| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14502
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2015 23:45 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~

“That, and his dream of sons. No, not dream. Foresight. He had taken her willing body, and she got with child. So they had wed, and then came his dreamed-of sons. All of them he loved with a fierce passion; all of them he considered his son's.”

Oh, I like that he dreams of his boys and that was one of the main reasons he married her!  This I can so easily see :D

“"I am not past the age of such desires," he said through his teeth, and dragged his shirt over his head, ripping the fabric. He looked dangerous, wild and rich. Dishevelled hair rippled to his knees, jet over alabaster skin, perfectly formed sinew and bone, as if his spirit would settle for nothing less than to be clothed in perfection.”

Oh gosh, stop!  This is so hot, I always remember this moment, it is just so vivid, so sensual, and I wonder what would have happened if it had been Fingolfin sitting there and not Nerdanel :winks:

“Fëanor stared at her. "I am merely going to take a bath,” he said. “Manwë's hairless balls, woman!” (And that was blasphemy in itself). What is wrong with thee?"

The breath went out of her. She felt, suddenly embarrassed. "Didst thou ever love me at all?" she whispered. "Is love only ever bound up with desire in thee?"

His black brows rose. "Thou wert eager enough once. What has happened to thee? Thou didst look as if I meant to take thee by force, Did I ever?"”

Did you change any of this?  Well, I like it!  I can feel the tight hand of the Valar on the back of Nerdanel’s neck so clearly here, and I like Feanor’s reaction to her panic: “I am only taking a bath, what is wrong with you?” 

“She was a woman, and she knew this, and that it frustrated him, but he could alarm her in the bedroom, and even his gentlest lovemaking left her limp.”

Oh Feanor! Well, it should have been Fingolfin J

I do feel sorry for Nerdanel because this whole thing wasn’t her fault.  I mean, I don’t think they were ever right for each other, but if it hadn’t been for the Valar I think their marriage could have ended with friendship and an understanding of their incompatibility, and they would have just gone on with their separate lives and there wouldn’t have been this..distress on her part, this perverting of her own desires.



Author's Response: I do feel sorry for Nerdanel because this whole thing wasn


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:30 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~
Ah, I feel sad knowing time is already running out for these two.

F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:15 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~
I am conflicted! I can't work F


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 5:07 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~
I was going to comment about Anair


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2015 0:15 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
I have embarked upon your stories. I was unsure where to start so picked this one because you said. Chronologically it was first but also Encairion has me longing for more Feanor and Fingolfin and oh, this didn't disappoint! So Hot. They are an irresistible combination.

I see I will have to get to grips with all their alternative names. Because I have only just read the Silm and not many Silmarillion stories I really only know the Sindarin names and not all the others so sometimes keeping track of who was who was challenging!

I loved all of this. It has hooked me in already . I especially like the description of a sleeping F


Name: Thari (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2014 18:01 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
I’ve started to read Dark Prince some time ago but could not get into it. I felt it was a story, a universe I would love, but my mind just could not grasp it. Perhaps I was to occupied with other things and could not engage myself properly with it. But! ;-) I’m here again (also not lurking anymore) and picked “I Will Lead And Thou Shalt Follow” for a start.
It’s been a while since I’ve read the Silmarillion, and I’m just horrible in keeping up with all the names that come up in the story.
What I like most about your story: They challenge me in so many ways. My imagination runs wild with the pictures you create in my mind (“His mother called him Fn5;an


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:53 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~

Oh Feanor!  Yes, I love him, but I still do feel for Fingolfin reading this.  What I loved best about these chapters is how, in everything, Feanor was as intense as an inferno.  He consumed and ensnared everything he touched; his power of spirit came across so clearly and richly in these chapters.  He truly burned.

One thing I really noticed when reading this was your power of dialogue.  It snapped.  Just perfect, no limp drags, all passion so that I could really feel the characters coming through in those moments.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this again, and thank you for the rollercoaster ride :D



Author's Response: Feanor was as intense as an inferno. He consumed and ensnared everything he touched; his power of spirit came across so clearly and richly in these chapters. He truly burned.

Ah yes, well I feel he did, so I am glad it came across. Thank-you for reading again, Encairion :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:36 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~

Nolofinwë will be loyal to thee? Ay, perhaps, unless thou doth use him only. I see things, I am not blind, nor deaf not slow of wit. Thou doth charm him for thine own ends. And our uncle has fire also. He will resent being toyed with. For I think he can also hate and feel jealousy father.”

I am so used to seeing Fingolfin and Feanor interacting post-death and re-birth, it’s interesting to see how Feanor once denied loving Fingolfin –perhaps he didn’t realize it himself yet, the depth of his love?

Gods, this Feanor, he’s so magnificent yes, but also so rrrg!  I am feeling for Fingolfin here, I hate Feanor toying with him (even knowing Feanor does love him despite his words); still, Fingolfin is exactly as Maglor thought –equally capable of hatred and jealousy.  I know your Fenaor doesn’t regret, but I wonder, if he did, would he regret the way he held Fingolfin at arm’s length in Valinor? 

I’ve got some very conflicting feelings about Feanor after this chapter (which I love because you made me feel all this!).  He’s so determined to have Fingolfin ‘in his place’ and yet, how can he expect Fingolfin to react differently than he did to Feanor’s words?  Fingolfin has as much pride as he.

I don’t think this review is getting out how I feel properly, but I love all these conflicting emotions you’ve stirred in me, and I love reading these two together! 



Author's Response: F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 6:18 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~

Please, ignore that last pondering on my part. Yes, I do believe I have read this story before (but shall do so again since it's been a while :D )  I was confusing it with ~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ which I have not  read (but will!).  Sorry.



Author's Response: I will never ignore your pondering. I am trying to use 'Fragments' to go back an open out some of the time that F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:20 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~

Ah, I enjoyed reading in Valinor pre-Exile again :D  While everything is not perfect (especially with those damn controlling Valar) it is still wonderful to read everyone together, before death and war and curses fell upon them.  I love all the little power dynamics, and all the shadows in the supposedly land of Light.

he walked as if he were High King of all Arda.”

Lol, I love the confidence of your Feanor :D

Knowing what Varda did to Anairë and Nerdanel, makes me furious when I am reading this.  Seeing the hints of the women they had been before, when they were young, and seeing the cold shells they had become, especially Anairë who said such cruel words to Fingolfin, really hits home the crime Varda committed against the Noldor women.  I usually pay more attention to the men’s suffering because they were thrown into the Void after all, and that would be a horror immeasurable, and yet I wonder now which was worse: such a punishment, or to have your very self stolen from you and twisted into a frigid creature who hurts (and loses) the people who once loved you.

Wonderful writing as always :D  I shall enjoy reading this again (I think I read some of this before, years ago, when it was under another name?).



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2013 23:57 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~

Gosh, Feanor is just so exquisite!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 21, 2012 13:16 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
The intro to this story is brilliant - so powerful and so suggestive of what's to come. It was intriguing to see your F


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2012 16:07 · For: Chapter 3 ~ A Jealous Burning ~
I'm always impressed by your writing, it's so vivid and charged with emotions. In a way it's a perfect companion to the Simarillion, where I find those same cauldron of emotions and colliding fates but in a very compressed style of writing. Your stories are much more detailed but in underlying them is this same sense of urgency, doom and spirit.
Even though I just wanted to take a small peak at this chapter I felt compelled to read it all - it's really great!
Tinara

Author's Response: Your stories are much more detailed but in underlying them is this same sense of urgency, doom and spirit.

Thank-you Tinara! I am so glad that does come across, as I did feel it. Tolkien 'told' us of the emotions, didn't 'show' us, which I tried to, although of course I had my own ideas of what lay under the canon events.
Thank-you so much!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2012 18:54 · For: Chapter 2 ~ The Imprint Of Power ~
It's such a clash of battling emotions reading about Feanor - and yet you manage to portray him as someone standing apart from common boundaries.
I like how you keep track of many different characters and their very own stories and struggles, it's amazing and it adds so much life and depth to this whole arch.
Though I was quite engrossed while reading, I happened to trip over this paragraph "Ofelmo, whom had served Laur


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2012 18:47 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Flame Too Bright ~
This is truly captivating - I'm very fascinated by your AU and your view on the Noldor and the Valar.
Your description of Feanor is so vivid and beautiful, I can easily see why his brother is so enthralled by him.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank-you again, Tinara. I am so pleased F


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2011 21:52 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Follow Me! ~
ai, how you manage to bring the Finwions to life, with all thier complicated characters and unique personalities I don't know! Please update soon!!

Author's Response: Thank-you Caunedhiel. Oh, I love the Finwions; they are so fascinating, such irresistible story-meat. It always amazes me there are not vast epic series about them because they're so larger than life, and of course, so tragic.
This story is completed really. I must have forgotten to tick the box. The trouble is we all know what happens, and F


You must login () to review.