| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
What is Lost by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Maedhros and Maglor in the immediate aftermath of the Nirnaeth Arnoediad. Flashbacks to Tirion. Maedhros and Fingon first...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1571
Chapters: 8077
Word count: 24236704
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14502
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2016 7:39 · For: Chapter 3 ~ Clash Of Minds ~
Hello
I have been seeing updates of the following book in this series and read a little. It was so good I thought I had better start at the beginning. I have read 3 chapters non-stop and have to tell you this is amazing! It's really hard to stop reading. Your imagination and imagery just sweep me up into the tale. Thank you so much for this! I can't wait to get back to it...don't you love it when you find a good story and are savoring it - trying not to read too much too soon, trying to think of other things you should really be doing before reading too greedily and gobbling it up and then having nothing left. Well, that's what I am trying to do, but without much success. Thank you again for this wonderful new world!

Author's Response: Oh, Jules, you made my day with this review. Thank you so much. I'm so glad that you've been enjoying it. :) And yes, I do know exactly what you mean about finding a story you just can't stop reading. I love that! I do hope that you continue to like it.
Again, thank you so much!


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2014 3:30 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Through Tears And Firelit Dreams ~

A very beautiful bathing scene, and more revelations about Legolas' life, and Vanimóres character. I like Tanout very much. And such a sweet experience for Legolas to make!



Author's Response: I am glad you liked it. Tanout is one of certain people that Vanim


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2014 3:26 · For: Chapter 3 ~ Clash Of Minds ~

I love the colourful depiction you bring Szrel Kain so nicely alive with, and all the details you worked in.

The light you are shedding on Glorfindel is not positive at all, and I find this also more and more fascinating. What you let on about why he has become what and who he is is making me truly curious, but also sounds very believable so far (I'm speaking here from all the chapters already read, much further than chap. 3). Interesting that he and Vanimóre can speak mind-to-mind, and also that they have a common story.

I'm really relieved, by the way, that Thranduil is not going to be cruel - I had feared this a bit. Incredibly wounded sounds horrible, and I'm already looking forward to finding out more about this.

This is also something I enjoy immensely, and find it so well done in this story: the slow disclosure of the motivations and backround of the charcters, the secrets and dark places hinted at, unveiling ever so slowly, and creating layer upon layer to form such a richness and depth.



Author's Response: I never thought Thranduil was cruel, rather some-one who is so terribly wounded himself that he did something awful that he then regretted, but we find out more about that later and in the nest story.

Also yes, Glorfindel is really the villain here. It was something that really intrigued me about Esteliel's work, that Glorfindel, such a hero, should do something so dreadful, without sympathy or pity. He has to somehow be brought to admit and be ashamed of what he's done. He is not the man Vanim


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2014 2:27 · For: Chapter 2 ~ Caught In His Arms ~

High time to catch up with reviews, after having read over half of the story by now! It's so gripping I don't want to stop, and reading offline on an e-reader has the disadvantage of missing the usual review-breaks.
As I hoped I found my way around your 'verse and this part of it very quickly, and I'm now more eager than before to read more about Vanimórë's story.

Poor Legolas in this chapter! He must have been so desperate and alone. This made me so sad (in a delightful, hurt/comforty way, and also looking foward that things were going to become better for him ;o) ):

“Yes, I think he will,” Elrond sounded distant. “It seems no-one cared for Legolas Thranduilion.” He looked up suddenly and his grey eyes were hard. “And now, no-one ever will.”

How good to know he has been found, and is secure with Vanimórë! It is my first contact with your character, and he's really intriguing me. And how good Vanimórë is such an integer character, not exploiting Legolas in any way, as doubtlessly many would have, but making his well-being his goal and duty.

 



Author's Response: Thank you very much for finding time to comment, Winterwitch. I thought it might be hard, coming into a story with a character like Vanim


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2014 1:40 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Fractured Heart ~

This is really challenging me as a reader, in a very good way! :o) I started with the second part first after your mentioning of Thranduil in the shoutbox, but found that I knew too little about your 'verse, so went back for this. There are still many things leaving me wondering, but everything important for now is well explained within the text, and the rest will probably come, or I'll ask you.
It's challenging insofar as your 'verse is a complete and true Alternate Universe for me: a large part of my headcanon has to be put aside, and for some beloved characters I have to be very brave to read them like this. (Please take these statements with a pinch of salt, ok? ;o) )

Leaving that aside, it is absolutely fascinating, and works truly well within this universe. I much enjoyed my first contact with Vanimór and everything I read so far about the unknown-to-me parts and cultures of Middle-earth. Well-rounded even in this first chapter, nicely varied and colourful, and very plausible. And it doesn' matter  (yet) why Legolas has been banned and suffes so badly (I'm going to read Ethuil'waew soon to help me out with that if possible), but it's such a delight to read for my hurt/comfort loving heart. Poor him! And happy me, because it looks like I'm going to find a lot of my favourite story elements here. ♥
I'm looking forward to learn more about Legolas's siblings - and, of course, his father ;o) - and am so curious about how you're showing Elrond and Imladris.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for your comments, Winterwitch.
This story would be pretty hard for people to get into, and who did not know Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2014 0:57 · For: Chapter 29 ~ Shadows In The Halls Of Memory ~
How interesting. Once Legolas got over his first reaction, the fact that Vanimore is slave of Sauron is actually potentially helping him to see that there is worth to himself. Very good! I do not like those wolves though. And now the King has also disappeared? Wish I knew what he was thinking! You left this story with quite a cliff hanger! I need to go cook dinner, but you can count on me reading Far Fierce Sky next! Thank you!

Author's Response: Once Legolas got over his first reaction, the fact that Vanimore is slave of Sauron is actually potentially helping him to see that there is worth to himself.

Although Van sees no worth in himself, unless maybe it is as a soldier, yes his situation is making Legolas think.

I hope you enjoy AFF if you have time - and thank-you for re-reading and commenting on this one :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 20:44 · For: Chapter 28 ~ The Bitter And The Beautiful ~
Poor Maglor! That was one rude awakening... And Sauron observing the whole thing, getting stronger bij the minute... I do not like what he is planning! You have me once more completely wrapped in the story, and I have to go get kids from school soon. Dilemma, dilemma, do I wait for the last chapter of this story, or do I risk going to school too late? LOL

Author's Response: Lol, no go to school - that is very important. The story will still be here when you are free again. And thank-you so much for your continued interest :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 20:20 · For: Chapter 27 ~ The Scent Of Sandalwood ~
And Legolas turns into the caretaker for a moment, no doubt a foreshadowing of what he will be later. It amuses me that neither Vanimore nor Sauron saw this coming. lol Now, you have me curious, who is it Legolas must find? Himself? I will read on.

Author's Response: Actually - that question is still somewhat mysterious in A Far, Fierce Sky :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 18:33 · For: Chapter 26 ~ Elusive Understandings ~
Celeirdur is learning a lot of things quickly, is he not? And I think Dana would absolutely appreciate Red Harvest as much as her Earthwife.
I bet it upset Celeirdur that he had to steal away from the palace like a thief, but I think it might have raised his standing with Bainalph just a little. I know that slowly Celeirdur is coming out of the shadow of being son of Thranduil, and becoming his own, a brother who loves Legolas despite the clear disapproval of their father. Love the chapter, gives a nice insight in who these two are, and where they are emotionally.

Author's Response: I know that slowly Celeirdur is coming out of the shadow of being son of Thranduil, and becoming his own, a brother who loves Legolas despite the clear disapproval of their father. Love the chapter, gives a nice insight in who these two are, and where they are emotionally.

I think he, being so much older than Legolas, was fond of him, but really did not give him much thought :. And now he knows he should have - that they all should have. Thank-you again!!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 17:00 · For: Chapter 25 ~ South Away ~
I think Tanout will be good for Shemar. And Bainalph leaving his people like that. I suppose he did not have much of a choice, as they would likely want to accompany him, but still.
I should go sweep the kitchen now... Did I tell you these stories of yours are addictive? I am trying to convince my self one more chapter would be okay, that I could sweep after.... ;)

Author's Response: Bainalph had made arrangements for if he did not come back - I imagine he had long given that some thought as he wont have heirs to pass Alphgarth on to.

Coincidentally, I also have to sweep the floor! You just reminded me :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 16:39 · For: Chapter 24 ~ The King's Pleasure ~
Wonderful, hot chapter! I hope Bainalph is right, and Thranduil will think on it. Bainalph is such a wonderful character, so very opposite of all the dominant princes and kings. Yet not in any way shape or form does he have the debilitating insecurity that Legolas has. He really is a full blown counterpart, knows what he wants, and knows his own worth. Awesome!

I hope the doctor visit was nothing serious, and I am glad my reviews could cheer you up.

Author's Response: I also love Bainalph for those reasons; he embraced what he was and without shame - Legolas really should know him at some point, and learn from him.

Oh, no - nothing serious: asthma check! Thank-you :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 4:20 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Sea Change ~
I love Tindomion, have I mentioned that before? :) I don’t know what he is going to do when he discovers Maglor with Vanimore, but he certainly is an ethical soundboard for him at this moment. And Glorfindel is just plain not understanding, LOVE IT! Faerboth is obviously something special, and obviously there has to be an explanation as to why it was possible. Because I am certain Vanimore did not cause it, may not even have any knowledge of what actually happened. How did Glorfindel manage to try to contact Legolas right when he was in the middle of sex? LOL Glorfindel would have scared the wits out of him regardless of when he contacted poor Legolas, but in the middle of that? Very inconsiderate... :D

Author's Response: Thank-you for loving Tind


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2014 2:25 · For: Chapter 22 ~ The Storm And The Swan ~
You writing Vanimore is absolutely not a waste of time! I absolutely love him, and have trouble staying away from the stories, even if I know there are no new chapters, even if I have already read them! I am going to re-read the Dark Prince Series, especially Dark God, hoping that you have added a new chapter in the last year or so that I simply did not have time for anything. But even if not, I wil re-read, simply because I love the story, and like a wonderful worn book, I just have to come back to it again and again. Knowing you appreciate the reviews, I am likely to inundate you with them as well! :D

This chapter is such a wonderful insight in Celeirdur, and Bainalph, it is just amazing! The contradiction of what is thought of the ability of men to bear children, depending on who sees, how the lore was passed down, it is very well written. Whether something is a gift or a curse, it all depends on how you accept it, what you feel it means.

Author's Response: Bless you, Mindirith. I am afraid I have not added anything new to Dark God - anything new is probably in Fragments of Fate and Fire, which are one-shots from within the stories.

I think Legolas' 'gift' here might have been accepted had his brother not died because of it. But of course you are right; it is how a person sees it that matters.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2014 20:59 · For: Chapter 21 ~
Lovely chapter. Your stories are as bad as an addiction! I just had to read another chapter as my daughters were blessedly taking a nap. Interesting, the way Glorfindel was reaching out to Legolas, and Vanimore was with Maglor in that darkness. No wonder Legolas felt like he had had all three of them, in a way he did! I love the picture you included here. The hair in your stories always makes me a bit envious. While I have long hair (below the waist) I can not touch on what you describe!

Author's Response: You don't know how thrilled I am that you think the stories are addictive. I've been writing Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2014 16:39 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Wounded Hawks ~
What a delicious chapter. Glorfindel now getting all kinds of surprises, Sauron serving Vanimore, and getting stronger quickly because of it, and Legolas and Maglor, poor Legolas, so afraid still... *“He did not send you...to tell me I am...that I was not wanted any-more?”* Somehow Van does not seem like the kind of guy who would send another with such a message... lol

Author's Response: No, no definitely Van would never send another person with any kind of message, but Legolas' self-esteem is so comprehensively wrecked that he still can't really believe any-one would care for him, poor thing. Thank-you, Mindirith :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2014 5:09 · For: Chapter 19 ~ Dawning ~
Aftermath of the war/fight. I thought this was again a powerful chapter. Lots of character development. Poor Shemar, being completely taken out of his world, probably the only world he really remembers, and now the Mother, the only one he probably feels any connection to, tells him he should go somewhere else then she is... He must feel so alone and lost. Perfect partner for Legolas! Last chapter for tonight. Tomorrow I guess I have to do some chores.... But I am coming back, and will read the rest! I want to know what else happened, you (again) have me totally hooked!

Author's Response: At least Shemar will live now, and have a chance to grow and be something else, although he must feel very alone now, yes. And thank-you for such consistent reading; I wrote this a while back so it is really good to know it can still entertain some-one :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2014 3:49 · For: Chapter 18 ~ Beyond What We Know Of Ourselves ~
Your responses make it so much more fun to review, to know it is truly appreciated. Very good, action packed chapter, this. Too bad Legolas' stab did not actually kill the madman. I hope the fact that he had to defend himself won't hurt his spirit too much. And Vanimore just had to saddle himself with even more refugees.... LOL Thanks!

Author's Response: Actually, I think Legolas' blow would have killed the man, he was just high as a kite and like a berserker, he was ignoring his wounds. But it is beginning - Legolas learning to become the warrior he must be to become ne of the Fellowship - even if that time is far away.

Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 21:18 · For: Chapter 17 ~ Through The Darkness, Light And Shadow ~
Such a violence filled chapter! Van could never leave those in peril behind, if he remotely could help it, could he? And what of Sauron, clearly still hidden by the Mother, is he going to regain his strength faster by being close to Vanimore? Or is he just seeing how well he can hide himself, or so he thinks?

Author's Response: No, Van would never leave any-one behind; it goes completely against the grain for him.

And what of Sauron, clearly still hidden by the Mother, is he going to regain his strength faster by being close to Vanimore? Or is he just seeing how well he can hide himself, or so he thinks?

I am afraid you will have to read on to find out! L( And thank-you - it is lovely to receive reviews for older works as well as newer ones :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 20:20 · For: Chapter 16 ~ Ashes Of Memory, Fires of Pain ~
Finally they leave! And Tindomion, delightful. I guess I am a little slow, but I realized Tindomion and Vanimore are in many ways the same, in very different situations. But it is good to know Legolas wil have an alternative.

Author's Response: No, you're not slow :) There are similarities between them, but Tind


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 20:00 · For: Chapter 15 ~ The Webs Of The Goddess ~
Poor Shemar! All those blasted priests and their sacrifices, and it doesn't even do their god any good! You write the evil ones so well, so repulsive.

Author's Response: Well, I think Sauron has exactly the same view as you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 19:36 · For: Chapter 14 ~ The Mist ~
I had forgotten how Maglor joined the party! Dana, she is so far removed from being human, very well written. Her struggles to understand humanity, in all its forms, very nicely done. The only thing I do not understand is: * The hot garden vanished under the inimical beauty of Sauron's face. * Was Sauron watching the garden while Vanimore uncovered Maglor, or should that have been Maglor's face? Thanks!

Author's Response: Well, Dana isn't human, but she does try to be :) And still, she sees the big picture, most of the time, which is why she so rarely gets involved.

Was Sauron watching the garden while Vanimore uncovered Maglor, or should that have been Maglor's face? Thanks!

Oh, no that was a memory from Dark Prince, when Sauron captured Maglor and told Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 18:22 · For: Chapter 13 ~ Ribbons Of Dark And Light ~
Rats, I wanted to get the chapter over with, but this is not it! LOL I love how insecure Legolas is getting some confidence here, and can show what he can do with a sling. I love: *“I suppose I shall have to replace it,” Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 18:01 · For: Chapter 12 ~ What Lies Behind The Eyes? ~
Going from chapters I love to ones I am much less fond of, and yet I can not skip them. I mean, I love the scene with Glorfindel and Tindomion, love how Tindomion sees through Glorfindel, and naturally despises what he did. I love how Glorfindel seems to be the only one no being able to see what he has done, how he keeps convincing himself that Legolas was just another willing lover.
I do absolutely hate what is going to happen to Nhidan, the poor guy has hardly had any time to enjoy his new life! The curse of re-reading...

Author's Response: Aww, I am sorry you don't like it much. Swings and roundabouts, I suppose!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 17:40 · For: Chapter 11 ~ The Glass Begins To Shatter ~
How well you write tension... My whole being wants to tell Van to leave town. And Sauron, I wish I could somehow expose him! You are a great author.

Author's Response: Oh, thank-you, thank-you so much for those kind words!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 02, 2014 17:11 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Chasms Of Darkness And Doubt ~
Nope, I am not a spam bot. :) Though apparently I can generate equally well if I want to. LOL I had a somewhat rough day, and was relaxing with this awesome story.
Tindomion is soo well written, I absolutely love his astuteness, his vulnerability, his strength. And Vanimore is such an oxymoron, so dark, and yet soo much more caring then Glorfindel at the moment. (Today has not started much better, despite a night with dreams about Legolas and Vanimore.... Be prepared for more reviews! :D )

Author's Response: I am really sorry you had a rough day. I hope this one does get better for you, Mindirith!

Thank-you :) I am so glad you like Tind


You must login () to review.