| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance I by Encairion Explicit
A novella of the House of Finwë from the Darkening of Valinor through the end of the First Age. “Vengeance calls...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8015
Word count: 23948045
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14266
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/27/17 09:41 am
Oh, I am so very sorry to hear about Nightwing. One of the first stories I ever read, and she was also such a lovely person. :(
ziggy
07/26/17 11:37 pm
@Naledi, I left a review on To See A World on ffnet, just felt I had to mark her passing in some way.
Spiced Wine
07/26/17 07:57 pm
I hope you had a wonderful time, Alquien {{Hugs}}
Alquien
07/26/17 03:23 pm
Hi everyone! I'm back, and I had a great time! Now to unpack, nap and eat some more lol -- back eventually! ::hugs to all::
Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
Shout Archive



Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 20:43 · For: Chapter 73 ~ The Beginning ~

I finally managed to read the last chapters of this, it was almost too exciting to read, like a tv series with just a few episodes left and you want to know what will happen and yet you dont because you fear it will be something bad. But it was magnificent as always. I really loved the way you portrayed the transformation of Vanimore into a power and i like the way you describe the valar too. They do somehow remind me of medieval church leaders, completely absorbed by their own righteousness and completely unable to see things from other angles than their own, and terribly achingly afraid of loosing power or face. I will keep reading your work, i use it as a reward to myself, today i managed to finish 12 pages of my current novel, so i deserve it :) Your stories are among the best i have ever read, thanks for posting them !



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Nuredhel! I am so thrilled to know that you enjoyed the last chapters :) I love it when any-one reads and comments on my older works, as they're all tied in


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2016 22:41 · For: Chapter 67 ~ The Doom I Have Always Feared ~

This is addictive, i started reading and i didnt stop for over sixty chapters and was like "I have work tomorrow, got to go to bed, just one more chapter...." This is amazing, the dept of the emotions, the very layout of the story, the way it drags the reader in. Just stunning! You are able to create characters that has so many layers, that are beliveable and multi dimensional, that is quite rare. I have an idea for some fan art for this if it is okay, it has inspired me. I am going to read more tomorrow, so expect more reviews. I just hope i will be able to do some other stuff too beside reading your great story!



Author's Response: Oh, how very kind, Nuredhel :) I am so glad that you have found this interesting :) Thank you so much for letting me know; it made my day!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:16 · For: Chapter 73 ~ The Beginning ~
''Meluion...'' Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:10 · For: Chapter 72 ~ The Chosen ~
The King smiled and lifted a hand to the alabaster face gilded by morning light.

"Go well, then, with my love. And be careful."


I do enjoy your Thranduil. He is so warm and gentle with his son, and with Elgalad...so very unlike PJ's Thranduil in the Hobbit films :/ and of course there's all the wonderful, complex, angsty stuff with Bainalph still to be covered *sighs*

The palm of his hand was burned white, the facets of the jewels traced on it in silvery lines, flames danced over the patterns, white as ice.

Interesting that it burns Van and not Glorfindel; I never noticed that before.

Author's Response: I have always rather liked Thranduil, although I don't mind at all how he is portrayed, as long as the stories are good :) And PJ's Thranduil was certainly a stunner, of which I approve (there could be a whole film just about him really). But I do think he would have loved and been proud of his son. I know my 'other' Thranduil in the other series is different, but I like writing that too, as I can imagine him as being a basketful of angst, to be honest! Well, he is in this series, a bit, but not with legolas!

Yes, the Silmaril burns Van, but in fact, it's from where the Silmarils were 'hallowed' by Yavannah, and a'No mortal flesh, nor hands unclean, nor anything of evil will might touch them but it was scorched and withered.' This (in this AU) is why they burned Maglor and Maedhros. But as for Glorfindel, he'd already worn them - F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:01 · For: Chapter 71 ~ To The Edge Of The Sea ~
''For some reason I do believe that thou hast some sense of honor, Gorthaurion. Much as I wish there was no binding between us, there is. I will know how to find thee.'' He bowed formally. "And then it ends."

''Ah, Macalaur


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2015 1:03 · For: Chapter 69 ~ A Chance To Avenge ~
The uneasy partnership of Van and Maglor working together makes for a fascinating dynamic. I also really liked Elgalad's little moment of jealousy, when he goes barging into Maglor's room unannounced. I wonder what he'd have done if he *had* found Van there!?

Author's Response: I do love Van and Maglor together, I have to say. They probably comprehend one another in a way that Elgalad can't (or cannot yet at this age). Yes, I wonder what he would have done, too!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 20:13 · For: Chapter 66 ~ The Enemy Of Mine Enemy Is My Friend ~
A fitting but brutal punishment. I guess that's Van all over.

His little wink at Maglor is a great touch...I do feel sorry for Maglor, though!

Author's Response: Van can be very brutal - at times he can be very like Sauron, though he would probably not admit that.

I spend my whole life feeling sorry for Maglor :(


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:57 · For: Chapter 64 ~ The Wrath Of An Elf-lord ~
Ah, the game's afoot ;-) I forgot Maglor gains a canine friend! Love it.

Author's Response: Aww, I put the dog in because it would remind him of Huan :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:51 · For: Chapter 63 ~ Following A Dark Star ~
I enjoy reading Van giddy with freedom, although the contrast with the brutality of his time in Angband is stark and upsetting. And Maglor... *shakes head* will he never learn?!

Author's Response: And Maglor... *shakes head* will he never learn?!

Lol, dear Maglot - entrenched stubbornness.

I think Van was really a bit off the rails for a while, although he tried to keep himself under control. He wasn't being entirely logical going north, that is for sure, although he *had* to, so he was meant to, but if he had really had his head on straight he would have gone back to Mordor regardless.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:40 · For: Chapter 62 ~ The Chains That Bound Me ~
You describe the mixture of sorrow and joy in Sauron's defeat beautifully - and Elgalad's despair when he thinks Van is dead is gut wrenching. I'm glad you don't let him think that for too long ;-)

Author's Response: When I was writing this it had to feel - to every-one, I think - that Sauron was *really* gone forever, even though we know he's not.
No I couldn't let Elgalad feel that for ages; I thought it would be like when we see a bright flash that drowns out everything, and only after do we start to get our sight back. Initially it would have been like that to Elgalad - before he could sense Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:32 · For: Chapter 61 ~ Hope Under The Shadow ~
I do love that moment of connection with Legolas - and the nod to the film :-)

Author's Response: I had to have that bit - with the M


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:18 · For: Chapter 59 ~ Nothing Is Ever Forgotten ~
And now the pieces start to fall into place :-) this is such a satisfying read! And it's fun to re-read it knowing Magnificat...I like looking for the nods to things you will write later.

Author's Response: And now the pieces start to fall into place

At last - she says, who can't remember what she wrote d;-) I know it does take time. I am glad it's okay to read, not just a long bore!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 18:56 · For: Chapter 57 ~ Seek Thy Son ~
I love Maglor's encounter with Cob :-) it's like two different worlds staring at one another for the briefest of instants - something like us seeing a ghost, I imagine. And Maglor clenching his fist as he looks up at the evening star is a great touch.

Author's Response: Wow, I forget I wrote that part with Cob, sometimes. I had to have Maglor cross through the Shire as it was a direct route from where he was on the coast of Lindon, but I never dreamed of writing a Hobbit! I am glad you enjoyed it Narya. (I keep thinking all these reviews popping up are spambots, lol. I am glad they're not).


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 9:00 · For: Chapter 55 ~ Memories Of Fire ~
*Shivers* I love your descriptions of the Barrow-downs. It reminds me of old Anglo-Saxon poetry. And it's interesting to see the perspective of those who stayed in Imladris through the Quest - although the flashback to Glorfindel'sdeath is heartbreaking.

What's your take on Tom Bombadil? What do you think he is? It was always something my family and I would get into heated discussions about :-)

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the Barrow Downs description - I could imagine such a place clearly as I live near the Berkshire Downs.

Hmm Tom Bombadil; honestly, many different ideas have come into my head as to whom he is, and I am still unsure.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 8:47 · For: Chapter 54 ~ The Edge Of Doom ~
I love the image of Glorfindel and Tindomion dropping out of the window to go sneaking around Bree :-D and also, the man telling them to p*** off...I nearly died!

The contrast between that escapade and the elegiac sadness at the end of the chapter is so striking. A lovely chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, Narya, I am so glad you enjoyed it :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 8:31 · For: Chapter 53 ~ The Final Warning ~
Your logic makes more sense than Tolkien's as to why Glorfindel didn't go on the Quest - he could totally have stormed the Dark Tower! ;) and I'm guessing Istelion is one of the few in Imladris who 'can ride openly against the Nine'?

Also, why doesn't Arwen like him? Is it his bloodline?

Author's Response: I could never see why Glofindel wasn't on the quest unless he would be more of a danger than an asset. I could imagine Sauron having this tracking device like in 'Aliens' that shows when something is within range, and Glorfindel's presence would appear as a 'Ping!Ping!Ping!' on the radar, lol.

Yes, Glorfindel can ride openly against the Nine. Ziggy wrote Tind


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 22:17 · For: Chapter 51 ~ Hallowed Ground ~
Oh, Elgalad :-( the fact that Malthador would do that to him just when Elgalad had decided to speak up for him and mitigate his punishment is awful - yet Malthador never comes across as a mad villain. There's a twisted logic to it which makes it all the more upsetting.

Author's Response: I don't think Malthador is mad, though he is twisted. He has a lot of problems, which does not in the least excuse his actions but I think makes them logical from his own point of view, anyway


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 22:03 · For: Chapter 48 ~ No Haven From Hate ~
I never realised the Elves make their bow strings with hair from their head! I suppose it makes sense though; it would make their weapon even more a part of them.

"I will not eat thee"... LOL :-)

Author's Response: I think that it says when the Fellowship are being given their gifts in L


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 21:53 · For: Chapter 47 ~ A Bitter Winter ~
Elgalad's slow decline as the wounds take their toll is so very sad.

I love your descriptions of the spider attack...they're creepy enough to get my skin crawling, but there's also a strange kind of beauty to it, like arty gothic horror.

Author's Response: there's also a strange kind of beauty to it, like arty gothic horror.

Oooh! Thank you. Gosh, I hate spiders, but somehow ones big enough to stick with a sword are less nerve-wracking to me than ones you get in the house


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 21:44 · For: Chapter 46 ~ Testing Of Endurance ~
Poor Elgalad, thinking that Van would have been ashamed of him if he had been a healer or a scribe! :-(

Author's Response: Yes :( I suppose that's logical to him, though -- Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 8:19 · For: Chapter 44 ~ The Seed of Suspicion ~
Oh, I forgot that this is what tipped Malthador over the edge into cruelty towards Elgalad.

Do you think you'll wrote about Elgalad's time in Mirkwood one day? It would be really interesting to hear more about your Woodland Elves.

Author's Response: Yes, I do intend to write about Elgalad's life in Mirkwood, :) he was there quite a long time, after all


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 8:01 · For: Chapter 42 ~ Twisted Images ~
Elgalad's memories of being a child with Van are so sweet...I love the description of the wild boar and apples. And that moment when they see each other again is gorgeous, and then Sauron rips through it all :-( what a roller coaster of a chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, Narya - it was certainly a reunion that got ripped to shreds :(


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2015 23:30 · For: Chapter 40 ~ Under Green Leaves And Shadowed Halls ~
When the Sindar refer to kinslayers, do they mean Finweions specifically? Why would Thranduil assume Van was a kinslayer - because he wouldn't enter the realm? Just curious!

I like that you bring out how Van had to struggle with Sauron throughout his guardianship of Elgalad - the fact that he was able to resist shows how powerful he really is, even at this point. No wonder Sauron got snarky...if I were him I'd have been worried!

Author's Response: I think Thranduil assumed he was some 'wandering' Noldo, and since the remaining Noldo were accounted for (mostly in Imladris at this time, a few in Lothl


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2015 23:21 · For: Chapter 39 ~ Elgalad Meluion ~
Oh, I do love the friendship between Elgalad and Legolas :-D Elgalad deserves it after the time he's been having! Although Malta Dorset makes my skin crawl.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2015 23:14 · For: Chapter 37 ~ A Prince's Debt ~
So when you say you haven't really written it yet, is this what's starting to come into play in Magnificat? Or will it be in Dark Prince V (I seem to remember there was part of a fifth story in this series posted at one point - or did I dream that!)?

Author's Response: It's not really written yet, although the idea has been around for years and I think there are hints in Magnificat III. But my readers just have to be patient, as some things are not always explained straight away :)


You must login () to review.