| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: EldarinPrincess (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2015 6:19 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely story. I love Thranduil's emotions here, as he tries to reach out to the trees as his folk do. I often wondered how in-tune with his forest home he really was, being Sindarin, but also having isolated himself from the world. I also wrote a story about how Legolas got his name, but yours is sweeter. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Eldarin Princess! I've always thought that Thranduil being king of the forest would give him a spiritual closeness to the trees, even though he wasn't born there. I love reading other people's interpretations, though. That's what's so great about fanfic.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1

Love this- the sweetness and the wonderful descriptions, that deeper connection. 



Author's Response:

Awww...thanks, Ziggy! I'm flattered that you not only read this again, but you reviewed again too.

And before you nag, I am working on a new fic, but v slowly. I've got various other major projects going on that look like dominating most of October. Now, when's your next chapter going to be ready? :D



Name: Laurelin (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2011 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
A sweet story about my beloved father/son pair! I just love that image of Thranduil with his young son in his arms, and the forest reaching out to help him choose a name. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad this tale meets with your approval, as I love the way you write Thranduil and Legolas.

Somehow, with a name like 'Greenleaf', I've always felt that Legolas was especially close to the forest.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Formegil (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:57 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful story! I love the way you describe the glade, I can vividly see the place and its beauty in my mind when reading. Also, the Elves are very elven-like. Very fitting that the Eldar, the people of stars, would regard as hallowed the only place nearby where they could both see the stars and delight in the beauty of nature. Lastly, the symbolism of the name is a great idea. It's just so readily apparent that Elves would appreciate the meaning.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you could picture the glade - I worked so hard to describe what I was seeing in my mind. When I was trying to imagine what kind of place a Wood-elf would find sacred, it struck me that it would have to be somewhere where they could see the stars as well as trees - hence the glade.

I'm glad you picked up on the symbolism of the name. I've always felt that Legolas was born when his people were recovering from Dagorlad, because the name Greenleaf suggests to me a time of renewal. I wanted to reflect that in this story.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:38 · For: Chapter 1
A lovely story. As I said once before I like how you describe the connection between the elves, Legolas especailly, with the trees. Named by the wood, it seems very fitting for your Legolas.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! Yes, I couldn't see Legolas getting his name any other way - my Legolas had to be named by the wood!

Thank you for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 10:20 · For: Chapter 1

Beautifully written as always. Love the many depths of this- so simply told but so much else going on .



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I've always felt Legolas' name was highly symbolic. I know a lot of people think of him as being very young for an Elf, but somehow with a name like Greenleaf, it makes sense to me that he was born when his people were still recovering from the losses at Dagorlad.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 6:48 · For: Chapter 1
Sniff sniff - I've got goosebumps. The beauty of the forest is so wonderfully portrayed, from the foaming hawthornes to the little birds I can see it all in the personal movie studio that plays in my brain when I read a story like this that makes me shiver and weep at the same time.

Your enumeration of the way Legolas received his name is absolute perfection. I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the description of the glade worked for you. I worked so hard to put down in writing what I could see in my mind!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 21:07 · For: Chapter 1
What a lovely story! It almost makes me wish that my society had a similar tradition. I thought you wrote it with the right kind of sentiment, the tenderness the king felt towards his son came through quite clearly.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad the king's tenderness came through. I always think of Thranduil as a loving father.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 6:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is a wonderful story. I believe that the official ceremony has already taken place and the next part will only be formalizing it for everyone else.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right - the most important part of the ceremony has been done now :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.