| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1636
Chapters: 8389
Word count: 25398754
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15529
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 7:40 · For: Chapter 31 ~ Silver Light ~
Poor Gil! Spiced!

I am amazed at the kind of things he is putting up with and taking on the chin.

OMG! It just makes him appear that much more indomitable as a person and King. And gorgeous. ;)

I mean the Kingship is hard enough to endure. The pressure Phenomenal, the loneliness second to none. But to add yet another tier with the expectations Rosriel has, and the constant badgering he endures from her...

I can't believe she has no love for her son. Would rather use him as a game piece for her own agendas.

Her audacity at thinking she has the right to invade Tindomion's privacy too!. Wow! I'm trying to cultivate a little understanding and non judgement here, but it's a little hard and so very sad.


I love the little moments Gil galad and Tindomion have together and Gil's affectionate names for Tindomion, Narya and Istelion.

They don't get to spend that much time together, do they. :( And now that time and the growing love they have for each other may be made more complicated by Tindomion's decision not to bring any kind of dishonor down on the King. Oh Tindomion! I hate to think where this is going to lead.

Author's Response: Gil-Galad always seemed so lonely, to me, losing his father so young. :(

In truth, it’s hard to be sympathetic to Rosriel here, and for very good reasons, although if you read the second story, you’ll find out *why* she is like this.

The few moments that Gil-galad and Tindómion have are poignant because there is so much waiting to come out, so many barriers between them, and of course, yes, Tindómion believing he cannot compromise his king.

Thank you so much for commenting, Gabriel :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2018 12:58 · For: Chapter 28 ~ The Testing Of Courage ~
Oh! Spiced. I love these two. Gil galad and Tindomion, Vanimore too.

Vanimore's story is so full of pain and anguish on so many levels. Just when he believes he has some sense of freedom albeit a little, Sauron reels him back in.

I found it so heartbreaking that Sauron uses his sons desperate need to be loved to his own ends. :/


Gil-galad and Tindomion, I just can't get enough of them. Beautiful characters.

The initiation to become a Knight-Companion. I liked the idea of a leap of courage. Showing the High King one has the ability to rise above fear.

*He glimpsed ahead of him the figure of the King running like a stag, a banner of black hair streaming behind him. The sight spiked a thrill of challenge through Tindomion. It was beautiful, like watching a stallion run upon the green fields.*

Ah! Tindomion is quite captivated isn't he. And your Gil, well I'm rather biased when it comes to Gil galad. :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you, I am glad you like Gil-galad and Tindómion— it had to be a Fëanorion he fell in love with (in this series). Tindómion was initially so ready to take offence, and yes, he fell — from a great height! Thank you so much for commenting :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2018 8:16 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Begotten In Blood ~
Dear Fanari, she's such a lovely character, Spiced!

Her love for Maglor, so sad and beautiful both. That he cannot reciprocate even more sorrowful.

If he could have, what sort of life would she have had with him bound to the Oath. So I guess its better this way, no matter the anguish it must cause her to see him and to never be able to tell him how she feels.

And because of her love for him she understood his need to feel something other than pain and grief and the emptiness. Love Fanari! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Gabriel.
Fanari is pretty level-headed, really. She knew long ago Maglor wasn’t for her, so she isn’t one to fling her cap after the impossible, as they say. But she still cares for him, and hates what the Oath has done to all of the brothers. And she did understand how pain and grief and madness could make him like this. It’s a good thing, too, because she has a son to raise, and couldn’t have done it had she hated.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 10:56 · For: Chapter 18 ~ And The Hells Were Opened ~
*It began far away, a murmur that seemed to whisper up on that breeze, and it became a flood of voices raised in joy and amazement. Trumpets rang out in the distance, echoing back from the Ered Wethrin and their clear power shocked through Fingon.

Turgon!

On the battlements warriors stared south, catching a far off glint of steel which grew to a mighty river, banners flying above it: Turgon's, Ecthelion's, Glorfindel's, Penlod's, Rog's, the insignia's of the great Lords who had vanished with his brother.

Thousands. Thousands of them.*

This is a wonderful scene, Spiced. It reminded me of Fingolfin's triumphant display when he finally set foot in ME.

And Fingon is so ecstatic to finally see his brother after so long. A great reunion tinged with sorrow.

Maedhros and Fingon's story is so tragic here. Just the idea of Fingon being crushed, that beauty being crushed, not just the physical beauty but the beauty of the person, who he was. The whole scene screams defiance at Morgoth for the crime of defiling something so honorable so valiant and so magnificent.

So much tragedy beheld the Noldor. :(

Author's Response: {{Maedhros and Fingon's story is so tragic here. Just the idea of Fingon being crushed, that beauty being crushed, not just the physical beauty but the beauty of the person, who he was. The whole scene screams defiance at Morgoth for the crime of defiling something so honorable so valiant and so magnificent.}}

I can never read the Nirnaeth Arnoediad without grief, Gabriel. Yes, all that valour and beauty just crushed into the mud and blood of battle, just like Fingolfin. This whole story was so hard to write because of the tragedy of the Noldor :( Thank you so much for commenting.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2018 8:05 · For: Chapter 15 ~ Dusk At The Rising Of The Sun ~
I just had to review this chapter as well, Spiced. :)


Oh My Gosh!

The whole chapter had me so teary-eyed, so emotional.

It has always bothered me that Turgon was gifted with Fingolfin's beautiful and ruined body and not brought to Fingon in Hithlum. The son who stood by his father's side instead of vanishing into a hidden city. But in saying that, I guess Gondolin was more fitting a place for the great Fingolfin, High King of the Noldor in Endor, to be buried. A place of beauty for his cairn to look out over, because, MY GOD! He deserved it!

I really love your inclusion of a solar eclipse at the moment of Fingolfin's death. Such a beautiful idea. :)

Then Fingon's anguished decision to send Gil galad to the Havens. What I loved about this was Fingon gifting his son with the spear, 'Aeglos' that Fingolfin was said to have crafted with his own hands. I have read many stories as to how Gil galad came to own 'Aeglos' I loved all of them. But I think yours is the most emotional and apt of them all.

Wonderful chapter, Spiced! Loved it! :D

Author's Response: I cried myself when I wrote this ;__;. I believe Gondolin was probably the closet place (as the Eagle flies) from Angband, although I feel Fingolfin would have preferred to be with Fingon, but then Barad Eithil did eventually become overrrun as did Hithlum. And this is where I prefer my own theory, because there should have been an eclipse.

Gil-galad, poor boy. Poor Fingon. There is so little happiness in the First Age. Thank you, Gabriel.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2018 6:27 · For: Chapter 14 ~ That Moonless Night In Winter ~
Hi Spiced!

This has to be one of the most significant yet sorrowful parts to the story.

I love Fingolfin. One of my favorites.

Fingolfin was right! And Maedhros should have listened to his uncle and struck Morgoth first in an offensive manoeuvre.

But what's done is done. You can't go back and change it. Yet I do feel sorry for Maedhros, can only imagine how he must of felt. Bad error of judgement on his part. :(

I absolutely love Fingolfin's last moments;

*He raised his sword arm and as it came down, in the final stroke, he seemed to see and feel close at his side, his half-brother. And then Feanor's eyes were all he could see, diamonds in the last darkness.

Nolofinwe. Sorrow in the word, and love, and pride.

Fingolfin fell back, agony a vise about him. He tried to reach out to the one whom had never truly left him, who seemed so close now, at the end.

Feanor, he thought.

And died.*

Oh my gosh! Spiced! I loved that Feanor was there at the end. So sad and so beautiful!

Author's Response: I love Fingolfin too, and this was so sad to write; I still remember it :( It was such a long time until they met again, but at least Fëanor was there with him at the last ;__; Thank you so much for commenting, Gabriel.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2018 12:40 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Ereinion ~
Poor Fingon having to marry that abhorrent woman for duty's sake. He is so terribly miserable.

And Ereinion, he is absolutely adorable. The one and only good thing that has come from this disaster of a marriage.

But her treatment of him is deplorable. How can anyone treat any child let alone a child such as Ereinion, who is so beautiful, I might add, the way she does. Its as if she is completely devoid and or incapable of feeling love of any kind. Its pretty sad really. But the fact that she denied her son of love, is even worse.

I loved the way you included Caranthir with his brothers. That he loves and cares for his uncle and cousins. He's such a lonely character normally its just so heartwarming to see him in this role.

It is so fitting to have Maedhros name Ereinion and the instant bond formed between Maedhros, his brothers and Gil galad was so beautiful, Spiced! Especially considering the lack of family unity Gil galad had endured so far. Its any wonder he wanted to spend as much time as possible with his father and his cousins.

Really beautiful chapter, Spiced. :)

Author's Response: There is a reason for Rosriel acting like this, but it won’t actually be explained until Magnificat II, I’m afraid. Suffice it to say, it’s not altogether her fault. But that makes no difference to howit affected poor little Gil-galad. He was only happy with his father (and, by extension, the Fëanorions he met) and for so short a time, really, until much later, in Lindon.

Thank you so much for reviewing, Gabriel :) So glad you liked it


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2018 11:52 · For: Chapter 7 ~ The First Shadows ~
Hi Spiced!

Sorry its taken me a lot longer to review this week, I've had alot going on, including writing, myself, which has been a welcome change.

Dungortheb is an intriguing place and I haven't found a story yet that follows the Himlad Noldor on their precarious journey through it. So I decided to write my own, a oneshot. Hence the questions I asked about time and distance it would take to reach Nargothrond, weeks ago. Much to my surprise this oneshot has now turned into a series. lol. Its funny the way things happen.

Anyway, enough waffling.

Aredhel's quite a force. Headstrong, intelligent and fiery. Are we sure she's not Feanor's daughter? lol. She must drive her father and brothers up the wall with her inability to keep still, no matter how much they love her.

I loved how you used Glorfindel's memories of Feanor to explain how he managed to lose sight of Aredhel. His attention taken briefly but long enough for her to disappear without a trace. They must have been damn good memories for the Lord of the Golden Flower, a seasoned warrior and hero to lose his focus. ;)

And my god! Aredhel has balls! She seems totally unfazed by the strange goings on as they ride through it. But knowing Aredhel, once she sets her mind to something everything else becomes secondary. :)

Author's Response: Hiya, Gabriel and thank you for commenting. :) Hope the fic goes well, sometimes they just grow :)
Yes, it was something extremely ‘distracting’ to make Glorfindel forget his duties, and he will not forgive himself for it, although as is shown, Aredhel is very well able to take care of herself


Name: KhamulsBurntFalafel (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2015 4:35 · For: Chapter 1 ~ Beautiful, Beloved Betrayer ~
Gosh I love your Sauron! I must be nuts, but he's so sexy-creepy.
All your characters are fantastic. I am fairly new to slash but I'm still rooting for them. Part of the awesomeness of fanfiction is reading about pairings you would not have thought possible, but which somehow work. Or you seem to make them work!
I adore your OMCs to bits, can't choose between Vanimore or Bainalph - another favourite - how hot is this guy???
Thanks for taking the time to write this huuuuge verse!
xx

Author's Response: Hi, KhamulsBurnyFalafel (hreat name!) Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. I'm so glad you like my OMC's, since OMC's are still seen as 'surplus' in Tolkien fanfic, as there are so many canon males. Never occurred to me, I must admit. :) I hope, if you keep reading, you will still enjoy the story/stories. I know it's rather a huge verse :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 5:08 · For: Chapter 49 ~ The Beginning Of Night And The End Of The Light ~
I have finished this in a rush and didn't have time to review as I went so if you don't mind I will do it all in one, here.
I remember you told me when I was reading dark prince that this death scene was sadder here....and you were right, it was...although to be honest I don't think it was the writing but rather that I had been reading about Gil Galad and Tindomion for so long......(and being completely utterly frustrated with them) and so I was more invested in them, I KNEW them and knew their story so yes it was so totally SAD.
And my anger at Manw


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 6:36 · For: Chapter 31 ~ Silver Light ~
I am struggling with this, it hard to read because it is all so sad. Gil Galad's childhood. Fingon and Maedhros...

I can't get out of my mind what I know the Valar did to Gil Galad in the end. All his mother's poison came back to punish him....I felt it unfair when I read it in Dark Prince and now I "know" him better it is SO much worse!
How could they?! ...so angry at the Valar!

One question? Basel says Gil Galad " needs" Tindomion because of his lost father, the bereavements he suffered in His youth and the abuse,( because it was abuse) he suffered from his mother.

Is he attracted to Tindomion solely because of that, just because he looks like Maglor and Gil Galad wants to recapture something of his memories of happiness with his Father and Maedhros. If that is then only reason it would make me sad because I want Tindomion to be wanted because of himself not because of his parentage and similarity to his father.vhope that makes some sense....

Author's Response: Are you as furious at the Valar as I was writing this? If so, I quite understand! That's the thing: they can threaten, but unfortunately they can also make good on that.

Is he attracted to Tindomion solely because of that, just because he looks like Maglor and Gil Galad wants to recapture something of his memories of happiness with his Father and Maedhros. If that is then only reason it would make me sad because I want Tindomion to be wanted because of himself not because of his parentage and similarity to his father.vhope that makes some sense....

Well, there is this thread of fire that has run between the House of F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 6:09 · For: Chapter 29 ~ The Truths Of Love ~
Gil Galad needs to get control of his horrid, horrid mother! I understand why he does not have it, because of his age when he was sent away, the lack of his father etc but he is no child now and needs to take charge I think. Easier said than done of course.
It is so sad thinking he has spent all this time hearing hateful things about his father. There is nothing hurts a child more than someone disparaging their parent.....worse that it is a dead parent and that Gil Galad loved him so deeply.

Author's Response: He wouldn't have believed anything any-one said of his father; he knew Fingon, if for too short a time. :( The trouble is here, is that it's not just Rosriel, it is an entire faction of people, and all of them nobles, who believe what she does - and the trouble with that? What they believe is actually true, although we don't know that until Glorfindel returns and even then he won't say that the dead have been banished to the Void.
Gil-galad is noble, so he would not treat his mother as she treats him, but neither does she influence what he thinks, as we shall she.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2015 4:36 · For: Chapter 27 ~ My Fealty And All My Service ~
Erestor is a baddie?!!

Author's Response: I wouldn't say he was a baddie exactly, but at this point he has been too long under Rosriel's influence, but don't worry, later he makes a complete turn around, although we hear more about it in Magnificat II.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 9:18 · For: Chapter 25 ~ Descent Into Darkness ~
This was truly awful to read...Maedhros dying. I mean the writing was great....the emotion was awful. I understand how Maedhros has reached his bitter end. He was broken long ago but still I find a part of me is angry at him. Angry at him for taking that way out and leaving Maglor. So unfair.

Author's Response: Both Maglor and Maedhros thought, I believe, that when the Silmarils burned them, it was actually their father rejecting them. F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 9:05 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Begotten In Blood ~
I don't understand Elwing. I really don't. I have a small son and I cannot imagine leaving him for anything! I admit I judge her and find her seriously lacking, even though Tolkien obviously wanted us to see her as a heroine.

I confess I don't understand the silmarils at all. I have been unable to get my head round them. I know Yavanna hallowed them but to me they feel evil. It is like they magnify all the darkness in the souls of those who desire them. They entrap people and make them act as they would not normaly. The Feanorians have the excuse of the oath perhaps corrupting them but so many others who were not Feanorian were tainted by the silmarils.

It is as if the moment Morgoth killed Finwe so he could take them They became something bad/ wrong and destroyed lives. Actually even before that it is hard to tell if it is Morgoth's lies or the Silmarils that are causing jealousy and paranoia in F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 8:36 · For: Chapter 22 ~ A Storm Of Shadows ~
Oh no, Maedhros cannot even get comfort from Gil Galad. How tragic for both of them. I understand how Gil Galad's similarity would confront him with what he had lost and he, ( or Maglor) feels he could not cope with that but maybe it might have helped? Somehow if he could have poured time and energy into Fingon's son, what was left of Fingon. It may have helped him.

Author's Response: Yes, I think then that he was beyond help, to be honest :(


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 8:28 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Doom Wears Many Faces ~
It is so sad to read Maedhros like this. Breaks my heart. It is so far from the Maedhros he ought to be, was meant to be.

But you know, even in the real not Fanfiction Silm this happened too. Who knows what was actually in Tolkien's head when he wrote it but his Maedhros does completely change after Fingon's death. Before that he was honourable, the reasonable brother who held the others back, the one who maintained connections with the rest of the Noldor. After....well he ran off killing other elves and committing atrocities......why Tolkien why? It can only have been because of Fingon. Nothing else makes sense. I think so anyway!!

Author's Response: I am pretty sure Tolkien had seen such a thing happen to otherwise honorable people when he fought in WWI. I think Maedhros, and all his brothers suffered PTSD - it was called 'shell shock' back in WWI, although it's now become clear that warriors suffered it in ancient times, too.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:23 · For: Chapter 19 ~ Leaves Before The Wind ~
I knew you would write this so it was heartbreakingly terrible.... And you did. Oh Gil Galad. I just kept thinking of that sweet little boy who hero worshiped his father.

But Maedhros.......... His raw and heartfelt grief. It is so .......I can't even find the words to describe it. He is breaking my heart.
Amazing writing !

Author's Response: This was such a heart-ache to write, so I am glad it comes across. :( There was no other way to write such a tragedy.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 8:23 · For: Chapter 17 ~ Union And Reunion ~
This was so painful to read, because I know. I know what is coming for these two. So very sad.

Poor, poor Maedhros.

Author's Response: I did not like writing it, Cheekybeak :( The only think that kept me going was knowing that I was going to being them back eventually!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 7:04 · For: Chapter 14 ~ That Moonless Night In Winter ~
Ah . So sad. But you know, I think ever since he found out F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 5:53 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Ereinion ~
Gil Galad of course HAD to be Fingon's child and he is SO adorable!
But oh the interesting mess it would have been had he ended up being Maglors or Caranthir's......

Author's Response: It would have been a mess if one of them had sired him. It never occurred to me, though, because I have always seen him as Fingon's. And something good had to come out of that horrible marriage.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 5:52 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Duplicity Of Love ~
It is so interesting that Maglor and Fingolfin have this desire between them because they each are seeing F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2015 23:54 · For: Chapter 7 ~ The First Shadows ~
I have never understood how Aredhel ever ended up in Gondolin in the first place. It seems just a situation she would never have agreed to going to. Trapped in a city!

Author's Response: I think the same. It was the worse place for her really, but probably deemed to be the safest.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2015 23:52 · For: Chapter 6 ~ City Of Legend ~
Ah so Glorfindel still bears some scars from his rape by Feanor, although he seems very conflicted by it. He does not love Feanor and yet he is almost entranced by him.
His desire not to be possessed by anyone seems like a deep subconscious barrier he maybe doesn't even understand fully himself.
I wonder if he gets over this before he gooks up with Legolas or is Legolas just happy being the submissive one ? I am looking forward to see how those two actually ended up
Together .

Author's Response: Yes, F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2015 5:31 · For: Chapter 4 ~ A Victory And A Warning ~
Loving this....it is amazing, the only thing I am sad about is that F


You must login () to review.