| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: KhamulsBurntFalafel (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2015 4:35 · For: Chapter 1 ~ Beautiful, Beloved Betrayer ~
Gosh I love your Sauron! I must be nuts, but he's so sexy-creepy.
All your characters are fantastic. I am fairly new to slash but I'm still rooting for them. Part of the awesomeness of fanfiction is reading about pairings you would not have thought possible, but which somehow work. Or you seem to make them work!
I adore your OMCs to bits, can't choose between Vanimore or Bainalph - another favourite - how hot is this guy???
Thanks for taking the time to write this huuuuge verse!
xx

Author's Response: Hi, KhamulsBurnyFalafel (hreat name!) Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. I'm so glad you like my OMC's, since OMC's are still seen as 'surplus' in Tolkien fanfic, as there are so many canon males. Never occurred to me, I must admit. :) I hope, if you keep reading, you will still enjoy the story/stories. I know it's rather a huge verse :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 5:08 · For: Chapter 49 ~ The Beginning Of Night And The End Of The Light ~
I have finished this in a rush and didn't have time to review as I went so if you don't mind I will do it all in one, here.
I remember you told me when I was reading dark prince that this death scene was sadder here....and you were right, it was...although to be honest I don't think it was the writing but rather that I had been reading about Gil Galad and Tindomion for so long......(and being completely utterly frustrated with them) and so I was more invested in them, I KNEW them and knew their story so yes it was so totally SAD.
And my anger at Manw


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 6:36 · For: Chapter 31 ~ Silver Light ~
I am struggling with this, it hard to read because it is all so sad. Gil Galad's childhood. Fingon and Maedhros...

I can't get out of my mind what I know the Valar did to Gil Galad in the end. All his mother's poison came back to punish him....I felt it unfair when I read it in Dark Prince and now I "know" him better it is SO much worse!
How could they?! ...so angry at the Valar!

One question? Basel says Gil Galad " needs" Tindomion because of his lost father, the bereavements he suffered in His youth and the abuse,( because it was abuse) he suffered from his mother.

Is he attracted to Tindomion solely because of that, just because he looks like Maglor and Gil Galad wants to recapture something of his memories of happiness with his Father and Maedhros. If that is then only reason it would make me sad because I want Tindomion to be wanted because of himself not because of his parentage and similarity to his father.vhope that makes some sense....

Author's Response: Are you as furious at the Valar as I was writing this? If so, I quite understand! That's the thing: they can threaten, but unfortunately they can also make good on that.

Is he attracted to Tindomion solely because of that, just because he looks like Maglor and Gil Galad wants to recapture something of his memories of happiness with his Father and Maedhros. If that is then only reason it would make me sad because I want Tindomion to be wanted because of himself not because of his parentage and similarity to his father.vhope that makes some sense....

Well, there is this thread of fire that has run between the House of F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 6:09 · For: Chapter 29 ~ The Truths Of Love ~
Gil Galad needs to get control of his horrid, horrid mother! I understand why he does not have it, because of his age when he was sent away, the lack of his father etc but he is no child now and needs to take charge I think. Easier said than done of course.
It is so sad thinking he has spent all this time hearing hateful things about his father. There is nothing hurts a child more than someone disparaging their parent.....worse that it is a dead parent and that Gil Galad loved him so deeply.

Author's Response: He wouldn't have believed anything any-one said of his father; he knew Fingon, if for too short a time. :( The trouble is here, is that it's not just Rosriel, it is an entire faction of people, and all of them nobles, who believe what she does - and the trouble with that? What they believe is actually true, although we don't know that until Glorfindel returns and even then he won't say that the dead have been banished to the Void.
Gil-galad is noble, so he would not treat his mother as she treats him, but neither does she influence what he thinks, as we shall she.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 4:36 · For: Chapter 27 ~ My Fealty And All My Service ~
Erestor is a baddie?!!

Author's Response: I wouldn't say he was a baddie exactly, but at this point he has been too long under Rosriel's influence, but don't worry, later he makes a complete turn around, although we hear more about it in Magnificat II.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 9:18 · For: Chapter 25 ~ Descent Into Darkness ~
This was truly awful to read...Maedhros dying. I mean the writing was great....the emotion was awful. I understand how Maedhros has reached his bitter end. He was broken long ago but still I find a part of me is angry at him. Angry at him for taking that way out and leaving Maglor. So unfair.

Author's Response: Both Maglor and Maedhros thought, I believe, that when the Silmarils burned them, it was actually their father rejecting them. F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 9:05 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Begotten In Blood ~
I don't understand Elwing. I really don't. I have a small son and I cannot imagine leaving him for anything! I admit I judge her and find her seriously lacking, even though Tolkien obviously wanted us to see her as a heroine.

I confess I don't understand the silmarils at all. I have been unable to get my head round them. I know Yavanna hallowed them but to me they feel evil. It is like they magnify all the darkness in the souls of those who desire them. They entrap people and make them act as they would not normaly. The Feanorians have the excuse of the oath perhaps corrupting them but so many others who were not Feanorian were tainted by the silmarils.

It is as if the moment Morgoth killed Finwe so he could take them They became something bad/ wrong and destroyed lives. Actually even before that it is hard to tell if it is Morgoth's lies or the Silmarils that are causing jealousy and paranoia in F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 8:36 · For: Chapter 22 ~ A Storm Of Shadows ~
Oh no, Maedhros cannot even get comfort from Gil Galad. How tragic for both of them. I understand how Gil Galad's similarity would confront him with what he had lost and he, ( or Maglor) feels he could not cope with that but maybe it might have helped? Somehow if he could have poured time and energy into Fingon's son, what was left of Fingon. It may have helped him.

Author's Response: Yes, I think then that he was beyond help, to be honest :(


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 8:28 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Doom Wears Many Faces ~
It is so sad to read Maedhros like this. Breaks my heart. It is so far from the Maedhros he ought to be, was meant to be.

But you know, even in the real not Fanfiction Silm this happened too. Who knows what was actually in Tolkien's head when he wrote it but his Maedhros does completely change after Fingon's death. Before that he was honourable, the reasonable brother who held the others back, the one who maintained connections with the rest of the Noldor. After....well he ran off killing other elves and committing atrocities......why Tolkien why? It can only have been because of Fingon. Nothing else makes sense. I think so anyway!!

Author's Response: I am pretty sure Tolkien had seen such a thing happen to otherwise honorable people when he fought in WWI. I think Maedhros, and all his brothers suffered PTSD - it was called 'shell shock' back in WWI, although it's now become clear that warriors suffered it in ancient times, too.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:23 · For: Chapter 19 ~ Leaves Before The Wind ~
I knew you would write this so it was heartbreakingly terrible.... And you did. Oh Gil Galad. I just kept thinking of that sweet little boy who hero worshiped his father.

But Maedhros.......... His raw and heartfelt grief. It is so .......I can't even find the words to describe it. He is breaking my heart.
Amazing writing !

Author's Response: This was such a heart-ache to write, so I am glad it comes across. :( There was no other way to write such a tragedy.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 8:23 · For: Chapter 17 ~ Union And Reunion ~
This was so painful to read, because I know. I know what is coming for these two. So very sad.

Poor, poor Maedhros.

Author's Response: I did not like writing it, Cheekybeak :( The only think that kept me going was knowing that I was going to being them back eventually!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 7:04 · For: Chapter 14 ~ That Moonless Night In Winter ~
Ah . So sad. But you know, I think ever since he found out F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 5:53 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Ereinion ~
Gil Galad of course HAD to be Fingon's child and he is SO adorable!
But oh the interesting mess it would have been had he ended up being Maglors or Caranthir's......

Author's Response: It would have been a mess if one of them had sired him. It never occurred to me, though, because I have always seen him as Fingon's. And something good had to come out of that horrible marriage.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 5:52 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Duplicity Of Love ~
It is so interesting that Maglor and Fingolfin have this desire between them because they each are seeing F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2015 23:54 · For: Chapter 7 ~ The First Shadows ~
I have never understood how Aredhel ever ended up in Gondolin in the first place. It seems just a situation she would never have agreed to going to. Trapped in a city!

Author's Response: I think the same. It was the worse place for her really, but probably deemed to be the safest.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2015 23:52 · For: Chapter 6 ~ City Of Legend ~
Ah so Glorfindel still bears some scars from his rape by Feanor, although he seems very conflicted by it. He does not love Feanor and yet he is almost entranced by him.
His desire not to be possessed by anyone seems like a deep subconscious barrier he maybe doesn't even understand fully himself.
I wonder if he gets over this before he gooks up with Legolas or is Legolas just happy being the submissive one ? I am looking forward to see how those two actually ended up
Together .

Author's Response: Yes, F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2015 5:31 · For: Chapter 4 ~ A Victory And A Warning ~
Loving this....it is amazing, the only thing I am sad about is that F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2015 2:30 · For: Chapter 1 ~ Beautiful, Beloved Betrayer ~

My people look to me and they must see a prince, a leader. They must not see a man breaking under grief that will never be assuaged, waiting for the touch of the flame, the smile in a pair of eyes like no others in this world.”

Yes this.  This is so Fingolfin.  He is a storm inside, but outside he is the calm of an ocean without breeze.  He hurts so much, but he gives off only his strength.  Oh how I love him!  And oh how hard it is to read his grief!



Author's Response: He hurts so much, but he gives off only his strength. Oh how I love him! And oh how hard it is to read his grief!

Don't start me off crying! He had to give so much, and though I completely do saw him having a close and loving relationship with Fingon as yours does, he just had to pour himself out knowing that F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2015 2:29 · For: Chapter 1 ~ Beautiful, Beloved Betrayer ~

My people look to me and they must see a prince, a leader. They must not see a man breaking under grief that will never be assuaged, waiting for the touch of the flame, the smile in a pair of eyes like no others in this world.”

Yes this.  This is so Fingolfin.  He is a storm inside, but outside he is the calm of an ocean without breeze.  He hurts so much, but he gives off only his strength.  Oh how I love him!  And oh how hard it is to read his grief!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2014 23:45 · For: Chapter 49 ~ The Beginning Of Night And The End Of The Light ~

Let me lie under the stone and hold him until I go into Night, for I cannot repent of my love before Mandos. 

 

The saddest part of this indeed, echoing Fingon and Maedhros who you started with, but you made me cry-again.



Author's Response: I cried writing this - it was all too much, thinking of the others who came before, and the doom weaving itself around Gil-galad and Tind


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2014 13:47 · For: Chapter 44 ~ Bonds Of Fire, Chains Of Darkness ~

That scene of love-making is very beautiful as well as frenzied and passionate- I htink because of its silence. And sadness in Gil's mind. It is a leave-taking.

And it is interesting to see Van from such a distant and almost objective view until Glorfindle succumbs-and such glorious succumbling it is!



Author's Response: Yes, it is Gil-galad's leave-taking, and now I think about it, I will cry again. Not at my writing, I mean the actual canon ending which seemed to come far too quickly for me when I was writing it.
It's always interesting to me to write Vanim


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2014 13:32 · For: Chapter 43 ~ To The Ruin Of Kings ~

In this chapter, finally, you have made me fall in love with Gil-Galad, who I never felt anyhting for before, having always been on the 'side' of Mirkwood.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2014 16:23 · For: Chapter 39 ~ Flame Unto Flame ~

I LOVE this chapter- Gil's BLAZING insistence, his absolute carelessness that the servant will talk- his defiance is so gorgeous I have fallen in love with him.



Author's Response: Gil's BLAZING insistence, his absolute carelessness that the servant will talk- his

I don't think he ever cared; it was Tind


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2014 14:34 · For: Chapter 37 ~ To Rule Them All ~

`Such a passionate and still tender moment-it remnds me of Maedhros and Fingon- and that refereence brought back all the sadness and glory of those two you write these tragic and doomed characters so beautifully.



Author's Response: Thank-you so much, Ziggy, I seem to have a thing for tragic and doomed - but at least I do bring them back to make up for it :) Sadness and glory, yes, that is the Silmarillion in a nutshell!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2014 13:48 · For: Chapter 36 ~ One Ring For The Elven-king ~

Brilliant- wonderful idea and as always, so beautifully written. It is so visual and richly descriptive. I can see exactly what happens in this scene, almost smell the forge.



Author's Response: Oh, wow thank-you, Ziggy! I am really glad it worked for you :)


You must login () to review.