| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Faded Light: Book II by Elvenfixation Explicit
This is Book II of my LOTR series Faded Light. The story mostly takes place about a hundred years of so before the War...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8040
Word count: 24058306
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14367
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

elfscribe
08/24/17 12:05 am
Hi Glorfindel! Great to see you here. You were in London for the weekend? Excellent! Wish I were there too. I did get to see the total eclipse on Monday. Wonderful! Beautiful. Music of the spheres.
Glorfindel
08/22/17 07:17 pm
I spent the weekend in London - lunching at Camden Lock street food market and then onto London zoo. Didn't want to come jome!
Glorfindel
08/22/17 07:17 pm
So right, Ziggy lololol
Spiced Wine
08/18/17 01:04 pm
Happy Friday, everyone. Hope you have a lovely weekend. :)
ziggy
08/17/17 09:40 pm
They would just argue, Glorfindel!!
Glorfindel
08/16/17 06:40 pm
Good to be back Naledi :) All my characters would argue that they are as hot as Legolas lol
Naledi
08/15/17 10:31 pm
It's lovely to see you back, Glorfindel. Legolas may be mad, but compared to the rest of his family he's perfectly reasonable. And hot :)
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Naledi - I htink Legolas is mad; he hides it well though lol
Glorfindel
08/15/17 10:04 pm
Thanks Ziggy and Naledi - I am really happy you are enjoying it. I am hoping to write more frequently - gone are the days when I had lots of time.
Naledi
08/15/17 09:09 am
Yes, it's great to see them back. They're all barking mad. Except gorgeous Legolas, of course.
Shout Archive



Name: EldarinPrincess (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2015 6:19 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely story. I love Thranduil's emotions here, as he tries to reach out to the trees as his folk do. I often wondered how in-tune with his forest home he really was, being Sindarin, but also having isolated himself from the world. I also wrote a story about how Legolas got his name, but yours is sweeter. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Eldarin Princess! I've always thought that Thranduil being king of the forest would give him a spiritual closeness to the trees, even though he wasn't born there. I love reading other people's interpretations, though. That's what's so great about fanfic.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1

Love this- the sweetness and the wonderful descriptions, that deeper connection. 



Author's Response:

Awww...thanks, Ziggy! I'm flattered that you not only read this again, but you reviewed again too.

And before you nag, I am working on a new fic, but v slowly. I've got various other major projects going on that look like dominating most of October. Now, when's your next chapter going to be ready? :D



Name: Laurelin (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2011 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
A sweet story about my beloved father/son pair! I just love that image of Thranduil with his young son in his arms, and the forest reaching out to help him choose a name. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad this tale meets with your approval, as I love the way you write Thranduil and Legolas.

Somehow, with a name like 'Greenleaf', I've always felt that Legolas was especially close to the forest.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Formegil (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:57 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful story! I love the way you describe the glade, I can vividly see the place and its beauty in my mind when reading. Also, the Elves are very elven-like. Very fitting that the Eldar, the people of stars, would regard as hallowed the only place nearby where they could both see the stars and delight in the beauty of nature. Lastly, the symbolism of the name is a great idea. It's just so readily apparent that Elves would appreciate the meaning.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you could picture the glade - I worked so hard to describe what I was seeing in my mind. When I was trying to imagine what kind of place a Wood-elf would find sacred, it struck me that it would have to be somewhere where they could see the stars as well as trees - hence the glade.

I'm glad you picked up on the symbolism of the name. I've always felt that Legolas was born when his people were recovering from Dagorlad, because the name Greenleaf suggests to me a time of renewal. I wanted to reflect that in this story.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:38 · For: Chapter 1
A lovely story. As I said once before I like how you describe the connection between the elves, Legolas especailly, with the trees. Named by the wood, it seems very fitting for your Legolas.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! Yes, I couldn't see Legolas getting his name any other way - my Legolas had to be named by the wood!

Thank you for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 10:20 · For: Chapter 1

Beautifully written as always. Love the many depths of this- so simply told but so much else going on .



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I've always felt Legolas' name was highly symbolic. I know a lot of people think of him as being very young for an Elf, but somehow with a name like Greenleaf, it makes sense to me that he was born when his people were still recovering from the losses at Dagorlad.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 6:48 · For: Chapter 1
Sniff sniff - I've got goosebumps. The beauty of the forest is so wonderfully portrayed, from the foaming hawthornes to the little birds I can see it all in the personal movie studio that plays in my brain when I read a story like this that makes me shiver and weep at the same time.

Your enumeration of the way Legolas received his name is absolute perfection. I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the description of the glade worked for you. I worked so hard to put down in writing what I could see in my mind!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 21:07 · For: Chapter 1
What a lovely story! It almost makes me wish that my society had a similar tradition. I thought you wrote it with the right kind of sentiment, the tenderness the king felt towards his son came through quite clearly.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad the king's tenderness came through. I always think of Thranduil as a loving father.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 6:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is a wonderful story. I believe that the official ceremony has already taken place and the next part will only be formalizing it for everyone else.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right - the most important part of the ceremony has been done now :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.