| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Magnificent Faerie Advent Calendar 2018 by cheekybeak Teen
It’s that time again. What is in store for us when Aragorn drags half of Minas Tirith to Imladris for Yule? 
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Borderlands by Marchwriter General Audiences
Better, Nellas said to herself and the trees who listened, to remain apart from Men. Better so than to become entangled in...
Be All My Sins Remembered by Marchwriter Teen
Wisdom is hard bought — more often by bitter experience than any sort of grace. While hunting in the wilderlands of Beleriand...
Oasis by Marchwriter Mature
On the verge of perishing in the desert after a fruitless search, a determined Elrohir locates a caravan of Easterlings...
West of the Dark East of the Sun by Marchwriter Teen
Determined to clear Ithilien of the enemy, Faramir is forced to decide the fate of a stranger trespassing in Gondor's realm.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1696
Chapters: 8660
Word count: 26377532
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16291
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
12/16/18 01:24 am
Thank you for that Spiced! It sounds really intriguing. A great Christmas present. :)
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
I have the paperbacks as I don’t like Kindle too much
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
Path of a Novice and Road of a Warrior by R.K. Lander — it will be a trilogy
Gabriel
12/15/18 09:52 pm
Wow! Congratulations to Alpha Ori, Spiced! I didn't even know she'd written a book. Good for her! Here's hoping she wins many more. What's the name of her book(s)?
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 07:23 pm
Alpha Ori’s won a Best Indy Book Award in Fantasy and Paranormal! So very proud of her!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 05:36 pm
It was lovely, Ziggy. Can't believe we are 10 days from Christmas already! Ch 15 posted!
ziggy
12/15/18 02:31 pm
Sounds lush, Nelya- I have just taken my horses out in the pouring rain and wind for a quick zip round the lanes-we're all soaked! But happy.
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 12:32 pm
That sounds delightful on a foggy and chilly day!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 02:54 am
happy Friday all! Thick fog and chilly here today so I am curled up with a cup of tea and a fire in the fireplace. And my favorite pudding so I am a happy girl. Wishing you all happy weekends!
Narya
12/14/18 01:54 pm
Happy Friday :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2018 7:24 · For: Chapter 27 ~ Circles of Fate and Fire ~

I have to apologise here. I am sorry if I go on a bit about certain characters in this wonderful series, its just I have such a soft spot for, or a love, if you will for Fingolfin and Gil galad. They are my favorites in Tolkien's world and so when ever a chapter is written with one or the other or both I jump on it like someone in a desert who's come upon water.

What I have to say here and I've probably mentioned it before somewhere, is that you write Feanor and Fingolfin as equals which I absolutely love. No matter Feanor's fire, which is immense and creates this intimidating air about him, (there's other things about him too which for the life of me I can't quite think of right at this moment, but I'm hoping you understand what I mean).

I love how Fingolfin in this story is his own person. He has this stand alone strength about him in your fic that says, (I don't need to be like my brother, or need his acceptance to be whole, but I do want him to love me for me, as an equal and unique individual).

I really hope this makes sense. I find it a constant struggle to put into words what's on my mind. So if my comments come across a little disjointed or don't make sense, that's the reason.:)

I do love when these two are together. Feanor's teasing and innuendo; yet behind it all the love the passion, oh! A love so strong it could create worlds.

You are a wonderful author Spiced!

More comments on the way. :)

Author's Response:

Aww, thank you, Gabriel. Yes, I know what you mean. Fingolfin is very much his own person. He loves Fëanor but he is not defined by him, or dependant on him. He had to rule as a High King for hundreds of years alone after Fëanor’s death. He has more ‘reserve’ than Fëanor, but as much passion, save that it is hidden, rather as the power of a nuclear reactor is hidden. Fëanor knows that, so yes, he constantly teases ;) 

Fëanor himself thinks they are equals. Not that he is superior in any way. 

 

You’re so kind, Gabriel, I’m so glad you like Fingolfin in this as he seems to get overlooked sometimes and yet he’s a stupendous character I think. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2018 13:06 · For: Chapter 26 ~ How would it feel to lose him? ~
Celegorm appears rather bitter over Finrod and his choice to help Beren. Not that he really had a choice. An Oath is an Oath. Celegorm of all people should understand this.

I think poor Finrod was caught between a rock and a hard place, if you ask me. On the one hand he has the Oath he took and on the other family whom he loves, who would give anything to hold a Silmaril again. God! You've got to love Finrod - so honorable.

I adore that you've given these two a bit of a history together. :)

Author's Response:

Bitter is a mild word, lol! 

 

Celegorm understands oaths, but of course, with pure, sublime Fëanorion arrogance considers the Oath he wore trumps every other. 

 

There’s more than a ‘bit’ of history between these two :) 

 

Thank you, Gabriel :) 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2018 10:39 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Rebirth Of Fire ~
Poor Coldagnir. It would be amazing to see him in your writing :)

I've been meaning to write him for a while, I just haven't had the right idea :) you know he's always been a favourite of mine!

Author's Response: I’m so pleased you like him, so I hope an idea comes up :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2018 0:38 · For: Chapter 45 ~ White Moths ~
I kept reading, because this part has two of my favourite threads - Coldagnir, and Celegorm with the twins.

In their troubled sleep the twins moaned. Celegorm felt the tracks of tears flow hot down his cheeks.

Celegorm ! Finrod. I am coming. Daeron is leading me. Thou art on an island.

For a long moment Celegorm could not reply. They're are with me, asleep.

A pause, then the tone filled with compassion, and Celegorm knew it was not for him.
So they lay with Daeron. Do not kill them.

It is they who wish to kill me.

No, cousin. They wish to kill the monster they made of thee in their minds. And he is not there. Is he?


Just...ohh, I don't have words :'( so much here, the emotion of the twins exorcising their demons, Finrod starting to address Celegorm with something like affection, and then that steel and anger reasserting itself with that "Is he?"

And that perfect ending with Celegorm killing Saewon - and the way he does it, too. So bloody powerful.

Author's Response: Oh, yes, this was very hard to write, Narya, there was so much pain for all of them, and I thoroughly enjoyed it when Celegorm killed Saewon, I have to admit! Thank you for commenting :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2018 0:26 · For: Chapter 44 ~ When Blood Is Not Enough ~
“Give me back my name, Lord,” the Maia whispered, and Glorfindel, his throat clenching around rage and sorrow, reached into the past, into the ancient soul and said, “Thy name was Coldagnir.”

Ohhh, you've got me blubbing. I came back to re-read this passage as I'm toying with having Coldagnir meet Claire and Maglor in Summerland 'verse at some point, and this just got me in the gut. Poor, broken Coldagnir :'( it's heartbreaking, seeing how such a wondrous, powerful, beautiful thing has been corrupted.

Author's Response: Aww, yes, I am actually writing him talking to Sauron at the moment, and Sauron is needling him about how much he enjoyed being corrupted. Which is not exactly true, although he did come to revel in what he was. Poor Coldagnir. It would be amazing to see him in your writing :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 9:20 · For: Chapter 25 ~ And the Tale Shall Begin Anew ~
OMG! I love how truly irresistible you have made Gil. Many seem to want him or are in love with him, and by rights this is the way it should be with him. (fangirl talk) But, Oh my! Gil! What is he doing with Vorimoro!? I totally understand his reasons for 'release' etc. But Oh! Tindomion's going to spit chips when he finds out. I know its a challenge thrown down, but I feel rather sorry for Tindomion, because he has remained monogamous and truly faithful to Gil throughout everything.

I love how Maglor is the go to man for everyone's problems or an ear when others just want to talk. It really suits him. :)

Author's Response: Gil-galad is such a beautiful character, yes, :) With Vorimoro, they are very good friends, although Gil-galad shouldn;t really She him, except Vorimor does not care!
In fact, Tindómion wasn’t exactly faithful, he did, on occasion, be with Glorfindel, although it was more of a passion/comfort/warrior thing, not a relationship, although that isn’t mentioned in the story, until much later.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2018 8:41 · For: Chapter 24 ~ Necessities of Fate ~
Hi Spiced!

Apologies for not keeping up the reviews on a more regular basis. :/

Tindomion makes me a little sad. He's still so tortured with Gil galad's death and what ran between them and so forth. He is such a beautiful character in every way shape and form. There's just this loneliness that follows him around, Even when he is surrounded by family and friends.

Author's Response: No worries, Gabriel :)
yes, of course Tindómion is still tortured; the Void is worse of course, but living with grief and regret is also a kind of hell. And he is lonely, always, yes, I am glad you see that about him. Thank you :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2018 12:12 · For: Chapter 14 ~ An Unsheathing Of Swords ~
*"Take thyself out of my sight, Feanorion!" The last word held the edge of a scream.

Gil galad spread his fingers, Tindomion laced his own through them, both of them forming a living barrier. None of them spoke. Tindomion drew the hand he clasped to his mouth, pressed a kiss on the lean flesh.

Rosriel's blows, one after the other, swift as a serpent striking, sounded shockingly loud. One of her jeweled rings cut the corner of Gil galad's mouth.

"That is enough!" Fingon cried.*

Loved this scene. But then I absolutely adore Gil galad and Tindomion.



*Fingolfin knelt, his hands glided over ridged muscle, flat belly, rediscovering the most beautiful architecture in all Arda. He tasted the drops of liquid already welling from the engorged shaft, as he took it into his mouth, and his body throbbed with memories, with need. So powerful, taut to hugeness with blood...but there was no limit to what he wanted to touch, to have. This had always been a way of possessing Feanor, of devouring him.*

OMG! Spiced! You have such a way with words! It reads like a form of poetry. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Gabriel, I am so glad you liked that scene with Gil-Galad and Tindómion. And thank you for your kind words of praise :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2018 8:47 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Heritage ~
*Maeglin found himself facing a snapping whirl of twin blades that toyed with his returning strokes. He had been a superb and courageous warrior, but Vanimore had been made into a weapon thousands of years before and had never rested, never died. The two slender blades locked against the straight one and Maeglin stared into the eyes the color of the spring violets that had once bloomed in the gardens of Gondolin. Vanimore smiled sensual and brilliant and drove up with one knee.*

I loved this! Made me chuckle. Vanimore was so awesome in this scene. I especially like the part of Maeglin staring 'into the eyes the color of spring violets.' Vanimore's eyes contrast and belie the honed and deadly weapon he is. As if Vanimore was almost suckering Maeglin into a false sense of security only to burst his bubble so to speak.

Does this make sense? Hope so.

Loved the humor, Spiced! :)

Author's Response: Poor Maeglin, I like him a lot and we shall see more of him, but Vanimórë did toy with him a little, here. Yes, it makes sense :) Thank you so much, Gabriel :) You’re a treasure


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 19, 2018 10:41 · For: Chapter 5 ~ The Dance Of Love And Lust ~
Its so great to have everyone reborn.

I love your Feanor.

*He ran his hand down his chest, all of him hard, all erect and he burned with a desire to sate his needs within hot, tight warmth, to dominate, as he always had.* Oh my god! He is absolutely glorious.

And, Feanor had Melkor! No wonder he hated him.

As always Spiced, wonderful chapter. :)

Author's Response: I loved writing them reborn :) It was so wonderful after the last story ;__;

And Fëanor, yes, magnificent, gorgeous, always :) Impossible to think of him dead.

Ah, yes, Fëanor having Melkor, well, he asked for it in a way, at least Fëanor would say so! Than you so much Gabriel :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2015 0:49 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
OMG! Orodreth!? I had no inkling of this. You totally succeeded in distracting me with Borniven. I had forgotten Orodreth was even around let alone a traitor!

I like that Feanor has had his eyes opened here. His horror at the thought Maglor......and Maedhros still believe the silmaril to be more important to him than them. Who can blame them after the oath and everything that followed after.

I don't like Feanor. I am not sure if you want me to or not but he is too arrogant for me to like. His enjoyment at controlling others....
Perhaps this realisation of how his sons see him may improve that. Here's hoping because I would like to see him with Fingolfin properly but not quite as the person he is right now.

But then again..... I find I am quite liking the idea of Fingolfin and Maglor. Maglor needs someone. He has no one right now, Feanor just can't be his and Vanim


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2015 8:27 · For: Chapter 43 ~ Winter's Vengeance ~
Aargh!!! I was right! ....... Finrod will save him.... Surely!
And I have to go and cook tea so I can't read any further. So cruel.
And why isn't Glorfindel answering?? Hopefully just temporarily distracted.

Author's Response: Glorfindel is momentarily distracted!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2015 7:35 · For: Chapter 42 ~ To The Fires Of The Year's End ~
Oh I have a bad feeling about this. The Balrog AND Celegorm going off hunting on his own in the north..... the fool!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2015 5:38 · For: Chapter 33 ~ The Love of a Kinslayer ~
Oh! You have me feeling so so sorry for Celegorm.......and I was not expecting that, I really wasn't. What great writing, you have completely swayed me. More convinced than ever these two have to get together!!

Author's Response: Ah, I love it when that happens - when my own passion shows in my writing, I mean :) Thank you so much for your comment! It is coming together - sort of!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2015 11:28 · For: Chapter 29 ~ A Tapestry of Tears ~
I love Beleg. He is a favourite of mine and it seems so perfect that he is connected to Legolas!

Author's Response: I really like Beleg, too :) And I couldn't resist making him Legolas' ancestor :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2015 2:45 · For: Chapter 26 ~ How would it feel to lose him? ~
Oh! You surprised me with this. I did not see it coming. Celegorm and Finrod! But it makes perfect sense of Celegorm's actions, that bitter hate borne of rejection, nothing cuts deeper.

I REALLY want Finrod to Come back now. I did already but now even more so. But Celegorm hasn't forgiven him for......? Well, I don't think Finrod did that much wrong really. If anyone should understand not breaking an oath it should be Celegorm, and the fact Finrod was determined to sacrifice his own happiness so as not to hurt his father, again Celegorm should understand that. It was misguided but if anyone knows about misguidedly doing what your father wants it should be a Feanorian!

I want these two together and I think Finrod is ready to accept that side of himself now, but he is not ready to forgive Celegorm and Celegorm doesn't seem like he is ready to acknowledge the wrongness of what he did at all.
I am eager to see what happens. It will be rather a shock for Glorfindel who has his own Celegorm issues as well.

Author's Response: Thank you for commenting, Cheekybeak - well, since it is already written, I think you will not be too disappointed in what happens :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2014 6:05 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
Oh,wow. I had almost forgotten how powerful this story was! After almost 2 years (I think) I am slowly returning to Faerie. Your story is one of the ones that kept drawing me back. I decided to read the end of this book to remind me of the story, but I do not think I was prepared for the fire and emotion! You write so awesomely! (is that really a word? LOL) I love reading your story, in some strange way it seems so real. And I am in eternal love with Vanim


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2013 1:06 · For: Chapter 51 ~ The Longest Night ~
I shall probably always think of your stories on the solstices now! Still such wonderful writing :) Celegorm/Finrod remain my favourite couple-I haven't forgotten them despite my recent silence. School has taken over my entire waking life since September so hooray the holidays and my reacquaintance with faerie and your specific world :D

Author's Response: Oh, thank-you so much for returning and reading, Merin! I hope that you have a lovely, and relaxing holiday.
I must admit I love Finrod and Celegorm too d;-)


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 21:57 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
I have now finished this Book and I'm still and all the time while reading and immensely enjoying the experience totally in awe by the complex and enthralling story you weave. Also I'm a really big fan of your writing style - it's so fluid and for me it links perfectly with the Silmarillion and reads like an extension of it.
I was totally blown every time you introduced even another strand of plot into this already quite complex setting, like the twins Elured and Elurin and the whole story evolving around Celegorm and Finrod. Or the wrath of the dethroned Valar. Or Coldagnir, the former Balrog and now unknown factor in New-Cuivienen. Or the interweaving story of Maeglin, Beleg and Turin. And then there are of course the well-known couples from the former Book. Yeah, I can't list it all or I would be recounting your story and far less well than you tell it.
I'm really intrigued by your Feanor and I have to admit, that I'm just as surprised as his sons and Fingolfin. I would like to tell him though, that we have to show some of our regard even if we think our pride is diminished by it because as long as others can't read minds we are all judged by our words and deeds. And neither were his deeds regarding Fingolfin or even Glorfindel without tarnish nor could he bring himself to express his feelings in another way than to simply show desire - and HE always said that for desire no love was needed and made it clear that he expected, what was his due without ever truly openly without innuendos acknowledging that he felt just as deep a love toward his sons and Fingolfin.
Often I was rattled by his arrogance and thought that love should always be also about the loved one and not so much about ourselves to be strong for a long time.
And perhaps I could see Feanor as an exception outside the usual rules but Celegorm's arrogance was just not suffferable! Especially as I'm sure (or I hope I can be) that he would not truly wish to humiliate and debase Finrod by grovelling before him. Even more - I think a Finrod doing so wouldn't be the Finrod he loves, for someone only searching to be liked without regard for his own feelings is usually not someone truly loveable in a long-time relationship. This only builds dependencies that will kill love and desire with time, I think.
But as the story progressed I got the impression, that Celegorm in his heart knows this but is just too insecure - showing in his overlarge pride and his arrogance to be the first to give in, perhaps with the fear to be rejected and scorned again and as he experienced these feelings already, perhaps it's understandable. But not to acknowledge Finrod's reasoning is in my eyes to demean his worth in comparison with his own and it's just not acceptable! I sincerely hope they will come to some kind of truce they can both live with. Just as is the case for the other pairings, especially Gil-galad and Timdomion.
But for Feanor, I could almost pity him if his arrogance did not enrage me so often in the long run! I'm curious to see if and how the relationship with Fingolfin will shift a bit. Also I guess now he has proven himself worthy to get back his Simaril, if they can hold on to it and it's not lost again somewhere... or with someone.
Although this is already an endless review I will append one question. I wondered all the time why Rosriel's servants put up with her behaviour against them. You describe servants as respected and I can't imagine elves, with all their faults, treating servants like scum as many humans do. So I wonder why they didn't leave her, especially after Glorfindel was made Vala. For example when the ships were still before Mithlond and Rosriel slapped one of her maids - I think that person was just as experienced and grown as any other and why should she stand such rough handling? And later as well, it's a bit strange, that only after her exposure and the stripping of her power she is more or less left alone with only a few servants and my impression was, that these stayed because asked by others to do so.

Well, thanks so much for this great reading experience. I think if this saga is ever kind of finished I have to make my own printed version to keep on my shelf :-)
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank-you for such a long review, Tinara. I appreciate your thoughts. :)

Also I'm a really big fan of your writing style - it's so fluid and for me it links perfectly with the Silmarillion and reads like an extension of it.

Oh, I'm so glad. The Silmarillion did influence me to write in a more archaic style, because I think it's beautiful.

I completely agree with your points regarding F


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2013 21:43 · For: Chapter 33 ~ The Love of a Kinslayer ~
Thanks for the clarification concerning the Valar. Though with reading on much already became clearer and more of a picture.
I was quite shocked, when they actually attacked Finrod - quite desperate, aren't they? I'm so relieved he has power of his own to stand against them!
Oh, and I totally understand, that you split the different story threads and pursue each as you see fit - actually I like these kind of stories as many different aspects can be explored kind of in parallel. And I'm relieved and excited to here you have so much more plans and will continue the arc.
I'm always very impressed, how you combine the many mixed and violent emotions seething in the relationships. But these last scenes with Finrod and Celegorm really touched me like few else did. Somehow I see them a bit differently than their more openly fierce kindred. Additionally Finrod is my hero back from when I first read the Silmarillion and he simply doesn't deserve this kind of tangled and most tragic events/emotions/relationship. And if it has to be so, I can even see myself extending this protective posture towards Celegorm, seeing as he is Finrods heart and soul and such... ;-)
Tinara

Author's Response: Oooh, when I answered your previous review, for some reason I thought you were reading the third story, mainly because I don't tend to get reviews on my older works. However, I don't think I dropped any spoilers. I hope motivations and so forth will become a little clearer by the time you reach the end (so far) of that, although I don't touch much on the Valar, as I say, I will do in the last book. :)

Yes, I have many people and plots to follow. I like to do that so that in theory, I could follow one thread as a separate story. I wouldn't necessarily do that, but the option is there. I never think of writing something where every question is answered at the end. I always like to give myself a lot of room.

Finrod and Celegorm -- well, I'm still writing about them in the third book, and I hope you will enjoy following their story. :)

Thank-you so much for reading and commenting again.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2013 16:35 · For: Chapter 27 ~ Circles of Fate and Fire ~
Thanks so much for your kind reply to my review of DP-I! I nevertheless can't shake a slight feeling of guilt while confessing, that I already have forged ahead reading and never stopped within MotD-I. While I'm still determined to go back and comment properly, I've decided to simply start commenting where I finished reading this morning on my way to work.
I very much enjoy the slower pace of MotD, as it gives so much more space to the characters and there interactions. Nevertheless with so many open story strands I'm sometimes quite impatient when you change between them. I find them all fascinating, but some are more mysterious and/or pressing to my perception than others and I'm really curious to see how this whole tapestry of stories will unfold.
I'm really into the Beleg and Turin strand, this sory gripped me with its tragedy and injustice when I read the Silmarillion and I'm thrilled to see you telling it anew!
I was quite surprised though to see Manwe interfering - as you write them, I saw the Valar as holding themselves very aloof from the elves and Middle-Earth, so are they really so angered by the appointment of the new Valas to be roused enough to care - if only for revenge? This is all the more rousing me, as I still grapple with the notion of penalize love between the same gender but not murder, rape, cruelty and other monstrosities - it simply seems so unbelievable that the Valar should disregard everything else (why not deal with other crimes equally strict?).
So, I'v rambled on long enough - to sum it up: I find the story brilliant and enjoy the many threads, the complexity of the politics and stories within ver much!
Tinara

Author's Response: Hiya again, Tinara.

I very much enjoy the slower pace of MotD, as it gives so much more space to the characters and there interactions. Nevertheless with so many open story strands I'm sometimes quite impatient when you change between them. I find them all fascinating, but some are more mysterious and/or pressing to my perception than others and I'm really curious to see how this whole tapestry of stories will unfold.

I much prefer writing at this slower pace, too, and exploring the characters. The open story strands are quite deliberate; each will be followed when the time comes. I am very much looking forward to writing Beleg and T


Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2013 12:44 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
Wow. This whole thing is amazing.
First of all, T


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 19:57 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
!!!!

Can I just leave a review of exclamation marks? Guess not.

Argh I had to go to the opticians before I could read the last two chapters and then the stupid computer just deleted my review: the agony!

So I didn't have time to write anything for the previous chapter because I simply had to find out who the traitor was, it could almost have been anyone! Oh Orodreth, you were a crappy king and now you're being a crappy, jealous brother!

“And thou wert greeted as heroes in Nargothrond, given all the honor Finrod could bestow on thee, save himself and the throne. Which thou didst well-nigh take ! Do not speak to me of treachery !”

*

'He had no son. I was the rightful heir...'

“I came to Nargothrond, and found myself overlooked in favor of kinslayers,” Orodreth said. “Do not think, Finrod, that I did not know how often thou wert alone with this.”


I think I see shades of Maeglin in Gondolin in this. Both loved (fraternal love from Orodreth because I assume he did love Finrod at some point in the past) and both had that loved twisted to bitterness and vindictiveness when the one they loved seemed to turn from them in favour of a 'lesser' person and thwart their true desires (which appear to be becoming the heirs to Gondolin and Nargothrond respectively). Maeglin wanted Idril and she scorned him for Tuor, a man and while I don't think Orodreth wanted Finrod in that way he certainly appears to have felt overlooked, even betrayed, by one who should have loved and supported him above others in favour of those accursed kinslayers. Orodreth's treachery has simply taken a longer time to come into effect and is far less damaging, in execution if not in intent.

-

The whole chapter reads as wonderfully tense; there is such an air of stillness, of things being poised on a (literal) knife's edge.

“The only way thou couldst have come to a throne is by the death of another !” hissed Celegorm recklessly. “Like thy father, thou didst come to a throne by default !”

Oh my goodness! Celegorm, there is a time and a place for a smart mouth! Shhh! And that goes for your hot headed brothers too, although I noticed slightly more even tempered Maedhros keeps his peace here....

F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 15:13 · For: Chapter 56 ~ Cauldron ~
He is waiting,” V


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 1:36 · For: Chapter 55 ~ Never To Be Commanded. Never To Be Owned ~
Ah, Finrod and Feanor together: how wonderful. Lovely, serene Finrod vs charismatic, predatory Feanor who is, lets face it, sex on legs (momentary panic when I thought he was going to arrange it so that Celegorm would find him and Finrod in flagrante delicto! Whew, what a scene that would be! Then my sensible brain kicked and and I though Feanor would never hurt his son so... would he? He is *such* an enigma, sometimes). I'm proud that Finrod stood his ground in the face of his uncle's forceful personality: mild he may appear but never meek: as well he should not be, because he's still in the right and should stand up for himself. Hmm... might have to start a one-girl Finrod fan club at this rate.

Finrod knew an impulse to hit that glowing face. He raised his brows in delicate taunting incomprehension.
“Pretend what did not happen?”

In the adjoining chamber, F


You must login () to review.