| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2016 21:31 · For: Digressions ~ Many people have many thoughts

I feel like your writing style improved greatly since this fic: in the most recent fics (mostly those with Erevir being born much sooner), it was bit clearer and easier to follow.

I liked the part about Oropher and how he used poor trusting Gil-Galad for his own interests, the context of the Sindar migrating east, other Sindar chosing Galadriel and Celeborn, the Noldor mainly with Gil-Galad (well, at least until Celebrimbor decides to migrate as well). I don't know if you wrote anything else about this migration, or about the Tatyar of Nevrast and Fingolfin's dick moves, but that sounds great as far as world building goes :)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I feel that way as well. The first couple of chapters of this make me cringe now at how rought this is, compared to the last chapter which I wrote at the start of this year. Wall of Shadows is set in the same timeline as this fic and the difference is rather immense haha the change in my writing. Though I still can't use a fullstop properly. The Mirifinwe divergent ficlets also have a definite uptick in quality of writing.

I'm glad you read the last chapter and liked it too. Oropher was indeed a prize dick to Gil-Galad and took advantage of him. Oropher gets to show up later. I have full headcanons about the migrations and the Tatyar of Nevrast and Fingolfin's dick moves (and Turgon's dick moves because Turgon is responsible for Nevrast) but have yet to include them in other writing. If you'd like to more know I'd be happy to! (I love world building. My plot structure and other important things tend to suffer because world building gets in the way all the time XD)



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 22:51 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue

I don't really know what to say; it is a great opening chapter. I really liked the passage about Fëanor and how the Silmarils were able to feel his thoughts and react to them. And OUTCH Maedhros' death.

I hope to be able to say more for the next one!



Author's Response:

Thank you! :D I am so glad you enjoyed what there is of this! Its one of my oldest fics and I want to go back and clean it up but its so wonderful that someone still likes it!



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2015 12:27 · For: Negotiations ~ An Assembly of Advocates

This was a kind of terrifying chapter. Wonderfully written! I think this is the first story I ever read that had Eru as a speaking character, actually... 

I can't wait to read more! 



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2015 11:35 · For: Life ~ An uncertain introduction

Your descriptions are amazing. You really captured the Silmaril's pain and confusion. My favorite part was when it instinctively caught and tried to eat some small animal. Also, I loved the ways you integrated the Silmaril's lacking language concepts, like how "fur" was "not-grass" and paws were "hand things". 



Author's Response:

Wow thanks :D thank you so much. I wrote those chapters a while ago now then life got in the way of updating but I'm glad those chapters are still good to read.



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2015 11:23 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue

Oh. My. God. 

This was glorious and absolutely heartwrenching. I have read your anthropomorphized silmaril stories before, and I still -honestly- cried. Especially at the part where the Silmaril burns Maedhros because it is afraid of all the terrible impressions it gets from his touch, and then realizes what it has done and regrets it forever. My heart shattered. Seriously. T_T 



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2013 11:38 · For: None
This is quite the story... I hope you'll update this, because I'm stunned and want to read more! I don't think I've ever read something like this before, it's original and well-written.
That poor silmaril... You managed to make me feel sorry for a silmaril! I especially liked the parts where you described the silmaril's feelings about it all.
I wonder what will happen now to it/her/him (that was also a bit of brilliance there, making it some kind of magical hermaphrodite...)
Please update soon!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 23:06 · For: None

Brilliant chapter- raw and painful for the poor Silmaril, I am so glad someone found it but there is a real sense of danger and threat on both sides. I am enthralled- really. I said before that the scope of your imagination is astonishing- this just gets better and better.



Author's Response:

Oh gosh Ziggy thank you for all three reviews at once, I don't deserve such. I am so glad you are enjoying the fic :D it started as a challenge and it rather took over for me. I'm glad you like this silly idea so much.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 22:50 · For: Life ~ An uncertain introduction

This is a fascinating idea- how a mature body -relatively- learns to maintain itself. I hope someone finds it soon and cares for it.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 22:30 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue

Wow. The scope of your imagination in this is truly awesome, Urloth. The sense of the Silmarils having a snetience is not new but the way you have written it is wonderful and probably the best I've read- there is a MINERAL-ness (sorry, made up word) in this- its sort of strangely impersonal and child like at the saem time, so that mother/father/creator LOVE is everything to it, but its a very basic sense, emotion so it retains this idea of a primitive life form, not quite life in our definition but sentience certainly. 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 0:09 · For: None
Ah - I am so pleased that you are picking this up again - I have enjoyed re-reading these three chapters, as thy are now.

Author's Response:

I do have more chapters XD I kept meaning to post them once I rewrote the first two but I kept procrastinating, turned around and it had been over a year. How embarrassing. XD Thank you!



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: November 15, 2011 5:55 · For: Life ~ An uncertain introduction
This is so interesting. I am very eager to read more and see how you develop this.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2011 23:36 · For: Life ~ An uncertain introduction
I spent most of the time writing this wondering if the sudden army of OC's was going to ruin the whole thing or that what I was doing to the Silmaril was just too weird.

OC's never ruin a story for me. Middle-earth is our primary world, after all, just very long ago, and is populated by a lot more than canon characters. of course I love some canon characters, but there's room for OC's! There would be a lot of empty space otherwise, which is why when I occasionally read reviews on places like FF.Net where some-one says, 'I don't read stories with OC's', I just roll my eyes. I simply love well-developed characters, whoever they are. And as for the Silmaril, this is a stunning concept, which I damn well wish I had thought of, lol!



Author's Response: I will keep your words with me as I continue to write this, they are very reassuring! Admittedly I am one of those people who waver at reading a OC heavy fic but recently I try and give the benefit of the doubt since I've discovered that there are plenty of good fics out there that are OC heavy or centric. I'm still terrified of writing a Mary-sue/Gary-Stu but there's plenty of help online now to stop a person falling into that trap.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 14, 2011 14:38 · For: Life ~ An uncertain introduction
Love this chapter. The exploration of the 'young' Silmaril, its pains and hungers and confusion, is amazing.

The quantity of that beautiful, entwined gold and silver was not be depleted in the slightest and it wrapped itself around in it with an internal chime of pleasure as the light warmed it through and banished the lingering phantoms of pain that the mind had unwittingly kept a hold of. Observing closely within itself the Silmaril noted there were an impression of leaves and the hint of the edge of a petal within the light but nothing distinct. As it drifted it noticed someone else was within the light as well like a figure in the distance; nothing more than a fleeting taste of strong pride, a flirtation of emotions and the ghost of skills that someone else had possessed, a long, long time ago. It tried to move towards it but failed, left behind as the light retreated to a place it could not go. Darkness fell and the Silmaril fell with it, into true unconsciousness instead of whatever spiritual state it had been in before.

This is beautiful, I just had to quite that, though there is a great deal I would quote; and this is so different, really fascinating. Thank-you for posting it here, and I am glad you have a story to tell!

Author's Response: Gosh, the paragraph that I rewrote a million times and still disliked it! I suddenly don't feel quite so unsatisfied about posting it! Thank you and I'm glad that this continues to entertain! I spent most of the time writing this wondering if the sudden army of OC's was going to ruin the whole thing or that what I was doing to the Silmaril was just too weird.


Name: Pink Siamese (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2011 23:48 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue

You do not write like a spastic goose. I think this is pretty awesome, actually.



Author's Response: Oh lawd *blushes* thank very much


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: November 06, 2011 22:10 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
Oh this is a fascinating starting point. I am very hopeful that you will be expanding on it.

Thank you so much for sharing this.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2011 10:14 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
Hi Urloth. Re the series I mentioned. They were really big in the 80's (I found them in the mid 90's) and I think they're currently out of print. But you can get them on Amazon incredibly cheaply. They're superbly written, blending myth and sci-fi, and there are four books in that series.
The Many Coloured Land. is the first, then The Golden Torc, the Non Born King, and The Adversary. They're honestly so good that they make most fantasy works look pale and unimaginative by comparison.
Guy Gavriel Kay's Tigana Tigana is also excellent; it is pretty dark and pathos-heavy but he does write beautifully. Both those authors do; they have really depth and are wordsmiths, and create wonderful characters.

Author's Response: My library will hopefully have them or I'll go trawling in the used bookshops my city seems to have everywhere. Thank you alot!This fills my summer reading list up quite nicely.


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 22:20 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
I love challenges, they make us think of such interesting stories, like this one. I especially liked when they were first created and how your described it and also how you described Maedhros's fall. I'd love to read more of this, but I'm not sure if this is better being a stand alone story. I love your writing style and hope to see more of you around here! Thanks for sharing :)

Author's Response: There will be more of this :) I haven't hit the word requirement for the challenge yet so I am obliged to write more XD thank you for your words!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 20:12 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
Wow, this is an interesting starting point for a story. I never really thought about the Silmaril's as beings with an awareness, but I'm intrigued by your ideas. I'm looking forward to read more!
Tinara

Author's Response: thank you!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 19:52 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
What a fascinating concept - I look forward with anticipation to more.

Author's Response: thank you!


Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 14:12 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
This is a fascinating perspective of a proto-sentient being which, basically, is exactly what Feanaro wrought. I liked this quite a lot.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response: thank you!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 04, 2011 13:36 · For: Birth ~ A sort of prologue
This is really unusual. I like it; it reminds me rather of Julian May's writing in Saga of the Pliocene Exciles, which is one of my all time favourite series.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Is the Saga in question a scifi or a fantasy? I'm always looking for new reading material.


You must login () to review.