| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8199
Word count: 24672775
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14891
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
12/12/17 11:12 pm
Oh, ziggy, btw, are you happy with Friday or is Saturday easier for you? I can do either.
Narya
12/12/17 03:27 pm
Great pair of chapters, ziggy and cheeky! I'm so excited to see what happens next.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 02:12 pm
Ok Ziggy Thursday it is for me!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 10:28 am
I managed it :-) and even got the next chapter up early! Not my best, but it was a busy day. That's my excuse.
ziggy
12/12/17 07:26 am
@Cheekybeak- Haha! Serves you right for the last curved ball:D Nelya- yes, fine. You do Thursday, I'll find it easier doing Friday anyway.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 01:14 am
Ziggy do you have Thursday too? If not I can do Thursday instead of Friday if someone else wants to pick up Friday? Let me know!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 01:05 am
Oh, seriously, Ziggy?? What are you doing to me?! How do I follow that???
cheekybeak
12/12/17 12:58 am
Me!
ziggy
12/12/17 12:16 am
OK- sorry ! Who's next?
ziggy
12/11/17 10:41 pm
I am onto the next chapter but got home very late- apologies. Scribbling away as we speak (sort of)
Shout Archive



Name: EldarinPrincess (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2015 6:19 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely story. I love Thranduil's emotions here, as he tries to reach out to the trees as his folk do. I often wondered how in-tune with his forest home he really was, being Sindarin, but also having isolated himself from the world. I also wrote a story about how Legolas got his name, but yours is sweeter. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Eldarin Princess! I've always thought that Thranduil being king of the forest would give him a spiritual closeness to the trees, even though he wasn't born there. I love reading other people's interpretations, though. That's what's so great about fanfic.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1

Love this- the sweetness and the wonderful descriptions, that deeper connection. 



Author's Response:

Awww...thanks, Ziggy! I'm flattered that you not only read this again, but you reviewed again too.

And before you nag, I am working on a new fic, but v slowly. I've got various other major projects going on that look like dominating most of October. Now, when's your next chapter going to be ready? :D



Name: Laurelin (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2011 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
A sweet story about my beloved father/son pair! I just love that image of Thranduil with his young son in his arms, and the forest reaching out to help him choose a name. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad this tale meets with your approval, as I love the way you write Thranduil and Legolas.

Somehow, with a name like 'Greenleaf', I've always felt that Legolas was especially close to the forest.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Formegil (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:57 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful story! I love the way you describe the glade, I can vividly see the place and its beauty in my mind when reading. Also, the Elves are very elven-like. Very fitting that the Eldar, the people of stars, would regard as hallowed the only place nearby where they could both see the stars and delight in the beauty of nature. Lastly, the symbolism of the name is a great idea. It's just so readily apparent that Elves would appreciate the meaning.

Author's Response:

Oh thank you! I'm glad you could picture the glade - I worked so hard to describe what I was seeing in my mind. When I was trying to imagine what kind of place a Wood-elf would find sacred, it struck me that it would have to be somewhere where they could see the stars as well as trees - hence the glade.

I'm glad you picked up on the symbolism of the name. I've always felt that Legolas was born when his people were recovering from Dagorlad, because the name Greenleaf suggests to me a time of renewal. I wanted to reflect that in this story.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2011 16:38 · For: Chapter 1
A lovely story. As I said once before I like how you describe the connection between the elves, Legolas especailly, with the trees. Named by the wood, it seems very fitting for your Legolas.
Tinara

Author's Response:

Thanks, Tinara! Yes, I couldn't see Legolas getting his name any other way - my Legolas had to be named by the wood!

Thank you for reviewing :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 10:20 · For: Chapter 1

Beautifully written as always. Love the many depths of this- so simply told but so much else going on .



Author's Response:

Thanks, Ziggy! I've always felt Legolas' name was highly symbolic. I know a lot of people think of him as being very young for an Elf, but somehow with a name like Greenleaf, it makes sense to me that he was born when his people were still recovering from the losses at Dagorlad.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2011 6:48 · For: Chapter 1
Sniff sniff - I've got goosebumps. The beauty of the forest is so wonderfully portrayed, from the foaming hawthornes to the little birds I can see it all in the personal movie studio that plays in my brain when I read a story like this that makes me shiver and weep at the same time.

Your enumeration of the way Legolas received his name is absolute perfection. I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad the description of the glade worked for you. I worked so hard to put down in writing what I could see in my mind!

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 21:07 · For: Chapter 1
What a lovely story! It almost makes me wish that my society had a similar tradition. I thought you wrote it with the right kind of sentiment, the tenderness the king felt towards his son came through quite clearly.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad the king's tenderness came through. I always think of Thranduil as a loving father.

Thanks for reviewing :)



Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2011 6:01 · For: Chapter 1
This is a wonderful story. I believe that the official ceremony has already taken place and the next part will only be formalizing it for everyone else.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right - the most important part of the ceremony has been done now :)

Thanks for reviewing :)



You must login () to review.