| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1666
Chapters: 8517
Word count: 25898884
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15880
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:19 pm
I don’t think we need to worry about the archive going, esteliel just thinks it would be better if someone acted as host/admin who was in the fandom.
Ysilme
08/14/18 11:52 am
Thank you, Spiced!
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:47 am
So I would be ready to contribute as well and really sad to see the archive go :)
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:43 am
I am mostly on AO3 but I like Faerie a lot better than FFnet to be honest, and the best reviews I ever got were on Faerie.
Spiced Wine
08/13/18 02:14 pm
If you do, Ysilme, I will pass you email on to Esteliel :) You would make a great overall host for the archive.
Ysilme
08/13/18 02:04 pm
I also might be able to help with the technical site of things. I'll send you a mail, Sîan, for details.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Rohan's Gold

Name: pippychick (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2017 22:33 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
Ah, just beautiful! Hot and sweet. Yes.. this is who Eowyn would be to me. Lusty and alive, and absolutely unapologetic.

I thought the sudden sense of Legolas as an alien being was very well done. But by then, of course, she is too far gone into lust to turn back.

I do feel a hankering for a little of Legolas' point of view after seeing his longing at the beginning of the first chapter.

I really loved that little touch at the end, with the moth. Legolas is helplessly fascinated, but it will mean pain for him in the end. And that pain will last. So bittersweet, on reflection, and fantastically well-written!

Thank you for sharing your work. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this lovely comment, pippychick. It made my day:)



Name: pippychick (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2017 22:03 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
Well, I was too curious about the Legolas/Eowyn to stay away...

I enjoyed this first chapter, and particularly enjoyed the feel of Legolas' longing at the beginning.

The banter between them all was good too, though, and the care they all have for each other.

Author's Response:

I am so pleased (and flattered) that you read and enjoyed this- I have always thought Aragorn should have ended up with Eowyn- far more suitable as a queen of Gondor. I'm really happy that you get a sense of Legolas' longing for her! Thank you for reading and reviwing this.



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 11, 2015 16:02 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
I think I read this some time ago, but to my horror, I did not review!
ah well, the blessed bots brought be back to this delicious tale that had my own mouth watering along with Eowyn's.

Author's Response:

Ah- how lovely you are Alpha! Thank you for this. It's always so nice to get a review on old work. 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2015 2:53 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
Had to come and reread this after out discussion. SO hot! Still the best.
Oh and I can see this Eowyn getting it on with Elrohir out in the random village.
What a shock when they all stumble across each other in Minus Tirith.
Aside from that....amazing story, Legolas is so incredibly sexy. My absolute favourite

Author's Response:

Yes- I love Legolas in this too. He is just fabulously sexy and as you say, SO HOT. And I like Eowyn's lack of innocence in htis too- she's a powerful woman in her own right and not at all a helpless blushing virgin. To be fair to Tolkien, he made her like this.

 

 



Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2014 14:41 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
Very beautiful story, well written and you have such a way With Words. You describe everything so well. I liked the fact that you used some old English, it is pretty similar to old norse in some ways and a teacher i once had made the students learn how to read parts of the old sagas in its original form, the rest of my class hated it, i loved it! Your stories have great quality, keep up the excellent work.

Author's Response:

My dear Nuredhel-I have only just found this review so HUGE apologies for not responding before- don't know if there was a problem with my alerts or if I just missed it. 

 

Thank you! This is a lovely review. I deliberately used Anglo-Saxon for the Rohirrim because Tolkine wanted that resonance and all the connotations of AS cuture to inform the reader. This is one of the things I love about his writing- the way he taps into that unconscious and layers his writing. LOve that you learned the old sagas! 



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2013 1:09 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
This was a lovely story, very sensual and erotic... A great read!

Author's Response:

Thank you Quantumphysica- Ilove getting comments on older works- to know someone is still reading them. This was one of those I had to write- when I wrote Songs, I was really torn between Eomer and Eowtn- why did I ask slash fans which way they thought Legolas shoul go? But Eowyn just needed to be written. Glad yo uliked it and thank you for the prvious review as well. Gotta love that dwarf!e



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2013 1:00 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
This was really nice... I felt bad for Legolas, and at the same time I was cracking up when Gimli was being prudish xD

Author's Response:

Ah- HOW have I not responded to this? From 2013??? So sorry, Quantumphysica!! What can I say:(



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2012 0:57 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
OMG OMG OMG Zig--WOW--WHAT A CHAPTER!!! VERY VERY HOT chapter at that--WOW AGAIN!!! QUITE EXCEPTIONAL AND BRILLIANTLY DONE my FRIEND!!!

Author's Response:

I love you reviews, alaeryal- you are just so appreciaitve!xx (It is, isn't it. I love Legolas' tenderness - it wrote itself so I take no credit  and Anar is just a sublime beta and makes everything a million times better. Have you read her stuff- try ffnet where she publishes under Anarithilien)



Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2012 0:30 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
Very well written Zig and LOVED this chapter. BEAUTIFUL WRITING and GREAT STORY!!!

Author's Response:

Thank you Alaeryal- it is always extra nice to know that something you've written quite a long time ago is still being read and anjoyed. I admit this was the way I was heading with Songs of Rohan/Deeper when I was first writing but all those reading wanted a slash version with Eomer so I ended up writing slash. But every now and again I think I should add a chapter to this.



Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2012 20:35 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
Ah, yummy! I love this Legolas, so strong and sexy. I don't blame Eowyn for wanting even more. ;-) But what fun at the end, him having to hurry out the window. Oh to be outside with a good telescope.

Author's Response:

I had that image in my head before I even began writing this- and Surprise is really the next chapter but the tone as so different I made it a stand alone. Glad you enjoyed it -yes, strong and sexy and I wouldnt kick him out:)



Name: Melusine (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2012 20:02 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
You know, last time I paid more attention to Legolas, of course, but I love how you have Gimli referencing things in stone. As in, 'This will only end in a rockslide.' And I love how concerned he is for his friends and Eowyn too. But how can I not comment on Legolas and how wonderfully you've shown his longing? So beautiful!

Author's Response:

Thank you Melusine- I have never had any trouble with Gimli, he is very cooperative actually and I enjoy playing with langauge. 



Name: Levade (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2012 1:09 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
What a lovely treat this story was! I think Gimli stole the first part, and I'm going to go looking for more of your Gimli. He's so perfectly Dwarvish with his combing out his beard and hair and then tutting over the ease of nudity in the others! It seems very Dwarvish to guard their nudity as they do their language.

Then shifting gears we get a strong Eowyn and gorgeous Legolas. You write so descriptively -- what he hears standing gazing out across the grass plains down to the moth's wings. The love scene is just as vivid and it was great to see an Eowyn unshrinking. Just how I would see her. Legolas standing on the tiny ledge outside the window...LOL! Oh, to be someone walking along and looking up. ;)

Lovely story! Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response:

I love it when someone rediscovers something older and reviews so thank you, Levade. And particualry thank you as it drove me to check out your profile and read your stories- so a double whammy! I really hope you post more and do not, as you said on your profile, just review. Your writing is just too good.

I love Gimli - he is very easy to write but its Anarithilen who prompted me to make him super-clean and hygenic. She said he would want oils for his beard and that's what got me thinking. But as you say, it really does make sense. I have a sort of a sequel - but not as carefully written - to this. Just for a laugh really. I just wanted Legolas out there on that ledge! 

Thank you again.

 

Ziggy



Name: Erulisse (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2011 21:42 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
Ziggy, my dear, you never fail to delight, even in the short stories. Delightful.

- Erulisse (one L)

Author's Response:

Oh I am so sorry- I never got an alert that you had commented. Thank you my lovely Erulisse! I actually love this story- it was where Deeper than Breathing was going really until readers clamoured (and Anar) for a slash fic. I just wanted Legolas poised on the window sill in nothing but a shirt and breeches and to enter by Eomer's window. I have a little extra scene for this I must post here. 

Thank you.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2011 14:43 · For: Chapter 2 Ithil's Silver
oh - nice. I have to say I especially love that last section with poor Legolas escaping through the window. And the very last sentence leaving us with a lingering realisation of just who is in charge here.

This reminds me of Ningloreth's Eryn Carantaur Stories - you'd like them I think - especially this one...

Author's Response:

Do you know that escape through the window is how it started - it came really from the scene in Deeper than breathing when he steals into her room - I really wanted to write Eowyn in that story I htink but Eomer won out. Its a bit like Elladan in Sons- Legoasl could have gone either way really.

Oh- lovely! Eryn C is fab- thank you for giving me a whole new lot of stories to read:)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2011 22:36 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
Oh - a good start indeed. I do like your insightful Gimli - I think my very favourite line is

'This will only end in a rockslide,'

He is right - and it's such a good description.

Author's Response:

Hello!! Yes- that was funny that I was reading Brotherhood and you were reading this!!

I love Gimli- I really have to do something that concetnrates on him sometime. Glad you liek his language- I work quite hard on him as a rule but this one was too easy!!

xx



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2011 19:20 · For: Chapter 1 Rohan's Gold
What a wonderful convoluted situation did you make out of this! I love the fact that you made Gimli the modest one. :D Thank you for posting this here.

Author's Response:

Thanks Mindirith- I want to give Sons a complete revision when I post it here so I thought I would start moving things here in the meantime. And I think this will get another chapter soon so it deserves a littel outing. Thank you for commenting.



You must login () to review.