| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: EldarinPrincess (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2015 6:19 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely story. I love Thranduil's emotions here, as he tries to reach out to the trees as his folk do. I often wondered how in-tune with his forest home he really was, being Sindarin, but also having isolated himself from the world. I also wrote a story about how Legolas got his name, but yours is sweeter. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Eldarin Princess! I've always thought that Thranduil being king of the forest would give him a spiritual closeness to the trees, even though he wasn't born there. I love reading other people's interpretations, though. That's what's so great about fanfic.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1

Love this- the sweetness and the wonderful descriptions, that deeper connection. 



Author's Response:

Awww...thanks, Ziggy! I'm flattered that you not only read this again, but you reviewed again too.

And before you nag, I am working on a new fic, but v slowly. I've got various other major projects going on that look like dominating most of October. Now, when's your next chapter going to be ready? :D



Name: Laurelin (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2011 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
A sweet story about my beloved father/son pair! I just love that image of Thranduil with his young son in his arms, and the forest reaching out to help him choose a name. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad this tale meets with your approval, as I love the way you write Thranduil and Legolas.

Somehow, with a name like 'Greenleaf', I've always felt that Legolas was especially close to the forest.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Formegil (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:57 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful story! I love the way you describe the glade, I can vividly see the place and its beauty in my mind when reading. Also, the Elves are very elven-like. Very fitting that the Eldar, the people of stars, would regard as hallowed the only place nearby where they could both see the stars and delight in the beauty of nature. Lastly, the symbolism of the name is a great idea. It's just so readily apparent that Elves would appreciate the meaning.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you could picture the glade - I worked so hard to describe what I was seeing in my mind. When I was trying to imagine what kind of place a Wood-elf would find sacred, it struck me that it would have to be somewhere where they could see the stars as well as trees - hence the glade.

I'm glad you picked up on the symbolism of the name. I've always felt that Legolas was born when his people were recovering from Dagorlad, because the name Greenleaf suggests to me a time of renewal. I wanted to reflect that in this story.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:38 · For: Chapter 1
A lovely story. As I said once before I like how you describe the connection between the elves, Legolas especailly, with the trees. Named by the wood, it seems very fitting for your Legolas.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! Yes, I couldn't see Legolas getting his name any other way - my Legolas had to be named by the wood!

Thank you for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 10:20 · For: Chapter 1

Beautifully written as always. Love the many depths of this- so simply told but so much else going on .



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I've always felt Legolas' name was highly symbolic. I know a lot of people think of him as being very young for an Elf, but somehow with a name like Greenleaf, it makes sense to me that he was born when his people were still recovering from the losses at Dagorlad.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 6:48 · For: Chapter 1
Sniff sniff - I've got goosebumps. The beauty of the forest is so wonderfully portrayed, from the foaming hawthornes to the little birds I can see it all in the personal movie studio that plays in my brain when I read a story like this that makes me shiver and weep at the same time.

Your enumeration of the way Legolas received his name is absolute perfection. I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the description of the glade worked for you. I worked so hard to put down in writing what I could see in my mind!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 21:07 · For: Chapter 1
What a lovely story! It almost makes me wish that my society had a similar tradition. I thought you wrote it with the right kind of sentiment, the tenderness the king felt towards his son came through quite clearly.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad the king's tenderness came through. I always think of Thranduil as a loving father.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 6:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is a wonderful story. I believe that the official ceremony has already taken place and the next part will only be formalizing it for everyone else.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right - the most important part of the ceremony has been done now :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.