| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Bit of Rope

Name: TMI Fairy (Anonymous) · Date: May 20, 2015 12:04 · For: A Twist of Fate
I registered only to leave a review of this story. This is one of the best - if not the best - fanfic I've read. I loved your plot twists, the Glorious Moment of Awesome being the mumak meets Angmar incident. Thank you for several highly enjoyable hours of reading.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2014 12:57 · For: A Twist of Fate

this popped up on random fics and i just couldn't resist!!! it STILL has me breathless with tension!!



Name: v3456d (Anonymous) · Date: May 15, 2014 7:50 · For: A Twist of Fate

game of golf during Hair Creek, The islands toms outlet Canyon plus true religion outlet Casa Blanca louboutin outlet the game modules, shelling out your day seeking all the patio activities tory burch outlet within Zion Nationwide Store, Glaciers Canyon, having chi flat iron fun with coach outlet waters actions oakley sunglasses during Lk true religion jeans Mead, prada outlet or perhaps finding north face outlet and catching some sort oakley sunglasses of coach outlet battle in the Vegas Electric motor Speedway. ralph lauren pas cher Most juicy couture outlet effective taken, the majority louis vuitton bags advanced, finest mindset are very worthy of popularity. Teenagers whom come to the party along with burberry outlet aid put in place and also pick-up need to get hold of exclusive status. true religion outlet Products similar to USAS Passport and michael kors outlet also BSA value badges deliver very good strategies to get scholar's to set along with apparent easy to undestand goals.. 3. Your concluding of your instance seemed coach outlet to be dollars since it experienced Director Baltar giving up deal insanity workouts with to Cylons while undermanned battlestars fled, exiting typically ray ban sunglasses the individuals world to be able to fight ferragamo outlet just for theirselves. Seeking longchamp pas cher spine as mcm bags of this part, to get it could actually recently been greater appeared to be



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2012 4:06 · For: Not By the Hand of Man
Oh how my heart aches for the Rohirrim specifically Eowyn especially what happened prior. I was expecting Theodred to be the one killed and not Eomer. I can usually guess pretty good at what will happen next but NOT with this story so it keeps me on my toes and intrigued. Awesome story!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2012 2:52 · For: Besieged
I could not help but laugh when the men failed to nab Eowyn and Eomer fessed up to it--I found it hilarious. I can only guess what will happen next now that Theoden will not ride but will find out soon. I am on my way to the next chapter now. Great Story!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2012 1:39 · For: Besieged
OMG Aiwendiel sooo suddenly unexpected. I thought Denethor would survive this! I was at the edge of my seat this whole chapter!! I also can not believe Amrothos was killed. I know your story is so unique in itself but I couldn't believe it. He and Eomer are my most favorite humans and Haldir my dream elf but I was not expecting any of the Dol Amroth ruling family would have been killed--GREAT JOB with a slam dunk to my imaginings. Absolutely Excellent!!

Author's Response: Hang on to your seat -- more dark alternative character fates will be coming in future chapters. Apologies in advance!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2012 0:18 · For: Facing the Darkness
Completely and totally riveting. I loved the conversation and understanding that came to Denethor and Faramir and the conversation between the 3 here in this chapter. My heart cried with the emotion evoked by your writing of this. Beautifully executed Aiwendiel.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2012 18:54 · For: The Battle of Minas Morgul
I am finally back to reading alittle more and I really enjoyed these last 2 chapters. I really like this Denethor compared to how he was protrayed in the movie--"he" made me ill! I like the softer side you get a bare hint of. I will continue reading now but I am really hoping Mithrandir is ok (I know he will be but what all transpires I will have to wait and see!) I love this version of yours about how it all came about! Thank you for a different perspective on this story.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2012 8:32 · For: The Taste of Ash
Aiwendiel--NOOOOO! Excellent chapter but heart wrenching! I cannot believe that Elladan died here. I bawled like a newborn babe not only for Elladan and Halbarad's son but also for what Aragorn felt for himself. Beautifully written but soooo not expected. Keep up the great writing!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2012 6:20 · For: Risk and Revenge
OMG Aiwendiel-I finally quit trying to predict or answer my own question -What Next! This is absolutely wonderful!! Theodred lives, Grima changes toward good--Oh how I can picture these scenes.
I LOVE IT!!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2012 1:13 · For: The Lords of Gondor
I cannot fathom this side of Denethor! When I read his name all I can picture is the way he was portrayed in the movie! It is kinda nice to see him with a softer side for once. Hope he shows some of that for Faramir too. I loved it!

Author's Response: Ah, well, I despised the movie version of Denethor. One of the things I hated about the movies the most. He bears very little relationship to the original of the books. And my version of Denethor is changed more than any other character, perhaps, by my alternative universe, for the better, I hope to think.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2012 4:33 · For: Duty, Honor and Friendship
OH My Dear--I am on the edge of my seat. This is such a wonderful story. I am happy to see Pippin finally offered a position with those who would show him friendship and kindness. I just cannot get over the uniqueness of this story. Thank you for such a wonderful interpretation from another viewpoint.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2012 4:23 · For: Beneath The Trees

goodness- I have missed lots of updates will try to get  round to reading this weekend. sorry!!!



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2012 22:29 · For: The Captain General Returns
Oh I really like this story Aiwendiel! Boromir lived and returned and I can hardly wait to learn the fates of the others and how this might end! Great writing and story line!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2012 21:10 · For: The Bridge of the Morgulduin
VERRRRRY GOOOOD! Will be keeping watch for more. I like the uniqueness of this story. I hope that Gandalf survives or comes back but you have it written where I cannot even begin to guess how this will end--I like that!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2012 19:58 · For: Parting Ways
I laughed my a__ off at the story telling! It was too good. Thoroughly enjoying another vision of this story. Thank you for such an intriguing insight !


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2012 19:41 · For: Sarn Gebir
Very well written--I LOVE it and so glad to have more!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2012 0:56 · For: A Fellowship Divided
Aiwendiel--PLEASE tell me there is more to this story--maybe a sequel!?! Oh you left me hanging and I would like more,more I say. I loved it one for the fact that it is so different than most stories unique and second I am dyin to know! GREAT JOB!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2012 0:29 · For: Galadriel's Mirror
OOOHHH I am liking this alternate scenerio. It just shows the great minds that can switch things around and make another kind of story out of another!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2012 23:22 · For: Beneath The Trees
Ok you threw me off with Haldir and Gimli being nice to the other! I was not expecting that and Pippin sounding so serious compared to how he is usually portrayed--very well done.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2012 22:47 · For: Night in Lothlorien
This is so different from the Movie Verse and it has me so anxious to see how this whole thing plays out. Excellent writing my friend!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2011 23:23 · For: Night in Lothlorien

Another great chapter, full of suspense and atmosphere. I think the way you have written it creates incredible tension - I was trying to analyse exactly waht you had done- but I htink it is the play of different perspectives ; the waiting fellowship interupted by Legola sbursting onto the scene, his urgency and then the pushing a dnpulling of Boromir and Gandalf onto the flet. And the n Frodo's pov as the Galadhrim pursue the orcs and then, almost as an aside, Gollum is killed. (Poor Smeagol. Of all, he is most the victim). Then it flicks from Bormoir to Gandalf and it feels cinematic. And the release for Boromir is terrific- with his vision of Aragorn and recognistion of his features as those of the Sea-Kings ( I do like that idea!)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2011 23:10 · For: The Warrior and the Wizard

Yes- this tender exchange between Boromir and Gandalf is absolutely right. You give this backstory to prepare for the later events too and give Denethor some depth too. I love that Boromir thinks that anyone who has seen Legolas would not think Elves graceful! But it is Gandalf who steals this part of the story (an later too of course). And because you are writing AU, the sense of danger is very real and present and the orcs do not seem far behind at all.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2011 23:01 · For: East of the Mountains

Reading this again gives me a chance ot see how well you have plotted everything - right down to Aragorn's promsie to wait even at the Black Gate if need be! Wonderful. And the sense that all is not well, not well at all.



Name: Lifes Pilgrim (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2011 1:11 · For: A Twist of Fate
NIIIICE!


You must login () to review.