| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Seeking

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2015 6:02 · For: Chapter 3
I love it when your stories pop up in the random stories slot because they are always such good ones. This one especially! I really should get organised and read your entire back catalogue I think......but then I wouldn't get nice surprises like this to read randomly.....
I loved Erestors change of heart. He was leading a rather empty life beforehand, he just didn't know it.
Oh and especially loved Glorfindel being a poet. That was lovely and seems to fit somehow, so different from how we usually see him.
Great story.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Cheekybeak - it's always nice to hear people are reading my fics via the random stories widget. I don't usually write Glorfindel/Erestor, but this was a request and I tried to get a new take on the pairing. I'm glad you enjoyed how it turned out.

Thanks for taking the time to review. (I must get caught up on your fics, too. Been buried in RL recently :( )



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2012 1:03 · For: Chapter 3
This is a lovely story. I am so glad that everything worked out for the best after all. :)

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Alquien! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for taking the time to review :)



Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2012 13:10 · For: Chapter 3
Tis is a lovely story. I liked the feeling of being an onlooker as Erestor tried to sort through the tangle of emotions. Glorfindel knew he would have him in the end and he did!

Author's Response:

Thanks! Glorfindel was a bit smug, wasn't he? Poor Erestor - it must have wound him up even more lol! But he didn't stand a chance against Glorfindel.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Gwaelinn (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2011 17:01 · For: Chapter 3
Wonderful story! Thank you for sharing!
~G

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the time to review :)



Name: Gwaelinn (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2011 15:55 · For: Chapter 1
What an ingenious ritual! Very original and I cannot wait to see through what hoops poor Glorfindel will have to jump--or how Erestor will deal with his golden charms! great beginning--off to read more...
~G

Author's Response:

I'm so sorry for not replying earlier - I only just saw you'd left me a review.

I'm glad you like the idea of the ritual. This story was writted as an exchange fic and the request was for an arranged marriage with Erestor not being pleased at the prospect. I couldn't see elves being forced into an unwelcome marriage, so came up with the ritual to get around it.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 22:00 · For: Chapter 3

A happy ending to a fab little tale. I do like your  stories - such a cleverly told tale and you bring everything to careful fruition in a way that seems effortless.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this. It didn't feel effortless when I wrote it, so it's nice to know it read that way :D

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 11:55 · For: Chapter 3
I think that the best thing about this lovely courtship is that their love has once again allowed the poet in Glorfindel to rise to the surface. Lovely story.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Erulisse. I'm glad you liked Glorfindel as a poet. It felt right to me that there was this side to him that he'd supressed for so long.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 2:23 · For: Chapter 3
Great ending! You were right, Erestor was making it hard enough on himself, and he was lucky that Glorfindel is so understanding. I love the fact that Glorfindel was writing again at the end. Thanks for a great story!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Mindirith! Glorfindel had an advantage over Erestor, in that he had witnessed many matches made through the Seeking. So he knew that however much Erestor fought it, he would come round eventually.

Thanks for reviewing - I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Tamid Levad (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2011 23:25 · For: Chapter 3
The ending really made me smile! :) I really liked this and I'm glad Erestor saw sense in the end!

Author's Response:

Yes, Erestor finally realised where his heart lay!

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad this made you smile :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2011 14:39 · For: Chapter 1
A great beginning, I can't wait to see their courting and how Erestor will succumb in the end - he will, won't he?
As you paint it, indeed quite the unlikely pair, but who knows?
Tinara

Author's Response:

*nods* Oh yes, Erestor will succumb! But he's suffering from a bad case of denial just at the moment!

Thanks for reviewing - I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2011 4:14 · For: Chapter 2
Hmmm, Erestor got what he wanted? I think he only got what he thought he wanted. I think he has another one coming.. :D I loved the chapter, and look forward to the next one. I hope Glorfindel is going to make Erestor pay for his stubbornness somehow.

Author's Response:

Glorfindel doesn't have to make Erestor pay, Erestor's doing that all by himself! And you're right - Erestor really isn't awake to what he really wants at the moment. If he would just stop and listen to his heart, he'd be in for a shock!

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2011 12:00 · For: Chapter 1

Wonderful! erestor's obvious distaste and rather indulgent lifestyle is going to make this a great new fic. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! Yes, Erestor thinks marriage is the last thing he needs, so Glorfindel won't find the courtship plain sailing.

Thanks for reviewing! Chapter 2 up very soon :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2011 0:12 · For: Chapter 1
This is a very interesting story! I love the idea of the Seeking, and you have presented it very well. I am very curious to see how this is going to be continued...

Author's Response:

Thanks, Mindirith! I'm glad you like the start of this. I came up with the concept of the Seeking because I needed to come up with an Elven approach to arranging a marriage, as I couldn't see Elves being forced into an unwanted marriage. 

Thanks for reviewing. Chapter 2 will be up very soon :)



You must login () to review.