| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8442
Word count: 25536419
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15676
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Les Morts Dansant

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 4:55 · For: Epilogue: Far away on the other side

Hurray!

Oh good- I was getting worried that he would be leftto wander miserably until the end of the world. Thank you for this really unexpected and fablous story. I love Cierre and her assumption that Gimli is her equivalanet, and the twins' fascination with her- I am quite sure they will find some quality time with her!

I think too the style is right for this chapter- not too much detail but a kind of wandering search, with a touch of distance and despiar. I'm glad too that you did not dwell on the litany of deaths of the mortal characters- I always find that just too damn sad. 

There are LOTS of stories you coud write now! How the drwo settle in Valinor, the deveoping relationships, Ungoliant's return (that was a nice touch) so I am looking forward to more!



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Gimli and Cierre's relationship parallels that in my other story 'The Dark Companion' where they become really close friends; I took it that they'd tend to relate to each other pretty much the same way even though the circumstances are different (in 'The Dark Companion' Aragorn has the same relationship with Cierre that Laelryne does in this one). The twins may well spend quality time with Cierre; she'd certainly be willing (in 'The Dark Companion' there are hints of an Elrohir/Cierre romance, as something happens to Elladan that removes him from the picture). I've worked out all the stuff about the Drow settling in Valinor, and what they do there, but the way the story developed there was no room for it here. I may well cover it in a sequel. Of course Ungoliant in the Forgotten Realms would be a prequel; it was over 7,000 years ago by the calendar of Arda and over 15,000 years ago by the calendar of the Realms that Ungoliant, in the guise of Araushnee (later Lolth), arrived in the Realms and wormed her way into the Seldarine.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 23:03 · For: Brothers in Arms

EPILOGUE??!!! No. There are two things you don't understand, Speakers. One is that I dont do wait. I am dreadfully impatient  and cannot understand any kind of derferred gratification - so now please and TWo: really?? EPilogie? How can you leave it here? This is beautifully constructed, everything set up, characters laid out, plot constructed with FUTURES!!!!! and bam. You just close it down? This is a crime. You really must write more thna just an epilogue- unless there is a sequel. You are too good to waste your time in otehr fandoms. Come home to ME!



Author's Response: The Epilogue is up now so you can find out how it ends.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:11 · For: Brothers in Arms

Oh WHAT!!!!!

 

How can you do this? You'd better explain yourself pretty quick mister! How can you do this. ALL of them.



Author's Response: Well, there was something of a hint in the Terry Pratchett quote at the beginning of the first chapter "They did the job they didn


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:59 · For: What a night for the Dancing Dead

Wow- this is a truly awesome lesson in battle. The strategy, as before, is flawless, the description of the fights is perfection, with great characterisation as well as action- and linking the two is a skilled piece of work, so I beging to KNOw the characters through their actions. And I think you have set up a really wonderful piece of perfectly plotted misunderstanding. I am so glad I stuck with this and read it. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you! Battle scenes are my speciality - I was a wargamer for many years and I'm Curiouswombat's consultant for fight scenes/battle scenes.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:30 · For: Twice blessed is help unlooked for

Ah- this has got much easier as you said. The battle scenes are great- very succinct but with enough detail to be very fully imagined and I have to say, you do justice to the characters as well- and these are monir characters who appear 'off stage' so there's nothing to hang them off but your own writing. I'm a fan!

Love the way you strategise this skirmish and the knowledge of armour etc. It all adds to the credilbilty.

 

But Lothirile!!!! Don't do this! I like her broken nose. Makes her real and strong and I 'm not sure Eomer will be in his right mind. (Sorry about dreadful typos - my reviews are ALWAYS full of them)



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 7:52 · For: A fire, a fire, you can only take what you can carry...

Well, I started reading htis when I was off sick but admit I was a bit confused by the drwo etc- having not read or come across this before. But the Rohirrim parts are so beautifully written that I have ocme back to it, and am very glad I did. There are some fabulous touches and beuatiful writing, I love character and you certainly give such deoth to your characters, and Lothiriel is gorgeous from Eomer's pov. Eomer is perhaps the most fully developed ME character and I have a soft spot for him. So will keep reading and hope that my addled brain gets clear enought o follow it. Having three strands is proably a bit too much for me right bnow- not quite over the virus so forgive me for mot commneting on everything. Oh- the Haradrom- very cold, ruthless and remind me of htose awful rwandan troops etc- the matter of war is very very well written.



Author's Response: Thank you! The three strands go down to two in Chapter Two.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2011 19:13 · For: Twice blessed is help unlooked for
Hi Speaker-to-cutomers. I was just talking to Curiouswombat on Live Journal, and when she said you posted here, I thought I should take my own advice about reviewing and comment on this, as I read it a few days ago.
I have read some of the Forgotten Realms books, but not enough to be completely knowledgeable about it, although I think a crossover between the two does work very well.
But anyway, this is very well written, and unique, and I will continue to follow.

Author's Response: Thank you! I won't be writing any more of this story before November 25th; I have commitments to other stories to fulfil and I've deliberately distanced myself from the Lord of the Rings for the moment. However on the 25th 'Lord of the Rings: War in the North' is released in the UK, I have it on pre-order, and it will no doubt drag me back to Middle Earth.


You must login () to review.