| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
Time Present, Time Future by Narya Teen
In Valinor, FindarŠto has a vision and Tyelkormo tries to comfort him. Fluff, friendship and foreshadowing. Rated Teen...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1614
Chapters: 8297
Word count: 25075975
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15284
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
02/18/18 06:09 pm
Have a wonderful day, Naledi :)
Glorfindel
02/18/18 05:31 pm
Happy Birthday. Naledi!
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Gabriel
02/18/18 06:54 am
Happy Birthday, Naledi! Have a brilliant day! :)
Narya
02/16/18 10:17 pm
Have a great holiday, Naledi, and happy birthday for Sunday!
Naledi
02/16/18 10:03 pm
Thanks, Ziggy and Ysilme. My birthday is on Sunday. Iím on holiday at the moment, so not able to check in so often.
Spiced Wine
02/16/18 03:50 pm
Oh, Iím so glad, Glorfindel. It must just have been a glitch
Ysilme
02/16/18 03:41 pm
Happy Birthday, Naledi!
Glorfindel
02/16/18 03:35 pm
Success!!!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 3:16 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~
Awesome chapter! Spiced Wine.

You know, Nolofinwe must be made of Mithril or is made of the same steel as Feanaro. For he is such an immense pillar of strength, to be able to endure all that has transpired since his brother drew his sword on him. To lose his father and the one he loves and burns for to Formenos for twelve years while having to rule in his father's stead. That couldn't have been easy knowing his father chose Feanaro over him, their people and his station. {I know it was more about a statement of protest over the Valar's interference with Finwe's Kingship} but that had to hurt. Then to have his father murdered and the trees destroyed... I can see why Nolofinwe made an exceptional King and was seen as a preferred leader amongst their people.

In saying that I wonder what sort of King Feanaro might have been had he not been tipped over the edge with grief by his father's death and the stealing of the Silmarils. It would be interesting to explore.

My most favorite characters are Feanor and Fingolfin. I think their story is the most fantastic and yet heartbreaking of all the stories I have ever read. But that is what makes it such a thrilling story. :)


I'm moving onto the chapters you recommended in 'Fragments of Fate and Fire' I have loved and enjoyed what I have read so far. Looking forward to the next. Is there any story you would recommend after FOFF or should I delve into the Tome's of the epic Magnificat of the Damned 'Starfall?' :)

Author's Response: I do liked Fingolfin to silver-steel, yes. He is extremely strong and while just as passionate as FŽanor he conceals it; he's more careful.

I do explore a little of how FŽanor is as High King when the Noldor return, but that's in Magnificat II onward and in Dark Lands onwards. But Fingolfin must have been viewed as 'steadier' (which he was), and we know more people followed him. I think with FŽanor he was either loved or hated, no in-between!

I have always loved these two from the first time I read the Silmarillion. :)

Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Gabriel :)

If you want to read the series, really the first book is Dark Prince as much is told there that is important to the rest of the series. The Dark Prince stories were written to form a kind of 'fence' around the other stories which are mostly written within its boundaries but more fleshed out.

Magnificat of the Damned Book I: Starfall, begins with Fingolfin coming to Endor and ends at the Last Alliance. Then Magnificat II: Resurrection begins where Dark Prince ends, with the return of the Noldor.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2018 9:05 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~
I love the artwork you have on your stories page, Spiced Wine. Very talented artist this Karrpriss.

I also like the style in which you write. Really different and lovely.

I understand what you meant when you said 'What Feanaro is is really almost too much for the Human body.' It really shows too, the way you've depicted him.

But Oh! Will things ever be the same again or remotely good again between them. I hope so. Because everything is just spiraling out of control. And they are just so magnificent together.

*"Thou art as tense as I," Feanaro murmured in his ear, fingers kneading at taut muscles. A flush swept over Nolofinwe's cheeks, his head tipped back, his lips parting. He was ashamed of this wanton, helpless need, so taboo that it should disgust him, cause him to flinch back in abhorrence. It did not. A moan grew in his chest, passed his lips.
"I can give thee all that thou doth need," he said on its heels. "Why Laurefinde?"

A husky laugh answered him, there was a whisper of a breath against his mouth. "I do not love Laurefinde. I need him, his loyalty, what he is. And I do desire him. And so thou wouldst refuse me?"

"I should."

"But thou wilt not."

Their lips met."*

Nolofinwe try as he may, just cannot deny Feanaro, no matter what he has done. So addicted is he to the bright star that is his brother he is willing to be burned. Its both beautiful and heartbreaking.

I hope what I have written is coherent and makes sense, Spiced Wine, as I have had many interruptions while writing this. Apologies if it isn't.

Looking forward to the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Gabriel, for commenting.

Actually, there are some one shots in Fragments of Fate and Fire, which shows, I hope, how very madly in love they were at the beginning, and FŽanor does explain, long, long after, that his hunger for freedom, really, to love as he wanted to love, did go to his head and make him want too much.

A Seduction Written In Stone. http://www.faerie-archive.com/viewstory.php?sid=120&chapter=1

Facade. http://www.faerie-archive.com/viewstory.php?sid=120&chapter=12

And The Fire of Blue Diamonds.
http://www.faerie-archive.com/viewstory.php?sid=120&textsize=0&chapter=13

FŽanor and Fingolfin's relationship is extremely complex, as it would be, but they do meet again when I bring the Noldor back after the War of the Ring. And although things are not easy, and never could be, thee love is there under everything, death and betrayal, and the horror of the Void where they were imprisoned by NŠmo.

Since you write a lovely and fascinating Finarfin, you may as well know that the poor sod gets 'had' by the Valar and is enslaved by them, but FŽanor determines to release him, which I am beginning to write about now in Magnificat IV.

And oh, Kaprriss is wonderful isn't she? She really 'feels' the characters, making them more than just pictures.

Thank you very much for your comments :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 4:30 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~
Oh! Feanaro! What have you done!

His actions and behaviour are frenetic. The first signs of the inevitable madness that eventually takes over.

I feel for Laurefinde, the recipient of a kind of rape. But I feel more heartbroken for Nolofinwe, who loves and trusts and burns for his brother. Who gives of himself one hundred percent. Something I don't feel Feanaro has quite grasped yet.

In a strange way I'm glad that this is not who Feanaro really is and in that he has an excuse.

Macalaure and Nolofinwe. There's something going on there, which I'm not quite sure either of them realise yet. Its rather lovely. :)

I've been meaning to read your stories for sometime now, Spiced Wine, but hadn't quite got round to it til now. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much for commenting, Gabriel. This was the very first story I wrote in my 'verse, and there's a lot that is 'hidden' that only comes to light in other stories.
FŽanor's rape of Glorfindel is one of those things, and the slow twisting of his mind by both the Valar and Melkor. Except not at this point, really. What FŽanor is...is really almost too much for a 'human' body. Glorfindel will talk about this incident to Gil-galad in Magnificat I (when Glorfindel is reborn and returned to Middle-earth). And also in that story there is a little more about Fingolfin and Maglor.

I hope you enjoy, although there is an awful lot to read :) But thank you for considering it.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2018 9:47 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
Spiced Wine! Your Feanaro and Nolofinwe are absolutely delectable!

*The rill of lashes swept down. The modeled mouth curved a little, and then Feanaro drew him nearer, long fingers slipping through his hair to the nape of his neck. "I always see beauty."*

*The magnetism impacted upon Nolofinwe brutally. He burned under the touch that lazily traced his jaw, outlined his parted mouth.*

*"And dost thou truly love thy brother, Nolofinwe?"*

*Nolofinwe managed a "Yes..." through lips suddenly, comprehensively covered by Feanaro's. His gasp of shock swallowed by the kiss. The world, his blood stopped. And then fire exploded through them.*

They truly do blaze in each other's company. 'Wildfire! Whitefire!' Beautiful! :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Gabriel :) I'm always startled when I see a review for an older work, even though everything is the same 'verse .

When I first read the Silm, so long ago, when I was about 16, I just felt that FŽanor and Fingolfin did indeed blaze ion one another's company (and in secret). I'm so glad you liked this :) Thank you again.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2015 23:45 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~

“That, and his dream of sons. No, not dream. Foresight. He had taken her willing body, and she got with child. So they had wed, and then came his dreamed-of sons. All of them he loved with a fierce passion; all of them he considered his son's.”

Oh, I like that he dreams of his boys and that was one of the main reasons he married her!  This I can so easily see :D

“"I am not past the age of such desires," he said through his teeth, and dragged his shirt over his head, ripping the fabric. He looked dangerous, wild and rich. Dishevelled hair rippled to his knees, jet over alabaster skin, perfectly formed sinew and bone, as if his spirit would settle for nothing less than to be clothed in perfection.”

Oh gosh, stop!  This is so hot, I always remember this moment, it is just so vivid, so sensual, and I wonder what would have happened if it had been Fingolfin sitting there and not Nerdanel :winks:

“Fëanor stared at her. "I am merely going to take a bath,” he said. “Manwë's hairless balls, woman!” (And that was blasphemy in itself). What is wrong with thee?"

The breath went out of her. She felt, suddenly embarrassed. "Didst thou ever love me at all?" she whispered. "Is love only ever bound up with desire in thee?"

His black brows rose. "Thou wert eager enough once. What has happened to thee? Thou didst look as if I meant to take thee by force, Did I ever?"”

Did you change any of this?  Well, I like it!  I can feel the tight hand of the Valar on the back of Nerdanel’s neck so clearly here, and I like Feanor’s reaction to her panic: “I am only taking a bath, what is wrong with you?” 

“She was a woman, and she knew this, and that it frustrated him, but he could alarm her in the bedroom, and even his gentlest lovemaking left her limp.”

Oh Feanor! Well, it should have been Fingolfin J

I do feel sorry for Nerdanel because this whole thing wasn’t her fault.  I mean, I don’t think they were ever right for each other, but if it hadn’t been for the Valar I think their marriage could have ended with friendship and an understanding of their incompatibility, and they would have just gone on with their separate lives and there wouldn’t have been this..distress on her part, this perverting of her own desires.



Author's Response: I do feel sorry for Nerdanel because this whole thing wasn


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:30 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~
Ah, I feel sad knowing time is already running out for these two.

F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:15 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~
I am conflicted! I can't work F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:07 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~
I was going to comment about Anair


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 0:15 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
I have embarked upon your stories. I was unsure where to start so picked this one because you said. Chronologically it was first but also Encairion has me longing for more Feanor and Fingolfin and oh, this didn't disappoint! So Hot. They are an irresistible combination.

I see I will have to get to grips with all their alternative names. Because I have only just read the Silm and not many Silmarillion stories I really only know the Sindarin names and not all the others so sometimes keeping track of who was who was challenging!

I loved all of this. It has hooked me in already . I especially like the description of a sleeping F


Name: Thari (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2014 18:01 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
I’ve started to read Dark Prince some time ago but could not get into it. I felt it was a story, a universe I would love, but my mind just could not grasp it. Perhaps I was to occupied with other things and could not engage myself properly with it. But! ;-) I’m here again (also not lurking anymore) and picked “I Will Lead And Thou Shalt Follow” for a start.
It’s been a while since I’ve read the Silmarillion, and I’m just horrible in keeping up with all the names that come up in the story.
What I like most about your story: They challenge me in so many ways. My imagination runs wild with the pictures you create in my mind (“His mother called him Fn5;an


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:53 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~

Oh Feanor!  Yes, I love him, but I still do feel for Fingolfin reading this.  What I loved best about these chapters is how, in everything, Feanor was as intense as an inferno.  He consumed and ensnared everything he touched; his power of spirit came across so clearly and richly in these chapters.  He truly burned.

One thing I really noticed when reading this was your power of dialogue.  It snapped.  Just perfect, no limp drags, all passion so that I could really feel the characters coming through in those moments.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this again, and thank you for the rollercoaster ride :D



Author's Response: Feanor was as intense as an inferno. He consumed and ensnared everything he touched; his power of spirit came across so clearly and richly in these chapters. He truly burned.

Ah yes, well I feel he did, so I am glad it came across. Thank-you for reading again, Encairion :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:36 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~

Nolofinwë will be loyal to thee? Ay, perhaps, unless thou doth use him only. I see things, I am not blind, nor deaf not slow of wit. Thou doth charm him for thine own ends. And our uncle has fire also. He will resent being toyed with. For I think he can also hate and feel jealousy father.”

I am so used to seeing Fingolfin and Feanor interacting post-death and re-birth, it’s interesting to see how Feanor once denied loving Fingolfin –perhaps he didn’t realize it himself yet, the depth of his love?

Gods, this Feanor, he’s so magnificent yes, but also so rrrg!  I am feeling for Fingolfin here, I hate Feanor toying with him (even knowing Feanor does love him despite his words); still, Fingolfin is exactly as Maglor thought –equally capable of hatred and jealousy.  I know your Fenaor doesn’t regret, but I wonder, if he did, would he regret the way he held Fingolfin at arm’s length in Valinor? 

I’ve got some very conflicting feelings about Feanor after this chapter (which I love because you made me feel all this!).  He’s so determined to have Fingolfin ‘in his place’ and yet, how can he expect Fingolfin to react differently than he did to Feanor’s words?  Fingolfin has as much pride as he.

I don’t think this review is getting out how I feel properly, but I love all these conflicting emotions you’ve stirred in me, and I love reading these two together! 



Author's Response: F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~

Please, ignore that last pondering on my part. Yes, I do believe I have read this story before (but shall do so again since it's been a while :D )  I was confusing it with ~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ which I have not  read (but will!).  Sorry.



Author's Response: I will never ignore your pondering. I am trying to use 'Fragments' to go back an open out some of the time that F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:20 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~

Ah, I enjoyed reading in Valinor pre-Exile again :D  While everything is not perfect (especially with those damn controlling Valar) it is still wonderful to read everyone together, before death and war and curses fell upon them.  I love all the little power dynamics, and all the shadows in the supposedly land of Light.

he walked as if he were High King of all Arda.”

Lol, I love the confidence of your Feanor :D

Knowing what Varda did to Anairë and Nerdanel, makes me furious when I am reading this.  Seeing the hints of the women they had been before, when they were young, and seeing the cold shells they had become, especially Anairë who said such cruel words to Fingolfin, really hits home the crime Varda committed against the Noldor women.  I usually pay more attention to the men’s suffering because they were thrown into the Void after all, and that would be a horror immeasurable, and yet I wonder now which was worse: such a punishment, or to have your very self stolen from you and twisted into a frigid creature who hurts (and loses) the people who once loved you.

Wonderful writing as always :D  I shall enjoy reading this again (I think I read some of this before, years ago, when it was under another name?).



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2013 23:57 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~

Gosh, Feanor is just so exquisite!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 21, 2012 13:16 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
The intro to this story is brilliant - so powerful and so suggestive of what's to come. It was intriguing to see your F


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2012 16:07 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~
I'm always impressed by your writing, it's so vivid and charged with emotions. In a way it's a perfect companion to the Simarillion, where I find those same cauldron of emotions and colliding fates but in a very compressed style of writing. Your stories are much more detailed but in underlying them is this same sense of urgency, doom and spirit.
Even though I just wanted to take a small peak at this chapter I felt compelled to read it all - it's really great!
Tinara

Author's Response: Your stories are much more detailed but in underlying them is this same sense of urgency, doom and spirit.

Thank-you Tinara! I am so glad that does come across, as I did feel it. Tolkien 'told' us of the emotions, didn't 'show' us, which I tried to, although of course I had my own ideas of what lay under the canon events.
Thank-you so much!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2012 18:54 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~
It's such a clash of battling emotions reading about Feanor - and yet you manage to portray him as someone standing apart from common boundaries.
I like how you keep track of many different characters and their very own stories and struggles, it's amazing and it adds so much life and depth to this whole arch.
Though I was quite engrossed while reading, I happened to trip over this paragraph "Ofelmo, whom had served Laur


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2012 18:47 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
This is truly captivating - I'm very fascinated by your AU and your view on the Noldor and the Valar.
Your description of Feanor is so vivid and beautiful, I can easily see why his brother is so enthralled by him.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank-you again, Tinara. I am so pleased F


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 21:52 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~
ai, how you manage to bring the Finwions to life, with all thier complicated characters and unique personalities I don't know! Please update soon!!

Author's Response: Thank-you Caunedhiel. Oh, I love the Finwions; they are so fascinating, such irresistible story-meat. It always amazes me there are not vast epic series about them because they're so larger than life, and of course, so tragic.
This story is completed really. I must have forgotten to tick the box. The trouble is we all know what happens, and F


You must login () to review.