| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7982
Word count: 23749817
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14181
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/23/17 10:45 pm
Thank you and happy Friday :) I am going to buy a cheap laptop soon so I can write properly
Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Shout Archive



Name: EldarinPrincess (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2015 6:19 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely story. I love Thranduil's emotions here, as he tries to reach out to the trees as his folk do. I often wondered how in-tune with his forest home he really was, being Sindarin, but also having isolated himself from the world. I also wrote a story about how Legolas got his name, but yours is sweeter. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Eldarin Princess! I've always thought that Thranduil being king of the forest would give him a spiritual closeness to the trees, even though he wasn't born there. I love reading other people's interpretations, though. That's what's so great about fanfic.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1

Love this- the sweetness and the wonderful descriptions, that deeper connection. 



Author's Response:

Awww...thanks, Ziggy! I'm flattered that you not only read this again, but you reviewed again too.

And before you nag, I am working on a new fic, but v slowly. I've got various other major projects going on that look like dominating most of October. Now, when's your next chapter going to be ready? :D



Name: Laurelin (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2011 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
A sweet story about my beloved father/son pair! I just love that image of Thranduil with his young son in his arms, and the forest reaching out to help him choose a name. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad this tale meets with your approval, as I love the way you write Thranduil and Legolas.

Somehow, with a name like 'Greenleaf', I've always felt that Legolas was especially close to the forest.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Formegil (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:57 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful story! I love the way you describe the glade, I can vividly see the place and its beauty in my mind when reading. Also, the Elves are very elven-like. Very fitting that the Eldar, the people of stars, would regard as hallowed the only place nearby where they could both see the stars and delight in the beauty of nature. Lastly, the symbolism of the name is a great idea. It's just so readily apparent that Elves would appreciate the meaning.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you could picture the glade - I worked so hard to describe what I was seeing in my mind. When I was trying to imagine what kind of place a Wood-elf would find sacred, it struck me that it would have to be somewhere where they could see the stars as well as trees - hence the glade.

I'm glad you picked up on the symbolism of the name. I've always felt that Legolas was born when his people were recovering from Dagorlad, because the name Greenleaf suggests to me a time of renewal. I wanted to reflect that in this story.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:38 · For: Chapter 1
A lovely story. As I said once before I like how you describe the connection between the elves, Legolas especailly, with the trees. Named by the wood, it seems very fitting for your Legolas.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! Yes, I couldn't see Legolas getting his name any other way - my Legolas had to be named by the wood!

Thank you for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 10:20 · For: Chapter 1

Beautifully written as always. Love the many depths of this- so simply told but so much else going on .



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I've always felt Legolas' name was highly symbolic. I know a lot of people think of him as being very young for an Elf, but somehow with a name like Greenleaf, it makes sense to me that he was born when his people were still recovering from the losses at Dagorlad.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 6:48 · For: Chapter 1
Sniff sniff - I've got goosebumps. The beauty of the forest is so wonderfully portrayed, from the foaming hawthornes to the little birds I can see it all in the personal movie studio that plays in my brain when I read a story like this that makes me shiver and weep at the same time.

Your enumeration of the way Legolas received his name is absolute perfection. I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the description of the glade worked for you. I worked so hard to put down in writing what I could see in my mind!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 21:07 · For: Chapter 1
What a lovely story! It almost makes me wish that my society had a similar tradition. I thought you wrote it with the right kind of sentiment, the tenderness the king felt towards his son came through quite clearly.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad the king's tenderness came through. I always think of Thranduil as a loving father.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 6:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is a wonderful story. I believe that the official ceremony has already taken place and the next part will only be formalizing it for everyone else.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right - the most important part of the ceremony has been done now :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.