't worry, I make Aragorn remember his unfairness to Legolas MANY times and Gimli enjoys telling him off a lot throughout the res tof this fic! 

I'm afraid a lot of the conflict is EXACTLY as you identified! Because Erohir won't talk about this shameful memory, he does not understand it- if I say any more it will be a spolier so I'll just leave it there:)

I love writing Gimli - I find Pippin and Gimli the easiest, their voices are very strong and they are easy to talk to as a writer- they want to share!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2017 13:21 · For: Chapter 8
What would Elrohir do without Elladan. I notice Elladan is starting to put all the pieces together albeit, slowly, with the strange moods Elrohir has been in lately. Finally, thank the stars!
One of my favourite parts;

'It is like the Mazar-kut,' he said softly, and met the astonished Dwarf's deep brown gaze. 'The call in your heart for Ekhezd-dum, where Mahal first delved and the Seven Fathers sleep, awaiting the breaking of the world. 'He lifted three fingers of his left hand and then pressed them against the Dwarf's chest, over his heart. 'The fire in your heart that calls stone to stone is like the song the Elves hear that calls them home to Valinor, across the sea.

I love that Gimli was so astonished at an Elf knowing something of the Dwarfs' secrets. It also made Elrohir come across so wise.
Awesome Ziggy! :D

Author's Response:

What is so noce about your reviews, Gabriel, is that I m being reminded of things I had forgotten! I liked Elrohir's understanding of Khazad culture in this too- thank you for picking that out!!

ANd thank you for all these lovely reviews- makes my day ot get one of these:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2017 13:09 · For: Chapter 7
I think it would best to keep Legolas well away from the sea. The longing seems to put him in unnecessary danger.
Elrohir rides in like a knight in shining armour, takes Legolas into his charge, heals him and then takes advantage of him. Oh, Elrohir, tut tut.
Great stuff Ziggy! :D

Author's Response:

Oh -you're right in all the best bits now! Yes- Elrohir behaves REALLY badly but it haunts him terribly afterwards. He is rather magnificant though - I hope you could see the fanart that went with it- for some reason, my Apple won't show it. So glad you enjoyed this- I think it gets better- you've got some great sexy bits coming up.



You must login () to review.