| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Faded Light: Book II by Elvenfixation Explicit
This is Book II of my LOTR series Faded Light. The story mostly takes place about a hundred years of so before the War...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8040
Word count: 24058306
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14367
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

elfscribe
08/24/17 12:05 am
Hi Glorfindel! Great to see you here. You were in London for the weekend? Excellent! Wish I were there too. I did get to see the total eclipse on Monday. Wonderful! Beautiful. Music of the spheres.
Glorfindel
08/22/17 07:17 pm
I spent the weekend in London - lunching at Camden Lock street food market and then onto London zoo. Didn't want to come jome!
Glorfindel
08/22/17 07:17 pm
So right, Ziggy lololol
Spiced Wine
08/18/17 01:04 pm
Happy Friday, everyone. Hope you have a lovely weekend. :)
ziggy
08/17/17 09:40 pm
They would just argue, Glorfindel!!
Glorfindel
08/16/17 06:40 pm
Good to be back Naledi :) All my characters would argue that they are as hot as Legolas lol
Naledi
08/15/17 10:31 pm
It's lovely to see you back, Glorfindel. Legolas may be mad, but compared to the rest of his family he's perfectly reasonable. And hot :)
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Naledi - I htink Legolas is mad; he hides it well though lol
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Thanks Ziggy and Naledi - I am really happy you are enjoying it. I am hoping to write more frequently - gone are the days when I had lots of time.
Naledi
08/15/17 09:09 am
Yes, it's great to see them back. They're all barking mad. Except gorgeous Legolas, of course.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Shadowslayer

Name: ghostflower (Signed) · Date: January 22, 2014 12:06 · For: Chapter 9 - No More Waiting
It was short and sweet.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Ghostflower! It's nice to meet you. I'm glad you enjoyed this. 



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2013 0:07 · For: Prologue
Awww! Legolas' "imaginary friend" is so cute...

Author's Response:

Thanks! I should really write more little Legolas stories, because I always enjoy writing about him as a child. I'm glad you enjoyed this glimpse of him :-)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: March 05, 2012 23:58 · For: Chapter 9 - No More Waiting
I am glad you decided to add this chapter. It makes for a very nice finale. I had to take a break reading because RL got in the way, but realized the other day, since Legolas and Glorfindel now knew each other, that you were likely to end this story soon. This thought made me very sad, because I absolutely love it! Thanks for a great story.

Author's Response:

Hi Mindirith! I hope the RL issue was a good one and not a bad one...

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this tale. I certainly had a lot of fun writing it. I've got an idea for a short follow-up, so this may not be the last you see of it if I can just find the time to write it!

Thank you for taking the time to review. The reviews really helped keep me going when I was having so much trouble finding the motivation to write.



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: February 28, 2012 14:30 · For: Chapter 9 - No More Waiting
And so, you have finally been able to end this, and in a glorious way. This was a very fun story to read and I'm so pleased that you finished it well. Yes, many deeds lie ahead of both of them, but their bond will lend strength and endurance to each of them over the years to come. Congrats on a job well done.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Erulisse - I'm so glad you enjoyed both the story and the ending! Yes, they don't have an easy road ahead of them, but their bond will see them through.

Thank you for taking the time to review - you brought me up to fifty reviews :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2012 13:55 · For: Chapter 9 - No More Waiting
The 'blessing' of the glades was excessively hot! Well done. Lovely traditions.
And thank-you for the story! :)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Sian! I had a lot of fun with the traditions. And as for the 'blessing' of the glades...well it was supposed to be a time of prayerful reflection when the light went out (and I got the lights out idea from the Wood-elves' feasts in The Hobbit), but Legolas, the shameless minx, had other ideas, lol.

Thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2012 2:55 · For: Chapter 9 - No More Waiting
I loved it! Not much to say I LOVED IT! Great writing and easy connection with the characters. Thank you!

Author's Response:

*blush* aw thank-you! And I was really pleased to learn you connected with the characters - I always try to make them believable, but without feedback it's hard to know whether I achieved it or not.

Thank you again for reviewing :)



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2012 1:14 · For: Chapter 4 - Healing
I am enjoying your story very much. Wanted to read couple chapters. I am pleasantly pleased and I really like this last part when Thranduil realized the enormity of what transpired between Glorfindel and his son. Very good writing indeed!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Alaeryel, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Poor Thranduil - it came as something of a shock to him when he realised that Glorfindel and Legolas were bound!

Thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2012 23:06 · For: Chapter 8: Shadowslayer
Your idea of the 'Shadow', and the gift that Glorfindel and Legolas share now is beautiful.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Sian! I don't like Legolas being portrayed as the weakling in a relationship so I wanted him to rescue Glorfindel. I'm glad you like how I did it :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2012 11:30 · For: Chapter 8: Shadowslayer
Only one more chapter? I'll be rather sad to see the end of this little story. It's been so much fun to read.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Yes, just the one more chapter. Would you believe this story was just supposed to be a quick single-chapter story? As you can see, it got a bit out of hand *g*

I'm glad you've enjoyed it!



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2012 11:07 · For: Chapter 7 - Frustration
It is so nice to have you writing again. And what a cliffhanger you leave us with. I can hardly wait for the next chapter or two or ten or..... :-)

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Yes, I am writing again, although the words are only coming fairly slowly at the moment. But I hope it won't take me so long to get the next chapter out. I thought leaving the story at that point might give me an incentive to get on with the next chapter asap!

Believe it or not, the story is nearly finished. There again, this was supposed to be just a quick one-shot, in response to Esteliel's challenge...

Thanks for reviewing :)

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2012 11:05 · For: Chapter 7 - Frustration

Terrific chapter,Naledi! And what an end! All my favourite things- lots of yaoi/ lust and hot elves, good Thranduil being all fatherly and affectionate, naked Glorfindel, needy Legolas, and a good bit of action at the end! Can't wait so please update soon!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I'm glad you enjoyed the father, son moment as well as the lusty ones! I think Thranduil will be far more supportive of Glorfindel's claim on Legolas now that he knows that Legolas has no intention of going to live in Imladris permanently.

I'm already working on the next chapter, so I hope it won't take me as long as the last one.

Thank you for reviewing - I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2012 23:14 · For: Chapter 7 - Frustration
Oh, no-- just when things looked like they were taking a turn for the better!

No wonder Legolas needs a Shadowslayer at his side (and not only in bed)!!!

Author's Response:

Sorry - that was rather evil, wasn't it? *g*

Yes, where is Shadowslayer when he's needed? Hopefully it won't take me so long to write the next chapter.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2012 23:00 · For: Chapter 7 - Frustration
Yes- writing has been like squeezing blood from a stone, but I'm persevering!

We all go through that. {{Hugs}} It feels to me like pushing against a locked door until something suddenly gives, the door flies open, and the flow comes back. Cliffhanger endings are helpful in that respect, I think. They provide a bit of a kick-start :)

Author's Response:

The frustrating thing is, I know exactly where the story is going but I have to drag out every word kicking and screaming :(

Still, believe it or not, the story is nearly finished!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 13, 2012 22:41 · For: Chapter 7 - Frustration
It's good to see you back on - and with an update. :)
Oh yes, one can feel the frustration all through this chapter, but just as one I thought it would simply be a matter of time (and more frustration) -- you leave it like that!

Author's Response:

Yes- writing has been like squeezing blood from a stone, but I'm persevering!

Sorry to leave it on such a cliffhanger, but I thought it might encourage me to get a move on with writing the next chapter!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2011 23:16 · For: Chapter 6 - Truce
Oh, I somehow missed the update until now! What a great backstory in this chapter, and this part about Glorfindel's fear of falling in his new life is all too convincing:

"Glorfindel gritted his teeth and forced himself to move closer to the void. He had never been comfortable with heights in his new life, and now his scalp tingled with the remembrance of burning fingers tangling in his hair and jerking him off his feet. It took all his strength to look Thranduil steadily in the eye and not let his gaze drift to the stomach-churning view."

Author's Response:

Sorry for not responding earlier - I really thought I already had.

I'm glad you enjoyed the backstory. And somehow it just seemed to fit, that Glorfindel wouldn't like heights!

Thanks for reviewing - the next chapter is now up :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: November 29, 2011 15:58 · For: Chapter 6 - Truce
The tragedy with his wife certainly explains Thranduil's extreme suspicion about the entire situation and especially regarding the bond between Glorfindel and Legolas.

I hope that Mithrandir will hurry and arrive soon.

Author's Response:

Sorry for not responding earlier - I was so sure I already had :(

Mithrandir is on his way - the next chapter is now up, featuring the wizard himself :)

Thank you for reviewing - I'm glad you're still reading, despite the delay in updates :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2011 19:16 · For: Chapter 6 - Truce
Oh wow, this was a dark chapter full of shocks. The way you wrote about the darkness in Mirkwood is excellent.

Overcome with a desire to be in the open air, he stepped out, only to stagger back, his head spinning, when he saw they were far above the forest floor. The balcony teetered on an overhang atop a sheer cliff, while far below a river foamed and roared through a gorge. Beyond that, all Glorfindel could see was treetops, stretching out into the distance, until they seemed to disappear into an indistinct grey fog. “When we first moved here from Amon Lanc, the gorge was only half as deep as it is now. And the Shadow had yet to make an appearance.”

That's a very powerful description which struck me immediately. And Thranduil's wife...!
I know RL has been incredibly hard, so I am very pleased that you have continued to write. Thank-you!

Author's Response:

Ooops - I was so sure I'd already responded to this review. Sorry!

I'm glad the description worked for you. I could see it so vividly. I love imagining how Mirkwood must look...

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2011 17:08 · For: Chapter 6 - Truce
No glaring errors that I can see, and I'm delighted that you're writing again. All good things to you and your family over this holiday season.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Apologies for the late response - I thought I'd replied already! 

Thanks for your wishes for me and my family. And yes I am still writing - albeit slowly! The next chapter is finally up!

Thanks for reviewing :)

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 10:42 · For: Chapter 5 - Loggerheads
I can understand Thranduil's emotions here, Glorfindel in Golodh and reborn, and has nothing really to do with Mirkwood, though there is nothing he can do but accept it ultimately.

I'm glad the merging worked for you. I'm sure I remember reading somewhere in Tolkien's writings that if an elf was bound it showed in their eyes.

Yes, it's in Laws and Customs of the Eldar, in Morgoth's Ring', which I basically laugh at, but it can be used beautifully; Esteliel has written it into Cuil Eden, when Haldir could see that Glorfindel and Legolas were bound.
Let us hope that Mithrandir comes all haste.

Author's Response:

Yes, you've hit the nail on the head here. Deep down, Thranduil knows the bond is from the Valar. He's just terrified of losing Legolas to Glorfindel. He'll come round just as soon as he realises that Legolas won't abandon Mirkwood.

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 0:21 · For: Chapter 5 - Loggerheads
I hope Mithrandir arrives soon. I can understand Thranduil's caution (and his wildly fluctuating moods) but it really isn't necessary in this case. And I think Legolas will have quite a bit to say once he is feeling better. [g]

Author's Response:

Yes, Legolas knows his own mind already! Poor Thranduil - deep down he knows the bond is from the Valar. He's just terrified of losing Legolas to Glorfindel, and his actions are all down to that fear. 

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 0:18 · For: Chapter 4 - Healing
Oh my! Well, I suppose it was to be expected; after all, Thranduil isn't stupid. But what a shocking manner in which to learn that his son is bound!

Author's Response:

Yes, it came as a shoch not just to Thranduil, but to Glorfindel and Legolas too. They hadn't realised that that was the consequence of merging their souls to fight the Shadow. 

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 0:06 · For: Chapter 3: Rescue
I am glad that Glorfindel was in time (though I wasn't really *too* worried) and that he was able to get rid of the Ringwraith.

Author's Response:

Thanks! No, Glorfindel was never going to let the wraith get the better of him :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2011 9:20 · For: Chapter 5 - Loggerheads
"He blew out a breath of exasperation when the two men continued to stare each other down like stags in the rutting season."
This is a great description! Unusual, vivid, I can pratically see them standing before me, staring each other down.
Poor Legolas, I hope Gandalf will arrive soon and put Thranduil's woories to rest, so he can enjoy his time with Glorfindel.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara. I'm glad you liked the stags image. It had me giggling when it popped into my head.

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2011 9:11 · For: Chapter 4 - Healing
Yeah, Thranduil is quite a bit on the emotional side here, isn't he? It's understandable but nevertheless, he's giving everyone around the rollercoaster tour - "leave", "no, stay and heal","not in this way", I can't help it, I think it's quite funny. I wonder how long it will take to convince him of Glorfindels love and the bond between them from the moment long before Legolas birth.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Yes, Poor Thranduil! He's terrified of losing Legolas - not just to death, but also to Glorfindel. He'll come round eventually.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2011 9:06 · For: Prologue
Such a precious gift, to be assured there will be someone special for Glorfindel!
Legolas talking about Shadowslayer is most endearing, though I'm sure Thranduil wouldn't be as indulgent if he knew that this person is no figment of imagiation!
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks Tinara! Yes, Thranduil's none too happy when he discovers the truth!

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.