| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1562
Chapters: 7951
Word count: 23609676
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14037
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2015 0:49 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
OMG! Orodreth!? I had no inkling of this. You totally succeeded in distracting me with Borniven. I had forgotten Orodreth was even around let alone a traitor!

I like that Feanor has had his eyes opened here. His horror at the thought Maglor......and Maedhros still believe the silmaril to be more important to him than them. Who can blame them after the oath and everything that followed after.

I don't like Feanor. I am not sure if you want me to or not but he is too arrogant for me to like. His enjoyment at controlling others....
Perhaps this realisation of how his sons see him may improve that. Here's hoping because I would like to see him with Fingolfin properly but not quite as the person he is right now.

But then again..... I find I am quite liking the idea of Fingolfin and Maglor. Maglor needs someone. He has no one right now, Feanor just can't be his and Vanim


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2015 8:27 · For: Chapter 43 ~ Winter's Vengeance ~
Aargh!!! I was right! ....... Finrod will save him.... Surely!
And I have to go and cook tea so I can't read any further. So cruel.
And why isn't Glorfindel answering?? Hopefully just temporarily distracted.

Author's Response: Glorfindel is momentarily distracted!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2015 7:35 · For: Chapter 42 ~ To The Fires Of The Year's End ~
Oh I have a bad feeling about this. The Balrog AND Celegorm going off hunting on his own in the north..... the fool!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2015 5:38 · For: Chapter 33 ~ The Love of a Kinslayer ~
Oh! You have me feeling so so sorry for Celegorm.......and I was not expecting that, I really wasn't. What great writing, you have completely swayed me. More convinced than ever these two have to get together!!

Author's Response: Ah, I love it when that happens - when my own passion shows in my writing, I mean :) Thank you so much for your comment! It is coming together - sort of!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2015 11:28 · For: Chapter 29 ~ A Tapestry of Tears ~
I love Beleg. He is a favourite of mine and it seems so perfect that he is connected to Legolas!

Author's Response: I really like Beleg, too :) And I couldn't resist making him Legolas' ancestor :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 08, 2015 2:45 · For: Chapter 26 ~ How would it feel to lose him? ~
Oh! You surprised me with this. I did not see it coming. Celegorm and Finrod! But it makes perfect sense of Celegorm's actions, that bitter hate borne of rejection, nothing cuts deeper.

I REALLY want Finrod to Come back now. I did already but now even more so. But Celegorm hasn't forgiven him for......? Well, I don't think Finrod did that much wrong really. If anyone should understand not breaking an oath it should be Celegorm, and the fact Finrod was determined to sacrifice his own happiness so as not to hurt his father, again Celegorm should understand that. It was misguided but if anyone knows about misguidedly doing what your father wants it should be a Feanorian!

I want these two together and I think Finrod is ready to accept that side of himself now, but he is not ready to forgive Celegorm and Celegorm doesn't seem like he is ready to acknowledge the wrongness of what he did at all.
I am eager to see what happens. It will be rather a shock for Glorfindel who has his own Celegorm issues as well.

Author's Response: Thank you for commenting, Cheekybeak - well, since it is already written, I think you will not be too disappointed in what happens :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2014 6:05 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
Oh,wow. I had almost forgotten how powerful this story was! After almost 2 years (I think) I am slowly returning to Faerie. Your story is one of the ones that kept drawing me back. I decided to read the end of this book to remind me of the story, but I do not think I was prepared for the fire and emotion! You write so awesomely! (is that really a word? LOL) I love reading your story, in some strange way it seems so real. And I am in eternal love with Vanim


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2013 1:06 · For: Chapter 51 ~ The Longest Night ~
I shall probably always think of your stories on the solstices now! Still such wonderful writing :) Celegorm/Finrod remain my favourite couple-I haven't forgotten them despite my recent silence. School has taken over my entire waking life since September so hooray the holidays and my reacquaintance with faerie and your specific world :D

Author's Response: Oh, thank-you so much for returning and reading, Merin! I hope that you have a lovely, and relaxing holiday.
I must admit I love Finrod and Celegorm too d;-)


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2013 21:57 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
I have now finished this Book and I'm still and all the time while reading and immensely enjoying the experience totally in awe by the complex and enthralling story you weave. Also I'm a really big fan of your writing style - it's so fluid and for me it links perfectly with the Silmarillion and reads like an extension of it.
I was totally blown every time you introduced even another strand of plot into this already quite complex setting, like the twins Elured and Elurin and the whole story evolving around Celegorm and Finrod. Or the wrath of the dethroned Valar. Or Coldagnir, the former Balrog and now unknown factor in New-Cuivienen. Or the interweaving story of Maeglin, Beleg and Turin. And then there are of course the well-known couples from the former Book. Yeah, I can't list it all or I would be recounting your story and far less well than you tell it.
I'm really intrigued by your Feanor and I have to admit, that I'm just as surprised as his sons and Fingolfin. I would like to tell him though, that we have to show some of our regard even if we think our pride is diminished by it because as long as others can't read minds we are all judged by our words and deeds. And neither were his deeds regarding Fingolfin or even Glorfindel without tarnish nor could he bring himself to express his feelings in another way than to simply show desire - and HE always said that for desire no love was needed and made it clear that he expected, what was his due without ever truly openly without innuendos acknowledging that he felt just as deep a love toward his sons and Fingolfin.
Often I was rattled by his arrogance and thought that love should always be also about the loved one and not so much about ourselves to be strong for a long time.
And perhaps I could see Feanor as an exception outside the usual rules but Celegorm's arrogance was just not suffferable! Especially as I'm sure (or I hope I can be) that he would not truly wish to humiliate and debase Finrod by grovelling before him. Even more - I think a Finrod doing so wouldn't be the Finrod he loves, for someone only searching to be liked without regard for his own feelings is usually not someone truly loveable in a long-time relationship. This only builds dependencies that will kill love and desire with time, I think.
But as the story progressed I got the impression, that Celegorm in his heart knows this but is just too insecure - showing in his overlarge pride and his arrogance to be the first to give in, perhaps with the fear to be rejected and scorned again and as he experienced these feelings already, perhaps it's understandable. But not to acknowledge Finrod's reasoning is in my eyes to demean his worth in comparison with his own and it's just not acceptable! I sincerely hope they will come to some kind of truce they can both live with. Just as is the case for the other pairings, especially Gil-galad and Timdomion.
But for Feanor, I could almost pity him if his arrogance did not enrage me so often in the long run! I'm curious to see if and how the relationship with Fingolfin will shift a bit. Also I guess now he has proven himself worthy to get back his Simaril, if they can hold on to it and it's not lost again somewhere... or with someone.
Although this is already an endless review I will append one question. I wondered all the time why Rosriel's servants put up with her behaviour against them. You describe servants as respected and I can't imagine elves, with all their faults, treating servants like scum as many humans do. So I wonder why they didn't leave her, especially after Glorfindel was made Vala. For example when the ships were still before Mithlond and Rosriel slapped one of her maids - I think that person was just as experienced and grown as any other and why should she stand such rough handling? And later as well, it's a bit strange, that only after her exposure and the stripping of her power she is more or less left alone with only a few servants and my impression was, that these stayed because asked by others to do so.

Well, thanks so much for this great reading experience. I think if this saga is ever kind of finished I have to make my own printed version to keep on my shelf :-)
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank-you for such a long review, Tinara. I appreciate your thoughts. :)

Also I'm a really big fan of your writing style - it's so fluid and for me it links perfectly with the Silmarillion and reads like an extension of it.

Oh, I'm so glad. The Silmarillion did influence me to write in a more archaic style, because I think it's beautiful.

I completely agree with your points regarding F


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2013 21:43 · For: Chapter 33 ~ The Love of a Kinslayer ~
Thanks for the clarification concerning the Valar. Though with reading on much already became clearer and more of a picture.
I was quite shocked, when they actually attacked Finrod - quite desperate, aren't they? I'm so relieved he has power of his own to stand against them!
Oh, and I totally understand, that you split the different story threads and pursue each as you see fit - actually I like these kind of stories as many different aspects can be explored kind of in parallel. And I'm relieved and excited to here you have so much more plans and will continue the arc.
I'm always very impressed, how you combine the many mixed and violent emotions seething in the relationships. But these last scenes with Finrod and Celegorm really touched me like few else did. Somehow I see them a bit differently than their more openly fierce kindred. Additionally Finrod is my hero back from when I first read the Silmarillion and he simply doesn't deserve this kind of tangled and most tragic events/emotions/relationship. And if it has to be so, I can even see myself extending this protective posture towards Celegorm, seeing as he is Finrods heart and soul and such... ;-)
Tinara

Author's Response: Oooh, when I answered your previous review, for some reason I thought you were reading the third story, mainly because I don't tend to get reviews on my older works. However, I don't think I dropped any spoilers. I hope motivations and so forth will become a little clearer by the time you reach the end (so far) of that, although I don't touch much on the Valar, as I say, I will do in the last book. :)

Yes, I have many people and plots to follow. I like to do that so that in theory, I could follow one thread as a separate story. I wouldn't necessarily do that, but the option is there. I never think of writing something where every question is answered at the end. I always like to give myself a lot of room.

Finrod and Celegorm -- well, I'm still writing about them in the third book, and I hope you will enjoy following their story. :)

Thank-you so much for reading and commenting again.


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2013 16:35 · For: Chapter 27 ~ Circles of Fate and Fire ~
Thanks so much for your kind reply to my review of DP-I! I nevertheless can't shake a slight feeling of guilt while confessing, that I already have forged ahead reading and never stopped within MotD-I. While I'm still determined to go back and comment properly, I've decided to simply start commenting where I finished reading this morning on my way to work.
I very much enjoy the slower pace of MotD, as it gives so much more space to the characters and there interactions. Nevertheless with so many open story strands I'm sometimes quite impatient when you change between them. I find them all fascinating, but some are more mysterious and/or pressing to my perception than others and I'm really curious to see how this whole tapestry of stories will unfold.
I'm really into the Beleg and Turin strand, this sory gripped me with its tragedy and injustice when I read the Silmarillion and I'm thrilled to see you telling it anew!
I was quite surprised though to see Manwe interfering - as you write them, I saw the Valar as holding themselves very aloof from the elves and Middle-Earth, so are they really so angered by the appointment of the new Valas to be roused enough to care - if only for revenge? This is all the more rousing me, as I still grapple with the notion of penalize love between the same gender but not murder, rape, cruelty and other monstrosities - it simply seems so unbelievable that the Valar should disregard everything else (why not deal with other crimes equally strict?).
So, I'v rambled on long enough - to sum it up: I find the story brilliant and enjoy the many threads, the complexity of the politics and stories within ver much!
Tinara

Author's Response: Hiya again, Tinara.

I very much enjoy the slower pace of MotD, as it gives so much more space to the characters and there interactions. Nevertheless with so many open story strands I'm sometimes quite impatient when you change between them. I find them all fascinating, but some are more mysterious and/or pressing to my perception than others and I'm really curious to see how this whole tapestry of stories will unfold.

I much prefer writing at this slower pace, too, and exploring the characters. The open story strands are quite deliberate; each will be followed when the time comes. I am very much looking forward to writing Beleg and T


Name: Khaosity (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2013 12:44 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
Wow. This whole thing is amazing.
First of all, T


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 19:57 · For: Chapter 58 ~ The Treachery of Kin ~
!!!!

Can I just leave a review of exclamation marks? Guess not.

Argh I had to go to the opticians before I could read the last two chapters and then the stupid computer just deleted my review: the agony!

So I didn't have time to write anything for the previous chapter because I simply had to find out who the traitor was, it could almost have been anyone! Oh Orodreth, you were a crappy king and now you're being a crappy, jealous brother!

“And thou wert greeted as heroes in Nargothrond, given all the honor Finrod could bestow on thee, save himself and the throne. Which thou didst well-nigh take ! Do not speak to me of treachery !”

*

'He had no son. I was the rightful heir...'

“I came to Nargothrond, and found myself overlooked in favor of kinslayers,” Orodreth said. “Do not think, Finrod, that I did not know how often thou wert alone with this.”


I think I see shades of Maeglin in Gondolin in this. Both loved (fraternal love from Orodreth because I assume he did love Finrod at some point in the past) and both had that loved twisted to bitterness and vindictiveness when the one they loved seemed to turn from them in favour of a 'lesser' person and thwart their true desires (which appear to be becoming the heirs to Gondolin and Nargothrond respectively). Maeglin wanted Idril and she scorned him for Tuor, a man and while I don't think Orodreth wanted Finrod in that way he certainly appears to have felt overlooked, even betrayed, by one who should have loved and supported him above others in favour of those accursed kinslayers. Orodreth's treachery has simply taken a longer time to come into effect and is far less damaging, in execution if not in intent.

-

The whole chapter reads as wonderfully tense; there is such an air of stillness, of things being poised on a (literal) knife's edge.

“The only way thou couldst have come to a throne is by the death of another !” hissed Celegorm recklessly. “Like thy father, thou didst come to a throne by default !”

Oh my goodness! Celegorm, there is a time and a place for a smart mouth! Shhh! And that goes for your hot headed brothers too, although I noticed slightly more even tempered Maedhros keeps his peace here....

F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 15:13 · For: Chapter 56 ~ Cauldron ~
He is waiting,” V


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 1:36 · For: Chapter 55 ~ Never To Be Commanded. Never To Be Owned ~
Ah, Finrod and Feanor together: how wonderful. Lovely, serene Finrod vs charismatic, predatory Feanor who is, lets face it, sex on legs (momentary panic when I thought he was going to arrange it so that Celegorm would find him and Finrod in flagrante delicto! Whew, what a scene that would be! Then my sensible brain kicked and and I though Feanor would never hurt his son so... would he? He is *such* an enigma, sometimes). I'm proud that Finrod stood his ground in the face of his uncle's forceful personality: mild he may appear but never meek: as well he should not be, because he's still in the right and should stand up for himself. Hmm... might have to start a one-girl Finrod fan club at this rate.

Finrod knew an impulse to hit that glowing face. He raised his brows in delicate taunting incomprehension.
“Pretend what did not happen?”

In the adjoining chamber, F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2013 1:00 · For: Chapter 54 ~ Fireflowers ~
That Lorh, he's going to cause some strife somewhere along the line: Maeglin is right to watch him!

“Strong,” Vanim


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2013 21:17 · For: Chapter 53 ~ Mind-games And Memories ~
Well I'm not surprised no one's rolling over onto their backs and letting Feanor just waltz in with a balrog and not question it! I liked the flashback to Fingolfin's challenge through Coldagnir's eyes: acknowledging Morgoth's fear and his own hatred of Fingolfin's transcendent beauty; wanting to see him defiled for it but then wanting to keep a bit a bit of the beauty for a reminder. A complex creature like any other.


I like Celegorm so much more when he shows his vulnerability and his fears and doubts. I guess he comes across as more human!

“I hate him,” Celegorm's face was hot as it nuzzled into F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2013 20:44 · For: Chapter 52 ~ Within These Walls Of Pride And Love ~
F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 1:45 · For: Chapter 51 ~ The Longest Night ~
You know, it reads just like I imagine a drug-induced europhia would be like: a sense of discontinuity, disorientation: a dream-like melding of thoughts and sensations. Not that I've experienced such but that's what I imagine. Very hot, it *does* sound like a good night but an awkward as heck morning after!!

That was a spectacular night, Glorfindel thought to himself

Oh Glorfindel, what a voyeur lol. If I were Finrod I don't think I'd be best pleased to know my brother had been spying on my nights!

Author's Response: Lol @ Glorfindel. I think he wanted to ensure he did not have to step in and stop this night.

I've never done drugs either, but I just wrote it how I imagine it would feel. Awkward as heck morning after, also, yes. I could not see how it would be any other way!


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 0:58 · For: Chapter 50 ~ Sparks Blown On A Bitter Wind ~
“Thou hadst no right to throw away thy life,” Celegorm hissed at the hard, serene face gilded by moonlight. “It belonged to me.”

Finrod stopped rowing and stared at him. “Thou arrogant...! I do not belong to thee !”

Celegorm threw himself from the thwart and slammed a hard kiss to his mouth.

“I never knew what a skilled liar thou wert before now !”

Finrod lifted one foot and pushed him back.

“Thou wilt have us both overboard, idiot !”

Celegorm fell silent, both satisfied and dissatisfied by the too-brief kiss. Finrod tasted beautifully of honeyed wine, and he hardened, imagining him, lovely and naked, on his knees, asking forgiveness for placing any-one, anything before his cousin.


Oh my goodness, lol,. Oh Celegorm, I kind of want to like to like you but I just can't when you are so overwhelmingly... so completely and unrepentantly arrogant!!

Espeically this:

“I want him on his knees. I want him to admit his oath to Barahir was of less import than his love for me.”

and:

...imagining him, lovely and naked, on his knees, asking forgiveness for placing any-one, anything before his cousin.


Clearly an obsession with visual penitence with these two, everyone has to be kneeling, but no, no, no, Celegorm, *you* are the one who needs to be humbled a bit and show some remorse!

Finrod, it's a good job you're more than a match for this Feanorion pride! (You'd better not end up on your knees now!)

--- I know it's not obvious but I'm really enjoying this little story arc! :)

Author's Response: Clearly an obsession with visual penitence with these two, everyone has to be kneeling, but no, no, no, Celegorm, *you* are the one who needs to be humbled a bit and show some remorse!

Finrod is with you on that one!
It has been interesting to read reviews on this and Magnificat III by some-one who is very pro-Celegorm, and your reviews where you are right there with Finrod. I like that, as it seems at least I wrote something people could get behind, no matter who they sided with (: . These two have become one of my favourite pairings, because there is so much between them, so much pride and pain.

Thank-you very much indeed for enjoying it, Merin!


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2013 0:25 · For: Chapter 49 ~ Embers ~
F


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2013 23:33 · For: Chapter 47 ~ Betrayal Lies Between Us ~
The Rosriel/Tindomion/Gil-galad scene brought a tear to my eye. I stopped reading for a moment just to imagine it and feel the uprush of emotions from Rosriel. Gil has always wanted love and affection from his nana even if he has tried to hide the fact. I think most people never really outgrow our need for mum in our lives, even millennia old elves, and it will be good for both of them to develop a meaningful relationship. Though surely this is only the first thawing of the ice. Tindomion's kiss was such a simple but giving act; it made me feel an immense fondness for him. :) And well done Fanari on being the catalyst for this little episode.

There is such a theme of a struggle for redemption in your work, even with the balrog.

“I am not an it...” Coldagnir whispered.

Just this one little whisper is disarming and makes him/it seem diminished, vulnerable... sweet? It makes me think it's going to go balrog-ballistic at some point in the future! I think I would be as leery of him as Ecthelion is!

It probably goes without saying that I love Finrod still! There is so much going on beneath his lovely, serene surface; I like his control but also the little flares of anger that escape. Still waters run deep. Slightly wrong analogy, I'm looking for one about being calm on the surface but ragingly passionate underneath but can't think of one...

“I deny nothing. I forget nothing.” Finrod took a hammer to his bitterness and beat it down so that his voice became smooth cold steel. “I do not forget leaving Nargothrond as little more than a beggar. I do not forget Sauron in Tol-in-Gaurhoth. I do not forget dying. But more than all, coz, I do not forget how it felt for the one I loved to betray me.”

Yes it needed to be said... now, where's the contrition, Celegorm?

“I came here to extract a bended-knee apology from Celegorm, to do anything save kill him.”

I would love to see this too! Although unless Celegorm has a personality transplant I'm not sure that will happen sadly.

Author's Response: I think most people never really outgrow our need for mum in our lives, even millennia old elves, and it will be good for both of them to develop a meaningful relationship. Though surely this is only the first thawing of the ice. Tindomion's kiss was such a simple but giving act; it made me feel an immense fondness for him. :)

I think it is true; and there's supposed to be such a strong pre and after birth bond between Elf children and their parents (one of the reasons they're not supposed to have children in times of war, lest one or the other parent die) which Gil-galad never experienced with his mother. When Fingon died, having a mother who loved him could have helped him immensely, and I don't think he ever stopped wishing, deep within, that she had loved him. So at least this is a step in the right direction.
Tind


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2013 16:37 · For: Chapter 45 ~ White Moths ~
This was such a difficult and emotional chapter to read. The writing is very stark and powerful; it gives no quarter.

Feanor's all encompassing, powerful and burning love for his sons is so evident; as is the twins' despair and desire and Celegorm's own confrontation with his past and acknowledgement of the damage that caused to Elured and Elurin.

Author's Response: It was a difficult chapter to write. :

Feanor's all encompassing, powerful and burning love for his sons is so evident; as is the twins' despair and desire and Celegorm's own confrontation with his past and acknowledgement of the damage that caused to Elured and Elurin.

I am glad all that is apparent in the chapter. Thank-you!


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2013 15:42 · For: Chapter 43 ~ Winter's Vengeance ~
Oh my god, thank goodness I am reading this when it is completed because I don't think I could cope with such a cliffie!! (And that's both Glorfindel taking on the balrog and the Celegorm/twins/Finrod arc, although Glorfindel is clearly too epic and enraged to be beaten by any balrog.)

One thing I will say: there is no danger of my becoming overweeningly arrogant when every-one has such faith in me.

haha, poor Glorfindel, but it *is* a balrog, everyone's concerns are well founded!

Daeron's hair has changed colour ('woven with strands of frost'). Elves don't go grey, is this significant? The twins have frost coloured hair don't they?

Author's Response: haha, poor Glorfindel, but it *is* a balrog, everyone's concerns are well founded!

Yes, although of course he would not have been defeated this time; it was supposed to be a kind of poetic reenactment, but with Glorfindel as the victor this time, only it changed as I wrote it.

With Daeron, Elves don't go grey, no. And technically he isn't grey; This is more a physical symbol of his relationship with the twins (being who they are which is gone into in more depth later) and so his dark hair is 'turning' into frosty-white gradually.
Thank-you again, Merin.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2013 22:56 · For: Chapter 42 ~ To The Fires Of The Year's End ~
Balrog in the mountain! It's never a dull day in New Cuivienen. And Celegorm conveniently out hunting, and the twins too: events continue apace in Middle Earth.

Thranduil: love or war will take him to Imladris. Hope it's love: to see Beleg, or maybe his wife returned from the west. Sincerely hope it's not war. glad to see Thranduil still can't resist a bit of wine!

Author's Response: I can't say anything without spoilers, lol. Except - yes, Balrog in the mountains :) Thank-you!


You must login () to review.