| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Seven Stars and Seven Stones by ziggy General Audiences
It should be the time of Peace and plenty, except there are bonfires on the Barrow Downs and strange happenings on Amon Sûl...
The Battle Under the Trees by ziggy General Audiences
It had begun with a distant tremor in the Earth. Breathless messengers arrived from the East Bight. Smoke in the South,’...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  
Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...
When Death Kneels by astorey_91 Explicit
When Lord Namo leaves his position as Doomsman, and travels to Angband to pledge his loyalty to its lord. (my dark!Namo AU)Also...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1836
Chapters: 9252
Word count: 28325673
Authors: 145
Reviews: 17160
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/07/20 12:45 pm
And happy Friday everyone. Keep safe :)
Spiced Wine
08/07/20 10:59 am
Ziggy, don’t worry about it. We don’t have enough posting traffic to bother about that these days
FirstAmazon
08/07/20 12:12 am
Ziggy, Spiced and Encairion posting in the same week - boy am I lucky! <3 thank you for the incredible updates!!
ziggy
08/06/20 10:44 pm
Sorry again- just posted two updates. It's just that I work in one whilst I am waiting for Anar to edit the other. And she is being very quick.Apologies.
Spiced Wine
08/06/20 10:43 pm
That was an incredible chapter, Ziggy! I feel spoiled, you and Encarion in one week :)
ziggy
07/31/20 11:30 pm
Thanks Spiced:) Have a lovely weekend:)
Spiced Wine
07/31/20 09:52 am
Happy Friday :)
Spiced Wine
07/28/20 04:45 pm
No problem, Ziggy :) Lovely to see your stories and updates
ziggy
07/28/20 01:24 pm
:) Love you, Naledi.
Naledi
07/28/20 12:01 pm
No complaint from me, Ziggy. I did a little dance of joy when I saw two posts from you!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Transmitting

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 04, 2020 2:13 · For: Chapter 6; In the Hidden Valley

It's a very good thing that Ithilienne is about to 'speak' to her mother so they now have the equivalent of a 'cell phone' just in time!! Loved the descriptions- idyllic.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  It does mean, though, that they might be distracted from Itjilienne's original thoughts and plans!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2020 22:30 · For: Chapter 6; In the Hidden Valley

Yay - another chapter! It seems Ithilienne is getting more and more proficient. I wonder how Tindómë will react when she discovers what her daughter has been doing! Poor Gimli. It’s so sad to see him aging when all around him are ageless and strong:(



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It is the hardest part of that friendship really - that Legolas brings him to Valinor where no-one else ages.  But I do not think he would have wanted to be left behind, despite this.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2020 0:52 · For: Chapter 6; In the Hidden Valley
Whoo hoo! New chapter! Ithiellene has made a lot of progress in strengthening her ability to talk to Legolas through their link. And yes, cold water but hot bods! You showed very well that Valinor is not all rainbows and happy dancing. The danger to Gimli is very real and he definitely needs to look before he steps. Hopefully, Ithiellene can contact her mother and then consult with Elrond for Gimli's sake. Though that is going to let the cat out of the bag about her trying to strengthen her keyness. Something to think about.

Author's Response:

Thank you.  In many ways the wood elves will be relieved to find Valinor isn't all rainbows and gambolling - they had always thought it sounded rather boring :)

Ithilienne is definitely strengthening her control of her keyness - but whether she wants to let anyone else know about it - ah well that's a good question!



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: July 29, 2020 1:39 · For: Chapter 5. Around the Camp Fire
Oh, I have been gone for so long. Real life has a tendency to warp life out of shape. But I had started thinking about Tidome and finally logged back on to find a continuation of the journey and I was ready to do a happy dance.
I am so happy that you are writing. Reading about Ithilienne exploring her version of the Key and how to use it has got me wondering what she has up her sleeve so to speak. And whether she can accomplish her deeds alone or if her relationship with Legolas will become stronger. Ah, loving it.
Reading about the elves around the campfire was a fun chapter tonight. When one starts to think about the amount of land they are talking about, I can almost imagine the trees starting to spread the word that the elves are coming.
Thanks for writing as it is the best way I can think of to relax in today's world.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I am so pleased to see you and know that the reading is helping you to relax.  

Ithilienne's plan will become clearer soon, I promise.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 13:22 · For: Chapter 5. Around the Camp Fire

Lovely descriptions as always and I enjoyed the discussin about who has what and goes where and all the complications of everyone being in the same place-ish!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  When I was writing this chapter the characters just began the conversation and I felt as if I was taking notes!  I did wonder that a whole chapter which was basically the elves sitting around the campfire might be a bit boring; I'm so glad that you didn't think it was.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 13:15 · For: Chapter 4 At Last!

Great self-control! I don't think I could have stopped with Legolas' hand on my stomch-- just the thought of it.... hohum. Love the way you have developed their relationship.



Author's Response:

Thank you - I see her as very much her mother's daughter, but also herself.  And they are working on their relationship slowly - except she is now adding something extra, and unexpected, to it!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 13:08 · For: Chapter 3; Frustration.

Love the moment of revelation for Haldir - but it is also too sad to think that one day, and not terrible far off, he also might die. (sniff) Don't write that though, will you?



Author's Response:

Gimli himself is not at all afraid of death - he sees it as the next stage of a journey, where he will meet dwarves he knew as a lad, and dwarves he had only heard of.  But he would like to have this last big adventure first!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 13:04 · For: Chapter 2; The Key is in the blood.

I love the details- Gimli's welcome for his own sake, the Mayor not realising who they were at first and then housing them as honoured guests. All this adds up to a really delightful and very textured scene.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  These particular Noldor hold Aule in high esteem and so are fascinated by this real, live, dwarf - and acknowledge dwarves as great miners and smiths, of course.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2020 12:57 · For: Chapter 1; Tell me about The Key.

I am so happy to be reading about these gorgeous characters again- I think I may have missed some posts so am going to have a nice afternoon refreshing myself. I do love your stories- they are the perfect blend of everything!!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I am so pleased that you like them all, even after a gap.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2020 18:06 · For: Chapter 5. Around the Camp Fire

I'm glad you're addressing the potential problems with all the rulers from one place returning. Hopefully the new lands will be big enough to accommodate all the various factions! I really hope the twins, Thranduil and Legolas's brother do eventually sail. I can't bear to think of them being separated for ever from their kin in Valinor.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  The surfeit of kings is a sort of side effects of people being returned from Mandos.  I often wonder if it occurred to the prof...  

I think it would be very sad to think of them forever separated - not that I promise anything as I have been known to be cruel to characters now and again.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2020 19:44 · For: Chapter 4 At Last!

That’s a pretty impressive skill to have! I love the idea of arranging sleep dates! 

I’m so happy that you’ve got your writing mojo back and really look forward to discovering what the new lands are like :)



Author's Response:

I reckon, as The Key was desgned in Buffy to be 'Very Major', and it being 'in the blood' it was bound to give the dhildren some sort of related powers as well :)

 

I am glad to be back writing - now to keep it up!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2020 18:44 · For: Chapter 3; Frustration.

The plot thickens! What is Ithilienne trying to achieve?

I enjoyed Tharhîwon and Haldirin's conversation, too. This business of returning from Mandos does make for difficulties. I feel sorry for
Tharhîwon not being sure what race of elves he comes from and not knowing about his parents. 

I look forward to more!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Tharhîwon has the sort of worries and questions a lot of people who have been adopted have, I guess.   

 

As for Ithilienne - well eventually she would like to see just how far it is possible to dream...



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 27, 2019 0:42 · For: Chapter 1; Tell me about The Key.

I am so happy to have all thee characters back... I have forgotten what their relationships are though so have to wait until you update and it will come back to me I know. I wish I had time to re-read all the previous ones but life is really really busy and I am snatching time to read this because I cannot bear to go to sleep and not read it!!! I have no restraint. Lovely lovely writing as always. Wonderful characters with such delicacy in the writing, so easy to conjure them and so delightful to have a new story:) Happy happy dancing and waving at you my dear.xxx



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - it is good to have words to share again!  Somehow life never seems to get less busy these days - but if you have time to go back to Intermezzo (which is only very short) it might help get the characters sorted out as it is such a long time since I wrote anything abut them :)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 26, 2019 21:53 · For: Chapter 1; Tell me about The Key.

I’m so happy you’re continuing your Returnverse tales. I’ve often wondered if Legolas et al were ever going to get to the new lands! I’m intrigued by what Ithilienne is up to. Whatever her plan, Legolas seems to be enjoying it ;)



Author's Response:

I know - they have been hanging around for ages!  Ithilienne's 'cunning plan' will slowly unfold :)



You must login () to review.