| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2015 22:12 · For: Chapter 2 ~ And Of Gold ~
This came up as a random story and I am so glad it did!
I have been hanging out for something of how Legolas and Glorfindel get together and here it is......it was beautiful. I find these two very intriguing.

I have just started reading Magnificat II and am loving it, all the potential for political intrigue. The tension between Glorfindel and Feanor over Legolas....I wonder how that will develop.....I hope Feanor doesn't get his hands on Legolas, I know he is irresistible but Legolas is somehow different. I am hoping if Feanor turns his mind to possessing him he can withstand it. Time will tell,

And I was missing someone amongst your reborn elves. I was just thinking of leaving a review yesterday asking " Where is Finrod?" .....and here he is, it did seem strange he hadn't come back with the others but now I see why, issues with Celegorm and Curufin. I hope he finds a way to travel there soon though. I like him, Glorfindel needs him I think and tension between him and the Feanorians would be interesting to read!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Cheekybeak :) Yes, I remember writing this and putting in more about Legolas and Glorfindel because there was not much written when I wrote this.

And I was missing someone amongst your reborn elves. I was just thinking of leaving a review yesterday asking " Where is Finrod?" .....and here he is, it did seem strange he hadn't come back with the others but now I see why, issues with Celegorm and Curufin

Well, I hope you will like it when he does come on the scene, because yes, he does. I don't know where you are up to yet, but it's definitely on the horizon :)


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2013 20:40 · For: Chapter 2 ~ And Of Gold ~
Oh my, quite the seduction Legolas did - though obviously he didn't have that much reluctance to fight once Glorfindel found him on his bed.
I was really thrilled by your description of his feelings through this encounter - it's written beautifully.
Especially in the light of the later events in MotD II and III it's a very much appreciated snippet from the beginning of Legolas and Glorfindels relationship. Plus it gives the first beginnings and hints at the complexities that lie under the calm and loving relationship of the two brothers.
Tinara

Author's Response: Oh my, quite the seduction Legolas did - though obviously he didn't have that much reluctance to fight once Glorfindel found him on his bed.

Yes, he was quite the seducer, and it does hint - just a bit - that his people and and their mores are nothing like the Noldor, so maybe Glorfindel should have expected things to get a little complicated.

When I wrote this, I was not going to have Fingon in the later stories. I can hardly believe that now! Thank-you for the review :)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2013 23:54 · For: Chapter 2 ~ And Of Gold ~
well I loved it, of course. Legolas is so sublimely innocent and giving and delicious, of course who could resist him? And who could resist Legolas' vision of Glorfindel in all his golden glory?

Not me, certainly :D

I did very much like the first meeting between Legolas and Finrod! Yes, perhaps not the most dignified way to meet some legendary figure! Well I suppose it gets their relationship off to an open start which is all to the good, all things considered. :D

That last tender-passionate kiss and then the brief moment of understanding between the brothers made me go 'ah' and smile.

“An exemplary life,” he said huskily. “But I battled myself far harder and far longer than I battled Sauron.” He took two deep breaths. “Forgive me for that. I hope Glorfindel will understand.”

It makes me want to read those amazing chapters from MoD again.

I've forgotten, but why is it that sometimes characters call Tindomion Istelion?

Author's Response: Well I suppose it gets their relationship off to an open start which is all to the good, all things considered. :D

Oh yes, that's true. And when I wrote this, I had no idea Finrod was even going to come back to Middle-earth!

I've forgotten, but why is it that sometimes characters call Tindomion Istelion?


It's his epess


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2011 5:34 · For: Chapter 2 ~ And Of Gold ~
This is so lovely; the chapters just flow easily into each other without any glitches.

Thank you. :)

Author's Response:

That is wonderful to know, Sam. :) Thank-you!



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2011 5:24 · For: Chapter 1 ~ Of Silver... ~
"And Legolas thought of how many threads were interwoven long ago and remained so."
--Ah yes, all a part of the Great Tapestry.

“Some things are chosen for us from before our birth.”
--Yes, exactly so.

Off to read the next part.

Author's Response:

Oh, thank-you, Sam. I appreciate your comment. :)



You must login () to review.