| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Les Morts Dansant

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 4:55 · For: Epilogue: Far away on the other side

Hurray!

Oh good- I was getting worried that he would be leftto wander miserably until the end of the world. Thank you for this really unexpected and fablous story. I love Cierre and her assumption that Gimli is her equivalanet, and the twins' fascination with her- I am quite sure they will find some quality time with her!

I think too the style is right for this chapter- not too much detail but a kind of wandering search, with a touch of distance and despiar. I'm glad too that you did not dwell on the litany of deaths of the mortal characters- I always find that just too damn sad. 

There are LOTS of stories you coud write now! How the drwo settle in Valinor, the deveoping relationships, Ungoliant's return (that was a nice touch) so I am looking forward to more!



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Gimli and Cierre's relationship parallels that in my other story 'The Dark Companion' where they become really close friends; I took it that they'd tend to relate to each other pretty much the same way even though the circumstances are different (in 'The Dark Companion' Aragorn has the same relationship with Cierre that Laelryne does in this one). The twins may well spend quality time with Cierre; she'd certainly be willing (in 'The Dark Companion' there are hints of an Elrohir/Cierre romance, as something happens to Elladan that removes him from the picture). I've worked out all the stuff about the Drow settling in Valinor, and what they do there, but the way the story developed there was no room for it here. I may well cover it in a sequel. Of course Ungoliant in the Forgotten Realms would be a prequel; it was over 7,000 years ago by the calendar of Arda and over 15,000 years ago by the calendar of the Realms that Ungoliant, in the guise of Araushnee (later Lolth), arrived in the Realms and wormed her way into the Seldarine.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 23:03 · For: Brothers in Arms

EPILOGUE??!!! No. There are two things you don't understand, Speakers. One is that I dont do wait. I am dreadfully impatient  and cannot understand any kind of derferred gratification - so now please and TWo: really?? EPilogie? How can you leave it here? This is beautifully constructed, everything set up, characters laid out, plot constructed with FUTURES!!!!! and bam. You just close it down? This is a crime. You really must write more thna just an epilogue- unless there is a sequel. You are too good to waste your time in otehr fandoms. Come home to ME!



Author's Response: The Epilogue is up now so you can find out how it ends.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:11 · For: Brothers in Arms

Oh WHAT!!!!!

 

How can you do this? You'd better explain yourself pretty quick mister! How can you do this. ALL of them.



Author's Response: Well, there was something of a hint in the Terry Pratchett quote at the beginning of the first chapter "They did the job they didn


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:59 · For: What a night for the Dancing Dead

Wow- this is a truly awesome lesson in battle. The strategy, as before, is flawless, the description of the fights is perfection, with great characterisation as well as action- and linking the two is a skilled piece of work, so I beging to KNOw the characters through their actions. And I think you have set up a really wonderful piece of perfectly plotted misunderstanding. I am so glad I stuck with this and read it. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you! Battle scenes are my speciality - I was a wargamer for many years and I'm Curiouswombat's consultant for fight scenes/battle scenes.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:30 · For: Twice blessed is help unlooked for

Ah- this has got much easier as you said. The battle scenes are great- very succinct but with enough detail to be very fully imagined and I have to say, you do justice to the characters as well- and these are monir characters who appear 'off stage' so there's nothing to hang them off but your own writing. I'm a fan!

Love the way you strategise this skirmish and the knowledge of armour etc. It all adds to the credilbilty.

 

But Lothirile!!!! Don't do this! I like her broken nose. Makes her real and strong and I 'm not sure Eomer will be in his right mind. (Sorry about dreadful typos - my reviews are ALWAYS full of them)



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 7:52 · For: A fire, a fire, you can only take what you can carry...

Well, I started reading htis when I was off sick but admit I was a bit confused by the drwo etc- having not read or come across this before. But the Rohirrim parts are so beautifully written that I have ocme back to it, and am very glad I did. There are some fabulous touches and beuatiful writing, I love character and you certainly give such deoth to your characters, and Lothiriel is gorgeous from Eomer's pov. Eomer is perhaps the most fully developed ME character and I have a soft spot for him. So will keep reading and hope that my addled brain gets clear enought o follow it. Having three strands is proably a bit too much for me right bnow- not quite over the virus so forgive me for mot commneting on everything. Oh- the Haradrom- very cold, ruthless and remind me of htose awful rwandan troops etc- the matter of war is very very well written.



Author's Response: Thank you! The three strands go down to two in Chapter Two.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2011 19:13 · For: Twice blessed is help unlooked for
Hi Speaker-to-cutomers. I was just talking to Curiouswombat on Live Journal, and when she said you posted here, I thought I should take my own advice about reviewing and comment on this, as I read it a few days ago.
I have read some of the Forgotten Realms books, but not enough to be completely knowledgeable about it, although I think a crossover between the two does work very well.
But anyway, this is very well written, and unique, and I will continue to follow.

Author's Response: Thank you! I won't be writing any more of this story before November 25th; I have commitments to other stories to fulfil and I've deliberately distanced myself from the Lord of the Rings for the moment. However on the 25th 'Lord of the Rings: War in the North' is released in the UK, I have it on pre-order, and it will no doubt drag me back to Middle Earth.


You must login () to review.