| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...
When Death Kneels by astorey_91 Explicit
When Lord Namo leaves his position as Doomsman, and travels to Angband to pledge his loyalty to its lord. (my dark!Namo AU)Also...
The Battle Under the Trees by ziggy General Audiences
It had begun with a distant tremor in the Earth. Breathless messengers arrived from the East Bight. Smoke in the South,’...
Seven Stars and Seven Stones by ziggy General Audiences
It should be the time of Peace and plenty, except there are bonfires on the Barrow Downs and strange happenings on Amon Sûl...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Akallabeth: A Space Opera by astorey_91 Explicit
The telling of the Downfall of Numenor, but in the style of a space opera.

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1836
Chapters: 9248
Word count: 28304172
Authors: 145
Reviews: 17151
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
07/31/20 11:30 pm
Thanks Spiced:) Have a lovely weekend:)
Spiced Wine
07/31/20 09:52 am
Happy Friday :)
Spiced Wine
07/28/20 04:45 pm
No problem, Ziggy :) Lovely to see your stories and updates
ziggy
07/28/20 01:24 pm
:) Love you, Naledi.
Naledi
07/28/20 12:01 pm
No complaint from me, Ziggy. I did a little dance of joy when I saw two posts from you!
ziggy
07/28/20 11:54 am
Sorry everyone- posted two stories in succession, forgot about the rules about not posting too often. Hope no one minds this one-off.x
Spiced Wine
07/17/20 09:44 am
Happy Friday everyone. Keep safe and well :)
Formegil
07/13/20 02:07 pm
Hi, Karlmir! How are you? Yeah, I got some new ideas and you know what it means - the itch to write goes away only by typing :D Also, maybe I will rewrite one or two of my earliesr fics.
Karlmir Stonewain
07/13/20 01:07 pm
Hi, Formegil! Nice to see you active again.
Formegil
07/13/20 08:36 am
Welcome, Caranor!
Shout Archive



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 14:55 · For: Chapter 5
I love the way you weave Tolkiens lore so effortlessly into your stories yet keep them very much your own.
This chapter is filled with hints of the many intricate layers you always manage to fill you stories with and I am so looking forward to the ride.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 12:29 · For: Chapter 5

Interesting that Frodo seems to have a lingering sensitivity to his surroundings thanks to his possession of the ring. What happened to Pippin was seriously creepy. I'm curious who they are going to look for in Bree. One of the Rangers? Butterburr?

I really want to know what's going on between Elrohir and Baranor.Those two definitely have a past!

Great chapter, Ziggy. I can't wait for more!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2020 19:32 · For: Chapter 4The Open Road

Ooh what’s happening to Merry? That was a really chilling end to the chapter. 

Legolas describing Sulis was hilarious. Talk about the pot calling the kettle black! I had to admire his masterful handling of the horses but I hope they don’t regret getting rid of the Rangers. 

By the way, I think I might make a better buxom barmaid in Bree than a Hobbit ;)



Author's Response:

Good- glad it was chilling:)No spoilers even though you are a shocking whiner:) Sulis is in the last few chapters of Legolas in Esgaroth and has become a bit like Anglach (sniff). Regret getting rid of the Rangers?? But that would imply they get into trouble somehow?? Surely not!!

Ah- Bree is it- if they get there:)



Author's Response:

Good- glad it was chilling:)No spoilers even though you are a shocking whiner:) Sulis is in the last few chapters of Legolas in Esgaroth and has become a bit like Anglach (sniff). Regret getting rid of the Rangers?? But that would imply they get into trouble somehow?? Surely not!!

Ah- Bree is it- if they get there:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2020 11:36 · For: Chapter 3 Journey's Beginnings

How did I miss this? Still, it’s the perfect read for a Sunday morning. 

There’s a wonderful sense of foreboding in the Shire scene. I have a horrible feeling things are going to get really creepy for the poor hobbits. Thank goodness the cats are safe for now. I got quite worried about Gloin. I loved the mention of Goldberry’s brooch and the knives Bombadil rescued from the barrow. It’s clear Tolkien knew their stories and I was always frustrated that he alluded to them without giving more detail. Are you going to include their histories?

The scene with Legolas was brilliant. Of course everyone fancies him! I had to laugh at the chaos he caused! He’s quite right too - they are bound to need rescuing sooner or later!



Author's Response:

So glad it was a nice Sunday morning read:) Yes- things are not quite as idyllic in The Shire as one would hope and Merry is still missing. Ha- you aren't the only reader who was worried aobut Gloin! I am pelased you picked out thse references- one of the great things about Tolkien ishow he gives his world depth and history- it is what makes it so compelling and real. I remember wondering whose that brooch was and I have a backstory for the knives:) 

We are madly in love with Legolas so it seems prefectly natural that they would all fall over themselves- as we would!!  How can I write you into this again??? Maybe you are a Hobbit-maid this time? x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2020 15:45 · For: Chapter 3 Journey's Beginnings

I love the thought of Frodo sitting and writing in the Red Book :) 


But Legolas, oh no, what can Elrohir be doing that doesn't include him? And Merry still missing! :( 



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the Red Book- I faffed about with the narrator for a bit which is why it took so long to post- and oh yes, Elrohir is off doing something and Aragorn knows, and Merry IS missing indeed;) Next chapter's nearly done so it should crack on a bit now. The next one is a bit more scene setting but ..ah the temptation!!



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2020 10:46 · For: Chapter 2 Wedded Bliss
I love the interactions between these two. To see them happy, I could just read about their marital bliss. But I also love the antics that the former members of the fellowship! Of course Legolas brings the mischief. I look forward to what happens next!

Author's Response:

Oh, so sorry I missed this fadesintothewest! I think my alerts don't come through from Faerie anymore. Glad you enjoyed their marital bliss- they make me smile they are so infatuated with each other. If only it were the same between Legolas and Elrohir- very different!!



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2020 10:46 · For: Chapter 2 Wedded Bliss
I love the interactions between these two. To see them happy, I could just read about their marital bliss. But I also love the antics that the former members of the fellowship! Of course Legolas brings the mischief. I look forward to what happens next!

Author's Response:

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed this calm before the storm:D Yep-Legolas on his cheery way to create havoc!



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: June 13, 2020 10:39 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
Of course the Barrow Downs! Oh this is perfect Ziggy. There are older and fouler things! Yikes. The sound of small pebbles, foot scuffling. Poor Merry!!!

Author's Response:

Thank you fadesintothewest! Yes-I have been thinking about the Barrow Downs-[ like Stonehenge and Avebury, who were those kings and chiefs? They are unquiet souls who were not ruled by Sauron-[ so have a story to tell. And there are SO mnay loose ends after LOTR!! Yep- poor Merry- I'm not quie sure what has happened to him yet though...



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2020 16:47 · For: Chapter 2 Wedded Bliss
A lovely little scene of domestic bliss. You are lulling us into a false sense of security I feel.

Author's Response:

Thank you Cassie- how did you know!!!!!



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2020 13:15 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

(I hope you don't mind if I'm reviewing here as well as on AO3 - AO3 is my main story playground, but I also can't not resond over here! ^^ )

This is such a great prologue. Sucking you in right away, and the suspense... poor Merry!



Author's Response:

Hello agian my dear Ysilme! Of course I don't mind- it's very lovely of you:D



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2020 11:12 · For: Chapter 2 Wedded Bliss

They are always either fighting or having wild, abandoned sex all over the place.

Lol! That sums up the Legolas/Elrohir relationship in one sentence! I'm intrigued about the last visit to Minas Tirith. I hope it involved something very bad happening to Imrahil! I love that Aragorn would drag Legolas all the way to Aglarond and back just so that Minas Tirith doesn't have to face Legolas without Gimli to manage him.

By the way, I love the picture of Arwen and Aragorn. It looks very much like Arwen is managing the kingdom while Aragorn plays with his maps and dreams of his days as a Ranger!



Author's Response:

haha- oh yeah! Oh- I had forgotten you and your feud with Imrahil!!I am going to write Erestor and Elladan next- might be alongside this story as well as they are going to touch at certain points. 

So glad you like Arwen! I like her more and more.

Thank you for revewing my dear Naledi:)



Name: IgnobleBard (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2020 3:19 · For: Chapter 2 Wedded Bliss
So Arwen is the real power behind the throne. I always figured that. I like the bit about Legolas and Elrohir always fighting. No peace for those two. lol

Well this sounds like an interesting journey. Aragorn, getting the band back together. Yay!

Author's Response:

Haha- I am glad someone got that bit about Elrohir and Legolas always fighing- they can't keep their hands off each other! Yep, Aragorn getting his band together:) Next chapter The Shire!



Name: IgnobleBard (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2020 7:14 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
Ok, I didn’t know this was a first chapter and now I’m hooked. Strange doings on the Barrow Downs, the Shire in danger, an armed Merry running from a possible Nazgul? Yes, please.

“No, you can’t kill them.” - Gollum

*shudders*

Author's Response:

Thank you, IgnobleBard- glad to have caught your interest. No spoilers:) Hope I can keep it!



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2020 21:49 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue
Ooh. A great start. Can't wait to see where this goes. :D

Author's Response:

Lovely to hear from you, Cassie! Thank you for commenting.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2020 12:25 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

OOooh! O.o This is a wonderful beginning, Ziggy. 

So he wasn’t worried.

Not at first. 

And then, far away upon the Barrow Downs, a light flickered in the darkness.

He stared.

It was high up, upon the Downs. Where the Barrows were, the tall standing stones like silent accusing fingers. Or warnings. A place of Summoning.

‘There are older and fouler things than Orcs in the deep places of the world.” Gandalf had said once as they stood on the brink of the Mines of Moria.

Brilliant! 

 

 



Author's Response:

Haha! We are going to take a tour of the Northern Kingdom in this, visit the famour Barrows of Bree, the ruined castle of Amon Sul and the ice caps of Forochel. Enjoy the twee sweetness of the Shire and the Stalker Tour of Arnor:)(No Nazguls though.)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 06, 2020 11:43 · For: Chapter 1 Prologue

Yay! Yay for the start of a new story, that is, not that Merry is in trouble. But yay that this will mean the three hunters will need to come out of retirement. 

Lovely, eerie start, Ziggy. Can’t wait to see where this is going!



Author's Response:

:) Just for you and your non-working weekend, Naledi. I have three things on the go at the moment- another Maedhros-Elrond moment, Erestor and ....Elladan, and this. Focusing on this to get it up and running and the one-shot Maedhros but I am mulling over the Erestor-Elladan. That will be yours and Narya's:)



You must login () to review.